Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ville Montefiori 4 stars

Via Clune, 12, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy

#21 of 21 hotels in Gardone Riviera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 209 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff with the exception of one waiter were not friendly. The first night our air con leaked water all over the floor and kept me awake the whole night. In the morning I explained this to them and asked them to change my room, which eventually they did, however through the whole process there was no apology for the inconvenience caused. This hotel was for my birthday which I explained to them when I booked it, again unfortunately at no point did I feel welcome at this hotel.

    The location was good and the building is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything beside the view! Staff cold and unfriendly, waiter forgot simple orders, breakfast buffet was a joke; the time is over for such a Hotel and the Prices! Unfortunately nothing to recommend.

    ONLY the view, absolutely nothing else!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien! Tout etaiy parfait

    Superb hotel. Could not imagjne a better place to stay. All was wanderful, romantic and soooo italian! The owner is a beautiful lady with lots aof charm and feady to help with any detail.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No information available in the room about the hotel's facilities and surrounding area regarding buses/ferries and taxis. Quality of supplied toiletries was abysmal for a 4 star hotel -tiny bar of soap etc. Asked for one extra pillow and told was not available - chambermaid eventually found one after 2 days! No mention made on website about the very steep hill to access hotel from the main road - a car is virtually essential. Reception only opened at 8 am - we were leaving at 7.15 am. Rooms overall are somewhat dated. Very difficult to insert continental plug adapters -sockets need updating.

    2 excellent pools. Lake view with balcony extremely good. Dining terrace gives outstanding views. Staff pleasant overall. Not all staff were helpful due to language issues. Chamber staff excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was awful. Staff were scared of her and getting an iron for my shirt was a farce. I requested a towel after I checked out for the pool and they tried to charge me 2 euros. Wouldn't give me a second key for the room for my friend also staying there. The staff themselves were pleasant but prohibited to accommodate very simple requests due to the owner who they seemed to be petrified of. Shame as it left a bad taste after what would have been an excellent place to stay otherwise

    Pool was great. Views were great. Very beautiful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The hotel is located at the top of a hill, and the road leading up to it is very steep and does not have a footpath. This hotel is completely unsuited for anyone in a wheelchair or has difficulty walking. There are also many steps leading up to reception. 2. Upon arrival at 20.30pm Thursday night, I was informed that the restaurant was closed. The receptionist had to ask the waiter if they would take me, and thankfully they did! Strangely, they would not serve food to be eaten outside. The set-menu was in Italian and German and the waiter's grasp of English was poor. 3. Breakfast was not served until 8am, which was hopeless as I had to leave early to attend a conference daily at 7.30am. Despite me explaining this to them, they made no exception to serve me breakfast early. As such , I did not have breakfast for my 3 day stay. 4. Reception was not manned until 8am and closed at 22.00. On my first morning, there was no one to order a taxi (as the reception was not manned) and I ended up walking to the conference venue. 5. The bathroom had a window with a net curtain, which I felt provided little privacy. 6. There was no spare electrical plug point in the room, so I had to unplug the TV and use that plug point to charge my laptop and phone.

    The view over the lake and architecture was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike unless complaing is your favorite past time or you are searching for hotel on the ocean beach or modern standards without historical heart or for standards as you would get in places for 20.000 dollars per night... Kind regards,

    Wunderschön, superb, przecudowny, Outstanding, views, garden, taraces, pool, gorgeously indoor decorated with home and historical feeling. Wonderfully hard working, helpful, friendly staff and property owners. Efficiently heated with a warm feeling!!! Wishing you all healthy, delightful, Happy New Year and entire lifetime!!! All the best to you all!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff the food didn't get what was on the menu even at the very high prices was made to feel uncomfortable and understand welcome I wouldn't advise any one English to it really canters for Italian and German your are better off being at the south of the lake wouldn't go back

    the view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel is situated at top of steep hill, which made it difficult to walk back from centre of Gardonne. Quite a lot of steps which might prove difficult for people with difficulties. Did not check out wheelchair access. Lack of soap, shampoo and body lotion in bedroom which you would expect to find in a 4* Hotel.

    The outdoor area and gardens were typically Italian and an oasis to relax in. The wellness centre and spa were recently refurbished and high standard. Our bedroom was lovely, large, clean and very comfortable bed .Air condition worked perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are incredibly slow and more often than not we were ignored. As previously stated the potential for this property is endless however noone seems happy to work there. I would assume it was passed down through the family and is more of a chore than a gift!

    The potential for this property is incredible. The views are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were very abrupt, it was our holiday and felt like we were at school being told off for moving chairs and place settings(we were mature adults) to allow the group of 4 to sit together for meals. The hotel was a little tired and requires work completing, the shower cubicles were terrible and let more water on the bathroom floor than in the shower, The candlelight supper, the candles were not lit and you had to ask for them to be lighted an when they did they insisted in only lighting 1 or 2 and this was the same for all tables.

    The food was fantastic, went for the 3 course special £29.99 candlelight supper, very reasonably priced, and food was great. The inside pool was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water on arrival No tea making facilities No room service Poor service around pool Restricted access to services during day

    Location gardens Food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very old fashioned. No shower and a bath suitable for ou very slim people. Awful decor. Breakfasts were very poor and evening meal amateur.

    Pool was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor services, breakfast terrible

    location, the building and garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and lack of facilities

    Location and decor

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom, is very small, and being in Italy I would have expected a bidet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are quite dated and need renovating! Breakfast had very little choice for the price we paid for the room! There's no 24 h reception and if you come back to the hotel at night lights are off on the grounds which is odd for a hotel

    This hotel has amazing surroundings and the most spectacular view (if you get a room with a view of the lake)

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our shower didn't work properly, and the coffee was poor.

    The view was beautiful, East facing room, so we got the sunrise each morning, which was delightful.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location overlooking the lake, typically romantic Italy. Indoor pool was superb. Would definitely like to be treated to another stay, unforgettable.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was not explained properly, everything was shoddy, grounds dirty and unkempt, floors dangerous, breakfast non existent, my list is endless, completely ruined our last night in Italy.

    Nothing, extremely disappointing from the minute we arrived, will never stay here ever again.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Couple

    The hotel is on a fairly steep incline so if you have mobility problems you would need to taxi up and down. It's close to the centre of town but it's hilly. We travelled with my parents and they wouldn't have managed the walk. We are healthy 50 year olds but had a few stops to catch our breath. Still, we walked off all that pizza and it was well worth it.

    Everything. The staff were super, the hotel, gardens, terraces and views are beautiful. So romantic. We were here for our sons wedding and it was the perfect place to stay. Our room and en suite were stylish and spotless clean ( we had a deluxe with balcony and lake view) It's not right on the lake like the Grand Hotel but the views are still breathtaking.Continental breakfast is plentiful and as you would expect. If you want a full English you are at the wrong hotel. We will come back. The spa and pool are fab too! A large wine and beer are only 5 euro which was cheaper than our favourite cafe.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb hotel with lovely surroundings in a knocked about Italian way. Somewhere to stay to be pampered.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Swimming pool is great

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi - lack of.

    The setting overlooking Lake Garda and the peaceful beautiful site.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long climb up hill from the small town.

    The views of the lake.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: