Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa del Bosco 4 stars

Via del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Italy

#43 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 778 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like anything. Food, every morning the same, there is no parking for all guests, there is no beach as it suposse to be, it’s farr away from centar. The pool is small. We didn’t like this hotel 😡

    I didn’t like anything. Food, every morning the same, there is no parking for all guests, there is no beach as it suposse to be, it’s farr away from centar. The pool is small. We didn’t like this hotel 😡

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt really warmly welcomed when I arrived at the hotel. The whole staff was kind and helpful. The shuttle transport to the city and beach was excellent service. But you could also walk to the Catania city center from the hotel. It was maybe 20-25 minute walk. The city center was vivid and there was so much to see. I also took the shuttle transport to the Taormina city and I really recommend to visit there! You need to pay for the transport but it was so easy and worth for every penny.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent in every way, Amazing staff always friendly & professional, Lovely room, Very good breakfast, Curtesy minibus to & from beach or city centre was a definite bonus & the two meals we ate in the restaurant where superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say something then there wasn’t enough places to eat around the hotel, you had to go into the centre to eat.

    The girls at the reception really made my week. They all spoke great English as well as other languages so it was easy to communicate. All three of them Ilaria, Vera and Emelie are such beautiful girls and I have to say thankyou to them for making my week. Emelie helped us with booking the right Etna tour with Etna excursions (you must do it with them, absolutely incredible), plus they helped us with any questions we had about the area. I was told by friends to try some Sicilian delicacies and they all told us where to go to get the best ones. They have a guy to drive us to the beach and city centre with no extra cost which was so handy. My room and my friends was fab as we both had balcony’s and had an amazing view of Etna and the sea! Some advice, you should book the breakfast as there is a wide range of food and you can eat as much or as little as you like, plus it was delicious and the waitresses and chefs are so lovely. Just everyone in the hotel was lovely, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is rather expensive for what it provides ...one of us enjoyed their meal but not the other as it was not well thought out or cooked. As above late opening pool is a problem Reception staff gave too little change to us when we paid in cash

    The hotel is a lovely old building which has been very nicely furnished and set out. It is nice to have a pool, although it is not that large and in the morning was not open until well after 9am - not so good, if like me you prefer to swim before breakfast. The breakfast was comparatively good for Sicily. The staff speak good English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fairly far from old town - taxi costs at least 15 euro and takes 12-20 min based on traffic. About 10-12 min to railway station by car. The shuttle is once in an hour with break from noon to 4 pm and takes only 8 people so if this is full you have to take a cab. You need to book the shuttle an hour in advance.

    Building is beautiful Helpful English speaking staff at Reception Wide selection of cocktails at the bar and professional barman Great view from the balcony surrounding the restaurant at the top floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the older furniture unfortunately came a not so fresh smell when we entered the room. If the room would be aerated enough this should not be a problem. The receptionist was friendly but trying to push us into a room that we did not want. The receptionist the next day made us walk a unnecessary de-tour to get to the bus station to city center. Helpful would be a map that guides you to the next station in case you cannot wait for the free bus shuttle the hotel is offering.

    The breakfast was nice - not just Italian breakfast but a wide selection of continental breakfast. The service in the restaurant was super friendly. I very much liked the interior of our room as it is telling a story and feels different then a regular hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not very centrally located and the restaurant was not open, so we could only have a sandwich for dinner. Also, there were small ants in the first room we were assigned (which can be understandable given the type of building, with rooms on ground floor) but we were immediately moved to a new one which was impeccable.

    The service is impeccable, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very well isolated noisewise due to the thickness of the wall (old building) so hope not to have nousy neighbours watchinf tv late at night and talking too much. Breakfast could be a bit better to be in line with the standard of the hotel but overall decent and very nice view from the breakfast room.

    Very comfortable beds and bedroom ver clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water was cold throughout our stay so paying for the Deluxe Suite was a waste of money and a rip off because we couldn't use the bath. There are no power points so we had to unplug the Lamps to charge our appliances which made the room dark.

    The view. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't use a 50 euro note to pay for anything.

    The breakfast was top notch. Plenty of variety, very good quality, and very pleasant, warm service from the staff. Quality furnishings, and view of Mt Etna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite remote for lunch as nearest restaurant was over a 20 min walk

    Lovely Room and excellent service. Nice swimming pool for the summer. Local roads afforded sufficient parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Our room was quite dark,and no balcony The hotel is quite a walk from the centre of Catania, although the hotel offered a shuttle minibus to the town it was only a one way service and not that frequent. Taxi's were expensive and the 429 bus than ran was very in frequent.. The choice of food on the hotel dinner menu was limited.

    the staff were friendly and very helpful. breakfast was nice, and served in the restaurant at the top of the hotel,nice views . The hotel pool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The privat beach was already closed and the room size was not what we expected. On top is was quite dark due to a covered window for view protection from outside.

    Friendly staff, especially the driver from the shuttle, which is included from/to downtown. The breakfast is offers everything and the view is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was strange and weird in a new wing. It did not look like I was used often and we were worried about putting our clothes down or even sitting on the cow hide (hair) sofa. The roof top terrace and jacuzzi nice touches but we were just gobsmacked by the weird gold 'theme' and 70s style design

    Villa Bosco is a beautiful building but be warned there are two halves to the building the old villa and a new wing. We were upgraded to the presidential suite which sounds amazing but was like walking into a a very bad 70s movie set or the home of a despot dictator. So whilst the front of house is friendly they have a 6th century marble counter and are uber friendly the experience is just not what I would look for from a decent hotel. So great venue with good potential but with the crazy car park and the eclectic set up it's more Fawlty Towers to those familiar with this hotel series than what one would expect from a 2017 hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This just felt contrived - in no way was the room at the Sheraton of comparable value to what we thought we had arranged at the Bosco -irrespective of a sale. I think the room retailed at £108 - it was tiny with the smallest patio I have ever seen and totally unlike what we wanted and planned for 4 months previously. Didn't like the unprofessional manner of the Bosco - frankly, this felt like that they had the opportunity to rent the room we had booked to someone else at a higher price

    Not a lot - we were not able to stay here!This was a huge disappointment. We booked the property 4 months ago specifically to celebrate a special wedding anniversary at the end of our holiday -and we took advantage of a sale to book a room at 75% discount -so although we only paid £93 we were led to believe that this would be a top room usually retailing at £380. We travelled around Sicily for 3 weeks before planning to arrive on our penultimate night for our special day. It was only mere chance that my husband called ahead on the preceding day to order champagne in the room to be told that they had tried to contact us (not true) to advise that there was a problem with water on the floor that we were staying and that we would be relocated to the Sheraton Hotel. To be fair, we got a complimentary bottle of prosecco and free transfer to the hotel - but it was so far away from the airport that it cost 35 Euros the next day to transfer there! Also to be fair -the food was very good at the Sheraton which helped (a bit)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not correspond to a 4 stars cathegory. The rooms are exceptionally small, you can not fit even small luggage. The cleaning is irregular, if you do not exit your toom until 10:00, nothing is changed there. The so called "swimming pool" is the size of a jacuzzi. The breakfast is with the cheapest possible products and around 9:00 you can not find proper food. The picture shows how "rich" the breakfast is around 9:00 The ride to the beach is an experience - usually the hotel tries to fit 14 people in 8 seats. A photo shows the ride. The beach is not free as advesrtized and it is booked by the locals for the whole season. So basically you have to beg to receive a place to sit. We explained the above with pictures to Booking.com on August 7, but still have not received any response from their Customer Service. It is a pity, as I used a lot this site's services.

    We liked the city, despite the bad experience with the hotel. Trattoria del Cavaliere is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Postage stamp pool. Resturant food poor. Too far from town. Needed taxi to any other resturants. Beach resort recommended by hotel very poor( there are other beach resorts which we found excellent on Vialle Presidente Kennedy)

    Breakfast good. Nice helpful staff. Courtesy bus but doesn't operate in evening

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility could use a sprucing up.

    The staff was uniformly terrific. Our luggage was lost by Aliltalia- what a shocker! and the staff couldn't have been more sympathetic and helpful. Good restaurant recommendations and helpful in all respects.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There seemed to be a bit of understaffing at the restaurant/bar. The attempts at offering a hot breakfast were not that great.

    Nice location, central but quiet. Spacious rooms, clean. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be careful on unfair taxi drivers from Catania Airport to your hotels. The man who drove us to Villa del Bosco showed 80 Euro on taxometer instead of 25-30 Euro - he has the white van for 8 persons. We had no choice and paid it... Also maybe due to high season, it is not true that sun-beds or umbrellas on the beach are free - we had to pay.

    All very nice: stylish hotel, helpful staff, clean room and good breakfast, available swimming-pool and fast wifi. There were transfers to and from the beach or Catania city center. The entry to the beach was free - we got tickets in Villa del Bosco ( by the way - the beach is ca 11-12 km drive from hotel).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant room with balcony and fantastic view on the Catania Bay. The staff is very friendly and always available to help with smile and professionality. Definitely we enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We booked 3 double rooms for 11 nights in August 2017. One of the main reasons we chose the hotel was that it had its own beach at 10-15 min reached by a shuttle bus, and the beach looks beautiful in the pictures. It was not like that: the shuttle was fully booked for the next two days, and on the days when you caught it, you arrived at the beach at 11:15 and came back at 17:00. And the minibus did not have air conditioning. "Le Capannine" beach is not the hotel's beach, but a very cheap public beach (the entrance is 4 euros). Because it's cheap it was very crowded. Umbrellas in the pictures could not be rented because they were places rented by residents for the whole season. The tourists were hanging around a quarter of the beach. From the third day we rented a minibus and we went to a normal beach with umbrellas and beach beds. We were tired of the hotel's “VIP private beach”. The room is small and the furniture is old and non-functional. The drawers of the furniture did not open, the closet had 4 hangers, the air conditioning was automatically pass to 16 degrees 1 minute after you set it on 22 degrees, the shower cabin stuck with you inside. Breakfast is served until 10:00. If you arrive at 10:05 you can no longer enter. It's the worst breakfast I've ever had in Italy. There were few dishes, the omeleta ends immediately, the fruit juice is synthetic and you put it in disposable PLASTIC GLASSES. The hotel parking is for 7 cars, and they park 12. To get your car, you have to wait for the other cars to leave. The good news is that the hotel is in a peripheral area and you can find a parking space on the street. But you should have a full insurance for the car. The hotel's swimming pool is small and dirty, it does not look like the one in the pictures.

    When the hotel was renovated, it was tastefully arranged. Probably a lot of money was invested. But now we can see that the team that runs the hotel does not give interest. It's a shame. The pictures with the hotel are very good. They were able to fool us. Except for a 50 year old receptionist, the rest of the staff was friendly. Sicily is wonderful! It has a special charm. I'm sure to come back to Catania (but obviously I will never stay at Villa del Bosco)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub with hand held shower head was horrible. You had to sit in the bathtub to shower as there was no screen and water went every where. We were put out front of the main building in a room/ box with a very high window felt suffocating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice view from our connecting rooms, and also from breakfast room. Nice restaurant with big terrace. Small but nice swimming pool. Not far from Catania, but better to have a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had intermittent trouble getting the wifi to work in our bedroom. Choices in the restaurant were limited. It appealed more to me as an adventurous type but not to my brother who wants "normal food".

    The A/C was good! The pool was small but very nice with lots of chairs and lounges around it. Breakfast buffet was great value for money. Ambience was elegant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator to get to our room, which was a problem as one of my friends was using crutches. The location was a little bit off. You get free entrance to a private beach that is close to the airport, too crowded and does not have good restaurant facilities.

    The breakfast was very good! The design of the place was old world romantic, and charming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked this hotel because it had 1. What seems like a decent sized swimming pool on your website but the reality is very different; suffice to say a postage stamp and it would have a lot in common! So, we never used it, very suitable for families with young children. 2. A shuttle service. Unless it's booked at least 24 hours in advance forget it! The taxi service as it turned out was excellent and very reasonable.

    The hotel was quirky; part old and part new, but really nice; we had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay; there were eight in our party for four nights, my son joined us for two of those as he was working in Sicily for the Summer. The food at breakfast was interesting, ranging from sweet through to savoury. Dinner was excellent; lots to choose from and what a lovely setting on the starry terrace! We just sat back and relaxed, wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't be late for breakfast, even if it's only five minutes past the deadline of 10am. Coffee may be the only item available. The bedroom walls were a little thin, I could hear a baby cry.... Also the shuttle bus was not available; it seems that it needs to be booked at least 24 hours in advance (however a taxi service was available and prompt, no more than ten minutes wait)

    The food in general was really good; lots of variety for breakfast; the custard pastries were particularly yummy! Bed comfy. Night time on the terrace both for dining and wining was so enjoyable as it was beautifully lit. The staff were friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel inside and out is old and worn out, smoking is allowed in the restaurant, not close to any public transport apart from one bus, power outages, waited for dinner at the restaurant for over 40min even though it was not busy both nights, rooms not soundproofed, breakfast was very sparse and cost us extra on top of our room fee, shower head in our room broken and shower screen coming out of frame, all carpet worn down and dirty, wallpaper peeling, no elevator to level one if yoi have need of it, pool and surrounding area very small for a big hotel, water also murky; bad ventilation in hallways, website "dresses it up" far more than what it looks like in reality. Separate beds pushed together to make a double, music and outside noises heard loud and clear until well after midnight.

    The receptionists were a great help. Pizza at the restaurant was tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from centre. However the shuttle service was a huge help.

    All staff were very friendly and did everything they could to accommodate any request we made.We often asked very late for a place on shuttle. Always managed to squeeze us on, one day making special trip to collect us at lunchtime (not on timetable)!! Nice continental breakfast including scrambled eggs, bacon and hot dog style sausage. Minibar/fridge in room. Exceptionally clean, we always saw someone cleaning pool/tidying/raking leaves etc. Nice beach with free shuttle service into town/beach/station. They even organised a car to take us to Taurmina at 9.30pm for pick up the next morning, very attentive staff, we loved our stay here!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only major fault is that the breakfast isn't great. Happy to be getting breakfast in the first place but they didn't even have any fruit which I suppose would be expected from most people. Their lunch and dinner menus are of course better.

    Was sceptical at the beginning about the hotel being out from the centre of Catania but it really wasn't a big issue as the location is nice and peaceful and after a few visits to the centre there isn't much to be missed. The staff were very accommodating helping us with any thing we needed and the rooms were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The term "del bosco" led us to believe the property was surrounded by trees or in a forest. The swimming pool requires more shade and more space for sun loungers.

    The shuttle bus, the receptionists at the desk and the restaurant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is definitely not a 4 stars hotel. We could not enjoy the very small pool during our stay because a group was already using it playing ball games and it looked overcrowded. The hotel is not within walking distance of the historic center. There is a shuttle to the center but with very restricted hours.

    OK for one night. We could get lunch on arrival (snack-bar type). We stayed there before taking a plane the following morning and it proved convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a litle too far from the center. You need a car to get to the center. Breakfast is very nice, but the staff is very sort. Two persons don't mannage the croud. You must get early to the dining room otherwize breakfast will be very dull.

    The hotel, in an oldpalace, is very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit boring and the pool quite small. The place could ude some restauration, it dermed worn down in places.

    Good service and good shuttle bus to and from town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel with the convenient location when travelling by car. Breakfast was a big surprise - very poor choice, during high season haven't offered even such simple things as tomatos and watermelon, Although breakfast time till 10 am, after 9 scrambled eggs finished, problems with bringing timely joghurt, cake and everything that was finished, had to ask to refill coffee for many times.

    Good hotel with a friendly staff and convenient vallet parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit out of town but they have a shuttle bus in and out to town and beach.

    Very chaming old hotel but very clean and had a lovely family room. Food in the restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put into a smaller room than we booked. We were put into a room with a queen bed & 2 fold out beds but we booked a quadruple room with 4 beds. My sons are way too big for fold out beds & I would never have booked this hotel if I had known we would get a tiny room with fold out beds. When we complained they told us the quadruple room was booked but we could move the following day. This meant we had to repack all our bags the next morning. The quadruple room room was much bigger & much better suited to a family of 4. It still had fold out beds but they were better quality & more comfortable. The hotel is in a terrible location. There are no restaurants or shops close by & it is 15 euros in a taxi into town. The hotel restaurant has an an usual menu & is over priced. Our children wouldn't eat their pizza or pasta as they said it tasted strange. I told the staff I was coeliac & they said no problem, they would give me gluten free pasta. It tasted nice but it must have been contaminated with gluten as I was very ill after eating it. This is the ONLY time in 3 weeks of traveling through Italy I have had any gluten contamination. I informed the hotel prior to my arrival that I was coeliac. For breakfast I got some rice crisp breads & some gluten free cakes I couldn't eat. I ordered a coffee which I couldn't drink as it tasted like the detergent hadn't been rinsed off the cup. I sent it back but didn't get a replacement. The rooms are very hot & the air conditioning doesn't cool the rooms sufficiently. The restaurant is on the balcony so no air conditioning. It was 40 degrees when we visited so it was uncomfortably hot in the room & restaurant. The "free" shuttle to the beach (included in the tariff) is actually only an 8 seater car & only does 2 trips to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location and at times service. The property is located in a poorly serviced bus route area, the alternative is to get a taxi/hotel taxi to the centre, approx 18E each way. The property states on the website 'a free shuttle bus every hour', this in fact is limited to 8 people a trip and it is not every hour, although they do offer a taxi service charged at 18E a trip, surprisingly this taxi is the same vehicle used for the shuttle bus? I challenged the hotel on misrepresentation on the website and was fobbed off, fortunately my father is Italian and after some discussion we got our free shuttle bus to the centre but my concern is why was I told it was not available and then 30 mins later it was for my father?? This was not the first time this happened on only a 5 day trip at the hotel. They also have a habit of trying to fit in paying customers with the free shuttle bus, if you pay for a service you expect not to share the taxi surely?

    Elegant property, great decor and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely lady at reception with blonde hair, very helpful and friendly

    We stayed here for or trip in Sicily, we found an elegant beautifully kept building, situated well for visiting mount Etna, they give you access to a private beach where everything is available including free beds, Mon to Fri

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the property isn't close to any shopping or things to do in walking distance.

    The staff was very helpful and very pleasant. The property was very clean and updated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far out the way , no restaurants nearby and bus service was a little sporadic but very cheap only 1 euro into town , there just wasn't enough buses running up that way and taxi was 15 euro but it was still worth a venture into the town as restaurants were very good .

    Free shuttle to beach and town , room was a fair size and clean , restaurant breakfast was ok and evening meal was excellent , free beach towels if required . Organised trip to mount etna and taromelina was really good .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was only ok hot water was tepid ,coffee was bitter and also not v warm.hot breakfast was anything but and scarce.v slow to refill anything we tried going down earlier no difference. Parking v limited. no windows in bedroom only velux

    V clean. pool area nice and in quiet area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no insulatıon in the rooms you can hear all the dialogues of your neighbor. The lights were not working properly

    Even not ordered because we were leaving very early , thay prepared us a dogy bag brakefast .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room that was attached to the restaurant terrace. I had a group of people eating right next to my window, which wasn't isolated. For the whole evening it was like they were in my room. at midnight they were still talking. You can't blame these people, they were having a normal conversation but it is absolutely scandolous that they position a room next to a restaurant table. at midnight I left my room and asked for a new one. I had to pack my bags, because they wouldn't move the clients in the restaurants. I found myself having to get dressed and packed and move to another room in the middle of the night. The food was horrible. I sent my plate back as I wasn't even able to cut the piece of meat (but it was cold inside), they didn't even offer me a coffee to make up for it. avoid this place. i travel a lot but i have never had such a bad experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be helpful if the pool was easier to access e.g. Handrails on stairs from terrace or lower ground floor

    Staff very helpful and shuttle into city was a very good service. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little far out of the city but this wasn't really an issue for us as we had a car and used the shuttle bus, but something to be aware of when booking.

    The property is beautiful, staff were really nice and you are really well looked after, the entire hotel is really clean and well looked after. Would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service,

    Really great and helpful staff throughout. Classic features in this hotel and lovely view of mount Etna and city from breakfast room balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hard bed, thin walls, far away from city center (car required)

    close to airport, good breakfast in panorama room, helpful staff, nice garden and small swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    20 minutes from the airport so a good choice for an overnight stay before an early morning flight. Quad room was a decent size for a family, and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The room had the best view of the harbor and seaside. We were to stay in Taormina but the G7 summit had all the hotels booked. This was a recommended hotel as an alternate and it ended up being a great hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leaving! Literally, outside the gate the traffic/cars parked made driving a challenge.

    The staff was all fantastic, especially Vicky and Ramon. We stayed in the Villa and it was very nice. The whole hotel has old world elegance and charm and we felt very comfortable. It is in the city, but has many areas to enjoy, and on our last night we bought local bread, cheese, meats and wine and enjoyed picnic on the patio. The barman, Ramon, was wonderful when the city was closed for holiday, and no food was available..he made salads for us. The hotel is walled and gated and was really nice that way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    (every thing went wrong at this hotel.(we were a group of 12 freinds starting with the reservation-they kepet changing there policiy and we had to call booking to get some instractions. at some point we even considered to cancel our resrvation we are sorry we did not do it. they did not try to meet our needs, aspacialy the manager who was very rude and almost hit one of our friends this hotel don't worth his 4 stars! i advice you strongly to avoid reserve at this place

    .the place look nice on the web site. it. has a nice facade but this is a falls impresion

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel completely deceived. Pool was not available and that was the exact reason I booked this hotel. When I arrived they said they were cleaning the pool; I insisted a d they said they would start later after I used it. I asked if me and my friends could use it in morning and they said maybe and that was an absolute lie. In the morning the said it was unavailable for the whole day. I feel completely deceived by this hotel and booking.com as I was led to book a hotel that did not have the facilities they advertise for

    The blonde lady at the reception - by far the best at this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a long way from the centre, the shuttle into town was good but stopped at 18:00 so the only option to get back st night was a taxi

    Pleasant top floor breakfast room with distant sea views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast could be better organized, it was a case of up first best dressed! Also restaurant closed on bank holliday so you could not eat at hotel, only a few staff working hotel that day. no hot water for 2 nights, a pity really cause staff were very friendly, shuttle bus to center was good.

    The view was good. staff wellcoming. organized flowers for surprize for my wife which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and expensive food, especially breakfast. Tired and drab rooms, lack of tea and coffee in the room, hot water unavailable for some of the week. Overall poor value for money.

    The shuttle to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures show a nice whirlpool that we were not allowed to use. We could not even go to the balcony to take a picture. The H offer a free shuttle service to go to the beach but reception informed that they could only offer to the city center.... It was so warm! like 25 degrees and sun burning! receptionist saying it's winter.... What a big dissapointment

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant for dinner was really disappointing, and so was the breakfast. Dinner was cold, coffee was cold and not nice. Really disappointing overall, especially considering the price. I would not recommend this hotel if staying in Catania.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airport shuttle should be free for more than 2 people with one reservation.

    Helpful and nice staff, fantastic and unique bus driver:-). Very clean bathrooms, excellent care of housekeeping. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and varied. Coffee, drinks and food very good quality and quantity.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only drawback was that the bus service to the hotel locality, the 429 was infrequent though the hotel itself overcame this to some extent by providing an hourly taxi service free.

    The whole hotel was a very pleasant experience. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and well furnished with interesting decorative features. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some better info on local buses may have been helpful as the hotel is over 2.5 miles from the centre

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms. a bookable shuttle bus for residents is a big positive lots of choice for breakfast with lovely views from the roof terrace

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff (receptionist)had just served two gentlemen drinks at the bar, we asked for some drinks and she advised she would not serve us as she only serves "the best customers" bearing in mind we had spend quite a lot of money in the restaurant and at the bar on previous days. Would not recommend the restaurant the food was nothing like described on the menu

    Most of the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us Room was lovely and clean Shuttle bus to centre was great and always on time

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thought the room would be in the older section of the hotel. Not easy to walk to places from the hotel.

    Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Presidential Suite had a great terrace with fantastic views. Room was good but needed a little tlc. The beach (and free shuttle during the week) is great. Food at the hotel is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a four people room. Mezzanine floor creates more space? No, that's where 30 square meter came from. It only has one window without view. And they didn't give you blanket at the first time, That's why me and my mother got cold after the first night. Remember to ask for it. wifi is a joke. poor breakfast.

    safe and silent area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location pretty much requires a rental car. Driving a car in Cantania is tricky and you risk damage just having it in your possession. We escaped any scratches, thankfully. So aside from the location being removed from downtown and beaches its a decent hotel.

    Free pass to a beach area is given, location is 30 minutes away, they provide a free shuttle for a day trip. Parking is ample. Plenty of sitting areas in hotel. Pool is quaint. Resortish atmosphere. Breakfast was above European standards.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very noisy,we coundnt sleep after 6am,air condition was noisy too. Towels and breakfeast are werent clean enough. Most important thing is there isnt a free parking lot for our car. You have to pay 8euro per night. Before the entrance you have to give your car key to stuff.

    Otel is good designed and look profesionnal,rooms are big enough and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at the villa and if I have a remark, it's about the shower. The bathroom is fine but only the shower is small.

    Beautiful villa with small pool where we have been reading every afternoon with a greath glass of aperol spritz. Staff is very friendly. The hotel is not close to the city centre but they have a free shuttle to the historic centre and to the beach. We also loved to have dinner at the hotel, outside on the terras. Greath stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi does not work, and if it works it is very very slow. This location is to have a car.

    The bed, the breakfast, the hotel is very nicely decorated, the room is spacious and the bathroom clean. Very nice view from room 303. The service very helpful. We had no chance to try the pool but looked nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi could be of a better quality

    The hotel is a real gem. The beautiful decor of the hotel, the location, spectacular views from the top floor of Mt Etna and the Ionian sea, the ground-floor restaurant - all perfect. Yet the highlight of our stay was the staff - especially, at the reception. Our special thanks go to Giuseppe and Ezio who made our stay at the hotel most comfortable and unforgettable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better as it is 4 stars hotel. It was like 3 stars hotel's breakfast. In general the service for breakfast was not enough. There were a lot of noises above our room as it was under the restaurant that serves breakfast. You could easily hear the talking or other noises from the adjacent room. The fan of our room made noises even when it was off.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decoration of the hotel was very nice. The facilities for beach such as trasportation and free tickets for beach/ bed and amberella were very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet sometimes was spotty but again it was not something I consider a must while on vacation

    1. Great value for price: room was comfy and we had a big balcony which was a nice plus. Breakfast was plenty and of great quality and the staff was incredibly nice and remembered guests by name. Food was always replenished. I even witnessed that the staff offered breakfast to a family who arrived 30 minutes after the end of the breakfast: they didn't have to but they did it anyway. Great customer service. Hotel offered free transfer to downtown Catania (scheduled times) as well as free transfer to a local beach with beach umbrellas, lounge chairs included. 2. Everyone on the staff has been delightful and super welcoming and professional 3. Hotel is charming and small enough you can get to know other guests. The space has different common areas where you can hang out and chill. The small pool area is a nice touch 4. I also liked that for a small fee - 8 euro - you can have your car parked in their private parking space and don't stress about the small streets

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillow so thin I suffer a terrible neck pain. The room had incredibly bad acoustic isolation, I heard all the night some kind of air cooling noises from another room. One night we also heard a couple having sex, like a motel. The swimming pool is just a big bath tub. I had my car locked into one of two parking for one hour because the park is shared with a church (!) and people going to the church parked their cars and nobody from the hotel was able to solve it. And of course you have to pay for the car parking. I found for two time hair in my new towels. The bathroom has no windows and the fan was broken. Can you imagine the smell? I ask for reparation, nobody did. The hotel is far from the city centre, you need a car.

    The staff The building The wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a little bit far away the city. room is kind of old.

    the swimming pool is beautiful and cozy the restaurant is worth to try room is good with enough space the beach of the shuttle going is really good. good for money

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Villa del Bosco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: