Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kyoto holiday rental reviews
  4. Kyoto holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Guesthouse Chayama

Reviews of Guesthouse Chayama 2 stars

606-8241 Kyoto, Kyoto, Sakyo-ku Tanaka Nishitakaharacho 14-6, Japan

#15 of 594 Holiday rentals in Kyoto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 22 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10.0

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 22

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Jim is an incredibly helpful and pleasant guest house owner. The house was finished to a wonderful standard with everything you would expect or need. When we needed directions, recomendations or advice Jim was at hand and ready to help. I would stay at this questhouse again in Kyoto without a second thought. Thank you Jim. Ashley, Sara, Fabian and Laura.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Can’t recommend it more highly. Beautiful, traditional, comfortable

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2019

    10
    Beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house owners were very nice and the information on their website was so helpful. We had a enjoyable stay in here.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice house, great amenities and excellent host

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike...

    We absolutely loved the guesthouse and it’s hosts. They were only an app away and helped us with basically everything we needed!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really can't think of anything I would change about this property

    Fiona was amazing. Picked us up at the train station, researched restaurants and made various reservations for us. The bicycles were such a bonus. We went on three bicycle rides.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from downtown but very near station and good supermarket

    One of the Best guesthouse in japan

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location for me. Great house and very comfortable just like home. I will stay here again next time.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    10
    A quiet, comfortable oasis in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guesthouse is cozy, quiet, and tastefully decorated in a traditional Japanese style. The kitchen, bath, toilet, and living room are downstairs; two tatami-mat bedrooms are up a steep flight of stairs. The tatami mats and futons are very comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped (an espresso machine!) and the host generously provided bottled water and beers in the fridge. The guesthouse is a recently renovated traditional home--the appliances, heat, and hot water work very efficiently! A pocket wifi is also available (very useful, if you don't have one of your own). The host is very considerate and generous with time and advice. The guesthouse is not in downtown Kyoto but is easily accessible by bus from the Kyoto train station (there is an electric train line nearby). The two bus lines that serve the immediate vicinity will take you directly to many shrines and temples; there are convenience stores and supermarkets nearby. It is a different way of experiencing Kyoto to live in a regular neighborhood. My family and I highly recommend this guesthouse and would visit again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    A great house, great neighborhood, very convenient amenities and access to transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 8 nights

    None

    The Guesthouse feels new, clean, and smells of cut wood. The craftsmanship in the house is exceptional. Blond hard wood floors, shoji screens mark off a cozy family space with comfortable couch, TV and coffee table. The kitchen is well equipped with tabletop stove, large sink and counter, refrigerator, espresso machine, and drawers and cabinets filled with cooking and dining ware, spices and other stables. The two bedrooms are finished with tatami mat floors and shoji screens and slept on futon beds. Laundry washing facilities and outdoor drying lines are also provided. Bicycles are available which encouraged us to explore and travel the neighborhood surrounds, like the Ginkakuji and Honen Temples and part of the Philosophers Path. We loved this comfortable, safe neighborhood of friendly reserved folks. They helped us locate the train station and post office, and taught us how to operate the automated train ticket machine. Just around the block from the Guest House is a 7/11 where we mostly go for food. The train station is in the next block and it took us about 20 to 30 minutes to get to the Sanjo station in downtown Kyoto. Our hosts were incredible, almost like long lost friends. Fiona, picked us up at the JR station on arrival, Jim dropped off some fantastic Mochi during the week and the whole family saw us off as we were leaving, Jim and daughter Mia to clean and prep the house for their next guest, and Fiona who graciously drove us to the JR Station. They were respectful and accommodating of our travel objectives, our schedule and our in-between needs. They provided city map with some suggestions, a ton of local travel material, pocket wifi and made it clear that they were available any time we needed (and they were). They were extremely astute in understanding how much guidance and how much “space” we needed, and we thank them for enabling us to have an incredible living/vacation experience in Kyoto.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Would recommand this place for a Japanese experience for a good price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from the center of town but it didn't matter to us because we wanted to live a "non tourist" experience and the ride with the bicycle towards the center is so easy!

    - The warm welcome of our host including all of the information she gave us - The house is newly renovated with a Japanese spirit and many charming details - The bicycles to ride downtown along the river - The quiet neighborhood and good supermarket is very close

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason I didn’t give it a 10/10 is because I had hoped to be a little closer to Gion, the area is residential and less “happening.” But it made for quiet sleeping and there are bikes there which we had fun riding into town!

    I can’t say enough about Fiona’s hospitality during our stay! We happened to be at her place when Typhoon Jebi hit, and she did everything in her power to make us feel safe and comfortable. She greeted us upon our arrival, brought us over a cake and other sweets before we bunkered down for the storm, and communicated with us consistently via WhatsApp throughout the storm to keep us updated. She even let us extend our stay one more night. We were a group of four, and the place was just perfect for us! Great AC, laundry, super clean facilities, a quaint kitchen, and comfy beds (who would’ve thought floor mattresses would be superior to beds!) The place is small, but very comfy. A short train ride away from Gion, and just a 3 minute walk to the Chamaya station. Would absolutely stay here again! Thanks Fiona, you made our stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 – 22

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!