Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea 5 stars

Dead Sea Road, 18186 Sowayma, Jordan

#10 of 15 hotels in Sowayma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1896 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse experience i ever had tbh ... if u breath there you need to pay WATER IN THE BUFFET IS PAID !!! The service is really bad the response of the orders is slow or they wont come at all for me it was the first and the last time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is bad it took me 5 hours to have my room . Very very bad service it is not worth to pay this amount to stay in a very bad service hotel

    Private pool only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxis were a bit difficult to navigate. That was annoying. Usually, you don't need to leave the compound for anything.

    The resort was incredible. The room had an earthy vibe. You need at least a week at this resort to relax and enjoy yourself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit busy...as any Movenpick Resort

    High quality resort. Very comfy access to the Dead Sea. Great swimming pool. Thanks to Ammar Omari for his help when we asked to be transferred t another room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was expensive.

    Very comfy beds. Room service was very prompt. Lifeguard was great at the Dead Sea making sure we didn’t slip on the ramp going in and kept us safe in the tricky water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was rather grubby especially my daughters but it was quickly sorted by the staff. Although we were seated in the outside restaurant area, it was covered and people were allowed to smoke at the tables.

    Excellent location to experience the Dead Sea. The swimming pools were busy but well located. If you want a quieter experience it is worth paying to go into the spa area pools to spend the day there. Plenty of choice for the buffet evening meal and breakfast. Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant and SPA were bit too expensive. The waiters in the restaurant did not know very good English and we had difficulties explaining what we want. Because of the Ramadan and renovations most of the places were closed.

    The personnel was amazing. Especially the life guards at the beach. They were helping everyone to get their mud on and assisted people into the sea. Also the people in the reception were very helpful and kind, they even gave us a free upgrade. The location was fantastic and we loved the garden in the hotel. Beautiful place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive (£15 for a cocktail). There is nothing in surrounding area so you don't really leave the hotel. Feels like you're not in Jordan any more. There are nods to the culture with tacky displays of giant teapots etc., but people walking round in swimwear and behaving like they're in the West. So appeals to some but not if you like culture or adventure! There is so much to see in Jordan, where money goes into the local community. It's totally safe to travel around independently for men or women.

    Huge hotel complex with everything you need, and lots of thing you don't. Room was very comfortable and there are plenty of pools to chose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little bit old and lack of maintenance

    food is great,and the staff are all friendly, especially the safeguards took care of all the swimming guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was pretty amazing that there were only 4 tables at lunch at AL SARAYA restaurant and we waited at least an hour for our spaghetti to arrive. And our Movenpick ice creams arrived melted, it was more like a smoothie than ice cream. THE GRILL restaurant was another story altogether. We had splurged for a JOD100 dinner and ordered steaks and I was foolish enough to order mine RARE. I suffered food poisoning (vomiting and diahrea) during the rest of my trip home. Last thing, the staff at Zara Spa while extremely helpful are constantly trying to get you to be massaged by them. It gets a bit creepy and leery after a while. We didn't feel too comfortable having to get in and out of pools when it looked like free porn for the male staff.

    LOVED Zara Spa, had a marvellous time overlooking sunset in the jaccuzzi and the blue floating indoor pool. That was the highlight of our trip. The lifeguards at the Dead Sea beach were extremely vigilant when we were there having witnessed them saving 2 lives as the sea was very choppy and un swimmable due to salt content.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the main building can be noisy. Service charge and tax not included in the prices which is a little disingenuous. Business at the weekend makes it hard to get a sun lounger. Reception badly organised. Beach area needs a bit of attention.

    Rooms are big and very clean. Staff are amazing. Setting is lovely. We used the spa this time round...really worth doing. we found the treatment great and the spa facilities wonderful (and peaceful).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, jacuzzi close to the room was not working and not that clean, Pool crowded with familles, not the resting place we were expecting

    Comfortable, direct access to the dead sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queues at reception. no breakfast included in price. We arrived on a Friday and the place was so full...there were not enough loungers. beach area could be improved. didn't get our welcome drink as promised. Prices don't include service or tax- this should just be incorporated into the prices

    Beautiful setting and design. Good variety of pools. Fair amount of restaurants. Ice cream is great. when you're staying in one of the little buildings rather than the main hotel it is super quiet, which is lovely. Staff were impeccable. Really polite and attentive. Evening entertainment was amusing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room invaded by mosquitoes, some maintenance to be done in the bathroom and the AC control pannel was out of order

    Loved the location, the charm pf tbe resort and the service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process could have been better. We came at 4.15pm and our rooms were not ready. But it was ok

    Food was tasty and the staff were very courteous. We had the Chef making special vegetarian meal for us...which was really sweet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready when we arrived. The beach needs to be remodelled as it is not to the standards of a 5-star hotel.

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious. The summer pool is best to be enjoyed in the morning or at sunset - it's gorgeous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strange noise from telephone and charger for the smartphone didn't work.

    They upgraded the room! I really loved the private swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach area was not so nice (with work in progress)

    Very nice hotel complex, full of flowers and plants, super food (great buffet at breakfast and dinner), nice staff and good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    True 5-star experience. we have even got an upgrade to a better room! The whole complex is like a small historic town. We liked everything, unfortunately, we only stayed 1 night as we were returning from the desert back towards the airport. It would have been a nice stay if he had a few more days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food wasn't great in the buffet restaurant either for breakfast or for dinner. Choose one of the other places to eat is my tip!

    We were upgraded which was a nice surprise with a pool outside our room. Nicely planned and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most horrible hotel experiences. During the night the AC started making an extremely loud noise and I couldn’t sleep properly. I contacted the when I woke up in the morning and they ignored me 3 times saying they will come and fix it. They didn’t even apologize. I woke up late because of the noise and had to wait for them to come and hear the noise. I asked for the manager the first time and he did nothing. My trip to the Dead Sea was a disaster because of this. They forced me to check out at 1;00pm. The front desk, after I had complained, decided that it was enough to give me a free drink! I didn’t takeout. He then said that “next time” they will give me a better rate. Outrageous! I wouldn’t come to this horribly managed hotel again.

    The location is good. I didn’t try the restaurants. The swimming pool was lively.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our sheets had some stains on them so we asked to for a fresh set and they were very helpful and instantly made sure to switch out the sheets! Very very accommodating.

    Our room had a view of the sea! The room is spacious and the bathroom was HUGE! Loved it. The resort itself is beautiful with yummy food. Everyone is very helpful and accommodating, the pools were fantastic, and floating in the dead sea was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffeemaker with cappuccino for breakfast. No iron or toothbrush (maybe you can order but ....). Sea view partially covered by other hotel.

    Surroundings. Greenery, swimming pools

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and disrespectful staff with attitude and bad manners yet dirty rooms and filled with mosquitos The reception downgraded our booking to save better rooms and make us pay more for a lower room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was fantastic. As expected in the Dead Sea resort complex, the value for money when it came to food and drinks wasn’t great but all in all a good experience.

    The ambience and character of the resort was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service could have been better for a 5-star hotel. We had to ask four times for towels, the bathroom needed maintenance, and were not very accommodating about early check-in and late check-out. The beach is pretty small and crowded. It's also in an area of the Dead Sea that's incredibly rocky. I've seen other Dead Sea resorts with more spacious and less crowded beaches and a bit less rocky beaches.

    The property is beautiful. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants are expensive. I paid 15 JOD (without tax) for pasta with canned tomato sauce !!! Also, I saw one cocroache in the bathroom

    Overall, it is a good hotel with a lot of facilities - Nice location with access to the dead sea from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was awful. The faciiities were great, however the treatments were extremely poor with untrained staff in the techniques which were offered. The quiet relaxation ambiance which should accompany a spa was missing be it from other guests or from staff interruptions.

    Great reception staff, they were very helpful, especially Ibrahim, he couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options on a la carte menu in the restaurants could be better. It's mosty catered towards buffet

    Beautiful spa, friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a expensive experience but no more than other hotels in area.

    Close to the Dead Sea and style of the hotel which made it feel a little bit more of a traditional experience. Generally very clean and tidy. Courtyard restaurant area and entertainment was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General maintenance of the rooms. The blind didn't go up in our room... plug wouldn't come out.. interconnecting rooms needed to be child safe (my child could easily be locked in) No milk for coffee... i would normally expect this in a 5 star hotel. Espresso coffee would be good. Healthier breakfast options.

    The whole place is impressive. The movenpick was the ideal place to relax for us. The food was lovely. Service was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water is RIDICULOUSLY expensive. £1.80 for 500ml. £2.80 for 1L Prices in the Hotel resort restaurants are also very high but the buffet dinner is good enough. We weren't shown around or given a full run down so it took a few days to suss things out. Happy hour was only enjoyed on our last night as no one had told us about it or that there is such a lovely view from the bar where it was. There is only one area for kids to swim with 2 pools so that is great but don't let the kids get too excited about ALL the pools as 2 are adult only. The family pool area has basic sun-loungers, the adult only areas have super comfy ones so overall the area is not quite as luxurious for families. Need proper cold fridges - the drinks are not cold enough, especially beer! Poolside bars with the lovely views close really early dead on sunset which s a shame as they are nice area. Everything geared around the market square restaurants which were fine. Entertainment not our cup of tea - a guy on a keyboard but might be good for others.

    Beautiful gardens & outlook to the Dead Sea. Great buffet breakfast Staff are fantastic Pools are lovely. Only one is warmed the others are a little on the cold side but refreshing and & with fantastic views. Overall the hotel is well maintained and great for families.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We left the balcony door open in the evening and Our daughter had 15+ mosquito bites that hurted a lot and for many days after. Lucky Our friends brought a mosquito repellent, but I hope they spray the property for mosquitos. The staff by the kids pool that handed out towels was a bit too fast, I asked for more then one towel as my daughter and husband was coming to the pool as well, and the guy only wanted to give me one towel. Others got several towels despite of being just one person.

    It is a nice hotel, good atmosphere. and friendly reception staff. Good selection of Food in the buffet. The staff in the restaurant was polite but very busy and we wish they could have cleaned away the plates faster. Perhaps have one more staff in the restaurant. The playground was nice for the kids as it was shaded. Definitely the hotel I would bring my kids to as it had the faboulus sand Beach by the pool. The shampoo and stuff we god in the room smelled so good!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful and dirty. As soon as we arrived the toilet was already dirty and had not been cleaned and so were the curtains of the bath. You can access the rooms at 4pm, not before, and you have to check out at 12am the next day. There are only two swimming pools which are really small. The swimming pools all close at 7 pm and after that there is no possibility to see the sea, there is no view as the hotel closes all the panorama points because "dangerous". Be careful when you go to the cafe/restaurant to have something to eat or drink,the waiters don't give the change back, they keep it for themselves. I do not advice this hotel as you pay a lot of money and the quality is really low. Not a 5 starts hotel.

    The breakfast and dinner were really good. The receptionist are really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The establishment of the hotel is large and the main building where I stayed was far from the beach (Dead Sea).

    there are some pools and poolsides was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Security at entrance did not check the log yet insisted my name is not on it (took 20 mins to let me in) -Room floor was dusty -Dinner had no variety and only arabic cuisine + no beverage with it -Main breakfast restaurant was full and alternative one had less variety and cold and barely any replacements -food in general was bad quality -in room dining took an hour for just a halloum sandwich and salad (had to call twice to remind them of my order) -definitely not worthy to be a 5-star hotel -paid a lot of money for one of the worst hotel experiences so far

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old so the rooms suffer from wear and tear, especially the bathrooms. The Executive Suite I booked was very expensive compared to the luxury and quality of the room. The suite is also very far from reception so it was very difficult to reach with children. The beach also takes 20 minutes to reach by foot with stairs and the buggy which is supposed to reduce the time is often overcrowded and takes longer due to having to drop off guests to multiple locations first. The staff were sometimes clumsy and did not really have adequate training or understanding of simple requests. We received a knock on the door to collect a tray despite the "do not disturb" sign being on the door. Also some of the staff in the breakfast were not adequately courteous; when we asked for whipped cream with our pancakes the station chef said "there wasn't any" immediately and dismissively. I asked someone else again and the other staff member went into kitchen and got some. We asked for Turkish coffee and received it in a regular cappuccino cup; the staff were surprised why we were not happy with it :) The staff were not generally happy or smiling in the breakfast restaurant. We won't be coming to stay here again. Not value for money at all. The concierge isn't adequately trained and made very bad recommendations for adjacent food destinations saying they were five stars.

    The reception and entrance staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service could have been a lot better, especially in the restaurants, everything was slow, the staff were not so friendly. The dinner buffet was disappointing.

    Beautiful resort with beach access to the Dead Sea, many different pools and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was super. We had a very relaxing stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    dinner at Luigi's was a poor dining experience. having the dj music of wedding and live entertainment competiting with each other is a poor experience. please review your risotto taste. gym is not well equipped. music choice at pool club is poor...using f word songs...

    location is great, amazing view, guys at the beach have amazing guest skills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet food was ok and good salads. Not all international food was great but difficult to get this right given the volumes being produced.

    Gardens beautiful and property is nicely in keeping with the local environment. Liked the various pools and different water temperatures! Comfortable bed and lovely pillows. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water temperature is a bit cold in the main pools, should be heated up for the season.

    Excellent hotel with good facilities, staff very friendly. We enjoyed the food in the restaurants, good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- servicemen is so bad and not helpful 2- Dead Sea beach not clean and alot of stones seen 3- breakfast is not as expected in 5 stars hotel

    Receptionist is polite and Swimming pool not bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected better offer for breakfast (fruit, salmon) and not to pay for still water during buffet dinner. And the access to the sea should be improved significantly.

    The layout of the hotel, very good and professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel and hospitable staff. The cook who prepares the food at the Italian restautant deserves significant criticism (seems he is only ably to follow Barrila cooking style), but the restaurant staff and their extremely hospitable and processional service (in particular Anas - the manager) polishes all the food-related drawbacks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very busy and too chaotic. Also there was a private party at night and we couldn’t use some of the grounds..

    Beautiful property! Many different pools, restaurants, buffet was good, nice lifeguards.. very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really bad. Unfriendly and slow. Food wasn't good and service was really bad. You would expect much more for such a location and such a price. Wont come back.

    Its a beautiful place with a great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place , friendly hosts, private dead sea access and life gaurds helped to have the floating experience. Wonderful experience would highly recommend for those who are considering a stay at the dead sea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was very slow and not very responsive prize for drinks including non alcoholic drink much higher than in Hotels of the same standards in New York or Paris but the service is more Jordanien style

    Nice pool and outside Area ... the view across the dead sea to Isreal is very nice ... bed very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffet was a big disaster. The price is high (which is expected from a 5star hotel). However, the quality of food was terrible. Food served in the buffet was cold (not even warm). All the grilled meat was cold and chewy.

    Great property with amazing rooms and convenient entry to the dead sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Classic King room was disappointing, very small, in an outdated part of the hotel and not well maintained, they gave us a free upgrade to a Deluxe King and it was wonderful, very nice room! It pee'd me off that they had a sign saying "you're at the lowest point on earth" and there was still another 10-20m of steps to go down... dumb!

    Really impressed with all of the swimming pools to choose from, beautiful flowers everywhere, nice pond with ducks and carp. Friendly clean healthy cats. Impressive furniture around the hotel. Gorgeous sunsets over Israel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our patio was not swept of fallen leaves. Cary to pick up luggage st 11:00 pm to check put did not arrive.

    The village design was outstanding. Variety of choices for foid was terrific.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had food poisoning; I suffered with severe watery diarrhea while my children had repeated vomiting. On day-1 the floors of the rooms were very dusty. On day-2, the floors were cleaned but not under the beds where there was a mountain of dust. The prices for food were extortionate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices inside the hotel like the restaurant were crazy expensive. the whole hotel need renovation and maintenance especially the rooms and bathrooms

    Breakfast and beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s the whole area problem. There was too many flies around .i wish there was something could be done about it

    The hospitality of the staff was awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel tried to charge us 30 JOD for a bottle of wine we had bought in duty free airport. I had forgotten my money in the safe lock after check out, security accompanied me, made me count money infront of staff and reported the amount to other staff on the phone. The conduct was unprofessional and posed a security risk, as staff knew I had cash on me. Too expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts is decicious, but it could be improve with a machine to make expresso coffe.

    When we did the check in we had a room upgrade. We stay in the second floor of Zara buildind. The views were really great and the room with all the comodities and facilities. The place is like a small village, and at the end you can find the Dead Sea beach. It is really nice, but be careful, I recomend you special shoes if you swim in it, there are many rocks. At night there are music and a belly dance show near the four restaurants that you have inside the complex.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thing that my husband opened in the room was the TV, which surprisingly wasnt working. He called reception once but no one came. We didnt bother calling again and just settled for the wifi. Besides, we stayed only for one night to swim/float in the Dead Sea and have a comfortable sleep. We’re happy we were able to do the first, but we were disappointed with the latter. There were lots of mosquitoes in Room W45! I was awaken by the buzz of a mosquito early in the morning and could not go back to sleep. For a 5-star hotel, this is disappointing.

    Good location. Great amenities. Well-designed hotel landscapes. Very nice view from Room W45. Wonderful staff. Khalid, the lifeguard, was very sweet and accommodating. Always greets us with a smile on his face. Hotel is very safe and secured. Wifi in the room is fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of the restaurants was a little bit too high. Breakfast could be improved.

    Excellent bed, great room with a view, outstanding typical architecture and excellent location by the Dead Sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food is extremely bad , limited , not good asking us to pay at the gate from the car!!!! beach with no mub , broken stairs , spa not working under maintenance

    garden , idea of the place cleaness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free upgrade - a great price at £38 a person for the night. Amazing room with balcony. Dead sea area is great Beautiful hotel with lovely pools at different temperatures. Flexible on late check out - allowed in room until 2pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Long queues at check in, * very slow response to a number of issues raised with house keeping we had to call 3-4 times * Very slow room service, was told 25-30 minutes it took over 1hour * At breakfast a lot of food was missing/empty, staff could not keep up - under staffed

    Good rooms and location, excellent facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we would've known Spa under renovation before booking.

    We were upgraded upon check-in due to mistake in the reservation system. Stunning room with extra large private deck overlooking the sea. Much appreciated! Luigi's restaurant was lovely, great food & excellent service. Enjoyed our spa treatments, but spa facility under renovation (one of main reasons we chose Movenpik for their spa.), so we didn't get to enjoy all advertised facilities before & after.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was pretty disappointing with cheap plastic chairs, an old rusty bucket with dead sea mud and no way to get into the sea without getting hurt by the stones. This beach at least needs a pier to get into the water!

    The hotel is very pretty and everything looks very good - except for the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very warm welcome and a room upgrade. The winter pool was very warm and the staff very courteous. They also had a lovely Thursday evening entertainment program of live singing and dancing. We would love to go their again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our receptionist did not mention the temporary closure of the spa facilities, while our bill (paid in advance) did mention it (although we had not seen it)

    Excellent location on the dead sea, beautiful pools and nice salty formations on the hotel's shore of the dead sea. I liked that they even care for the stray cats :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but not great for as many options as there were. And no drinks were included in dinner. Everything else was great

    The staff- Everyone was extremely kind and welcoming. Yazan was The first person I met here and he was very friendly to me and helpful. He wanted to make sure I had a good stay and make sure I had a nice room which was upgraded for some reason. But I’m very thankful for because my room was amazing. Thank you, Yazan. He even checked in on me later to make sure everything was great. The grounds are beautiful and it’s nice to just walk around and enjoy. The pools were wonderful and beautiful and there are options everywhere. The sea is really relocated to the resort. And the staff and lifeguards on the beach were very friendly and helpful especially me because I was alone I took many pictures for me. I still dream about the bed because it was the most comfortable one number per slept in. The rooms are beautiful !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I want to say a big thank you to Mr Ibrahim for the attention to detail on check-in and for the upgrade to a room with a sea view. Wonderful! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcohol was overly expensive. Dead Sea experience could be enhanced with the provision of a float or jetty type platform.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, the Hotel covers a large site and has character throughout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That there was not a person on staff at the spa for a mani/pedi I was told they were off that day. That I had arranged late checkout but Housekeeping was knocking on my door about two hours early about the time I was to take a shower. I had do not disturb on the door, he kept knocking Mustafa was insistent he needed to come in. Only to bring a Robe I should have had the day before. Also he rearranged the balcony furniture while i was waiting for him to leave. He offered I could sun on the balcony (it was shaded) and he would gladly apply the lotion. I felt this was highly inappropriate. At check in I asked to stay an extra day and was quoted a rate of twice the rate I had , so I declined the extra day. Would have loved another day. At checkout the manager offered me the same rate, bags packed checked out ride on the way... too late. It is a beautiful resort and nice place , just some strange things happening..

    The food was delicious . The room was great. Everyone was friendly. The spa massage was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed wasn’t changed when I first entered the room there was blood and hair then I was told it was mine disgusting place, room service either never comes or takes an eternity

    The view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there’s nothing really around, you have to eat at the hotel and the prices are outrageous. What we paid for the Italian restaurant was the price we pay when we re in a group of four, in a good Italian restaurant, in Rome. Internet is a nightmare. We didn’t have it for the two days we were there.

    The place is amazing, we had a standard room and it was amazing, the staff does everything for you to feel more than welcomed. You can have your dead sea floating experience with all the comfort and someone is watching over you in case something happens. The facility has amazing swimming pools and a SPA that is simply to die for. I loved the massage I had. I recommend the place to everyone and if I ever return there I will def be there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At your "application" website its mentioned that the room is with sea view, when we reach there they said we don't have sea view rooms, i just want to understand why would booking use such way to promote the offers ? I'm totally unsatisfied about what happened and i consider it a scam

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary minibar should include some beer or tonic water, and not just fizzy soft drinks

    The hotel was rather quiet in general, probably low season...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices of the gala dinner did not include drinks. The prices of alcoholic drinks was very expensive. You cannot smuggle in a bottle of something because there is a xray scanner in the front of lobby! I however, did bring a bottle of champagne since it was NYE which was allowed in by Mohammed. In addition, the daily room service charges of 10% plus tax on top pushes up the room rates. So make sure when booking you calculate these on top of the published room rates as the final price for the 3 day stay was very expensive.

    The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. I am a single traveler and on arrival, met the reception manager Mohammad Tarteer, who upgraded my room for free from a twin room to a suite with private swimming pool. He checked everyday to see if everything was to my liking and that I was comfortable. I attended the new years eve gala party which had a buffet, live music and belly dancer. It was very nice. I did't use the pool facilities as the weather was cold and rained on one of the days. However, I can recommend the pedicure at the spa treatment centre, which is extra.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor maintenance for the rooms. 1) Very difficult to deal with TV itself and poor channels 2) Bath tub drain is defective 3) Difficult to control the shower water temperature, fluctuating from hot to cold suddenly 4) Basin faucet is ruined 5) We have to ask for slippers to stay there, you need to spend your time just calling the staff to fix things.

    location & the surrounding area outside the rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mövenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: