Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Guest House Oomiyake

Reviews of Guest House Oomiyake This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, 855 , Japan

#12 of 22 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 497 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    I booked tha Japanese style room and it was a large suite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked tha Japanese style room and it was a large suite with 2 single futons on tatami mat. Lovely old Japanese house right near bus stop, harbour and shops and restaurants. Free use of bikes was awesome and made exploration of island really easy. I got breakfast which was delicious and brought to my room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, unique, and friendly base for visiting nearby museums and art!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the traditional style rooms for one night - was a lovely and comfortable space! The rooms were spotless and very large, the futon beds incredibly warm and comfortable, and the location was perfect for visiting the nearby art facilities. We particularly appreciated that the hosts allowed us to check in early, and provided us with free use of bikes during our stay. I also really loved the gardens surrounding the property, very picturesque :) I wish we could have stayed even longer!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    6.3
    Basic but cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a guest house in a very small town, so if you’re expecting a hotel you’ll be disappointed. The rooms have all the basics sorted, but a few extra touches, like soap to wash our hands with, coffee/mugs and a full size pillow (the pillows were quite tiny), would have made a big difference.

    Our room was quite big, and it was lovely to have a little space out the front to sit and have coffee. Super close to the Art House Project sites and the Honmura port (less than 5 minutes walk). Also lots of cute little cafes and restaurants minutes away.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.2
    Great Location, amazing traditional Ryokan. Was perfect for 2/3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Little.

    We stayed in the Main House which was amazing. We had a huge room on the ground floor with access to bathroom and toilet. If you want to experience traditional style Japanese Ryokan accommodation then request to be in the main house (I did not like the look of the out houses from the outside). We slept on futons on the tatami floor surrounded by the murals on the sliding doors and traditional Japanese art. Despite the cold weather the room was kept really warm with the heating. breakfast was great if you like Eggs, bacon and toast, the coffee was really nice as well. Great location and easy to access all of the sites and experiences Naoshima has to offer. we walked around the island which if you have 2 days is the best way. the bus to and from Miyanoura port for dinner was really easy but we also walked it a couple of times as well. Highly recommend a stay here if you wish to immerse yourself in Japanese culture and have ease of access to everything on the Island.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.2
    The property owners were very friendly, helpful, provided a good breakfast. Just not 2 bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was traveling with my wife and my brother in law. We thought it was a 2 bedroom house. But it was only 1 bedroom with 3 beds. The advertising was deceptive, it made it look like 2 bedrooms.

    Convenience and cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.9
    Apart from the sleeping issue, it’s good value for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you need a dark room for sleeping, do not take room 1, as there are several windows through which a bright light shone at night. The beds are also a little saggy, especially compared to those in newer part of guest house.

    Breakfasts are fantastic, more than worth the money. Location is great for the Naoshima Art Houses, and the buses to both ports.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Spacious modern apartment in a quiet village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one neighbour but the adjoining wall is thin and they were noisy. Could do with some kitchen equipment. No restaurants open in the evening in the village but the bus runs to Myanoura so we went there.

    Newly built apartment with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. We liked the tatami floor and extra space compared to hotel rooms. Good breakfast brought to the room. Very close to the ferry quay at Honmura.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.1
    A great place to spend 2 nights visiting Naoshima’s art and architectural sights .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not well signposted, making it difficult to find. Only green tea and cleaning products supplied in kitchen.

    Large bedroom with 2 large single beds and space for 2 futons. Centrally located for Art House Project houses and close to ferry terminal. Walk to Naka-Oku and Okonomiyaki Umikko restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    Terrific place - geared more to the younger travellers, but welcoming to us middle aged folk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - the weather is beyond anyone's control - it rained a lot.

    Clean & well maintained. Close to the aquarium & small supermarket. Close to the beach. Hosts were fabulous, helping us to locate an item of our luggage that we'd left on a bus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    Oomiyake is in a wonderful position and has a certain charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was under equipped - some mugs, plates, cutlery and a pot or two would finish it off.

    The 'Western style' apartment we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable with generous sized beds. We appreciated having the washing machine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    Is authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to be disliked. I was traveling alone. The room has two beds. Would be nice if the rate I paid was for two persons.

    Is authentic. Does not feel touristy even thought the island is swamp with tourists.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing i would say to put a sign to show where is the check in. We had to pass twice to find the person.

    This apartment was very clean and spacious, ideal for 2 people travelling, we didn't use any facilities as we were out most of the time. Very good location and good for price. Definitely a place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    A unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't really close to the main attractions on the island, and if you're not able to get arond by bicycle you will spend lots of time waiting for the bus.

    We stayed in the gorgeous 400 year old rooms. The atmosphere was amazing, and the couple running the place were really nice and helpful. A unique experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and the location is ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't clear when I booked that my room would have slept a lot of people so therefore I felt I paid way over the odds by paying for space I didnt need. Be aware that some of the rooms are expensive to sleep more people, not because they are particularly luxurious.

    The staff were very helpful and the location is ideal. There are free bikes there too which was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.2
    Decent place to stay in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed uncomfortable. You might be able to take the padding in the closet to make the bed more comfortable. My son didn't have any complaint about the bed.

    We arrived off season and were lucky to find this guest house was still open. It is in a good location near the art houses. The room was very clean and served its purpose. It is not an elegant experience but we had plenty of space and we were able to leave our bags when we arrived early and were able to leave them also when we checked out and still had time in Naoshima. We ordered breakfast in advance, and this was a very good idea as there really wasn't any place to get breakfast nearby. The breakfast came with a couple of eggs, a slice of ham, and some breads and jam plus coffee. It was one of the best breakfasts I had in Japan! They do take a credit card. They are very polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    We stayed in the 400 year old house (there are other small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the 400 year old house (there are other small cute and recently built apartments in the premises) and it was wonderful! Feeling the weight of all these years in the walls and the garden especially during typhoon Trami (we spent the whole day indoors protected by the ancient structure of the house listening and watching the wind outside shaking the garden trees and the house sliding doors). Besides that the guesthouse is two steps away from a bus stop that takes you through the island and Miyake-san also prepared bikes for us so even under rain we barely used the shuttle bus for the benesse art site. I definitely recommend this place! 5 stars!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    Simple and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the beds creaked with every movement.

    The apartment was quite large and had a kitchen table to sit at. Ours had a view over the port. The location was fabulous, near the bus stop, in the centre of the village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.0
    Delightful spot. So quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small pillow on bed. No signage on property. Almost at the bus stop but could not find. Please put up a sign that is easier to find.

    We had an apartment with plenty of space. The location was so convenient. Bicycles were available so we could explore further and the bus was only meters away. The Art Hose Project was just there and there were a number of delightful restaurants and cafes within minutes walk. We had two excellent nights here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for catching the first ferry in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for catching the first ferry in the morning. Lovely location next to the small harbor. Challenging to find a nearby restaurant so we ate snacks we had on hand in our kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.2
    Really good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The on premises bicycles could he better but there are rental options nearby.

    Really good staff. Arrived very early and they were very accommodating. Good facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.3
    The island is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The island is great. This location allows for easy sight seeing around, all walking distance. Not easy to get decent restaurants around, But remain a nice experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, clean and cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a big problem but it was a little hard to find the property, we had to ask for directions from a restaurant nearby.

    The owner was very kind and helpful. He helped us with navigation around the island and also helped us with transfer to our next accommodation. We were able to wash our clothes, borrow bikes to cycle around the island and breakfast brought to our guesthouse in the morning. A very clean and comfortable stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    Nice guesthouse, all restaurants are closed on mondays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kitchensupplies eventhough it was a nice one with fridge, freezer and a micro

    So close to The House Art Projekts. Exciteing and one of the reasons we went to Naoshima

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, brand new, but needs more utensils and furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a western style room; he's building new motel rooms in a parking lot so you walk through a parking lot and building site to get to your 'apartment'. It's brand new (which is great!), but under-furnished - inadequate utensils, miniature pillows, no drier so had to publicly line-dry laundry next to muddy building site/ parking lot - so don't do your laundry there :) !

    Location was great for the Art House projects and port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, comfortable beds, and friendly host. Some improvements could be made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't provided with many utensils/cups/plates and such. Had to ask for some cups to have coffee in. They were also doing construction right next to where we were staying - building new rooms for people to stay in.

    Very close to the bus stop and the Art House Project, the breakfast was very nice :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    It was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos on the internet were misleading. We saw no painted screens etc. We were housed in one of the new units. The view was the side of the car port, corrugated fibro, see photo below. The patio with only one chair had a view of the interior of the carport. The garden was ill kept. The ground was very muddy and there was no attempt to provide any dry passage. The living room had a TV but no chair or lounge.

    The galleries and the scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    I felt really special getting to stay at this historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt really special getting to stay at this historic property. It's a little beat up, but it was incredible to be in such a big beautiful space with the private courtyards, old screens and carved wood. The host was very nice and I wish we'd had more time to spend with him.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    A good deal in Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we booked was huge--it was actually a small apartment, with two bedrooms, kitchen/eating area, and bath. Naoshima is obviously growing as a tourist destination, so this Guesthouse is in the process of expanding. As a result, our space, while very large, was not fully furnished and did not have certain amenities such as bedside lamps, etc. On the other hand, the amount of space was excellent and our room was an end unit that faced the harbor, so we had a beautiful view. Overall, a good deal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    A very good deal, well nested in honmura. A lot of charm and authenticity!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building is of cultural heritage and location is excellent as it is at 20 meters from the bus stop that takes you from the port. The immediate surroundings are delicate and charming. The room was extra clean, wide and comfortable. The night was so peaceful and quiet! Breakfast was a mist as we ate the salads that grow there, and coffee was good though it was not expresso ( which we drink). On top.of it the landlord speaks French which he learnt as he lived in Strasbourg!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.9
    Traditional Japanese living
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet is rather slow (yes, there is Internet, although on the website it is mentioned that there is not) - but this is not an issue, since already we didn't expect to have it.

    The guesthouse is perfectly situated near the Honmura port, easy access by foot to Art House Project and Ando museum. The Japanese room is in fact a whole section of the house with 3 rooms and a private garden. It's a wonderful immersive experience. Although the house is very old, the rooms are clean. You have a private toilet and a shared bathroom. The breakfast is quite good (800 Yen) especially if served in the garden. The free bikes are also a big plus, a great way to explore the island. Globally, a great, immersive stay into the Japanese traditional country side. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    Familiar environment and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the cleaning level can't be described as the best

    It is literally next to one of the 2 ports, very close to some galleries, although the 2 important museums are on the other side of the island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.1
    Traditional and authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole town shuts down at 18 30. The property needs sympathetic upgrade.

    Traditional and authentic.Owner very helpful. Nice breakfast, even gave us a lift back to the port following our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    6.3
    It’s in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The people who work there are really sweet, but be warned that this room is pretty minimal. They also had construction going on which started at 8 am outside our window.

    It’s in a great location...which is key since you won’t be spending a lot of time there. Clean room, minutes from the port.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    4.2
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not room we booked, next to building site.

    We booked this accommodation especially for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese house, so we opted for the Japanese Room. However we were informed the day before that something had gone wrong and we could no longer stay in the room. We were informed of this after the time in which we could cancel so we had been left with no option other than staying in the room we were given. The room we stayed in was nothing like what we wanted and was next to a building site, so we had drilling and banging from 7:45 am until 6 pm at night! not ideal for a honeymoon! Such a shame.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tried to charge us extra for having 3 people, even though we had email booking confirmation for 3 people. Japanese room for second night very overpriced.

    Good location, free use of bikes. Nice breakfast but a charge of 800¥ per person

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    3.3
    The worse night ever...a tourist fraud
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner is not nice with guests and had racist words against Arabs. Treating us of poor people. Second, he is in a middle of an extension project of construction, we were exposed to noise of hammer from 8am to 5 pm. The photos exhibited are not at all reflecting the reality of our room, we slept in a kind of prefabricated structure. The garden is in a real bad shape. The WiFi was not working, the kitchen was not filled of simple instruments ( nifes folks, spoon...) and to finish we forgot 5 bottles of lemonade in the fridge that he refused to give back to us!!! The walls are so thin, that we heard the neighbors talking all evening, and the bed were creaking. An awful time for us.

    The guest house is located in the Hommura port in middle of the art houses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.3
    The traditional rooms we had were spacious and extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little extra tending to the garden would make it even more ideal.

    The traditional rooms we had were spacious and extra comforts such as low support chairs appreciated. Having our own garden and the use of bikes was great. Terrific location close to many sites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    We loved the accommodation which was roomy (for Japan) and in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the rooms was welcome, the availability of bicycles to borrow, the kindness of the staff (even though English was limited), the awesome location, the kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodations with a huge room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful staff and location! The host was very accommodating and helped me with last-minute booking. Also like the free bikes available to ride, and breakfast in the morning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful old house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the time of booking Im pretty sure it said meals were included but we didn't get any...! The host seemed a little grumpy but also we just kept ourselves to ourselves which suits us fine. There were other great food options nearby.

    Staying here is a one off experience and I would highly recommend. Amazing to stay in a 430year old wooden house, it is gorgeous! (although not 5 star accommodation if thats what you're looking for!!) Also great location for the Art House projects and east to walk to cycle to the big galleries on the other side of the island in 30 mins or less.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in the western style apartment, which was clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the western style apartment, which was clean, and well-equipped with everything we needed. The kitchen had a kettle, microwave, refrigerator, and sink. The bathroom had a nice tub for baths as well. Even though we went in winter, the heater kept the rooms very warm. The location was also very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    6.7
    Oomiyake has a great location with plenty of room and facilities for a group of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A table or some chairs to eat breakfast at would be helpful. Very happy to eat on the floor in a Japanese accommodation, when there is tatami matting, however on a cold tiled floor in an apartment it is less comfortable.

    The location of Oomiyake was very convenient, the facilities were clean and suitable and the manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great option for visiting Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to not like. Was totally in line with our expectations.

    Good location in Honmura Port, very close to the Art House project. Easy to get around the island with the bikes at the property. The owner is a great guy, very friendly and keen to ensure you have a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    7.1
    Frustratingly underwhelming for a great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't find a single restaurant in the Honmura area that was open for dinner. The only one that had signs of life turned us away at 6.45 saying they were closed! And they were on the road out of town.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great. If your budget can’t stretch to Benesse House (ours didn’t) then this is a good (very) alre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property was fine, but Naoshima and Teshima are quiet in winter. Not much is open other than the main sights between December and February, so be prepared for limited options for food, other things to visit, etc.

    The owner is a wonderful and gregarious man, who is very welcoming. He met us off the boat, and subsequently invited us for nightly aperitifs with his local friends. An overall great experience in Japan. Also, if you can speak French with him, then all the better as he speaks it well. The free access to pedal bikes at this property was useful for reaching the lower parts of the island (tip: get a bike with gears if you can). The art houses are a must visit, and if you are planning on visiting Teshima then try and see Kinza too (you need to book a slot online in advance).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    9.6
    Total delight staying in a beautiful traditional home with a welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were so impressed with our traditional rooms, which contained museum quality Japanese art. Our host recommended a wonderful mother and daughter run restaurant, where he arrived later with other guests. This English speaking host provided a congenial environment for us to get to know him and other guests. And Naoshima was great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    7.1
    Good! Privacy, big and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing to be aware is that not all the depts have internet conection so you have to go and try to conect in the yard!

    Location and the place is quite enough for 2 people. Some depts. have amazing views but the windows are not transparent. I say this just as a coment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guesthouse is very comfortable, privacy, good location, and very clean. The owner is so nice. Recommended this one for who is looking for guesthouse in Naoshima island.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    8.3
    Great hosts. Great location. Great value. I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The private bathroom in the traditional guesthouse is without a shower/bath so you must use the shower/bath in the main house.

    The 400-year-old traditional guesthouse is great. It's a little worn but it is 400 years old so that has to be expected. It has tons of space and offers a unique traditional Japanese experience. The newer guesthouse is more modern but not as charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay at Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was not heated so it can get quite cold if you're visiting in winter. Leftover food from the previous guests were left in the microwave (probably missed by the cleaning lady)

    Easily accessible from the Naoshima town bus route. Room is spacious and is equipped with a microwave and washing machine (detergent not included).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Staying a 431 year old house with the owners was quite an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying a 431 year old house with the owners was quite an experience and the breakfast they laid on, along with the facilities available, were lovely. The owners were very welcoming and let me borrow their bicycle to get around the island which was greatly appreciated!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not rouse our host on arrival . The entrance was hard to find and then we arrived it took us at least 10 minutes of walking around the property and calling out before the host came out. Once he arrived he was excellent and most helpful.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    9.2
    We loved Naoshima and enjoyed re opportunity to stay in a traditional Japanese home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not good if you don't want to sleep on the floor. The shower area is shared but very clean.

    It is a traditional Japanese home. We. Had our own rooms and toilet. We slept on tatami mats. Very comfortable. This is the only time we will be in a traditional home on this trip so it wasn't really special. The gardens outside our rooms were beautiful. Miyake was really sweet and helpful. The location was also a plus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    The owner was very lovely and let us leave our bags early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just make sure you do your research a little before coming to Naoshima or Tashima- we arrived in Monday when everything was closed!

    The owner was very lovely and let us leave our bags early before check in, and after we had checked out. The accommodation was huge! Lots of space for 2 people, very clean, great spot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    We loved our 3 day stay in Naoshima. Superb art, great museums, beautiful locale, wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We made the mistake of arriving on the other side of the island at Naoshima SANAA terminal. There are no taxis so we had to beg our way onto the packed local bus with our 2 huge suitcases after our 24 hour trip from France. Times were tense!

    Lovely, rustic, original and very spacious, short walk to Honmura ferry terminal, island bus stop and local restaurants. Futon beds in our japanese style room were very thick and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    We would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A minor suggestion...a table and chairs inside the cottage would have been nice (there is a set outside, on the terrace), as well as a couple of comfortable chairs for sitting in the evening.

    We loved the garden and the historic buildings. (Loved waking up to birdsong). The cottage we stayed in was bright and spacious. It was perfectly located and we were so happy to have chosen this for our accommodation on Naoshima. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We hope to return one day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.2
    Left my rail pass behind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Left my rail pass behind. By the time I realized my mistake, the owner had already sent a message and quickly arranged to forward it by next day post. Saved my trip. Loved the location as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.8
    Nice little B&B in Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worth mentioning. Bear in mind this is not an expensive hotel but a local residents guest house.

    This hotel obviously is on a small island with local residents hosting, so its a little hard to compare it to other city hotels. The facilities were a little rustic, but clean and the owners were very accommodating and helpful. They gave us a ride to the ferry as we would have had to wait for the local bus for a while to get there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.3
    Great location in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no cooking implements and just some very small cups and plastic cutlery. I was glad we had our own bowls and spoons and coffeee plunger to use. The owner does not provide meals although I think his listing states he does.

    This was a great location in the Arthouse village - Honmura Port. I thought we were booking a room, but we actually had a small apartment with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchen/ dining room with a microwave and fridge. The apartment was right next to the harbour so we could look out of the window to the water. It was nice to have the extra space after staying in hotel rooms. We walked everywhere- to Benesse House and the other villages. It was also close to a ferry terminal, but that ferry did not run as frequently as the ferry to Miyanoura Port. The owner was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Fabulous - authentic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accomodation gave us a feel of what it was like to live in a Japanese village before the rise of modern hotels. And importantly it is in walking distance to the Art House Project.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    7.5
    Superfriendly owner of a great house with good garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cockroach under the fridge. There are also a ton of musquitos and other stinging flying stuff in the garden, if you want to eat out, bring DEET.

    The owner went his way to please us, he actually was waiting next to the boat terminal to pickus up. He also made some great eggs in the morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.9
    Basic, great location, clean, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Completely Japanese style which was hard for us - no chairs at all, one low table for tea, no bedside tables. We stayed 5 nights and the room was not serviced at any time, i.e., trash was not emptied nor were towels ever changed. However, despite this I would stay here again as it was very clean and the location couldn't be better. We did not expect a lot of service (you get what you pay for) and the most important thing was it was clean.

    We rented the separate cottage with private bathroom. Room was very large with a refrigerator, dishes, sink, microwave, good air conditioning and a washer and laundry line outside. Location was great, steps to the town bus, restaurants, Art House project information center. Coop grocery store and mom & pop convenience store very close. Be sure to have the innkeeper make dinner reservations for you, restaurants are small and not always open.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    We would recommend this place. You feel part of the neighborhood in its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All accommodation have same problem, lighting! Only bright overhead lighting, no side lights for evening ambiance or bedside reading. It's a huge problem for us everywhere we stay.

    We thought accommodation very good, hosts very helpful (we were there in a typhoon) and looked after us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Brilliant. The whole world should come here. We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving

    The house, the gardens, the bicycles, Mr. Omyake is so generous. He helped us find our way to unbelievable places, e.g. Teshima Art Museum.. do not miss it. He helped us in so many ways. Great location. Check out the possibilities of the ports. And look around this precious island for unexpected surprises. The bathhouse in town, but Take your own towel and soap to the bathhouse.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.3
    Underwhelming. No WIFI available as advertised. Very uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was super uncomfortable, 2 single beds only available which could not be pushed together. WIFI connection as advertised, did not exist. When booking this hotel,I was sure I had selected the traditional style room but when we arrived it appeared that was not the case. Room names and selections should be clearer on bookings.com. Room was very noisy, walls were obviously paper thin and every single noise outside was audible throughout the night.

    The location was good, room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.5
    nice big room (especially after 2 weeks in Tokyo and Kyoto),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owner was not very welcoming, and a little grumpy.

    nice big room (especially after 2 weeks in Tokyo and Kyoto), simple and clean room but with all the necessary amenities; great location, quiet, just steps away from the town bus stop and the only vegan restaurant in town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.5
    Precio-Calidad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I lost some stuff, I am almost sure I left it in the Villa, the thing is that I could not be certain if the owner understood my inquiry when I called him. He does not speak very good English.

    It is close to almost everything in the island, the owner lend us a few bicycles to move around!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    9.6
    Nice littla house in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thig is thet there is no wifi ni the apparment, you need to go to the garden nxt to the main building.

    Nice appartment and big room for Japanesse standards. New and clean and very close to the bus station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Memorable stay in traditional house
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very authentic over 400 years old townhouse, great pleasure to indulge in all the old architectural details. Quiet garden. Nicely located in the Honmura village. Would definitely come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    8.3
    Great location to explore Naoshima!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation is comfortable, just don't expect any frills.

    Very friendly and helpful owner made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Just a couple of minutes walk Honmura ferry port or easily accessible by bike or island bus from Miyanoura ferry port. Great location to explore the Art House Project locations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    5.8
    With not a lot of work and improvements this could be a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poorly maintained grounds , modest facilities, no food available, we had to travel by bus to the other side of the island to get breakfast.

    This was a Japanese guest house in original condition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    10
    An amazing old Japanese house that feels like you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An amazing old Japanese house that feels like you are stepping back in time to Japanese culture. It's right in the centre of town in Naoshima, and a 1 minute walk from many of the Art House projects. The host is a friendly local who speaks both English and French. We would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    9.2
    More to Naoshima than just Bennesse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little hard to find the place but that became an adventure!

    Cottage nestled by the picturesque fishing inlet. Naoshima is great to explore once you work out the bus schedules etc. Or get on the bicycles! Staying in the village suited us more than being in the Bennesse resorts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.2
    treat of staying in a 430 year old Japanese house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were staying in the old Japanese room. Room is a big understatement. It is a house, which consists of 3.5 large tatami rooms, with private toilet + bathroom (across the hall). You are surrounded by 3 wonderful typical Japanese gardens. Even though the rooms need a little Tlc, it is a one of a kind treat and experience to be able to stay in such an ancient, typical Japanese House and enjoy its beauty and tranquility. The delicious European breakfast included fresh salad and cherries from the garden. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    6.7
    Authentically traditional, but in need of a bit maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit tired, particularly entry unappealing, but old part house charming.

    Grand old house, authentically traditional . Good location & great destination

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Guest House Oomiyake Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: