Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silver Seas Hotel 2 stars

66 James Avenue, Ocho Rios, Jamaica

#15 of 21 hotels in Ocho Rios

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire building desperately in need of a massive face lift. Everything is old and out dated. No wifi in rooms only in lobby area and still not the best wifi connection also you will get eaten alive by mosquitos in the lobby just trying to connect to the WiFi. Then there is a male evening attendant or front desk personnel works from 3 to 11pm not very friendly for a host asking him a question pertaining to your stay is like pulling teeth I think he believes that having a stone face is being professional, so wrong. Working at a front desk you need to have a pleasing personality and let guests feel welcome. He adds to the dismay of the building.

    The view and the house keeping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds could be a little softer but that won't stop me from staying again. I've already reserved my room for September.

    I loved the location and my ocean room view. Everyone was very nice and the water was amazing. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything’s outdated and falling apart! It would be really hotel if they doing it up properly - really sad to see it! The sunbeds are falling apart!! Really uncomfortable!!

    The view was fab

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not worth my money. Never go by what u see when u book. And their was no wifi at the property when I travel again I will be in Montego Bay where the service is great and the experience is very awesome

    Got there late and they didn't have my reservation so I paid for one night.i asked if they excepted American Express he said yes but didn't. The room looked ok but their was blood on the curtains I didn't notice till the morning and on the sheets. And it wasn't the room I booked. The way I looked at the hotel when I booked it didn't look like the one I was in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath water backing, up and the door inches coming off not good, in need refurbished , and the television is out dated too old. The bed make alot of noise, too old.

    The beach frunt nice, the pool was ok too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this is one off my favorite spot in Jamaica it really need some attention everything is so old and broken down so disappointed to see the place if improve I will be back if not cant stay there again good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor is wooden floor, the mattress had a board inderneath it to hold it more firm and the price is way over the standard of the hotel

    I liked the view that i got of the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no overhead lightning in the room. There only one lamp. No fridge in the room, no room service cause no telephone in the room.

    The location was great. The staff were friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were old and uncomfortable as we could feel the wires from the mattress and they were also very noisy. The board floor was also very noisy and there was no remote for the ancient television. This hotel needs renovation

    The best part about this location is the balcony which over looks the sea and the pleasant staff. It was also very clean and at a very central location. The rooms are also very spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place it looked run down and more of a motel than and hotel. I was very disappointed. The pictures of the place on the cite was nothing to what we got.the room was ok and the view but the place was a turn off

    You posted breakfast included but that was not so

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need a good deep clean and a coat of paint would bring back to top condition nothing to put you off though.

    the setting for breakfast is lovely overlooking the sea and no restriction on time for breakfast. The restaurant very nice and the staff at restaurant really friendly and helpful. The rooms very large nice wicker furniture I like staying upstairs first floor so in morning you can open the balcony doors and feel sea breeze and hear the waves. Good value for the money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was overcharged, so be careful (possibly because I was English, or 'foreign' as they say) There was no water some days to wash or even flush the toilet; no iron, fridge or hangers as basics within our room.. there could be an interior revamp to possibly make better use of the great amount of space in the room.. there should also be wifi that goes to the room rather than only being able to use it in the lobby with no privacy if you wanted to make a call for example.. I was mislead also as there isn't much aid for external activities as I thought there would be, only leaflets at the front desk-

    The view of the sea from the balcony was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low key environment and excellent approximation to the ocean. Great views. I love the jungle-like grounds. The breakfast was delicious, excellent Wi-fi connection. Great swimming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at reception during the night we were greeted by a very unhelpful and rude man on the reception desk, who insisted that we had to pay in full by card or US dollars and not Jamaican dollars and seemingly would have not permitted us to stay if we did not comply. I was very angry, frustrated and confused as we had witnessed other visitors paying in Jamaican dollars a few days after they had checked in..... And this was further clarified by another more pleasant female staff member when we checked out.......not good!!!!! First night in the room a tile was broken on the floor leaving a large hole with a sharp edge right at the side of the bed, however after informing the staff we were moved to another room the following day. The room was large and spacious with 2 double beds but they were very uncomfortable with springs poking through the mattress. Internet access in the bedroom would have been more accommodating, instead of intermittent use in the lobby area. The hotel staff generally were pleasant and helpful, the hotel needs some modernisation and refurbishment but is ok for somewhere to bed down.

    Liked the view from the room, loved warm powerful shower. The cleaner was lovely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything No hot water, we asked to be moved to another room or it to be fixed. Was rudely told we had to deal with it or give back the keys and leave the hotel at 2am One of the worst experiences of my life

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could even make breakfast/tea inclusive and other meals paid for.

    The staff was friendly and understanding. The building is easy to find. Planning to return soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much information on local trips and places to visit and WiFi only available in lobby area.

    View from the rooms is amazing and the staff were friendly funny and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    One member of staff and old lady I don't remember her name but she was lovely all other staff was unfriendly. The hotel is run down and dilapidated very uncomfortable and depressing, needs major repair. The best part was being able to look out on yhe ocean. But the hotel is located in a rundown ghetto.we left a day early, they did refund us for the day which was good. So disappointed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mold in the upper part of the toilet bowl needs to be cleaned. The scum around the pipe needs to be cleaned. The mattresses and box springs are old and dirty. Cleaner needs to knock on door before opening. Silver Seas Hotel has potential; some concrete paint would had to the aesthetics.

    The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The view from the balcony was great. The room was spacious. Air condition and fan available and worked perfectly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needs to change they are old and lumpy, I was literally sinking, I did not has a good sleep.the garden needs to weed so the flowers can grow and the general outdoors need beautification, I was scared when we went for breakfast because the roof looks like its caving in.

    Most of the staff was friendly, the food tasted great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no WiFi in the rooms, no remote for the TV or A/C, no kitchen facilities, not even a mini refrigerator to keep my diabetes medication.

    The ocean view from the balcony in the room was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach was in the room and also lizards. The TV was very small and old. Not even a remote.

    I liked the beach section although we couldn't swim cause too much fish. I also liked the pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only in lobby & some grounds

    Room & sea view balcony. Raised issue with hot water & this was fixed in a day, shower had very good water pressure & hot so was fab!!!! Very clean with daily change of bedding & towels & general cleaning. Great spots for yoga practice on the grounds. Perfect location in the centre of Ochio with good spots to eat & chill.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait a whole day for clean washrags and towels. Wifi didn't work.

    The facility was clean, but could do with some freshening up. (modernization). I love the large balcony, pool, beach and courteous staff. Lovely view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since i was there for 13 days i wish i had a fridge and microwave and somewhere to cook....

    I liked the smoothies at the bar and the housekeeper was very attentive and made sure i had fresh towels and clean room every day

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was only in the lobby but this allowed me conversation with other guests and staff! I was offered a variety of other services such as massage.

    I only stayed one night there as I was travelling from Montego Bay Airport to the Portland Parish to visit my nephew. This was a Jamaican resort on the water but it was more a breakwater than beach. The building, pool and room were good value. It was safe, friendly and real Jamaica. They cooked me a nice dinner and breakfast. A nice way to enter my first day in Jamaica

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a huge cockroach in our room on our last night! AC was very loud and no remote to adjust the temp, lighting in the room was poor, sheets were old and beds were uncomfortable. No wifi in the rooms.

    The room was big and had a terrace with a lovely view and the bathroom was clean. Taxi drivers that the hotel recommended were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds were too small and uncomfortable, toilet was leaking, and smelled weird towards last days of stay.

    the view from the lobby and from the lower level room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very big and our balcony was huge! Great view of the sea. I think the hotel needs a little more attention to detail, for example the area from the sea to the balconies could easily be made better from a tidy up, its very overgrown. The TVs are old. The staff are friendly. And the direct access to the beach and snorkelling is great. Very close to all shops and clubs. We did enjoy our stay, although it was only 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room or WiFi in the room

    Yes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room and old building

    Near sea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old place, need update. Bad bed.

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant needs improvement.

    It was very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated a d needs modernisation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, lack of food on menu, hotel was in a state of disrepair and needs updating.

    Friendly staff and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses.

    The room and balcony sizes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The View was beautiful

    The customer service was awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could use some updates

    My room keeper Francis was amazing. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that there was free wifi, and that I woke up to the sight of the sea. It was noise free, peaceful and a nice location to relax and debrief.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were plug sockets but the location of them weren’t very good

    The view of the sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs alot of updating. Staff not really professional

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people around there bugging people for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed Was worn out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and room size

    The view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition of the hotel room and hotel in general. It was also pricey for what you got, and no breakfast was in Clyde’s in the price.

    Location and view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. There wasn't anything to do nearby,

    The room was big and had air con and a balcony to sit and look out to sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water locked off. No iron in the room. No TV remote.

    Location, Cost

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing about it boring

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dirty there are undireable people that hang around did not feel safe bed linen needs upgragrdibg so does the property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room no television no phone unmannerly gentleman at check in limited breakfast offering no wifi in rooms

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor needs more modern tiles

    The location is petfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs to be taken care of. Beds are old, air conditioning units old.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing beside really nice view

    Amazing view from the rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    The view is exquisite and the view is amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is falling apart. Property no well-kept.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant closed too early

    The room was awesome i liked it very much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c was old and looked liked it wasn't cleaned in years

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view!!!! Nice & spacious rooms, polite staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great, helped me with late check out, stairs lead down to the beautiful sea

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building needs some scrub down, no beach access, plumbing in tub clogged.

    No breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were more than accomodating.Early morning room service coffee. Attented to our requsers promptly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not all that comfort

    The ocean view and the sea was great to swim in. Love the ocean. I enjoy my stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel. Dated, smelly, run down; a dump.

    The staff, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, unclean, bad location, poor facilities

    View from room lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was unprofessional and the place was outdated and run down

    The view from the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach, pool dirty, had to go to the lobby to access wifi

    How central the hotel was

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was not properly maintained. The AC didn't work, The sheets were worn out.

    The ocean view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in rooms. Staff was not aware of contracted price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not in room

    very humble. simple good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a/c was poor due to room so big hotel was run down

    view from balcony was the best in ocho rios

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: