Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villamare 4 stars

Viale dei Lidi 487, 96100 Fontane Bianche, Italy

#1 of 5 hotels in Fontane Bianche

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location to many sights and short walk to a nice beach. Breakfast had great selection. Room was comfortable and large with a nice garden view terrace. The hotel is spotless and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Luca, Alberto and Stefania made our stay that extra bit special. Besides this the location is fantastic, just a few metre from the beautiful beach & easy access to nearby Siracusa. The hotel itself is kept very clean and is well looked after and feels like a little sanctuary with lovely rooms and a garden with pool and sun loungers to forget the business of life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kind and helpful staff. Beautiful garden with pool. Room with garden terrace. Spotlessly clean. Tasty breakfast with a lot of Sicilian selection of spreads, fruits, sweets... and great cappuccino Beautiful beach just a block away. Parking; it is advisable to have your own transport. Near the Catania airport (40 min drive).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner was expensive. It would have been better if you could have had a lighter meal option for the evenings.

    Lovely hotel, quite quirky in decor and spotlessly clean. Lovely views of the garden from the balcony. Fabulous breakfasts and great staff. Restaurant has excellent food, but it's expensive unless you are staying half board. 2-3 courses is 30 euros per person, plus the cover charge and water makes it 68 euros before you have any wine/beer. In October, there was only 1 other restaurant open in the whole of Fontane Bianche as an alternative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a four star hotel. There is no onsite gym/wellness centre on site as advertised, this is instead another hotel resort down the road that we had very limited hours/access. The photos on the site are somewhat creative and the surrounding area appeared more or less derelict. We booked two double rooms at the hotel and although ours was fine our friends room was much worse. The furniture was well worn, there were exposed wires from lamps and the decor was dated/fading. The car parking was ok if you go there at a good time but filled up quickly and was a night of nightmare if you had a big car.

    The staff that we were there we really helpful and tried to do everything they could when we had problems. Unfortunately there wasn't a manager on site or one we could speak too when we had issues with our reservations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was incredibly cold and small and therefore unusable. The room was pretty small too.

    Really helpful, welcoming and friendly staff - a family feel to the place rather than commercial.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not alot really. But if really pushed maybe a little mood music on an evening in the restaurant and communal areas.

    The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nice restaurant and lovely food cooked fresh everyday by the chef. Maid service everyday with clean towels and room cleaned. Free wi-fi with good coverage even out by the pool. Nice little touch of clean towels everyday on the sunbeds which were free to use for guests. Overall great hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Had very nice time in this hotel. Cleaning in hotel was always good. We liked a private terrace in our room. Breakfast for Italy is very good. Staff on breakfast and reception is always nice and ready to help. Hotel is suitable for relax and feel of Sicily. However, if you stay in Fontane Bianche we recommend car hire, as there is not much in the village, but plenty of gorgeous places around. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking and getting inside the place is rather cumbersome.

    Staff was fabulous and the beach is just few steps from door. Hotel is really clean and room is enough for sleeping. Breakfast is ok nothing special. Town itself has not much but you go there mainly for the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a tiny bit outdated, but it's charming!

    I am actually obsessed with this place. 5 min walk to the beach. They provide beach towels at a really minor cost. Staff members are super sweet. Beautiful pool and landscaping. Very nice breakfast. AC works great. Our room even had a little patio. This place is so adorable. Covered parking available in the front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were several 'raves' at the local beach bar (100 meters away)starting at 11pm till about 2am, attracting several hundred young people !!!!

    The reception staff were beyond excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff was rude, blonde hair about 50, she kept staring at us and giving us bad looks, she was nice to Italian people but not us (we're Irish, we're not travelers). The food was also fair, we don't recommend eating at the restaurant, it's very hard to find somewhere nice to eat except you can go to cassibile the town for the No.1 in that area, the restaurant is called (Manhattan Pizzeria) the pizza was really good and they have a good variety of edible and good food. Else where the food is very random and not the best.

    The pool, private beach 2 mins away (must pay) or right out the back of the hotel the free beach. Some staff very nice, small shop close, bus stop close and train is close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The behavior of the owner was bad. We arrived at the hotel at 13:00 and we could take a nap because we didn't have hot water to take a shower (after the swimming in the see) . Finally we had the room at 17:00. We were so tired after the airplane travel. We never heard apology for that from the owner. She was to the next village and she never communicated with us as we asked. 2.Moreover, the restaurant (we visited at the first day as we were waiting for the room) was extremely expensive with very small portions. 3. There in NOT AT ALL SOUNDPROOF . We didn't sleep any day! You can even hear someone if whispering at the corridor. So in conclusion our experience was absolutely bad from this hotel! I DON'T RECOMMEND IT!

    I put 10 to the staff who everybody was great. Federica,Christina,Stefania and all the others, the ladies who took care of our room as well,were very helpful and polite with always a smile. Many thanks to you guys!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much to do in the evenings in the town, especially in low/mid-season.

    Nice breakfasts. Closed garden with a small pool (although very cold water). Super-friendly and always helpful staff. Great place for families with small children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fontane Bianche is a little off the beaten track. The quiet, rural setting may not suit everyone.

    The staff - and in particular Stefania and Michele - were outstanding. They were exceptionally helpful and made our stay really enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the room was really small (probably we got the smallest one) and dark - and that is why it was not comfortable for us, - the bed was so creaking even with the least movement - it was not comfortable, - the bathroom was much older and "used" than these presented in the pictures, - there were some dark marks under the shower (do not want to know what was that - maybe it was just because of the useage but in the hotel with this price it shouldn't happen).

    - really nice, green garden, - breakfast was really good with variety of choice, - great plus for breakfast in the garden which were really pleasant experience, - nice personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can complain is the dinner option. There was only a three course menu (antipasti, 1st and 2nd) on a fixed price. Desert is extra. The food was very delicious and the portions were big, but you can't have only something small for dinner for less money.

    Very nice place, comfortable beds, the staff was very kind, breakfast was very delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was not warm but probably as it was the end of the season restaurant was closed, the same reason as above

    The locaction was great, 2 minutes from the beach. They served delicious breakfast, a lot of things to choose from, from sausages to croissants. The garden was very nice and clean, with sounbeds. We had a room with a partial see view, which was nice as in the evenings you could hear the sea. We were there in October and remember that this is low season so most of the restaurants are closed, hotel restaurant as well. There are 3 places where you can eat on the beach but opened only till 15 and a place with a really nice and cheap food- a gas station 15 minutes from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, I had no concerns. Some may prefer the use of their own vehicle. I enjoyed the bus and got to improve my Italian.

    Multilingual, warm and professional staff. Greeted with a glass of local wine and pastry. Helpful with public transit and tours. Excellent, varied breakfast. Very clean throughout. Wonderful on site pool - great to relax after a busy day. White sand beaches five minute walk away. Booked to return in 2017. Merci à tous! Ciao.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast including bacon and eggs which you don't find in most hotels. Excellent location, especially for summer season. Great stuff and rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    didn't realise that kitchen closed in October so no evening meals available although they did get a pizza delivery for us one evening nearby restaurant Domus was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, but ok, all you need is a bed ;-)

    Very nice hotel, beautiful garden, small terrace for the evenings, close to the beach (like 2 minutes) great location for further excursions

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area is run down with little to do and out of season nothing seems to be open - not the hotel's fault of course. Room colours are bold and therefore have a marmite factor

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, off road parking, nice to use their bikes for a ride

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything OK.

    The hotel and the staff is absolutely amazing! Special thanks to Cristina:-) Beautiful room, garden with a pool and the beach nearby. The fee for the beach is 10Euro (5Euro discount)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not open in s

    Staff super friendly and very nice accommodation for family with small children. The beach is just 3 minutes away from the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants nearby. We were happy to eat in the hotel but only stayed one night.

    Loved the location so close to the beach. Loved our little garden area where we could sit out and enjoy a beer. Loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    What a gem of a place. Sweet boutique hotel near the beautiful beach. Just loved it and had the most amazing week there as part of our Italy travels with my husband and 3 children. The staff couldn't do enough - wonderful! Really clean and modern. Food and wine were great too. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The town (Fontane Bianche) is strange, there is only a few restaurants and that's all. If you want to go out, you have to go to Syracuse (which is my favorite city in Sicily).

    Great breakfast, really kind staff, nice beach, close to the beach and you have a discount on the beach

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and the staff is very professional and helpful! Impressive service !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with wonderful staf.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Staff helpful & friendly. Close to railway station although a car would give you more options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating out limited

    Close to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is very friendly, causy, very well maintained, staff always at your service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very professional and welcoming staff. Facilities are top notch. Easy access to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic from the location to the facilities and most especially the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room was alittle dark. We were in the tulip room

    Stefania was marvelous,helpful and spoke English The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast, and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Resort just starting to reopen for the season so a little quiet. Streets coulf do with better cleaning and better rubbish collection

    Being so close to the beach. Good was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fontaine Bianche is not a resort in the normal sense, it has no town centre or general shops. It is mainly villas and apartments owned by Italian families. Ours was the only hotel. Syracuse, the nearest town, is a €35.00 taxi ride away. Buses end at 8.00pm

    The hotel was small but comfortable and friendly,the breakfast very good. The beach area is attractive.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was superlative, from the lust tropical garden to the fine cuisine! The proximity to the beautiful beach at the shallow turquoise sea was a plus ! I liked the manner in which the dinner was served every evening, it was like a ritual that I never experienced before at any hotel..

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool was only open for quite short hours.

    The hotel is small with comfortable rooms and lovely gardens. The staff are friendly and helpful, with good English. It is a good base for visiting Eastern Sicily by car. The nearby beach is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal small choice, fixed price 4 course €35 each. Food ok. Better value in nearby towns. Lots of rules for swimming pool, closed in afternoon!! Weird... Breakfast good continental choice, hot food was always cold. Flies on food, not good. Owner more concerned with visiting friends than guests.

    Bedroom comfortable, good air conditioning. Lovely gardens, quiet and peaceful. Good location for Noto and Siracusa, nice local beach, but even better nearby.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely garden enclave a few steps from the beautiful fontane bianchi beach. Attentive, helpful staff. The owner Elisabeta seemed genuinely concerned about how our stay was going. Very good breakfast buffet and fixed price dinner, especially the antipasti bar. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet dropped in and out a lot and the place was a bit far from places.

    The reception staff were more than helpful. Angelo, the waiter, was always there, always smiling and always charming. The gardens to the hotel are fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom and bedroom a lesser standard than expected

    Pleasant attentive staff excellent restaurant with superb cold buffet breakfast and attractive dinner menu.Quiet sandy beach only 2 min walk away

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt the food was not at 4 star quality and was poor value for money. Also, not having a bar/lounge did not encourage meeting fellow guests.

    The lavish garden, with exceptional friendly staff ,allowed us to have a very relaxing holiday.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room dark and cramped. Wifi required long login and password, and renewal every 3 hours. Took over 24 hours to get TV working. Tiny shower. Not the hotel's fault but the beach and nearby streets are seedy and full of rubbish.

    Nice staff. Tranqil setting. Good chef.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very small shower.

    Very nice place, near the beach. Small but beautiful garden. The breakfast was great and varied. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no english at the reception

    short walk to the beach

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very relaxing, fantastic beach and the breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff and the meals

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen: poor, fat and not enough vegitable

    Nice butick hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place is excellent. The staff was very helpfull. Rooms are smal, but excellent. The breakfast is very good,

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool hours a bit limiting with kids

    Beautiful beach and nice pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good parking too

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful, felt very welcome. The pool and garden was exceptional. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small swimming pool. nothing much to do in the local area

    close to the beach, easy to find. Good location for touring Syracuse, Noto and Ragusa

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area of Fontane Bianche was full of derelict and abandoned buildings and shops.

    Breakfast was amazing Staff were helpful Close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful breakfast where you can sit outside in the garden area. Sound of the waves form the room and easy walk to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked it all!

    Great food, friendly and relaxed staff, close to an excellent beach, and very convenient to visit the major sites.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Wonderful garden area allowing breakfast in the sun which was always excellent.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: