Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cortona Resort & Spa - Villa Aurea 4 stars

N. A. Campaccio 5/8, 52044 Cortona, Italy

#7 of 30 hotels in Cortona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 580 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything exceeded our expectation ! Property was amazing , big spacious rooms ! A great spa with 2 pools ! Very good Italian breakfast every morning ! The restaurant was top notch & reasonably priced ! Highly recommend this property !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff and property were simply terrific. The food was excellent and then some. The spa and pools are the best we've seen in a small luxury resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous peaceful location overlooking the beautiful landscape and the grounds of the hotel. A nice hilly walk to the town of Cortona! Staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was ever a problem. The food was always lovely and the spa was a lovely facility. Would definitely recommend Cortona Resort for a peaceful and relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    My camera, which was out of the main building and the spa. The spa should have a room where you can stay and read a book in winter.

    The hot pool. The spa, which is well organized. The quiet of the environemnt. The staff, which is very professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was very weak-just a tiny issue which did not affected the quality of our stay.

    The location is stunning in itself; the whole staff at the resort is very friendly and professional. The food at the restaurant is absolutely divine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not clear our room was not in the main house. I would have preferred to know this. Other than that, staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Beautiful location enhanced by proximity to Cortona. The place was fully booked and except for the Spa, I would not have know it. I am sure summer would be spectacular with multiple pools and relaxation areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were hosted in the Limonaia rooms The room isn't so comfortable, itsn't warm and in this kind of vacation where you come to relax and to stay mostly in the hotel there is not even a comfortable chair to seat in the room.

    very good breakfast amazing spa we couldn't try the treatments but the place is very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a magical and romantic place. Beautiful nature, wonderful rooms, great breakfast (the best of all places I've been to in Italy) The spa is very clean. All very nice. We highly recommend this spa hotel. Nearby is the beautiful town of Cortona, everything you expect from Tuscany.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. No free water nor coffee or thee in the room. Room needs maintenance ! It's a great hotel but price should be 30% less for what you get. It's the friendly staff at breakfast and restaurant who give you the deserved experience. Garden is well maintained but some furniture was broken and duck taped .... Some work to be done to get to the level where you pay for!!

    The staff members at the restaurant. They keep the hotel name at a high level. Without them you would have another experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not located in the main building, our room did not have a window, hence no view. There was a garden in front of the room entrance though. Room was a bit pricy. Although the bathroom was big, shower was small

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful setting (need a car to get there), the restaurant had delicious food, massages were great, nice sauna and spa area. Room was spacious, bathroom as well. Big and comfy bed. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 13 nights

    This amazing boutique hotel, was home away from home. Our daughter (3,5) fell in love with all the staff, and it was lovely to have amazing dinner, with our title one being cared for and entertained many evenings. The rooms are amazing, the wellness area is a dream and the two swimming pools were where we found ourselves most of the time. This is not only a place to recommend, but a place worth going back to over and over again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant space deserves better architect design

    we stayed in depandance limonae, simple room very covenient for travelers with pets, nice two swimingpools (32 C + 26C), very good restaurant and extremly attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was perfect

    We spent a week in that Spa – it was one of our best decisions since years. The hotel is really nice and romantic, service is perfect and all facilities are marvels (spa, garden, swimming pool, big warm water swimming pool with Jacuzzi, dining room and evening live music in the garden). Having time you can visit nearby Cortona, Montepulciano, Pienza so feel like a Tourist but coming back you immediately feel relax and refresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of choice for evening meal in the restaurant could be broader and less expensive. Could be easier to obtain a taxi for Cortona. Need to book both outbound & return journey in advance. Taxi fares could also be cheaper: they are very expensive

    The staff were the stand-out aspect of our stay. They were all incredibly polite, helpful & cheerful. They made our stay so welcoming. The overall situation of the hotel is very good. Set amidst tree-lined grounds, the Villa Aurea makes for a perfect retreat for relaxation as well as an ideal base for exploring eastern & southern Tuscany. The overall decoration is of a high standard & well-chosen. The hotel is normally very quiet. Sometimes this calm is punctured by the excited noise of children. Maybe Villa Aurea could go Adults only? Worth a thought.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor and lighting is a bit dated but we really didn't spend much time in there so it's didn't bother us!

    The staff was wonderful, the pools were clean and perfect for lounging all day. The restaurant was one of the best we've had in Italy! We LOVED our stay here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear every noise from the adjacent rooms, every talk, any water running or toilet flushing. We were suggested to leave our room at 11:30.

    Relaxing scenery, good spa facilities (open till 24:00 on weekends), big parking space inside the property, very close to Cortona (but you need a vehicle)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work our first night and we suffered from the heat all night. This is definitely not a resort. It is a very ordinary motel-like property with small uncomfortable rooms. We were very disappointed when we realized where we'd be spending two nights. We will not return.

    The staff was very nice and tried their best.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You definitely need a car to stay here but there is a good taxi service to Cortona if you want to have a few glasses of wine with dinner in any of the amazing restaurants in the town.

    Floating in the heated outdoor looking up at the stars was as close to heaven as I've been.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as you walked in could have done with a little paint however only fault of the whole holiday it really was amazing with fantastic staff.

    The staff were amazing, the room well air conditioned and food was so tasty. Every day our room was cleaned and we always had fresh towels. Cortona is a 5 minute drive away, it is such a lovely place to visit for dinner and a few drinks. The train station into Florence is also 5 minutes drive away where you can park for free and be in Florence in 1 hour 20 mins. I can't recommend this hotel enough!!! We will definitely be going baack with our family and friends next year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a garden room in some kind of old stable building, and the decor was very basic for the price category.

    The spa and resort was fantastic, as was the restaurant. The personnel were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to say really!!!!!

    The place is fantastic for every age group, specially if you are looking for to relax and know a bit of the Tuscany region. The facilities are wonderful and the Spa is great. The property is big and well looked after, every place you look you have a nice and inviting area to stay. The restaurant serves a very nice menu and breakfast was delicious. Free parking on site. During our stay we did visit Cortona, beautiful town. Comfortable large beds and great size bedroom. Bathroom very nice and great shower. Perfect for a romantic time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've got a room not in the villa but in the 'limonaia' outside. Paid to stay in the Villa getting a bungalow. Not bad... but a bungalow... 150 eur in low season for a bungalow may be high rate...

    Amazing Location ! Villa Aurea is beautiful and very well maintained inside a great private park

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the floor (no carpet) my guess the floor is made from not good enough material, so every morning I could hear people walking or staff cleaning room. The bed was big however for me not too comfy as well for my husband, so we didn't sleep so well.

    I loved the staff - always very helpful, smiley; the spa is great bonus; the location is just great - beauty of the nature; food in restaurant amazing; very romantic destination!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is too expensive considering the services rendered. Classified as 4 starts luxe none of the services were so good for that score. Spa is not very impressive but massage was even bad. We are lovers of massages and tried all over the world and this one was really bad. Neither beds were suitable for that....in general stay was good but paying that prices we waited much more.

    We liked the outdoor area which was really nice (garden,pool, etc).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 11 nights

    TV programs only in Italian, no other language available.

    The park offers many places to sit and read. It is a small hotel with only 26 rooms and many areas to enjoy the weather and the sight. Breakfast is very good and offers great choice. The room offers much place, air condition and a shower with power. The staff is super friendly. The pool is nice for a short cool down. The whole hotel offers so much space for everyone. The restaurant is delicious, the meals have their prices. WiFi works fine (2 MBit) over the whole hotel area (main house, pool, garden, second guest house). The Spa is nice and sweet, not too big. Very quiet (besides the sound of the cicadas). The site is optimal to relax and read.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet was a pain as you continually had to keep re registering There is building work through the day but not informed before or after booking

    The food was excellent Building and garden rooms were very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside,which will not affect everyone was the construction noise for one of the days.

    We liked the location, the rooms were nice nice and spacious. We stayed at Topazio and Diamanté. The spa was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    What a wonderful, quiet and lovely hotel. Nice and peaceful and situtaed near to cortona. A great base to visit most of tuscany. We had an amazing stay. Slightly let down as it was our honeymoon and this was not recognised by hotel staff even though I had let them know when I booked after being asked which rooms i would prefer. We wouldnt have noticed however this was in contrast to each of the other hotels we stayed at. Otherwise we would stay again and it was a bautiful hotel with gardens. We did stay half board but wouldn't again as the menu was very limited and we ate out on a number of nights due to this and also to visit the local restaurants. The breakfasts were good however.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect. Stylish, clean, comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was amazing! great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pool and garden. Very good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, spa, large bedroom, lovely grounds, good foodand breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    STAFF WAS MOST HELPFUL. HEATED SWIMMING POOL. SUNSET.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instructions about the underfloor heating - too warm.

    Near to Cortona plus other places to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It's perfect!

    I loved it all. The food was very good there and I loved the heated pool!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    Fantastic Hotel, great staff, enjoyed every minute!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything was perfect to the finest detail. Especially the staff and spa. Can't wait to go back!.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful place to overnight - the staff was incredibly helpful, the restaurant amazing, spa pool great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No remarks

    Relaxing location with excellent SPA facilities. Nice and romantic place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent

    excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal on the front lawn was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice area ! The garden is beautifull. The service is great even a restaurant in the garden swimmingpool and jacuzzi 🍾🍷

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything! Amazing resort to stay at in beautiful Cortona, Tuscany!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the air con to do the trick!

    Beautiful location, excellent food, lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is expensive comapare to what you get. Service is very slow.

    Nice relaxing place. The service is a bit let down and the food .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the private terrace

    the garden and the terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price is too high for the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice spa facilities. Beautiful site. Restaurant offered an awesome dinner menu.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would highly recommend. Staff was amazing as well as the room and spa. Close to centro of town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peacefull place under tuscany sun

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is very formal and very expensive.

    The hotel and grounds are beautiful and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing we didn't like

    Pleasant environment, with good quality food and facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Garden, King Size Bed and Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very "tired", not very clean, but nice ambiente and location. Very expensive considering quality and price!

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff amazing, room outstanding, amenities great, spa great. They served afternoon tea and cookies which was delightful. Highly recommend and would come back.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool could have been heated. But apart from that excellent stay.

    Excellent resort. Staff very friendly and so very helpful. Room awesome. Location excellent just a 5 minute drive to beautiful Cortona.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa area is too small, if 2-3group inside together, not convinence. better to be larger.

    the staffs are kind , the spa is comfortable, and there is baby playing room too,that's great for the babies.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit bare and impersonal but the bed was very comfortable.

    The staff were fantastic and the spa and treatments were just what was needed for a couple of days of relax.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    although very hi-tech and really great design, the shower /steam bath in the room was very difficult to understand how to use. Breakfast good but not at the level i would expect in such a nice place

    excellent staff upgraded us immediately to a better room due to noise from nearby construction the whole property is really classy and top of the notch. didn't have a chance to use the wellness center but it looks very nice

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and comfortable mansion in the mid of a good maintained park not far from the historic city Cortona. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast and good equipped, charming wellness area. Ideal for few days recreation for everybody who likes the countryside of Tuscany.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just being clear on instructions to the kitchen because of a bit of a language barrier but that was very much our problem not the hotels and in choosing somewhere off the beaten tourist track is an advantage far outweighing the minor details. PS for medium steak ask for well done !

    The perfect place to relax with lovely grounds, a well-maintained pool and poolside patio, fabulous restaurant, with comprehensive breakfast choices. ALL the staff were so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I am told the spa was excellent and good value for money !

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restorant has limited options in breakfast and dinner although it was very classical local food

    One of the best relaxing ,simple , classic resorts I have ever been to The spa and backyard were all added to the experience that I could repeat

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave so soon!

    We have recently spent a lovely weekend at Villa Aurea near Cortona and have absolutely loved it! The resort is located in a very private location - a beautiful estate - with stunning landscaped garden and the facilities are also great. It's not a big hotel but more of a boutique and absolutely a true gem! I suggest to book when it's not high season so that it's a bit more private...if possible obviously! We went around mid-September 2015 and it was just perfect! If you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy city - like us - this is just the place to be! When it comes to location, as long as you program your GPS with "Campaccio" then it's easy to find it, basically there's just 2 ways you can go one is left and one is right, depending on what side you come from, and you will find it, no biggie at all! The atmosphere is really relaxed and it's literally 5 minutes car drive from the beautiful Cortona and about 1h30m from the busy Florence. Cortona is a true gem so I can definitely recommend spending some hours there, and I can also recommend the restaurant "La Grotta" just by the main square..it's a little tucked away but well worth it, honest prices and food is excellent! Food was delicious, or as I should better say "delizioso!", breakfast is served with fresh pastries "lovely cornetti" - and other "mini pasticcini", as well as savoury things... the staff is very friendly and elegantly dressed. If you want to dine there there's also a restaurant and on that particular weekend they had a sort of tasting menu with local specialities served as a buffet, and again, we really enjoyed it! Oh and for you folks that cannot live without Wi-Fi, YES they have it in the rooms and it works fine, but my suggestion is: leave the phone/tablet in your room and RELAX!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa facilities were disappointing. Jacuzzi pool in particular was dirty and didn't look as though it had been cleaned in ages. Put us off going in.

    Staff, room and service all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, very flexible booking and payment. Breakfast is incredible, and the restaurant is beautiful vintage like. We will be back! I suggest this hotel for the ones who travel to Tuscany, great location for a base camp. Thanks

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was dirty and water green. Waiters not very good at english. Breakfast was not same quality as the rest. No hot food, like bacon or scrambled eggs. Focus was on very sweet cookies and paistrys! Typical italian.

    Spa is nice! Rooms and view fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Couple

    Everything was PERFECT. This amazing resort pampers you from the moment of check-in to the moment of check-out. Fantastic staff. Amazing restaurant. Excellent spa facilities. Nice and intimate. We are world travelers who operate small hotels on the beach in AkumalBeachVillas. We enjoyed our stay tremendously, highly recommend it and will be back.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Beautiful property just outside of Cortona. The staff was warm and friendly. The property was great for a young child as there were grounds to run around and an outdoor swimming pool. The breakfast was delicious and the service was wonderful. Overall highly recommend. Also the property offered free on site parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very cake dominated and no gluten free offering. Hotel sells itself as luxury but the bathrobes had been round the block a few times. Air conditioning seemed to be designed to save money rather than cool the room!

    Friendly staff, nice pool beautiful location, fantastic view from the room close to Cortona

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i didn't like the fact that i loved it so much i didn't want to leave!!!!

    amazing breakfast; incredible staff willing to help with all your needs; incredible peaceful property excellently situated in the heart of Tuscany

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Couple

    It is one of the nicest hotels in the area. The staff are wonderful and very helpful, they go out of their way to help. The breakfast is great, the grounds, rooms, and pool are all in very good shape, and it is great for families with children. This is our second visit here and we recommend it highly. We will be back!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff only had towels for one guest instead of two. Quite some issues with the air conditioning. Relative small swimming pool. Breakfast is very Italian ( lots of sweets) but no eggs

    Well ness center and excellent food in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was clean but a bit chilly. All the staff were pros, courteous, helpful & cheerful.

    So close to the Old a Town (5 minute drive), yet out in the countryside.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very, very, very poor breakfast! You should pay extra if you wish eggs, for example. It is quite offensively because the price for night is very high! Also the breakfast is from 08.00 - 11.00 but if you come at 10.00 you have nothing to eat! Almost all food of this poor breakfast is finished! It is unbelievable! Even in 3 stars hotel personel always ask you if you wish something that is already finished and bring it.Cleaning lady every morning clean room. But they do not change every morning towels even if towels are on the ground. They just put towels from the groung accurately back on their place! Should be shame! In surrounding live lizards! And they may appear in your room, especially if room is with terrace! It is not a big problem it is just a lizard but hotel should inform people about this!

    Very careful and friendly people! Especially administration. One day we had a problem with hot water and it was resolved immidiately! Fantastic nature and wonderful view from the hotel! Very beautiful and clean garden! Very good coffee, like in all Italy!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The 75-minute facial really only needed to be 60 minutes...they left me in there for 30 min alone to let the mask set, which is a bit too long (again, I'm a bit of a spa expert). But the facilities were amazing and I loved everything about the experience! This small negative mark is a #firstworldproblem.

    After living in Italy for 2 years, this has by far been my favorite Tuscany experience. The rooms were beautiful, the spa was excellent (and I've been to many Italian spas), the restaurant was amazing for dinner and breakfast alike, and the staff was unconditionally friendly. I highly recommend the Cortona Resort & Spa to any traveler looking for a relaxing weekend in the hills of Tuscany.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cortona Resort & Spa - Villa Aurea traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: