Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Episode1

Reviews of Episode1 This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, 4780-13, Japan

#4 of 23 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 277 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    4.6
    Washing machine was helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner was not overly hospitable, especially compared to what we have experienced on the rest of our trip - just wanted our money on check in and did not help us with anything else. Room felt slightly dirty/dated. Overall was a fine stay, but was very expensive accommodation for what was essentially a motel.

    Washing machine was helpful; owner drove us to the port when asked; room was spacious; easy to get around the island with the free bikes

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Episode 1 is a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No

    Episode 1 is a very nice place to stay. Kitchen is well equipped. Room heating is warm on November. Restaurant is opposite the place. Bus stop is just outside, one stop away to Yayoi Kusama yellow pumpkin. Best transport in Naoshima is bicycle, 20 mins by bike to main port. For fishing enthusiasts, it is just 1 min walk away. I saw local caught fishes and octopus at this area. Owner is kind and helpful. Send us to port on our last day. We love this island so much, Definitely come back again. Highly recommended Episode 1.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    A big apartment. Very comfortable. Bed was super comfy. Location convenient with a restaurant near by. Had everything that we needed. Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    The owner was extra nice, he even drove us to a cafe for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was extra nice, he even drove us to a cafe for breakfast, which was a lovely find. He also let us leave our luggage in his house after checkout. He was welcoming, with an easy going Manor

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    Very very comfortable room with 2 fluffy beds, ofurô, small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too big/expensive room for one person.

    Very very comfortable room with 2 fluffy beds, ofurô, small kitchen. Tetsuo and his wife are very caring and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    The property is the largest we had during our stay in Japan,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was perfect.

    The property is the largest we had during our stay in Japan, very nice. Owner gave us bicycles free so we could easily travel seen all island. Beautiful place and great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Quiet location. Easy to get about on bikes and bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one at the property when we arrived so had to make an expensive phone call. Owner arrived extremely quickly though after that.

    Nice to have the bikes to ride around the island. Bus stop right outside.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night theres virtually no public transportation so please check this before hand.

    The size of the room was great. Plus theres a kitchen and a restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Episode1 is a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pillows were too big. used a blanket for a pillow. One surprise was the lack of great restaurants on the island; food was just okay. But that's no reflection on Episode1.

    large one bedroom, with a washing machine, comfy soft beds, super clean, 4 bottles of water in the fridge, bikes. owner picked us up at the ferry terminal! nice guy - speaks some english. be aware the bikes aren't motor assist and the island is hilly... Overall, very happy with accommodations.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    It was spacious and had everything you needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though the booking was secured with a credit card he only took cash for payment.

    It was spacious and had everything you needed. It was close to the bus stop and restaurants are nearby. While nothing flashy it had free bikes and was very comfortable. Nothing is too far away so it was convenient. The accommodation is on the the side of the island than most ferries come to but a quick ride on the bus takes you there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located private appartment with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Welcome/ checkin atmosphere has been business-like, but it was very professional and helpful. All questions have been answered.

    Perfectly located: In easy hiking- or cycling- distance to Benesse and ArtHouseProject sites. A breakfast- and a good dining option in just 3 min. walking distance. Sandy Beach just 5 min. walking distance. Even a tiny shop within 5 min. walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.8
    Spacious and fully equiped rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not the most comfortable, Episode 1 is in Tsumuura, there is not much to do there (but it still has one or two restaurants and a small shop)

    Spacious and fully equiped room, with a little kitchen and a washing machine. We had a room with a traditional Japanese futon bed, that we had to make ourselves in the evening (which is the way to do it in Japan). There is a busstop for the hourly island shuttle just around the corner. The owner picked up our lugage on our arrival at the ferry terminal, so we could go straigth to the Benese site without having to check-in first (we requested this really last minute, late in the evening before, so big compliment for the owner).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this great guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be good to explain that the owner lives opposite and how to contact them when you arrive.

    Great large apartment that felt private and clean. The location was perfect, walking distance to Honmura and 1 min walk away from two delicious local restaurants. The beds were very comfy. We also used the free bike hire which was great for getting around the island.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    An art lover's dream destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checkout process was a bit confusing, the owner advised me to leave the keys and door unlocked, which concerned me a bit.

    I arrived at Uno pier after they have announced that all ferry schedules are cancelled because of the typhoon. When I reconnected to internet, I found out the owner has messaged me to advise that all ferries after 1215pm are cancelled. They did not charge for the 1 night I missed, kept my reservation and offered to pick me up the next day, When I arrived at the Naoshima port, I asked the information desk to call Episode 1 and the owner picked me up after 10 minutes. I appreciate this gesture as the transportation in Naoshima is quite challenging. The room is very spacious and has complete kitchen and bathroom supplies, even a washer and dryer. I wish I have stayed longer in Naoshima as there is quite a lot of things to explore. It's a shame I have to leave early as the owner also offered to drive me back to the port. There is also a bus stop a few steps away from the property, although I missed it and waited at another spot, I was left by the bus and learned my lesson. There are not a lot of food options nearby so better stock up before you go back for the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    Great staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, giving us rides to various places around the island so we can rent electric bikes, catch the ferry, etc. Location is awesome: just 10 minutes from the beach and the main attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great spot for exploring museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money. Nice owner. Nice and big little house with a kitchenette and bathroom with separate toilet. Great spot for exploring the museums on Naoshima.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instructions for the washer/dryer in English

    The owner was so sweet and drove me to the bus station when it was raining and didn't accept any cash when I offered. There is a great, cheap noodle place right next door near the main road too. The big apartment is fully stocked with an in-unit washer and dryer! Love the complimentary bikes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and comfortable condos located exactly halfway bewteen the main museums and the art house project sites. You can use bikes for free or take the bus that stops just a few steps away from the house. The Apartments are small but nice and full of amenities. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, a/c, wi-fi and complementary coffee / tea. The owners are really kind (the landlady brought us icecream out of nowhere and the landlord drove us to the ferry the day we left). Friendly stuff. Highly recommended if you’re up for something informal and yet you’re jealous of your privacy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable appointments, and a great place to unwind from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    The owner kindly picked us up from the main Port after we inquired from the Information Desk. There is also a bus that will take you directly to the stop just near the accommodation; you get off at Tennou-shita after you pass through Honmura port area. You can use the free bicycles to ride around the island - there are a few hills but it's OK to get off and push! We slept on Futons and the unit was well appointed with a separate kitchen so you could cook if you wanted to. A number of Museums to visit and great walking opportunities. There is also a restaurant right across the street and a small food mart just down the road. For any other item you can walk or cycle into Honmura. There is free wifi and a TV but most channels are in Japanese.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Episode1 exceeded my expectations. We had more room than many of the other places we stayed at. Everything we needed was available. Okada San kindly drove us to the bike rental. We had a great time and would recommend Episode1 to our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic 3 nights on the island, our host is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a fantastic 3 nights on the island, our host is friendly and drove us to the atm right after we arrive as we were out of cash. The apartment is comfortable and have all amenities you need. Try the restaurant next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay with an outdoor table and chairs and wahing machine in a good location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was tight for four futons.

    Good location for visiting all Naoshima sites, right by a bus stop. Full kitchen was nicely equipped, though there are few places to shop for food to prepare.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely host, spacious apartment for two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in a smaller town and in retrospect I would have liked to be closer to one of the ports of Naoshima.

    The hosts were super friendly and did not mind letting us check in earlier. The property is spacious and very clean. It even has a kitchen (which we did not use...). The futons were comfortable enough and easy to set up. The hosts provided bikes, which was awesome. There's a bus stop right in front of this property, which makes it easy to reach from either port! The bus always runs on time. Taking it with big suitcases is a bit of a challenge though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay in the wonderful island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host was very kind and helpful. He gave us bikes and we used them to go to house art project, Benesse House - had to park on nearby beach as bikes are not allowed there. He met us at the port and drove us to the port two hours after check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.8
    Fun and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t realise host needed us to pay in cash so that was a bit of a shock. Would have loved some reading lamps on bed.

    Host was very accommodating - drove us to bank for extra cash. Room was comfy and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    The hosts were nice and agreed to keep our bags as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside space is ugly, it looks like a parking space, not plants or anything.

    The hosts were nice and agreed to keep our bags as we were early for check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room and free bikes make this place a winner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We emailed the location about a week in advance asking if it was possible to use credit card, to which the response was "Yes." Upon arrival and conversing with the elderly host, he more or less pushed us into paying with cash because credit card was too troublesome. Asides from the host mannerisms, the actual facilities were quite comfortable and overall a great stay on the island.

    Incredibly spacious apartment room and very useful free bikes (we came during Golden Week and all the other rental spaces were completely booked out) The bus stop closest to Episode 1, Tennou-shita, was very close to the terminal station for the local bus (walkable distance!), at which you have to transfer to get onto the free Benesse shuttle to view the main museum attractions. Food can be a little difficult to find at night but the okonomiyaki mom-and-pop shop right across the street was both cheap and delicious and open late(ish).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.3
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected less than i found. Nothing bad.

    They are very kind and have bikes for the guests. The house is very clean and super nice bed. They think in every detail for you. Breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    Inland Sea is a hidden highlight of Japan and Naoshima is to be congratulated for the work it has do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our area it was a little difficult to find milk for our coffee but no big deal as it is available in the centre.

    Mr. Okada was very helpful and we found the location better than we at first thought. Good Okonomiyaki just over the road. Our expectations were not very high and everything turned out better than we imagined. Lovely island with quiet walks and discoveries. Besides the famouse Benesse Art Gallery deifintiely go and check out the Art Houses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.8
    Cute little apartment good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a great room but was a little far away from some of the main exhibitions

    Lovely cosy little apartment with good facilities a Japanese bath and a kitchen. Also got to use the free bikes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay and to enjoy by bicycles the nice place of Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    location is excellent : in between the nice spots to visit, bicycle availability is super cool, beds in japanese ways excellents too : we have had the feeling to experience japanese life style, pick up at the port is very convenient too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the most modern or centrally located place, but perfectly fine for a night.

    Good value for money. Host offered to pick us up from port. No shops in the immediate vicinity, but bus stop is nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Confi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thatsince we arrived late, we could not pay by card

    It had every amenitie you could ask for, tea, toothbrush, rasers, coffee, a complete kitchen. The owner was very nice, since in Nalshima everytjing closes quite early, he drove us to the only store that was open to buy some dinner (7 eleven) thank youu!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    Just as well we are friends as conditions were very cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Advertised as 1 bedroom apt. Fine for 2 but we had 4 and had to put lounge chairs in futon cupboard to fit 4 futons on floor and suit cases in kitchen. Should have said 1 room apt. It was misleading.

    Free bikes, host picked us up from port, bus at door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.6
    It was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect! The host was kind and picked us up from the ferry terminal on arrival, and even let us check out late the next day. The room was spacious with everything that we needed, including a kitchenette and washing machine. Bikes were free to use, and we were even allowed to use them after checking out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    The apartment is spacious and has all the facilities you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many cushions on the bed and some are smelly. Some towels have cigarette or some kind of chemical smells (problem of detergent?)

    The apartment is spacious and has all the facilities you need, for example, microwave, toaster, electric kettle, washing machine, TV, etc. Host offers pickup and dropoff to ferry terminal. There're also free bikes that guests can use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    Owner verbnice and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to contact the owner if you dont have a japan number . Becouse they dont have a reception in front .

    Owner verbnice and friendly . The room is clean and comfort for 3 .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.6
    Nice comfortable medium budget location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The local bus has hardly room for luggage. Neighbours’ washing machine woke me up.

    Good location between the two main art locations: Art Houses and Benesse. Use of bikes included. The local bus has a stop very close by. Doesn’t run very frequently though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    Very memorable stay in the sweetest of cities, would 100% recommend
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very cute and spacious room with everything from coffee to soap. Beautiful location near the lake with free bikes which made our trip perfect. The host was SO helpful even dropping us off and helping us find a lost wallet. Good bathroom and toilet with all kitchen appliances

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    It's a small apartment, with kitchenette and washing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is on the "far" side of the island, so not dead center ... but the island is small som you are not far away.

    It's a small apartment, with kitchenette and washing machine - everything you'd need. Even bicycles that you can use all you like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.2
    Recommended. Convenient to art precinct of Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside appearance of the property was 6/10 but the bedding was lovely. Room was very cold on arrival but we closed the windows and doors then turned on aircon so it was soon cosy.

    The owners picked us up from and took us back to the ferry terminal. They also drove us to the breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Great “homelike” stay on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great “homelike” stay on the island. The owner takes care of you, he even brought us to the breakfast by his car and also brought us to the ferry station. The house has Japanese futon bed that is very comfortable. Overall, very good stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.6
    Spacious, clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spacious, clean and comfortable! The bus stops at the door. We could use the bikes for free. Nice restaurants next door. Helpful host eventhough he can't speak a lot of English. Highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have since found out the price on booking.com was 2/3rds high than on its own website. It was stated on the booking the property took Visa card how ever he would only except cash. He did not want to provide breakfast the first day as it was a holiday even though this was includdd, eventually he gave us a small refund and drove us to 7/11 shop to buy some food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    9.6
    totally worth a try
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the host is very nice and helpful. we asked an iron on the first day, they gave us one at once, and they even bought us a new one on the second day in case that the first one wasnt so good. it was just amazing. plus ,the shuttle bus is just in front of the flat! so easy to everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Good value place to stay located near Art House Project and Ando Museum in Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. I had a great stay.

    The hosts were happy to pick us up from the ferry port by car and let us check in early. Despite the language barriers, arranging this and checking in was relatively smooth. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location,10 minutes walk from Tsutuji bus stop for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are very thin and we could hear neighbors taking. Check-in a bit late (4pm) but you can leave your luggage at the owners house just in front.

    Perfect location,10 minutes walk from Tsutuji bus stop for access to Benesse house and Chichu museum but also Gotanji beach). Bus to Miyaunura and Honmura is 10 meters away. Not many restaurants but enough for a week-end stay or you can cook in the unit, which has decent utensils.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    10
    We found our stay at Episode1 quite comfortable and found the amenities very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is like a little motel. You have your own entrance to a small, clean apartment. We had a fully equipped kitchen and a washing machine which we found very convenient. The traditional Japanese futons and bedding were very comfortable. They also have bicycles which we found to be the most convenient and enjoyable way to travel around the beautiful little island. The bus stops right outside the door and If you ask ahead, the owner will pick you up at the ferry when you arrive. There is a great okinomiyaki restaurant across the street and there is a Ramen place nearby that we didn't get a chance to try. We also enjoyed the complementary drip coffee in the room. Overall we found our stay at Episode 1 very comfortable. Tips: Bring cash, they don't take credit. The owner's house is the big one directly in front of Episode 1. To find them, just ring the bell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    A nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I sincerely do not have any negative comment.

    The area was very quite. The apartment very clean and easy to access. A bus stop is few meters away. The apartment very well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Great place at Tsumurra on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some annoyance from noisy people from other 2 apartments right outside our door until late.

    Had everything needed, washing machine, nice futons, kitchen, friendly host who met us at port in his car for 5min drive to property. Also helped us find another good place when wanted to extend visit there. Bus stop outside to Bennesse and other art museums. Go to Honmura also for art house projects. Good place for wonderful breakfast nearby 'Il ristorante mare interior' and cheap good ramen house next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    The owner is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. The room is large and equipped with full set of living necessities. The location is very convenient for sightseeing and meals. The highlight is that the host provide free bicycles, which is very important for traveling on the island. We strongly recommend this hotel for accommodation on the island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was easy to find and convenient for getting around the island. We enjoyed using the bikes and the bus stop was right across the street. It was nice to have a kitchen for making meals, even though the utensils are pretty basic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived at the port, we walked to the apartment because there was no public transport running. I read later that other reviewers were picked up at the port by the host. There should be a way to arrange this pickup. Once we arrived, we found it difficult to get into the room. There is no check in office. I knocked on the house across from the apartments and no one answered. My partner then called the phone number on the sign and the host came to help us. More detailed directions on this check-in procedure would have been helpful, especially since the host does not speak English.

    Great stay at this apartment after we checked in. The futons are very comfortable and the room was very spacious and clean. Really great value for the price. We were able to use the bikes on the property to travel around the island. We would definitely return and recommend this property highly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    great for a weekend away at naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hosts were very lovely and accomodating. They made a lot of effort to communicate with us and make us feel at home. The accomodation was great for 2 travellers looking to take in lots of art on the island. The location was right next to the bus stop and between two restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.6
    Small studio but perfectly equipped and arranged for a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of things around the location but bus stop nearby (make sure you check final bus time to come back since buses finish around 20.00!)

    Small studio but perfectly equipped and arranged for a short stay Welcoming and helpful owners Calm location Very nice Okonomiyaki restaurant in front of the studio

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    3.8
    Very low standard accommodation, for example: dirty bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very low standard accommodation, for example: dirty bathroom with hair on the washing basin and the drain was clogged. Strange smelling toilet and the mirror was not clean. All in all, it was a disappointing accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    9.2
    Easy to get with public bus from the Ferry, walked back from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to get with public bus from the Ferry, walked back from Bennesse Foundation and next morning to Naoshima. Dinner at the teppanyaki across the street which was very good and delicious breakfast at the trendy italian restaurant behind the apartment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Great spot to stay while visiting the museums in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very large space and was a lovely change of pace from the larger cities. The owners were friendly and everything went smoothly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was a bit tricky without phone reception

    Very clean and comfortable. Fully equipped and bikes were a wonderful way to get around the island

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    4.6
    The attidude of the management was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attidude of the management was poor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.3
    the amenities and facilities are excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is not ideal

    the amenities and facilities are excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay for a very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Niets

    Locatie Pick up van haven Goede communicatie Comfortabele bedden

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    Episode 1 is a great place to stay when you are at Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Episode 1 is a great place to stay when you are at Naoshima. It is Clean, friendly and comfortable. Very nice and helpfull owner! Thanks!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place with bedroom , kitchen and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice place with bedroom , kitchen and bathroom Very helpful family The owner drove us twice to Seven Eleven and to the harbour

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    It was super easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. I will go here again.

    It was super easy to get to. Free bike use. Good location. A good food place near by for the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.0
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfriendly owner, accomodation too small for 4 people

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is good. With 2 local restaurants nearby to get a quick dine. Host is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious, light ( we had the end unit) quiet. Bicycles were great to have. Short walk, ride, though bit of a hill, from Honmura

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.3
    Great location a short ride from all the best places to see,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses a little thin (but typical for a traditional ryokan)

    Great location a short ride from all the best places to see, very friendly owner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.6
    perfect stay, will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the space of the apartment and the bikes!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasant stay. Love the futon bed :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably a clearer way to obtaining the key instead of emailing or phone call

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Everything is good. Bus stop is near
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have to pay cash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Everything is good, plase, host, room is clean, bus stop is near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have to pay cash

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well positioned on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable and well positioned on the island. Use of bikes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Bed is too soft
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed is too soft

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75