1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Japan hotel reviews
  4. Japan hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Guesthouse Hanamiya

Reviews of Guesthouse Hanamiya

603-8312 Kyoto, Kyoto, Murasakino Nakakashiwano cho 65-31, Japan

Review score

Based on 14 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    10.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 14

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to Kinkakuji, which is nice. It's located in a nice quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2020

    10
    Very nice guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a quiet area of Kyoto (North West) Close to many bus stops Close to food shops (including a bakery) Small but with all convenience for a house, including ability to cook (restaurants being expensive in Kyoto...)

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fiona was very kind. The house locates in a quiet area and is suitable for family, which is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2020

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There’s plenty of storage but could be a bit more hanging space or a clothes dryer. It’s about a half hour bus ride from Kyoto station but the bears are easy to use. It’s worth getting all day passes when you arrive. They are available from the station visitor information desk.

    Beautifully presented Japanese style townhouse. Immaculately clean and with everything you need. Having bikes to ride around the neighbourhood and nearby temples was fun. Perfect for a family.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hanamiya is located in a typical Japanese little street far away from any hotels. You feel immediately like home. In Kyoto everybody goes by bike, this is why you get free bikes from the guesthouse. You are so close to the golden temple and the Zen Garden Temple! We did two lovely bike tours to the places Fiona recommended us to go. Everything was very clean and even in November we did not feel cold at night as the heating worked perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good experience of real Kyoto! Nice location and the bikes provided are a brilliant touch. Shower excellent and the beds are extremely comfy! Would stay again

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2019

    10
    Awesome host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jim was an amazing host who was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend Guesthouse Hanamiya in Kyoto. Jim gave us some really helpful maps and advice which allowed us to maximise our brief time in Kyoto. Thanks heaps.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant wait to stay again, owners are amazing nothing is a problem.

    Location is perfect, house is awesome kids loved it. Had time to clean clothes for next part of trip.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very kind, welcoming and helpful owners. Gave us lots of info about the area, and were always only a quick phone call away. The house is a lovely Japanese house, with very comfortable futons, gorgeous dividing rooms screens and tatami floor mats. Quiet non tourist location, with a short walk to the bus stop. We would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    We loved staying in this beautiful guesthouse with kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom all for our selves. Everything we needed was available. Our super friendly host provided us with good advise. The guesthouse is located in a quite neighbourhood. Although not centrally located, we could easily go everywhere by bike (available in the guesthouse)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really nothing i could improve to have a better stay...

    Jim and Fiona are wonderful hosts that go extremely out of their way to make you feel at home and help you around in Kyoto. The guesthouse is situated around the corner from the golden temple in a more residential area than downtown kyoto which is so wonderful to get a real, authentic feel of Kyoto. I am definitely staying here again on my next trip!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The hosts were wonderful! Jim gave me tourism advise, they leant me a bike for my duration there, there's a little primer prepared in the house with how to work the facilities, bus routes, local restaurants etc. I had a wonderful time in Kyoto at Hanamiya!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2019

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2019

Showing 1 – 14

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!