Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zara 3 stars

Via Quattro Fontane 37, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#759 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1547 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was 2 single beds put together. One of the sockets was coming away from the wall. WiFi was poor and breakfast was ok if you like sweet things

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the night so loudly when gusts in other room use WC and so on. Some one called receptionist in the night by ring, I heard it my room....

    Clear, not far from railway, good personal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find better rooms in low quality hotels in Africa. The quality of the room was extremely poor. It is clear that the management count only on one-visit clients visiting Rome for tourism.

    Rook very small, old, damaged. No hot water the first morning, broken materass. I could not open the entry door completely because of lack of space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the room after house keeping, it was some cologne being sprayed. Smell of smoke sometimes Lift only went to the 3rd level and we stayed on the 4th so beware if you have big bags or struggle with stairs

    Location Supermarket downstairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is the worst. All the photos about this hotel are not true and they try to exaggerate. Even it is not easy to find the door of entrance. It is too old and it seems that it is inn not hotel. It is not clean. You can see a lot of hair and dust on the floor. There is not any slippers in the room. There is not any soundproof and you can hear all the conversations of other people in room beside your room very clearly and you cant sleep at night. One of the most disaster in this hotel is about bathroom. the bathroom is too small and toilet separate just by curtain and when you take shower you cant use toilet and also there is a very bad smell in bathroom. There isn't any blanket in the room. Although I asked for blanket, They gave me but it was like blanket for soldier. If you are looking for the good view from windows in your room, you have to forget your dream. Because you can just find balconies of other apartment full of trash. According to all these, the price is too high and it is not valuable to stay in this hotel.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old and not perfectly functioning. Needs serious update.

    Friendly staff and great location, right in the center of Rome, near a subway station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Bed hard as a rock - Mold in the shower - Aircondition didn't work (outside +30) - when asked answer was that manager has forbidden to use it . We need to sleep windows/doors open. No safe feeling. - Breakfast poorest i've ever seen. Few different cereals, some breads and cheese/jams. Juice machine was broken and coffee cold. We ate next mornings outside. Service was rude. - They will lock the hotel doors for night - what about if fire happens? - We needed to leave at 5 am. Some person waik up from somewhere (waited there some time and taxi waiting outside). Service person didn't speak english, tried to invoice us more than 100€ more than booked - noticed it was wrong room. still not sure if he took price twice - need to wait credit card bill. Still doors locked - couldn't take bags ouside. Check out lasted more than 20 min...

    Location was excellent. Short walking distance from Centrum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of our room was not great. The sewer smell coming from the bathroom was unpleasant and when we asked the staff about it they tried to make adjustments but the odor persisted. Ohterwise we knew that the hotel was not a five star and nothing other than the bathroom was a problem.

    The Staff of the hotel were very gracious, very informative and friendly. They spoke very well in English and were helpful in making our stay very pleasant. The hotel's location makes it central to all the sites and we walked everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dirty, room was awful dust everywhere , wires hanging from walls, shower broken, hole in bath, damp on ceiling, fridge unusable broken seal, broken floor tile, broken drawers in wardrobe. Not a 3 star hotel . Students no consideration for other hotel guests.

    Clean sheets and clean towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Central location, close to main attractions and public transport. Our room was very clean, big and quiet. We loved the high ceilings. We chose this hotel because of its location and low room price, but it really exceeded our expectations. We had a small situation with the bathroom sink- it was clogged or something, as water will not go down as quickly as it should. We didn't complain about it, as it was not a big deal. We were glad to see that it got fixed the next day, which was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I studied hotel by foto. Was pleasantly surprised: dear furniture , breakfast with fruits... But really: those furniture is not for use - it,s very old. Very poor breakfast - no fruits, meal; very impoverished rooms with spiderweb on the ceiling. No cleaning, no safe, no bar, no aircondition, no heating, no replacement toiletry. I booked rooms 17 sq m, received 13. 30 minutes l spend to replace rooms. Real tourist trap.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room had a very strong smell that we couldn't get to go away, gave me a headache and hard to sleep. Shower ran out of hot water quickly. Bag storage seemed insecure and overall quality of hotel was shabby.

    Great location, easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little basic, particularly the bathroom. However, we only paid €45 per night, so it was about what I expected.

    Brilliant location and friendly staff. Could not be better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was never cleaned (bed not made, towels not changed, toilet paper etc) so we had to go down to reception every morning to get towels for showers. Heating / air conditioning was broken so you only got one heat setting couldn’t turn it to cold

    Good location, staff were friendly and accommodating, good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I little outdated decor in some of the small room that's it

    Proximity to the termini train station and the coliseum and roman forum and local shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle in the room City tax very hi, 4 euro per night for person, but it isn't this hotel policy but something general for Roma.

    Above the expectations. Good price, location, staff, the room was cleaned everday, the breakfast was simple and good enough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't like the photos not nice at all and very old..but at least they were clean...

    The staff was absolutely nice and willing to help.. with the google translate everything was easier..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    I go a lot to Room but in hotel Zara iv never been it was really good from everything I recomanded and if I go again I choose the same hotel Zara

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs weren't polite and helpful. Breakfast wasn't real breakfast; was more like evening tea. We stayed there 6 nights but nobody clean the toilet which was not clean at the first place. We were 2 people but cleaners put just one shampoo at our shower. Reception lady has an attitude problem.

    Location was fine. Close to Termini central station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was tipical for Italians - just coffee and some very very sweet cakes.

    Hotel is located close to all Rome attractions. You don't even need to use public transportation, you can just walk everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where begin... the woman who make our check in was disrespectful and spoke with us like she was talking with animals ... arrogant and 0 education. At night I could sleep with the sound of some machine in the corridor, I went down to inform and ask if something could be done ... the came upstairs angry because I disturb him and did absolutely nothing . The receptionist in the morning was nice and When i tell all this experience and he told me that he will inform the manager . Hope i really did it.

    The localization was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit cold in room, I guess the heating should work, especially during December.

    The service was very nice and the breakfasts exceptionally sweet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were strange, clogged up and went cold. The shower head is halfway down your body so you can’t have a proper shower unfortunately.

    Close to Trevi Fountain and some shopping. Comfortable and access to heating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a disaster. Shower hose was leaking water everywhere, shower drain was kind of clogged, sink handle was broken. The wardrobe had a terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE smell inside. Carpet was old.

    Central location, close to metro. Supermarket right under Nice staff Quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is poor - only sweet pastries and cakes. Nothing fresh whatsoever, no eggs, no meat, no dairy, no fruit or vegetables.

    Location is very good, the hotel is rather close to the city center, we could actually walk everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and scruffy. Bathroom was not good. Shower was hopeless and the bathroom door was damaged from the damp and mould. When you showered everything got wet as it was so small. Banged head on the shelf above the bed numerous times as too low. Would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend to anyone. Fridge was full of frost so did not work properly.

    Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk called us an unlicensed taxi to the airport who tried to charge us €50 instead of the city taxi which was €30, felt very unsafe and ended our trip on a sour note.

    For such a budget hotel it was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room does not correspond the photo on the site, it's very small and crude. staff has a bad attitude. very rude

    the room does not correspond the photo on the site, it's very small, and crude

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't like breakfast selection (too much sweets) or the coffee as it was from machine. However there is a bar just around the corner, that if you NEED to have coffee first thing in the morning, thats the place to go :)

    Hotel is walking distance from Termini. Location is excelent with metro and buses about 2 blocks radius. Or you can walk 15 minutes to the Colloseum or to the Trevi Fauntain. Staff was uber friendly and very helpful, and lot of fun. Room was comfortable and clean. Enough space and reasonable for the cost of the room. We were very happy with our stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the entrance, the staff attitude was poor, in special one of the lady staff. Because the room which I book was smelling of cigarette, I ask to change it, and I appreciate to receive another one.The room size was good, but the facilities extremely poor: bathroom, with shower curtain, of mould smell, toilet flush very low, into the room you will find only one power socket, and shocking was to see small flies all over the room, even if the window was closed.

    I really enjoyed exploring the area, very close to public transport, 15-20min walk to Piazza Venezia and about 10min for Termini Central Station. On the same road, I was happy to find Pam supermarket with reasonable prices. This hotel has big potential, if will be renovated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfest could use some improvement with some hot food added to it, the room wasn't bad but if you have allergies to dust be warned, it was very complicated to spend the night with that amount of dust, I had to take pills just so I could sleep, For the price I wasn't expecting much else.

    I thought everyone working in the hotel were very nice and the location is very good and for the price I wasn't expecting much else.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advertising picture, which looks spacious and light, was not reflective of my room.

    Location. Close to Termini and within a long walk to the Vatican. I like walking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi signal, TV signal (able to catch only one canal), noise from other rooms (you can hear toilet from nearby rooms), insufficient broken sockets. Large hole in the middle of bed, unconfortable sleep.

    Perfect location, a lot of siteseeings near, very kind and nice staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated, but maybe because it very old and dated it make me feel staying in authentic Italian place:)

    Very helpful and friendly stuff, easy and quick check in and check out, very good location. Room was cleaned every day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no air condition in the room, and the air in the room was pretty bad. The room wasn't clean when we came. There were not so many choices when it came to breakfast.

    The staff were very kind and the hotel lays close to almost everything. Not more than a 10 minute walk from Termini (Train station). There was a lift that makes it easier if you have a lot of luggage with you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uninviting, had a weird smell and the shower was even worst. I’m not a picky person but the room was unpleasant even though I only looked for a place to sleep.

    The location was great, very close to the train station and to a lot of attractions. There was a supermarket right next to the hotel and the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room is very worn out; the bottom of the bathroom door is complete rotten. The sink drain has no cover, and the one on the floor was broken. It's not comfortable to see directly into these pipes :/ Breakfast options are very limited.

    About 10 minutes walking distance from Roma termini, very center!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hotel is very old and feels a bit like forgone glory. Room furniture is also old and could use a revamp. Especially the bathroom was small, the shower was broken and lacked some care.

    Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Location is pretty good and they gave me a very good deal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I stayed in was terribly drab and felt very average to stay in. The air conditioning did not work and the lighting was terrible, I had to keep all of the curtains completely tied out of the way and still it was difficult to get natural light and the room lighting was very poor. Sadly there was a power point which would not stay attached to the wall, so charging my appliances was inconvenient. The top sheet had a cut in it and should have been taken out of use.

    Staff were great, location was great, I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't use this due to very particular dietary requirements and the timeline restriction of 7.30-9.30am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was quite sparse in facilities. Small in size.

    The location of this place is amazing. Located in the heart of Rome, walking distance to Colloseum and all the major happening spots.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part of my stay was the shower size . I’m 6,3 200lb and I can’t banging my head on the shower head and the it had a tendency of of overflowing .

    Hotel has the ability to give you quiet room if desired . The hotel has excellent WiFi in every part of the hotel . Breakfast has all the basic stuff coffee , orange juice , pineapple juice and sweet pastries . The location is excellent you have access to all historical sites by bus or train and if your in good shape you can walk around town . Fixed rate to the airport FCO IS 48$ euro from hotel Zara .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are super steep and made me feel unfit haha

    The bed was HUGE as was the room, the temperature was comfortable and there was adequate lighting. The hotel is so authentic and Italian and doesn't oversell itself. It is a 3 star hotel in the heart of town, very cosy and the staff are amazing. The reviews I read on tripadvisor and booking.com almost put me off but I'm glad I stayed here, would definitely recommend to others and stay here again. Great value for money and so pretty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be better to indicate that the breakfast is just sweets, croissants for those who take the room with breakfast - not worse it. Sound insulation pretty low, enjoyed a lot my neighbour's conversation with his mother :)

    Good coffee in the breakfast room. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel in need of some TLC. Checked out at 11 am, which was fine, but a little disappointed that staff said we couldn't sit in the lounge before getting the bus to the airport.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old, but clean. Everything is satisfactory, but it needs a little new gloss by painting, bathroom renovating and changing of furniture.

    Location is excellent - close to airport shuttle/Termini, and close to all atractions (wallking distance). Polite staff, good wi-fi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very very bad. No meat, no vegetables, no fruits. Only some suits and orange juice made with lots of preservatives. Nothing to eat. This is not normal for a hotel that has such big prices. People from entire world are coming here and they should have a good breakfast with lots of choises.

    At about 15 minutes walk from the Fonta di Trevi Very good wifi Very clean - they have made the bed and brought us towels everyday. The hotel personal was friendly. A/C

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms need renovations, but were clean. Very outdated. Breakfast also was limited to cold continental breakfast, no fruits were available. The hotel looks better on the pictures you have. We did not have a balcony as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is extremely weak during the day, a/c worked, but was far from robust. Most of the hotel is quite nice, carpets at entry otoh have seen lots of traffic.

    If you're frugal, as I am, this offers excellent value for money if you're just looking for a place to crash as you see Rome. 98% of the hotel feels really nice, spacious & clean rooms, friendly staff. If you're planning a working visit, perhaps good to think carefully.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so dirty! Shower head was disgusting, it was moldy walls in the shower. worst thing was this disgusting dirty shower and i know its was not just in our room, my friens was traveling together with us and staying at the same hotel and their room was also dirty. It was very disappointing because its 3 stars hotel after all... but we rate it like 1 srat max. Its good location if you need train stasion. Thats why we took this hotel. Other pluses it doesing have. Pictures looks very nice but in reality its way wors. Breakfast is always the same and does not included any meat, ham egs or anything warm. Its just buns and pyes.

    It was close to termini stasion. Nice style in the lobby and hallways.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel like a 3 stars hotel, poor facilities like old noisy AC, old style hair dryer , cold breakfast with little variety- also pictures of the hotel on booking didn't quite feel the same as the reality

    Located in a nice area , staff were flexible during check in and check out , also helpful , also a safe place to stay in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit poor - it's mostly sweet, but if you stick with croissants and butter it's alright. Coffee could be better also.

    Location is good, but be aware if you are going from Piazza di Spagnia to it, its a bit uphill. From Piazza Venezia it's okay...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel definitely needs renovation. It is clean but old - with ancient furniture and bathroom equipment. And the hair dryer in my room was from 70-s or 80-s.

    Clean hotel with good location. Friendly staff. Free Wifi. Air condition.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was tiny, shower curtain smelled of mildew.

    Bedroom itself was really spacious. Interesting antique-esque furnishings. Walking distance to train station, Trevi fountain, spanish steps, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the hotel is very old, walls in the rooms are dirty, and the tiles in the bathroom were broken.

    Very good location, walking distance from Termini station, Berberini metro and very clise to the Colosseum.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room had little to do with the uploaded pictures, the minibar was barely cooling and there was a problem with the wifi which they could only solve next day.

    Definitely the location. We only needed to take the metro once to the Vatican, but that was a short journey as well. In the room there was cleanliness, the wifi worked just fine and there is a supermarket just next door. I would recommend this acommodation if you're planning a few days trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, walking distance to most attractions and termini train station. Arrived at mid day so had to wait until 2 till check in but was able to leave luggage in reception area. I also had to check out very early, before breakfast but the nice staff made me coffee and offered me breakfast before it was open. Staff were helpful and hotel was clean :)!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms are in horrible shape, very old small shower full of rust. Stayed more than one night and housekeepers never replace the soap, shampoo or toilet paper. Room is dark and the bed not very comfy. There is only one pillow.

    Nice Location, close to all the "must see" in the city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a hoax. I was many times in Europe. I know what a 3 star hotel is. This hotel I put 1 star. Photo on the booking other. There is no photo of standard rooms. Choose a standard room, you look at the photo, but the room is ultimately different. The shower is broken in half. It can not be called a shower. Curtain and hole in the floor. It's not 3 stars! The air conditioner works badly, the room is hot. The refrigerator does not work. For breakfast only cereals, bread and butter. Is there no ham and cheese in Italy? Forget about a hot breakfast, scrambled eggs and cereal. When I complained that I do not work in my room, then I was offered two rooms to choose from, but they were even worse. I'm not choosy in housing, but this time I was amazed. How can people be so deceived. I do not advise anyone this hotel. But I love Rome no matter what!)

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wonman was very unfriendly when I arrived. The breakfast was very poor and everything was dry, I did not eat anything there because the quality was very bad. The room was very dark and the bathroom was very old-fashioned.

    The hotel was in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was all open (no dividing) , so after taking a shower everything would be wet.

    Nice hotel, very close to the big attractions (10 min walking to Trevis fountain, 15-20 min to Coliseum) and to many restaurants. The central train station is also near, about 15 min walking. The room was nice, similar to the pictures but many years added to it. Big and comfortable bed. The breakfast was ok, only bread and different types of cakes (not any fruit). Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the hotel room was extremely loud and kept us up at night, meaning we either had to turn it off and roast or deal with the noise all night. The price of this hotel was great for its location, so I didn't expect to be as nice as it was!

    The location of this hotel was great, central to explore all the min sites. It is so close to the Colosseum, Trevi fountain and also a very short walk to the central train station. A free breakfast is also provided, the croissants here were the best I've ever tasted!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was ill & the woman at the desk ( unfortunately l have forgotten her name) was extraordinarily kind. The location was superb. The room was comfortable. Generos breakfast. I stayed 5 days. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was good except for check-out: the staff person tried to made me pay for my room again!!! I had booked it thru booking.com. She said that booking.com did not deliver payment to the Hotel and that I would be required to pay on check-out. I refused and said I had a receipt (which I'd given to the desk clerk the at check-in-- and which this check-out this woman had in her hands). I didn't enjoy this exchange and don't see how booking.com can have this happen. The breakfast pastries looked amazing, but since I don't eat refined sugar I could not eat it. I was disappointed and surprised that they had no fresh fruit whatsoever for breakfast service. The coffee was out of a machine, this also surprised me greatly. The common area carpets was dirty, dirty, dirty. They should do a vacuuming once in awhile.

    I liked the room and also the retro feel of the place. This is not a "modern" hotel, but there is something charming about that fact. Location was great. And other than the check-out woman, the staff was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photographs on the hotel's website were very misleading. The hotel is extremely 'dated' and would benefit from a complete refurbishment. Although breakfast is included it was mainly cakes, pastries, bread rolls and cheap cereals. However these were plentiful. The fruit juice was syrup mix but the coffee was fine. It would have made a big difference to have fresh fruit and juice. Hair dryer worked but was difficult to use. This hotel is easy to get to from the Termini and great for those on a budget who are only interested in seeing the sites. Not quite ambient enough for a romantic weekend or special treat I'm afraid.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were able to leave our bags at the hotel on the last day as we had a late flight. We were able to use the lounge to rest before we set off to the airport. The cleaning staff were very good; everywhere was kept very clean (except for the stair carpet in the entrance). The location was excellent for seeing all the main historic sites. No public transport is needed if you are generally fit and have good walking shoes. Beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful enough with plenty of hot water. The hotel is easy to get to on foot from the Termini.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very dated and basic, there was no safe in the room though stated on the website. The room I was in had such poor lighting, even with the lights turned on it was still dark. Coffee and tea facilities would be ideal, and not just for the morning. As I stayed a week and with the weather at 30 degrees plus, a change of bedsheets at least once during my stay would've been nice.

    It's in a prime location, which makes it accessible and ideal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't working properly, the bathroom get flooded The bed is ok, you can't sit on it because of the configuration The attendance was lazy

    It was a very cheap place to stay for a few nights

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a disaster. The toilet and shower was separated by a shower curtain.The light switch for the bathroom was in the bathroom. From a buildong regulation /safety point of view i dont think this is allowed.

    breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower had a curtain rather than a door. Had to get out of bed to turn the light off - no switch within reach.

    Pleasant comfortable stay. Wi-fi worked well. Quiet room away from street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and is old an so the interior design. Rooms are clean as well as daily room arrangment was perfect. Breakfast was a continental baeakfast as is normaly in italy, location is good. for persons how want to vist Rome and a place sleep at night - this is the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is terrible, Shower is too small, no safety box. خواردنی بەیانی هیچ نییە، نە هێلکە نە ماست نە پەنیر هەندێک بسکیت وکێک و شەربەتە بە تەنها

    Hotel location is perfect within walking distance to many attraction places, many shops , Bars, Rests are around, the size of the room is adequate but not well organized for example the shower is too small while there is enough space inside the bath , staff is supportive especially ANNA, Metro station is less than 4 minutes from the Hotel, just next to the hotel there is a supermarket which you can find everything with a reasonable price. بەگشتی هۆتێلێکی گونجاوە ، شوێنەکەی زۆر باشە ،کەمێک گرانە لەچاو خۆیدا ، حەمام بچوکە بەڵام ناوجەرگەی بازاڕە.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom needs to be renovated,the poore water pressure. AC system need to be improved .

    Excellent location,close to the Roma Termini as well to all local attractions like Trevi fountain and Piazza di Spagna. The hotel was renovated but I am guessing some room may be still under the process of renovation.I was lucky to get the room with a private terrace(it would be good to have to outdoor furniture there).Very friendly staff...it was really the jackpot !!I was very happy to stay there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no AC, no iron, and was very outdated. The view outside the window was of construction. We didn't have great expectations but were mostly disappointed by the lack of control over room temperature. We got back pretty late from going out, so I'm sure the hotel could have fixed this or put us in a different room if we had mentioned the problem however.

    The hotel was nothing special, we were just trying to make a pit stop close to Roma Termini so we could make our flight the next day. The area wasn't very touristic so no crowds and it was a decent walking location to many places, particularly the Colosseum area which we got to in 20 minutes. The hotel allowed us to keep our luggage there after check-out and the front-desk staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should not be rated 3 star. The room was dark and dingy and the lighting was poor. We had to ask for missing light bulbs to be fitted, and refrained from asking for broken fittings to be fixed, as the staff appeared exasperated. We had to ask for toilet paper and soap. The carpet on the stairs was filthy and remained so for the duration of our stay. Holes in the bathroom door. We were happy to eat Italian-style but the breakfast quality was poor. Shower was tiny and curtain kept sticking to your body. Information requested from staff was partial and not always correct. Maximum 2 star in our view.

    The location was great, room size was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV had only a few local channels. Could have a few international selections. Bathroom supplies were a bit small (one packet of shower/shampoo). The shower curtain wasn't up to the task of keeping the water in. More electrical outlets needed. Fortunately, I brought my own multi-plug. No safe in the room. What to do about one's valuables?

    The room was well laid out. The PRIVATE bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was adequate Italian (high sugar) with free choice of coffee from the machine. They were not pushing people out on the dot of breakfast ending. The wifi worked as it should. No problems! Near enough to a bus stop for reaching the Metro. Walking distance to le quattro fontane, Benini’s church, and Palazzo Barberini. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast hours were too short. We were not attend to get breakfast due to have to leave early for our flight.

    The location of the hotel was great! .4 walking distance to the train station, Trevi Fountain and very close to the main major attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Zara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: