Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jakes Hotel

Calabash Bay Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica

#2 of 13 hotels in Treasure Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable , quiet, secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe one Bedroom Oceanfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its a long drive from the airport with challenging roads.

    We loved the peace and quiet, secluded location, sleepy fishing village, ocean view, food, great staff, very accommodating. Our room was feet from the ocean, the view was spectacular. We loved being lulled to sleep by crashing waves, we loved the outdoor shower with hot and cold water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful chilled retreat with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is beautiful and each cottage / suite is individually designed and a complete contrast to the big hotel resorts on the north side of the island. It is tastefully designed in line with traditional Jamaican colours and feels like more authentic. There was also lovely chilled live music on the friday night. The grounds of the hotel are lush and green with views of the sea and stunning sunset. The food at the hotel and at Jack Sprats is excellent and good value- had lovely lobster there. Above all the staff super attentative- thank you Jakes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    5th stay in Jake's - great as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would be great if Jake's could provide option breakfast included in the price of room/villa (like in Goldeneye)

    As always- amazing place, great food & drinks, awesome views, peace& quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous vacation spot !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed creeks and made scary noises everytime we turned.

    I had the best time at the Jake’s resort. It is colorful, with nice private cottages. Its a great place for a romatic vacation. There were no TVs in rooms, which created a romatic environment. I was overlooking the ocean from my windows. This resort is not like any other that I have been to. It was rustic, full of nature and has great ancient amenities. The privicy of the resort made it great, not to mention the great staff and bartenders. Almost, everything about the resort was awesome. My only exception was the bed!! It creeks and made funny noise everytime we turned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Overall thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions to Jakes VERY POOR INDEED. We had to ask the way repeatedly after Black River. A simple solution would be to advise guests to follow signs to 'Jack Sprat', as it is, by contrast, well signed.

    The food was delicious, the place lovely and the staff uniformly friendly, polite and gave excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Great food, beautiful views and the best bar in Jamaica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Some of the staff could be a little surly - and getting around by hotel transport was a bit pricey. Also, be warned - some of the ocean view rooms get a little noisy due to waves crashing on the rocks.

    Jakes is set in an amazing location, in a beautiful part of Jamaica filled with incredible people, food and sunsets. This is real Jamaica - away from the walled high-rise resorts and you really get an opportunity to explore.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Our favourite hotel of our Jamaica trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not miss a sandy beach at all, because swimming from the platform was excellent, the whole ocean-front area is wonderfully made to lie around. Recommend the oceanview room!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Bohemian Rhapsody
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very few things to complain about... The bathroom in the Starfish cottage is very small, as is the wardrobe/pantry. My wife doesn't like lizzards, so she would have preferred if the doors closed tight so they couldn't get in. (There was one lizzard in our room during our 6 day stay). At first, I was dissapointed that breakfast was not included, but after we discovered other local eateries, such as Smurf's, I realized that this was a good idea.

    Amazingly friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful setting. Very tasty Jamaican breakfast. Fruits and vegetables are fresh. Dinner also very good, and prices are moderate. Easy to meet and get to know the local people. Treasure beach is the perfect place for people who want to get away from the hussle and bustle of everyday life. It's not for party people or shoppers or those who hope to be served cheap fake luxury. It's real! The restaurant at Jake's is quiet and romantic with little tables under the trees facing the sea, with calabash lights hanging from the branches. The other restaurant, Jack Sprat's, is more of a place to meet other people. You order your food in the bar. There is always excellent reggae music playing. The Redstripe is ice cold and the home made ice cream is creamy. The outdoor showers facing the sea are to die for! Tamika's Pina Coladas and Rum Punches are mind blowingly good. Jake's is situated on the cliffs, and doesn't have a beach of it's own per se, but Frenchman's Reef is just a short walk away, with beautiful grey and black sand. Be aware that the sea on the Southern shore of Jamaica is fairly rough with a strong undertow. So you should never go further out than your feet can reach the bottom, and be very careful if you are swimming with kids. If you are looking for calm shallow waters - go to Negril. But then you will also have to deal with mega-tourism.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Will highly recommend Jake's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about the pool. Seemed cloudy with algae. Maybe it was ok for the type of pool?

    Phenomenal staff, beautiful interesting environment, great food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    We had an excellent stay in a beautiful room near the ocean. What a good vibe in the hotel, we had an amazing time! We definitely are going to come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    A little bit of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything. It was all good. The mosquitoes are plentiful but I was prepared for them...others did not fare so well.

    Everything. The location of the room by the sea, the privacy that each room has. I never felt the need to close my doors and windows even when I went to sleep. I felt like I was the only one there even with guests in the room right beside me. The rooms are designed so well that you don't notice anyone else. The staff are excellent, laid back, friendly and sincere. The grounds are very well maintained and blend perfectly with the natural surroundings. It was all good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Treasure Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While we were staying there was a large group staying at the nearby Jack Sprats hostel who were on some sort of acrobats' weekend away. It was a bit annoying as they spent most of the time hanging out at Jakes which I didn't mind too much but it got a bit much when they started doing handstands in the restaurant during dinner.

    Idyllic location with beautiful individual cottages overlooking the sea. Jakes is a really special place and has a fantastic vibe to it. We travelled around Jamaica and Jakes was one of our favourite places. Good quality food too and lovely atmosphere. Treasure Beach is a wonderful peaceful place and certainly one of the highlights of Jamaica. It is within easy access of Black River and the Pelican Bar too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Great quaint well looked after hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads still need fixing!! Bumpy ride! City Hotel prices on food plus us taxes makes it pricey so cheaper to eat out if you can but food is good

    Great location, off beaten track, less touristy and fantastic views, quirky, quaint, unique

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Most relaxing vacation to date!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I had to think of something-maybe more vegetarian friendly options for food.

    Super friendly staff. Beautiful location and rooms. Absolute relaxation. Not the place to go if you want a big resort vacation. It is perfect for those who want to go somewhere a little more quiet and experience local food and friendly conversations--and for those who want a beautiful backdrop for a peaceful trip. It felt like a secret garden with an ocean view. We also got a room upgrade which was amazing! Def splurge for an ocean view room-you will not regret it. We loved our stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Treat yourself you're worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu was a little limited at breakfast although all food is great. Would like to have more choice. Could do with a few more sun beds with shade otherwise fabulous.

    So glad I stayed at Jakes was travelling alone and found it such a great place to stay felt totally safe. Loved the ocean view from my room and such nice helpful staff. Close by lovely beaches. Nice food. Did yoga 3 times which was the best bit of the trip Empresses was faboulous. Best location for yoga on the Island.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, but overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no hot water every morning - outside shower with see through door, should be mentioned at booking, was not.... - over priced hotel

    - very friendly staff, wow! - good location, nice sunsets! - beautiful hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent spot to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved staying here. It's off the beaten bath and a perfect spot to relax and unwind for a few days. The scenery is beautiful and Jakes provided the tranquil sanctuary that I was looking for - I couldn't have asked for a better time!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    delightfully informal with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Their sister restaurant , Jack Sprat's, is adjacent and sometimes has loud music in the evenings. If you are a light sleeper ask for a cottage at the opposite end of the property.

    excellent food, very relaxed and informal atmosphere,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    The best spot in Jamaica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Architecture. Each room is uniquely built. Tastefully done inside and out. The whole compound is just beautiful. Healing and relaxing atmosphere. The last remaining place of what was Jamaica for sure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    great beach, comfortable rooms, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the room is a little pricey, but we felt it was worth it. The grounds are beautiful, great beach, good food.

    The bed was very comfortable; the room was nicely done, attractive with many convenient amenities including little items of comfort: an umbrella, a laundry bag, and a little fridge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Simply amazing... Will recommend this hotel to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is absolutely nothing about this hotel that is not to like, only thing I was going to put here was that there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms but they were actually working on it while I stayed there, so this is being fixed soon :)

    Amazing hotel nestled in the beautiful coast of treasure beach, located in the south coast of Jamaica... Hotel is beautiful and the staff is super amazing, since it is a small property you will always see staff members going around and they are always smiling back and you and ready to help if you need it, just feels like home.. Restaurant food is amazingly good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay at Jake’s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay at Jake’s. Quiet and Relaxed. Food was the Best I had in Jamaica

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, food, ambiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The prices for extra meals and wine were very high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prices for extra meals and wine were very high

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    This is a refreshing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room above.

    Great staff, and location. Cleverly planned environment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Most relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    The antidote to the big beach, big pool, big fence Caribbean hotel. True community tourism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, interesting mix of guests and a great vibe. Authentic Jamaica

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacklustre + unprofessional service in the restaurant. Yoga is overpriced - $20 an hour even for guests.

    Stunning location + accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A beautiful place to stay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful place to stay for a few days

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Would definitely return to Jake's!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on humid bathroom - no windows to open.

    The secluded location The friendly staff The salt pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Unique boutique hotel away from the busy tourist hotspots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique boutique hotel away from the busy tourist hotspots. A perfect, beautiful and very lovely place!!! We loved it and will come back :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The location was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was delightful. A perfect place to take a much needed place. The traditional Jamaica food was very healthy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful scenic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful scenic views! Crystal clear water! Rustic charming decor! Great vibe! Loved it all!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Super chilled holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with very friendly staff. We were completely relaxes. The rooms were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom-GardenView
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Location, staff , food, environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe one Bedroom Oceanfront
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, staff , food, environment

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to get there. Very bad condition

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    3.3
    Terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service. Misleading pricing 10% service charge added before you even stay and for terrible service

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    This hotel is a true gem located in a place almost too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a true gem located in a place almost too beautiful to describe. It's not for everyone and difficult to reach but if you do get down there, you'll thank yourself. Awesome!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    This place is really special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the restaurant are a bit pricy.

    This place is really special! We lived in a small and cosy bungalow facing the sea, with bathroom, refrigerator, coffeemachine and a lovely outdoor shower at the terrace! Jakes has a very nice pool (salt water) close to the sea and there are also a very nice bar here! The restaurant serves really good breakfast, lunch and dinner! The staff is nice and helpfull! I also like that Jakes focuses on the enwiroment and the local community!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    It was very peaceful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had no negative experiences at the resort. The roads need some repairs on the way there and better signs to tell you where to turn to get to the hotel.

    It was very peaceful and beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food at Jakes as well as at Jack Sprat was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.1
    Quaint, rustic environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One waitress was discourteous and impolite. Food expensive and bland. Food not value for money. Pool is small and average and no beach access directly on property.

    Quaint, rustic environment. No cable. Location perfect getaway from city bustle

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow food service, they should offer some quick sandwiches at the bar, and start breakfast earlier; beaches around the hotel are easy to access but they are not very nice (it is difficult to swim because of the strong currents); yoga classes were not available every day

    Excellent breakfast; small private rocky beach and a small sea-salt swimming pool; hotel organised in small villas around the garden along the sea; nice big room decorated with local pieces of art plus big ensuite; spa available for guests; excellent cocktails and fruit shakes available at the bar; great location to see the sunset; possibility to arrange excursions and rent bicycles to go around Treasure Beach; nice location on the quiet side of the island; locals are friendly with tourists and there are some nice eating options nearby; helpful staff, they provided assistance before the trip with driving instructions

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    Stunning location, peaceful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food could have been bigger portions, More puddings!!

    Stunning location, peaceful !!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    Lovely vibe, friendly staff, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely vibe, friendly staff, great food.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    amazing place, a little corner of paradise.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.6
    The location, room and facilities are all perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It rained a little!

    The location, room and facilities are all perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.4
    No meals inculde in room charge and the meals was very very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No meals inculde in room charge and the meals was very very expensive. Dirty swimming pool and no acces to beach .

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    A very relaxing place to stay, beautiful location,no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very relaxing place to stay, beautiful location,no pressure to buy anything.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    The up grade we didn't expect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The up grade we didn't expect. Loved the room and pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    The property is gorgeous, rustic chic with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was expensive

    The property is gorgeous, rustic chic with lovely views

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: