Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Salome Hotel 1 stars

Aisha Um Al Mumeneen St, Madaba, Madaba, Jordan

#5 of 15 hotels in Madaba

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel its a little bit old. I did not like much the shower curtain - its like a peace of cloth, not something plastic. The hotel was excellent for the price.

    The hotel is very affordable and its very clean. The breakfast was very good. There is a liquer store just on the opposite street You dont find many liquer stores around Jordan, but because in Madaba are a lot of christians, its different.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much - I just forgot to ask for a non-smoking room second time we stayed there (i.e. we stayed one night, went to Ajloun, and came back for two more nights) Room had a bit of a smoking smell but not bad

    Great location - only 18 km to Amman airport; close to Mt. Nebo, Dead See and Ma'in Hot Springs and not too far to walk to all the places in Madaba that display mosaics.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at reception tried to push us to take a car with a driver to Jerash. We asked him which bus we needed to take from Madaba to Amman (ie which bus stop in Amman we needed to get to to take the bus to Jerash) and he told us that it would cost approximately the same if we took a car and it would be much faster. When we insisted that we wanted to take the bus, he said he was our brother and he wouldn't try to cheat us. According to him, as we were tourists, the taxi driver would charge us JOD5-6 to take us to the Madaba bus station, then the bus to Amman would cost us JOD6 per person and the bus to Jerash would cost JOD3 per person whilst a car would cost JOD30-35. In reality, we paid JOD1 for the taxi, JOD2.30 (in total for 2 people) to Amman and another JOD2.30 (in total for 2 people) to Jerash. As paying guests of the hotel, we didn't appreciate that he tried to profit from our potential ignorance. If we hadn't done a bit of research the night before, we would have potentially believed him as we would have seen him as someone to be trusted.

    The room was very clean (it was cleaned daily) and breakfast was pretty good. After almost daily breakfasts filled with hummus and falafels, pancakes and scrambled eggs were a nice change. The hotel is slightly out of the central Madaba area but it is only a few minutes walk and we preferred it to staying right in the middle of the tourist area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple with 3 single beds. Not good electricity plugins so we could use only one in the bathroom. We wasn't satisfied with the breakfast. At least we went out the hotel in 9am to go to visit Mount Nebo and they were running behind us to ask when we will leave, it wasn't nice, as we leaved anyway in 11am before the check out time

    Nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could listen through the walls and could be a bit noisy if the guests were talking in the corridors.

    The value for money is good. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specific

    Great location in quiet area within a few minutes walk of the historical centre. Parking was easy outside and there are lots of shops and restaurants close by. Breakfast was varied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No warm water in shower. - Door didn't lock from the outside. - People screaming at each other in arabic early in the morning - woke me up way too early. - I was severly overcharged for a single room (32 JOD)

    - Room was big with nice views. - Staff was really nice. - Breakfast was excellent. - Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooded when shower was used. Curtain not waterproof. Shower head set too high. Room a bit tatty.

    Gpod breakfast buffet. Comfy bed. Easy to park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Friendly welcome, excellent value-for-money. Room ok although the furniture was a bit plain and old. Comfy bed. We only stayed for a couple of hours cause we had to leave for the airport around 11pm, so we can't comment on the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower at night was not hot. It takes a long time to get shower warm in the morning. Breakfast was very simple. At the time of paying for the room they wanted to charge me 40 dinars! But after my denial they told me it was 34. In booking.com it said it was 31.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing that I can say that I didn't like.

    The hotel is clean, has big rooms, 10 minutes walking from center and has a very good breakfast. The staff is very nice and helpfull. Good for individual travellers but also for families with kids. Has a outside garden, wich is very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was cold at night and couldn't take a Proper shower. The water was warm in the am though. Charge for breakfast.

    The hotel was very nice and got us a driver to take us to another city. Friendly family owners. One person in our party arrived early and was able to check in before noon. 😄 Very good free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general, it's a basic hotel in terms of facilities, breakfast, etc.

    Staff helped us to find a taxi to Dead Sea for a reasonable price. You can get the list of free tours (organized by the city council or something like that) at the reception. Every day it's a different tour, so it may make sense to contact the hotel for that list in advance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather drab. Help with luggage not helpful. Loud sounds of woman screaming and shouting at breakfast. People smoking in the hall right next to breakfast area.

    Price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in December and it was cold. There was heating in the room via a heater/air conditioning until but it was not very efficient.

    Location was excellent for the airport and the town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    corridor carpets very worn. wall fittings in bathroom very loose. bathroom furniture in poor condition. the early morning call I was promised never happened.

    friendly front of house staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for price.

    Neat rooms, everything was clean. City centre of Madaba is in walking distance. We could leave our stuff in our rooms and explore the town in the morning, before checking out. Parking available next to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking price was not the final one (added taxes but still not a very nice surprise) and check out time was earlier than mentioned in booking. Shower curtain didn't really worked and the bathroom got flooded.

    Nice place, clean and confortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated about 10 min walk from the center of Madaba. The room was clean, breakfast was simple but good. The owner is really helpful and organized me a trip to the Wadi mujib reserve for a very fair price. You can not find a better place in Madaba.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small and shower really small - impossible not to spill water all over floor.

    Very friendly staff, clean rooms, air con that works. Close to the roman/byzantine relics. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap or shampoo

    Only there for few hours sleep and shower before going to 4am flight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit away from the centre but walking distance - 20mins. No bathroom amenities so ensure you pack your own

    Great staff, big room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money and location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blocked sink... but leaking everywhere in the bathroom at the same time (!) so the floor was all wet.

    Great value for price! ... and comfy bed :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Clean sheets and towels every day. Not too far from Madaba sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TPV ti pay with credit card was not working

    You can go walking to visit Madaba center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to run the shower quite a bit for the hot water to flow. This made me spend more time in the shower.

    Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the family feeling and the friendliness of the staff there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't use bath tub because of no drain plug

    Spacious room, quiet place, friendly and helpful owners/ staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wealthy fresh breakfast, helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast same every morning

    Good staff heating in room good shower and bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hot water from the shower

    Central location in Madaba

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sound isolation between the rooms and it was difficult to get a good night sleep

    The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast same every day and a bit limited in choice

    Good value

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water from shower and so could not shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better

    Great location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in Madaba...great hotel at great price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we asked for help to contact our tour company, as soon as they saw the Israel company, the outright answer was 'no' we can't help. That was a bit disappointing, as they could have helped us place a call.

    It was cosy.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really good breakfast with big variety, very clean and nice bathrooms and cozy bedrooms. Very clean in general and has a warm athmosphere. I would definitely recommend it to everyone, from single travellers to families with children and older couples. Very quiet area but still central.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    ---

    Very friendly and helpful english speaking staff, the wifi was perfect and the breakfast was a lot and I liked a lot. The location was also very good and everything was clean and worked. I felt very well during my stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only "pita" flat breads at breakfast.

    In a quiet area with off road parking. Clean room with big double bed that had a heavey cover, I had one of the best nights sleep ever. Flat screen tv with satelite channels. good wifi in room. short walk into Madaba Centre for mosaic and rstaurants. Good base for traveling Mount Nebo Bethany Red Sea Ma in springs Makawr castle etc. Half an hour from the airport. Staff helpful and owner recomended places to visit very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Satellite TV setup was a bit convoluted

    Welcoming, attentive staff, very helpful in recommending range of restaurants and sights etc. Good Wi-Fi. Car parking available outside hotel. Hotel is a 10 min walk away from St George's Church and the Archaeological Park.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Most of the staff does not speak English well so I had difficulty communicating with them.

    The hotel staff were kind, their services were good. I was picked up at the appointed time to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location close to the Madaba Mosaic, confortable large beds, friendly staff and helpful owner, fine breakfast included. Free parking. Easy to reach from Amman Airport (within 15-20 minutes) with GPS. Recommend!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Couple

    The only trouble was beyond the hotel staff's control, as the town government was replacing water pipes along the road in front of the hotel. There was a little trench dug around the hotel where they were laying pipe, but the hotel staff made a bridge and walkway so we could transverse the trench easily enough.

    The room was pleasantly situated, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and spoke English well. They were eager to assist us in any way we needed. We enjoyed the restful and quiet atmosphere of the room. The breakfast was adequate and the hotel was situated in a good part of town.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    The staff did all they could to make our stay as good as possible, solving every question we had and giving us excellent advices on what to visit while in the region. The room was very good, very clean, with one of the most confortable mattress I've slept in during my stay in Jordan. No doubt that, if I ever visit Madaba or need a place to sleep near the airport, this will be the place I will choose.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no slipper

    good staff

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    some problem with the hot water the first night

    nice place, friendly people

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    people smoking in the lobby with airconditioner on

    very clean and walking distance to the center

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Showers are small.

    30 mins from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean hotel, well located for Madabas tourist spots. Parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be improved.

    A quiter location, the decor was nice. Close to everything. Family feel.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Group

    Nothing to tell

    The personal touch gives a good feeling.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no Bath Tub plug

    almost everything

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great hospitality and nice place for a small family.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: