Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Dormitory in Kowloon

Reviews of Dormitory in Kowloon This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, Naoshima 2247, Japan

#10 of 23 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 327 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    I arrived around 12.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived around 12.00h and left my big backpack in the lounge room. This room is also the place where you could meet other people, but nog so many people use this place. From the border it's maybe two minutes walking. Also the museums are walking distance from the hostel (if you like walkin!), but there's also a shuttle bus you can take. During my stay I went to Chichu Museum, Benesse House and Art House (make sure you don't skip the art house and buy a multi ticket, so you can visit al the houses).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.5
    Overall pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing needed to be better, I was perfectly happy and comfortable. It is basic but that’s all you need!

    Easy to find when getting off the boat from Miyanoura port. The lady running the place is very welcoming and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the light fixtures in the room emitted a high pitch buzz when on. This is the second property I've stayed at where this happened, so maybe a common occurrence in Japan. Not a big problem tho, as the common space is great for lounging and I spent most of my time out exploring.

    This was the perfect base for exploring Naoshima. Right next to the ferry, bike rentals, bathhouse, and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    Great place, it was empty except for us but there is a huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place, it was empty except for us but there is a huge bar/lounge area to hang out in and there are great restaurants down the street. Super convenient from the ferry and the host is wonderful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great for a functional place to stay to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host is very kind and speaks English which was so helpful. The showers are powerful and always hot, and it was great that shampoo and conditioner were provided. When I visited I was the only guest the first night and there were 3 of us the second so I can't comment too much on the social life! The decor is retro. The rooms are air conditioned The location is excellent for exploring and for ferries. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hostel with a good location near the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice hostel with a good location near the port. The owner was uncomplicated with the check in and checkt out and there's a nice bar near the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.9
    An easy base to access the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A decent place to stay for the one night. A short walk from the ferry terminal, and close to bike hire to explore the island. Access to basic kitchen facilities, showers downstairs but decent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.4
    The woman we met was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place looks super old and almost abandoned. I was so surprised by the comments. The common area is like the last place I would like to hang out in. It as a weird smell and you cannot really tell if it is clean. I have been traveling in japan for 3 months in total and I never felt so uncomfortable in a hostel.

    The woman we met was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Perfect location to explore the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best location to explore the island and also for arrival / departure ( it´s right in front of the ferry station ). The restaurants around are pretty good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.2
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was great! It was very close to the port (less than 5 minutes walking). Nearby are a lot of restaurants and places to rent bikes. In the port there is also the bus station, so it is very convenient, and if you want to go to the Japanese public bath, it is just around the corner (we didn't go). It has two W.C. (one up stairs) and two showers (downvstairs), which were enought; we didn't have to wait for the use of bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    The lounge area was very comfortable, and the well-equipped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lounge area was very comfortable, and the well-equipped kitchen easy to socialise in. The bathrooms were clean and the beds very comfortable! Everything was walking distance- the supermarket, baths and bike hire- great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, right by the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, right by the ferry terminal. But the facilities and rooms are nothing special (the place could really use a refurbishment) staff are only there a couple of hours a day, so compared to the level of facilities and service it's seriously overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    4.2
    Naoshima is a magical relaxing island - this dormitory was the opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was fairly dusty. The amenities were old and limited. The lady who was on night duty during my stay was unpleasant, making me feel superbly unwelcome when I was relaxing (looking at things on my phone) in the common room - which I understood to be always open. The man who first welcomes me was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.8
    Great location, in front of the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My check in was late, around 21 pm. The receptionist left the note where the guest could find their beds before that time, but we had to wait until late evening to check in. The facilities seemed pretty old and in long use, some of items are already had bad smell and need to be changed. The lounge room has fusty smell, probably because some people smoke there or it just hadn't aired enough.

    Great location, in front of the ferry port. The owner is friendly and could give some good advices about the sightseeings and museums visiting. There were few visitors at that time, so I stayed alone in the room for four.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.0
    Bad hostel good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was filthy. Check in only from 5PM. There is no staff, no desk reception, only one person who comes to check people in at 5. The door is never locked and there’s no supervision.

    The location is perfect a 3 min walk from the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    Affordable accommodations in great location on Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpeting was old and should be replaced. Also, don't allow smoking on premise.

    Bath house (I ❤ Yu) was suoer close and better for a shower than the bath at Kowloon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    Location, seconds away from ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No staff on site all the time so inform before about your arrival time (no problem if you can make a phone call)

    Location, seconds away from ferry /although village is so small that you can’t actually go wrong with the location 😉 Clean, simple, laid back hostel Free luggage storage before and after stay Really cool old school common room which used to be a bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was relaxing and we felt very welcomed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostess was very helpful and kind to us. The location of the dorm is very close to the Miyanoura port. The buses and bycicle rental are also near.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for short stay or island hopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 tiny toilets and 2 showers for about 16 guests. The common area was not cosy to hang out in, but rather shabby.

    Really central in Naoshima, close to the ferry terminal and busses as well as many restaurants, bars and convenience stores. The staff was friendly, helpful and responding quick. Rooms were plain but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location right by the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe could have had more bathrooms and toilets.

    Excellent location right by the ferry port. The owner is lovely, speaks really good English and knows about the local places. There is a huge common area downstairs with a kitchen and plenty of seating - I was surprised it wasn't used by more guests as the local restaurants all shut really early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was a bit disappointing. I would maybe find another place for next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They allow guests to smoke indoors. You could smell it everywhere. I've never stayed at a hostel where this was allowed.

    The location was great and the rooms are a good size, you have space to spread out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Very good place to visit the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its a bit expensive for what it is, but everything is expensive in the island.

    One of the cheapest options in the island and a great place to stay. Small and confortable, well located, clean and with a nice common area. Quiet, as the whole island. Easy to meet people as it is small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    See Naoshima and die
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dying is not that funny

    One always dies too soon — or too late. And yet, life is there, finished: the line is drawn, and it must all be added up. You are nothing other than your life. As the poet said it for naples i will repeat. See Naoshima and die.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap accommodation in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smoking lounge was not very pleasant, particularly on a Sunday morning. The was a 10pm curfew that wasn’t mentioned when I booked.

    Basic accommodation that is well located on Naoshima Island. Fair value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably, they should make the entire building non smoking. Sorry smokers, but that lounge becomes an ashtray after a rousing Saturday night. No fun for the Sunday morning early risers.

    The staff were super cool & easy going. The other patrons were kind & social. The kitchen facilities were convenient & the bathhouse was next door! Awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice island and the Kowloon dorm is fully in the spirit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In windy nights the sliding windows and shades were a little noisy.

    The location is just 100m from the ferry station. Bike rental shops and a convenience store are also very close. We particularly appreciated the pub/restaurant common area at ground floor. We could prepare our meals and get to know other visitors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    Cheap easy option for staying on naoshima!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the cleanest but not the worst at all for a dorm style place. Also check-in my seem confusing at first but basically the host isn’t actually there all the time so you may arrive to no-one and have to call her. I didn’t have a phone so this was tough but i eventually had the bike rental shop down the block give her a call for me to let her know i was leaving my bags there.

    Went in December during the relative ‘off season’ and there was only one other than I. The host let us each have our own full room which was excellent. The property was super easy to get too as it is not more than 2 min walking from the ferry terminal port. Located next to multiple restaurants and bars and right near the public onsen bathhouse. Also an easy bike rental shop around the corner. Check in was late but host had no problem letting me leave my bags in the common room as i got in early that morning. Also allowed me to leave my bags for most of the day the following as i headed to teshimah and Back. Fully accessible kitchen area in the common room with fridge/micro/hot water. Fast WiFi available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.9
    Superb getaway at a breathtaking island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to call the owner to get her to come to the house for check-in. I would suggest to inform the owner beforehand on your arrival time to set up an arrangement if you can't make calls from your phone.

    The location was superb. Uno port is literally just across the street. Look for the alley beside the bicycle rental shop to get to this accomodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.7
    Home Alone 4: Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner never there! Met her twice for less than 5 mins over 2 days. She seemed very nice but this was a problem as the wifi stopped working on the evening of the first day. Even though I managed to briefly see her to mention it when she was heading out somewhere it was never fixed for the remainder of my stay which meant I had to use expensive data to book my next hostel and to keep in contact with other people.

    Hot shower, good location opposite ferry port.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    Great location. Right near the pier. Awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please have a rule for people smoking in the lounge to close the door of the lounge. As the bathroom was right beside the lounge, I almost suffocated while taking a bath because of the people smoking in the lounge.

    Great owner. Good places to eat nearby. Owner speaks great english. Awesome value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend for those looking for simple but comfortable accomodation while visiting Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Strictly no check-in before 5pm but you can leave your bags in the lounge area. While the place is a little old and 'tired' it is still very clean and comfortable.

    Clean, comfortable, close to ferry terminal. Owner speaks English and was friendly and accommodating during check-in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.9
    Good location and decent price! Would recommend to other travellings who just need a night to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the morning we checked out, there was no information on what to do and there was no staff available so we just walked out unsure whether it was correct thing to do.

    The location of the hostel was so convenient, as soon as we got off the boat, we could see the bright blue building. The size of the room is decent to place our luggage and there was a good size common room with all the cooking facilities you want.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    The location is very convenient as it is right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is very convenient as it is right next to the port. You can get to/away and visit other islands such as Teshima easily, and you can access all the sites on Naoshima by bus/bike/walking. It's right next to the onsen and restaurants and a bar. It's the most affordable accommodation on the island and it's good value. The bedrooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Best place we have stayed in all of japan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best place we have stayed in all of japan. Wonderful staff. Amazing location so close to the port! Met wonderful friends. Host was amazing in introducing us to others in the house. Best location! Bars and amazing coffee nearby (akaito) and the public bath is near. It is a must stay. I will always stay at Kowloon dormitory!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.6
    Easy and relaxed. They were generous to organize for our group to have the mixed dorm to ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A hostess was very friendly, helpful and had great English. So convenient to ferry, town, bike rentals, perfect for foreign guests I had to leave on their own after two days. They could manage very well from Kowloon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.3
    Not great, sorry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is a bit worn out, there is no privacy in the dorms, a simple curtain would make a big difference.

    The location is good, at the harbour, very near bike rental and restaurants and I met some lovely people there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    8.8
    Super near to the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. People are allowed to smoke in the lounge room at 1st floor (which is also a kitchen), and no drinking&eating at 2nd floor, so if you want to do anything in the open space, you have to stand the smoking smell. 2. They won't lock the door during daytime, so actually anyone can walk into the hostel. However, there are lockers in the room, so you can keep valuable belongings there.

    1. 3 mins walk to the port, and you can put your baggage in the hostel after check-out or before check-in. 2. Staff can speak English fluently, and she will also introduce the surroundings (where to visit and what to eat) for guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    7.5
    convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - very damp without AC, AC making lots of noise - a bit old furnished and gloomy decoration - I wanted to leave my backpack at the reception for the day but found out at 9.30 there was no one in the building : no guest, no staff, nothing. I just closed the door and left to the ferry station lockers. How weird.

    - location : 2min walk from the ferry station. So convenient - nice welcome - good value for money on the island

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.6
    I had a very pleasant stay at Dormitory in Kowloon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. The door area can become a bit crowded with shoes; perhaps a shelf could make access a little easier?

    I had a very pleasant stay at Dormitory in Kowloon. Great location: fewer than 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. The bed was comfortable, the facilities were clean and I never needed to wait, and there are plenty of nearby restaurants and bars. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    5.0
    Really old and worn out place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old house. Everything looked worn out except few things that were recently renovated. Humidity Bad smell in the entire house No personal light on the bed Open doors including the front door instead of giving a key Expensive for what you get in general and in comparison to all the places I have stayed in Japan Only 1 toilet for all the guestson the floor where the rooms are . One other is downstairs past the shared area Huge spots on the carpet

    It has potential. It's a pity the owners are not investing more into it. There is a shared area that could easily be turned into a cool bar also for external people. The location is across the ferry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Great island, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's right next to where you arrive with the ferry from the mainland. It's not the newest but it has it's charm (also considering it was the cheapest option!). The bed was great. The owner really nice and helpful and very good in English speaking. I got another room with just one other girl in there so it felt like almost a private accommodation, really comfortable! The 7/11 is around the corner. Cheap bike rental next door. Also the island if naoshima is a dream come true. The museums and art object are sublime. Life changing, I lives the Chi Chu art museum, but all of them are awesome!! Go there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    Cozy common area and comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to call a Japanese phone number for check-in, maybe this can be a problem for some travelers.

    Cozy common area and comfortable beds! Located in front of Miyanoura Port.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    8.3
    The location was perfect, just opposite the ferry terminal,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can't check in early. You can however leave your bag in the lounge / bar if you need to. Also there is the only small bar that is open after 10pm on the entire island, just outside the window so it may be a bit noisy. But I thought it was fine.

    The location was perfect, just opposite the ferry terminal, a bike rental place opposite , the I❤️Bath onset was literally 2 doors down. And a coffee place within 2 min walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, owner speaking good English, cinematic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit not so comfortable for me, the mattress was a bit like a hammock.

    I arrived late in the evening and easily found it without any maps and internet, it's very close to the Miyanoura port. I entered a space and felt like in David Linch's film, the design of the property is not modern but very atmospheric. Some great cafes, bike rental, a small bar and a famous Naoshima's public bath are just around the corner. Great and peaceful place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, very lovely staff, nice social atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My second stay at Kowloon Dormitory. It has a lovely, social atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and made us feel immediately at home. There are great facilities and it's in an ideal location with everything you need within very close walking distance and located right opposite one of the main ports. It was a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.2
    It's a cozy place given there are only three rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host's presence can be irregular, which often leaves many guests who want to check in confused. There is no way to secure valuables (you'll have to keep them under your pillow)

    It's a cozy place given there are only three rooms. It is located 1 minute from Miyanoura Port, yet the entrance is cleverly hidden which adds some security. The kitchen and lounge is a great place befriend other travelers as there is nothing much to do on Naoshima Island at night. You could go to Sara Cafe & Bar (just opposite) for drinks. Kumiko is a very friendly host. You may leave your bags in the lounge before checking in/after checking out at your own risk. Washing machine is available outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    7.9
    Its in front of the pier and near to a good restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is pretty much non-existent and someone ate a Rikuro's cheesecake we left in the fridge

    Its in front of the pier and near to a good restaurant and bike rental place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some areas that could have been cleaner but that also depends on the rest of the guests.

    The host was super friendly, the location is spectacular and there is enough privacy even if it does not seem so. You have access to the lounge area where you can relax and talk with friends and it's good for big groups. It can also be good to meet new people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.1
    Complicated check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in you have to call someone through a phone which they don't answer and still it was difficult since I only had data as many travellers.

    Very good location at the island of naoshima

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.9
    Functional, well placed hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's clearly not particularly new and there isn't much of an atmosphere, so it's purely functional accommodation. As such, it is a little expensive for what it is, but this is obviously a function of the location.

    The location could not be any better - right next to the ferry. Everything is easy to use and the place is pretty clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    8.3
    Well located, simple, accommodating !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very well located dormitory. The public bath "I love u" is next door. Surrounded by nice restaurants . Accommodating owner. Easy and simple!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    Cheap & cheerful home for exploring Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a dorm room it would be good to have more indirect lighting - like a couple of lamps - so that people don't need to disturb each other so much.

    Very clean rooms, shower rooms and bedding. Right by the ferry terminal which is great. The owner was very helpful when I was looking for a bicycle to hire. It's close by the famous bath-house which was sadly closed the day I was there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you arrive early, you don't really know what to do. There's a phone number if we want but it didn't work well for me. I met another traveler that told me to leave my bags there in the meantime, but everyone can enter the hostel so it doesn't feel super safe. Also, the spaces are a bit dark and it doesn't seem 100% clean.

    The geographical location was perfect: 3 min walk from the Miyanoura Port in Noashima, so easy for the boat AND the bus. The hostel is also really close from the famous I Love Yu onsen, which is super great. There's a room to chill out, when there's other visitors it might be nice! I stayed 1 night and it was all I needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.2
    Very quiet and clean simple accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To check-in, you have to call a Japanese number, which I couldn't do without a Japanese SIM card or Skype credit + wifi; I had to walk over to the pay phone to call. The place isn't necessarily the most secure but it's a quiet Japanese island so I guess it's safe enough.

    There's a well-equipped kitchen to use. The location is right across from the port, and next to bike rental shops. The 7-11 is around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.3
    Cheaper option in Miyanoura, but not amazing quality / value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can smoke downstairs in the lounge, so this area doesn't smell too good. 10pm curfew with no option to use a passcode to get back in. Took me ages to find the shower as no tour of property / description at start (its downstairs).

    Main lady really friendly, great location right by the Miyanoura port, free bread / marg / jams at breakfast time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    4.6
    Poor but bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it's an absolute rip off for what you get- dark, dingy building. No lockers. Staff said barely two words to us. Room stank of smoke from lounge area at night. Just 1 toilet!? They are getting away with being so poor because most have no other option on the island

    It's basically your only 'budget' option on Naoshima if you're not booking well in advance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    3.8
    Very Strange and Uncomfortable Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hostel was the worst accommodations experience I have ever had in Japan, and I travel there quite frequently. This surprised me because it got such good reviews, which is what led me to book it in the first place. The hostel smells bad, mostly because guests are permitted to smoke in the bar/lounge area. Even though the smoking is confined to that space, the smell permeates the entire building. The rooms are also musty and not properly aired out. While this hostel isn't dirty, it is not at all clean. The check-in time is 5:00, which is late, but wouldn't be a big deal if the entire experience had been better. When we were finally able to check in, we walked through the door and the hostel was dark. The staff person was in the back, and when he finally came to the entrance he acted as though he wasn't expecting anyone to be there. He was awkward and unfriendly, giving us the barest amount of information about the hostel. After checking in and setting our things in the shared room, we didn't see him or another staff person during our stay. The hostel was so strange, smelly, and uncomfortable we cut our two night stay short and decided to leave the following morning. We definitely don't recommend Kowloon. They would need to make some serious improvements to be worth even the little bit they charge per night.

    My husband and I liked the location. It's directly across the street from the port where the ferry docks. It was easy to find Kowloon, and wasn't a hassle to get there with our bags. We were also initially pleased with the price, and the availability of space on short notice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    10
    Go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. The location is perfect and it's all you can ask for an young hostel.

    The hostel was really clean. The hodt were sooo lovely!! And really helpfull. Bed was nice, clean sheets and really clean bathroom. The bar areas was convenient for smokers!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise: There is a very noisy bar just below the windows, horrible Cleanliness: Approximate Equipment: worn and damaged Common area: it's a smoking area, never seemingly air, it smells like cigarette all the time, impossible to eat in Team: nobody. You may have to call for someone to come to the checkin. At 10am, the shutters of the common room are always closed, no one has come to open them. Price: The most expensive I have done in Japan (and the least qualitative!)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    8.3
    So close to the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Common room needs a revamp, feels underused. Could be more comfortable to lounge around in.

    So close to the ferry terminal. Friendly lady who runs the place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    7.5
    A good choice for those who visit the island and stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room temperature and shower box temperature cold, quite common in Japan during winter though.

    We arrived before the check in time but the host arrived in less than 5 minutes after our call :) We also left our luggages in the shared area even after the check out to be more comfortable during the da.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2017

    10
    Memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, but I wish I had more of an opportunity to talk more with the staff. It's slow season, so its not as necessary to have an onsite staff at the guesthouse, so I understand. A little bit difficult for people international guests who don't have a phone number to call to check in.

    The lady here was fantastic. She was a really cool person!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.2
    I love owner she so kind and take care everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing

    I love owner she so kind and take care everything you need.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable and the lady at reception was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfortable and the lady at reception was genuinely sweet and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    The guesthouse is right across from the ferry port which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guesthouse is right across from the ferry port which is very convenient

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome location and comfortable hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awesome location and comfortable hostel!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.3
    very kindly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very kindly staff great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location! The owner was extremely nice and helpful! Definitely going back there the next time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    Had lots of fun and felt very at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one toilet

    The owner was delightful and it was perfectly located and very affordable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    6.7
    Good for a base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's not as clean & would have wanted more comfort in kitchen facilites

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.9
    Great place to discover the amazing island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to discover the amazing island. Confortable and warm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    very friendly and informative staff, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly and informative staff, fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Close to ferry, baths and bike rental.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to ferry, baths and bike rental. Big common space to chill in. Clean and comfy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Right beside the port, buses and bike rental shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right beside the port, buses and bike rental shops. Good sized rooms and beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Great location next to the ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75