Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

160-0022 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku Shinjuku 2-2-8, Japan

#614 of 954 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 6349 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    My stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows where so flat and you only got 2 of them

    The location is very good you are near a lot of different trains and easy to get to and from Narita

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in a nice chill area right next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little expensive but i thought reasonable for the area.

    Comfortable hotel in a nice chill area right next to Shinjuku Gyoen. Ten minute walk to Shinjuku station or three minute walk to the subway (great for when you have big luggage to haul around) The onsen was lovely according to the boyfriend but NO tattoos unfortunately.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.7
    Little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Stayed in other APA hotels before and was disappointed with this one - beds are in desperate need of replacement and nowadays no hotel should have terrible wifi. Rooms are minuscule and damp, and windows aren't really that - they're opaque, barely open and look onto stairwells... makes the room feel like a closet.

    Superb location right at the entrance of Shinjuku Gyoen and steps from train stations. Helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    Small yet comfortable and clean room in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were nice and clean, beds quite comfortable. Western pillows available on request. Helpful staff. Rooms are quite small but it seems that's the norm for Tokyo.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.3
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staffs can’t really speak english, so a bit hard for communicate.

    The location is good. Near the Subway station and surrounded by several grocery stores.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean and tidy, comfortable beds excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very small, smaller in real life. They photo it well on the sites, bit in real life they are smaller

    Great location, clean and tidy, comfortable beds excellent and friendly staff, especially the cleaning staff. Simple check-in and checkout process

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.4
    Very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive. Smoking room but it smelt of smoke -they should wash the bed runner in a smoking room to remove the smell. There were cigarette butts on the floor when I arrived in the room. Air conditioning was unavailable despite the room being very hot, you could only use the air con to hear the room further

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    The best location ever.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The space in the room is quite small and the air conditioning system cannot be adjusted individually.

    The staff was very helpful even though some of the staff cannot speak English but they tried to help and communicate.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.7
    Very expensive, with tiny rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The air conditioning was very poor. The system is controlled by a centralised system and the staff turn the cooling to heating based on Japanese tastes. I spent one full night, unable to sleep with hot air blowing into our room. It was not possible to turn the hot air off as the system is controlled from the reception. It was horrendous. The rooms are tiny. No cupboard, no ironing board, no room to place your suitcase.Absolutely tiny room for $359 AUD per night. The hotel is also a long walk from Shinjuku Station which was very disappointing.

    The hotel is close to Family Mart and 7-11.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    Very good accommodation. I would reconsider staying here next time I am in Tokyo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast + Dinner Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are too small - there's just enough space to open a single luggage on the bed. The bathroom size is acceptable but the lack of room to store the necessities is a bit cumbersome.

    Good breakfast which caters for everyone including western cuisine. We always looked forward for breakfast. They keep up with the influx of people and therefore food was always available and never ran out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower design was weird. It was so small and made at such an angle that a lot of water would end up on the floor. The pillows were not very good either.

    Good location. Always an easy process at APA hotels. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great - the metro is near, and there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Rooms are tiny (for the whole APA net), tap water works bad - you need to control the pressure all the time. If you don't ask - your sheets will stay the same for two weeks without change. Overall the bad is not comfortable.

    The location is great - the metro is near, and there are lots of small shops with food. There are Japanese baths on -1 flor for those who love it. But overall I'll choose another location next time, Chiyoda probably + another hotel with bigger rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.0
    We loved the onsen which was open until 1am so we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small as was the bed (140cm)

    We loved the onsen which was open until 1am so we could still enjoy it before going to bed even when we got back to the hotel late in the evening. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.3
    Not great bedding but overall great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed sagged badly, the pillow was horrible, and room size was small (but expected), especially for a couple

    Great location and great spa facilities, good selection (albeit non-changing) breakfast buffet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.8
    The bathhouse was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit too small and the CEO's photos/books are too much in your face. Breakfast was ok, could be better for the price.

    The bathhouse was nice. I really like the location, super convenient but away from the busy area of Shinjuku. We had a nice picnic at the park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Underground Sento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As expected, really small rooms. EXACERBATED by the cacophony of brochures displayed in the room.

    Underground Sento. Great for relaxing after the INFINITE walks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.5
    Great place and location even better!! Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a biggie but if you dont want the flat pillows that are provided, just ask reception and they will provide you with bigger ones! Room Size is accurate as per what they say it is so you can’t complain!!

    Staff were most helpful and the check in and out process was easy! The location was excellent. The main Shinjuku station was about 10mins wall but the local subway which connects to the main one is only a minute away! Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.3
    I liked the selection of food available for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had enough space for one suitcase and not much else. It was hard to move around in with two people

    I liked the selection of food available for breakfast. Eggs were cooked in front of you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    3.8
    Good location, but that’s it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No service at all. I requested another (western) pillow and they asked me to come to reception and get it myself. Tiny room and therefore super expensive. Be prepared to Bette replace your suitcase outside the room since you won’t be able to open it inside. The room is also full of advertisements. There was a big milky sticker on the window that you could not even see if outside the sun is shining or if it’s raining. Staff is trying to be nice but is pretty useless. I’ve never felt so unwelcome in a hotel. Instead of being treated as a paying guest and being taken care of during my stay it was really cumbersome. I will never come back to any APA hotel.

    Good location, but that’s it. Besides that I would never ever come back

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.2
    Really great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room felt small may request for bigger room if we were to stay here again.

    Really great location!!! Just a walk away from Shinjuku shopping and night life!! Able to catch metro to other parts in Tokyo and easy to get back from where we were going!! Awesome that an Onsen was available to guests!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.1
    Good location in quieter part of Shinjuku near park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel rooms in Tokyo are sooo small. Response when I enquired about gluten free options at breakfast was poor: all I was seeking was guidance on what might have gluten in, and the hotel’s response was to suggest that I should not have breakfast there at all.

    Good location in quieter part of Shinjuku near park. Has a nice sento.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.6
    Overall, convenient and comfy stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathtub/shower area is way too small. Every time I took a shower, the water went out of the tub and wet the whole floor in the bathroom.

    We should all know that most of Japanese hotels have small rooms and unfortunately this hotel is one of them, however, the bed is very comfy, the location is excellent, close to the metro station and 2-chome night out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    6.5
    Not even a closet or room to open your darn suitcase!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small room for the price!! Paid $1,000 for four nights and breakfast wasn’t even included!! The Japanese word for that is Kechi. The picture is the first room I had for $690 for four nights before paying another $290 to upgrade and that room just had one more bed and still not a closet or complimentary water. And breakfast not included even though spending a small fortune!🤬

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.7
    The location is fine, close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mattress is TOO soft and it's a queen size bed (I feel it's just like a king single apx.) which i couldn't sleep very well. it's really a TINY room! not really recommend for couple, only good for single traveller.

    The location is fine, close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.0
    Good location, walkable to Shinjuku for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s run down and expensive for what you get. Crammed room (don’t get me wrong, Japan is small but this felt really crammed) that smelled musty, plus they tried to check us in into smoking even I specifically booked non-smoking. Window in the room facing side of another building, so was really dark all the time and with musty smell really felt like a cave. Pillows flat like pancakes on a bed of extremely fluffy mattress padding. On arrival the room didn’t have any drinking water, the next day one small bottle appeared (for 2 guests). I left my pajama folded on the bed under the blanket in the morning only to find it on the floor upon return in the evening-I presume housekeeping just decided to throw it on the floor while they made the bed??? I can’t find any other explanation. The next day same happens to my sleeping mask. Go figure. Yes, location is convenient but there are better options for better price out there as we stayed in other places during this trip.

    Good location, walkable to Shinjuku for eating/shopping/people watching/getting to airports by limousine bus

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    6.3
    It's comfortable budget accommodation that doesn't come at such a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only speak English and are travelling through Japan on our honeymoon. We asked the staff at reception to help us with a restaurant booking for dinner and they said no, it was against their policy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    4.6
    I think I would not stay in apa ever, after having stayed 3 times during this trip at various apa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unprofessional staff, and my small suitcase was broken--left it there for a few hours upon check out, during the stay, the room card was disabled due to a trainee and this hotel has no travel adaptor for guest at all.

    Tiny tiny little room. Just consider it is a bedroom-- literally a room only fits a bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was good and staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were tiny, the pictures are very deceiving. There was barely space to open your suitcase and walk. It was a bit far from the train station and city center for the price.

    The breakfast was good and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we stayed there a typhoon was passing Tokyo and in the middle of the night there was an alarm for an earthquake on our mobile phones. What we missed was any information from the reception of the hotel, we got no information at all.

    The position towards the centre of Shinjuku is perfect, not to close, not to far. The spa was comfortable and washing/drying was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very clean and lovely accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was quite small but this is to be expected in Tokyo! It was also quite a warm room, especially at night. It was October so 14 degrees at night, we didn’t think we would have to use air conditioning (often makes me sick!) but we did unfortunately.

    Great location, very clean and lovely accommodating staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, small rooms, but overall good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms small, breakfast foods cold.

    Great location especially for transportation and gay nightlife. Nice, clean, breakfasr buffet available, good elevators.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.1
    The location was good as it is near to Shinjuku and near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. Didn’t have much space to walk about after opening our luggages. Bathroom was small as well. The pillows that was provided originally was ridiculously thin. Had to ask for regular cotton pillows and even then they said that we can only have 2 and not more. Hotel staff also didn’t entertain the request for them to call restaurants and make reservations on our behalf.

    The location was good as it is near to Shinjuku and near to train stations too. There are also a few convenient stores as well as eateries nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, not so good sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a disappointment. The bed was quite soft and the pillows were flat. Stacking 2 of the pillows just barely made it enough for me. The worst thing about the room was that there was intermittent sirens going off in the middle of the night for both of the nights I stayed. I am not sure if the hotel was situated near a police station, fire station or hospital but it was certainly disruptive for my sleep.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a plus that some of them spoke good English. The breakfast was quite good and they offered a variety of items. The room was clean and the towels and linens were generally clean. The location of the hotel is excellent, just being a minute or 2 from the entrance. However, the station only offers the Marunouchi Line, so you have to change at other stations for more commonly used lines.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and if we ever come back to Tokyo we will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only got 1 very flat pillow each so we ended up using our flight neck pillows also

    The staff, particularly the cleaning staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location, small but comfortable rooms, very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Clean hotel in a great location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Great location. Great spa. Very nice room but just small compared to Western standards but I guess good compared to other places in the area. I liked the hotel very much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    Public Japanese baths (onsen) on-site, comfortable bed, lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant service was rude, rooms are very cramp, no closet or dressers, right-wing propaganda and literature placed in room.

    Public Japanese baths (onsen) on-site, comfortable bed, lots of bath amenities provided, professional staff, excellent location, quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kiosk check in is different. Not terrible, just not my personal favorite. Pillows weren't the best, but ok. We have no major complaints.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great. Price was good. No major complaints. Our stay was pleasant and we had no issues.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.3
    Very good location, very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As with all real estate photos, the room and bathroom looked far more spacious in the images than in actuality. The room is very small, and though may be typical of some Tokyo hotel rooms, they were very tight spaces. The translucent bathroom door is inches away from the toilet seat, your toes practically poking out from underneath the door into your bedroom. Our room had the door facing the bed, so if you're sharing with someone, privacy may be difficult to achieve. The pillows were incredibly thin, and the sleep was very uncomfortable. The WiFi constantly dropped out or failed to connect.

    The food at breakfast was very good, with great variety, with a selection of Japanese and western items. The location in Shinjuku was also very convenient, approximately 10 minutes by foot to Shinjuku Station, and even closer to a metro station and restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel in Shinjuku over looking the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small.

    Rooms had everything you need eg hair dryer kettle tea coffee toothbrushes. Great breakfast and helpful staff. Very good location nr Shinjuku Gyoen mae Park and the station. Great food options nr as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant closed early, approximately 9.30pm, so we never ate there. The pillows were flat I had to buy my own pillow to sleep properly.

    The room was very clean, the area was great with two supermarkets nearby, an underground station nearby on the Maronouchi Line. Staff were friendly, check in and out was very simple. There were umbrellas you could borrow on rainy days which was a nice touch. The air conditioning was great, we were never too hot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.8
    The hot baths are very relaxing and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was exceptionally small compared to the pictures. The staff explained that the photos are taken on purpose to make the rooms look bigger than they are. The staff is polite but unhelpful. Overall, not worth all the money it costs.

    The hot baths are very relaxing and clean. The toiletries and soaps are of fine quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    2.5
    Rooms stacked with Fascist pamphlets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My main issue with the hotel is the room being stocked with far-right propaganda translated into English. After doing some research online it seems that this chain is owned by an extreme Japanese nationalist. Whatever your political views, I don't think it's appropriate to insult guests with pamphlets claiming that the allies were entirely guilty of starting WWII, denying the Nanjing massacre etc. (According to wikipedia, the owner is also fairly anti-Semitic, although I didn't find actually anything in my room insulting Jewish people.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great location but uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was either too cold with the a/c regardless of what we set it at, or way too hot with the bedding which would have been more appropriate for winter. I was allergic to the detergent and broke out in hives so I had to wear clothes and cover everything while sleeping.

    Great location and quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.5
    Mostly amazing just needs more creative storage solutions for cosy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite small with no where to store luggage perhaps a over the bed or under the bed space would have been ideal just some more creative storage solutions.

    We loved the location, staff were friendly and helpful, the onsen was fantastic and we enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    5.8
    Complicated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are too small, though they have everything. They are so small that you do not have place for the luggage and my husband and I, have to rent a second room! The hotel does not have a lobby or a place where you can sit and talk to your friends

    The people at the reception are very polite, but they can’t hardly speak and understand English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.2
    great value business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the pillows are flat and awful, you need two, i used my neck pillow off the plane to sleep but thats literally my only complaint

    hairy dryer, fridge, great air con, brilliant bed, supersoft duvet, loads of toiletries, lifts quick, check in and out simple and quick. we got 2 suitcases in the room, just have to use them one at a time as theyre a touch small. regular double bed size, chair in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, but true to Shinjuku style, tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cramped space, wifi was subpar and at time could not even seem to handle simple messaging apps

    Good location, clean, great breakfast, all necessary amenities present, good value for money overall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just small annoyances, nothing major. Breakfast time should be longer - maybe at least to 10:30? I waited for 5 minutes by the "order here" sign to get some eggs while the 1 poor guy who was in the kitchen was trying to do 10 other things. I'm ok waiting, but if that's part of the breakfast - which is not cheap - someone should be there ready to help. You pay for your room at a kiosk upon check in. If you choose "Credit" it asks you for a pin (like a debit card) and there's no way around that. So I had to kind of go around people waiting, back to the desk and ask for help, and then she did it manually, which took a while. I wonder how often that happens? Most credit cards don't have pins.

    The bed was super comfortable. Lots of nice toiletries provided, and large size shampoos/conditioner. Cool that the Onsen is open late! 1am. All restaurant and check in staff was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.1
    Great location for gay travelers. Very small beds though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a room with a queen size bed for two adults and the bed we got was more like a double size bed. It ended up being very uncomfortable for two adult men to fit in a small bed specially when one side of the bed was against a wall. The room was in reality much smaller than what it looked like in the pictures.

    The Onsen was amazing! It was my first trip to Japan and I my experience at the hotel's Onsen was unforgettable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, close to Shinjuku station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    These rooms are small. They are clearly small in all the images, but once you are in there with 2 suitcases, it actually becomes difficult to move around. The room has a small desk and chair. The desk is covered in promotional material, taking up valuable room. Over summer, the air never felt dry. It was humid in the rooms. Every morning you put on damp clothes. A few places in Japan do not have a western style pillow. Not the most comfortable for me, but could manage. However the pillow provided at APA is the worst.

    Good location, close to Shinjuku station. Cheap. The only positives i experienced from this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    6.3
    I'd strongly suggest paying a bit extra to stay at a hotel with bigger rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible rooms, very very small. Could not open our suitcases and still move around the room, so we actually checked out early to find a hotel that was reasonably sized.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.0
    Location is best selling point. Clean room and bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -Room size too small - barely fit 2 std luggage with 2 people moving around. Same with the toilet. Had a couple of serious bruises from bumps when negotiating the tight space in the bathroom and room. -Corridor and elevator has no air condition - If you visit during the summer, you will feel the heatwave stuffiness inside the lift (elevator) and the walkways / corridors as you walk to your room and to the lobby. -Public bath rules not followed by certain guests / visitors but there were no enforcement of rules during visit.

    Location is the selling point Clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient location and comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though I knew what the room size was, but it was just very small. That's all.

    The location is great, being so close to the metro station. Also very convenient if you go out in Shinjuku-ni-chome, close to everything. The bed was very soft and comfy. The room was very quiet too. I did not hear anything during the night to disturb my sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit small.

    It was really close to the Subway! Lots and lots of Dinner options in Walking distance. The Pizza across the road was fantastic for a change!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    5.0
    They will look after your luggage if you are too early or if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small compared to Western standards. Bathroom was 6 inches higher and I kept on tripping late at night. My view was the next building's wall. AC turns off when you take out the key card out of the wall. No lounge available.

    They will look after your luggage if you are too early or if your flight is several hours after your checkout. They provided umbrellas during rainy days. Close to subway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    6.7
    My stay was fine but not great The location was grea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room Very flat pillows Reception area too crowded and no place to rest whilst checking in or out

    Check in was great and check out Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny room, actually quite difficult to pack a suitcase! Bed is too soft.

    Right next to the subway station and a very short walk to Shinjuku, super useful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    6.7
    Walking distance to Shinjuku, helpful staff, complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although there was wifi, it was rather weak - I couldn’t do a basic google search. Room was small, but that is standard for this fare

    Walking distance to Shinjuku, helpful staff, complimentary drinks served as booking genius member, clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room could have been a bit bigger, it barely had enough space to move around in with all the luggage on the floor. The TV needed a bit more foreign language options, there was only news in english.

    The bed was insanely comfortable and the facilities were all clean. Even though we would put the do not disturb on our door, the staff always left a fresh set of towels robes and all refillables outside our door every night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    The room size was according to Japanese standard but equipped with everything you need. Good location and great for a one night stay. The breakfast was also really nice which was Japanese and continental style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    A GREAT stay in a small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that was a negative was the room was small but this at the same time is the experience of Japan.

    The whole hotel was brilliant. The hotel emailed me 3 days before my arrival to see what time I would be arriving and asked if there is anything they could do for me before I arrive. This was great service. When we finally arrived a trainee served us. Even though she was learning the role her English was very good. It was very easy to check in and she explained everything to us very well. The WiFi’s was good as well very fast speeds. The location was brilliant with lots of food places to eat and only 10 minutes away from the shopping area. The bed was comfortable little short if your taller than 5 ft 8. The shower was powerful and really hot. Also the hotel provides everything and at good quality shampoos ans body washes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.8
    Shinjuku hot spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit too small for 2 adults with 2 medium sized suitcases. There was not enough clothes storage space or anywhere to put our cases. Both cases had to be left open on the floor outside the bathroom. We literally lived out of our suitcases for 5 nights. I understand that this is a business room but a bit more floor space would have been better. I had to ask for more pillows as the ones already on the bed were extremely thin. There was no instructions on how to use the a/c, I worked it out in the end. The eco friendly linen service (magnetic signs you put on the outside of the door) wasn't translated clearly so what I thought to be helpful, may not have been as the linen was changed anyway. The WiFi was a waste of time, luckily we had a pocket WiFi to use.

    The bathroom was small but very well equipped. The shiseido toiletries were a nice bonus. The bath / shower very deep and the water pressure is very powerful, perfect for weary travellers after a long day. We tried to go along with the eco friendliness of the linen system. The restaurant across the street sells amazing street food if you want something quick to eat. There are 8 family mart / 7-11's within 2 blocks in front of the hotel. The marunouchi line runs under the hotel and the station is 1 minute walk away which is perfect for Shinjuku station or Tokyo station. The location is perfect with Shinjuku being a quick 10 min walk away, golden gai 5 mins and kibuchiko in between the 2.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.9
    Really good location in Shinjuku, near the park and Tokyo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is so so, and fairly expensive - better options available on the high street. Lifts take an age to arrive on upper floors during the morning and evening rush. WiFi is abysmal and constantly drops out.

    Really good location in Shinjuku, near the park and Tokyo Metro stops. Staff are friendly and speak great English!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    5.8
    Close to park, 10 min walk from train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all the hotel wants to charge me for early checking in. Staff speaks limited English, a bit hard to communicate with. The room window can not be opened, the smoking room smell like smoked the whole pack in there. The room is really tiny and the bathroom is way too compact. I’m a genius member here this is the first bed review I have ever given to a hotel. Really my worst hotel experience so far

    Close to park, 10 min walk from train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    5.8
    Not suitable for family travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly small rooms and bathrooms. The smallest I have seen this far anywhere. It probably works for business travel but you can safely pass this property up if you are on vacation, have luggage and a family.

    Staff was very polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet connection was a bit erratic. Room size was small but one expects that in Japan.

    Location. Overall my stay was very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the nicer end of Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As per Tokyo standards, the room is small, but it is well designed. Could do with improving the pillows.

    Great location in the nicer end of Shinjuku. Friendly and helpful staff. Can leave your bags for a day to go and do Fuji. Very clean room. Onsen available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money plus excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are tiny! I had a single room and it was ok, my friends shared the same space and it was like a game of Tetris, trying to move around. It is ok if you only plan to sleep in the room, like we did. There are no windows with a view. I had the wall of the next building. My friends had thick glass that did not let much light through. Everything is in Japanese. The last night someone was smoking in their room and the fire alarm went off at two a.m.. The whole hotel was woken up by an announcement in Japanese and there was panic everywhere till they made an announcement in English 15 min later!

    Having complained about details I must admit that it is good value for your money. Clean and functional. Everything that you need is there. The location is excellent. The bed was comfortable. The onsen baths were also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small but that's expected. Not comfortable for really tall or bigger people. It was perfect for me and my partner though so we couldn't complain about that.

    The room was clean, the daily replenishment of amenities was fantastic! The onsen was awesome and I recommend everyone take advantage of it. My bf has tattoos but he still used it, no one said anything to him. It's mainly the public ones that might have an issue but the hotel onsen was perfect. The location is also great. Close to Shinjuku station if you want to walk or there is a closer train station from APA called Shinjuku gyoemmae that takes you anywhere. Google maps is very handy for catching transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    6.3
    Location, very close to the metro stop and to the Shinjuku...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ok, we expected a small room but this room was almost claustrophobic. Plus the plastic bathroom, the whole room felt like a cabin on a boat. We had to store stuff under the desk and keep our baby straller outside. Pillows were horrible, flat and hard, my neck still hurts a few days later. And the matrace was too soft, my husband was joking that it feels like a water bed. Plus the entire hotel feels like an automat and you have to present the receipt from the lobby machine whatever you want to get. For me a really poor customer experience! You forget the receipt? Get ready for another ride up on the elevator which stops at every floor for people. On our last morning I wanted to get a bread bun from the breakfast room for my toddler because we were running late for the train (we didn’t pay for the breakfast on that day) but the lady at the breakfast room kept on saying “Not possible, sorry sorry, not possible”. I mean really?:( Overall next time I definitely wouldn’t stay here.

    Location, very close to the metro stop and to the Shinjuku train station (although we had to take a cab to get there as it’s through busy roads). Nice area for walking, eating and shopping. Hotel is very clean, provides good breakfast, towels, toiletries and includes a free spa. On the day of our checkin they first put us in a room without daylight (facing a wall) and when I asked for a change they did it quite fast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.5
    Small but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although small, the room was nice for two people. The hotel looks very stylish. Easy to get to via Narita Express. About 10 minute walk to kabukicho.

    Although small, the room was nice for two people. The hotel looks very stylish. Easy to get to via Narita Express. About 13 minute walk to kabukicho.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Definitely give this hotel a try!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As someone tired from a month of traveling the rooms were a bit small for proper relaxation. That being said the rooms are about the same size everywhere in Tokyo at this price point. Also the spa could use a cold-water pool to quickly cool off.

    The staff was lovely and having free use of the spa at this price was something I enjoyed very much. The close proximity to the Marunouchi-line made it easy to get around Tokyo. Also the gyoza restaurant on the other side of the road is definitely a place to dine in! All in all, I originally booked for three days and planned on switching to the Tokyo Station Hotel for a few days, but instead I extended my stay at the APA Shinjuku Gyoemmae to seven nights. Recommended to people visiting Tokyo for the first time, businessmen, those on a medium budget and for those who can't cope without a proper bath at a spa.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and faboulous food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I love the food (Breakfast) that comes with our stay. The room was very clean and staff were very friendly and courteous. It was a few minutes away from the train station and the Hotel is close to a convenient stores, bars and Restaurant (24 hours open).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet after 7 pm didn’t work ...so slow it was useless

    The quick check in and the location .. of n the quiet part of Shinjuku but very close to action

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    wifi is very slow for a city hotel. Recommend buying a SIM card for information.

    The location is very handy, lots of restaurants, bars, shopping. Right near the station hub to go anywhere in Tokyo. And the Onsen (spa) is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: