Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tochigi hotel reviews
  4. Nikko hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hananoyado Matsuya

Reviews of Hananoyado Matsuya This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

321-2521 Tochigi, Nikko, Fujiwara 19, Japan

#55 of 101 hotels in Nikko

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    Would like to have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and we had a lovely room. The outdoor onsen was delightful, surrounded by trees with the sound of the rushing river below. But most notable was the food! Give yourself at least one hour to eat breakfast as there were about 20 different dishes to work through.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    Our stay was excellent and my family loved all we had experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too bad it was raining during our stay. Next time we would like to walk outside to enjoy the nature better.

    The facility is very private at the river with lot of trees and plants. The meals were excellent and the setting of the ryokan provided my family the experience of Japanese beauty and culture. We hope to return in the near future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Great place and we hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything.

    It was a wonderful Japanese culture experience for my family. The beauty and expression of the environs needed on word to be appreciated. Words will pass but feeling will linger.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    6.3
    Nice food , onsen not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The onsen was dirty , with much insect , it spoil my stay for onsen trip. Indoor onsen and outdoor onsen have the same problem.

    The traditional breakfast and dinner is perfect. The view is the room was nice , just next to the river. The room is ok. The staff was helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    10
    very family friendly, beautiful location, excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am vegetarian. it was hard with the meals because they were all meat. i am still learning Japanese and I found it hard to communicate my food preferences.

    very family friendly, beautiful location, excellent and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent staff and customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities getting dated

    Excellent staff and customer service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.3
    Nikko is worth more than just one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemingly authentic Japanese experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.9
    Staff very polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very polite and friendly. Meals were delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    10
    Beautiful and tradicional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An awesome ryokan, the room and his views were so beautiful! We had a private room for breakfast and dinner and perfect service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful onsen, awesome room, location next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of English, which is normal in Japan in the country-side, but felt a bit awkward as the lady showing us our room kept on talking in Japanese regardless of whether I understood or not!

    Beautiful onsen, awesome room, location next to Kinugawa-river was gorgeous and Kinugawa main station was 3 minute by taxi. Amazing dinner and breakfast. It may seem expensive but it felt like I was getting a lot of bang for my buck.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2016

    9.6
    Location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting there

    Location was fantastic The service was impeccable The food was great

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2016

    7.1
    Very nice facilities, a little expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very nice facilities, a little expensive for what it was.

Showing 1 - 12

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: