Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of APA Hotel Shinjuku-Kabukicho Tower This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

160-0021 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku, Kabukicho 1-20-2, Japan

#670 of 953 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 9175 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was small. Once the luggage was opened on the floor the room was pretty much full and it was difficult to walk around. If there are 2 people in the room then one person needs to be on the bed or in the bathroom in order to open up our luggage.

    Location was excellent. It was a 5min walk to Shinjuku Station and multiple restaurants were around the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.9
    Tokyo trip with toddler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. All perfect, maybe excep the room size that we already know that most japan hotel is like that. You got what you pay.

    The location is perfect. Surrounded with food, shopping area, and entertainment. Walkable from shinjuku station about 10 mins. Room is clean, check in counter was fast and pay at the machine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. I think that is in the other 3* hotels. And the price was too big for such accommodation

    Very good location!!! Shinjuku with lots of restaurants is nearby. The JR train station 10 minutes walk

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.7
    Decent place, but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely noisy - probably fine on higher floors but on the 6th floor it felt like sleeping next to an arcade or casino, probably because we were sleeping next to an arcade or casino. It also is right by some huge square where people gather.

    Fun location, close to many things. Nice staff and check-in/check-out was easy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    APA in the heart of Shinjuku, OK if you are happy with a very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was TINY for the price you pay. I have been to Japan 3 times previously so i was expecting a small room as per usual Japanese size, however this room was the smallest I have ever experienced and for the two of us was barely functional for 3 nights. We paid for an upgrade to one of the higher floors, however for the size of the room it wasn't even enjoyable as it was so tiny. Wouldn't stay longer for three nights as it was so small even for Japanese standard.

    The location was superb! Right in the heart of Shinjuku, the staff spoke a small bit of English but were accommodating enough. The Hotel was kept very clean and the surrounding area was very touristy so it wasn't the normal Japanese cleanliness you might be used to.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a little trouble with the internet - it wasn't as strong as I'm used to and my connection dropped a few times.

    The room was Tokyo size (so, smaller than most American hotels), but it was perfect for my purposes. The staff were super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great Japanese style hotel in Shinjuku!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Would not recommend for people with tons or luggage or staying more than 1 week due to space

    The Onsen facilities were amazing, with views over the Tokyo skyline. The facility was open all night long and we went back every night post dinner and drinks. The room was tiny overall but not impossible. We had a twin room one night; which I would recommend as it was larger than the double room (and you could still get the beds close together)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great view and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware that this is pretty affordable based on location so it comes at the expense of space. Everything is quite compact so if you have a lot of luggage or are a bit bigger, it can easily get crowded.

    Good location, room with beautiful view, very helpful staff, cute little bathtub not to be underestimated

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good location and walking distance to Shinjuku location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are they occasional call girls outside. But it's Kabukicho. So don't mind them.

    Good location and walking distance to Shinjuku location. A couple of good eateries around as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    6.7
    NIce stay but tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is so tiny that I didn’t have a place to open my luggage. The view is nice, but since it’s available only from a tiny window I find it as disappointing. The staff wasn’t too helpful and everything is self service. It definitely not worth the price.

    The location is great, and the overall stay was fine

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    Geat place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Geat place! but at the midnight & early in the morning it is very noisy by trains becuse this hotel is located near the train station. and the room is very nallow likes any other japanese hotels.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.7
    central location, great location, but some staff at front desk unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in painfull, lady at front guest , not pleasant compared to japanese culture. Did not help or try tohelp to give me room few hours before check in time, even if i agreed to pay extra You can not leave luguage overnight

    Easy to reach, lovely area, sauna opened very late Easy check out, compared to painful check in

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    3.8
    This hotel chain, APA has a strong ultra-right wing...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel chain, APA has a strong ultra-right wing revisionist history agenda (the Japanese equivalent to Holocaust deniers). The rooms even have ultranationalist books as free reading material which deny major historical events including the Nanjing Massacre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    5.0
    Total opposite to what one expect from Japanese hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The watchman at the carpark just behind the entrance to the hotel was weird signaling the entrance almost fell like a far right salute. The staff at the bar were quite aweful and the spa at the top of the building had a guy jerking off. My dubet had blood stains and the toilet had and snell from the sewers

    Reception staff was nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    excellent location with everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    more channels in English would be appreciated, and yes, the room is very small. definitely the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in, but --the location makes up for it. also allowing people to smoke directly at the entrance was the most negative part of staying there, the smell of cigarette smoke is just the worst.

    the location was definitely great. Family Mart and 7/11 were right across the plaza. tons of restaurants all around. loved the amenities provided, one needs only a suitcase of clothes. we were very pleasantly surprised with all that was provided, and the television was enormous!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Breakfast Included- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small. Not comfortable at all for 2 adults. Staffs were not cooperative. We had to chase staff to bring us the complimentary water bottle which they did not provide us for the reason that we checked in later in the night at @ 11pm. Also, they said they provide only 1 water bottle even though you have booking for 2 adults per room. Was very annoying moment.. they expect the guests to get down and buy water bottle from outside. Two different staffs for room cleaning for different shifts and lack of coordination among them which finally make suffer guests,

    The locality of the hotel. Everything required is easily accessible. All the facilities mentioned in the site were made available.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Breakfast Included- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really think of anything that needs to be improved.

    The hotel is in a great location, central to everything you could want. I had a room that was advertised as having city views, it really did have amazing views, the equivalent to a much more expensive hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Had an amazing time as my first trip to Tokyo. Location was perfect however the room was small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was very small. Our luggage only just fitted in the room. Not much space so not worth the money you pay.

    The location was absolutely amazing. Easy access to the subway and the nightlife was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    An amazing hotel with a great location and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The breakfast services were lovely, a good mixture of Japanese and Western style meals. The Breakfast room/cafe was impeccably clean with polite and patient staff. The little bar on the ground floor was amazing as well, got along well with bar staff and had a few great chats with other tourists. This was my second stay here at APA and I would gladly return again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly fine but not our favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff were more helpful than others. Even by Tokyo standards then room was quite tiny. Barely enough room to fit our carry on size luggage.

    Very good location. Bathhouse was nice. Staff were quick to provide us with additional pillows when we asked. Clean room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.9
    For the price, this hotel has very few competitors.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 13 nights

    While everything was extremely clean, it was also pretty dusty. There were a few things I would have liked to know when I arrived, like where the do-not-disturb tags are, whether the water was free, and that semi-daily maintenance is mandatory. This hotel also has an extremely expensive laundry service, and the nearest laundromat is several blocks away. The nearest one takes you through a very sketchy neighborhood. So if you're coming for a long visit, be prepared.

    The location is incredibly convenient and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room size was small, hence the price, but it was a trade off for an extremely clean facility. They were also more than willing to hold my bags for several hours after checkout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.5
    Great staff and location, but tiny rooms and bathrooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room as so small it barely fit two large suitcases. The bathroom was also very tiny.

    The breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly and let us keep our bags there until our room was ready so we could explore the city. The building was really pretty and everything was easily walked to from this location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    4.2
    Good location for eating outlets, convenience stores and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really small, not suitable for a family stay for vacation. Much smaller than anticipated for room size, no lobby for sitting, small bar and restaurant. For singles, all these would be ok but for a family, it’s a different story. I will not stay again for this reason.

    Good location for eating outlets, convenience stores and shopping and entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived early but were not allowed to checkin early even if the room was ready.. they ask a fee for 10€ per hour, which i think is unfair! at least 1hour before or 30min would be great.

    location was great! but that's the only thing! rooms are very small but that's actually normal for japan

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient hotel in the heart of Shinjuku
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room was really dirty. We asked the staff to clean the ceiling and the bathroom and they did. So eventually we were pleased.

    The stuff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.3
    The cleaners were obviously doing a great job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is in the red light district. Check-in is on a computer instead of talking to a friendly face.

    The cleaners were obviously doing a great job.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.8
    Top location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were not as friendly or helpful as they could have been, but generally a good hotel.

    Good size room for location, spa facility and views from top floors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.8
    The location was great, possible to walk to Shinjuku station...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom wasn’t so clean and the room was a bit small.

    The location was great, possible to walk to Shinjuku station and close to Godzilla’s head. Modern hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    10
    Amazing if you’re looking to be in the heart of Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed on the 27th floor which is below the bathhouse on the 28th floor. I could hear banging from the bathhouse but wasn’t enough to ruin my experience at the hotel.

    For the money, this place exceeds value. The area of Kabukicho is in the heart of Shinjuku. Rooms are small, but seemed quite cozy for me— a solo traveler. English speaking staff, easy checkin, clean room...I can’t complan. Japan is their land and culture, yet they went out of their way to accommodate me being a foreigner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very small but that’s expected in Tokyo. No iron to use, only a trouser press which wasn’t handy at all

    Perfect location! Clean rooms and a very comfortable bed. Nice bar on first floor of hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Serious thought should be given to create space for luggage,&improving breakfast menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More consideration for westerners needs at breakfast,not enough fresh fruit,and cereals need more varieties. Room was extremely on the small side,no space to place luggage, no hanging space.

    Location. Clean rooms. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    6.3
    Location good as easy access from Shinjuku station - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small which we sort of expected but felt a bit claustrophobic. The hallways were also very dark (trendy?) which didn't help. Not enough space really for 2 suitcases but it was fine for a couple of nights. Had to climb over each other to get out of bed!

    Location good as easy access from Shinjuku station - the Narita express from airport goes straight to Shinjuku so no need to battle with Tokyo station on first day with jetlag! Staff were very pleasant and spoke good English. Rooms were clean but nothing luxurious!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.3
    Nice building, small but comfy room, I enjoyed a hot bath in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The brekfast buffé looked like a normal one but everything was very sugary.. And loud uptempo-music made it a bit stressful.

    Nice building, small but comfy room, I enjoyed a hot bath in the spa. Great location, close to Golden Gai etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    Pretty covenient location in Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are tinny, however compared to the Tokyo standard it’s ok.

    Pretty covenient location in Tokyo. Facilities are brand new and lots of atractions/restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    4.6
    Don't like is a redlight district too lousy even 3am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many drunken people around The room is too small expressly the toilets it is the worst hotel I ever stayed

    Don't like is a redlight district too lousy even 3am still got noise downstairs Stress 😡

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great location for exploring Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can sometimes wait quite a while for the elevators Room was very small, no space for luggage, but still pleasant despite that

    Great location for exploring Shinjuku. A nice hotel with views of the city and a comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was a bit small

    The property had a nice friendly staff that were quick to assist in any request. The location of the property was close to many attractions like a VR zone and arcades.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    Although the room was tiny, it had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Breakfast Included - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected a small room but it was really tiny. No lobby or anywhere to sit.

    Although the room was tiny, it had everything we needed. The onsen was a plus after a long day of walking. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    7.9
    Probably the best location possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Quite small rooms but it’s not a big deal - Staff communication wasn’t great

    - Location was great, in the heart of Shinjuku - Comfortable beds but awful pillows - Very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Well located, value for money and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little tight for 2 people. The pillows were flat, others weren’t available.

    Check in was easy. The spa was great. Good location and quiet once inside the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    The bath was good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was close to the center, so a little too noisy. Maybe if we hadn't stayed on the 6th floor it would have been better.

    The bath was good enough. It's nice to have such a possibility while staying in the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    It's such an excellent location, we're very glad we had extended our stay from 1 night to 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a safe in the room, I felt that was the only thing missing. Due to lack of floorspace I would have preferred the dehumidifier/purifier removed but available if asked.

    Loved the location of the hotel, perfect to roam around the area at night with plenty to do and see.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.0
    Location was great for moving around Tokyo from.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room and bathroom was only really good for one person. We only had two carry on bags, who knows what we might have done with two full size suitcases - they just would not have fitted in the room. We had to ask for three extra pillows to make a decent pillow amount

    Location was great for moving around Tokyo from. Nightlife in the area was great to be a part of.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great 7 nights spent in a small but cosy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    Great little room. Small but comfortable and clean! I expected to get sick of it after 7 nights there but found it a welcome escape from the busyness of Tokyo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    A good option in one of the most exciting Tokyo neighbourhoods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room and no closet was the main issue. If there is more than one luggage you can barely move. Our solution was to ask to remove the chair gaining the space to put the luggage. Extremely expensive laundry service.

    Great location in the hearth of Shinjuku is the main virtue. Other than that, nice and efficient staff, comfortable bed, cleaning service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    Onsen in hotel a big plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a little shady when coming back late at night... we had an emergency and the staff was very unhelpful and indifferent to us. Feels like you are just another guest here since it’s a busy hotel chain

    Onsen in hotel a big plus! Close to Shinjuku Station and rooms clean and quite

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please don't change the price so dramatically at high demand season. It's ridiculously high.

    Good location. Public bath on top floor, especially outside one!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.9
    The location was great, it was right in the hub of Shinjuku...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small but it didn’t matter too much because we were out all day and only came back to the hotel to sleep.

    The location was great, it was right in the hub of Shinjuku so it was close to lots of places to eat and drink. Really good location from Shinjuku station. There is a family mart opposite the hotel for any snacks or food. It’s also surprisingly quiet for the location aswell. Even though you’re situated right in the hub of Shinjuku I couldn’t hear any outside noise from our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.8
    a great place im the heart of Kabukichi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the lobby had no chairs or facilities for waiting

    the room was small but nice. a huge plus was the public bath on the top floor with indoor and outdoor baths.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room was too small for even 2 persons. The price was too expensive given the size of the room. Probably due to it being still summer.

    The location is hard to beat. Excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.9
    Better stay near Shibuya
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is located in the red light district, the area isn't pleasant at night. Breakfast very expensive.

    The room was clean, we got every day a bottle of water free of charge. The hotel is new, nice staff. Good price, near Shinjuku station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Travelers should understand that this is a very small room. I’ve stayed at many Japanese hotels over many years, and this is the smallest room I’ve ever been in. Tight for a solo traveler, I can’t see how two people could manage.

    Excellent location, clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are very compact

    The hotel is well located with 8 minute walk to Shinjuku station. Despite its busy location the hotel was quiet. A lot of restaurants and 7 eleven stores close by with large department stores in easy walking distance ie Isetan/ Apple / Uniqlo and Golden Town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.6
    *Everything you need within few steps from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    * Bed is little hard. *Be carful from the forgners in the streets. They are tourists trap. If they see that you are not Japanese they will try to offer you bad ****. this is the only negative thing in this area. I hope the police do something about them.

    *Everything you need within few steps from the hotel. *The free public baths onsen in the roof of the tower with amazing view. *Room view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.1
    Location, onsen, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom wasn’t fully clean on check in but when asked to remedy it was brought up to standard well. Room was a bit small.

    Location, onsen, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon check in, you go through the normal process of providing name and details to a staff member before being pointed towards a machine for payment and collection of room key. Really takes the away from the experience and feels very cold having to deal with a machine rather than a person. Didn't like it at all. Wifi was terrible and didn't work well for duration of my stay.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.8
    Clean hotel with friendly staff, but in a very noisy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts take a very long time to get to the ground floor, constantly stopping at a lot of floors, even though no passengers were waiting on those floors. We were on level 22 so quite high up, but it was still very loud at night so don’t expect quality sleep - the sound proofing was substandard and there was a small gap in the window which let noise in.

    The room was spacious for Tokyo standards, and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like every thing about the hotel.

    Very nice and clean hotel ,plus with in the heart of shinjuku .easy to go all nearby areas by walk.staff is very friendly.and few of them can speak and understand english.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.7
    Room too small but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was too small for our 4 night stay. As this was part of a much longer trip we had 2 large suitcases. These took up most of the floor space and there was no where to unpack our things so we had to live out the case.

    Free bottle of water every day. Nice view from 25th floor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again but bring my own pillow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The pillows were very flat, I went out and bought my own. I did not find our room that clean, there was dust on the ceiling, I found a grape on the floor on check in and there was mould in the bathroom. Outside every evening there were a lot of drunk locals, Blaze the club attracts a lot of people, there was always a queue of at least 100 people every evening. Every so often through the night you can hear Godzilla (Hotel Gracery) roar but I learnt to sleep through it.

    The area was perfect and a short walk to Shinjuku station, lots of places to eat and drink. The bar offered guests cheaper drinks, 4 lifts to accommodate lots of guests. The maids left plenty of amenities including bottled water most days, the dressing gowns and slippers were a great touch. Air conditioning was great, we were never too hot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    One of the best hotels I stayed in. The location was perfect. It was in the heart of Shinjuku. There are a lot of things to do around the area. A lot of places to eat and shop! When I say a lot, I mean A LOT! Convenience stores are everywhere. Very close to the train stations and subways as well. I enjoyed my stay in Tokyo! The check-in and check-out is easy. Rooms are very clean. Beds were so comfy that is why it was so hard to get up in the morning. Bathroom has a lot of amenities provided and always clean. It is exactly what is pictured on their site. I love it! Will definitely be back here on our return to Tokyo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    6.7
    Nice, reasonably priced accomodation in downtown Shinjuku entertainment district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really any lounge area in the reception. Pillows were very thin and not comfortable. Single rooms are a bit cramped. No space for opening larger luggage.

    Had room with city view facing west over the train tracks. Very nice views with high-rise buildings. Excellent cover for the bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    5.0
    Tiny room. Not for international travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Propaganda books in room which advocated that Japan did not commit the WWII atrocities, denying the Nanking Massacre and other crimes. We were shocked and checked up - Hotel founder is very leftist, denying war crimes to make Japan strong again. We don’t mind that as a personal view but hotel was used to promulgate this viewpoint. Felt distasteful.

    Hotel is not for international travelers. The room we so tiny we had no space for 2 luggages. Most guests are Japanese internal travelers. Bed and pillows were flimsy, I had a neck ache after 3 nights. But as I said, it’s probably meant for internal travelers staying for just one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.0
    The location was good but i will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very soft i was buried in it. The windows are somehow not closed enough so there was a constant airflow and noise during the whole stay. The room was extremely tiny, very uncomfortable for two people to stay in. With our luggages there were almost no room for us to stand in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.7
    Easy to check in and check out, central location for food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow internet available onsite, PowerPoints didn’t have full power (e.g hair dryer was useless), would not recommend bringing children here - prostitutes waiting in the lobby each night, bit of a walk to the train station

    Easy to check in and check out, central location for food and activities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, midtown, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't like crowded atmosphere just in front of the hotel area, you will not like this place. But for me, I think living in a comfortable room can replace this weak point.

    Locate in the middle of the town. If you like the nightlife you'll love this place. There is an onsen on the top floor but I did not try. The location is good. It takes around 5-7 mins from Shinjuku east exit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.3
    Service and cleaning could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found a top in our room that wasn’t ours (bit weird!). When we told this at check-out they only Saïd: I’m sorry for that. When we wantend to eat breakfast in the morning and my husband went for his Wallet, the staff at the restaurant would’nt let me sit down while I waited (felt like some kind of criminal).

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very convenience hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location, in Kabukicho there are lots of shops and restaurants open 24 hrs, very convenience. The hotel have the open air bath room on the roof top, we can see the city view of Shinjuku from there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.6
    Exciting and beautiful, walking distance to tons of noteworthy points of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were some stains on the bedcovers and headboard.

    I was unwell during my visit and the staff was very kind to me. I appreciated that I could speak English with them to communicate my needs. Everyone was friendly and worked hard to do their best. They were also able to find my lost credit card and return it to me. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.3
    The friendliness and cleanliness of the rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to ask a couple of times for extra pillows due to the pillows being very thin. Other then that the staff was very friendly.

    The friendliness and cleanliness of the rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for going around the district (it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor)- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No smoking area (unless you want to sleep in a smoking room). There is one though across the street which is open from 10a-11p. Hotel is quite a walk (especially with luggage) from the train station. They advise you to take a cab - fortunately I discovered there's a bus that stops at the hotel nearby that takes you to the shinjuku stations.

    Perfect location for going around the district (it's even a part of "local free tours" given). There's public bath open all night. Bed was comfy and room and areas were clean. Nearby convenience stores.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.3
    Small room, decent men, nothing extraordinary but good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with City View (20th - 27th Floor) - Breakfast Included- Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV channels only include BBC, rest is all paid, and they have paid porn channels too..

    Small room, decent men, nothing extraordinary but good experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.1
    Right in the centre of Shinjuku, location is amazing very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the location room is very noisy (even from the 11th floor) and also some questionable people and drunks hanging outside the hotel during the weekend. Room is tiny, as expected and the bed wasn't very comfortable for two (mattress too soft so you kind of sink to one side)

    Right in the centre of Shinjuku, location is amazing very close to Shinjuku station and a Family Mart right outside the hotel. The room is super clean, huge TV and staff are friendly and helpful. Also they canceled one of my nights for free even though it was passed the free cancellation date because my fight was delayed and I got in a day later. Just sent them an email and they canceled right away!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.9
    Location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely disappointed with the breakfast. I paid in advance for the daily breakfast and was not satisfied with the quality or variety of the food. The eggs were the consistency of soup and the side meats (sausages, etc) were cold. The toaster oven they used did not toast or warm the bread. On one morning we arrived for breakfast at 9:30 and were told to leave at 10am because they were going to be cleaning. When I approached the front desk with my complaint, they apologized. I asked for a refund for the remaining days and I was told they could not refund my money because I paid in advance.

    Location was ideal. In the heart of everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay at APA Hotel Shinjuku-Kabukicho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the pillows. If you are expecting a plush pillow think again. They do offer additional pillows, however you have to pay for them.

    the location was great. Right in the heart of Shinjuku and only 10min walk to train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: