Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kyoto holiday rental reviews
  4. Kyoto holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Guesthouse Hanamiya

Reviews of Guesthouse Hanamiya

603-8312 Kyoto, Kyoto, Murasakino Nakakashiwano cho 65-31, Japan

#12 of 594 Holiday rentals in Kyoto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 29 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    10.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2020

    10
    Very nice guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a quiet area of Kyoto (North West) Close to many bus stops Close to food shops (including a bakery) Small but with all convenience for a house, including ability to cook (restaurants being expensive in Kyoto...)

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fiona was very kind. The house locates in a quiet area and is suitable for family, which is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2020

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There’s plenty of storage but could be a bit more hanging space or a clothes dryer. It’s about a half hour bus ride from Kyoto station but the bears are easy to use. It’s worth getting all day passes when you arrive. They are available from the station visitor information desk.

    Beautifully presented Japanese style townhouse. Immaculately clean and with everything you need. Having bikes to ride around the neighbourhood and nearby temples was fun. Perfect for a family.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hanamiya is located in a typical Japanese little street far away from any hotels. You feel immediately like home. In Kyoto everybody goes by bike, this is why you get free bikes from the guesthouse. You are so close to the golden temple and the Zen Garden Temple! We did two lovely bike tours to the places Fiona recommended us to go. Everything was very clean and even in November we did not feel cold at night as the heating worked perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2019

    10
    Awesome host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jim was an amazing host who was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend Guesthouse Hanamiya in Kyoto. Jim gave us some really helpful maps and advice which allowed us to maximise our brief time in Kyoto. Thanks heaps.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant wait to stay again, owners are amazing nothing is a problem.

    Location is perfect, house is awesome kids loved it. Had time to clean clothes for next part of trip.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very kind, welcoming and helpful owners. Gave us lots of info about the area, and were always only a quick phone call away. The house is a lovely Japanese house, with very comfortable futons, gorgeous dividing rooms screens and tatami floor mats. Quiet non tourist location, with a short walk to the bus stop. We would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    We loved staying in this beautiful guesthouse with kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom all for our selves. Everything we needed was available. Our super friendly host provided us with good advise. The guesthouse is located in a quite neighbourhood. Although not centrally located, we could easily go everywhere by bike (available in the guesthouse)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really nothing i could improve to have a better stay...

    Jim and Fiona are wonderful hosts that go extremely out of their way to make you feel at home and help you around in Kyoto. The guesthouse is situated around the corner from the golden temple in a more residential area than downtown kyoto which is so wonderful to get a real, authentic feel of Kyoto. I am definitely staying here again on my next trip!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2019

    10
    Beautifully restored home in charming neighborhood with bikes (you’ll love riding in Kyoto!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family of four (two boys ages 9 and 11) loved every aspect of our stay. The house is charming, on a small street in a real, non-touristy Kyoto neighborhood. We rode the bikes every morning to Tom Sawyer bakery, not too far away, brought our treats home to eat and make coffee. Every evening, we’d ride bikes out to dinner and the local onsen. The bus system is really easy to figure out with convenient routes to every major location. We mostly preferred exploring near the home. There are so many beautiful temples and parks right near by. Our kids loved it too! Especially having the 2nd floor where they could have some separation from us adults hanging out downstairs. Jim and Fiona were gracious and thoughtful hosts. They answered so many questions about Kyoto via email before we even got there. And they were able to secure reservations to the Moss Temple for us! That was, by far, the highlight of our sightseeing outings. You’ll be so pleased to stay in this traditional, immaculate home.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a wonderful two nights living here, the host Fiona and Jim are so nice to introduce the house to us. The location is a little bit far from Kyoto station, but it's near Arashi Yama. The house is clean and big, with Japanese traditional furniture and we love the TATAMI. We had a great time in Kyoto, we will come again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2019

    10
    We had the best time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Great access to the city bus and pretty quick trip to the Kyoto station and other Kyoto tour sites. There were many interesting places in the neighborhood as well. We wished we had more time to explore. Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    10
    Wonderful place with great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked about everything.

    This was absolutely amazing place to stay. I would say that this was one the best places I have ever stayed. Clean, spacious, well equipped with excellent location. Owners are very very friendly and helpful. This is place with no "buts". Nice place but.... I just can ask more. Would I stay again? FOR SURE!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    9.6
    Great location, perfect for cycling to the local attractions and charming back streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase too steep.

    The house was very authentic Japanese. Very cute and lovely touches all in the unique japanese Style staircase

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a comfortable house! It’s Japanese style.Very clean and very convenient.We went to visited by bicycle.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    10
    I would enthusiastically recommend the Guesthouse to all my friends and relatives!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't know what could have been better. The Guesthouse was perfect, the area was a delight.

    The Guesthouse is wonderfully and beautifully designed. The downstairs area has a kitchen that is fully equipped and superbly supplied with utensils and small useful food items, a comfy and pleasing living room, a useful closet area for suitcases, a marvelous shower, a fine rest room and a washing machine. The upstairs bedroom area has two separate sleeping spaces (one has a lovely tokonoma) and is spacious. Everything is clean and new. The house, overall, combines traditional Japanese elements (tatami floors and sliding shoji doors, for example) with modern western features. Artistically, the Guesthouse is a pleasure with many tasteful design elements. There are also thoughtful extras, such as a selection of books about Kyoto and Japan, a couple of beers in the fridge, a beautiful wood carving set into a wall, and free use of a couple of bicycles. Overall, we were 100% happy with the Guesthouse. And the area itself is very pleasant, in a non-touristy area of Japan; the neighborhood is very pleasant and we had fun walking around in every direction. It is only about a five-minute walk to a good grocery store and there is a lovely shrine that is nearby. The Guesthouse is on a small street so there was almost no traffic noise. James and Fiona were exceptionally nice and helpful; they were the perfect hosts! It was like staying at the guest house of generous, wonderful friends!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    10
    Best hosts ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, an absolute delight. Jim and Fiona...hard to imagine anyone being better hosts. If you want to feel like you are getting the full Japanese experience with the convenience of a wonderful property with great amenities, give this place your business! Love it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    10
    A beautiful discovery and enchanted encounters
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. All was great.

    Arriving in Kyoto we did not know what to expect, All we wanted was to be amongst the locals and not live in a hotel. Hanamiya was just a perfect location nested amongst a small traditional street. Arriving on site we were welcome by a very welcoming Jim and Miya, totally made us feel at ease. The comfort of the location was just amazing, clean and totally adequate for us and our two boys (12 and 9). The place was nicely furnished and furbished, Japanese style. The kitchen , the washing machine, little attention to details (beer on arrival, Japanese tea) made all the difference. We all felt at home. Totally sweet of Jim to make the boys take responsibility of watering the plants, total sense of belonging. And the bikes, what will we have done without the bikes, put at our disposition by our host free of charge. Enabling us to visit interesting nearby sites. We even biked to Kyoto station and back, easy and safe following the little roads. Shops and restaurant in the vicinity (follow Jim' advise). Jim was always available to help us. What can we say, it was the best accommodation in Japan for us between Tokyo, Ishigaki and Kyoto. Thank you Jim for such a wonderful discovery , totally 5 star material in term of guest house. See you again one day , Olivier, Audrey, Luka and Arno.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Fiona is a great host! Good Location. Room sparling clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    No train station nearby. However still easy to commute by bus.

    Fiona is fantasic! She go extra miles to pick us up from the temple to the guesthouse. She even allow us to store our bags beyond the check out time without addiotnal charge! The futons are extremely comfortable! The best futons ever in Japan so far.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A lovely place place to stay in Kyoto!
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain. Just a great place!

    This was probably the nicest accomodationduring our trip through Japan. A nicely renivated old Japanese house right in the heart of northwest Tokyo. The standard of the house is great, and it was lovely decorated by Fiona and Jim, the owner. They were both extremely friendly and helpful and offered more help than we needed. They also had a number of bikes available and even brought a bigger one. Some of the major attractions of Kyoto's northwest were easily reached by bike, but bus connections to all places in Kyoto are in walking distance. It was extremely hot and humid during our stay, and the house offers a good opportunity to spend some time of the day to relax. We can only warmly recommend the place, and we will certainly come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The hosts were wonderful! Jim gave me tourism advise, they leant me a bike for my duration there, there's a little primer prepared in the house with how to work the facilities, bus routes, local restaurants etc. I had a wonderful time in Kyoto at Hanamiya!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    A gem in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness and helpfulness of Fiona at Guesthouse Hanamiya made the trip to Kyoto as memorable and effortless as one could wish for. If only all holiday accommodations were as amazing as this one

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Holiday Home
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!