Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

160-0021 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku, Kabukicho 2-3-15, Japan

#724 of 952 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1824 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Basic hotel 10-15 minutes walk from Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small and no cupboard to hang clothes. Air con was a little noisy. Pillows were hard.

    Staff very efficient and friendly. Had tea making facilities and ample shampoo etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.9
    Location was amazing, right next to the tune station and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms but I believe this was due to the location and when looking around all other hotels in the same price range seemed to have similar size rooms

    Location was amazing, right next to the tune station and a 10min walk to the heart of Shinjuku. Staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.3
    No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was pretty dirty, the curtains were stained. And my sheets were not changed through the 10 days I stayed there They only made my bed, but the sheets remained dirty.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    OK value for money but BAD toilet seat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TERRIBLE TOILET SEAT. It does not fit at all - size of seat is by far bigger than toilet and you will slip sideways (almost falling off) up to four times for a longer sit! Beware as toilet trips are uncomfortable. Extremely small room but expected for price paid. Staff service was below average, a few women had no smiles or politeness at all.

    Great location right by station and convenience stores.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    Overall, ok but it couldn’t even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You get a 500 yen food voucher for breakfast, this is not practical as it doesn’t even cover pancakes at the cafe next door where you get your breakfast from. Limited choice of food at the cafe with your voucher. Better off getting the room without breakfast and get food near by. As when we booked for 1 week, we paid $150 extra for the breakfast option, that 150$ would’ve purchased better food and still have money left in the pocket. The shower is ultra small, I’m 6 foot and the amount of times I hit myself on the shower wall it was ridiculous. Also, the room could’ve been cleaner. We arrived at the room and I noticed a fingernail on the desk next to the tv, it was still there after 1 week, meaning the cleaning was surface cleaning at best. I paid for my accomodation upfront months ago, on arrival the concierge demanded for me to pay again. I explained 3 times I paid upfront but that didn’t register with the lady. Not the best experience after travelling for 15 hours and arriving at your hotel and having to argue that you have paid upfront.

    Everything is ok.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    The location was very good just across the Higashi Shinjuku station and walking distance to shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think if not for the small size of the room and bathroom it is perfect.

    The room was so small . We can't move around the room as we will bump to each other specially if you have big luggages.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, Good value but very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is tiny. Two adults with two suitcases do not fit. We had to take turn in opening our suitcase on the bed. Bathroom was very small.

    Good Location, short walk to JR and Metro Stations. Good value for money if you do not planning in hanging out in your room for long.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great pressure and heat. Also really enjoyed the vouchers to get breakfast in the mornings. The location was perfect for us as it wasn't a far walk to the station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small for 2 people and looked over a multi-storey car park. For the price we paid for 4 nights it was over priced, won’t stay there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast option is a 5$ (500yen) Tully’s cafe combo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast option is a 5$ (500yen) Tully’s cafe combo coupon with no vegetarian option. If you are accompanying a vegetarian or a vegan friend. They may end up just getting a coffee which is 3-4$ (tall to grande size) You can get a lot better breakfast options around the hotel. Also hotel does not provide basic stuff like plates and spoons (not even disposable ones only forks are available or buy it from nearest convenient store) as they don’t have a restaurant. There is no microwave available. If you want to warm up food or something then that’s not an option. There is one microwave available at the reception. But you have to go the reception every time for everything. Basically you are just paying for a tiny room (although room was comfortable for single travellers. or people who don’t care about any of the stuff I mentioned.)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and very easy to get to Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location and very easy to get to Shinjuku. Rooms are pretty small but nothing you can’t manage with and absolutely fine for a couple for a few days exploring Tokyo. Clean and well looked after.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel but a little small in the rooms and the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was too tiny to be comfortable. I am 6"1'and couldnt really use the toilet in there. There wasnt really any room for our 2 cases or anywhere to put clothes.

    The staff were amazing and very helpful. Breakfast was good on the bottom floor if not a bit to small. The room was very cozy and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is close to a fire station so sirens can frequently be heard, but that is life in a big city.

    Hotel was as advertised. Great location, handy to shops, restaurants & train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small as is the bathroom, however your not in Tokyo to stay in your room!

    Rooms are fitted out with everything you need including a small fridge and kettle. There is a Lawson store very near by which is handy for grabbing a few grocery items.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    small typical tokyo hotel room yet provide all amenities that you need. located just beside train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Hollywood Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room is abit small so when i pack my luggage can be abit crammed.

    The staff are able to speak English and the hotel is very near train station and shinjuku shopping district. not forgetting there is convenient store and drug store just downtstairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.3
    Small but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. The bathroom's size was that of a lavatory on the aircraft. Although it was expected, we had to adjust. There wasn't a wardrobe.

    Very helpful staff. Cheap laundry machines. When we had a problem with our original room, they simply moved us to another one. The location was good, although not central. The was as much in the room as possible in such small space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.3
    Basic economy hotel, ok value for money, ok location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very basic. The facilities are not so great, especially the bathtub which was was small and the tap was both for the sink and for the bathtub.. There were many ambulances crossing at night and we heard each one of them... The breakfast was a sandwich in nearest cafe. The air-conditioning was loud, We needed to close it during the night because of its noise !!!

    The hotel is near the E train exit, very easy to find. The toilet had a very convenient warmed seat, The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cost was ok (not cheap). There was a water supply for 2 days for 2 people.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    It is conveniently located just a minute away from metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is conveniently located just a minute away from metro. We came back to check in after our Fuji hike and the receptionist allow us 30mins earlier to check in. We feel so thankful cos really in need of a good bath. Everything was perfect except the space is quite tight so can’t really leave our big luggages open, have to keep it upright. The housekeeper did a good job to make sure the room is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    It is conveniently located just a minute away from metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is conveniently located just a minute away from metro. Everthing was perfect except the space is quite tight so can’t really leave our big luggages open, have to keep it upright. The housekeeper did a good job to make sure the room is clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Right on top of the Higashi Shinjuku subway station E3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Right on top of the Higashi Shinjuku subway station E3 (Oeida Line). Walking distance to Samurai Museum & Shinjuku night life. Excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    Tiny room. Really loud air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building hasn’t updated it’s air con since god knows when.. the whole building is rattling. So wouldn’t recommend if you are a light sleeper. Also I’m only 50kg and I found the room to be very small, you can’t sit on the toilet without hitting the bathroom door. Especially when there’s 2 of you with luggage. Did inform the staff about the high pitched noise from the air con.. they tried to help but all the rooms were the same. No discount given. Also, don’t look under the beds

    Right next to metro and McDonald’s

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    - really good location (less than 30 seconds walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - small shower + staff forgot on 2 days out of a 7 day stay that we were 2 people and only gave us towels for 1 person

    - really good location (less than 30 seconds walk to Higashi-Shinjuku metro station) - toiletries provided by hotel (no need to bring own except shaving gel + men's razor - breakfast is downstairs in "Tully's coffee shop" for which hotel gives vouchers of ¥500 per person per day. - walking distance to Shinjuku station & local restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.0
    Air con is ancient, needs updating.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con is very very old- needs updating- made a buzzing sound, sending air directly in the bes, and couldn’t be used. Had to sleep without and made it hard in hot humid climate.

    Polite staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    4.6
    Better value elsewhere - shop around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surprised by the review rating this hotel had after staying here: Room was tiny - no space for luggage Not the cleanest room - smelt like stale smoke even though it was an non-smoking room Staff not very friendly or helpful, disappointing compared to the great hospitality we received everywhere else in Japan Bathroom is tiny, even by Japanese standards - good luck if you are in anyway tall Much better value elsewhere - shop around

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    5.4
    The location is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charged us 16000 yen which is close to $200 for 6hrs to check in early which is a nights accommodation cost , they will find a way to get more money out of you. The rooms are tiny the bathrooms are tiny if your taller than 6 ft forget it . Shop around

    The location is good . But Shinjuku has hundreds of hotels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but clean and with tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was very small with not much room to manoeuvre, but I guess this is the same with many hotels in japan.

    The location was great. Right next to the subway station which easy connections to explore Tokyo. Within walking distance is the beautiful Gyoen National Park and many shops, restaurants, and coffee shops. Breakfast voucher is provided for Tully’s coffee shop located just beneath the hotel, which has lovely staff, same as in the hotel. Bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned with all necessary amenities provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't amazing

    Staff speak good English, loads of info at lobby for surrounding areas. Lady allowed us to leave our luggage even though we hadn't checked in. Subway station outside and a 7/11 opposite plus an awesome baseball batting centre round the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    Nice big bed (about the only big item in the room).
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well, the Japanese are renowned for their compactness, but having no room to even open the suitcase is a bit edgy... still better than the capsule, I guess.

    Nice big bed (about the only big item in the room). Good location with perfect connectivity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel entrance is just a few steps away from exit of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel entrance is just a few steps away from exit of Higashi-Shinjuku subway station. The A1 exit of subway station has escalators going up but you need to use the stairs to go down to the subway. If you're going to ride the subway, be careful if you have big and heavy luggage with you. The breakfast at Tully's Coffee is also nice, though the choices are limited but it is still delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.8
    Honest review!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just to make you aware before hand.. - you can not check in until after 3pm no matter what (we arrived 7am after a night flight and had to drag ourselves around on 3 hours sleep as we couldn’t check in until then). - the is hardly any room to move around in the room. The narrow hallway and the side of the bed that’s it (my boyfriend is 6ft 5- it wasn’t the best for him).

    - the location is very central - metro station right next door - coffee shop underneath - staff are very friendly and attentive - coin laundry room - maids always leave fresh towels and essentials outside your door if you don’t want them to clean your room (loved this)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was in a good location I think.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are kind however i just kind of don't like how the hotel has to charge the early check-ins so people had to just wait on the lobby before 3pm. The lobby was too crowded when we arrived. And you'll also have to pay if you plan to leave your baggage after you check-out if you will not stay on the night.

    The hotel was in a good location I think. The subway is just beside the entrance so going around Tokyo isn't hard. There are also lofs of food options nearby. About 10-15 minute walk to Kabukicho and Shinjuku main station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Location, right next to the F12 station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was quite small for two people, even for one was difficult to deal with luggage.

    Location, right next to the F12 station; helpful staff, didn’t expect pajamas and slippers, firm mattress.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    4.2
    Only that I had a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing around. Red light district. It’s not that it felt unsafe because there was always lots of people, it just felt seedy. No restaurants around, no where to shop. Had to ask more than once and justify why I was asking for staff for help. I wouldn’t stay here again.

    Only that I had a place to stay. There’s a Lawson’s near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.1
    Good budget option
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not super close to the heart of Shinjuku, rooms are tiny even by Japanese standard and not super functional.

    Location near a metro stop was good. Comfy bed. Nice service including a lovely gift for our honeymoon. Clean, functional, a good option as a landing pad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn't recommend it, there are cheaper options, with bigger rooms on similar location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View - Non-Smoking (High Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Noisy, even on the upper floors you heard the ambulance all night long. - Breakfast included means they give 500JPY voucher for a coffee downstairs, therefore either you get a drink or food, you cannot get both without paying extra. - For the price, the room is quite small, even for Japanese standards. - Staff is helpless, I asked them to send some postcards for me but couldn't help me with that, opposite to most of the 3+ stars hotels I've been where they happily provide that service with charges. - Clean, we could see dust everywhere, (bed frame, desk) when being allergic to dust is not funny.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.3
    Short and sweet but very awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing about the hotel... the hotel was AWESOME!!! Cannot fault it!! I didn't get to stay long enough to venture out around the hotel surroundings... I'm pretty sure there would have been lots of places I could have checked out if I stayed longer .. And I've been told that Shinjuku is like an awesome place to walk around!! Next time I'm staying here again in the future!!!

    Love how this hotel is right across the metro!! Wow the convenience of having the metro right outside the door!! Awesome!! I love travelling around in Japan's metro lines.. even if was outside the JR pass limitations... (not that I had a JR Pass this time around...) Going around with my SUICA card was a breeze!! I was riding like the locals!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Laundry facilities, convenient location, and free water daily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and the bathroom was especially miniature. Rather loud in the evenings as many ambulances driving past throughout the night.

    Laundry facilities, convenient location, and free water daily

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    A solid option near Shinjuku
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was a pretty standard business hotel - no frills rooms, comfortable bed (although the usual strange Japanese pillows), small bathroom and very friendly staff. No surprises. The location is the hotel’s key strength - right on top of the subway station, or a ten minute walk into Shinjuku.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    However the rooms are a bit dirty. It was full of dust and I am allergic to dust mites. Told the staff about the dust-filled air conditioner but I came back with the same dirty air conditioner even after the room service.

    The location is great! The metro station is just right beside the hotel. Just note that you have to exit from exit A1!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small but so are most places in Tokyo so expected small!

    Staff were very helpful.. location good. 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku main and has subway close. Free water and tea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    4.6
    I would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So much mould!! The bathroom was not very clean at all the curtains in the main room were also covered in Black mould. The air conditioning unit definitely needed a filter replaced - you could see the build up all over it and it made a horrible noise when it was in so impossible to leave it going while sleeping - it was very hot when we were there so it made for uncomfortable nights.

    There was a good sushi bullet train restaurant across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    5.0
    Well located hotel if you don't mind ridiculously rude staff and small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small even by Japan standard, the staff refused to let us have more mineral water despite staying 3 nights, pointing us to the nearest vending machine. When asked about taxi booking they just ask us to go down and grab one ourself.

    The hotel is located right next to A1 exit of Higashi Shinjuku station. The breakfast is provided by Tully Coffee which is located next door, selection is limited but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.9
    The cleaning ladies always cleaned the room even when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was sup er small but for the price is still a good deal.

    The cleaning ladies always cleaned the room even when we left the room late. The location was also very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is very close to Shinjuku-Higashi Station ( Exit A1).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is very close to Shinjuku-Higashi Station ( Exit A1). Tully’s Cafe at the ground floor, convenience stores like Lawson,7-11, Family Mart around the corner. Room is compact and always clean. Bathroom is small yet functional. If you have small luggages and staying only for few days, this hotel is recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.5
    Basic but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No room for luggage in the room. Unclear instructions for light and bathroom facilities. No green tea available.

    Location to the train and subway was terrific. Few good restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    2nd room was large and very comfortable though slightly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived a day early. First room was tiny but clean and reasonably comfortable.

    2nd room was large and very comfortable though slightly smelly as it was a smoking room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Had a blast in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Typical small room from overseas accommodation, but could have been just a little bit larger

    The location wasn't too far from somene of the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.1
    There is a subway entrance - great for suitcase guests when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet has less an inch to the wall. Room is tight that is typical for just a place to sleep.

    There is a subway entrance - great for suitcase guests when coming up exit A1. However. There are many flights so to head down without steps look for exit B2 escalator leading to the concourse level (ticketing). They is a Lawson around the corner and a McDonald's, ramen, and a curry restaurant across the street. 15 mins walk to the JR Shinjuku station. Otherwise take the subway below. Area I felt was safe even at 3am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is soooooooo small that we can not open 2 suitcases at the same time. If you bring any suitcase bigger than 28 inches, then maybe you can not open it in the room. The bathroom is also extremely small that I can hardly turn around when I took the shower.

    Great location. Very close to the East Shinjuku A1 Exit. 1 stop to Shinjuku by subway or 15 minutes walk. Breakfast is good. You can choose 1 of 4 types sandwich + 1 drinks in the coffee shop around the corner. Lawson is also just in the corner so very convenient to buy some drinks or food. Many Chinese tourists live here so some of staffs can speak Chinese.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.8
    Only one thing that we appreciate is their location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They don't have their own restaurant. We will get one coupon per day and provide only sandwich and coffee at Trully Coffee downstairs. If we know in advance we will not pay for their breakfast. Their bed is too small, 4 feet bed for 2 adults!!!!!

    Only one thing that we appreciate is their location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Double room too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double room was not big enough to fit two adults and luggage. We had to walk sideways to get around the bed which was centrally placed in the room layout and our luggage blocked the entranceway. Not ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    6.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very tight, but this is Tokyo. Breakfast was poor. There is no dining room, just a sandwich+small coffee at the Tully's coffee shop downstairs.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.1
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaner did not wash the coffee mug..just left the dirty mug on the table during our stay. This was the basic knowledge she should know.

    Ideal location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable pillows

    Like most hotels in Tokyo the room was very small including the bathroom. However I enjoyed my stay at the E Hotel in Shinjuku. I must say the location was perfect and within walking distance to the Higashi Shinjuku Subway Station, Family convenient stores, chemist and plenty of restaurants and bars. The hotel room was clean but I found the pillows quite uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all I had such a marvellous time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    The Restaurant is not a Restaurant it is just a Tully´s...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Restaurant is not a Restaurant it is just a Tully´s coffee shop downstairs for which you get vouchers; after 9:00 AM most of the eligible breakfast sandwiches are out of stock so you do not get a breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    6.7
    Convenient hotel if you plan only to sleep and get out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are so tiny!!! The double room would be considered a very small SINGLE room for European standards.

    Proximity to metro station, literally 2meters away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Room was larger than expected. Clean. Very cramped bathroom but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible pillows - so hard and had ridges on one side! Awful!! - pillows need to be regularly changed & a selection of pillows provided. Otherher hotels throughout the world do this & I believe it would set you apart from the other competitors in your area.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.8
    It was fine, but wouldn’t book it again when I know other better and cheaper options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is overpriced compared to other hotel we stayed at, which had a larger room and the staff and feeling was just way better there!

    The rooms are clean and the location is great. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.5
    Good Hotel for people wanting to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is extremely small even for Tokyo.

    The hotel is in a great area close to the metro station and golden gai and a 6 minute walk to the busy part off Shinjuku. The hotel was ok however I would definitely not pay for the breakfast as there were very poor choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    6.7
    its ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    frequent noise of ambulance specially at mid night as its near in hospital. breakfast is like 1 sandwich and coffee only.

    clean and nice facility but small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast choice is not too big. The room is quite small.

    The hotel is in a very good location. Good price. The breakfast is in Tully's coffee cafe, and you may bring the coffee into the room. Good shampoo and conditioner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    7.9
    Sound of sirens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel is situated right at an intersection and, although I have not found out which were the emergency services, there is at least three or four times in the dead of night that you will hear a vehicle with its siren blaring racing across the street. I spent four nights at the E-Hotel Higashi Shinjuku. It's really such a pity for a good hotel (by Japanese standards).

    Everything was just great, BUT ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    4.6
    The room is very very small, even we can’t open luggage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very very small, even we can’t open luggage iside the room. In the description they spuld describe can’t open luggage inside the room. E-hotel is our 3rd hotel staying in tokyo,Japan. The day before we were staying at Osaka Ibis and mercure hokkaido, we could still open our luggage inside the room. The positive only the breakfast we love Trully’s coffee just beside the hotel. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    5.0
    Good location, tiny no-frills room-loud!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected the room to be tight, but this was extreme! The toilet was at an angle so that our knees would fit to close the door. The bathtub was really only to stand in to shower, because I didn’t fit to soak! There is no closet, only a few hangers provided, and no space to stow your luggage. One side of the bed is against the wall. My husband has allergies, and cannot have down/feathers. They had an alternative blanket, but no pillows. The sirens at night from either Police or Ambulance were ridiculous!- take that into consideration when booking here.

    As mentioned by many, the proximity to the metro was great! Also, walking distance to Shinjuku was very convenient. The fact that the breakfast included was at Tully’s Coffee, right downstairs, was also a plus, however, selections were minimal. The bath products provided were nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, just nearby subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a little too small for 2 people. But match with the price.

    Good location, just nearby subway station. A lot of convenience stores around. Room is clean and neat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    6.3
    Very good location to kacbuchicho, restaurants, shopping and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was TINY. I expected it from you there reviews but still.... Biggest down side was noise factor - woken many many times each night by sirens and loud speakers - investing in soundproof windows be a good idea.

    Very good location to kacbuchicho, restaurants, shopping and central Shinjuku- all walking distance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.2
    It was very close to the Higashi-shinjuku station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small, but most of the hotels in Japan were similar and wouldn't mind.

    It was very close to the Higashi-shinjuku station. It is the biggest benefit. It is convenient because it is close to the convenient store. I liked the cheap price , clean room and view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.9
    Position in Tokyo good and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room bed and bathroom . Breakfast was a gesture of small coffee and sandwich.

    Position in Tokyo good and central. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.5
    Just next to the higashinjuku station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room a bit smaller . No place for me to place my large luggage .

    Just next to the higashinjuku station .. just few minutes walk and walk another half an hour will have a large shop which is duty free .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size is very small, but is not bad.

    The bed size is good. shower room is very warm. the hot water in the shower room is good condition. the room is very clean. the hotel manager is very kind. the subway is very near from hotel. I want re-visit some time. It's good hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, reasonable cost for a nice, new hotel just outside Shinjuku shopping district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was confusing to find the subway from Shinjuku main train station. Hotel staff did email some directions on request, but it was quite overwhelming to find the right line at Shinjuku station. Once you know where you are, it's fine and very convenient. Some staff were not that friendly overview, or knowledgeable of train information when approached at the reception. But you can still get what you need.

    Nice, new hotel right next to a subway station, very convenient, but only after you know where and how to get to this subway station. Simple, nice breakfast is at the cafe next to the hotel, very convenient. There are many restaurants close to the hotel and only 10 minutes walk to the main Shinjuku shopping area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.7
    I knew I paid a good price for this hotel,but if other room was available,we really wanted to change
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Hollywood Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got the worst room in the hotel, #213. Since outside the window are some big machines, we could hardly open the curtains because there was no view except the machines. And we heard some noises all the time.

    The location is awesome, extremely convenience to get to subway, restaurants and shopping area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    good for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise at night & most of the time (understandable considering the area). Near a hospital or two so you will hear the sirens a lot. Also: it was not an issue to us at all, but you may not like the tiny size of the room. Its common in Tokyo, but may not be common for you!

    Super comfy bed & great location if you are looking for nightlife. We booked this to have a regular style bed our first night in Tokyo after many hours in transit. Was a few minutes walk from Golden Gai (that area with 200 bars & taverns in the tiny alleys!) which we stumbled upon by accident.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay and enjoy Tokyo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately there is little space for luggage (I kept them on the floor around the bed) as there is no wardrobe.

    The location is perfect: 10 metres from the subway station, the area is great and on foot you can reach many places to eat and after dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    Pros: Price, location and cleanliness Cons: Lack of space and noiseness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are tiny, especially the bathrooms, however this is standard for Japan. Constant sirens at night as it is located close to a hospital.

    The location of this hotel is great, next door to Higashi Shinjuku train station. The rooms were cleaned daily, with new towels and robes.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: