Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Westin Excelsior 5 stars

Piazza Ognissanti 3, Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy

#107 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Would choose it again if could do it over again. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included.

    Excellent location. Comfortable rooms, well decorated with great view of the canal. Close to amenities. Great view from the roof top terrace bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Everything about this property and our experience with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about this property and our experience with the staff and accommodations was extraordinary. A return visit to Florence and this hotel is definitely in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Florance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't told us that we have to book for the rooftop restaurant

    The view to the city and the river, the breakfast is good , the staff is so helpful and nice , location of the hotel is the best it's in the middle and near by the most popular attractions

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    6.7
    the view from the room only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room free wifi in 2016 😒 the staff is not helpful I ask for a train ticket and they told they not allowed to use so I done it my self from the business center anyhow the view is the best thing about this hotel nothing else

    the view from the room only

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    BEAUTIFUL entry and lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow to get coffee with breakfast; ended up using the lobby to-go set-up. Hard to figure out thermostat adjustment in room; was controlled by oom key insertion and other settings

    BEAUTIFUL entry and lobby. Very nice rooms. Excellent location. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Best view in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The menu at the rooftop bar is very disappointing as was the food. It does not do justice to such an extraordinary location. The tapas restaurant in the foyer is bizarre. Why not showcase the anti-pasti of Italy. This is a big part of why people come to Italy. They want to enjoy local cuisine not poorly attempted spanish tapas. I think the entire food area of this hotel needs a makeover.

    Our bedroom was fabulous, the bed and pillows were heaven and the huge balcony had an amazing view of the Arno, Ponte Veccio and many bridges. The rooftop bar / restaurant has without a doubt the best view in Florence. We entertained guests there who were staying at other hotels and all were very jealous. I would definitely come back to this hotel when next in Italy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Great hotel to stay, especially after the poor experience we had in Rome. This hotel far outdid The Westin in Rome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Corridors to rooms had stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors to rooms had stairs. A nightmare with heavy suitcases!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Bed and Linen extremely comfortable, fantastic terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and Linen extremely comfortable, fantastic terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice and stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts are very expensive. I mean really expensive and nothing special:(

    Location is great, very stylish and fresh hotel, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    In love with Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff was super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super helpful. We did not have much of a view, but room was very quiet which is what we needed are first night after flying all day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Autumn vacation in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Everything was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Recomend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet access

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service are really under 2 from 5

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Simply awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!! Worth every penny - and more. Just makes you smile to go through the door!! Would return and def recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Location is very good and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is very good and staff very friendly. Although the weather was cold, we felt warm in the hotel from the attention and services.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent facility and staff. We will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Westin bed was outstanding (we own one at home in the states). Facilities and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    What a perfect 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was absolutely luxury and lovelyyyyy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small to open my suitcase and bathroom was mediocre

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.5
    no free wi fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no free wi fi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location, charming helpful staff and really lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room dark and depressing

    Great location, charming helpful staff and really lovely decor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful views of the Arno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is comfortable and brilliantly located. The marble foyer is lovely - a minor complaint would be that the carpet on the stairs needs to be replaced, it is old and dreary. The breakfast room is a bit dark, even though the stained glass windows are lovely. The breakfast chef overcooks the omelette or scrambled eggs so ask for soft and the fresh orange juice does not taste great. Our evening club sandwich was okay but not great. The SE-STO restaurant on the roof terrace is buzzing and has a fantastic atmosphere but the food is quite fancy, not one's idea of typical Italian food and my meat was cooked medium even though I asked for well-done.( I couldn't eat it.) Overall, an expensive trip but still worth it - Florence is amazing.

    Beautiful views of the Arno. Stefano on reception was superb. Excellent location. Staff were very good and very pleasant and friendly. Very comfortable bed. A lovely, friendly ambiance in the hotel - a pleasure to come back to after a long day's sight seeing. Lovely to sit in the bar for a pre-dinner drink. The food was good. The views of Florence from the roof terrace bar and restaurant SE-STO are totally stunning. I can't imagine better views at any other hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    We got a special deal, therefore value for money was ok,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Prices for everything extra are on high side.

    We got a special deal, therefore value for money was ok, however at their published prices it would be somewhat too high. Excellent view from the rooftop bar - must have! Consierge was helpful with parking the car - no hassle with this at all. Proximity to the city centre and all sites - 10 minutes relaxed walk.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    We stayed at the Westin Excelsior to celebrate New Years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed at the Westin Excelsior to celebrate New Years. When we booked we were told that the New Years dinner was fully booked. However, the concierge called back the next morning and informed us he had been able to get us a table. The staff was tremendous and friendly to us and our daughter. David at the check in helped us with an upgrade and showed us the room and always asked if he could help us with something. We had a wonderful New Years weekend and I can highly recommend this hotel. //Michael with family

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Luxury hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing (except perhaps paying the bill!)

    Luxury hotel in excellent location. Room was beautiful, bed heavenly. Excellent service in stunning rooftop restaurant. By no means cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    The check-in staff were very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Concierge refused to change my restaurant booking time for me. Instead, he called the restaurant & insisted I speak to them myself. First time that had happened to me in Italy. I had a feeling other guests were paying less that what I paid through booking.com, particularly American guests

    The check-in staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were small but comfortable. The food was overall quite good but a little expensive for what you get.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.6
    Immediate and detailed communications with us prior to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Truly none.

    Immediate and detailed communications with us prior to travel were greatly appreciated. Staff was very friendly, professional, and overall our stay could not have been better. Location is the absolute best; quiet yet within walking distance to everything one must do while in Florence. Room was beautiful, quiet and larger than expected. Rooftop bar is amazing and we enjoyed both drinks and meals there. The level of service is hard to find anymore and we are very happy with our decision to stay at The Westin vs more local boutique hotels.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Location, well appointed, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The city of florence was not too exciting. It was good for a day or two of walking around.

    Location, well appointed, great staff. Appreciated the hotel upgrade to corner view on water and bottle of wine in room for our honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.3
    Location great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dramatic first night: room on the first floor: safe box did not work, fridge did not work. I ślepy till 5 am and at 5 am i ve heard noise from Street: cars etc. And i ve read the opinion of general manager of the hotel that at 5 am there is not traffic but there is! This room shell not be sold to clients.

    Location great! Hotel very nice! Style great! Breakfast very good as well. Concierge very good! 2 ND room we have received very good and nice with the View on the river. I recomend hotel if you do not sleep on the 1st floor.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi only free in the lobby but Not free in the rooms.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. Close to the city center and right on the river Arno

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous concierge and front desk service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulous concierge and front desk service. Delicious reasonable breakfast buffet. Luxurious room with spectacular view at a good price.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Everything from arrival to departure was fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything from arrival to departure was fantastic . Upgraded and allowed late checkout .

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed a sauna and steam bath. Expensive

    Great hotel, good staff

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    8.0
    river view just fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    feels like old one

    river view just fabulous

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    Wonderful staff which went above and beyond during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff which went above and beyond during our stay. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.1
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast 42.50€ a bit too much

    location

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.9
    Location, Helpful Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO Free WiFi in rooms

    Location, Helpful Staff

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    We had the most enjoyable stay here, highly recommend to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the most enjoyable stay here, highly recommend to anyone!

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: