Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Paradiso dell'Etna 4 stars

Via per Viagrande 37, 95030 San Giovanni la Punta, Italy

#6 of 7 hotels in San Giovanni la Punta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 79 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    The most beautiful hotel , in the foothills of Etna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was perfect

    The most beautiful hotel , in the foothills of Etna. It was like stepping into another era- a gentle and relaxing experience. It made our holiday!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Secluded, beautiful, old palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant dining: far too formal and expensive, the restaurant was shut at lunch and always empty for dinner. They need to 1) open at lunch, 2) have a much cheaper fixed menu 3) serve food on all the tables by the pool. That's where guests want to be, not in the hotel basement.

    A beautiful, traditional, small palace with a gorgeous pool garden, this hotel is a bargain. Lots of space in the suites, which are the same cost as normal hotel rooms. Great they include breakfast in the price, too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    A beautiful spot, which could be exceptional but seems to be more targeting local customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were provided with very little information about what services the hotel offered other than the basic buffet breakfast. and on the 3 occasions, we went to the bar to try to get refreshments after many attempts to get the service we gave up. On four of the evenings during our stay, there were functions taking place in the hotel which we hadn't been notified of, it would have been nice to know there was a do going on, there would be music late into the evening etc, we felt like we stood no chance of being a priority and getting any kind of service, and this proved sadly correct! One of our rooms we had problems with significant water leaks we think from the air con but on no occasion was we offered an alternative room or any reduction in the price charged on one of the nights we just had a pile of towels and a constant drip of water until it was rectified the next day.

    The setting of the hotel is perfect for exploring the east of the island and Etna and its historic feel takes you back to the 1920's, it was clean and tidy, a popular site for the locals. really beautiful but felt the priority was local business, not tourists passing through. We ate in the restaurant on only one evening due to the lack of translation or understanding of the menu pricing - the food we did get on that occasion was lovely and of a good standard, the service was great but we were very uncertain of what we were actually getting as communication was a challenge - a bit of a guessing game! A lovely pool which was a bonus on the very hot days. 2 of the lovely ladies on the front desk were a great help when asking for local recommendations of where to eat and which lidos to use in the area, sadly i didn't write their names down to give them a shout out !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Atmospheric villa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat noisy old-style air conditioning in bedroom. But you get used to it. 2nd time here. And, I hope, not the last!

    Full of character and history. Lovely pool. Great views. Close to Catania and Etna both

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi didn't work well. I would like more choices in the restaurant menu.

    Very nice location. I liked very much the terrace where breakfast was served. Very cute building and garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel has a mondaine Great Gatsby like vibe and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was polite but for Sicily not very welcoming. The menu of the Restaurant, typical for such a Hotel, wasn't so special considering the price.

    The Hotel has a mondaine Great Gatsby like vibe and remembers of another time. Everything was very clean and the pool was amazing. Located in the middel of nowhere provides the Hotel a good possibility to calm down after a long hike on Etna. For one night on the way to another city or region is it the right choice to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice structure full of personality in a pure and rich...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really negative.

    Nice structure full of personality in a pure and rich Sicilian style. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay, Will stay again and tell our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was not as comfortable to our liking.

    Breakfast, Pool,Atmosphere, Nice Furnishing, Polite Staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    A travel back in time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have you the feeling of traveling back in time

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: