Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vista Lago 3 stars

Via Roma 25, 22034 Brunate, Italy

#14 of 15 hotels in Brunate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long harrowing drive up a very steep and winding mountain! The room is very small and BASIC. Bathroom was teeny, the sink blocked half the doorway in! Don’t drop the soap in the shower oh and bring a bar of soap.

    It was very close to the funicular to get down to Como. Bed was comfortable. Had a small balcony to sit on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way there is very far. All the way up in the mountains. Looks more of a hostel than a hotel. The wntrance is through the restaurant. The food is very nad and very expensive so i recommend you eat in the city or grab some before heading up because it's a pain in the ass to drive down again and everything around the hotel closes at around 9. Parking is a pain in the ass. The lot had only 3 spots which were full so we had to park around the hotel and had our car hit the next morning. I would recommend driving a small car cause the streets are narrow.

    Very secluded and calm. Very close to the cable car. Quiet place and surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was available to check us out. We were locked in the hotel & finally found a side door to escape from. They didn’t have our reservation on file even though we could prove we paid for it. Then they made us sit there for 30+ minutes with no answers while they figured it out. What a mess.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with AMAZING!!! views of Como. The hotels location is great and near from the funicular. The hotel staff are some of the nicest people ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception. An empty cold building. No official payment. Thieves in a word. Why did you rent closed hotel room to us?

    The hotel was closed. We do not understand why you rent to us that room. So there is nothing to like. Empty. Terrible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, maybe a breakfast it would be great, I think in summer is available, not in the winter, but nothing special.

    Well, I have no words to describe the room, the best stay I haver been. We were alone in the hotel, so I think they gave us the best room. I have never seen so beautifull views from a room, in my whole life. It was amazing, I think is very reasonable for the price. I will never forget that night, falling asleep with a view over switzerland and Como lake, with zero noise. AMAZING.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    difficult and takes long time to access by car, we booked because had car parking but once locked into booking they advised they could not guarantee parking. Best to just visit by fanicular for one day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the picture and room in real life didn't quite match. Room on the picture was bigger and had balcony with table and chairs. When asking for this room, staff wasn't very helpful. Got the same room as upon arrival even we waited for 3 hrs for the manager, who just said that elements on the picture (ex. biger balcony, table and chairs on the balcony) was just for decoration. Don't take that tourist menu in this hotel. Food was really dry and tasteless and definitely not worth the money.

    The view!!! View is breathtaking and amazing! Enjoyed every second on the balcony. Room was clan and aircon worked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircondition, staff dont speak English at all

    Great location with nice view to lake from the hill. Not expensive in comparation with other hotels in locality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, don't stay 'downtown' at Como, stay here instead, you'll really like it, It's calm, beautiful view, nice air and nature! It's 2 minutes walk from the top station of the funicular.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * No TV in room * No air-conditioning in room * The hotel didn't have Wifi, it takes the public from the square nearby

    * Close to the funicular to go to Como * Employees are quite kind

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, we were not given the correct rooms that we had ordered online, and unfortunately the rooms were smaller in size and did not have the facilities that were promised online. The water in the taps was yellow, even after the water was run for a period of time to see if it would improve. Then when my daughter tried to turn on the shower, the handle simply fell off in her hand. The two bedside lamps we were given in our room did not work. The minibar was not provided with any minibar goods as usual, although that was not the problem. The problem was that the mini fridge did not work, it was not cold at all so we could not refrigerate some of our goods. We had told the management about the incorrectly given rooms on the night, but the correct rooms were not available so we settled with what there was. Next morning, however, the manager was highly aggressive and threatening when we went to figure out the correct payment, as we explained that we were not willing to pay a higher price for rooms and facilities that we were not given.

    The location, the view towards the lake was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic for the price

    Good view, close to funicolare, quiet, good for hiking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very beautiful view and sweet room

    very beautiful view and sweet room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rocco the owner is a very friendly guy helped us with everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    High on a mountain

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view, the best localization near Como :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    The location and the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was amazing panorama on the balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice view of the lake and the valey

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult access. No parking. Pricy and bad food. Weird facilities. No A/C.

    Not much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view, clean, renovated, well located and very kind staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not realy a vieuw of the lake ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The good location, and the view :D

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still a little rough around the edges but that didn't matter at all to us.

    Amazing view. Very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    stunning views from balcony ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioner

    Price, near by funicular, Balcony & View

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the restaurant it is so bad

    View

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was problematic.

    Stuff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air-conditioned system did not work. The TV set did not work.

    Position of the hotel is very good. Good views over the Como and 5 minutes from the funicular.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was dreadful. Hard bed. TINY room 3m x 2m. Lift locked at midnight so no escape, except via roof terrace from which one could jump... Lift still locked at 7am. No breakfast ready. No bread only dodgy croissants. No telephone in room. Hairs in bathroom. Stains on paintwork. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in including China, Cambodia, Vietnam, Russia, Syria, France & EVERYWHERE. (India excluded)

    Zero

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heating was off in October so it was quite cold. But the extra blanket helped.

    Perfect location on the hills with Lake Como view. Good breakfast. Lovely people. Clean rooms&bathrooms. Inform the hotel if you will artive late because they close and go home which is ok for an hotel on a mountain i guess.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hot water is not very hot.

    This is the second time I have stayed here and I chose to pay more for the room with lake view. The view from the room and the balcony is amazing and it's the main reason I chose to stay in Brunate. Also it is very peaceful there.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little small, and this is certainly not a luxury hotel in terms of furnishings. However, if you are looking for a well-priced and well-located B&B in Brunate, this is a good choice.

    Vista Lago is a nice bed & breakfast - good for a stopover in Brunate above Lake Como. The owner was kind and helpful - helping us park our car, and showing us to our room. The view was fantastic - we had room 30, with a stunning view over the lake. The location is great - just a few steps from the top of the Brunate funicular, so you can have dinner in the town of Como, and take the funicular back to your hotel. The price was also competitive for the area. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were so disappointed and shocked by this hotel that we decided to check out earlier from the hotel and accept the early cancellation penalty (which was unusally high!) Lots of issues: - there was YELLOW water coming from the tabs (both the facial tab and the shower) - even after leaving it on for half an hour - all water was icecold, including the shower, even after a while of leaving it on - no heater in the room, and it is freezing cold, also in april1! - The village if this hotel is NOT a nice cute como lake village and indeed quite far from it. - There was no one from the hotel there to talk to, just the restaurant managers from below, but they did not know anything abou tthe hotel so could not help us!

    breakfast was ok and restaurant owners were friendly but they did not know anything about the hotel unfortunately!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant meal was very good. .breakfast was basic butt adequate the staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Peace, tranquility and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, no heating in the room, uncomfortable bed and furniture

    Spectacular view, perfect location just above a funicular

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel calls for s cable cart to take u up to Brunate which is fun. Breakfast was very simple don't expect much. Star very helpful n nice

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location, great views, accommodating stuff

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking is 300 meters walking up hill. Breakfast is rather simple.

    The clean room and very good beds and friendly staff.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hotel Vista Lago traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: