Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Deer Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

630-8343 Nara, Nara, Tsubaicho 36 , Japan

#11 of 19 B&Bs and inns in Nara

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was nice, location was perfect and bed very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is just a paper wall between mixed and women's room so you hear people snoring like 20 cm from you.

    The staff was nice, location was perfect and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Close to the train station and the sightseeing spot . Owner is very hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could hear anyone talk in the living room or bedroom

    Close to Kintetsu Nara station . Owner could speak in English and Madarin . He gave some advises and recommended nice spots , like old japanese style house , old toy museum . Free and interesting places .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.1
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They do not provide travel adapter, be sure to bring your own. The kitchen stove is not working but you can still use the toaster and microwave.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.2
    A very authentic feel of a place, super central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could hear everyone in the house due to the walls being paper thin (literally) and also that there was no one there to let me in before 3pm (I thought it wasn't possible to check in before that but that it was possible to get inside and put your bags down but it wasn't)

    A very authentic feel of a place, super central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    You could reach all important places in a short time by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could reach all important places in a short time by walking. It was next to a shopping street, so you could easily find a restaurant. The staff was very nice and recommendated some very nice places! I can definitely recommend this guest house!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the spaces are small(room, bed, reception, kitchen, toilet ect). There is no private curtain on each bed, it was bit uncomfortable when I changed my clothes.

    Friendly host. And his korean was really good. He can explain almost everything in Kroean. Except entrance, all the places are the shoe-less, so it was comfortable for Kroean. Bit old but really clean house was lovely. And the Japanese atmosphere was good. Every small spaces and things made me feeling of being in Japan.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    4.6
    It was good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house was very old and main sliding entrance door with password was not functioned well. The room was very small for 2 bunk beds and we had less than one meter between the bed. We couldn’t move at all. There was no curtain and no light for each bed and not enough place to open our bag. It was very difficult to reach to a bathroom and a toilet which was only one for all the women and one for all the men. We should go to small corridor in the back of the house to go to bathroom and it was very dark in the night and steps. The room was divided by partition and we should pass by other room to reach our bed. After check out, there was no proper place to store our bag and hostel didn’t take responsibility. This hostel needs a lot of improvement. I don’t recommend this hostel.

    It was good location. The owner was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    5.4
    Location and cheap price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was late for check in, and the beds we had reserved weren’t cleaned yet. The guesthouse is located at an old building, and is a bit shabby. We wanted to do laundry, and the staff said to ask them before using the machine. However, we didn’t see any staff around after check in.

    Location and cheap price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived at 11am, but there was no one in the guesthouse even the sign says buisness hour is 11am~9pm, i have to go somewhere to found free wifi then contact owner for door passcode. It would be super nice if there is wifi password and air-condition before check-in time :)

    Location and price .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Host was very nice and sweet. He kept everything super clean. It's situated very close to the Nara Park and just next to the main market street. Ah! The house itself is a turned traditional japanese house into guest house! (Paper moveable doors/walls included!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly, English speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to the location of the shower and smoking area, I smelled cigarette smoke while I was showering. I thought it was gross and was worried I would smell like smoke. For the bunks, there's a side guard even on the bottom bunks which makes it kind of uncomfortable and gives it the feeling of a crib.

    Very friendly, English speaking staff. Great location, close to subway and to park. Clean, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent, especially given such a low price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very crammed and a bit of a maze. The bell didn't work when I got there so it was a bit confusing to find the owner in the said crammed maze. I realize this is not the fault of the owner but there was a commotion during one of the nights -- some guest in the mixed dorm apparently urinated on someone else's bag and fell asleep naked on the floor; the other people in the dorm tried to find the owner but ended up not being able to contact him in any way, walked into my private room in search for him in the process, and it was all very very unpleasant. This could have been avoided (1) if the private room could be locked from the inside (there is a big sign on the door saying "private room do not go here" so I assume others have walked into that room before who should not have been there), and (2) if the owner made it clear how to contact him in case of some sort of emergency during the night.

    The location is excellent, especially given such a low price! The owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly located, essential and genuine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are very thin, so it may bet noisy from outside of the property. But, again, that's how it's supposed to be!

    Essential comfort for a short stay in Nara, and perfectly located. The traditional style room is a bit uncomfortable, but that's the way it is supposed to be.The staff is very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.9
    Was good for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are kind of interlinked so you end up waking other travellers if your coming back late.

    Was good for what it was... a day stop over. Time to visit Nara park and rest. We only had about 5 mins interaction with the owner/worker not quite sure if he was either but he took our money for the nights stay. I would recommend for a nights stay at a push 2 but any longer than that and you would feel quite cramped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay at Deer Guesthouse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where the rooms were so small and the bunk beds were so close together, the A/C unit would push out heat directly onto the two top bunks, leaving the bottom two really quite cold. Not really anyone’s fault, but it was a bit of an issue in the night.

    The staff were really friendly and spoke just enough English to help us out if we needed anything. The place was clean with everything you’d need for a couple of days in Nara. Great location too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.5
    Overall very good, but get that front door fixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little difficult to navigate due to the narrowness of the kitchen area. This was only a problem when going to use the restroom or shower as these rooms were on the other side of the house. The front door lock gave me a lot of trouble. Sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldn't, it was always a mystery. This is not a mystery you want when you come back in the middle of the night tired and needing to sleep and use the restroom.

    It gave me a place to sleep, and since I was staying for a few days, they let me leave my stuff there as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.9
    The hostel has a really great location, 5 minutes walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can get pretty cold but there is an air-conditioner. It is ok if you sleep in an upper bed.

    The hostel has a really great location, 5 minutes walk to the parc, ten minutes to the train station. Nice common area and fully equipped kitchen. Very clean toilets and showers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.6
    Cheap,great location and friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Clean,the owner is really nice and doing all he can to help and super friendly,great location less then 5 min away from Nara park and near a supermarket. Speaks a little bit of eng/Chinese/Korean/japanease so easy to communicate with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, wonderful hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint was that the bathroom was outside the main house, so you had to go out in the cold for a shower, and the bedroom was very badly insulated so it was freezing cold. I’m sure this would not have been a problem in summer, but not very pleasant in February!

    The hosts was really great, very friendly and helpful, he gave me very useful advice on where to go for sightseeing, and showed me a route on the guide map where I could see lots of beautiful spots. He also let me use the washing machine in the evening which was super helpful, for only 300 yen. Also, the location is absolutely fantastic! About ten mins walk straight down the road away from the Kintetsu station, so easy to get to when I arrived, and literally 2 mins away from Nara park, so an ideal location for sightseeing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.6
    If I'm going to Nara again definitely I would choose this place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was hoping to see a window in my room, but it's not a big problem. Everything else were great!

    What I like the most from this place is the owner is a very helpful person with a great knowledge of his town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, cost effective, ideal for young groups of travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is just quite noisy. I had a private room but was right next to the dorm. You could hear everything and resulted in quite a bad nights sleep on one of the days.

    It is a traditional property in a great location. The owner was very helpful and accommodating and provided me with good information.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    5.4
    Building bad isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was not in good constitution. Room was very cold. I could feel the wind, so I had to leave the hit on the whole night. My room was located beside the entrance. I could hear every guess coming in and every noise in the street.

    It was I a good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    8.8
    Homey hostel with amazing location right in the middle of Nara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you stay at a place like this you can guarantee two things, that you will meet new friends, and that the friends you didn't have a chance to meet yet will probably be talking until at least midnight in the room next to where you're trying to sleep. Bring some ear plugs and maybe an eye mask and it isn't a problem, but it's something to be aware of.

    This is a classic Japanese Hostel right smack in the middle of the Higashimuki shopping arcade area. This means it's just a hop and skip from the train station, any food your heart desires, shopping, and of course so many deer you'd be guaranteed to hit one if you closed your eyes and tossed a rice cracker. The property is very reasonably priced, and has a nice common area with a kitchen and fridge that is always busy with new friends once evening comes around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.5
    extremely good value for the budget traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't lock the door from the inside; the outside lock was just a combination lock - a bit fiddly and difficult to see only one futon - two would have been more comfortable

    within walking distance of the station; close to shops and restaurants; very clean with new toilet and bathroom despite being so central was quiet at night free wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no breakfast included.

    The person who took us in was extra polite and open. The place is basically a nice old house with bathroom and shower room renovations. Pretty neat :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! The owners were so kind and welcoming, we had problems with our previous hostel so we were desperate to leave and the people at the Deer Guesthouse said we could arrive a day early without any problems. One evening, my friends and I sat and drank beer with the owners and chatted and laughed. So lovely, I couldn't recommend this place more. The location was great and the hostel was clean and lovely. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.3
    Awesome location, only 5 minutes to Nara Park and right at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was incredibly loud, even at night one could hear every single guest arriving or leaving the hostel. I was in the single room, which is right next to the entrance with a VERY loud door :( Since it is an old, traditional style house, the walls are made of paper.

    Awesome location, only 5 minutes to Nara Park and right at Nara shopping street ! Very friendly and helpful staff !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    8.3
    Very clean showers and toilets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very tightly packed, but it does say this on the advertising, so no surprises.

    Very clean showers and toilets. Good WiFi and very conveniently located for the park and temples, but also for the shopping district and food outlets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Nice and affordable stay in the heart of Nara
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sleeping in an old japanese-style building was really great. The central garden was beautiful and the shared space small, but cozy. The owner is also a very nice guy :) The guesthouse is 15mins away from the major touristspots of Nara by foot. A definite recommendation :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.6
    The owner and staff created a very friendly environment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was old so it wasn't really soundproofed. But they did a good job keeping the volume down after 10pm.

    The owner and staff created a very friendly environment encouraging everyone to mingle around and make friends. Excellent location, right in the center of everything I need and everywhere I need to go. The owner Mr. Yamamoto could communicate in 5 languages and he is a local from Nara, so his suggestions are super helpful. In summary, Deer Guesthouse is on my must-go list the next time I come to Japan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    6.3
    DEAR&DEER
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell it's not the best and it's bit dirty.

    Staff very friendly, the location it's 20 min by walk from the train station, the room it's inside of the old typical house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.5
    Great location for a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, the walls are paper thin and all the rooms weirdly connected, so we did not sleep well - especially as some members of staff we think were loudly chatting in the common area next to our beds from 6am... I found the toilet being outside a little off-putting too.

    Very comfortable bed and great WiFi. The manager was really friendly and great English. The location is fabulous being ten minutes from the station and ten minutes from the sightseeing park area. Showers great and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.1
    Great location near the mall where many restaurants and shop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Female down was tiny, filled with 8 beds in 4 bunks. Paper sliding door meant the room got hot easily so the air conditioning was on all the time. Kitchen and living area was tiny and walkway to the bathroom was inconvenient. If you are tall (over 1.7m- 5 ft 75) you'll be ducking you head to enter a lot of doorways. Walking past the air conditioning unit outside on the way to the bathroom was uncomfortable too. Bathroom was clean.

    Great location near the mall where many restaurants and shop shops are. About 10 mins walk from the main Nara station, 6 mins from Kintetsu station. Host was friendly but didn't respond to my email.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.8
    Hospitality, Reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    its indeed a good option if you are traveling alone. But if you do care about private space and acoustic condition during sleeping, a single room might be a wiser choice.

    Yamamoto san is a very nice and friendly young man, who is enthusiastic about language learning. Japanese of course,English, Chinese, Korean, etc. There is nothing much to enjoy in such a traditional town Nara. But you could always grab a drink and have a nice chatting with Yamamoto san and other friends in Deer House. The location is incredibly convenient. anything you want is accessible within walking distance. Bathroom is clean and divided by gender. plenty of stuffs in the kitchen which seems very convenient for multiple days staying but I didn't use it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    5.4
    Probably an alright place if you want to hang out with travelers at night and talk, but bad if tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff kind of ignored even as I entered through the door because they were speaking in Japanese to someone else. I'm a customer too, so I felt really as if the Japanese clients are treated with much more respect. The walls were also paper thin, and people were. Talking very very loudly, if you're the type of person that wants to sleep early (like me) well, you won't get much sleep here if you're thinking before midnight

    It was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    You'll feel at the heart to Nara surrounded by deers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best hostel I was in Japan🦌♥️ You dont get to know Nara -or Japan- until you stay in a traditional japaneese house such as this one. The owner is so helpful and warm that makes you feel at home! He even helped me buy a train ticked when i was lost and could not understand the website.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay close to Nara's main attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been small bed lights for each bed.

    The host was very friendly and gave many excellent sightseeing tips. The main attractions of Nara are in a walking distance from this accommodation. There are also many good restaurants and shops when you walk from the Nara train station to this guest house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    Booked last minute and loved staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Yasa is a great host and you really can't beat the location. When I checked in he showed me a map of Nara and where to go and I had a good time just talking to Yasa as well after checking out. The guesthosue itself is clean and there's a backyard area. I just wish I could've stayed here longer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    5.4
    Nice host, but not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Acoustics were terrible! I was in a room by myself that faced the street, I could hear people walking by and entering the guesthouse throughout all hours of the night. There was no insulation to help with the noise, it felt like people were in the room with me. The bed was uncomfortable and throughout the night there were several bugs I found in my room.

    The host was incredibly helpful and gracious. The location was great and the room had a strong air conditioner which is very helpful in the midst of summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    This place was awesome and well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was awesome and well worth the money. Yasa (the owner) is one of the nicest and friendliest hosts I've met and helped out so much. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    3.3
    Great location but glad I only stayed one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it's a hostel and people are noisy but at 1am when the staff (not sure if it was the manager) was up talking so loud with everyone it's a bit inconsiderate. The walls are literally paper thin so every noise can be heard. The layout was a bit odd with the toilets/showers outside. Could probably get something better for the price paid. Also the beds are so uncomfortable!

    Location was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.9
    The hostel is in a great location, very close both to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be a bit cheaper for what it is.

    The hostel is in a great location, very close both to the train station and the main sites of interest. The bed was comfortable. It is a traditional Japanese house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    7.5
    A newly opened place with potential!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a new place so things will surely improve fast. But I missed curtains around the beds, and some of the doors are a bit old which makes a lot of noise, a bit disturbing when someone goes to the bathroom at night. The owner is planning to make a nice hang out area in the patio which will be nice!

    Yamamoto-san is very nice and eager to please. He is running the place alone without any other staff and will always do his best to make you feel at home. Its a traditional house, very close to all of Naras main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place near every
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be bit uncomfortable for taller(>190cm) people

    Perfect position, really close to the main street and attractions. Nice old Japanese style building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    7.9
    It was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small, only 2 toilets and showers for the whole property. For one night ist is ok.

    It was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. It very close to both train stations

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    6.7
    Great location in Nara
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very squashed space in the female bunk room. Paper thin walls and a bit like the house that Jack built! Individual bunk lights would have been helpful. It was a little dark and dingy.

    Friendly and helpful host and a great location - close to the town, Nara Park and all tourist spots were within a 20min walk. Let me leave my heavy rucksack there all day once I'd checked out, which was kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    8.3
    A cosy, intimate guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shoji doors of the dorms might be a little lacking in sound-proofing - earplugs recommended for light-sleepers.

    Fantastic multi-lingual host added a warm, personal touch to our stay. The gathering area just by the entrance was great for meeting up with other international guests.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    10
    My favorite gueshouse in Japan, you get way more than you expect for the price ! Would come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Everything is on the same floor so until 11pm, it's noisy but the noise stops as soon as it's 11pm. In the morning, it gets noisy around 9:30am and even if I love to sleep late, I think it's a very decent time. Actually I don't even know why I'm mentioning it like, who cares lmao This guesthouse largely contributed to make Nara my favorite city that we visited among Osaka, Kyoto and Nara. I recommend it !! Book now because they get all booked really quickly, I almost couldn't extend my stay, I had to select a different room.

    - The manager, Yasuhiro Yamamoto, is an angel : he's extremely friendly and welcoming, he helps you without you having to even ask, he gives you tons of advices and tips ! He can speak Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean and probably other languages I didn't get to hear him speak. He welcomes you with two detailed maps on which he circles and gives you further details about each tourist spots. He's more than you would ever expect from a guesthouse manager, especially considering that he works alone. (For those who like astrology, he's a Pisces and I think that's self explanatory.) If you have any problem, even regarding your flight or withdrawing money with a foreign card, he can help you with every single thing ! - There's no extra fee, you pay the price they're announcing, not a single extra penny. - It was clean, it smelled good everywhere in the hostel, the rooms are cleaned thoroughly everyday and the kitchen was the cleanest in all the guesthouses I've seen in Japan. - There's a cute little outdoor area to hang out or smoke if you smoke. - The facilities are great, there are two power outlets on every bed, the toilets, sinks and showers are very clean and the water pressure in the women's shower is very powerful. - There's a lock with a code on the front door so it feels safe. - The location is central to every important tourist spot and you're right in the middle of the cutest little streets with tons of intestesting shops and good restaurants. - I'm sure I'm forgetting something, honestly everything was great 👍🏻

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    7.1
    close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dorm room too crowded. People talking late into the night. The building is old

    very close to Kintetsu-Nara station. Walking distance to many historical landmarks and deer park. Staff very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, fun staff with good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I would mind

    Friendly, fun staff with good English. Comfy bed, small but pleasant spaces. Within walking distance of the train station and major attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    5.4
    The best thing about Deer's Guesthouse, is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I might be a snob, but Nara was too populated with tourists for me. I might have also overlooked the fact that I too was traveling during peak cherry blossom season, and that people just love those deer... Greeted in the doorway by 3 bags of trash, piles of unopened boxes, and lots of shoes. Then onward into a common room filled with other peoples luggage and nowhere to sit. The guy who runs it, however, is very friendly, and speaks a little of a lot of languages. Unfortunately felt overall, like a college frat house in a traditional Japanese home. We stayed in an overcrowded room of 4 bunk beds and 4 tourists who seemed like they'd never stayed in a hostel before. There may have had more floor space if the hostel provided space (preferably lockers) to keep your luggage in. In general, the walls of these homes are thin, but with un-repaired holes in the doors and other guests with a love of door slamming, it sounded like the house was made of paper. I have only stayed in this hostel in Nara, so I can only wonder what other prices in the area may be, but this felt too expensive for what we got. Also note, they do not take credit/debit cards. If you're not staying long in Nara, and want to see all of the highlights in one day like us, you can make it work for one night, just make sure to bring your ear plugs.

    The best thing about Deer's Guesthouse, is its location. Located about a 10 minute walk from the JR Nara station through Sanjo Dori main street, and super close to Nara Park where all of the main sites (Toda-ji Temple, Kofuku-Ji Pagoda etc. and the deer, and more deer)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    10
    Chin chin!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its cold on the way to the loo!! Haha

    The owner of this guesthouse is an amazing kind hearted person. He may work 24/7 but he will always take the time to stay up talking to his guest, showing them around the area and giving suggestions. The guesthouse is quaint and comfortable. Great location!! Miss you!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    9.6
    Thank you, Yamamoto and Kei!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some ways, e.g. to the showers go shortly outside (like 3 meters), but that really is not much of a problem.

    Yamamoto was really friendly and his English is very good. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed, and we had a lot of fun talking with the other guests and Kei (Yamamotos helper). The accommodation was clean, there are showers and a laundry machine, you can cook and the location is near Nara Park, department stores and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    9.2
    Very good! Highly recommended to backpackers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorm room is a bit small but cozy.

    The hosts are super friendly and funny, I felt like home when I stayed there even though just for a night. And they can speak over five languages I guess, it's totally not a problem to communicate. It's in the shopping area and many shops nearby. Close to Nara park and Shinfuku temple.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent stopover in Nara
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms are far from being spacious, but the traditional house layout is lovely!

    Perfectly located very close to everything there is to see in Nara! Very helpful host and cheerful atmosphere!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    10
    MUST STAY! Super WARM AND FUN! THE HOST IS THE BEST
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect

    This place is MUST STAY!! The host and guests were SUPER friendly and kind. The host even bought us drinks and cakes during the night, he gather guests from all over world and let us have chances to make friends. We had much fun in this warm guesthouse.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    7.1
    The people who work here are super friendly and it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I slept under the heater which meant it was terribly hot for me, but in the rest of the room it was very cold. Because the walls are made of paper all the heat from the heater is gone in an instant and didn't reach the other 7 people in the room. Also the house is very old, including the kitchen... and you have to walk outside (in the cold) to get to the bathroom.

    The people who work here are super friendly and it is a great place to explore the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    7.1
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the other guests seemed to be friend with the host and they stayed up late and were quite disruptive which was upsetting because i had to be up at 5:30 to catch my next train. The wall were paper thin and i could hear everything inside and outside. The shower and bathroom facilities were also outside the main hostel.

    The location was very good. It was near Nara Park and adjacent to the main tourist street.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    7.9
    2 days stay in a real Japanese house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walk to bathroom is a maze but ok once you get used to it.

    It is a real traditional house-100 years old! Tatami mats, paper sliding doors, tiny courtyard garden. Friendly host. It is right at naramachi steps away from the mochi man n kintetsu Nara station. Jr station is a bit further away. You can stroll all of Nara from the guesthouse. No bus needed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great value for a private room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not exactly a negative, but realize this is a shared house, and that you will might be in tight proximity to others in the house (which works for some, might not work for others). Sound proofing (in my room) was almost non-existent. Again though, you can't expect everything for the price.

    Great value for a private room. Nice location. Nice people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    9.5
    The location is great, staff is super nice and other guest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a traditional japanese house the walls between rooms are quite thin (screening doors) so if you are not careful and forget about it everyone can hear every single word you say. This is not necessarily a bad point but definitely something to take care and consider of.

    The location is great, staff is super nice and other guest were kind and respectful of others. Everything is really clean and even if it was a little narrow for me (i'm quite tall so everywhere in japan is the same), the traditional style and nice atmosphere made my stay more comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    10
    Everything is great here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner is REALLY friendly, funny, kind, caring and he always works really hard to make us feel comfortable I really felt like I was at home He speaks many languages, so wherever you're from, you don't need to worry about communication. Other guests Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    9.6
    Central stay with best host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - A bit could when going to shower and toilet coz they're outside, but the shower is hot and good so not a big problem - Paper thin wall, can hear every talk and sound from the other dorm and the kitchen, light sleepers would definitely have problem ...

    - Perfect central location, walking distance to Nara Park and both stations (Kintetsu, JR) - Very friendly, fun and hospitable young host Yamamoto - Fully equiped kitchen

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    8.3
    Best location in Nara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As it is still cold when I was there, I find the room not comfy as there is no heater. We were just using the hottest temperature of the aircon that was not strategically placed. But this is a new property so hopefully it gets better.

    I like the toilet/bath, very clean and user-friendly. The owner is very accommodating too. The location is the best!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    9.6
    Awesome hostel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely loved our stay here! It's a traditional Japanese house so it's really quite charming and very comfortable over all. Very clean and just so darn cozy! Wish we could have spent more time here to be honest. All your basics are included (kitchen, fridge, shampoo, conditioner, body wash), and you can also pay a small fee if you need an extra toothbrush or an unlimited supply of towels. The location is honestly quite perfect , you'll be a 20 minute walk max from any major tourist spot. The walls are thin (see: traditional Japanese house) but we slept so comfortably it really didn't matter. Staff is warm, friendly, and welcoming. Don't have anything bad to say to be honest, it's highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    10
    Fun stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super fun stay, had 4 amazing days and evenings. The hostel was opened recently so everything looks new. The location is also good, 10 minutes or so to Nara station and 5 minutes to the park where you can see and touch the deer(which is why you went to Nara in the first place, admit it 😂). It can get a little loud but I never had problems sleeping or anything like that.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    10
    The host was so nice that we can chat until midnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host was so nice that we can chat until midnight.He's hospitality was perfect .Thank you for all the information you gave to me. Wish we can see each other again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    9.2
    Great location and the staff is very helpful and informed us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and the staff is very helpful and informed us of local events as well as providing us with maps. Small and cozy dorm, good wi-fi, clean, AC and quite simple.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.5
    Ok but not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old Japanese style house with literally paper thin wall so you get the noise and the cold when you are in the dorm. The toilets and shower are outside and in February it's really not comfortable! The common room/kitchen is not cosy at all. No locker.

    Dorms, shower et toilets are very clean. Great location in Nara. Good price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    8.3
    I had great Times in Nara
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorm is really really small. You don't have space for your bag and luggage. The bathroom was really cold (but the water was hot).

    Nice owner, helpfull and fun, perfect localisation, good price. The dorm is perfectly clean and the bed confortable. Really easy to reach from the train station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    8.8
    Very much like staying at home, very personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    * The toilet and showers are located outside which means that it is very cold in Feb!

    * Very nice host, as if you stay at someone's home. Very personal * One of the best Wifi connections I had after 3 months of traveling * Remote light control in the single room! * Excellent location that is close to all attractions and the two Nara stations.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    9.6
    Great host - friendly atmosphere, perfect location, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a hostel so dont expect the best sleep, especially if there are any snorers -- but then again I might just be too old for hostels

    Great host - friendly atmosphere, perfect location, and great price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great choice to try Japanese house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was next to the entrance and the Japanese paper door is very thin, so I can hear people came back late at night.

    It is right next to the main commercial area - just around the corner, but very quiet actually. So you get everything you want. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The price is decent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    9.6
    good traditional Janese house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was interesting,kind and helpful!! I could speak English in this guesthouse for my ability. He is crazy about travel. He started travel around the world from 13years old.I was surprised about it.And,he can speak many languages!Maybe,4?5?It was so much,so I don't remember it! The bed was also comfortable,so I could sleep well in this guesthouse! It must be a special day(like a party) at a good traditional Japanese house.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    10
    Absolutely lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More of a note to travelers: this is a traditional house, that means the walls are literally paper thin...

    Everything! It's extremely well located, in a traditional house, and cheap. Yamamoto San, the owner, speaks English well and was very helpful. He even took us to the festival after our check out today! The hostel just opened so everything is new. The kitchen is fully equipped, there are hangers to dry the clothes after doing the laundry, necessities in the bathroom... There is a supermarket 1 min away and the arcade with lots of dining options is right next to the entrance. I wish I could have stayed longer!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75