Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Le Meridien Visconti Rome This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Federico Cesi 37, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#283 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1114 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel with some of the cities biggest sights only a 15 minute walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be a little noisy in the corridors at some points but nothing that was too extreme.

    Great location, very friendly staff. Breakfast options were very good and good/drink prices were as expected, worth the money spent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was smaller than a cruise ship! As SPG members disappointed in the room. No washcloths available.

    Laundry service was great, but expensive. Location was good. Walking to sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.2
    I always stay in this hotel when travel to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I always stay in this hotel when travel to Rome. All good! Our family never search alternative solution. We like it, staff is great, location perfect, room is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.0
    The hotel does not deliver to contract.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel does not deliver to contract. The roof terrace is marketed and why we chose the hotel but made unavailable to guests since management had hired it out for different business events the entire weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit on a small side. It was difficult to take a shower without pouring some water on the bathroom floor. I would rate the breakfast as average compared to other 4-star hotels.

    The location is quite good. It is not crowded but you can walk to almost all major attractions. The bed was pretty comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    Impressive hotel, shocking breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was shocking, did not match the rest of the hotel. Your hot options are scrambled egg, bacon or sausage. My scrambled egg was freezing. Breakfast is completely self service, no drinks service at all which i find strange at a hotel of this caliber.

    Very clean hotel, great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Very good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good experience, walking distance from The Vatican and other locations. The hotel staff was very helpful at all times whether it was getting help for a airport taxi or an umbrella!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay well beyond expectation. Will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location; it is in the center of Rome. Easy walk to all tourist sites. Safe soroundings. There are many restaurants, cafes and supermarkets nearby. Service: staff are so friendly, professional and fast. The front desk arranged airport pickup and drop off for us with a reliable vehicle at a reasonable cost ( we flew into Rome at mid night). Facility: room spacious, modern and clean. Lobby and restaurant are excellent. Heating is good. We are a family of 3 and stayed in a two bedroom executive suite which almost felt too big! Beds are super comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    8.3
    fitness room, size of room, comfy bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfest was a bit disappointing, noise isolation can be better (heard the room above me very well...), free wifi can be faster.

    fitness room, size of room, comfy bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was in great location and nice area for walking around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could get noisy in the streets outside at night

    Hotel was in great location and nice area for walking around and easy for getting to all main venues

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, friendly staff always when you asked for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They do not keep standards. We ate first day something from mini bar and that was replaced 4 days later, we had in the room wipes but suddenly they disappeared. It was noisy as you could hear that peiple are walking upstairs and downstairs trough the walls.

    Perfect location, friendly staff always when you asked for something it was delivered or answer immediately. The rooms are very nicely furnished. Broad choice of TV channels. Comfortable bed and very good bathroom cosmetics.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    6.7
    I don’t go to Meridien anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor noise insulation. Cleaner’s cart made awful noise: so bad that I could hear it even in the shower and woke up when they started at 8:00. Unbelivable that they cannot or want to fix those screeming wheels. Also, our king suite was very very small (I doubt if it was promised 32 sqr meters. We changed to normal room due to street sounds coming to suite as if window was open. As compensation to this downgrade hotel offered 20% discount on our 28€ ginner bill plus two free beers from minibar. It was 4 night stay so 20€ discount was ridiculous. Also room finishing was bad quality with broken stuff like shower sewage cover.

    Very friendly personnel. Nice location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound isolation is poor, you can hear all from next room.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. You can go mos to the monuments by walking. Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    3.8
    Will never again stay in Le Meridien Over priced, poor service and poor quality interiors
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A Bland hotel with shoddy workmanship in the room. could hear noise of the guest next door opening and closing doors, moving the stool. The room looks good but style has replaced functionality. I will provide the general manager with more information on a consultancy basis. The hotel refused to accept that the room was paid through booking.com and have taken £254 from my credit card..

    Not much however the hotel was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.2
    nice breakfast, good location, helpful stuff on reception,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I expected to have shampoo and lotion every day, at least not once during the stay. I like camomile and other herbal teas, but also had it 1st day of my stay and then only black and green tea. but in general everything was very nice

    nice breakfast, good location, helpful stuff on reception, free tickets to Museum , comfortable bed, nice!!! shampoo, conditioner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    6.7
    Room was modern and comfortable, breakfast was great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was slow in responding and was not helpfull at all with information, low interest and/or knowledge....

    Room was modern and comfortable, breakfast was great, location also great with everything you want to see on walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location to be based in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one toilet roll in room so when it was about to run out we had the embarrassment of going to the front desk to ask for more (which was not easy due to translation issues). When we got back there was no replacement so we had to go to the hotels public toilet and get it from there. Bar staff on last night couldn't make Long Island iced tea, they served us what they considered to be one but it tasted like a very expensive glass of coke- we think that they forgot the alcohol!

    Excellent location.Barman made brilliant Long Island iced tea. Bed was massive and comfy. Shower was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.5
    It was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 full night (around 15hrs there was a power failure in the area and there was no air conditioner for 15 good hours). Certain big chains are suppose to have a generator or backup. Even though we were refunded for that particular night but it killed the purpose of relaxing vacations

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.3
    This was nice for a first stay in Rome but I would probably try someplace else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maid service was very spotty. They say there is a coffee pot in the room but all there is is a pot to heat water and two (two!!!) packs of instant coffee.

    Clean, modern facility in a great location. Nice buffet, not overdone, high quality and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.1
    Housekeeping let the hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff were very helpful but Housekeeping requests were poorly executed. Such as when we got to our room the pull out bed was not there, so we requested this at 6pm and when we returned at 9pm from dinner it was still not there, we had to wait a further hour and in the end reception staff came to sort it. The mini bar had cheese and food from the previous guest in it. Breakfast was very basic for the price. The difference between continental breakfast and English/American breakfast price was quite substantial, we only ate there once due to this. Room service menu was also quite restrictive for children.

    The room was a suite, so had plenty of room and space. The balcony had full sun all morning, so nice to sit out on. The hotel was well placed to walk to the vatican and across the river to the shopping streets and restaurants. The hotel were flexible about check out time which was very appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.0
    Convenient location to see the Vatican and other Rome sites with a few improvements requested
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were surprised that the restaurant staff spoke very little other than Italian. Most major chains have a multilingual staff. This was difficult to communicate. Also, most restaurants serving a buffet with eggs either have an 'egg station' or able to order other egg options -- at not additional charge. We were charged 10 euro to obtain purely an omelette. Thought that was no representative. If a room has an extra bed, it should also have an extra towel. We had to find the linen cart to obtain the right number of towels for the people booked in the room. Every day, the glasses and tea should be replenished.

    The property was within walking distance of most of the major sites in Rome. The room was modern, the bathrooms in very good shape. Was hesitant when I saw the picture from the outside but the inside was nicely done. Breakfast included, wi-fi included. Rooftop for drinks or dinner; nice seating area on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    5.0
    Not up to a Meridien standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was unprofessional. I sent 2 emails to the hotel for an airport pickup and never got a reply. We specifically asked for 2 connecting rooms or next to each other on a high floor and we were given rooms 312 and 316 on the third floor (the hotel has 7 floors) that were apart and we were told that there were no connecting rooms in the hotel but my friend who was staying in room 423 assured me it had a connecting door. The sound proofing in room 312 was terrible, you could hear everything from the street as well as the voices of guests from room 315 who had noisy children. We paid 723 euros per night for 2 rooms and it felt rather annoying that we had to pay 5 euros for fried eggs at breakfast. The housekeeping need extensive training.

    The rooms were renovated, the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    5.0
    Rather a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was unprofessional to say the least.First,I sent 2 emails to the hotel before arrival for an airport pickup but didn't receive any answer. Second, the housekeeping was terrible, they always forgot items,(I don't know why they don't use a checklist and check it), and you have to call several times to get what was missing.Third, there was a problem with the door of room 206 and for the whole stay we were waiting for it to be fixed and every time we asked, the answer was they called the technician but the door was never fixed. As for the rooms, although the layout was nice, the soundproofing was very bad, you could hear your neighbors talking, the sound of toilet flushing in the rooms next to you and guests talking in the corridor. We were a big group and everybody had a technical problem in his room, either the A/C not working, or some lamps with no power and worst thing was trying to control the temperature of water while showering, it changed from freezing cold to burning hot. The impression was that people working there were just doing a job to get paid at the end of the month and were not customer care oriented.

    The hotel is renovated, the rooms are modern, the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    6.3
    Vicenzo at the front office was the only bright spot in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality and choices of menu were very bad. ordered a steak it was inedible so was the same with the table next door. There is no food available at the Hotel after midnight, not even a sandwich.

    Vicenzo at the front office was the only bright spot in our stay. he went above and beyond to help us get back to the hotel after watching a show at night. I dont think I would stay at this hotel again. For the same price we gave up staying at a 5 star property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful stay at Visconti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping was odd. We started the stay with 2 coffee mugs and 2 drinking glasses, and then the next day we had both drinking glasses taken away. When asked for, they wanted to charge €2 to send it up.

    Large room for Eiropean standards, staff friendly but for one bad experience and location location location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.1
    Normal stay at a normal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The sound insulation in the rooms was not good, you can hear sounds from other rooms and it was annoying sometimes. The hotel did not have proper room service menu as usual in other similar level hotels. The air conditioning was controlled centrally by the staff so you have to call reception if you want to change the settings.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was good, it was about 15 minutes walk to the city center. The buffet breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our tea cups weren't replaced and we didn't have enough essential toiletries even though we requested them the day before. Hotel could have done better than just an apology. It was our first holiday in a very long time so it did put a 'slight' shadow on it.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    9.6
    We will come back soon ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing wrong

    The general atmosphère ,the staff who was on top the situation with all the restaurants ,the gelaterias ,the shopping out of touristic paths The breakfast The eclairs from Padova ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    7.1
    Very nice dispite a few small but key flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi virtually unusable in our room. Only one complimentary bottle of water was given for the room (to share between two people) a day. Bathroom not fully restocked when needed. Only one pair of slippers supplied for the room.

    Room service and buffet breakfast was very nice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    9.6
    Super Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was great. Can't complain about anything at this property.

    The location was perfect. Residential area with many restaurants and stores. 1 mile walk to Vatican, St. Peters, Spanish Steps. Just a little longer to Trevi Fountain. All walks with many interesting things to see. Couldn't be better. Close to Metro B line also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    7.9
    Well located hotel let down by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wallpaper came off in our room. Breakfast was too simple for the category of the hotel and the ambiance wasn't great. Coffee wasn't great and omelettes cost extra.

    Modern designed rooms, nice lobby, good restaurant on ground floor, friendly staff at reception, great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    4.2
    Best part of the experience was the location of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were aloof, inattentive. Did not feel welcomed. Breakfast was decent to start with however then degenerated. Very basic offering, mostly pastries, boiled mini pork sausages, usually burnt bacon, some fruit. The scrambled eggs were barely edible, liquid and runny on the last day. Filter coffee was regularly cold. Our room climate control was not functional, our room was uncomfortably cold. Stefano at the front desk initially stated he would increase the temperature, then later that night I called the front desk as it was still cold, we were promised it would be resolved. Then again the next morning we complained again to Stefano. Who then claimed that the heating for the entire hotel was switched off and the best he cold do was switch of the ac. The hotel advertises it's roof bar as a draw card, however it was closed for 4 of the 5 days of our stay. It was open on the last however the bar was closed. We met many cordial, polite and warm Romans while in Rome so to say the cold attitude of the staff at this hotel is a standard in Rome is a falsity. Ps, you will be forced to pay a tourism tax of 6 euros per person per room upon check out, this will not be mentioned at checkin.

    Best part of the experience was the location of the hotel and newly renovated room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    6.3
    The location is great for easy walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred a flat sheet available to for the option of a cooler bed cover during the night. Hotel prices on all food and beverages. Better buys out the doors...

    The location is great for easy walking distance to the Vatican with a wide range of foods for early mornings till late night caffè and shopping of all sorts. The hotel front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with a good command of english for those in need of it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.3
    - Position quite central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rooms are very small - Room was hot and AC not working. Asked to fix it but I have been plainly ignored by reception staff - Prices at hotel bar outragiously expensive for Rome (€12 for 1 aperol-spritz). Overall not satisfied for the price paid (almost €200/night) Will not come back.

    - Position quite central - Clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    6.3
    design of the room
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in room wifi (didn't work) the shower (water almost cold) breakfast (just one kind waiter, who offered coffee, others just didn't care)

    design of the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean- good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not always quite. We could hear the noise from the street and sometimes from other rooms.

    The facilities were very good, clean and new. The bathroom was warmed up which was very nice. Breakfast was very generous and good service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.5
    Would probably staff here again, would love if they got proper wofi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist who checked us in didn't inform us about the gym or wifi

    Hotel kept very well, bar staff were exceptional and they deserve a raise!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2017

    7.1
    It was the 2nd time i have stayed in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didnt post it on their website or inform us that they are renovating the hotel. We went to Rome to relax but it wasnt possible due to the fact that at 7 am they started to work until 5pm and it caused so much noise that it wasnt possible to relax at all..

    It was the 2nd time i have stayed in this hotel. The hotel is nice and clean. The food is good as well. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a very poor situation, where a member of the staff (most probably the cleaner during breakfast) robbed us - we had left some cash with our personal belongings (closed personal handbag in the closet) and when we got back after an hour or so, the room was cleaned but also - the money gone. So - somebody had been going through our personal belongings and had taken the money. We told about the situation immediately to the administrator who promised to take care of the situation and talk to the cleaner and at least try to figure out what had been going on, but when we were asking about a solution (or at least an appology) a few days later, nobody did not even know about something like this has happened. So, we were totally surprised about the cold reaction about a robbery in the hotel. Of course, it was our own fault leaving cash to the room and not using the safe box, but we have been travelling all over the world and nothing like this has never happened before. Going through hotels' guests' personal belongings and what is more - taking money from a handbag - is totally unacceptable. It definitely left a truly bitter mark to our stay.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    8.8
    Best of the 4 places we have stayed at in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea making facilities in the room but milk tea and coffee not stocked up when room was made. However they promptly suppplied some when we asked everyday

    Handy location, clean and spacious rooms with great staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was under construction, and there was lots of noise, and we took two rooms one we had to pay extra for the breakfast and the justification was not reasonable

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception were extremely unhelpful. Never informed us breakfast want included on check in, just that it was downstairs. We then have it room number, again no mention of paying extra, then at checkout we were told that we were liable for an extra €120 for breakfast over 3 days! Rooms were shabby and well worn, the first room head a stained carpet, a cracked window, and a walk in shower with just a cheap shower curtain and a due to the adjoining room through which we could hear the occupants next door. We then complained and were moved to a slightly better room where we v stayed for three nights. We had planned our trip to Italy for 7 nights, three in a hotel as a treat(!) and 4 in Airbnb locations, and have had much more luck with Airbnb so far! Definitely would not recommend!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    6.7
    Beds were comfy and hotel is in a central location but not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little limited. Main shower head did not work, reported it twice and it wasn't fixed. Asked reception staff if they would mind confirming a special dinner reservation, which they then forgot to do.

    Beds were comfy and hotel is in a central location but not overly tourist orientaed which was very pleasant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    7.9
    Comfy bed, wifi in room! Short walks to stations and attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have a mini fridge that they refil with drinks ect it's expensive so we didn't take anything however I placed my own drink and chocolate and still got charged for using which I believe should already be in the hotel price.

    Comfy bed, wifi available in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    9.6
    Great base for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were helpful. The location good. The room clean and roomy. Good size bed. We arrived late afternoon and didn't want to stray too far on the first evening. The young man on the desk recommended a great place to eat nearby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    8.3
    Overall good. I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No iron available. One staff person at the desk was rude

    Breakfast was good. They gave us a nice assortment of appetizers (free) when we got a drink at the bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    6.7
    Hotel in Prati/Vaticano area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Iron frame chair in room was not comfortable to use. Bed was hard for someone with a bad back.

    Large hotel in Central Rome near Prati/Vatican. Easy walk to many restaurants, some sights such as Piazza Cavour and Castello St Angelo. Close to river. b'fast was a mix of continental and western fare.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    5.8
    Internet is a problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet is a problem. Bad connection in the room. A lot of noise; works going on and part of the lobby closed for a whole day because of a photo-shoot. A pasta at 1 pm was a problem .... in italy ...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2016

    6.7
    Disappointing room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put in a small room for the type and price we paid. It was a corner room so was awkwardly shaped and smaller than the previous room we had. Disappointing

    Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    5.4
    hotel located at the Center of Rome, closest to all the attractions, but lacks the basic facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far away from the metro stations, so pick up a bus instead of train from the airport, no restaurants in the hotel itself. Pretty expensive , if not under 130 euros/night , then it ain't a good deal .

    Excellent location , very close to the major attractions. Close to the bus stop, u can take the local bus to all or walk it up, everything is nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2016

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast, do for room level higher than basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic room is not impressive, go a level higher to premium room, there were plumbing issues with sink and bidet

    Location, helpful staff, great breakfast , and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    7.5
    Competent 4-Star Hotel in great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was assumed that breakfast was included in the price, also it never stated the extra cost for parking. We left from 9AM - 2PM and when we returned our room hadn't yet been remade. For the same price or less someone can stay at a similar 4-Star hotel and pay less for parking with a complimentary breakfast.

    The location is perfect, the rooms are modern and clean. They were doing remodeling so there was quite a bit of confusion in the lobby and outdoor area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    9.2
    Visconti is a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like that the showers had hairs from previous hotel guests. I also did not like that the cleaning staff did not replace the shampoos and conditioners when they were all used up or clean the rooms at all when I had requested that.

    The location was perfect! And the staff was FANTASTIC. I had booked the hotel Monday to Friday. Unfortunately, we had to cut our trip short and when we arrived on Monday the staff did not give us any trouble with our reservation. The reservation was shortened without a problem. Great variety of breakfast options. Beautiful rooftop terrace. Everything went smoothly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They're under construction a little- so getting to the gym took a guide to snake you through. Internet was spotty- but still an amazing hotel!

    Location is great, gym is small but good! They also have gluten free options for breakfast if you ask

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    7.5
    A work in Progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in the process of being refurbished which wasn't made clear when we booked it. As a consequence there was a lack of public places, i.e. no lounge or restaurant and it was noisy during the day. This being the case I consider the amount we paid was over priced for the facilities in operation.

    Excellent breakfast selection. Room was comfy and clean, shower fantastic. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    8.8
    The location is great and the hotel staff always ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free wifi speed was very low (512KB) and in case you needed higher speed you should pay. When staying at such a good hotel i'm expecting that such a thing would be free. They could charge a bit more at the room price and have a decent free wifi speed for all their recidents. Another thing i didnt like was that the hotel was rennovating it's front and our room was excactly above them on the first floor.

    The location is great and the hotel staff always ready to serve you.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    8.3
    A great place to stay in Rome; very short walk away from everything you want to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were stiff, but as that was a constant throughout our trip, I'm not going to mark it as a negative.

    The breakfast was delicious; delicious eggs, bacon cooked perfectly, with some delicious meat. The location was great, too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    10
    WE WERE SO PLEASED WITH THIS HOTEL THAT WE WILL DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN NEXT TIME WE ARE IN ROME
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    I LIKED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOTEL. THE STAFF WERE KIND, FRIENDLY AND APPROACHABLE, THE LOCATION WAS FANTASTIC AND THE ROOMS WERE COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    7.9
    Good location and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ongoing refurbishment works impacted on the hotel facilities but I am sure once done the pain will have been worth it.

    Staff were by and large excellent especially on reception and the rooftop bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.6
    Nice accommodation for a getaway in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was a bit inconsequent in keeping a green footprint. A card in the room said to leave it on the bed for changing of the sheets and to leave the towels on the floor if we wanted new ones. But we got new towels and sheets every day no matter what we indicated. That was not necessary though.

    The staff was very friendly and kept a good balance between hospitality and keeping distance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At times airconditioning was too cold in room!

    Room was very contemporary and facilities were super. We loved the hotel products which were of excellent quality. Breakfast each morning was great- so many options to choose from!bike rental is a great option to get from place to place and saves the feet!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    7.5
    Very nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    BBQ in the rooftop bar was very expensive for what it was Check in staff were very friendly and helpful, checkout staff were not very friendly No free wifi No English channels on tv It is in a very quiet area but only 10/15 min walk to bars and restaurants with more life

    Nice comfortable rooms, very clean and close to the vatican

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a lovely, quiet location very close to central Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have preferred a bath.

    Location was excellent; quiet neighbourhood (even in peak summer) just over the bridge from the bustling city. Staff were great; they recommended some great local restaurants. Close to the Metro but also walkable in to Central Rome. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choice. Room was very comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    7.5
    Honeymoon...not so honey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed here for my honeymoon for a week. My family traveled from Miami to Rome last year and stayed here also (18 people) and they loved it. I booked through Booking at the "lowest rate" possible and did not notice that the room (supposedly) did not included breakfast. Once I arrived at the hotel, they first gave us a room on their first floor-old, very old, Vegas looking floor with the dirty carpet and everything. This hotel had renovations with brand new rooms upstairs. I am still not sure why they gave us such a horrible room. They also informed us that breakfast was included but 3 minutes later called us in our room to say that no, it was not. The following day I asked to be placed at one of the new floors and also asked for an upgrade as to the breakfast. They gave us 1 option--we either paid 20 euros per day for breakfast (40 in total) or no upgrade at all. Upgrading a room means paying more per night to include breakfast but not 40 a day for coffee and a croissant. The upgrade is supposed to be more money per day but less than 40 € since we were staying 7 days. When I got back to my room and checked in Booking again, the diference between a room with breakfast and one w/o was 10 euros. At this point I was tired, aggravated, and dissapointed. While conducting the search in Booking all rooms appeared to include breakfast but suddenly my reservation magically did not. Very tricky and the hotel did not cooperate--not even becuse it was our honeymoon. On top of that they gave us one of the renovated rooms and called it "a little gift from us" mmmmmm Visconti, please, I payed 112€ per night at your hotel--you did not gift me a thing. They could have done so much more but refused and called the room we were entitled to since the begining "a gift." They don't show the old rooms online-only the new rooms where my family had stayed in last year, and the rooms that all the customers should be entitled to. Would not stay here...

    Location is great if you like staying near the Vatican. Premises are clean and comfortable overall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    4.6
    Not What I Thought
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room did not seem completely clean, everything seemed old and well used, and this hotel is very noisy. We had a connecting room and heard everything that was going on next door. Beds were not comfortable and there was no view from our room. Looks like it had a nice car as well, but no one told us about it, so we did not use it!

    Breakfast was wonderful with MANY options! Staff was somewhat helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic place to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one English speaking channel and no tv on demand

    Spacious room and hotel layout and spotless cleanliness, comfy bed and excellent breakfast choice. Friendly and smiley Staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    10
    VISCONTI did not disappoint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmmmm...can't think of anything.

    WONDERFUL STAY! Really appreciated, in particular, the friendly, helpful, AND WELCOMING employee...Marco! Rooms were clean and great value for our money. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    7.5
    When we arrived, could not check in due to system being down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived, could not check in due to system being down. The staff could have been nicer and more helpful rather than just asking us to sit in lobby after all the traveling.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    5.8
    Nice Hotel for Rome, but Very Noisy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Poor Sleeping - The walls are paper thin and we had neighbours coming and going throughout the night which made it impossible to get a good sleep. Our safe was broken as well and when we reported it to the hotel it was not fixed or replaced during our stay. - Lounge - Nice, but we sat for 15-20 minutes and were never greeted by staff (they saw us come in and stood there and talked at the bar) We were 2 of 6 people total in the lounge at this time. The prices were also incredibly expensive for the area. - Rooms - The rooms sound like they are being renovated but did not match the photos from the website and seemed outdated. It appears all rooms are also connected rooms which adds to the noise.

    - Location - was central and no more than a 15-40 minute walk to all major attractions in Rome. - It was only a 5 minute walk to the airport shuttle which was very efficient and only cost 6euros. - Breakfast - Very good for a free breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    4.2
    Very Bad experience . Felt cheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We requested a room for 3 and reserved it when we got there they didn't have a room that can accommodate 3 . They had a suite available for a 115 euro extra a night that I was forced to book and they charged more then the agreed rate on top of that 340 euro extra . I felt I was cheated and I would never use the service again

    Really nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    6.3
    Good location and easy to walk to main city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Original 'superior' room that we booked was not in any way superior. It was very dated, dark and dingy. We were rudely awoken by incredibly loud banging the first morning, and asked to move rooms. We were upgraded and the 2nd room was much more what we had expected and it felt as though we were in a different hotel. The fact there was building work happening and no one thought to mention it as we checked in was a little disappointing, but at least they moved us due to the noise upon asking.

    Good location and easy to walk to main city centre. Good breakfast. Friendly staff on the whole.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    9.2
    Good centre to do Rome in a day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find negatives- really good value until city tax added €12 per night per person.

    Refurbished rooms were stylish and comfortable. Unrefurbished rooms large but dated. Roof terrace expensive but lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    10
    An extremely good experience in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a good stay. There was a small mistake regarding our reservation but they more than made up for it with a bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit left in our room one evening. The breakfast was amazing. So much choice to suit all diets and tastes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    3.3
    I do not recommend this hotel, poor against high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room with bad location, not comfarteble. Staff not helpful. No facilities close to the hotel. I do not recommend due to high price against poor hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    5.0
    Don't waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some rude staff WiFi was poor Breakfast was very poor TV channels were rubbish Staff did not want to help were awkward for no reason when asked

    Comfy room clean good air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Meridien Visconti Rome Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: