Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Volpi 4 stars

Via di Mastiano e Gugliano 47, 55029 Mastiano, Italy

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Warm welcome in a magic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Volpi is uniquely located near the top of a hill offering beautiful views from the pool or the dinner table. We appreciated the flexibility in changing our room (to be closer to our kids). Spotlessly clean, breathing the history of a former Tuscan nunnery. It was our second visit after eight years and it had only gotten better!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Location is very hard to beat, quiet, secluded and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a bed and breakfast, no more, no less. I know it says hotel but its actually in my view not. The rooms are GREAT as hotelrooms, meaning no possibilities of cooking, frigdge etc just like you would know any hotelroom, no complaints at all. This triggers however an expectation of a) good attentiveness from staff to get drinks, food etc. during all day and at night time at b) reasonable prices. Unfortunately both are sub standard. Hard to find staff, restaurant is often closed and the prices are very high compared to the food quality you get. Therefore I cant give better grade BUT if you are looking for a very good b&b this is the place - however as a b&b it is grocely over priced.

    Location is very hard to beat, quiet, secluded and spectacular views. The Villa and faclities are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Stunningly beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance from the road is hair-raising to say the least..When we arrived on a Tuesday evening after a long hot drive we found the restaurant wasn’t open. We got over our angry mood the next day(after having driven around looking for a pizza that night) by the sheer beauty & relaxation of this special place

    Infinity pool, incredible views,fascinating historic property beautifully restored

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    The area was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired and not enough staff. The hotel was expensive for a basic room with poor service. The restaurant was in a beautiful spot however the chef was also working as a waitress!

    The area was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    We had a lovely time but needed hire a car and eat out in the evenings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant way over priced and not particularly good food. Not enough staff in the evenings. Advertises free bikes but not maintained, no pump or puncture repair equipment. Need a car as taxi prices are huge. €25-€38 to Luca (one way).

    Amazing location. Beautiful property. Free bikes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Stay in a suite for that special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one issue but sorted immediately by Marco

    Stunning location. Marc and team very helpfull. Great restaurant only 10 mins drive away. Perfect for our wedding anniversary. Stayed in a suite overlooking pool and hotel. Very private and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice location but would not choose it again because of quite a few inconveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air con did not work properly in the room. Had to open windows. A LOT OF mosquitos, the hotel does not provide repellent (electronic, candles, etc) for the rooms, we ended up buying ourselves because we got bitten a lot during the first nights. Mosquito net was only put up one window which was facing a bee hive under the roof. A LOT OF bees at breakfast eating at your food, which practically makes it impossible to eat outside and enjoy the view. We had dinner at the restaurant once, food was bad (tasted like store bought stuff, pasta was overcooked, pesto tasted canned). We did not bother eating there again, so it was only this one meal, but it was very disappointing. Pool is not heated, too cold for an evening or a morning dip, although it was kind of a positive on the very hot days.

    Very nice and quiet location. Also great for day trips, even to the beaches/shore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Great experience and was an great staying full of memories ... Marc is the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far and danger road and we couldn t find it on the navigation

    Hard to find but once u arrived u just want to stay more Great place for a relaxing staying

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great view, but wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was an information at the reception that they served lunch, it turned out the first day that it wasn't possible to get anything to eat at the lunchtime. We had to pack our hungry 2-year-old to the car and look for any open restaurant at the city. (they're not open all day, just for 2-3 hours for lunch and they close). The guy that owned the place wasn't helpful at all. In fact, he seemed like he didn't care. The breakfast was very poor with terrible coffee. There is no shop nearby and you would need a car to travel between the hotel and the "civilisation".

    The view was outstanding. The pool was great with enough sunbeds for all the guests. We had dinners at the hotel restaurant and the food was amazing. The woman that runs the restaurant takes care of the guests. She would approach every single table to tell about the food and make sure everyone enjoyed the dinner. Great British girl at the bar, really friendly (sorry, I didnt get your name).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    The view is Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms Was very Poor to be 4-star. Charge 5€ for pooltowels is not fair.

    The view is Amazing !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room without amenitties, without bathrobe and slippers. Too much expensive .

    Vista do Hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    View, staff and location in general👏🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, staff and location in general👏🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    The property is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not good and the lunch menu very limited and basic.

    The property is beautiful. Location is great but please bear in mind the hotel is 20 mins drive from Lucca and other villages. There are no restaurants or shops nearby. Staff were great, in particular Adriana. Nothing too much to ask.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We sent a notice about gluten free alternatives for the breakfast. This was not prepared before we came.

    Almost everything. We will warmly recommend the Hotel to other persons.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    Location and view is amazing, the pool side area is nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interior is ok, no real Italian romance and breakfast, or any other f&b for that matter, was practically non-existent. The wifi and hot water wouldn't work properly either

    Location and view is amazing, the pool side area is nice and the staff is very friendly and personal!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Very peaceful place with a fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find, Gps position NOT correct.

    Very peaceful place with a fantastic view. Good restaurant with excellent food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Location stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location stunning. Villa & staff exceptional. Didn't want to come home. Best holiday ever.....

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Location and views and general atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experience but tea/coffee making facilities in room would be welcome.

    Location and views and general atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Miejsce (location and viewing)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    brak

    Miejsce (location and viewing)

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    Splendid location and wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Splendid location and wonderful views

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel Villa Volpi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: