Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Campomaggio 4 stars

Località Campomaggio, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy

#4 of 31 hotels in Radda in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -----

    Our second stay here, we knew why we came back. The staff is more than friendly and helpful, the location stunning and the hotel is beautiful from the in and outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an appartment and it was quite dark inside. Living room did not have a window only half-glass entry door. There was strong smell of chemicals used for wooden floors probably when we arrived. Bathroom was rather old. There was an umbrella in front of our appartment in small relaxing area with a table and chairs and on 2 nd day an umbrella disappeared.1st day at breakfast we arrived 30 min before they finish and there were many products missing and not added anymore and then a waittess came to every table to say breakfast is closed. I suggest to rather say it will be closing soon encouraging guests to take last chance - would be more customer friendly

    Nice location in the middle of wine fields, nice swimming pool area. Spacious appartment, nice complex of traditional buildings with a nice garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked. There is not daily maid service if this is something you expect. However, anything you request will be promptly delivered.

    The staff could not be better-they were more than accommodating from the moment we checked in until checkout. They all went out of their way to make our stay great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t reach the bedrooms.

    Staff were so friendly! The pool and spa were amazing. Brilliant Sauna and steam rooms. Also the views from the hotel into the Chianti hills were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was with Friends and Childs . several times the staff came to us with pretensions from the children running around the facility and they have to be quiet (of course it was during the day), choosing this object in the description was written with children are welcome and it turned out to be a real hotel silence for older people. ..

    Nice place with big rooms ,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radda in Chianti, you need a driver or vehicle. I hired a driver for one afternoon, but would love to have had more time seeing the entire area. The next time!

    Property and accommodations we're gorgeous. Staff was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was scenic it was so beautiful to st outside amongst the gardens. The staff was friendly and booked us some fantastic restos in the small surrounding towns .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While our apartment was lovely, it did not have furnishings to comfortable seat 4 adults; some additional furniture would be nice in the common area. Also, with one bathroom (which was nice size) its hard for 4 people to get ready so a mirror in the bed rooms would be helpful

    This place was beautiful and centrally located for the region. Fantastic food all with a personal touch. The main lodge is comfortable and elegant. The spa is like a grotto with the hot tub, steam room and Turkish bath - relaxing and indulging and included in the rate. The grounds are perfectly manicured, the Villa felt like a vacation in a vacation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grounds really beautiful...Breakfast was great - coffee wonderful. Location to other area easy access. The staff was truly wonderful very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this place and will definitely come back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The grounds are gorgeous, the room was spacious, the views spectacular. The cost for 5 nights was about the same as one night at a similar property here in the Napa Valley.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The staff was very friendly, the room was large and had everything we need, the location is just absolutely gorgeous!! They do have a spa included in the stay but we had limited time to enjoy it unfortunately. They gave us great tips for restaurants and wineries we wanted to visit. Nice breakfast buffet in the morning!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not topped up when been eaten by previous sitters. The hotel is quite secluded from anywhere. Need a car to stay here.

    The staff were so lovely. Barman was very patient with my wife wanting honey for her sore throat, a corkscrew and a teaspoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is horrible, bring your own food as their is no restaurant, only bland salad and bread and bar food. Remote location, must rent a car if you stay here. Staff was not attentive. Room floor was not clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and air conditioning wasn't working, was a short drive to go anywhere and only a small restaurant on site

    Great scenery, wine tasting every evening and free use of spa facilities. Very modern style and very clean. Staff were really helpful and attentive, good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was really cold , especially during the night. Personal was unable/unwilling to fix it. there is almost no dinner there, breakfast is very simple.

    nice location, good overall view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. The classic room in the area of Spa would not recommend at all: very dark with tiny window, cold and the air extremly unpleasant , typical for museums.

    Junior suite in the main building just perfect! Great staff - the ladies in the reception very helpful and open for any problems or suggestions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm, a bit too firm. The food selection for lunch and dinner was lacking but this was because they don't have a full restaurant. Would be amazing if they added this.

    The grounds were amazing and the staff were helpful and happy. They made dinner reservations for us each night so we would choose a different village each night to explore and have dinner. Lots of nice vineyards nearby. Our room had a nice view of the pool, very picturesque and romantic. Super relaxing place to stay and would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is absolutely nothing to eat in the area at certain times of day and evening. The hotel is so isolated we were surprised it didn't offer at least its own little store or even a vending machine to be able to buy water or at least some snacks. When we arrived in the afternoon (their own little restaurant only opens at certain hours so it was closed) we were starving and there was nothing to eat in the area. There were two very old, soggy apples in our room to greet us (we didn't eat them of course). We had to drive to another town about 25 mins away to be able to eat a little something at a bar (the only establishment open). Bathroom: Although the bathroom was spacious, the shower stall was tiny (we are two thin persons and it felt so tight) and full of black mold all around the edges inside. Breakfast: The booking.com site advertises that breakfast is included in this hotel, however it was not included for us once booked. As there is absolutely nothing to eat around, you are forced to pay 14 euros per person per day to eat a below mediocre breakfast. Spa: The hotel advertises a spa and hammam but it is Co-ed (meaning men and women are there together....and they are naked!!) This was not mentioned at booking.com so we were surprised and disappointed as my daughter (13 years old) and I picked this hotel because of the Spa, hoping we would be able to spend a nice spa day together but we were not comfortable being around naked people especially men and also they only offer massage and facials. We would have loved manicures & pedicures and hair treatments which were not offered. Another thing to note is that although they have TV sets in the rooms, unless you know Italian or Arabic, don't bother turning it on.....there are no channels offered for English speaking guests (I think there was only one which was a news channel) None other.

    The setting of this hotel is really beautiful and serene. Very peaceful surroundings and beautiful old farmhouse building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was perfect! Would not change a thing!

    This is our second time staying at Villa Campomaggio. We absolutely love it and were delighted to bring friends along this time. They left feeling the same way...looking forward to our next visit to Villa Campomaggio! To start, the front desk staff was extremely helpful - from helping carry our bags, making dinner reservations - the could not have been more courteous. The kitchen/bar staff - wow, thank you for the impromptu delicious meal you cooked us our first night when we were too tired to go out. Plates of cheeses/meats, bowls of pasta - the food kept coming and the setting was spectacular! Our accommodations were more than spacious for our family. We had a two bedroom apartment and had tons of space. The grounds of Villa Campomaggio are just so beautiful and we love relaxing by the pool. The location of Villa Campomaggio is perfect - easy drive to any of the other beautiful Tuscan towns. Thank you Villa Campomaggio for creating such a special place in Tuscany! You will forever be my "happy place" and I look forward to the next visit. My best to all the staff - you are truly amazing at what you do!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything and wished to stay longer. Beautiful property, Specious room, excellent bathroom, amazing views and very good pool, good breakfast and outdoor/patio restaurant just lovely. Property has a spa but unfortunately we did not have time to use it, will come back as it is such a zen place. Rada in Chianti just few min drive away, highly recommend to visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only had a free standing bath in our junior suite (we were "upgraded" so unsure whether this spec was in the description), rather than or in addition to a power shower.

    pool area was fantastic. Additionally, the picci with wild boar ragu was great, as was the wine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a dislike, but it would be great if they offered a catering solution for evening meals - just to be able to experience the hotel and enjoy it even more.

    Stunning location, absolutely gorgeous building with great surroundings. Perfect for relaxing and exploring the countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit too far off the beaten path. Need a car if you want to explore surrounding area. The food onsite in the restaurant was limited.

    Beautiful property, clean, great pool and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in our rooms quit working in the middle of our stay, but it was cool enough at night if the sun was not allowed into the bedroom during the day. I'm sure it could have been fixed but I didn't mention it to reception during our short 3-night stay since my friend didn't seem bothered by the temperature and was quite comfortable without it as we were only in our rooms in the late evening and early morning hours. Also, and this has no bearing on the Villa itself, but generally I was surprised by the mosquitoes, as I've not encountered them in the area before but then I've visited at different times of the year. I did get bitten quite a bit (neglected to bring any bug repellent) as I always seem to attract them, wherever we are. Window screens in the bathroom would have been nice, as we had to open the windows when showering and that possibly allowed the mosquitoes to come in - a very minor thing overall.

    Our apartment was ideal for our needs - spacious and very comfortable. The Villa is a beautiful property surrounded by vineyards, with a spa and pool on site, along with a bar where you could relax and purchase drinks or light fare. There is a breakfast buffet for an additional charge, which you can take advantage of, or you could make your own light meals in your kitchenette in your apartment (not sure if all rooms have this, but our apartment did). The grounds are nice for a stroll, or just to lounge outdoors in the hammock or on the patio with a glass of local Chianti. The staff were very courteous and helpful with recommendations or booking anything you would need, such as dinner reservations, directions on where best to park for a day trip to Florence, local vineyard tours, etc. There was plenty of parking and the old-world sort of beauty of the Villa was absolutely charming. I wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crazy amount of mosquitos on the property.

    The entire property and grounds were amazing. Pictures do not do it justice. Simple appetizers and pastas for lunch/dinner were delicious. Bar open until late was awesome. Very close to Radda and Volpaia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gorgeous property tucked away in the hills of Tuscany. The campus itself left us speechless. Nothing better than wine hopping all day and then hanging by the pool in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommend having a car while staying here, to get to and from the villa, but also to explore the nearby countryside during your stay

    The villa was absolutely beautiful, the facilities felt luxurious (especially at the price point) and the staff was great. A perfect location for exploring the Tuscan countryside and wineries by day, and lounging by the pool and patio in the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved the facility. The views from our room, the pool, the landscape and how well they keep it up we're all amazing. The staff were helpful but not as friendly as in the other places we stayed in Italy. They definitely did their job but we didn't have a real welcoming feeling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely amazing. Nothing to dislike. We did not like having to leave!

    Like going to Paradise! Setting is out of this world, what you imagine that Chianti/Tuscany looks like in your fantasy, is real here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, except the fact that the stay was too short :)

    Honestly? Everything! Room was very comfortable with large bathroom and beautiful view over the Tuscan vineyards. The property itself is very beautiful and serene : garden, swimming pool, historical building. They arranged us a transfer to one of the restaurants, which worked very smoothly. Would definitely come here again for a longer time!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very good but would have been nice to have some more vegetarian options.

    Loved the massages and the fact that there was a spa onsite. Really wonderful staff who were very accommodative with our requests given we had a small baby. Our apartment was very spacious and comfortable. The view of the winery from the terrace is magnificent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom next to the pool wasnt that clean. But that is a minor complaint. All in all it was as near perfect as it can be.

    Nice spa and incredible view! One of the best places I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of mould. The food we had for breakfast and lunch was awful. Would recommend that you do not eat at hotel and venture out. Additional 50 euros to get your room cleaned and 8 euros for change of towel service is a joke.

    Such an amazing and picturesque property. The pool and spa were great additions. Would definitely recommend if wanting a relaxing quiet/#romantic break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out, not much to do around the hotel and staff very distant. Would have loved to hear some suggestions from reception staff in ragards to different things worth doing etc. They only gave us a map, without any explanation. Not particularly friendly.

    Beautiful views around the property and the hotel was nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment unit we rented was very poorly equipped ...very difficult to prepare the most basic of meals ...hot water problem for 3 hours , which was repaired .

    The view from the common terrace is amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of a full on restaurant was offset by light lunches and dinners available from attentive and friendly staff.

    Beautiful, secluded hotel with fabulous views set amidst vineyards. The staff were superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have wifi, but it was available in the public rooms in the main part of the hotel.

    The property is incredibly beautiful, very secluded, and very peaceful. You definitely know that you are on vacation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire experience more than met our expectations. The hotel, grounds and views are absolutely breathtaking? The exceptional Staff took hospitality to the next level. Our apartment was clean and spacious and the beds huge and comfortable. The spa facility is world class! The food and wine is local and fresh - a total Tuscan experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to go out to eat as the hotel only serves light meals, however it's only a short drive to some lovely restaurants.

    Stunning location & grounds, superb pool & spa area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is located in a very quiet location. The hotel surroundings are beautiful and although we didn't swim, we enjoy seating by the pool and enjoyed the sun. We booked the apartments which were very spacious, clean and very quiet. We really enjoyed our three nights here. The hotel was also very kind and helped us with booking the bikes to use for a full day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No internet access in the apartments. It's unclear why the last 500 meters of road access are left a dirt road.

    Beautiful property located in the middle of Tuscan landscape (wine, hills, various trees). Quiet surroundings. Excellent spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress in the evening at the bar had problems with drinks knowledge. Gin and tonic became gin and sprite! Thought it was the same thing but no major issue.

    Beautiful building, amazing setting with a great terrace to sit on. Lovely breakfasts friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel looked like a 5 star, it operated more like a 3. The rooms are small and there is little storage space for your luggage and clothes - we didn't have enough space to unpack while we stayed stayed had to live out of the suitcases we brought. The bed was also quite uncomfortable and the air conditioning didn't work so I didn't sleep well during my stay. I should also mention that the breakfast was mediocre and the selection varied based on how early you arrived at breakfast. Our coffee order was only taken on one of the 3 days that we stayed so if you would like an espresso or cappuccino be sure to flag down the wait staff to place an order as it is included as part of the breakfast.

    The hotel is in a beautiful part of the Italian countryside and it is very picturesque. The setting cannot be beat and the views from our hotel window and from the veranda were absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The opening hours for the spa could have been way more generous. Saunas should be open at least 2-3 hours more in the evenings.

    Lovely place! Beautiful building and surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claudio and the whole team made our stay amazing. We were given helpful local information and an insight into the Tuscan way of life. Breakfast was prepared on the terrace for us at our request, as the staff were always more than happy to meet expectations. The hotel is well managed, equipped and perfectly maintained.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long bad track upto hotel which was bad news for expensive super car . No food available so take your own or make reservation at restaurants which are miles away !! Staff attitude could have been better in many ways. Breakfast barely passable it was very disappointing. . Bed really hard and uncomfortable. Difficult to find even with sat Nav. Wouldn't return until food situation sorted, beds improved and a decent driveway to hotel was done.

    The location was amazing and the building beautifully restored . Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The apartment was wonderful, however the kitchen utensils (pots, pans, cutlery etc.) need to be improved

    The staff were excellent - always friendly and quick to help out. The best!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scenery and grounds were just incredible. We took so many pictures because it was so beautiful. We also loved the pool and the spa. The whole experience was soothing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge territory, relax, sight, wi-fi. You need a car for full independent movement. Fireplace in room 22 is great. Appartaments is not so good. If you need a lunch/dinner in hotel is not a right place for you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is not really a full restaurant. They bring food in, good food, but the menu is small and one tires easily. There are good restaurants within 10 minute

    The location is simply incredible. You will not want to leave the pool area in amid all the wineyards

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning available even though this property advertises it. We were told that it’s been turned off and to open our (screenless) windows. Even though it was October 2nd, the temperature was 25C/77F – not okay. Bottom line; don’t say you have air conditioning if it isn’t available to guests regardless of time of year. This is false advertising. As a result myself and my wife are absolutely covered in bug bites due to the open windows. We stayed here for our honeymoon. I know that doesn’t entitle us to anything, but when I told them in advance and asked if there was anything that could be done to make it more special, they simply said “no”. Usually a “congratulations” would be a nice response – or any number of small gestures to make it a memorable time. Almost everything beyond access to the facility and the breakfast is a major cash grab. Bottle of water? 5 EUR. Want to do laundry? 8 EUR per item. Basic bottle of Chianti Classico? 30 EUR. Bit of ice cream? 5 EUR. It was very disappointing to see so many extra costs at every turn and it makes the hotel seem desperate. They certainly take advantage of you in this remote location. Be aware that there are no irons in the rooms – again this is a cash grab as ironing service is available at a cost. This caused some stress as I brought many collared shirts that didn’t travel well in my suitcase. We bought some wine at nearby vinyards and were told that we couldn’t drink it in any of the outdoor areas, which seemed absurd to us as this is a private hotel and we are paying guests. Seems like yet another incentive to pay them more Euros. The bar staff is nowhere to be found other than at breakfast, even though it’s listed as being open all day. At the bar and the front desk we had to ring bells and wait many times. The wifi is very weak – noticeably slower than the mobile data network – and your session resets every hour.

    The buildings, grounds, terraces, and views are astounding – easily one of the most beautiful locations we’ve seen in Tuscany. There are many places to relax and unwind including the pool, hammocks, multiple covered and open terraces, and gardens. Access to the spa area is free, which is something we used almost every day and is beautifully designed. (Services like massages are extra). The breakfast is good in selection and in quality, and is also free. I looked forward to the delicious coffee each morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't wifi in the apartments - only in the communal areas, but some might say that's a good thing. The only thing I didn't really like was the access road to the main car park - our car constantly skidded on the uneven rocky surface and it felt a little unsafe due to the steepness of the hill, although perhaps fine with a 4x4. There is another smaller car park to use on a more even surface, but it gets full quickly.

    If you're looking for a relaxed remote location a drive away from civilization then this is the place to be! It was lovely and the grounds are very well looked after. The massage was great and the spa was very quiet and relaxing - remember to take your towel from your room though as we weren't offered one. Wine tasting was nice and very reasonably priced and the staff had really good knowledge of the wines and locations. I would highly recommend this. At night - we walked up behind the hotel on the private roads at night and the stars were amazing in the pitch black! I've never seen as many STARS! Very romantic and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone to check the room after a couple of days especially to provide more toilet rolls!

    We liked the pool and spa. We enjoyed having a small kitchen to make coffee/ breakfast etc. The bed was comfy and it was a peaceful room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were expecting a bigger room as per the photos shown on booking.com but it was ok. The shower was a bit tiny and the room can only be accessed by stairs which made our mission somehow difficult during check-in/check-out

    Almost everything...Breakfast, SPA, outdoor area, pool, the nature surrounding the hotel, location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room could have been better.

    Love Villa Campomaggio, it is was the perfect stay in Tuscany. We loved the pool, wellness centre, the beautiful rooms and the evening wine tasting whilst we read our books. Staff were extremely helpful and very attentive our needs whilst we were there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub/shower is outdated and may need to be modernised We didn't like the overall poshy atmosphere but that was because of the other hotel guests

    We received an upgrade to junior suite which is very spacious and clean. Amazing garden and nice pool Breakfast was very good and lots of choices available. Very good wine tasting opportunities nearby Free access to sauna facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to make this place perfect, they need to have a resturant. also, they should warm the jacuzzi a little bit more

    !LOVED IT! beautifel place, very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is unfortunate that there are no irons or ironing boards available to guests. Whilst the light dinners that can be provided are nice, it is a shame that Villa Campomaggio don't provide a more comprehensive restaurant service, it is something we would gladly have made use of and would have made the whole experience more relaxing. You have to travel by car to reach any local restaurants otherwise taxis are very expensive.

    The staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and we appreciated the relaxed atmosphere they created. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, whilst the setting is splendid. The wine tasting with finger food is a great way to spend the evening too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning service. Wifi only in lobby and patio area. No wifi in room. 'Wine tasting' was overpriced. No one to help carry luggage up many many steps. Shower extremely small. Furniture outdated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming treatment. They even arrange a bike rental for us. Quiet and confortable, in the middle of the Toscana. Delicious breakfast with homemade cake.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a touch overpriced for what it was (a decent continental breakfast, but nothing too local). It's a touch far to walk to the 1 close restaurant, everything else is driving distance. I guess this only matters if you like wine and care about drunk driving.

    Friendly and helpful staff, nice pool and facilities. The bar has some nice cocktails and is open pretty much all the time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Frankly, everything was just perfect. :)

    Great hotel, perfect and quiet location in the hills of Chianti (a relatively short drive to both Siena and Florence), beautiful terrace and pool area, spacious room (superior) with a wonderful view from the windows of the room and bathroom over the nearby hills and Radda in Chianti in the distance, very friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Death watch beetle in wood kept us awake . Villa not fully swiped for 6 people and there was no outdoor space to sit or eat- there is a turret that could be utilised for this Air con it that efficient

    Location and buildings staff very helpful pool and spa great very quiet our villa was good size and very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but let down by the coffee.

    Beautiful location in the hills of Chianti. Friendly staff who made excellent restaurant reservations. Large swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than a little expensive but then it's Tuscany in the high season !!

    Absolutely beautiful setting, quiet overlooking hills of vineyards. The hotel is wonderfully appointed in a small boutique style, subtle decor and friendly helpful made for a perfect stay. The bed was enormous and the room very restful. Nice sized pool, which never seemed to get too busy. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, lovely freshly made coffees. Wonderful stay, will certainly return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast: boring cheese and ham, why no extra card for other cheese, egg benedict etc. - many guest would pay extra, why no pro active selling for lunch and dinner, why only pool serice every 2 hours, thirty people and revenue is waiting at the pool?

    reception-staff very helpful and friendly, pool area, different nice room types, location, whole style

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you need coffee first thing in the morning, bring your own instant coffee. A hotpot is in the room, but only tea is provided.

    We stayed at the Campomaggio twice in a one week period, and both rooms were very comfortable (I like a firm bed). The breakfast was one of the best that we had while on our 2-week Italian vacation. We especially liked the pool area and took advantage of the spa to have a massage, something not always available in Europe. Carlotta at the front desk was very helpful, and although we work at speaking a few words of Italian, she's fluent in English. The winetasting each evening from 6-7:30 for only 10 Euros was a plus, and the h'or d'oeuvres were tasty. Definitely, we will return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-hour massages only, no possibility to have a 30-minute one... No dinner/lunches options onsite.

    The Spa is beautiful, nice location, very relaxing. The bathroom was spacious. Barista coffee available for breakfast, this was appreciated. Wine testing organised with light food for 10euro per person.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can not think of a thing

    The staff were incredibly helpful with restaurants and wineries to visit and made reservations for us. We arrived late and they kept the kitchen open to feed us. Above and beyond our expectations

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't realize we had to make a reservation for dinner there. Did not see it written anywhere When we got back late from an excursion one night and wanted something small, we were pretty much ignored and after about an hour of waiting and not being served, we left.

    Place was stunning. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our daughter and partner stayed in a unit and it was damp and air conditioner dripped water continuously. Their bathroom sink wasn't connected to main pipes at all! There is also a very steep charge for change of towels and linen in units! Definately not enough staff rostered on to serve meals in dining area. One night we ate there only one waitress to serve, take orders and work on bar for everyone. Very long wait and she was very stressed as you would expect.

    The area was beautiful. Villa was gorgeous. Our room lovely; it was spacious, clean and we had a magnificent view. Biggest shower we have every had, which was great. We were always greeted with a smile by staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too strict "hours" for some services (i.e. bar service) and another minus was that the hotel does not offer proper dinner (the only serve smaller dishes every second day). Our biggest concern, however, was a receptionist who spoke downgrading about another colleague and guests from certain countries. Unprofessional and not OK.

    Amazing area, beautiful views, perfect location close to vineyards, small, idyllic tuscan villages and so on. The pool area was very nice. We had a suite which was beautifully decorated and that in general beat out expectations.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big deal, but a bit more drawer/wardrobe space would have been useful and no kettle in standard classic room.

    Set in the most stunning scenic area of Tuscany Campamaggio hotel is perfect as a central base to this beautiful region. Quiet, wonderfully maintained grounds, with several different areas to plan or just ponder. Staff always on hand and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in one of the self-catered apartments, which are not in the main complex, but attached to the back. Although spacious, the interior is basic. There is no cleaning service or towel change included. There is also no equipment to wash, or to clean the apartment. Thus, for us, one week stay was borderline (you can buy the service and towel change, but it's at EUR 140 rather steep). Overall, we would not book the apartments again and would suggest the management to either equip them with cleaning facilities or include regular cleaning and towel change in the package, and provide a wash machine or washing facilities. Also, included breakfast would be great so guests don't feel completely cut out from the main hotel (breakfast for an extra Eur 14 per person per day is quite steep considering you are in a small village the middle of the country side).

    Staff is super friendly and helpful, no problems with late arrival on day of arrival (because of late flights and delays...). Main hotel building seems very nice and comfortable, spa is good and spacious, pool seems nice (although it was to cold to try out), plenty of parking space, quiet location in the country side, close to Radda

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smelly bedroom due to bedspread and bed cover. Shower sink was not working as it wasn't cleaned (full of hair & stuff). The villa doesn't include basic services in the room rate (stayed 4 nights and didn't had the room cleaned as it is considered an additional service and priced at 50 Euros, towels change is 15 Euro). Toiletries were not refilled during our stay. The apartment kitchen was poorly equipped (only two glasses which were not proper for wine). No mosquito nets (highly needed!). Asked for a quiet apartment in the booking and got an apartment without any kind of view (like a dungeon with tiny backyard - about 4 meters wide, with stone walls from other apartments and annexes on sides).

    Reception staff was always at our disposal to help with everything (including restaurants and things to visit). Helped us remove the smelly bedspread and bed cover from the apartment. The property is beautiful. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: