Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shepherd Hotel 3 stars

Zeid Bin Haritha Street, 11110 Amman, Jordan

#211 of 225 hotels in Amman

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

5.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.1

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    3.3
    Don’t stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely the worst night sleep ever! The bar downstairs blasted so loud i couldn’t even think or hear my television. Then once they shut down after midnight the restaurant upstairs decided to moved around furniture until 2 am and that was almost just as loud. The air condition didn’t work and when i went down to try to get help or a Fan they just tried to get me to come to the bar for drinks. They didn’t even care.

    Absolutely the worst night sleep ever! The bar downstairs blasted so loud i couldn’t even think or hear my television. Then once they shut down after midnight the restaurant upstairs decided to moved around furniture until 2 am and that was almost just as loud. The air condition didn’t work and when i went down to try to get help or a Fan they just tried to get me to come to the bar for drinks. They didn’t even care.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    It was indeed a short stay, the hotel should work harder to attract visitors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start?!! There is no hot water for the shower, the TV set channels signal is poor you can't see the picture from the scrumbles, the smell of the room is awful, the sheets smelly, the safe is locked and couldn't access it to save any stuff. There was no WiFi ( they said it was damaged and they are trying to fix it).... the elevator is scary to protection measures are taken.

    The location is very easy to reach and surrounded by a lot of restaurants and cafes, the check in and out pretty easy and fast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    CSI Episode
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property could be easily the worst property we have ever stayed in, a setting that befits a CSI episode. No facilities. The rooms were in less than despair. Blood stains on the wall. Sheets unclean. Bathroom had pubic hair everywhere. Doors barely lock, they have mold and are broken. The rooms are super noisy because of all the nightlife around. Very tacky, unsafe and unhygienic. We couldn't even use the provided shampoos because they are passed from one stay to the other. Elevator would get stuck sometimes. The breakfast was another laughable ordeal. This hotel needs to get a full renovation to meet its lost potential.

    pub and rooftop, only.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    For this price and location - good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For families I would not recommend, very crowded till 3AM - party on a roof. For young people perfect - you basically live in the party :)

    Good location, old school style, very nice rooftop bar, good price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Friendly and well organized house keeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, not comfortable bedding, old mattress, clean though, broken shower, non working tv, high price as per the nearby hotels as same location and facility. The receptionist need training.

    Friendly and well organized house keeping

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    dirty, no breakfast offered and overall bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i was NOT offered the breakfast that should have been included in the room, nor was i asked/told about it. one day the cleaning staff did not make up my room, even with the signal on by the door. building is old, furniture dirty, bathroom needs a lot of cleaning and updating. :(

    location is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    The hotel has 2 or 3 bars and lounges, and the walls are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has 2 or 3 bars and lounges, and the walls are very thin. The music could be heard to the room until well after 3 am, and we could hear people at the elevators talking and shouting. The bathroom is also in a bad shape with very low water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    OVER RATED AND OVER EXPENSIVE HOTEL FOR THE KIND OF ROOM, FACILITIES ARE AVAILABLE.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BATHROOM NOT CLEAN AND GOOD. SHOWER NOT GOOD. CARPET FLOORING IN THE ROOM VERY DIRTY. IF YOU WALK BARE FEET YOUR FEET WILL TURN TO BLACK. NO OPTIONS IN BREAKFAST ONLY HUMMUS AND FELAFEL. I ASKED FOR OMLETE THEY REFUSED.

    The receptionist who was working for night shift

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    A nice cozy hotel with the feeling of being at home with no formaities whatsoever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about this hotel. No negative comments. The children's school in the front is quite noisy early in the morning so I requested a room on the other side and they gladly obliged.

    This is a small bed and breakfast type hotel. Excellent people with typical courteous and polite Jordanian/Palestinian hospitality. Excellent location. You can find many restaurants, minimarkets within a 5 minute walking distance. The children school in the front is little noisy early in the morning but the rooms on the back side are fairly.quiet. Its a good hotel with acceptable room charges. I stayed in this hotel more than 20 years back and till to this date the hotel remains the same.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not working in the bedroom. The bathroom was 'tired' and not ventilated. Minimal noise from the street and club - loud enough to hear, not loud enough to impede sleep. However, for the price all this can be overlooked.

    This is excellent value for money - comfortable beds, friendly staff and excellent location. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    2.9
    Very noisy environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy environment. No internet access at all. The staff tried several times to take more money. The room was dirty and the door was not so safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Great spot for a budget stay - no issues!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club above the hotel stays open after midnight nightly. Pack earplugs if you don’t like techno!

    Conveniently located to 2nd Circle, friendly staff, updated rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Wedding pledugre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very ordinary and I think there is nothing special about it.

    I stayed at the Shepard Hotel for a night and it got the job done. I was there to for a friends wedding, but there is a restaurant on site and shopping near by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.9
    Avoid this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean! Inedible breakfast! Disco until 4am!

    Nothing! Avoid this hotel. Disco until 4am. Not clean room only one plug socket the other behind headboard! Inedible breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    Best Personal in Amman
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personal are so nice and very helpful. The hotel is nice compared to the price but is located right next to a bar which is very active during night time, so if you are a light sleeper this might not be the place for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Won't stay here again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting thing that happened ... Someone tried to enter my room in the dead of the night..I had the dead bolt (chain bolt) on so the person couldn't enter..the guys at the hotel just wrote it off as a mistake.... Very wierd!!!! But they did apologies for the intrusion..not more ...!!!! The hotel gives the impression that it was a glorious place in its haydays but is way past those days...

    Well this isn't as bad as my rating. I just rated it poorly because of my bad experience. Staff was helpful and spoke working English which was useful..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    2.5
    Bad, Dirty, Expinsive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like any thing to be honest person. Firstly the breakfast was very bad and not tasty at all. We had the same thing every day. Furthermore, the rest of the food remains in the morning kept for the following day. The intertaiment facility such as TV was very very bad the tv quality very bad and there were only 6 Chanel available to watch. It was very dirty and the bathroom was leaking so we had to change the room. There was a lot of noise so I couldn't sleep properly because of the bar outside the hotel. I didn't feel secure and safe while I was staying in the hotel as I was the only quest in the hotel. The price was very expensive 40JD and I believe it not worth what you get in the hotel. There is another hotel proved better service and cheaper price. The most of furnitures in the hotel are at bad condition or broken.

    I didn't like any thing at all to be fare I have had the worst holiday for all my life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    Noisy and dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are two clubs: one at groud floor, one at the rooftop. There's a lot of noise coming from them. Poorest breakfast from our whole trip. Poor bathroom facilities. Despite the friendly manager, I would not advise to sleep here.

    Helpfull and always smiling manager.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.0
    Will not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC stopped working, and the club in the hotel was too loud. The water pressure from the shower head was very low, and they piled furniture in the hallways.

    The location was nice, close to Rainbow St.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    2.5
    Bad, too bad
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was moved to a lower rate room, for a problem with water leakage, and no money was returned to me, so I decided to leave one night earl, and asked for my money, and nothing happened

    None

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    LOCATIE DE TRANZIT. NOT FOR LADYS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOISE , WIFI NO, CLEANING BAD

    It was fine not very special .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    cheap price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilets very bad and very old and the room not same picture very old

    cheap price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    the room was smelly and not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was smelly and not clean. towels had stains on them

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were out dated and the bathroom was not clean enough. The bar at floor three is so noisy.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Big thanks for the receptionist employee “ aya “
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big thanks for the receptionist employee “ aya “

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Just what we needed, spending two nights in Amman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful manager. Very friendly staff. Great "old-fashioned" hotel. Good connections with taxis.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant at the fourth floor very noisy

    People are nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    All
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.5
    Terrible place terrible service terrible stuff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi no water nothing was working very dirty sketchy place and I think a lot of stuff goes down like drugs and prostitution

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.6
    Nightmare in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The question who's with you? Is she your wife?and that about 4or5 times/day. It was really annoying

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    There is a night club and a restaraunt downstairs- it is...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a night club and a restaraunt downstairs- it is very noise during the night. Bath is very bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's loud above a nightclub and bar. I knew it would be but it was much louder than I expected.

    Location!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    2.5
    The worst hotel i have ever been in .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All things.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready The warm ac was not working The staff was rude The breakfast didn't exist The price was too high

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    Cheap and cheerful, suffices for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap and cheerful, basic breakfast, noisy club outside

    Comfortable beds, good location for Rainbow Street and getting to restaurants and bars

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: