Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Village Hotel 3 stars

54-56 Main Street , Ocho Rios, Jamaica

#14 of 21 hotels in Ocho Rios

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was a bit short on words in our welcome.

    It was appreciated by us, much time was not spent in hotels of this nature but id say i give it a pass grade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs major Renovation . The owner needs to put money back into the place. The place can be a gold mine if they fix it up.

    The Staff was very nice and pleasant. The air conditioning works very well. Cable Tv and Wifi works excellent. They have a Continental breakfast. Consist of 2 eggs,toast and a frankfooter. Coffee,tea, Juice. Also Security at during the evening and night. Small car lot secure at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in the rooms, the room and the sheets smelled bad. The AC and water was hard to gauge properly. The beds weren’t comfortable, they couldn’t find a remote for the TV in one of the rooms so we had to go without entertainment.

    The service for breakfast was ok, the first morning I had to wait a long time to be served but the second morning service was seamless. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms either too hot or cold. Toilet smells terrible. Walls so thin we could hear some one snoring which kept usecret awake. Very noisy occupants banging doors loudly. Shouting and singing at early hours of the morning. Next door restaurant playing music so loudly woke us up. Bed and pillows so hard came home with back ach The room was too small I felt sclaustrophobic. Arrived late at accommodation on first night to find no one at the receprion with no information that we were coming although we confirmed on two occasions.

    The food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not welcoming Had to carry all luggage up stairs Room floor and bathroom was filthy Bed linen had stains Pool was dirty Breakfast was limited with no structure Chef was dirty NOT child friendly

    NOTHING

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough food . The water from the pipe was no good. Couldn't take a proper shower

    It was 6 of us only 2 authentic breakfast we got was so disappointed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave me a room that had a foul oder and it was tiny, after complaining they changed the room. The sheets were old and the pillows uncomfortable (worn out)

    Not very much,the night staff was helpful; the one before not so much. They change my room for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs sitting area close to the pool could have been a little cleaner as the view is very excellent sitting up there.

    I love my room, it was clean and spacious. Wow..the bed was large and clean clean towels. The hot water and air con works quite ok.Tumbs up to the cook, breakfast was good each morning and he was very courteous and friendly.The front desk workers was really respectful and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had only one problem and it was the bathroom they really needs to put a mat in there else the bathroom plus the room will be abit messy thats an issue for me u need mats in the bathroom

    I liked the pool and the bed in my room was really comfortable..I also liked the service i got from the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The question should be, "What did we like"? The location of the hotel is very central to everything in the area

    We were very disappointed with the service from the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Misleading photo advertisement as to what the property looked like. The proprty in the backdrop with tbe pool is Jamaica Grands's. 2. That it's a dingy, dull, dark, hot, noisy, unpleasant, uncomfortable, uncomly, substandard place. ...Desperately in need of demolishing and rebuilding. 3. ...That it was a waste if money..4 That even the towels and comforter were so old they were torn and tattered. 5. The other staff seemed like loiterers as opposed to employees.

    1 member of staff at the front desk, very professional, courteous and friendly. Forgot her name. She worked the late shift. Superb attitude towards her job. Wifi was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bed linen and decor and not enough towels for daily use. Not suited for family. More suited for couples.

    The pool was lovely and chef was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I don't have nothing there that I did not like. Everything was excellent.

    The pool was very good. The bed was excellent. I love everything about it. I had a bad situation with a relatives and I thought I would had gotten thrown out of the hotel, but instead staff handle it well and I still wasn't treat badly by staff members.I will surely come back to village Hotel, and this time I promise there will never be an other incident like that. I love your staff members.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the pool need to be cleaned. There was dried bird droppings on the ground. Would be nice if it had a one the lounge chair/tables with the shade. They should have additional parking as the parking lot gets full by 9pm. The room as well should be renovated. There was rust on the floor by the door and the bathroom.

    I liked the pool upstairs and the dining area for breakfast. The room was satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The monitoring of the constability force to ensure visitor safely was impressive. Proximity to entertainment was impeccable. Cambia and grocery stores, quality beach and shopping within arm's reach

    Easy access to all amenities, staff was very helpful and accommodating, security and culinary staff were very affable and compliant, went the extra mile to facilitate guests' comfort.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that when I arrived they were unable to find my booking information, had to wait a good 10 to 15 minutes. Also we were not informed that the swimming pool was being renovated.

    I liked it's central location. It is close to a restaurant and lounge and shopping village and banks were also in close proximity.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    They double booked my room!! Blaming booking.Com.... They then tried to offer me another room for 4 thousand dollars more which I declined. I spoke to the manager 'marva'at length who refuse to admit their error. The room they offered was the same as I had booked with a single bed added which I did not need as I was with my partner. We would have accepted the room at the original cost but the manager refused. We viewed the room after which they advised us it would cost the extra 4 thousand dollars. The room also filthy. ..

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was terrible only available in one room of the three bedroom apt. The Plant was tired and the children complained that the pool was not cleaned too many bugs floating on the surface

    The Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Constant loud music from neighbouring venue. Staff that need an injection of friendliness. Constant excuses, room not ready, breakfast not ready, no cooking facilities for kitchette

    Leaving to go home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist days unprofessional not very helpful just managed to break a smile I don't think she knows she's in the service industry. Pillow you might as well use the mattress. TV was connected to the light switch , lights off TV off ?, room 11c. Suppose you get what you pay for. Just a place to get your head down.

    It had security on gate at night

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location, atmosphere,food were a bonus😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was ok

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy you can hear people talking outside music playing all night. Thin walls to u hear everything

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful and polite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower

    It was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and it was value for money.

    The service was excellent and the breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water presure no good

    The person who serve breakfast very friendly.👍👍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the balcony was dirty

    The pool on the roof

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk has had attitude not all of them some...

    Houskeeper

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main cooling fan inoperable one night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of power outlets in the room.

    Staff. Location. Location. Value for money. Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no towel in the rooms, no water to bath it was really really bad. Not my money again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to like.

    I did not like the overall experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on duty. The chef shouldnt be cooking and serving the food.

    The humidty of the room and full access to the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self dipendra in your hotel service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services and facilities very poor and run down

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. The floor was dirty .

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly . The location was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes

    The location is excellent right in the centre of everything. Members of staff were very helpful, warm and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in the room

    Relaxing outside an swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no fridge or table in room

    good location, walk to conveniences

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good so far the breakfast was good and the staff very,friendly.

    The bed was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in some kitchenette rooms

    Clean rooms...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hidden fees

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Good!!

    The staff are very much professional and friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with a verify of both Jamaican and English menu.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chef was mean when we went for breakfast.

    Bed was comfortable. The receptionist was warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs make over

    Where it was sistuated

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity

    Efficient electric system

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi suck

    The breakfast was very good plus the guy that perpare it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly room, poorly maintain, broken toilet and faucet, broKen switch, old towels, no shower wash small cheap soap bar. Needs modernization

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental need more viarity fresh fruits cereals ,muffins.

    The weekend breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Limited choice but ok

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didnt get wifi in my room. Telephone was not working. I need to call front desk to ask about breakfast .

    The staff friendly and helpful. Front desk clerk was helpful and understanding and had a warm personality.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was dull and dirty lots of cockroaches in the bathroom sink, the roof leaks in the corridor. Furniture is very old and outdated. No microwaves in the room, towels were dirty. The staff did nothing about our complaints whilst we were there. We deserve a refund!!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    infested with ants as soon as we walk in lizard living behind the ac..bath room was a mess.i was told they upgrade my room but i think a down grade.i saw other rooms in better condition..my feeling when they Realize i was a Jamaican they change my room.the bathroom was a mess shower curtain was so dirty.bathtub old and dingy,floor cover with water after taking a shower.room #9

    It's quite and location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting the same thing to eat every morning 4 breakfast.

    Staff was alright.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too much noise throughout the night. The place needs refurnishing..

    The staff was courteous.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The upstairs table area was messy.

    The poolside was great

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The phone in my room you could not make calls.

    Friendly staff, nice continental breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Couple

    The same thing for break fast the two morning

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having to wait on towels as well as we could have used more pillows

    The staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The linen and towels were suppose to be white, but were gray and were frayed. It was not clean, beds were hard. I was glad to leave.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Looks like a cheap hotel, dirty somber, no more than 1 star

    breakfast was ok, basic, scrambled eggs coffee ornage juice bread and butter

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not what I was looking for it was very dark and dull

    Nothing check out a day earlier

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: