Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Albertina 2 stars

Via Vallaresso 1a, 30126 Venice-Lido, Italy

#33 of 36 hotels in Venice-Lido

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay -right near bus stop so easy to get to vaporetto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not staffed after 8-9 pm so you get a front door code The first nite we came in at 8:30 pm and there were 3late check ins so they left their info on the door with code and where the room keys were so anyone coming by could access the hotel and those rooms We heard loud arguing late at night in one of the rooms and there was no one to speak to about it Beds were very hard

    Staff was friendly especially housekeeping and breakfast server Front desk person was ok but not overly friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Yummy Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Upon my arrival to London, I noticed Villa Albertina had changed the booking to 1 day when in fact it was a 5 day booking. I understand this may have been done due to tax issues however, I believe tax should be paid to keep the city alive, not in your pockets. - During our stay, while we were out of the room, workmen entered our room without permission and took out the broken aircon. We were not informed. I arrived back at the hotel (without my fiance as he is Venetian and works in Venice) and noticed it was gone. As I was sitting on the bed, someone knocked twice and before I could get up to answer, they opened the door with a spare key. However good the hotel may be, the communication between staff, and communication towards guests is very low in certain aspects. The dust from the workmen removing the broken aircon had stained my belongings, which were rested on the table beneath the aircon. If I were told workmen would be visiting, I'd have moved it all. Thank god I didn't leave my bra hanging around.. =D - When checking in, we wanted to pay in the evening. The receptionist said that was okay. Upon arrival in the evening, the night-shift receptionist was not informed of the decision to pay in the evening, which complicated everything and resulted in us having to be checked in again. Communication is key.

    The hotel is a small yet beautiful villa converted into a hotel; almost looked like a family home before being converted. There is only one flight of stairs, and one level, so even if you don't pack light (like me) you won't find problems taking your luggage up. - The room we had was quite beautiful, VERY clean and spacious. - The cleaner lady is fantastic, she is SO friendly and should be promoted to receptionist, absolute tesoro. Cleanliness in our room, and around the hotel was fantastic! - Breakfast was brilliant, we were served croissants every morning, and there's also a selection of bread, yoghurt, local meat, cheese, cereal, eggs, jams, and delicious cakes accompanied by two choices of juice, water, hot/cold milk, or a selection of tea. - Air-conditioned room, but shutters on windows allowed us to leave windows open and not worry about intruders. - Safety box provided free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Glad we were on the ground floor as I would not have liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room which killed me! Fridge would have been nice to cool drinks as the weather was extremely hot

    Glad we were on the ground floor as I would not have liked to manage the stairs with luggage. Nice seating area outside and a place to dry clothes. Launderette is just over the road. Great breakfast. Location good. Not far from. Us stop. Five minutes to the centre on bus. The beach is a 15 minute walk. Beware they are all private, we paid 57 euro to rent a hut for the afternoon, but this included towels, loungers etc. You can use the beach free, but not the facilities toilets showers etc and they. Lose the gates at 7.30pm

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was good and varied, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for 2 singles and a double but ended up with two doubles one of which was a sofa bed, it did not say this on the website or I would not have booked. We we a bit squashed up as we had two adults and two teenagers.

    The breakfast was good and varied, the location was brilliant for the beach, but it wasnt obvious that the beach was private and you have to pay extra, the bathroom was very large. Regular buses to the water bus terminal and able to use these with your water bus pass was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful trip down memory lane for us and our children loved Venice as much as we do
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Returning to where we married in 2002 to show our children how beautiful Venice is. Loved the location of the hotel, the breakfast was just lovely and the room was too. When the staff were available in the afternoon they were very happy to provide us with a cup of tea. I would definitely return. On the bus routed and only a very short walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Located a few minutes from beach and one minute from bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small for three bed and the third bed had uncomfortable metal springs in mattress.

    Located a few minutes from beach and one minute from bus stop, great breakfast, big bathroom with bathtub, air conditioner on room, everyday cleaning and helpfull staff. There is no fridge in the room, but if you ask the staff, they save the food to their own fridge. It is possible to rent a bike directly on reception - 8€/ person/ 24hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Old villa without much charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was half in the basement with windows to the garden, so could not open curtains. Bed was not terribly comfortable. There was a fair amount of noise from walking and moving furniture in the breakfast room immediate above. The staff was not present, except at breakfast.

    Small villa old style. Nice location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Room was very big and clean, good speed for internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in basement which wasnt specified in description. Breakfast wasnt great.

    Room was very big and clean, good speed for internet. Also the staff who welcomed was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    We only slept there so it worked out okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't what I had hoped for. It need some maintenance work (bathroom doorknob kept falling off).

    The location was good & on the bus line. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Shabby but not chic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not engaged at all with guests. not a bad attitude, just not attentive in any way. Breakfast very average, first morning hot croissant appeared, not on second morning , although other guests were given them.inconsistent service. Bathroom fittings generally good, but no plug in either sink or bath, very frustrating after a long day of rain in Venice and arriving back cold and wet when bath would have been very welcome. Shower head rail broken, holder taped up , too high if not washing hair therefore difficult to use. TVvery small, high up on wall, barely audible at top volume. Heater a.c. unit too high on wall to use controls, but no remote control. Bedspread grubby , didn't want it on my bed, but chilly without it , with only sheet and thin blanket. My room and other public areas very much in need of fresh coat of paint, it looked as if it had been years since it had been decorated. The hotel could have a lovely old fashioned atmosphere, but it really appeared that the management just couldn't be bothered to bring it up to date.

    Good location, 5 mins on bus to ferry terminal and hotel 100 from bus stop. Bus every 10 mins. Wi-Fi free and good. Room big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    The room was clean, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have mentioned somewhere that the room will be in the basement. Literally. It felt like they put us in staff's room while all of the other guests were staying upstairs. The room was very humid, the blanket didn't have a cover on. The staff doesn't speak English, only Italian and Russian. Even in cheaper B&B's they give more attention to the customers than in this so called hotel...

    The room was clean, good breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Can´t really recommend :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had reserved a room from Villa Albertina for one night for 2 adults and 2 kids. We chose Villa Albertina for it`s big rooms and free parking space. We got a call from Villa Albertina on our way to the hotel and they told us that there were problems with the air conditioner. So they offered us a room from another hotel called Villa Angelica which was supposed to be the level as Villa Albertina. The room was clearly meant for two persons. It was way too small for 4 people. They promised us free parking also in Villa Angelica but there wasn´t absolutely no parking space at all. We looked for a parking space for an hour and eventually we had to drive to Villa Albertina for free parking space, which was 1km from Villa Angelica. Lady from Villa Angelica didn´t speak English at all so it was hard to communicate with her but she was very nice and tried to help us as much as she could.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    We had a good holiday, combining the beaches of the Lido, with the culture and history of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 of us in a double room, with an extra bed. This would have been OK for a night or two, but it was really a bit too cramped for a whole week.

    A charming, traditional hotel. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Blankets are not covered with sheets from both sides. The owner was too lazy to rent us bikes in late afternoon and just said- tomorrow.

    Small family hotel next to the main street and close to bus station leading to the main boat station. Furniture and complete house decoration is in old Venetian style. I'm not big fan of it but still it was clean and comfortable room for my family. Bathroom is very spacious , but towels were not replaced during our 3 nights stay. Breakfast is simple, with limited choices but generally OK. We were parking in front of the house free of charge. Half of the stuff doesn't speak English but we managed somehow to communicate. There are bikes for rental and it cost 8€ per day. Speed of Internet is OK without hick-ups.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast good value for money (paid separately due to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Upon arrival staff did not speak English, German or French, only Russian or Italian. Room was in the basement, obviously damp - it's Venice. Water pressure in shower very, very low so took ages to shower, adjust temp, rinse off soap etc and if toilet is flushed while shower is in use expect 5 mins before temp returns to normal. Told staff on first morning, came and looked but nothing happened. Everything shabby in room, broken wardrobe door handles, rising damp, peeling plaster and paint, cracked and broken tiles, the single beds are not solid or full-size single beds just 'put-me-ups'. Bed covers shabby, stained. First 3 breakfasts had to ask for hot water for tea, last 2 mornings we gave up. Empty drinks bottles left outside our bathroom window, toilet paper in garden (picked it all up myself) ashtrays not emptied, screws on the garden seats.

    Breakfast good value for money (paid separately due to our booking error), bed and room clean (except floor), Staff generally pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful area, extremely affordable and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hard to get to.

    Beautiful area, extremely affordable and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    quiet, comfortable beds, good breakfast, close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    net for mosquitos was missing

    quiet, comfortable beds, good breakfast, close to beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.5
    Everything was bad
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Calm location, close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in the basement, high levels of moisture. Breakfast had no fruits or vegetables at all.

    Calm location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    average standard for higher end price.

    location. quite location with good access to public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Close to the seasite, bus station, Ferry.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the seasite, bus station, Ferry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Clean, simple stay but ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, simple stay but ok. Easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Atmosphere
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene and noise

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with frendly staff and available parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with frendly staff and available parking space. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar open more.

    The breakfast was most enjoyable and the accommodation very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location and comfortable accommodation for a Venice visit with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized family room, plenty of hot water, nice breakfast with plenty to choose from

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    3.8
    location was ok, 15 mins walk into main end of the lido...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were ok, owners weren't very friendly, when checking out didn't even ask if we'd had a good stay. Room was in dire need of refurbishment and if there was a facility to put pictures on booking.com would upload the sellotaped lampshade and the broken unit. Family room was very small and nothing like the photo's on booking.com, which also are about 15 years out of date. The office is part of the breakfast room and not enough tables for everyone to have breakfast! Bar is open for one hour a day!

    location was ok, 15 mins walk into main end of the lido about 25 mins walk to the free beach.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful house near beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathroom smelled of mold. The beach that belongs to this hotel was a little way of. But it went buses every 15 min, no problem realy.

    Beautiful house near beach. Calm and relaxed atmosphere. Nice seats in garden. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    3.8
    location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Change the villa from the original booked one, and the wi-fi service is terrible. The information for the tourist is also not received. I must book the ferry boat to carry the car when I leave the Lido, but nobody give that information. So, I spent more than one hour to wait the room in the boat.

    location was fine.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First night in the provisional room without aircondition although late evening arrival was announced via booking.com and directly to the property. The mistake was settled by better room next day and a bottle of frizzante, which was nice.

    Old romantic styled room with big windows

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    The location is fantastic with the main entrance a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The small bedroom is dark with no windows and no air conditioning. It has character but is uncomfortable during hot season.

    The location is fantastic with the main entrance a few seconds away from restaurants and a very short walk from Piazza Navona & Campo di Fiori. Great terrace to sit out and mostly good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.9
    Location- I liked being able to go home to a quiet location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location- I liked being able to go home to a quiet location and relax. It was also a quick 3 minute bus ride from Lido vaporetto station. Price-It was a good value for the price. Staying in Venice can be really expensive for a not so big room but here you got a good size room with ensuite for a reasonable price. Breakfast- The breakfast wasn't bad but it was simple. Simple yogurt, breads, meats, cheeses etc Staff- The staff were all really wonderful. Our sink broke the first day and they were there a few hours after we told them to fix it. Overall Villa Albertina was a great choice for our holiday in Venice. It fit with our budget and what we had wanted to get out of our holiday. If you are looking for something right in the middle of the action with the small picturesque canals I would suggest staying in Venice itself, not Lido.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is small but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is small but nice. The breakfast is basic but everything was good. Location is good -not in Venice- but close to the "boat station" and three or four bus stops to the hotel. Very convenient!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly staff good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No plug for the bath. AC wasn't working and the place just needs some maintenance.

    Very friendly staff good location.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    Close to family who we were visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Close to family who we were visiting

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel location.breakfast, beds and roof were fully cover with spider net. Wifi not working in room

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    The shower war really poor, no pressure at all and only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower war really poor, no pressure at all and only drops of water.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dark room, almost non functioning wifi

    Location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: