Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantic Hotel Villa Pagoda 4 stars

Via Capolungo 15, 16167 Genoa, Italy

#40 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives to report.

    The hotel is beautifully presented and the location is superb. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and extremely helpful. We had a great time and expect to return in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Old world elegance, a charming place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very densely populated difficult to find when driving, you need a Sat Nav for ease of getting there.

    Old world elegance, a charming place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    staff very friendly, spacious rooms recently renovated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you hear the train noise far away (but it happens everywhere in Nervi, and they do not travel during the night)

    staff very friendly, spacious rooms recently renovated, luxury environment, high quality breakfast, relaxing garden, private access to the Nervi walk, perfect location to visit the park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Romantic environement, fantastic sea-walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be nice to read about the history of the building, which is not available/known

    Romantic atmosphere. Delicious if you like artistic old buildings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We had no idea what to expect however upon our arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no idea what to expect however upon our arrival however we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were lovely, the hotel's location was fantastic and a short walk to the beachfront walkway and the general presentation of or room was fantastic. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    I wish I had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was terrible in my room and kept going out. They need a better wifi station. I noticed, however that if I went closer to the rooms for couples the wifi was stronger. Not ideal for one person apparently. The location is not very good if you want to enjoy Genova as a city as it is about a half an hour cab ride/drive away from central Genova. The pool is NOT heated which I was disappointed about since it was still warm enough to enjoy the pool and for the money that is paid for each room (and since it is not close to the beach), it should be heated in September.

    The breakfast being included was awesome. The location is perfect for seclusion. The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean. The pool was quiet and not busy. The morning staff host was the best part of my stay here. She was friendly, polite, and fast. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The chef's menu for dinner is small, but very tasty and quite enjoyable. I had the Pumpkin Ravioli and it was delightful, my compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, wonderful atmosphere and access to hotel in motorhome was achieved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom; the spa bath obviously hadn't been used for a while as it spat out very dirty water on first use; service pre-dinner was slow.

    Great location and a wonderful 'villa with fantastic decor. Great location for walk along the promenade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    We absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect getaway hotel with private access to the Nervi Promenade (beautiful). If you love a step back in time and some genuine Genoa architecture and interiors, this is the hotel for you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    So romantic....you don't see many hotels like this.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi weak. I used 3g on phone but husband could not connect his Ipad. No sunbathing space around pool

    Wowweee! Marble every where and such sumptuous decor. Position wonderful. Secret passage way to the promenade . Breakfast superb too. Eva our waitress lovely. Never had such a choice of cereal. Parking right outside too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    What a wonderful find, would highly recommend a visit here, especially a romantic break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a couple of sun loungers in the garden area as poolside very narrow, and my usual request tea/coffee making facilities in the room!

    The hotel is stunning, exquisite decor! Breakfast choice of cereals, bread and pastries amazing! Staff friendly and helpful! Rooms beautifully decorated and smelt lovely! Loved the private walk to the sea front, amazing as we opened the wooden door onto the brilliant blue sky abd sea!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, peaceful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool wasn't very big and there was no space to sit around it. Only a handful of sun loungers.

    Lovely room with double aspect. Beautiful old property and gorgeous, grand decor inside. Very helpful receptionists and staff. Very peaceful and quiet. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location in front of the Mar of Liguria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the views and the walkway by the mar of liguria to the town. The shops were for mostly of the locals full of fresh cheeses, salamis, honey and vegetables.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location, just needs a little polish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is lacking and some of the staff could use some customer service lessons.

    Lovely location and plenty of greenery about. Stunning views of the sea if you get the right room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Love the place and the people. A small "but" remains year after year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection, from year to year, was very very bad. Their IT people convinced them the walls and doors are too thick for the connection to get through. While you stand right under the router at the elevator and your phone can't connect. We burned through one SIM card after the other to be able to be online. Also we were surprised that at breakfast at 8am some of the items were "finished". It happened last year too.

    But the people are amazing. Very friendly and helpful. The place is authentic. The chef is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    comfortable hotel in a beautiful green surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was no sunny space around the swimming pool for sun bathing, the pool got easily dirty because of the trees directly next to the pool. Service at breakfast was slow, and no eggs when the chef had his day off.

    good breakfast , large and comfortable rooms, very friendly service at the reception!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    40mins drive to Portofino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are so uncomfortable and they didnt provide different types to choose. Breakfast serving staffs are not as nice as reception staffs

    Very classic building providing a 18th century feeling. Very close to the sea and nice walking area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Villa Pagoda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our honeymoon at the Hotel Villa Pagoda and it was everything we could have wanted. Brilliant location in Nervi, lovely staff and we enjoyed perhaps the best meal of our lives in the restaurant. The hotel pool and gardens are beautifully relaxing and the little gate leading to the promenade and the sea beyond was the icing on the cake. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.3
    Probably wont stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pricey for what you get. Not quite the same as we expected from the photos in website. Facility is nice but old and need some refurbishment. The staff was very kind but apparently the hotel was understaffed as poor people was running here and there all the time. Breakfast was very poor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style Italian Villa so well maintained and beautiful decor. Wonderful staff

    Wonderful location. Truly atmospheric

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    legendary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    It was perfect and very nice. I propose it for everybody.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful restoring place.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location in a quite surrounding. Beautiful walkpath along the sea accessible from the property. Can certainly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is beautiful and the hotel classy and the breakfast really delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, good location, staff were all lovely and great food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    I loved the building and surrounds and easy access to everywhere. Great spot and restaurant was very good. Staff were all lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The atmosphere, staff and the locations where just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere, staff and the locations where just wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice place but to expansieve for the Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower ! Very slow elevator!!!

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a serious pricing problem here Extortion is the word! Overpriced by£250

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.3
    staff in resturant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    food was quite poor

    staff in resturant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    a romantik hotel that travels you to the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was perfect

    View was amazing. This is an old romantik villa that travels you at the past!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous room overlooking the sea , clean and good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to make tea in the room .

    Fabulous room overlooking the sea , clean and good size comfy bed .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Noble villa in prime location, outstanding value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks a tad tired, a polish to the reception area is required.

    Location is really good, dinner was a pleasant positive surprise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, pool and train

    Decor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel, made the trip special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Train noise

    Lovely building, Very nice location. Very pleasant and friendly staff , Very Clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly polite and prfessional staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    The Villa is regal and truly unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were charged for a baby cot Euro25. It should be free for the price and quality we got. The baby cot was torn at the zip area and it was just roughly tied to patch it together. Baby could fall out.

    The Villa is regal and truly unique. We loved the interior and building.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    We rented a room for 2 days after our wedding.
    • Couple

    The only downside was Wi-Fi... It was good in common areas but not existing in the room. We were told however that there was an issue with the server, so may be it was an unlucky fiwi day :) but we had great time and I would recommend that place to any body.

    We rented a room for 2 days after our wedding. The room, breakfast and the service were amazing!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. If you want a cup of something hot you have to pay extra for it. Considering how expensive it is to stay here in the first place, I think thats a bit on the mean side.

    We loved the pool. I know people have mentioned already about it being on the small side, if you want to do lengths or train for a gala it's going to come as a let down. If you want to just cool down and have a mess around, it's ideal.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    This place is indeed super romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard and the morning coffee was not great. But these things are minor.

    This place is indeed super romantic. There is a very special tranquility surounding the whole place. Close to the beautiful Nervi beach walk and a great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Romantik Villa Pagoda is a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Romantik Villa Pagoda is a fantastic hotel. Closed to the promenade closed to the sea. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and has excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    3.8
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is so far from any action it coasts 50 Euro to get down to Santa Margherita! Old place , poorly renovated , we were misguided by the pics on your site , you need to re check again before any one else falls for it ..

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Very nice place, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was something wrong with the airconditioning in the room, it made too much noice.

    Very nice place, beautiful surroundings. Nice to walk along the coastline. Everything was very nice and made our stay enjoyable. We would definately reccommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful and spacious building and room with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dull atmosphere. Not all went as smooth as you may expect. Some personell and services not up to standard.

    Beautiful and spacious building and room with lots of character. Diner was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent staff, quiet hotel, feeling of luxus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast does not comply with with standards elswhere, especially the bread selection was poor. (Bake-off) Too small pool

    Excellent staff, quiet hotel, feeling of luxus.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly, the location is excellent, pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly, the location is excellent, pretty garden, beautiful room, nice but small pool, just on the edge of Genoa with good access to the east coast of Italy yet only 10 minutes drive to Genoa central

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.5
    Very pleasant hotel with a lovely garden.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant hotel with a lovely garden. We had a very short stay but everything was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    The position

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.6
    Amazing people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing people. Amazing place.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.3
    Nice facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Internet and noise from trains were unbearable

    Nice facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Phenomenal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phenomenal location. Hotel also really private, and very relaxing, with amazing sea views and amenities quite close. Nervi is a treasure.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful see view and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much space to rest around the outdoor swimming pool.

    Beautiful see view and excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel could use some fresh paint and bath rooms

    Fantastic location Extremely friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    Staff, cleanliness & facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nearby beaches not good access, and swimming from rocks

    Staff, cleanliness & facilities

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Very relaxing place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very relaxing place. Lovely old villa.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Romantic Hotel Villa Pagoda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: