Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Trigona

Via Santa Croce - C/Da Bauccio, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Italy

#1 of 7 hotels in Piazza Armerina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 594 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    lovely residence and kind helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one little tiny thing __ please can you provide nicer fruit juice for breakfast

    Quiet lovely gardens and pool big and lots of chairs to relax Bed was so comfy and room was spacious Nice to have tea \ kettle in room Close to the Roman Mosaic villa Casale Good breakfast lots of choiceNice evening meal local Sicilian food and wine included( 27 euros ) Recommend this clean and comfortable B and B

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    The setting is gorgeous - in a large property with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting is gorgeous - in a large property with landscaped garden and walking paths, swimming pool and outdoor tables for drinks or breakfast. It is an old family property and feels as though you are staying in their home. Helpful staff, very comfortable beds, delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Great stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room a bit basic but good value for a night or two.

    Standard room basic but adequate. Interesting property. Good location for access to Roman Villa. Lovely gardens. Didn't use pool but looked nice. Evening meal very good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. Quiet place surrounded by park. Very clean. Breakfast with home made selection of marmelades - the best!! Home made croissants, pies etc. Staff very discreet and available. Thanking to everyone for the hospitality. Keep up the great job.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice property that could be a lot better with a manager on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was generally good, but what we were given wasn’t always what was advertised as the evening menu for the day. That led to problems sometimes.

    Our room was nice and also some of the staff, particularly Janko and Suleiman.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    The Unique Villa Trigona Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave on our last day:(

    This was our second time in this amazing place and the reason to return was the beautiful feeling we had about the whole experience. The beauty and tranquility we experience here is amazing. Both internal and external beuty is mesmerizing. The personnel, starting from the owner and the whole team are so very accommodating and make us feel special in every way. I definitely recommend that you dine on a daily basis in the beautiful gardens, weather permitting or else in the dining room full of character, to sample some of the best in house ingredients, infused to create the best of aromas and palate. We would like to thank you ever so much for your hospitality and making us feel so belonging and important throughout our stay. The Maltese Bikers couple Charles & Tes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Excellent galore!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was unfortunately not very comfortable

    Janco was very friendly, we enjoyed the pool and the Sicilian dinner and the villa was very close to Villa Romana del Castello....a must see!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Please note that to use their pool you need to wear a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note that to use their pool you need to wear a bathing cap. I wasn't aware of it as I would have brought my own. However, buying a cap from the residence was very cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the service could have been slightly more friendly

    Perfect breakfast / great location, wonderful garden and swimming pool ... Highly recommended on every level ....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent! Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tiny thing but we (again) do feel the restrictions on wearing a cap in the pool (men and women) to be a bit extreme. It's not something we have been asked to do anywhere else in the area, or indeed in Italy, at all. Also worth noting that you have to pay to get a pool towel, so better to bring your own. But these are very small niggles, this place is a gem!

    This is our second visit and we were again delighted by the hotel. It's a friendly, quirkily decorated country house with some really lovely antiques on display. The bed was by far the most comfortable we've found on many a holiday, possibly due to the new 'double matress with memory foam topper' which we really appreciated and were surprised by, given the reasonable cost of the room. The food is great here and superb value if you opt for dinner (wonderful home cooked local delicacies served over several courses with wine) and on both nights we ended up getting to know the other people sitting beside us (both lovely families from Italy and the Netherlands). It's a peaceful spot, a good mix of families and couples, but still not rowdy or noisy at all. We hope to come back. It's also fabulously convenient (less than 5 mins drive) from the Roman Villa with the mosaics. Finally, we were really happy to see lovely, well cared for cats, looked after by the owners, enjoying the expansive grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, we would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to comment on.

    The welcome was excellent, the room clean and comfortable as well as the bathroom. The whole building and the surroundings were extremely pleasant. Breakfast was delicious with lots of home made jams and cakes and bread. The evening meals were also very nice. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place we keep returning to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a few more hangers in the wardrobe but I'm sure we could have had more had we asked. Only stayed one night this visit so not a problem.

    The location is lovely if you like peace and calm. Great swimming pool and superb dinner. No menu they just cook everything fresh from locally sourced food. Free flowing wine and only €25 per head. Would definitely recommend dining in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Greeat location to get any stress level down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather difficult to find even with our navigating tool...

    Extremely nice location and very friendly staff. the breakfast was just incredibly rich with wonderful home-made cakes and jam nothing for people who are trying not to gain weight because it is impossible to resist trying from everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Traditional Sicilian charm and generous hospitality makes Villa Trigona the place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was all great!

    Fantastic! We enjoyed a completely relaxing and comfortable stay. We had the warmest of welcomes mid afternoon and were treated to a wonderful lunch after our journey. The traditional Sicilian food was a real delight and the best we had enjoyed during our tour of Sicily. All the staff were amazing and did all they could to make our final three days in Sicily really memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls between rooms.

    Location, peace and quiet. Swimming pool and the garden is amazing, the property is quite big so you can easily take a walk around. We took dinner one night- delicious local food including antipasti, primi, secondi and dolci with wine for 25€/person. Great price performance. The staff is also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    The employees (2 young men) went out of their way to make us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only younger couple who stayed in this resort. The average age of the couples >55.

    The employees (2 young men) went out of their way to make us feel welcome during our stay. The dinner had a great spread for vegetarians and everything tasted homemade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    An interesting place when you want to visit the Casale Romana at Piazza Armerina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful room and a marvelous breakfast in the garden! The quality of the supper was perfect and every thing was prepared with typical Sicilian ingredients. Also interesting: you can put the luggage there before the check in, so you don't have to visit something with everything in the car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    One of our best accommodation expeeiences in Sicily so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 101 was a little stuffy as there is no window in room only doors which we could not leave open at night.

    The house is lovely, and the setting is wonderful. Pool is beautiful. Staff are excellent, particularly the young men who wait on tables. But it was lovely to see the elderly matriarch who was so friendly. The staff in the kitchen are wonderful and the food is in a class of its own.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinners were repetitive, and the meat was generally overcooked.

    Beautiful house in a lovely setting. The staff were very friendly and even did our laundry for free. Parking was free and abundant. It was convenient to be able to eat breakfast and dinner there. Conveniently located for visiting the Villa Romana and Morgantina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    The location was secluded, the garden kept beautifully with...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The location was secluded, the garden kept beautifully with lots of quiet spots. You can enjoy your privacy in a wonderful location. Personnel competent and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful place with excellent staff and facilities which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful place with excellent staff and facilities which make you feel at home. A very well maintained, traditional villa, comfortable in all aspects, especially the beds. Dinner was also excellent with a different set menu each night, thoroughly delicious Sicilian cooking and good local wine. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Above expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely old property just outside the town. Everything was comfortable, with modern bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Nice to be able to walk around the old gardens. Pool is beautiful. Secure parking is inside the gates of the property,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely experience that we won't forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staying at the Villa Trigona is an experience, rather than just a hotel stay. It is a lovely old house with interesting public areas, such as the billiard room. the room was comfortable and the service was excellent from the many young people working at the villa. To top it all was a wonderful meal with many courses at an unbelievably low cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    The place is unique in its own right and it was a wonderful experience to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not possible to open a window in the room at night. The room has got only french doors.

    The dinner was wonderful and the breakfast simply superb! The bed and matrasses are greatand the pool and pool area a real treat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to see the mosaics 'bikini girls' and great dinner afterwards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked buffet breakfast was a little cold but that's the only complaint

    The set meal was excellent with free wine and the hosts very welcoming, we didn't get to use all the facilities due to bad weather but they looked good. The villa was clean and comfortable shabby chic. Loved the homemade preserves served at breakfast, we really only stayed over to see the mosaics 'bikini girls' but had a great time it was so nice to come back from sightseeing to a home cooked meal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, country villa just on outskirts of Piazza Armerina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of guests were quite loud.

    Bed comfortable, staff lovely and very helpful. Evening meal was substantial and delicious, as were breakfasts. A very relaxing place to stay close to the Villa Romana del Casale.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Old style accommodation, with old style traditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing much to dislike if you want a quiet place to get away from it all. Only grumble was the meat dishes tended to be different ways of cooking pork. Gets boring after a few days, we stayed for 7 days. We ventured into the town for some evening meals. No bar, but a comfortable couple of areas to enjoy within the property where staff are happy to provide you wth drinks.

    Old farmhouse, that has been in the same family since it was built in the 1800s. 10 years ago, was converted to accept guests. It has about 10 rooms. Our first floor room looked out onto the courtyard and full length doors opened up allowing cool air in. Room was good size with comfortable beds. Good sized and modern bathroom, excellent shower. No air con in the property that we could see. The convertion has kept the feel of an old world, place. Really atmospheric which took some getting used to. Outside there is a new looking pool complex, with shading which will be important in the summer heat. Breakfast is a help yourself to a wide selection. Only warm things for breakfast was scrambled eggs and bacon. A set menu in the evening, about 5 courses, including cold starters, local grown veg, pasta and meat with wine. You do get a choice of desserts though. Evening meal, was great value, 5 courses with wine for 25 Euros

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful - very welcoming and comfortable. So glad we ate dinner there. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking forward to a bath but I had misunderstood the description in Italian and the lovely staff explained bagno just means bathroom, not bath and that all the rooms have showers. There was music coming from a building of some kind across the way on the afternoon we arrived. You could only hear it outside and it might have spoilt enjoyment if you were resting by the beautiful pool..but we weren’t and it didn’t affect anything else. There was no music the next morning so I don’t know what that was about. Breakfast coffee could be much better.

    Loved our one night there and wish we could have stayed longer. The Superior room was spacious with a little balcony overlooking the garden. A huge, comfortable bed with good linen afforded a great night’s sleep, following an extremely enjoyable and generous dinner. We got talking (in a Euro-mix of English, Italian and French) with other guests on the next tables. We could then take our wine into the sitting room and continue our conversations, swapping travel and roman ruins info and photos of our grandchildren! A relaxed breakfast next morning under the trees in the garden courtyard. The villa is more like an extremely gracious home rather than a hotel. The staff are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    High expectations not met - but comfortable, friendly and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaners removed my shampoo bar from the shower and threw it away (it was bright yellow circular bar which is rather contrasting to the white rectangular soap!) which I was not best pleased with, unfortunately I don't think my disappointment of my things being moved and disposed of quite registered with the language barrier. The gardens are also not as extensive as they are made out to be and in the spring are very unkempt. It was a shame to be eating outside, in what could be beautiful courtyard, surrounded by weeds and empty pots. The garden itself had not been looked after for some while, with grass long and trees fallen down - not as idillic as I had imagined from the descriptions!

    Very lovely waiting staff and extremely convenient for Villa Romana del Casale, Piazza Armeria, Morgantina (don't miss) and Caltagirone. The evening meal was very well priced (25euros) and was delicious, this also includes 2 wines and a digestif. The rooms were clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable as they are topped with memory foam. The pool area is also a lovely place to relax and unwind, although the pool itself is not heated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Right now Villa Trigona is an aspiring boutique hotel; will it make the grade?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been good. As in most of the Sicilian places we stayed in, the TV had many channels, but all were in Italian. No CNN, BBC, or - for that matter - French, Spanish, or German channels. The breakfast was poor by comparison with other Sicilian places in the same price bracket.

    The bed was better than average, and there was a fridge in the room. Guests can dine at the property, and we took advantage of this offer on arrival as it avoided getting back in the car and driving into town. The dinner was quite elaborate and very good value, though a little uneven in quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Very nice location outside of town, easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the pool was closed when we visited (it was March) and the grounds were just getting their spring cleaning.

    Very nice location outside of town, easy parking. My son loved the soccer field! Excellent dinners and a good and plentiful breakfast selection. Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    An unmissable stay in a beautiful old mansion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing could have been better

    Place of immense charm and character in a beautiful rural setting only minutes from Piazza Armerina. The house is a historic building with lovely gardens. The five course evening meal, hours in the preparation, worth a stay in itself. Breakfast equally wonderful and abundant. The room huge, comfortable; staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    A lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful villa, very atmospheric. It felt like we went back in time. We had a lovely diner there and breakfast was delicious and elaborate. The room was very comfortabel and spacious and the bed was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Historic, family country house, set in beautiful gardens in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we were only staying 2 nights and that it was a bit too chilly to swim in the beautiful pool.

    Historic, family country house, set in beautiful gardens in the countryside within very easy reach of the superb Roman mosaics at Villa Casale. Comfortable, quiet room. Delicious dinner ( 25euros) served each evening in small dining room where it's so easy to get chatting to other guests. Amazing breakfast with huge and delicious choice of both savoury and sweet items. ( If you like cake then you're spoilt for choice with at least 6 freshly baked ones to choose from !)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay at atmospheric agri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms aren't soundproof. We could hear our neighbour snore!

    The dinner is amazing! This agri has a nice swimmingpool, garden and living room. The staff is friendly and clear.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Best 28 euro dinner around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of Villa Trigona but Piazza Armerina is not worth the destination. Just a grubby city.

    Food was excellent, one of our best meals in Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Nice quiet place;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    you have to drive to arrive there. No public transportation

    Nice quiet place; very friendly staff; good food; comfortable bed; good parking lot. The place is well connected to many points of interest in Sicily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Great set dinner. Very pleasing ambiance and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best thing was the delightful set menu dinner of 7 courses for 25 euros with lovely local wine included. The villa has lots of history and character and the elderly owner is very welcoming. The grounds are extensive and attractive and surrounding area is pleasingly rural.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    In October the inside space was a bit crowded but would be fantastic when we
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom layout (triple room as we are two friends) was unimaginative - not using the space well and poor lighting

    The setting is beautiful and outside areas are very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A haven of tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful property, friendly staff and lovely family owners. It always feels like my Sicilian home. I would recommend this property to everyone. And the breakfast and evening meal are superb as always.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Quaint, inviting and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable beds. Spacious rooms and bathroom. Very quiet, tranquil. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyable dinner experience. Bicycles available in excellent condition Well signposted once away from main routes. Well located for visiting sites such as the Villa Romans del Casale and the historic town in Piazza Amerina.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Perfect! It captures the essence of Sicily!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not think of one thing to make this perfect place any better.... well maybe if the pool would be heated but end of Sept is late for outdoor swimming.

    Our favorite place to stay during our 33 days in Italy and Sicily ! Very interesting location with history of Italy intertwined. It was a villa owned by the Trigona family and it was packed with wonderful family pictures . Their food was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    As we expected, we were not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv remote was missing, not that that mattered too much.

    We have stayed here before and were happy to share the villa with our friends this time. The staff are friendly and helpful and our friends enjoyed the swimming pool which is new from seven years ago. We chose to eat at the villa rather than drive back into the town. This at 25 euros a head for a substantial traditional menu with wine included was extremely good value. The parking and access to the villa was secure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Charming country villa with very friendly staff, fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming country villa with very friendly staff, fabulous Sicilian food, comfortable bed and beautiful setting. Great location for exploring the area and plenty of parking too. We didn't get to enjoy the pool but great to have as an option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and enjoyable stay - helped by great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather plain and could have had more storage space. Barking dogs in the neighbourhood could interrupt sleep but closing the window solved that. While the swimming pool was very nice, the surrounding area could do with sprucing up.

    Place was well signposted in local roads. Friendly staff were always polite and helpful. Very nice and good value evening meals (with wine) which the staff tried to vary for us over our 7 night stay, though some main courses were more successful than others (though starters and pasta course were always good). Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    We would have no hesitation in recommending this property and will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room maid very poor. During a five day stay we had no change of bed linen. A piece of paper was on the bathroom floor when we arrived and was still there when we left!!! The beds were not made properly.Storage space in the room was very limited

    Evening meal was good and great value for money. Reception and catering staff were extremely pleasant and efficient.Grounds were nicely kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant villa in a convenient location for visits to local attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conveniently placed on the edge of Piazza Armerina, one can visit the Roman Villa at Casale and the Hellenistic and Roman town of Morgantina with only a short drive. There are some interesting buildings in the town as well, though you need to know when they are open (infrequently). The villa itself is part of the Trigona family estates and has been developed to provide for tourists (pool, archery, play area etc). Very pleasant and friendly staff and good food (dinner provided on site).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Villa is in easy reach from the historical town of Piazza Armerina and the set-up of the Villa with such lovely grounds and the serenity of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.9
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are a family of four. We booked two superior rooms and asked them to be near each other, as there were no family rooms available. Our booking was made in September 2016 for our trip in August 2017 so they had 11 months’ notice of our wishes. We were really excited about staying at this beautiful villa on our last night in Sicily and considered that it would be the highlight of our trip. We also asked for rooms with a view of the grounds or the pool. When we arrived they had put us in rooms on different floors. We expressed concern about being placed on separate floors but the receptionist said bluntly that they were fully booked and there was nothing she could do about it. We pointed out that we booked the rooms on 9 September 2016 and showed her our request in writing to be placed near each other. It was not that we needed to be next door – just on the same floor would have been acceptable. Every family knows what is it is like sharing a suitcase when mum and daughter are in one room and father and son in another. She was quite rude and made a phone call speaking in heated Italian which we did not understand. She then walked off telling us to come without further explanation. I had to ask if she had found us rooms together. Turns out they put us in the disabled wing. My husband and son were given a room with a full disabled bathroom that had a very strong and unpleasant smell. Their air conditioning did not work so they slept badly. The room was dark and on the lower ground floor. It had French doors, but you could not open them or the mosquito screen without difficulty. The table and chair outside was below the level of the drive which ran by it, about four feet above. My daughter and I had a room with a double blue door that did not lock properly and when closed you could see straight through the gap in the middle. Our mosquito screen was also impossible to use and our “veranda” was a gravelled area about four feet below drive level.

    Large building set in own grounds with own swimming pool. It does sit next to other houses on one side so it is not isolated as you might think. Parking is secure. There was always somebody on reception when we were there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Ideal stopover in traditional family-run country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have done with aircon through the night. We loved the age and style of the hotel but some might prefer a more modern feel

    The staff could not have been friendlier and the food was very good (traditional Sicilian) as well as being very reasonably priced (full set dinner and wine for 25 euros !). While the furniture in the hotel matches the age of the building our bed and bathroom were modern. Very handy for Villa Romana del Casale.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    A good overnight stay in the heart of Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for only one night. There was nothing we disliked about the place.

    We particulaly liked the dinner. There was no choice, though I expect that if you had a particular dislike they'd sort it out for you. They just bought waves of courses and wine. All was homecooked and tasty. The wine was good too. All for 25 euros a head, which was the cheapest and best value dinner we had in the whole of Sicily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The best place in Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent ten days touring Sicily and stayed at a different place almost every night. The whole family agreed that this was our favourite stop. A beautiful property with a wonderful atmosphere; serene and friendly. We were greeted with fresh figs from the garden and had a wonderful dinner there that evening. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, the swimming pool surprisingly large and surrounded by the scent of rosemary hedges. A bonus for the kids were the play ping-pong table and soccer area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice spot to visit sights around Piazza Armerina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't as 'countryside' as we thought it would be, but the proximity to sights makes up for that.

    Really lovely spot, with helpful staff. The dinner was very nice, and good value. The room was comfy, if a bit warm (think the air conditioning was fighting with the heat from the mini-fridge!). A great place to stay to visit some top sights, including Morgantina and the mosaics at Villa Romana del Casale.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    The beautiful old villa and the gardens, the pool, the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning did not work in our room. Staff is friendly and full of good intentions but not always very professional.

    The beautiful old villa and the gardens, the pool, the food. Close to Piazza Armerina which is worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Not in the city centre, and all the better for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was all OK.

    Our bed was made from two antique painted metal ones - very beautiful. The room was quiet, and our bathroom was disabled friendly - possibly all the ground floor rooms are (ask?). There are ramps, and steps are modified where necessary. The Villa is about 2 miles outside Piazza Armerina in countryside (despite the proximity of an industrial estate which you really don't notice) and well signed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet featured some rather exotic cakes. Breakfast is eaten out in the garden. Night absolutely quiet. Very handy for the villa at Casale.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Ideally placed to visit Romana del Casale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fair walk from car park to entrance with heavy bags. Not much space for hanging clothes.

    Pleasant, friendly staff. Excellent evening meal. Everything clean. Not very far from Villa Romana del Casale.Ideally placed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Dreary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned family run hotel with few comforts and poor breakfast. Bare former Astro-turf around pool - in which caps must be worn. Inexpensive but not as comfortable as I would have preferred.

    Helpful staff. Excellent location if you are visiting the Roman Villa. Old historic farm house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Historic Villa. Pleasant alternative stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dogs at 2pm but didn't last long

    Renovated 7th Century Villa still in family ownership. Comfortable, historic, quaint. Pleasant dinner and wine(extra) Courtyard needs a little tarting up, wouldn't take much effort to rejuvenate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Well situated for visiting the Roman villa, but be sure to get there before the tourists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eating in the garden starting at 8 pm was NOT what we wanted. Smoking and cats out there too - neither tolerated and the temperature drops as it gets dark When I said we got cold out there - we were offered a table indoors, and were delighted to have it.

    Excellent food Staff personable and English spoken by all of them

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Mostly very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things needed attention in the bathroom that should have been checked before we arrived.Breakfast was very good if a little too elaborate and was certainly too much for the one member of staff to deal with alone.there was a woman in the room we thought may be the owner but she just stood there looking on.Dinner was good but some of the presentation was just Silly.

    Charming location after the bustle of Palermo.spacious room and comfortable bed charming staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    The perfect base for visiting Piazza Armerina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful villa furnished with heirlooms and surrounded by gardens, it was very convenient to Piazza Armerina which has the most extraordinary Roman mosaics. Great staff, huge breakfast, everything was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    A classical Sicilian farmhouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest bedroom is dark and on the ground floor where everyone walks round to the entrance. The astro turf round the pool is worn. The annex being built means that It is a building site.

    A classical Sicilian farmhouse. Prívate eléctric gated párking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff were lovely ,attentive friendly and good fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were lovely ,attentive friendly and good fun. The location is beautiful and the villa gorgeous . The courtyard is idyllic and possibly the best place to have breakfast ever. The dinner was classically sicilian and brilliant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff did everything to please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived in Easter Sunday 1.5 hours before check-in time. It was no problem they gave us two rooms to choose from. The place was really busy as they were full to capacity preparing for a special Easter lunch. Although we had not reserved for lunch they made room for us. Later, at night we had coffee and sweets on the lounge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Old fashioned hospitality in aristocratic residence in quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This agriturismo offered a dinner of 4/5 delicious Sicilian dishes with a very good local wine. The pastry chef had prepared loads of cakes, etc, for dessert and for breakfast. Beautiful room. Villa Trigona is just out of town and enjoys beautiful and very quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    A charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming place. Staff went out of there way to make our visit perfect. Had a dinner meal that was wonderful. Would love to see the gardens in summer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Lovely old manor with old antiques and friendly dining and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed eating here although they didn't really cater for vegetarians who also eat fish. The fish that was prepared one evening was awful so wouldn't recommend that. And one evening was just an egg. This cannot be an uncommon request so they need to learn a few basic veggie meals

    Breakfast was good and nice to meet other guests. Food generally adequate not 5 star though which we weren't expecting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Feeling like a vacation by friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available in the corridor where the grandmother of the house has her room, and the door is always open... First wine at dinner.

    If you want to feel as if you were just welcomed by friends, in a nice old house, than this is the place. Special mention to the staff, especially the 2 men, who always had a smile on their face and were really nice. We also loved the fact that the cats kept coming in, and the staff kept carrying it so gently out... it was a game for the cat, and we appreciated every bit of it. Pool is nice and quite fresh, but of course it was end of October. Huge garden, possibility to bike and to have a nice walk within the property Location is great if you have a car. We had dinner there, it was a lot and we enjoyed it. Price of 25eur per person was worth it, though I could have eaten less and have a lighter menu in price too (100eur for 4).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of Piazza Amerina Too far to walk there

    Lots of character

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent dinner!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    The evening meal was excellent and very good value for money.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was excellent and very good value for money. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Excellent evening meals and wine, great location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent evening meals and wine, great location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice old mansion with exrended grounds and big swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice old mansion with exrended grounds and big swimming pool. Very nice dinners at moderate price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like staying in a family villa a homely Italian experience!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.0
    A wonderful Inn and what a treat to be so close to villa romana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room available to have staid another night.

    Dinner WAs delightful and delicious. It felt like being in a very welcoming home!

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Trigona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: