Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zima 3 stars

Winkelweg 83, 39012 Merano, Italy

#6 of 62 hotels in Merano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 461 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with supurb service and atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    It has been our 4th time in Merano and we always stayed at Zima. You can not beat the charm of the traditional bed and breakfast, with the owner making it feel so welcoming and so much like home away from home. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly owner of the hotel, super clean rooms, and delicious breakfast. Highly recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Very friendly owner of the hotel who warmly welcomed us. Very nice terrace were you can have the delicious and good breakfast. Rooms are super clean and we also had a nice balcony. 10min walk to city center and around 7-10min to Schloss Trautmansdorf. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Meran.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Hospitality superb in all respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Christina the owner was charming and enormously helpful. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable with lovely garden views. Very nice breakfast. Good selection. Tim and Sunni Bennett

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location with spacious, clean rooms and a perfect host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christina’s hotel is beautifully located in a leafy location not far from the castle gardens and centre of town. The hotel rooms are spacious and very clean and have their own balcony. Christina’s home cooked buffet breakfast was delicious and she was a perfect host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel with a beautiful garden, a cosy room, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely hotel with a beautiful garden, a cosy room, very friendly staff, great breakfast. In Merano you can enjoy a very nice botanical garden or go hiking into the mountains. I wish we could stay there longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely memories of Hotel Zima and would recommend to others. I hope to be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Zima was a bit of a walk from the town. But it was a picturesque path and easy. Need a taxi from the station.

    Hotel Zima was wonderful and I wish I could have stayed longer. The friendly service and help from staff was appreciated and the breakfast was a feast of fabulous food. The views from the room were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    More parking lots would be fine but I understand it's the limitation given by the location.

    Great host, great breakfast (home cakes, must try). Silent location. There is a bus stop to city center nearby (we haven't tried).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have had Tea/Coffee facilities in the room, although having driven across Italy, and most of Europe since staying, this seems to be a thing in European hotels.

    Very friendly owner, excellent location and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staffs are sooooo nice and helpful, they gave me a birthday surprise! The breakfast is delicious. I like those croissant. Good location, there is a bus station outside the hotel, about 10 minutes to the train station. And 10 minutes walk to the Trauttmansdorff garten.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful city and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The building is beautiful, the bedroom is very confortable, the owners are very kinds and warm, the breakfast is excellent and the neighborhood is charming and with delicious flowers smell. We regrets to leave this property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    A peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk to the old town was slightly longer than I thought. But otherwise, it was a very pleasant and romantic stroll.

    The building quality is very high and the owning family is very dedicated to serve the guests, without being in-your-face. By far, it is one of the top properties we've stayed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Views, tranquility, relaxation, hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed a night, but hope to come back for a longer stay in the relaxing atmosphere of Zima Hotel and Merano.

    Charming hotel with comfortable rooms with the mountain views, Excellent breakfast - scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cheeses, various meats, juices, fruits, and delicious sweet pastry. Cristina, the owner, is a very charming lady, attending to the needs of her guests. The location is a bit away from the center, but very close to the Castle and the gardens. And it is also a very quiet location, you sleep like a child, awaken in the morning by the birds singing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely shaded location in quiet part of Merano
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom of my single room was very cramped.

    The hotel is located in a quiet and beautifully shaded part of Merano. There are lots of trees and plants which give the hotel it's particular charm. The hostess is a very helpful and friendly person and the breakfast was extremely good with a wide variety of savoury and sweet offerings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly host, nothing is too much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly host, nothing is too much!! WOW

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    friendly, quiet but ventral and within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly, quiet but ventral and within walking distance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean, comfortable and good breakfast. Host was very helpful Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The friendliness and the personal approach of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The friendliness and the personal approach of the staff. It was a pleasure to stay at the Zima !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Everything, and especially the helpfulness of the owners !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Everything, and especially the helpfulness of the owners !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, tremendous breakfast, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, old fashioned

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    The pool and the garden are really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The pool and the garden are really nice. You can also have breakfast in the balcony with excellent view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Short Stay in Merano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast food and outside terraced area were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was EXCELLENT and the surroundings were exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Great spot in leafy neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hostess, accommodating did our laundry which we needed the next day as we were cycling point to point.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Everything was excellent. The Hosts were extremly friendly und very obliging. Breakfast was outstanding. 100 % recommendable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet area; nice little pool and garden area; clean rooms and dining area; great breakfast; good restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Great welcome in leafy surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very welcoming and helpful proprietor. Hotel well placed to access town on foot and also fabulous botanical garden nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christina and Elisabetta were absolutely wonderful hosts. The breakfast is the best ever! Something for every palate - and always homemade sweets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great stay in beautiful Merano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet in the rooms was not working so we had to go the sitting room for WiFi

    Breakfast was excellent and staff was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.2
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location. Very friendly staff. Incredible breakfast. Only a short walk from city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    The breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is great The staff is very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel with very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with very friendly owner. Close to trauttmandorf gardens.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Extremely nice owners, present at all times, giving all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely nice owners, present at all times, giving all the advice you require. Extraordinary breakfast buffet, with plenty of homemade delicacies.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good breakfast and very nice personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast and very nice personnel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    My room -as always- was very quiet and comfortable, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room -as always- was very quiet and comfortable, the breakfast buffet had ample choices as well as delicious home-made cakes, and the host was/is always friendly, accommodating, and fun to talk with.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Our host was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything. Just beware that hotel is set back from the road, so look out for small sign to point up up a side street.

    Our host was great; friendly and very efficient. The hotel was fresh and clean, set in a good area of the town and with mature gardens and pool. Location was only 15mins walk from old twon centre of Meran / Merano Breakfast had plenty of choice. A great visit.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    The location is beautiful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi connection is rather poor and unstable.

    The location is beautiful and quiet. The hotel is very comfortable and the atmosphere is friendly and familiar

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Polite and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from most rooms isn't good, so insist on a room with a proper view. We didn't appreciate being told that we had a great room as we had a large balcony, when there was no view.

    Polite and friendly staff. The hotel is clean and well-maintained. A good experience.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    Small family run hotel in a very pleasant residential area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small family run hotel in a very pleasant residential area on the edge of Merano but with a decent bus service into town. The hotel host could not have been more helpful and informative and the outside pool was a great place to cool after the heat of the day. Merano itself was more interesting than I expected and a visit to the gardens at Trauttmansdorff Castle is well worth the time. We were touring the Dolomites and Austrian Tyrol and felt that whilst all the hotels we used were good this was the best. Would gladly go back again.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The staff was very friendly and nice.
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very friendly and nice. The woman at the reception was able to answer questions about the city and how to get around by bus. The room was quiet and clean and the bed was very comfortable. I also liked the pool. I'm sure that I will come back again!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, very helpful innkeeper, nice view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent breakfast, very helpful innkeeper, nice view from balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Owner is amazing in going out of her way to make guests feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Owner is amazing in going out of her way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. Very clean facility, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    homemade breakfast is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    homemade breakfast is amazing The owners are lovely and helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Very pretty family owned hotel with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pretty family owned hotel with lovely views.The owners were very kind and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    The friendliness, helpfulness, calm, peaceful setting,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness, helpfulness, calm, peaceful setting, cleanliness, comfort and beautiful tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff, great breakfast and free secure parking for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, great breakfast and free secure parking for our motorcycles. Lovely town to visit.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable, good location, friendly staff, decent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable, good location, friendly staff, decent breakfast for USA

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: