Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tokyo Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Tokyo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Capsule Hotel Anshin Oyado Shinjuku

Reviews of Capsule Hotel Anshin Oyado Shinjuku This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

160-0022 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku Shinjuku 4-2-10, Japan

#154 of 1,000 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1342 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    9.6
    A very cool (& comfy) experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some people snore quit loud at night and on the morning, some didn't switch off their alarm, so I wished the capsules were soundproofed? But it depends on the people you sleep with in your floor rather than a matter of the hotel, maybe. You also need to take into account that it's "all men".. but finally I didn't felt any pressure of a "boy's club" (even if I'm FAR from being 'masculine') so it was not a problem for me (it may be because I'm a foreigner and I cannot read well the japanese pressure on masculinity? idk)

    Free drinks in the vending machine, you can choose two pieces of breads/onigiris on the morning for breakfast, razors/shampoos/whatever everything, 24h reception & sentô, literally 1 min from Shinjuku station, and you can also wear some pajamas from there in order no to get dirty your clothes; in short, you can just come without any suitcase and you have everything else there! And it was way more comfortable than I thought it would be (as it was my first time in a capsule hotel)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    Great low cost option when stressing in Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my first time in a capsule hotel so too a little getting used to. Your belongings stay in a locker downstairs which can be a little inconvenient if you forget something in your bag. If any of your neighbors snores you are definitely going to hear it. The capsule opposite of me kept their door open and light on when they weren't there. While not unbareable, it did shine through my door when closed. It was bright enough to make it hard to get back to sleep if I woke up. None of these things were that bad. Considering this is the worst I can come up with I feel it was a pretty good stay!

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel is located across the street from Shinjuku station which is super convenient. The spa area was a very welcome added bonus!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    On of the nicest hotel experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On of the nicest hotel experience ever! I was so positively surpriced in many ways. Perfect location, extreemple clean and comfortable. Will comw back for sure

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    8.8
    Cheap and reasonable solution for a single traveller's short stay (1-2 nights)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be aware of very limited privacy (apart from your capsule of approx. 2 cubic meters). No actual showers (according to western standards), just washing spots inside of the steamy sauna area. Lockers are on the groundfloor and very, very small (there is no possibility to keep luggage / spare clothes at your sleeping capsule), so you have to check in larger bags at the reception and, in case you need something which did not fit in the locker, ask every single time. Breakfast consists of plastic wrapped pastries, usually without English description of its content.

    Excellent location (2 minutes from central train station in Tokyo's best quarter for going out, eating + shopping). Super friendly and helpful hotel staff. Many items for personal hygiene for free, use of sauna and hot tub for free (24h). Free coffee, water, tea, coke, etc. Furthermore vending machines for alcoholic beverages (beer) and snacks for a reasonable price. Fast WLAN worked perfectly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    Very convenient to Shinjuku Station, which also made it easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All great. Super clean. Very nice staff.

    Very convenient to Shinjuku Station, which also made it easy to go elsewhere within Tokyo and still find my way back to the hotel as I often didn’t have WiFi

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    10
    Comfortable, convenient, relaxing and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were very professional, and approachable. Facilities were immaculate despite the visitor traffic. Even when busy the hotel is still relaxing and the complimentaries are outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    8.8
    Very near Shinjuku station with everything you need for a...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you are not comfortable bathing with other naked men than you should probably skip

    Very near Shinjuku station with everything you need for a comfortable stay

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    7.9
    Locker system sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locker system sucks. Make sure you have small amount of luggage. Staffs are really polite as usual. Shinjuku station is close and you can even spend a day around the area. You should just stay here for 1 or 2 days for new experience

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    8.3
    Good place to stay for a few nights with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Logistics weren't great with my Capsule on the 7th floor, showers on 2nd floor, small lockers on 1st floor.

    Location in the heart of Shinjuku, breakfast rolls and drinks included

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited storing space making it more suitable for short stay Should put more effort to remind those guests that have snoring issue to borrow the nose plaster at front desk, during the stay I encounter couple of guests that started sto snore as early as 8pm and making the cabin sound as “snoring orchestra” for the entire night

    All in-house facilities provide a comfortable stay (hot bath, free lounge and drink/ soup, free bread, free WiFi, food vending machine) We can literally stay in the premises without stepping out

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.8
    Great Capsule in perfect Shinjuku location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    changing room in bath area is very small, when busy you will be knocking into alot of naked men. The area where the lockers are on the first floor should have a bench area to sit. The hotel needs more than one elevator.

    The capsule hotel is very clean. The staff are friendly. The public bath is very nice. The capsule is spacious and easy to use

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable and unique
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So-so breakfast (2 packages rolls)

    Wow - what an experience! If you’re coming to Japan, definitely stay at a capsule hotel... and this is a great choice. Comfortable, all amenities provided, great bath

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.6
    Good way to see Tokyo on the cheap and comofrtable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didnt like how difficult it was to store my clothes and get changed.

    Fun place to stay. A bit like a spa. Enjoyed the free amenities which were so helpful. It was a great place to be warm and relax. I loved the free breakfast with the unusual sandwiches like noodle sandwich. I also liked the miso soup and free coffee.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    10
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 6 nights

    locker size is a little too narrow, and you can hear people snoring sometimes (didn't effect my sleep)

    you can leave all of your belongings on the ground floor, they provide everything you can possible need on the upper floors e.g toothbrushes, razors, deoderant, towels, pyjamas, slippers, including free drinks and soup. check-out is 1:30pm

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    The staff is there for any need 24/7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The storage for the bags is on the first floor while the rooms are from the 4th to 7th floors.

    The staff is there for any need 24/7. Very clean and comfortable. Free drinks machine. Breakfast included. Great artificial onsen. Superb location, right near the JR Shinjuku station and the nightlife zone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.6
    The capsules were super comfy and the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothin

    The capsules were super comfy and the staff was nice. Waking up to an onsen and a steam every morning was unbeatable and the massage chair before bed was superb. Cannot recommend enough

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.6
    Backpacker paradise. Location of the hotel is extremely great. Sorry girl, boy only !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to walk up to 2nd floor to take the elevator. The capsule cannot locked (by law).

    It's very clean and I can use most of the hotel facility for free with full set of amenity. It provides hot / cold drink and soup 24 hours from the machine for free too. Hotel instruction is in English.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    The location was absolutely perfect, literally around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Standard Capsule Rooms for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not my first visit, everything was great.

    The location was absolutely perfect, literally around the corner from the south east gate at Shinjuku station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    Great location as a base to explore Shinjuku and Shibuya. Inspiring level of service and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Anshin Oyado is above the bench mark for all capsule hotels. Both the service and the physical product - the capsule - were great. Contrary to expectation, the amount of people at Anshin Oyado did not affect how clean I found all areas of the hotel. The common areas, sleeping area and bathroom were always in great condition. Unlimited Japanese coffee, tea and sugary drinks are always a bonus. Some guests will be put off by the large shared bathroom and onsen, but it's almost a rite of passage when visiting Japan. Keep your eyes out of focus and you will be fine. Thank you Anshin Oyado

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.6
    An experience that exceeded all my expectations about what a capsule hotel would be like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space in the closets were a bit tight and it was slightly inconvenient changing all the time. Also I had a hard time sleeping though I don't know if that was because of me or the bed. Not too much I could complain about in this place!

    Breakfast included (2 packages of bread/japanese convenience store items), which were actually quite tasty. A seriously luxurious experience, with so many amenities and facilities. Highly recommend a stay here for the experience. Free drinks, manga books in the lounge, artificial onsen, good wifi, clean, and enjoyable. Very close to Shinjuku station and I liked how they gave me checkout time until 1pm. They also give you clothes to change in and out of.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all as expected. Some loud snorers and people who are not quiet/respectful in their movements at night time hours. To be expected.

    Great location next to South East Exit of JR Shinjuku. Good shower and locker facilities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.2
    They are very accommodating, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are very accommodating, friendly staff. Sleeping arrangement is small but thats the point a small capsule to sleep in. Have a spa. Overall good experience

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    Good but temperature was a bit cold for winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absence of cool bath in the SPA. (Good to stop the sweating after hot bath)

    Good but temperature was a bit cold for winter. I would say around 17-19 degrees, a bit cold for the thin pyjama provided. I caught a cold.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.2
    As it was my first time going to a capsule hotel, I thought...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having access to luggage was a problem as I always had to ask the receptionist to use.

    As it was my first time going to a capsule hotel, I thought it would be a bit uncomfortable. However, the hotel was very comfortable and the location was very convenient to travel to places such as Harajuku or shibuya and it was close to great food places to shop and eat. The facilities was beautiful and the hotel supplied all our toiletries. The environment of the lobby was very relaxing and pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.2
    Very good but only for 1 or 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the capsule was comfortable, it is impossible not to listening people snoring during the night and many of them go to bed very late, which can also be annoying. Also the fact that I had to leave my big luggage in the lobby, so if you have more than one luggage I don’t recommend staying here for more than 3 nights (I did and was enough for the capsule experience).

    It is located in the heart of Shinjuku! You can find whatever you need walking just a few steps. Also the artificial onsen, the cleanliness of the premises and the service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Cozy premium capsule hotel experience in prime location in the heart of Shinjuku!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cozy Capsule hotel, the amenities were clean and comfy. I also enjoyed the ambience. The last thing was the location was particularly excellent, right next to the bus station and subway station, and at such a cheap price, it was definitely worth.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Leave all your staff in the locker, you will get everything needed for free inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was hard to wind the entrance -- it's at the level UNDER the main street, as you exit JR Station. There is an escalator near NewoMan shop. The locker is small for almost any luggage - ask for a free bigger locker located above your locker.

    It is very clean and well organized. You leave everything in the locker (there is also locker for valuables) and then you get everything needed inside including slippers and pyjamas. 1. razors, toothbrushes, shampoo, hair gels, etc free unlimited in onsen and on the floor - no need to bring own 2. free bottle of water delivered to your capsule daily 3. capsules are spacious, warm and air-conditioned 4. toilets are clean and very well equipped 5. onsen floor has everything to relax and clean yourself including free towels 6. free drinks such as water, team, coffee and few lemonades 7. free miso soup -- you won't starve if you have spent the last penny 8 for a small fee -- washing machines and dryers 9 next to Shinkuku JR station 10 many cafes and bars around (next to McDonalds if you dare ignore Japanese food) 11 Overwhelming number of shopping centers around 12. JR Station is easy to visit Kamakura, Kawasaki (warehouse), and Fuji neighborhood. 13. Nearby Oedo underground station is convenient to visit Tsukiji outer market (enjoyed that twice)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was my first time staying in a capsule hotel, and it was amazing! It felt a lot more luxurious than I was expecting. The artificial Onsen and steam room was the perfect way to end a day after a lot of walking, and the free drinks really helped too. The whole place was very clean, and they provided all the necessary toiletries. The capsule itself was long enough for me (6'4"), and was very comfortable. I stayed two nights, and didn't have to check out between each night, unlike some capsule hotels I've seen. I also managed to get a larger locker for my rucksack. I would definitely stay here again, and would happily stay for longer (i.e. the whole time I'm in Tokyo).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Great location so close to Shinjuku station, great to have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn’t great but it’s a hostel so the fact they provide anything at all is nice. It’s a traditional capsule style hostel so takes a little getting used to if it’s your first time.

    Great location so close to Shinjuku station, great to have an Onsen as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Fantastic capsule hotel I slept very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a bit troublesome to always ask the staff for my luggage whenever I needed something as my luggage was kept in a storage not accessible by guests. The staff will always need to locate your bags and bring it for you even if you needed just a small thing.

    Capsule hotel was very clean and new. Location was excellent. Staff tried their best to communicate in English and even explain the usage of the capsule and facilities provided

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no table to sort out your suitcase , and very limited space in locker areas and no benches , so getting changed there standing by your lockers was very cramped . The decorations , colour schemes could do with a bit of an uplift. Every small toiletry item wrapped in a small plastic package. There is no consideration of waste and Sustainability issues , it's very old school. E.g unlimited supplies if towels. Negative feedback for booking.com is I don't like the fact that booking.com only tell you what the room will cost in your own currency. So when you pay in arrival and they ask for 12000 yen for example , you just have to trust that this is correct .

    Very clean, and well organised ( except the suitacase and changing bit). Beds were comfy . Got a fairly good night's sleep. The free massage chairs were a nice bonus. Good showering and washing facilities and nice hot soaking pool.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money and an interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't clear to me that you close your capsule only with a curtain that you pull down. I thought it would be "proper doors" or "windows" that you can close to have some privacy as the stairs for the upper cabins appeared to me like parts of a window in the photos. Thus it felt like a hostel to me with limited privacy and you can hear if s.o. is snoring. But then the hotel offers you also free earplugs so they do their best to ensure you gave a pleasant stay olus akso special nose stripes for people snoring so they don't bother other guests :-D

    You get a lot for your money. Free softdrinks in the public area, the onsite onsen is perfect to relax after walking all day through the city for sightseeing, vending machines for drinks and snacks available etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Staff were super friendly and helpful, hotel was SUPER clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of something I didn't like. Really exceeded my expectations and would advice this to any solo travelers who want to explore Tokyo and relax in this Hotel!

    Staff were super friendly and helpful, hotel was SUPER clean, bathroom is relaxing. Everything you could need is provided by the hotel, organisation is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Re. the breakfast, better have an English indication of what kinds of bread are.

    Excellent location. Next to Shinjuku Station. Suitable to catch the Highway Bus in the early morning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    My stay was excellent, I will definitely recommend Anshin Oyada to all my friends and I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It can be a bit crowded in the locker room area especially if three guys want to unpack or get dressed at the same time!

    All the amenities one need are available! Excellent toiletries!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Great, authentic Japanese experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a massive problem but it's worth noting that if you're not comfortable being totally naked in front other men, this may not be the place for you. The bathing facilities are communal; there isn't a private option and swimwear isn't allowed to be worn in the onsen.

    Great location in the heart of Shinjuku. Toiletries, chargers and breakfast included in the price. On demand films on the in-capsule TV was a nice touch too. Capsule was way more comfy than I thought t would be. Everywhere was really clean. Really enjoyed bathing in an onsen every morning. It's really relaxing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.2
    The best Capsule Hotel possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got a little confused when I arrived about the logistics with my luggage. I had to go to the downstairs every time I wanted to pick something inside my bag.

    I enjoyed almost everything. The experience was very good. Everything was very clean. There were many things the hotel gave us for free like towels, clothes, tea, soda, water, food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    5.8
    The capsules are relatively spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lockers are too small (too narrow). I could barely fit my backpack into one of them. There aren't enough lockers next to the showers/tubs.

    The capsules are relatively spacious and clean. The location is great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.5
    It was comfortable, they were very accommodating and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No private shower so need to be ok with that. I was but still was unexpected and larger luggage has to be stored so difficult to get a change of clothes

    It was comfortable, they were very accommodating and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.3
    Luxury Capsule hotel in lively Shinjuku area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean capsule hotel that I would recommend if you are looking for a capsule with a bit of luxury. The sleeping capsule itself is roomy and comes with great in-built facilities (does not feel at all claustrophobic) The amin attraction of this hotel is the spa facilities. The artificial hot spring bath is a fantastic way to relax after a hectic day in Tokyo and the hotel also has a steam room and massage facilities (all very luxurious for a capsules hotel) The location is also great, only a 1 minute walk to Shinjuku station and very close to all the bars, restaurants and nightlife that Shinjuku has to offer. For another quick 1 night stay in Tokyo I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Great hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locker space was very small. And having to keep my luggage behind reception was quite an inconvenience as I had to bother the staff repeatedly just to get trivial things.

    The onsen facility was great, the sleeping capsules were surprisingly spacious. Lots of amenities, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    everything is great especially the capsule bed - extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is great especially the capsule bed - extremely comfortable! the common area is great too with aseveral massage chairs and a lot of freebies drinks :P

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Great value for price capsule hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The constant music could sometimes be a little annoying. Keeping the luggage beside the reception was a little inconvenient sometimes if you travel with big luggage or for more days

    Everything was clean, many free amenities and the free onsen was awesome. The staff was always helpful, check and check out really easy. The location perfect just a 2 minutes from the South East Exit of JR Shinjuku station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Everything fine apart from being too hot inside even with the small air duct on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Capsules were so hot inside! Another person commented to me in the elevator that he had to sleep with the curtain open the night before as it was so hot

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the onsen.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff wasn't very good in english. I expected more from the breakfast.

    I really liked the onsen. There was free drinks all day long. The position is super convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    I had an Amazing stay, very well located in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an Amazing stay, very well located in the heart of Tokyo, in Shinjuku. Fast free wifi available everywhere. The capsule is so good: comfortable bed with TV, alarm clock, headphones, personal light, charger point, water, earplugs, duvet, a/c. There is everything you might need: pajamas, extra pillow, toothbrush, wax, comb, slippers, free massage chair, Hot spring available, very relaxing after visiting Tokyo all day. free snacks and drink available. Staff is helpful and friendly. Bathroom and showers and all areas are very very clean. I will be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, unbeatable at this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No area to pack/unpack luggage, lockers are a bit small. It gets hot in the capsule even with air conditioning on.

    Staff is generally helpful, my bag and shoes were wet because of the typhoon and they helped me to get them dry. English is spoken and understood well for general enquiries. The location can't be more convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel only has a public bath. The locker is too small and definitely not enough if your trip is more than 2-3 days. You have to keep your luggage at the front desk only.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    The place is very quiet, clean, comfortable but the price is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Group showers

    The place is very quiet, clean, comfortable but the price is a bit high, probably because it is season. There are several things to consider. 1. Shower places are not individual but collective. 2. Beware of using plastic bags inside the capsules because they are annoying. 3. All your bathing and body-cleaning needs are free of charge for all. 4. Guests have free hot drinks from vending machines. 5. The bag is always delivered to front desk because it has no place in the capsules.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Super awesome hotel and very strategic location. 100% recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Super clean! I love all aspects of cleanliness and tidiness of the hotel. superb! very strategic location. Shinjuku Station just 3 minutes walking, Shinjuku Bus Station is just 2 minutes away! Shopping complex! restaurants! all are walking distance!! Love it so much! I fall in love with the modern Onsen idea. Very refreshing to shower with free unlimited toiletries. To get naked to bathroom area (Onsen style), at first quite awkward, but easily get used to it. Don't mind to naked in front of all men bathroom and yet i feel it was so awesome. New experience for me and i love it. Free drink is also so attractive! so many choices to choose too! love it! Staff are very helpful and willing to listen to customers. I cherish that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    Capsule hotel with complete amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None.

    The bed is very comfort. The facilities are very complete (onsen with complete amenities, laundry machine, ironing, printer, internet, tv, etc) . There is massage chair as well. And even they provide free coffee and soft drink through vending machine. The location is near shinjuku station, only 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    The location, the free drinks, the bathroom, the manga room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Storing luggage needs a bit of organization. Make sure, you have everything you need when you store your luggage by the counter. Do not worry, you can have access to your luggage at any time but it can be time consuming.

    The location, the free drinks, the bathroom, the manga room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, roomy capsules with complete facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is personal but I didn't like having to take off shoes to get to reception (as well as to quickly go in and out to grab something). Large luggage needs to be given to staff for safekeeping which is not ideal if you forgotten something and need to take them out.

    Comfortable, roomy capsules with complete facilities and amenities. Great selection of free beverages. Good for a quick meal before you head off to Shinjuku station which is just a few mins walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    A very convenient and comfortable place to stay in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location right by Shinjuku station is unbeatable. The Balinese music and art in the common areas made it extra relaxing. Everything was extremely well organized and clean, and the staff was professional. I was there on a Monday night, and so it was not as crowded as it might be other nights. I highly recommend this place (or another one in their group) if you need a relaxing place to crash for the night in Tokyo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Compared to other capsule hotels in Tokyo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shoes had to be hand carried and provided slippers to be worn within the hotel which is fine. But this also has to be done even when just reaching the reception desk. Can be hectic sometimes.

    Very clean and well equipped hotel. The facilities are too generous. Polite and friendly staff who spoke good English too. Shinjuku Station is across the road via a tunnel directly from the Hotel’s door as well as busy food and shopping streets were a minute-walk away. Premier Capsule was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    The perfect hotel for exploring Tokyo during the day and getting a great rest at night. 10/10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 8 nights

    While the WiFi was excellent, the computers in the lounge area were a bit too slow when I was trying to back-up my photos during the trip. But if you have a lot of data you need to upload, there's a Manboo! net cafe next door as a last resort.

    Initially, I was a bit skeptical about being able to sleep in what is essentially a long hallway with 24(?) beds that are divided only by a curtain. But as soon as I used my key card to enter the secure sleeping area, it was dead silent aside from the sound of slippers moving to and fro and the occasional light snoring. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, the pillows were outstanding, and being able to relax in the spa before going to bed was absolutely fantastic. Honestly, I haven't slept this well in ages. The staff were great, the other travellers were quiet and polite, and the location couldn't have been better. Loved it, even after spending eight nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC is quite loud, ear plugs is a must.

    This is a capsule hotel. As a foreigner you must know some details about capsule hotels that I didn't know before. First, there is a locker room where you basically leave all your stuff, you then dress in a kind of pajama and take only the necessary things with you. If your luggage doesn't fit into the locker you can give it to the hotel staff. In the restrooms everything is provided, you don't even need to take a toothbrush. (Public) showers are only in the onsen area. The capsule is roughly 2 meters long, so for a large person it might get tight. Once you get accustomed to these things, the hotel is very enjoyable. Breakfast is OK. The area is perfect, only 1 min to Shinjuku station. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ask for a capsule further to the back of the room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    It was a good experience, I would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV volume was low even with headphones. Sometimes I could hear snoring. It was a bit hard to find the building.

    The free breakfast snacks and drinks were convinient and saved me a trip to the conbini. The onsen was nice. Overall, a simple and efficient solo travel option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient location, reasonable price, great for solo/flying visits to Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing worth noting was that the lockers for your luggage were very small, so having to keep your large luggage at the front desk is a little inconvenient. Also, the "onsen" attached is small and technically not a natural hot spring.

    Everything was great as far as Capsule Hotels go. VERY close to Shinjuku station. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Very good facilities - everything is clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more friendly. They do not check in before 3 PM. The acoustics on the floor is not perfect - you may hear noise/alarm clocks from other capsules

    Very good facilities - everything is clean and functional. A lot of free stuff (massage chair, cold/hot drinks, light breakfast, shaving/cleaning razors). Nice public bath with a steam room + hot mineral water pool. Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was very clean and the hotel had a peaceful vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room mostly is for sleeping so I felt a lot of pressure to be quiet. Also the capsules come with a mini air conditioner but my capsule was hotter than the room most of the time.

    Everything was very clean and the hotel had a peaceful vibe. The massage chairs were nice as well as the free beverage machine. The pillow selection rack was amazing since I don’t like fluffy pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, excellent service. Perfect for solo travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lockers were a bit small, so I had to leave my small carrier bag at the counter, which was particularly hassle for me (and staff) during peak times of check-in/out when there were lines at reception. There are a number of larger overhead lockers available, but these are limited and based on first in first served. The breakfast portions were slightly small too.

    All staff were very friendly, even those that I had trouble communicating with in English. The facilities (bathroom, lounge, beds) were all in excellent condition and maintained very well. Couldn't ask for a better location in Shinjuku, with the station only 5 mins walk away. There was a range of options for the complimentary breakfast, and many free vending machine drinks available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.2
    excellent service, friendly staff and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent service, friendly staff and very helpful. Amazing amenities. Only downside is that lounge area is quite limited but otherwise an excellent experience. wouldn't recommend stay for more than 1-2 days for travellers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Shinjuku Capsule experience with style and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lockers are sort of average or slightly bigger than average, but still not enough for huge luggage. Not a lot of minor issues, wouldn't really complain.

    Hands down one of the best capsule hotels on this side of town. No need to check out everyday as some capsule hotels do. Very accessible from Shinjuku Bus and Train Station. From the outset I was impressed. Reception agreed to store my luggage while I had a two-day day trip out of town before I checked in. The whole place had a pleasant smell and soothing sound. One floor had mangas, charging stations, booths to sit or use laptops, free and paid beverages and vendos, massage chairs and TVs. One floor was dedicated for the shared traditional Japanese shower and bath. The rest are sleeping floors with toilets and grooming areas overlooking the main road. Toiletries are well stocked-throughout. Also, you can use as much towels as you want. Smoking areas are separated from the living areas, which is an absolute bonus. There is a shoe polisher/buffer for your convenience. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.1
    The free bar was very nice, and also the in-capsule TV was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little inconvenient that everything was in a separate floor. Additionally (but this is subjective according to one’s tastes), I didn’t like that there were no private showers, but rather a shared hot spring.

    The free bar was very nice, and also the in-capsule TV was an interesting addition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    The perfect introduction to a unique Tokyo experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spent four days there which is probably too many. The clothes changing and access to luggage becomes a little tiresome.

    The perfect introduction to a unique Tokyo experience. The capsule beds were very comfortable and the Onsen was excellent given the size of the space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in an excellent location, with lots of free and useful amenities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is fantastic, one of my best experiences. The massage chair is really free, as well as the hot spa, amities, free drinks, and breakfast. The respect of the other guests to me and each other was extraordinary. The bed is very comfortable, and the capsule is quiet. I would only stay here if I was to visit Tokyo again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Artificial hot bath, available amneties, the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room where my capsule is located was too hot for me to sleep well. Also the airco in my capsule didn't either work properly or it's not powerful enough.

    Artificial hot bath, available amneties, the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    Japan and salary man culture up and personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You gotta remember, this is a capsule hotel for salary men first and foreigners on a 2 week holiday second. Before you enter, take off shoes, put in locker, take keys. Put on slippers. Check-in - leave keys with front of staff and you'll get a tag. You bring with you most vital staff, the luggage stays with them. To your right, lockers - on the way pick up pants and shirt. Leave clothes behind, you'll undress into your new PJ - no underwear required... Your clothes, old and probably tomorrow's can stay in this locker. Depart and head up the stairs - left of reception desk. This is the cafe and massage room - vending machines and tables to eat drink watch TV, computer and anything you want BUT no talking - this is the world of the salary man. Above is their onsen and laundry room. Here you take off your shoes, get a locker - put everything in. Go arse naked into the japanese public shower - wash your stool, shower like a man. Don't wet others. Wash up your chair and area. Walk slowly yet calm into the onsen, it's hot. No splash. The Japanese always observe but never judge. And soak, you don't wash your up, you let the heat fix the pains in your joints. Afterwards, dry up. Towels are provided. Go to your floor - rest rooms and bathroom has everything you need. Tooth brush, tooth paste, shaving gear. And go to your capsule room - nice and quiet. Ear plugs might be needed, if your a deep snorer the front desks provide a clip. Inside you have everything from AC to alarm to TV and a ipad to order things directly from the front desk to your coffin in the sky

    Japan and salary man culture up and personal. Amazing staff, great service, incredible by all forms of measurement. Great location, great views, really enjoyed it. A must visit if you are remotely curious about salary men culture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.9
    nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole function for accommodation is very sophisticated designed in such a small area. Thus, it's somehow inconvenient when you want to grab something from your locker on the 1st floor while you are already lying on the bed on the 6th floor....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.9
    Very close to JR/subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are entered width wise, so getting in and out is a bit inconvenient. Going in and out of the capsule hotel, you use a shoe locker to put on/off your shoes. This is a traditional practice but it can be inconvenient for those who wish to come and go. Small fan in the capsule does nothing but make noise.

    Very close to JR/subway station. Was able to get a train the next morning with only a 5 min walk. The temperature of the overall room was hot when I entered, later in the evening it seems the AC was put on and much more comfortable. Breakfast and beverage items were a nice touch. Can't really complain with the price and the location if you just need a night's rest somewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    4.2
    Noisy, expensive capsule, there are cheaper choices somewhere else that are much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many steps to get in and out of this hotel, it's a hassle. Too crammed, very noisy, noisy staff cleaning capsules at 6.30 am

    Location, near train station. Free drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Excellent and good for prove for tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    better map of the location would help. took me some time to find the place on maps.

    Great location near station. Staff were friendly and helpful while the facilities were excellent with nice common area, clean and many free drinks. Overall it was an excellent stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    8.8
    Genuine capsule experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor soundproofing. It was ok the first night, but I was not very lucky the second, cause the most heavy-snoring guy in the room was just in the capsule below. In fact, it sounded more like a wild boar with apnea fits being tortured, than really a person snoring. All-night long! I think that people snoring like that should be put in special areas in this kind of places. What should have been an exotic experience for me turned a bit into a nightmare; I was able to sleep only two hours, yet thanks to lots of pills

    Great location in the heart of Shinjuku. Clean, good facilities. Very friendly staff. Fast wifi, breakfast ok. The capsule itself was ok and not oppressive at all To be recommended if you want to try the genuine capusle hotel experience (only one or two nights)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet, cozy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Capsule Room for Male
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the stays (I stayed twice) it seemed that aircon wasn't powerful enough in my capsul, so it was stuffy.

    Clean, quiet, cozy and comfortable. Staff speaks good English. Everyone who stays there is very respectful to rest of the others. Perfect location - 5-7 minutes walk from (right) exit of Shinjuku station. There is sauna with hot pool (free of charge), laundry (for additional fee), free WiFi and vending machines with tasty food. Out of all hotels, hotesls and guest houses, that is one of the best stays. If you are not claustrophobic, definitely give it a try.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Capsule Hotel Anshin Oyado Shinjuku Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: