Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Za Maria 3 stars

Via Nazionale Ss113, 98072 Santo Stefano di Camastra, Italy

#16 of 19 hotels in Santo Stefano di Camastra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Night tranzit in Za Maria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. Probably due to the low season. Was very hard to find the hotel location during the late hours. Searching in the maps you may find the locality NEAR MESSINA.

    Personnel very pleasant. Excellent room with sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.5
    This so called hotel is a disgrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This so called hotel is a disgrace. The owner or the staff may try to argue my next statements but I assure you I wouldn't have anything to gain by dissing this hotel. This place is easy to notice because its architecture is very out of this place, it's like trying to match a piece from a puzzle game to another. There are insufficient parking spots in fron of the hotel. The 'unlucky' guests may park in a parking lot nearby the hotel but this place isn't taken care of by the hotel staff because it doesn't belong to them. The beach that belongs to the hotel is a joke, they threw some sunbeds on the stone beach (yes stone as big as a football ball), there is no path for the guests to try to get to the water. The pool is very small and their overall staff is not well trained, as well as the fact that they do not know how to behave with the guests. The pool is utterly dirty, the showers don't work very well, the sunbeds are as old as the hotel(very old). One positive thing is that the rooms are very large...but the bathroom is not clean, the AC doesn't work, the fridge doesn't cool the food and the bed creaks. The furniture is old, the breakfast is poor and their food was cold and not fresh made. I asked the manager for help and surprisingly, he was very drunk and he became violent while refusing to talk in English, he probably swore us, but nothing and no one could make him behave normal. Don't risk placing your belongings in the safe because it wasn't protected in any way, I could have easily take the safe with me because it wasn't bonded to the wall at all. The manager said that he takes no interest in the safe issue as well as other issues that we have raised. The hotel is empty because no one has had the bad luck of ending up here, I was 'forced' by the circumstances to stay here in my Italian journey. Be aware, and stay away from this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    A noisy night near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no restaurants near the hotel and the hotel restaurant was inexplicably closed on the night of our arrival. The hotel is directly next to the train tracks and the howling dogs kept us up most of the night. The private beach was close, but the lounge chairs were plastic (without cushions) and the entrance to the water impeded by slippery stones. The woman working at the check-in was very friendly, but that was unfortunately not enough to compensate for the rest. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice holiday break in a quiet town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff speaks little English but good enough to communicate.

    The pool and the beach was very good for children and the room was spacious and clean. It's the best you can get from the neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    4.6
    Frustration instead of relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff in the restaurant did not speak English at all. During breakfast, the staff serves only Italians and pointedly ignores the foreigners. We had to wait about 10 minutes that someone comes to replace the tablecloth to a clean one, as there were no clean tables any more. But no one came to us. Waiters have seen that we have come, but ignored us. At the same time the waiters immediately served the Italians and asked what they want to drink. I had to go and call the waiter by myself and ask him to give us a new tablecloth and coffee. He didn't understand me at all, so luckily I knew a few Italian words and explained him with jestures what we want. On the day of checkout there was no one at the reception. After 5 minutes of waiting, someone came and instead of greeting glanced irritably at me and asked: "checkout?". After payment, he did not say goodbye, but just silently went away to make a coffee the Italian man who came up. And they call it service.. Internet connection is very slow. The hotel is situated about 3 km from the town, but the walk is almost impossible, because there is a pedestrian road. It is necessary to have a car to get to town. There is only 1 kiosk with food next to the hotel, nothing more. Directly in front of the window of the room pass the railroad tracks. The train passes by with a roar, and sometimes even signals. On the official photograph shows the beach with sand, but do not believe this photos. In fact, the beach is full of large stones, which are very difficult to walk. On the last night (from 11 to 12 August) there was a loud party at the hotel, so that it was impossible to sleep. The party continued until 1 pm. I think that it is unacceptable when there are also other guests in the hotel. We had to get up at 7 am to go to the airport. Instead of sleeping, we had to dress up and at 12:30 we went down to find out when the party is over. We were told at 1 o'clock. At one music really stopped ...

    The room was clean. The lady at the reception was very nice and was the only person who spoke English. Thanks for showing us the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notification of a wedding event during stay.

    Nice sea view rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.1
    Wifi did not work in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in room. Not many staff understood English asked for cold milk for cereal and we got hot milk. Toaster did not work well. No instant coffee or tea in rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in Sept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed our stay in Sept. The staff was very friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. Beautiful view and the beach and pool were an added bonus. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.4
    Good position just across the road from the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff working I the hotel is totally hopeless. We arrived at 3:30pm our room was not ready, we waited for 15'. Nobody apologised or offered us a drink of water or anything during our wait. Every time we arrived or left the hotel the staff at the counter would not say 'hello' or 'welcome'

    Good position just across the road from the sea. Clean and reasonably priced for the time of the year

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    5.0
    After along discation we got a free late cheekout .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Most of The staff is not kind and doesn't speak english at all. One of them even shut on us few times, because we ask him to solve problems or fix things at the room. The beach and the pool are 10 min walk - You need to cross the train lines over a bridge

    After along discation we got a free late cheekout . The men at the pool was very nice

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Building is stylish and well fitted out, good sea views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit out of town. It could be a good hotel but the main focus appeared to be on the function room and not the hotel guests. A cordoned of section of the restaurant was the dining area for hotel guests and we had to take breakfast in the reception / bar area as the dining room was once again being prepared for a function.

    Building is stylish and well fitted out, good sea views albeit that the railway line ran between the hotel and beach. Wifi was free but reception in rooms a bit erratic.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful view of sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bed was firm.

    Beautiful view of sea. Friendly staff. Clean hotel.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: