Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Gifu hotel reviews
  4. Takayama hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Country Hotel Takayama

Reviews of Country Hotel Takayama This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

506-0026 Gifu, Takayama, Hanazatocho 6-38, Japan

#64 of 91 hotels in Takayama

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5282 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great Location with Convenient Store
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms very convenient place and clean and was good. The staff very helpful and friendly. The bed it kinda hard, it just not very soft when you lying on the bed. Overall, i'm having a great location with a great price when booking early. Bonus, it has Family Mart at the ground floor.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We pay 100yen to hotel for a bottle of water. It should be free for customers in the room.

    Location is excellent. Few steps from Takayama station and Nohi Bus Center. Room is very clean. Staffs are good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good location to roam around Takayama
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is quite small

    located just opposite of the Nohi bus terminal and Takayama station along the route to morning market and old town breakfast is good providing a mobile phone in the room for sightseeing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    The location is very good and the room is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is small and the air conditioning is not working at all. Even we lower down the temperature, it is still very hot.

    The location is very good and the room is clean. Convenient store is nearby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Staffs are very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room is quite small so that it is very hot and feel like lack of air if we use the air conditional (even if we use the lowest mode). So most of time, we turn off it. It was a little bit cold for my small child at night.

    Staffs are very friendly. Near train station and the downtown so it is easy for us to go to work as well as visit Takayama. There's a Family mart store at 1st floor. it is very convenience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to Takayama station. Nohi bus stop is just opposite hotel. Toyota rent a car is also within few mins walk. Walking distance to Takayama old town and morning market.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.5
    it was very convenient to get from the train station as it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very convenient to get from the train station as it was just right across it. not too far of a walk from the morning markets and sanmachi suji as well as other souvenir stores. there is also a convenience store right below it. room was small and mattress was hard but it was very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    4.2
    Only good for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very small and bathroom smelly a bit like urine and staff is not so friendly compare to other hotels in japan

    Location very near to JR station and nohi bus terminal

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Very profesional staff, competent and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very profesional staff, competent and nice. We received a pocket wifi which helped us a lot. Very good localization close to railway station. Nice room, sound proved and nice equipped.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Just next to the station, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size was ok for a one night stay, but perhaps a bit small for longer stays.

    Just next to the station, very clean and comfortable. There's a convenience store at ground floor.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.9
    The coffee machine in the lobby provide cheap and good coffee! The overall experience is good, and t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee machine in the lobby provide cheap and good coffee! The overall experience is good, and the hostel is very near to station, super convenience!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Hard beds but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were so hard it was like sleeping on wood. The rooms felt like they were from the 1970's.

    The location was fantastic. It was a 1 minute walk to the station and under 10 mins to old town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Really worth your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, just in front of the train and bus stations! The facility is good. Conbini is on the ground floor. Everything is perfect, especially compared with the price. Visited in Oct'18.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous Takayama
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were a bit hard but clean, tidy and friendly staff.

    The location was fabulous. Across the road from the bus station and a short walk from the old town of Takayama. It is an amazing place and we loved it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Best location ever.. just across the bus & train station!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, although being Japan , the rooms are really small. Big luggage needed to be closed up , or else we can’t move or get out of room as the bathroom door opens outward.!

    Location, location!! Full bathroom amenities.. toothbrushes, shavers as well!! Hotel is just above family mart convenience . There is a staircase beside to go up to reception on 2 nd floor. Later we found that there was a lift on the ground just around the corner! Suggested to hotel to have a sign to indicate the presence of lift to get to the reception reception area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location but food could be a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was terrible - did not match the quality and quantity of food advertised.

    Location was excellent. It was so convenient to get to and from the train and bus stations. The room was comfortable although I did pay more for the extra room space

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    Recommended for easy access and private. Love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was bit pricey compared to our previous place of stay, but the proximity of the hotel makes up for it.

    It was really close to the station! After a long day at the road I was glad I don't have to walk far or to search again for the hotel, not to mention that it was pretty late when we got to Takayama. The staff were helpful, even the cleaning lady was eager to help, even of she couldn't speak English.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.7
    2 minute walk from train station and there’s a family mart...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were like sleeping on concrete. Most uncomfortable bed I’ve ever slept on. Asked to change and they said all the beds In the hotel were the same and were the same all over Japan which is completely untrue.

    2 minute walk from train station and there’s a family mart right under the hotel which is really convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Staff are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are very nice. And location is very near train and bus station! I love it!!! Would reccomened. If you don't smoke and don't like the smell of smoking, don't book smoking room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great location to sightsee in Takayama - in all directions-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was VERY small (my 1.8m tall husband could lie across both beds and touch both walls!) And the beds were REALLY hard! Not the best nights sleep (& I can usually sleep anywhere!)

    Great location to sightsee in Takayama - in all directions- right across from JR Station and bus depot. Also close to lots of good restaurants. Good value for money and overall comfortable despite the small rooms and incredibly hard beds. I’m glad we didn’t have our large suitcases here - they would have taken all the available floor space!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    A convenient location close to the station, bus transportation and Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were professional and the hotel is a walk away from the train and bus station and the must see locations, such as Old Town. Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was simple, but delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for! Simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sweet smelling room, instead of stale cigarette smoke.

    Very old and dated property. Had to choose a smoking room as there were no non smoking rooms available. The smell was horrendous! It would be an idea to put airfresher devices to assist with the stench of smoke. We were not the only patrons that found it overwhelming, another couple also came down after checking in to see if they could change their room. In this day and age I would think that all rooms should be non smoking. Upside location was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for unpretentious solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that I literally had to leave the room key at the reception every time I left the hotel. Very unconvenient and awkward. I would have much rather signed some paper assuming responsibility for an eventual loss than have to hand it over to someone whenever I felt like exiting the main door.

    Comfortable queen-size bed in single room. The room was tidy and clean overall, despite the old-fashioned vibe. Excellent location - right across the JR station. Friendly English-speaking staff. The free luggage-storage service after check out was appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    extremely convenient, right opposite the bus terminal/train station. many places of interest is within walking distance except hida-no-sato folk village (which is a bus ride 15 minutes away, take bus at bus terminal).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested non smoking room but was given a smoking room . The toilet was not as clean as expected , requested to re do the cleaning but still smelly.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room way too small , no place to even open luggage , for one to stay in hotel surely it must be at least a day or two , thus will have luggage , but in this case there’s no place at all for luggages let alone to open up the luggage

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super hard, got back pain for days Bathrooms does not get enough ventilation, there was some fungus stains plus a weird smell

    Location was great, right next to the JR station, short walk to everything. Family mart downstairs

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant and well positioned hotel with very good services and polite staff. Great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    smoke around the convenience store outside

    Convenience to all sites and shops, across from train and bus stations. Great brekky and friendly service provided.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Laundry Facilities were not very efficient. Washers don't spin your clothes dry enough hence it takes a long time to get everything dry. A few simple improvements in the room would really help a tight space such as a few wall hooks and under bed luggage storage, Overall was good value.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    2nd time here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Air condition in winter Just only heater because it's cold outside.

    2nd time here ! The location is so nice ! Close to the bus station and JR station. Very convenience to travel around Takayama and nearby cities. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    They thought of everything down to the minor details such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They thought of everything down to the minor details such as shoe polish etc. I loved everything about this hotel this hotel made our takayama trip even better n more enjoy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.8
    Our visit to Takayama and its surroundings including Shirakawa-go was ok except for the rain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was extremely small - we had to put one of our luggage bags on to the bed to move around and remove it from the bed when sleeping. The toilet was also small like an air-plane toilet, except that it also has a small tub and shower-head for bathing. I suppose that's because it was the cheapest room available, but considered expensive compared to Tokyo & Osaka standards.

    Great location - it's just opposite the main Takayama train station & saves a lot of time & energy walking there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.1
    The location right by the train and bus station is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel furniture is quite old fashioned and the reception staff was unfriendly to us. The mattress was a little hard and the room tiny (Japanese standard).

    The location right by the train and bus station is very convenient. The room is very clean and has everything you need. The price per night seemed reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Wish we could’ve stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was alittle hard for my taste

    We loved our stay in takeyama, the city and surrounds are beautiful, and this hotel has everything you need to enjoy it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.3
    Not one to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard, the room small, the corridors are tiled so the suitcase and foot noise was unpleasant as was the noise from late night revelers made worse as the window would not close correctly.

    Local to the railway station. The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Superb budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe I couldn’t figure out the aircond, but the room was a bit warm.

    Excellent value for the price paid. Just across the road from the bus terminal, which is next to the train station. Right above a Family Mart. Front desk staff called ahead to my next hotel to confirm booking when helping with the luggage forwarding. Room and bathroom was super small but very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.8
    Location opp station excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was so small we could not put luggage anywhere except on bed and bed very rock like. Spend a little more for a bigger room i recommend.

    Location opp station excellent. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.9
    Right across the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small bedroom and bathroom even for Japanese hotel standard within the same price range. It was very warm in the room, and we cannot control the temperature, we can only control the fan speed.

    Very strategic location, right across Takayama station. Convenience store is downstairs too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent just across the street from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning was hot for some reason which surprised us at 3am when we woke up boiled. Hotel facilities are outdated but clean

    Location was excellent just across the street from the station and nice staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    5.4
    I’m definitely won’t come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s odor in the bathroom. Fridge not cold at all.

    The only attraction is the location. It’s just the opposite side of bus station and Takayama station, very convenient!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.5
    Stay in Takayama
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds/pillows were not very comfortable and the room was very small. It was very tight in there for two people. The room was clean but the bathroom didn't look as clean. There was not much room to leave the baggage and it was on the way.

    The location is very good opposite the train station and the bus station to Shirakawa-gō. The walking distance to the centre of Takayama is very nice and there are plenty of places to eat withing walking distance. Also there is a small supermarket below the hotel. The breakfast in the hotel has a wide variety of food, from traditional Japanese things to toast and jam.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional/outstanding reception.
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room was a drawback. (We got a much bigger room for much less price at Hotel Grand Terrace Toyama.)

    Fantastic location with close access to necessary places.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.4
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Requested a non smoking room when booking and was still given a smoking room on arrival. Was told there were no available non smoking rooms on the 3 nights we stayed there. The floor , hallway room and towels smelled cigarettes and had ashtrays in the room and bathroom. 2. The room was the smallest of all the hotels we stayed in the Japan= no available place to put even a backpack, not to mention the luggage except on the bed or on top of the small refrigerator. 3. Need to eliminate one bed to accommodate 2 people.

    LOCATION

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air circulation in the room unless you open the window and the door slightly; I took a hot shower and the entire room became humid and stayed that way for a while. The body wash soap they provide was a bit harsh on my skin, but nothing crazy.

    I like that they stored my luggage before I was able to check in, luggage free sightseeing until check in time. The bed was very comfortable and I had an amazing view of Takayama station and the mountains behind, all the while sun beaming through the clouds. They also provided a free smart phone that is intended to be used for tourism purposes; I didn't get to use it but I saw others using it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.4
    Take this hotel only if you have no other choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor, staff was not very friendly, poor amenities, I had to ask for some sugar at the reception, the answer was- you can get only 2 (we were 2 people), smelly room and whole hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    Good money for value but still not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very very small!! You can't even open one suitcase in the room because it blocks the way to the door and bathroom. Air conditioning didn't really work so we had to sleep with the window open which was ok until the traffic started in the morning and did a lot of noise. It wasn't clean enough. The walls are all smudged with black stains.

    Money for value is fair. A cheap hotel in front of the jr train station. Next to a lot of restaurants and above a big family mart. Staff was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    4.6
    Location was good, staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They were the hardest beds l have ever slept in. It was like sleeping on the floor. You should provide coffee as well as tea.

    Location was good, staff were nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was really small. So economy twin room would be really cramp for big sized individuals. No room at all to move around that too we dont have any luggage so we kind of managed it. Lucky its only for a nite stay..opt for a bigger room if staying longer.

    Location!!! Juz a few steps away from bus and train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Convenient location from the bus terminal and JR Line
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving the key to the reception every time I have to go out. The elevator will mandatory stop at the 2F (front desk) so that you will be reminded to leave the key first before going down.

    THE LOCATION! It's literally just one hop away from the bus terminal and JR! It has a Family Mart downstairs to answer all your hunger desires! It has a lot of souvenir shops that are supplied with many many stuff! I didn't try the breakfast because there are options to eat around. The room was small but it's alright for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Compact.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were very, very hard.

    Location was excellent. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good price even though it was a compact room, it had everything. We had 2 rooms with kids.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.1
    Superb location but small room size for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very small , not much space to put 2 big luggages plus air conditioner doesn't work well, took very long time to cool the room down.

    The location is super super good, just opposite the bus/train station and not far from all attraction areas. There is also a family mart situated on the ground floor which make it convenient for a quick snack/meal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    6.3
    Nice Takayama
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some members of the staff were a bit rude. The bed is ok although for me it was too tough

    The city. Takayama is one of my favourite cities in Japan. The train station is just in front of the hotel. The city is small, you can walk to the city centre in 2 min.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    If you want to explore Takayama city,
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because it is a business hotel taste, it may be unsatisfactory to those seeking "Japanese style"?

    Bus center Eyes before your eyes 1F is a convenience store The front desk is a foreign language OK, correspondence is also good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    Easy to find, just in front of the train and bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very well located, facilities are good. It could be the best quality prices rate hotel in the area. The staff really friendly. The city could be visited in one day and this hotel provides all you need for one night and continue your journey in Japan ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    We recommend the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We reserved a room which allows smoking, because that was all that was left. The room itsrlf smelled OK, but the entire floor smelled like cigarettes. It is to be expected in a smoking floor, but it would not satisfy someone sensitive to a smell of smoking.

    The hotel is right in front of the train and bus station, which was perfect for us. The charming old City is close by foot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    5.8
    The location was to train station was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only rooms that were available were smoking rooms. The bedroom smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. Decor was stained with nicotine and trying to sleep with the smell made me feel sick. The hotel is budget but could do with a facelift and a good paint job and definitely no smoking in bedroom only in designated smoking rooms would be better for other customers. The mattress is very hard like a rock, very uncomfortable when you’re tired and need a good sleep. Overall a good value hotel for short stay only.

    The location was to train station was very good. Within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Great Accomodation for a stop over in Takayama
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, but that's the standard in Japan and the furnishing was a little old.

    Awesome location right next to Takayama station. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the grocery store on the ground floor was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient location near the JR Station, Bus Station and the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the twin room is not enough to open two large suitcases at the same time.

    The location here is the major advantage. The hotel is basic but a fair value for the money. Room was quiet, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.1
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The management of this hotel seems to have gone out of its way to be irritating. Before we arrived I had a question and I tried contacting them by email, booking message and directly through their website but got no response. When we dropped off our bags prior to check in they told us that if we lost the tag they gave us we wouldn't be able to have our bags back! They make you leave the key at reception every time you go out, and there is a ridiculous 30,000 yen charge if you lose it. To show how much they care about security, when you come back and go to reception to get your key, you give your room number and they look up the name that the room is registered to and ask if that's you (i.e. anyone can go to the counter and give a random room number, and then say they are whichever name is quoted to them, and they can get into your room!!) The room gives miniscule a new meaning, and the bathroom is even tinier. There are hardly any power sockets and the plumbing is very noisy. You can't sit up in bed because of the location of the light switches and air conditioning controls, and the bed is very hard. The angle of the shower head means that water hits against the back wall, from where it has no choice but to run along the top of the bath and flood the floor.

    The location is great - straight across the road from the bus station (which is right next to the train station), and within easy walking distance of everything. A good location doesn't make up for all of the hassle though...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.8
    Very good location, right in front of the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had smoking rooms and as soon as u enter the hotel, there is a moisture, horrible smell. Breakfast was also poor, lack of flavor and variety Rooms were super small

    Very good location, right in front of the train station and across a bike rental

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.7
    Location close to the station and the staff is very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is limited. The size of the room is quite small. The hotel needs a big retrofit to be adapted in order to improve the comfortability and appearance.

    Location close to the station and the staff is very kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, close to the train station and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really friendly and helpful, everything we needed was there and clean and the hotel is just across the train and bus station which is quite convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    It is located in front of Takayama station.
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located in front of Takayama station. They provide single rooms including private bathroom with reasonable price. They also provide a great service where they can take your suitcase and send it to another city for around 2000-3000 yen. The ground level of the hotel is a family mart. I think that it is the best hotel in the area regarding the location and the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    The location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow provided is a bit small for western standard.

    The location! It's just opposite the Takayama station and also the Nohi bus terminal to Shirakawa-go. Family mart just below the hotel thus very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.2
    very good location,1 min walk fron the JR/bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very good location,1 min walk fron the JR/bus station. A convenience store is just on the ground floor. The room is small, but good value for money. Walking distance from the restaurant and tourist attractions. You can’t ask for more with this price in Japan. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    Uncomfortable bed, free to use smartphone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A baby-sized, lumpy, uncomfortable pillow. hard, stiff matress. The laundry dryer machine is inefficient at all. do not use it, unless you want to spend coins.

    Clean room with disposable toothbrush and paste and razor. Handy-smartphone, free to use, with free wifi, to stroll outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Takayama wasn't part of our plan, but we ended up there and was such a pleasant surprise that we added another night in this great hotel. City is lovely and close to amazing places like Kamikochi, hotel is perfectly located with great restaurants around and convenience store. Staff is super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    5.4
    As
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smoking room as we are non smoker and it was only larger room available so would not recommend as bedding etc reaked with cigarette smell

    Location but stay away from smoking room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    7.1
    I looked under the bed and it was really dirty with a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I looked under the bed and it was really dirty with a lot of dust, also behind the bed. Rooms are very small and outside the bed area they are clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.5
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is rather dated. The corridor floors are tiled which amplifies noise from other guests walking to their rooms. The rooms itself are tiny.

    The hotel is in a good location, right accross from the bus and train station. It is very affordable. There are washing machines/dryers for guests to use. On the ground floor is a convienience store. The hotel is walking distance from the sights. We had breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor. It is buffet style and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect, and personnel very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked an smooking room because there were no other ones available and it really recked, that was the worst, we both woke up with headaches due to the smell. Why would they allow it I’ll never understand...

    The location was perfect, and personnel very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    5.4
    Position near ti train and bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old room, very noisy during night for low isolation, bath room seems a roulotte and strong smell of humid( no window). Annoying that you have to leave key every time you go out.

    Position near ti train and bus station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Excellent location near the train and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location near the train and bus station. Clean, well run, great breakfast in the restaurant at ground level. Reception and check in are on the floor above ground level, either up the external stairs or via the lift. Washing machines!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    6.7
    Fine but boring. Will forget this place quite quickly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor view. Rather boring, although well located in that great little city of Takayama...

    A standard type of hotel, more suited for the businessman than a family on holidays. No particular identity or atmosphere to speak of. Perfectly functional, but not really fun... Small rooms, rather poor view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    6.5
    Right across train station and bus station to go to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception is on the 2nd floor and when you first arrive, the only entrance you see is a flight of stairs (big suitcases). However there is an entrance with elevator around the corner

    Right across train station and bus station to go to Shirakawa (which is very convenient if you arrive in the middle of the night)

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Country Hotel Takayama Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: