Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Violino d'Oro 3 stars

San Marco 2091, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#86 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1857 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    They upgraded my room without me asking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded my room without me asking. Facing plaza and canal. Breakfast was outstanding Great selection. Staff was so helpful and polite. It was central to everything. They recommended a restaurant off the beatened path that was wonderful and not expensive. You felt like family. Overall it was wonderful place to stay and experience Venice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was lovely (airconditioning was a godsend), the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't enjoy the noise through the walls from other guests at 1am, but no outside noise was heard.

    The room was lovely (airconditioning was a godsend), the bed was very comfortable and the staff very helpful. Very close to San Marco and gondolas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    Very bad total experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room with damaged furniture, Windows very high from sight, very small room, staff not cooperative, expensive, no enough amminity at toilets, bad view if you could climbed a chair to look out from the window, noisy, ac give high annoying sound which does not allow you to sleep and many others

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money. Great location. Looks good, feels good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing negative comes to mind.

    We loved staying in the Violino d'Oro. Great value for money. Great location. Looks good, feels good. Within walking distance of the San Marco. Pleasant room. Good bathroom./aircon. Excellent breakfast. Tip. We arrived by water taxi - drop off on the side of the Grand Canal. Easier that way: no need to carry suitcase up and down the bridge. Hotel warmly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Decent place with location VERY close to the action but ultimately not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, it wasn't worth the price. The room was large but empty and poorly lit so the whole place had an unexpectedly depressing vibe. Wifi connection in room wasn't the best which made it difficult to complete work (if you're travelling on business).

    The location was very central (for better or worse) and the hotel had an old world charm that wasn't quite lived up to in the rooms but had a nice promise initially. The breakfast was large with lots of options. Bathroom in the room was nice, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Venice post Cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found the room dated. Not sure of it was meant to be Venetian but disappointed. Air Con ok, but would have liked it to be a little stronger, especially after coming in from the August heat. Bathroom has little space to put your toiletries - thank goodness for the Bidet !

    Location was great. A short walk to San Marco square. Gondola station right there. Fascinating to watch the comings and goings of everyone. Short walk from the San Marco Water Bus Station. We put the address into Google Maps, and it took us in the wrong direction. A quick call to the hotel, and after giving me a land mark, I was able to pinpoint it on the Map. It took us 90 mins to find it when its only a 10 min walk. Venice is made up of alleyways that sometimes continue on or are dead ends. Its hard work walking around, but a joy to come across a beautiful view. Breakfast choices were adequate. Plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were a little outdated but nothing near enough to affect our stay.

    Amazing location! Just a few minutes from San Marco plaza but still felt secluded. We were lucky to have a larger room and were extremely comfortable. The staff is super friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was one of the best we’ve had. We will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Central location to many of Venice’s best things to do, see,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not able to keep the room sufficiently cooled during the late July days we visited.

    Central location to many of Venice’s best things to do, see, and eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    would of been great had the shower worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower didn't work, low water pressure, hot to cold changes due to someone in the hotel using the system, reported it to front desk upon departure, hopefully fixed

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, 5mins from San Mancs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alittle dated

    Location, 5mins from San Mancs. On the main Street of designer shops (Versace, Jimmy Choo etc) felt like a safe neighborhood especially when returning in the evenings. We didn't pay extra for a balcony room, however on the first floor there's a small communal balcony which is lovely to take some pics (bridge in the background and passing gondolas)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    We loved the location and the old world feel of the room :) ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower situation was a definite disappointment, not only was it super small it couldn’t keep any sort of consistent temperature. Literally went from scalding( be careful with kids! ) to icy constantly! I’ve now since seen others mention it in their reviews so take heed .

    We loved the location and the old world feel of the room :) , we had some beautiful floor to ceiling windows, and the breakfast was included which was also nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was noisy. Shower was not good. Water was coming all of a sudden very hot :-

    Location is excellent. Breakfast is superb. The coffee machine has so many options - one of the best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    We would recommend this hotel to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like

    The location was great in the middle of all designer stores. Also a great variety for food for breakfast. It's a short walk from the Alilaguana water taxi. A lot of action in this area but our room was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Very average to below average service. Great location in center of Venice sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom shower was unusable as it was so small not even a 14 year old could use it. Ridiculous. Room smelled musty. Check in girl was not helpful. No offer to help with luggage storage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was in a great location. Really close to the main attractions and the water taxis. There are also lots of great restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel is really clean and staff are lovely. Our room was huge and we had a lovely view of the canal below and were able to listen to the singing from the gondolas as they passed. There was also a great selection of foods available at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Morning coffee was okay, but it comes from a machine. I guess you get a little spoiled.

    Very pleasant. Great location and staff work hard to please. Thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Romantic getaway with great service and beautful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful, exceeded expectations; great location, room clean, good breakfast and all of the staff provided wonderful customer service 100% of the time. We were celebrating our 30 year anniversary and they helped make it very special for us. Thank you guys!! We were a bit tired from our trip and Alexandria was great about getting us in as early as she could (Much apricated). Our entire stay was very romantic with one of the hotel balconies directly over a gondola pathway so we could stand/sit outside and sip champagne serenaded by Italian music/singing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a lovely little hotel! Perfectly situated behind St. Mark’s Square! Clean, reasonably priced with a very friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely a 3 Star property very tired, small room & shower (my husband struggled to fit in). Some staff borderline rude on reception (female staff member)

    Walking distance to Rialto bridge (10-15 mins), St Marks square (5mins) Breakfast was good selection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    A Great Hotel in lovely Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Room was nice and comfortable with shutter windows that could be opened and a very comfy bed and good bathroom and excellent location with a superb breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Room very comfy, had a free upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar at the property

    Room very comfy, had a free upgrade. Breakfast very nice, plenty to choose from. Staff friendly and polite Location excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing would definitely return to Hotel Violino D'Oro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing overlooking the canal (room 203) The room was immaculate, staff lovely and helpful and the breakfast was really nice. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience in beautiful Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best part of this property is the location! The staff were excellent and very helpful. We had a room overlooking the canal and gondola station which was very busy and noisy, but on closing the shutters and windows with air con on it was so quiet! It was so good to be amongst the action!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with our stay. Excellent location, very comfortable room and yummy breakfast. Staff were very professional, courteous and helpful. 1 min walk to Piazza San Marco. Great hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    It was wonderful trip even though I did not stay in the hotel that much .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When having breakfast , not enough variety of food , bread was rock hard. No welcome card on table or brochure about the hotel or even a room service menu . The hotel had all basics facilities.

    The location was great only 5mins walk to St Mark Square , next too all the designers shops, pillows was so comfortable and bed as well. Close to Sans Moise Church.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to visit and enjoy the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to visit and enjoy the city. Staff is kind, helpful and funny. Pillows are a little bit thin but surprisingly comfortable as the bed. We had complimentary water from the minibar even if it wasn’t marked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Venice was beautiful. Hotel was in a great location and provided a safe, quiet neighborhood at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    The breakfast provided was great and breakfast staff was very attentive. The view from our room was a canal with a gondola station. It was a little noisy during parts of the day but in a good way. People chatting, gondoliers singing and playing music. Romantic Sounds of Venice. This noise was gone by 8 PM. We mostly enjoyed just walking around and getting lost. Lots of shopping nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming property in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy big key that needed to leave at front desk tray when going out. Sometime it was still there when you returned, other time it was hang up on the board. Anyone could pick it up from the tray but the chance of this happened is very very low. Other wise very litle to dislike this charming property.

    A cosy property with lots of charaters in a great location central to everything (shopping area, restaurants, San Marco Square etc.) and next to a gondola station, bridge and beautiful Chiesa di San Moisè. It is also just a short walking distant to Vaporreto and Alilaguna boat terminal. The room is small but high ceiling and 2 big windows giving lots of light. The shower has a good pressure and steady hot water supply. The staffs are all wonderful serving with smile and eager to help. 5 stars for staffs! The breakfast was good as already mentioned by most reviews. Overall we loved the place and we will come back to it next time in Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Venice lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small, shower was very small.

    Fantastic location just steps from gondolas and a straight shot to San Marcus Square. Wonderful breakfast. Near great shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    Central location, very friendly staff, extras such as toothbrushes and shaver with shaving foam was a really nice touch and service offered to keep luggage following check out was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, old style hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a bit on the hard side...

    The location is excellent: close to San Marco and La Fenice and the vaporetto stop. One can walk practically anywhere. The staff is personable and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location to explore Venice, clean hotel, if a bit cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was 2 singles put together, would be better with a queen. VERY small shower in our room, in a tiny bathroom. Room is quite small.

    Great location on a small canal, right in the heart of the shopping area close to Piazza San Marco. Hotel is very comfortable, and great place to explore Venice from. Excellent breakfast service. Very clean! Our room had a view over the canal and adjoining square, very romantic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was fabulous, staff were accommodating and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. ALL WAS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My one comment would be that the rooms could use some upgrading to walls and carpets.

    The location of the hotel was perfectly situation for our purposes- see the sights in Venice. The accommodations were clean and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. The room was a tad small but had everything that we needed to enjoy our stay. But again the

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved every minute of our time in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was confusing, due to lots of people checking in we were told to checkout when we picked up our bags. Staff weren’t happy when we came in the afternoon to collect our bags and hadn’t already checked out.

    Mostly easy to help out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    I spent ages looking for the perfect hotel for our stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    I spent ages looking for the perfect hotel for our stay in Venice and compared so many options. In the end I couldn't be more pleased with our choice. The location is perfect - just a few minutes away from the vaporetto stop, in a lovely little square and super close to everything (very convenient if you want to go for a walk early in the morning before all the sights are crowded). I was worried that the room would be small but we had plenty of space, we didn't feel cramped whatsoever. The room was nicely decorated, the bathroom was very comfortable with strong hot shower. The breakfast was great with many different options, including eggs, pancakes and other hot and cold foods (they had prosecco, too!). The staff was amazing and accommodating. Definitely don't hesitate to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommended if a quieter room is available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would only stay again if my room was in a quieter position. Unfortunately it was above a noisy main thoroughfare also the walk to a nearby hotel whose guests arrived late at night.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff always really helpful & friendly. Great location. Clean & very comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have hot water when we first arrived but it was an easy fix when we asked reception. Not a huge issue though.

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. My partner and I were lucky enough to get a free upgrade with views of a small canal which was nice. Breakfast was great with heaps of sweet and savoury choices and was a bit different each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good breakfast buffet, small room/shower, early morning noise from gondoliers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, bathroom and shower are very small. Bed was a bit too hard, and pillows are flat (although pillows were like this in all hotels we stayed at in Italy). Our room faced the square, and was very noisy early in the morning (7am-8am) with the gondoliers setting up right outside our window. In the evenings/night, the noise level was fine. There was also construction noise from repairs on the bridge in the square right outside the hotel.

    Hotel Violino d'Oro - fantastic location, easy to find, right near St. Mark's Square. Staff was helpful with restaurant suggestions and maps. The breakfast buffet was very good, even better than expected, and included coffee, tea, juices, water, scrambled eggs, nice pastries, bacon, cheese... Towels and sheets were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't particularly welcoming or friendly at check in. Teeny tiny shower, but it worked well.

    Ideal location. Luca was most helpful staff. Large, quiet room with adequate lighting but not good for bedside reading and only one chair for sitting. Excellent bathroom with teeny tiny shower. Safe storage room for luggage after checkout. Good breakfast included, with scrambled eggs and streaky bacon, and range of continental breakfast choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    First time to Venice, hotel was in a wonderful location, it had everything that was expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are from Alaska so would’ve liked AC to be available as we like it a bit cooler.

    Loved hearing the birds and gondoliers singing from our window. Loved the location, close to everything.Room was everything it said on the website, loved our stay in Venice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    I'm not the biggest fan of staying in the San Marco area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not the biggest fan of staying in the San Marco area - it is too crowded with tourists for my tastes, unless I'm traveling in the winter - but I've seen this hotel in passing many times during my visits to Venice, and I was curious about it. I've read a few reviews saying that the rooms were small and/or dark, but I think those people must have gotten a different style of room than me because mine was very spacious and had two huge, tall windows. It was still nice and airy, even though the view was of an alley behind the hotel. Fast wifi, friendly staff, beautiful decor inside, and the breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not cooperative at all when we were a little late for breakfast one day

    Great location. Good breakfast spread. Room had a great view of the canal and gondolas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    - Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Cleanliness - Good Breakfast - Location (Right in the center of attractions + Close to multiple ferry stops which is very important in Venice if carrying luggage) - Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To reach the rooms on the top floor, after leaving the lift, you have to go up the stairs. If you have heavy luggage, as we did, that can be very disagreable

    Nice location, good breakfast. at the border of a canaletto

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd dark shaped room, chaotic breakfast, poor noise insulation, no kettle in room. Although this is a good location for the square in hindsight I would have stayed in a quieter area closer to good restaurants

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard but that’s just personal preference

    Fantastic location, clean spacious room and bathroom facilities. Large selection for breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Venice is a must see destination and you would not be disappointed staying at the Hotel Violina D'or
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not have been bettered

    This hotel is brilliantly positioned with everything right on your doorstep. San Marco square about a 3 minute walk away, with the Basilica, Doge's Palace and Campanile all a must see. The hotel was very clean, lovely staff and you are entertained all day by the antics of the Gondaliers right outside the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location and we would come back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but we did go for the least expensive option. Shower cubicle was very small.

    Great location- really handy for visiting all areas of Venice! Extensive breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Great stay in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely friendly and ready to help and were very informative. I had a lovely room and very comfortable bed and clean room. Lovely coffee in the morning and the breakfast was very good. I enjoyed my stay and hopefully will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and stylish hotel a few minutes walk from San Marco, very clean, very comfortable rooms, ver
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elegant and stylish hotel a few minutes walk from San Marco, very clean, very comfortable rooms, very nice buffet style breakfast and really friendly multilingual staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location. Triple room excellent for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a canal minutes from St Marks Square close to vaporetto stops and easy walk to bridge to l’Accademia and Peggy Guggenheim. Excellent breakfast with eggs, meat, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice and cappuccino machine. Terrace on each floor overlooking gondoliers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Ideal place to stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small bathroom (at least on our room), no kettle.

    Very close to water bus stations, Friendly and welcoming staff, Great breakfast, prime location - literally a minute from San Marco square!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff and delicious breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner turned on in the middle of the night and it was quite noisy. Also the room was not quite sound-proof so I heard the other guests coming and going during the night...

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, the location was excellent (close to Piazza San Marco, but fairly quiet), the room was clean and comfy, and the breakfast was truly fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Our second visit. Enjoyable and comfortable with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra coffee/tea machine would have been useful as there was always a queue at breakfast

    location was brilliant bedrooms comfortable good variety of breakfast options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior design is old but is tidy and clean

    Location is convenient. But if it can have more description like close to Gucci shop can help customers to find it more easily. Besides, should suggest customers to take boat shuttle 1 or 2 from Rail station as we take more than 45 mins from rail station carrying big luggages through all bridges to San macro plaza.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Very polite and attentive staff at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful view from our window (we were staying in the room 305). Some minor problems with hot water adjustment. All the rest was perfect. Thank you!

    Very polite and attentive staff at the reception. Excellent location - just 2 min walking from the San Marco square. A large variety of teas and coffees (as well as pastry) for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location - very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted to sit in the breakfast room in the evening as we were in Venice with family and were going to wind down with a card game and a chat, but this area is closed soon after breakfast. It's a shame as it's a lovely place to sit and when you are travelling with other people, a great place to socialise.

    Fabulous location and easy to find. It's only about 5 mins walk from Piazza San Marco, and 2 Alilaguna airport ferry stops (I recommend the orange line - faster and travels along Grand Canal). The room was not very big but ample for us and big for Venice. Great shower and nice big bed. There were also spare pillows which I was grateful for being 7 months pregnant! Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice. Eating breakfast while overlooking a canal with the gondoliers preparing for their day was a perfect way to begin each day. Overall really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    A gem in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything ..

    Just next door to the St Marks Square and all the major attractions. It's also next door to an artist's gallery's which is open quite late. Plus a gondola stand next to it and a scenic church. That's all before you even enter. Very nicely made rooms. Clean and hospitable. Nice wash rooms. The breakfast was amazing. They also have a nice spacious space for luggage storage so you can check out on time and u don't have to worry about lugging your stuff around. Amazing place and a memorable experience !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    central location, nice breakfast, good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very close (2-3 minutes) to the St. Mark's Square and it has a very nice and rich breakfast (ex. fresh fruits in January) + tasty coffee, helpful staff, can be easily reached from the vaporetto on foot (2-3 minutes). Right next to a canal, gondola stop. It is very cosy and romantic. Room and the bathroom was nice and clean, comfortable and huge bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    we really enjoyed the location of this hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    when you ask the staff for restaurant advises unfortunately they only recommend you the ones they are on commission,that was the first time we experienced this bad incident. we would have really appreciated of an honest opinion where to go, especially as it was our first time at venice.

    we really enjoyed the location of this hotel, the cleanliness, the upgrade of the room, the breakfast. in total you can't fault it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel in my favorite city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was very small, but the bathroom was a good size.

    The property was located within a few minutes walk to St. Mark's square and the water taxi location. The major sights were easily reached and there was a gondola station right outside the hotel. There are excellent shopping opportunities and wonderful restaurants nearby. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of selection. The staff was always friendly and ready to help. The room was decorated in more of an old school manner, which, I felt, suited the city. The chandeliers were especially beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great breakfast 🍳
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No understanding of allergies when asked at breakfast so I had to be very careful, only one plug that you can put a converter in to use different plugs types.

    Breakfast and location were fabulous!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very central position, literally 3 minutes from Saint Mark...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central position, literally 3 minutes from Saint Mark Square . Rich breakfast, spacious and comfortable room, very kind staff. Above all, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Room was very clean and cleaned very well each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was something to improve I would say a Kettle in the room with Coffee/tea.

    Room was very clean and cleaned very well each day. Breakfast was good. Hotel is in a great location near to everything and you can walk everywhere. Gondola stop directly outside also!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    An excellent choice for a two night stay in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were set too hot.Couldn't control the temp. Had to open a window which became too cold too quickly. Noisy heating unit.

    The location just a stones throw from San Marco square. The breakfast was fresh and appealing. The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Location the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not having coffee/tea availability in room was a bit of a let down. No room service information or any other required info. available about the hotel offerings and surrounding places. Breakfast was okay. Had to enquire about water in fridge.. no price list and discovered it depended on which room you booked. Shower is very small.

    Location was great, 3mins from San Marino port, next to gondola port and shops, church, restaurants all around. Staff was good and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, very central to most things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small, with a tiny shower. Otherwise, it was great.

    The location was great, very central to most things. Rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice, central, clean, polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is much to small for so many guests.

    Cozy hotel in the centre of Venice 2 min from San Marco. Very kind stuff, everything is small (room, place to take the delicious breakfast..) but clean and comfortable...in Venice it is ok to stay in small rooms. It is normal. You can see Gondolieres from the windows in the breakfast room..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    The "Violino d'Oro": an excellent choice where you can get a lot for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the "classic" rooms have no view and not much space. For 7 nights, the cupboard wasn't big enough for the clothes of 2 people.

    All the staff is extremly friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious, and the breakfast room lies next to the canal where you can enjoy the gondolieri-spectacle! After 1 night, we asked to change from our "classic" room into a "superior" room, as we had no view and not enough space in the "classic" room. No problem for the receptionist who offered us a marvelous room in which we felt very comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.2
    Good only if you want to be close to San Marco, nothing else is worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet on the third floor didn’t work for almost 2 days and the only solution I got was “you can come to the lobby to use it”. Staff was rude and didn’t care much about answering questions or even looking to my face as we spoke.

    Location to San Marco square is very good. That’s the only thing worth about the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful time in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    View from the window to opposite wall. But it wasn't a big problem.

    Excellent cozy hotel in a historic building. Perfect location. Delicious breakfast. It is easy to get from the airport by water transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Friendly chilled out hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is so homely and easy to get around without getting lost we loved everything

    Great location had a great stay everything was faultless. Small friendly my kind of place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    A great base in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Hotel in an ideal location, large bedroom, queen sized comfy bed, excellent choice of hot and cold breakfast, lovely powerful shower, free minibar with soft drinks, very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The breakfast was fantastic the location is great and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic the location is great and we asked to be upgraded to the junior suite for our honeymoon and it was going to be 50$ extra per night, when we arrived the room was given to us at no extra cost which was a nice surprise. We were here in December and it was wonderful during the slow season

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.8
    location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    workers are not smiling any , i feel myself entered to see two lobby worker , they are like payed our money and we wasnt guest there .

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Violino d'Oro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: