Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charela Inn 4 stars

Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica

#17 of 48 hotels in Negril

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Small luxury resort right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, I can't think of anything I disliked related to the hotel. Plenty of drug dealers on the beach and street behind the hotel, but that applies to the whole area, and they accept a NO THANKS!

    Location, right on beach. Medium size facility, not to large. Friendly and attendant staff. Nicely furnitured room, super-clean! Restaurant had good variety of dishes. Really good entertainment twice a week. And tap water is filtered so well that you can drink it without any problem! If you like to stay at a beatifull beach with a bit of luxury and friendly ambience, this is the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    The restaurant staff were very friendly and courteous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were not helpful. There was no internet connection in the rooms. The amenities were basic and there was no tea or drinking water in the room and cleaning of the rooms were not validated to make sure that all rooms were cleaned.

    The restaurant staff were very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Our few day stay at Charela Inn was a Jamaica dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to the hotel late and greeted by a friendly staff . They had secured our transportation but at the last minute had to delay our pickup because that day’s excursion from Montego Bay was longer than we expected. They put us at ease right away with their “no problem” attitude. Everyone from the desk clerk to the bellhop to the waitress make us feel welcome even though it was 9:00 pm. The location on the beach is one of the most beautiful with plenty of shade under a grove of palm trees. The food was fantastic for both breakfast and dinner. Eggs were fresh and their French toast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed a relaxing stay at Charela Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is a little dated, but it is clean, the staff great, and location is wonderful! The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Reasonably priced and would definitely stay there again. Great beachfront property!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel on 7 mile beach. Pricy restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite expensive, and the restaurant was nothing special for the prices. The staff was not always that friendly and really EXPECT tips. 30 minute walk into town.

    Beautiful view from our balcony, right on 7 mile beach. Big comfy bed and AC.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Best spot on Seven Mile Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the "family rooms" upstairs, facing the courtyard area. The bedroom area was nice enough but the windowless open area where the bunk bed was placed was dark and not so nice. The bathroom was very old, dated. The sink was unusually high; low water pressure; there was a tiled, sharp cornered 1 inch step down into the bathroom so we all kept stubbing our toes on it on the way out. So soundproofing whatsoever. Not enough bath/beach towels for the number of occupants in the room. Housekeeping didn't come to our room on Day 2. We had breakfasts and lunch at the restaurant. Food was good, lunch portions were very generous. Service was very very slow, but no slower than the generally slow service we found everywhere we went to in Jamaica. We paid for laundry for clothes our child had an accident in. It came back later the same day "washed and ironed" unexpectedly, we were initially told 24hours, but the clothes were not clean.

    The beach area right behind the hotel was great. Lots of space, chairs, shade, passing vendors, and of course, the beautiful beach!! The sunset was amazing. Staff were friendly. Life guard kept a good eye on the safety of people in the water, shooed away unwanted solicitation of hotel guests on the beach and he also found buckets and spades our kids could play with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    See you next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed was hard. The door locks could be improved.

    Great location on the beach. Lots of shade and space (usually). Beautiful beach. Very nice room and pool. Great service staff. The music on Saturday and Thursday nights was really awesome. Not too loud. The bed was hard but that is usual in Negril I think. I would say this is a good hotel for older people but there were family's there too - If you want wild (we did not) go elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Stay At Charela Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property could use a little TLC and updating.

    Wonderful beach with palm trees for shade. Delightful staff, very polite and helpful. Fun entertainment on Thursday and Saturday evenings. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall a great place to stay, location is great and more importantly we feel very safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant is a bit pricey but food is very good. Had the breakfast plan and it got a little boring. Overall great place and will probably go back for 3 years in a row next December.Overall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    The food was phenomenal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bellhop was rude. Also, there were no numbers on the door so it was very difficult to determine which room was yours. I’ve never been to a hotel that didn’t have room numbers.

    The food was phenomenal!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service charges and taxes I could have done without.

    I loved my shower! I loved the location of the property and loved that the premises were always secured and safe. Everything in my room was in working order. The staff answered all of my questions and inquiries. The grounds and the entire property are well cared for. I’v seen Charela Inn on many visits to Negril and have always wanted to stay there I must say I made a good decision this time and will without a doubt make Charela Inn my choice again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    the staff at Charela is , as always , wonderful! Real people who do their best to make sure guest en
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bathroom was a bit rustic - some attention has t be paid to the shower stalls, sliding glass doors and placement next to the toilet! It was difficult to maneuver in and out of the tub.

    Charela is situated on the prettiest part of the Negril 7 mile stretch of beach. the eco-system there is healthy with schools of fish , an occasional Ray and water that is perfect for swimming , floating or just soaking up the sun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.5
    The property has potential, but needs investment to up lift standards.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quietness, professional service of receptionist...Nadine..Bell hop needs training,,,but does a fairly good job.

    Hair in bath tub... rate too expensive for type room... refrigerator could have included water...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant is convenient but the food and drinks are a bit overpriced. The hotel (particularly the bathrooms) could also use a bit of updating.

    The Charela is probably one of the best hotels in its price range and is a good alternative if you're not into large resorts. It has a bed and breakfast feel--not a lot of bells and whistles or amenities, but a nice quiet place to vacation. Our room was large with plenty of light, an ocean view and nice wood furnishings. We also had a patio that opened almost directly onto the beach. The hotel's beach area is also a good size--bigger than some of the neighboring areas. This is nice because there is room for guests to spread out. In addition, things were clean and the staff was pretty friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Charela Inn is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything for the price. Breach is great. Love this place.

    Charela Inn is great. I stay there anytime they have availability. Staff always nice and professional. Staff always remember me when i arrive and welcome me back. Hospitality is unbelievable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Most Excellent Hotel in Jamaica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to come home.

    We LOVED the hotel and the staff was wonderful. The room, view of the garden, service, food and beach were fantastic. We can not say enough about how magical and romantic our stay was. We met folks who have stayed there many times. Late May/early June is perfect weather and very light crowd. We will definitely go back to Charela Inn. Highly recommend it especially as compated to the fancy all onclusive resorts thst isolate you from the surroundings and friendly locals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Amazing .... loved every second. !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clamp down locally on pesky beach sellers

    Was extremely clean .food was really fresh and nice .no complaints at all. Beach was clean and lots of shady coconut trees. Very happy with our choice of accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    The Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bar. The alcohol is on high shelf & behind a large cooler. So the bartenders had to climb a stool & reach over. They need to make the alcohol accessible to the bartenders.

    The Beach!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    This is a very nice hotel to come to relax and enjoy and enjoy some quiet time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining here is very expensive, and felt that it could be more casual. Should have ice machines available More comfortable pillows would be nice

    Liked the very private patio, and nice and quiet. Beach area is the best, with lots of shade from the beautiful coconut palms. Nice room, awesome shower

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Will definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great customer service with the just right amount of friendliness. Excellent beach, very well maintained. Fancy French cuisine at the Vendome restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Awesome experience for the first time
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction

    The quiet area with clean and calm beaches

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Beach front property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in bathroom. No microwave.

    Beach front property. Extremely friendly staff.beach towels supplied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    This was our 4th stay, The best beach by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The internet connection was very poor.

    The hotel has probably the best beach front along the 7 miles. It is very quiet and professionally run.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Charming and quite hotel at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in front of the bed should be cleaned.

    Nice and charming location at the beach. Family-style Hotel. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little outdated, beds not great as far as comfort

    the staff are amazing, food great and priced very reasonable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Stay was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool isn't kids friendly .. 6ft deep

    The pool and beaches was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    A cool two days
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was spotty I was often required to login.

    clean and laid back. the staff was professional, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Charlea, a taste of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, staff, atmosphere, beach, and value for our money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Another Negril Treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The landscape Easy beach access The bed Spiral staircase

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over prized.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Capital of relax is the best description!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    wi fi not always available tiny ants in bathroom

    food delicious staff nice Love love palm trees for shade location great bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous Beach Caring Staff Intimate Botique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was excellent...located on a beautiful beach in Negril Jamacia. Grove of coconut trees, located on the beach, was fabulous...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.9
    The hotel's beachfront and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel's beachfront and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.3
    great location !!! my new home away from home!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lol desert menu

    location and beach great place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.4
    Beautiful shady coconut trees on beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old, decaying hotel. Spring break rip off at $295 double room. No wifi in room. Bad mosquitos problem. Restaurant over priced. Management ignore blatent 'ganja' smoking on patios even after numerous complaints.

    Beautiful shady coconut trees on beach. Ample beach chairs and good security. Staff pleasant and willing to please

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My stay was for only two days; on the last day I only got to run a quarter mile of the beach.

    The staff, the complimentary drinks, the canopy bed - always wanted one, the pool was perfect, the fresh air in my room (I now appreciate fresh air after getting a sore throat in a hotel in Orlando), and the in-room a/c.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Upon arrival at the hotel, I met the front desk clerk, Shanique, She greeted me with a smile and upgraded my room to a sea view. Minel took my bags to the room and I was pleasantly surprise to see a nice clean room. Monica , came every morning to clean the room often with nice smile and great conversation and even brought me a flower to brighten the day. Francella , at the restaurant was so kind and had a similar name with me. Nadine at the front desk often give me ideas of places to go. The hotel is at one of the best area of the Negril beach, and Steve & Reuben kept you well protected. I had a very enjoyable time at the Charela, and the staff are the best !!! They sure made up for the immigration, police and custom at the airport - which was one of the worse I've ever met !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    We liked everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is excellent and the dining room setting is more upscale than most eating establishments on the beach. Although the property is older it is impeccably kept, clean and neat at all times. We got married at this property and came back this time to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It did not disappoint, we will definitely come back again!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.8
    The restaurant is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    While not within the owners control, I found the vendors to be pushy and they seem a bit desperate. The staff will 'shoo' away any obnoxious ones on your behalf and generally keeps them off the hotel beach unless you want to buy from them, but it's still a bit un-nerving.

    The restaurant is excellent. The staff is very attentive and accomodating. The room has a beautiful view with air conditioning, fridge, comfy bed. The beach front is very clean, well maintained and expansive. The water is crystal clear. Love the shade of the palm trees on the beach if you've had enough sun.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.7
    food was good, staff was nice, beach is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms for the money were ok, stayed at other hotels on 7 mile beach, less expensive with much nicer rooms

    food was good, staff was nice, beach is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    All the positive reviews I read before booking were spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only negative thing was the wifi in my room was intermittent... But at the restaurant it worked perfectly...

    All the positive reviews I read before booking were spot on... You walk out right to the beach... Beautiful sunset every night... It's quiet and peaceful Away from the touristy places... The staff was nice friendly and helpful... When laying on the beach there were two guys who were always around to deter the locals from harassing us... It's not the fancy dancey hotel but again it's an inn... It's small it's quiet it's perfect...

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    7.5
    A quaint hotel in the best location on the 7 mile beach in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the beds to be too firm for our comfort. Our room did not include a phone or coffee pot. There was a small fridge however. Maid service was very adequate. The hotel could use a little upgrading.

    A quaint hotel in the best location on the 7 mile beach in Negril. The property's beach access and low shady palms make it the absolute perfect place to relax and enjoy a Carribean vacation. It is not as busy as the large resorts which appealed to my husband and I. We met many return guests who have been staying there for years. The staff were friendly and personable. The hotel is small enough that staff get to know you pretty well during your stay. It's not a luxury spa like resort if you're looking for that type of stay, but there are massage therapists on site for beachfront massages. The restaurant has a limited menu, but all but a few items we tried were prepared well and tasted wonderful. Try the French toast for breakfast and traditional Jamaican dishes for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location great

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Loved everything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything about it.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Location of the beach was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location of the beach was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.2
    Friendly efficient staff, beach location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly efficient staff, beach location.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Clean rooms. Restaurant on site. Great Staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    The view from our room was AWESOME.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our room was AWESOME. The beach area was clean, beautiful clear water. Enjoyed being out and about the property.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Great staff and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Security could be better... Hassling on the beach.

    Great staff and food!

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: