Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hoshikuzu

Reviews of Hoshikuzu This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, 1974-3, Japan

#3 of 23 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 332 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inexplicably despite there being 4 burners in the kitchen the rules state you can’t cook in the house. Not sure what that means and quite restrictive given the paucity of restaurants or ones open in the town. We heated rolls and used the microwave for breakfast which presumably was ok. Tea and coffee bags, urn available for drinks.

    Located a short walk from the ferry terminal this traditional house had a number of rooms. At the time we were there there were 4 nice women in the other rooms so it was easy to share. The place was clean and well maintained. It was extremely cold outside but the heating kept us warm. Our room was quite small but adequate for 2. There are 2 toilets and 1 bathroom with a basin. The last morning we were there someone was in the bathroom applying makeup for ages restricting access to the basin, but otherwise it was adequate. There’s a coin laundry and dryer. Kitchen has microwave and toaster oven and fridge. There is a table and chairs as well as a low table with cushions. Check in very quick and easy and they now take credit cards.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Glad we picked Hoshikuzu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had wondered about staying over the other side of the island closer to the art, it’s a prettier and more quaint town but Miyanoura had more open in winter, we could go to the bathhouse at night and have a short stroll back to the inn, and we didn’t have to lug our bags on the bus. Hoshikuzu was really lovely, just perfect. Nice sized room. They leave a phone in the entry way so it’s easy to call when you arrive if someone’s not there at that moment. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    5.8
    Great locations, near lots of restaurants, 7-11, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not a lot of privacy. The rooms do not lock and the room that we stayed in had a semi open section in the partition so that someone walking down the side hall way could see in (though it wasn’t a big deal as I don’t think the hall was used). The host was friendly but we did not see a lot of her. We did not like the fact that the cleaners showed up before 10, despite the check out not being until 11am. Definitely felt like we were in the way and that we couldn’t use the toilet or bathroom.

    Great locations, near lots of restaurants, 7-11, close to the ferry terminal and lots of bike rental options nearby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    This is a shared house so you can expect other guests to be using the facilities whilst you stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lower bedrooms are located right off the living space so if you are sharing with noisy guests it might be quite loud, and there isn’t much privacy, just your own bedroom.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 4 nights

    important to know that you share the house with guests that stay in the two other rooms. since its a Japanese traditional house the walls are super thin. also- the cleaning ladies come everyday to start clean at 9 am, so no peaceful mornings.

    Hoshikuzu is beautiful, old Japanese house. It is very conveniently located about 5 minutes walk from the Miyonara port, and 2 minutes from a seven-eleven. It is very clean and beds are super comfy, the shower is new and very convenient, the kitchen is great, though we couldnt use the stove, so only made salads and sandwiches etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Perfect location, excellent and clean, friendly staff, and traditionally japan :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I Loved Hoshikuzu!!! It was a great location, amazingly clean and the home was unique and traditional. We stayed in the loft area and it was excellent to have privacy from the other guests! The stairs were old school and charming, I wish we would have stayed longer and had a chance to spend more time in the house. The location is primo, the staff were efficient and came right away when we called to notify arrival. English spoken well. Can’t waot to visit again 5Stars!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and quiet property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the museums and attractions are on the other side of the island.

    It was a nice minshuku. Room size was very good. They had bicycles that we could hire.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Very kind and considerate hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very kind and considerate hosts. Definitely recommend staying at Hoshikuzu on Naoshima. Unfortunately our time was cut short by an impending typhoon. Convenient location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    6.3
    One night in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no information for the check-in and they never reply to my emails. We didn't know how it would end up. The check-in was a bit weird and not really clear. I think it was overpriced compare to the other experience we could have had before. Don't go with a lot of expectations.

    The location was great and the house is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.9
    Nice, clean house in a great location - close to main port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communications and check in were very confusing and we were not given any information so was unclear if we could use the kitchen or bikes in etc. Also we were in attic room which could be difficult for some people to access

    Nice, clean house in a great location - close to main port of Naoshima and to the bathhouse and convenience store

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Beautiful house with a dining and lounge room, kitchen and laundry. Tea and coffee to make anytime and a supermarket nearby. The owner spoke good English and let us arrive early.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    We had the best time on Naoshima and staying here made our trip that much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had only one communal bathroom and sink so it was a bit squishy in the morning brushing your teeth with a few others that were staying but because Hoshikuzu is only small and has a small number of rooms it wasn't a problem at all. It was a nice chance to meet some of the others staying there.

    Hoshikuzu was an amazing stay for my partner and I. It's a beautiful Japanese ryokan with a gorgeous team of mainly Japanese-speaking ladies looking after the place. We were astounded by the large size of the room featuring a TV and a small table. The futon beds were super comfy and the whole house had a gorgeous look. They had a tea set you could use which was lovely too. The location was really good, very close to a convenience store and a short distance from I Love Yu, Naoshima's bath house and other restaurants and cafes in the area. It was a lovely trip and they held our bags when we got there early in the morning so we could roam around the island freely that day until check in time. The property is cash only so make sure you don't get caught out with that but the closest ATM would be at the convenience store.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    7.5
    Nice and spacious guesthouse, equipped with all the services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and spacious guesthouse, equipped with all the services. Our room was quite big compared to the average we were used to in Japan, and very clean. They also rented us two bikes for a really convenient price. Highly reccomended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.1
    The guesthouse is well situated to visit Naoshima en ChiChu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host didn't reply on our mails concerning check-in. And when we arrived there was nobody there. Finally we saw that we could open the door and that there was a phone lying there with a phone nr to call. We called the nr and the host arrived within 5 minutes. This is a strange way to check in. Check out was at 10:00 but the staff started cleaning the building and rooms with a lot of noise at 8:30, the walls are made of paper so you can imagine the noise.

    The guesthouse is well situated to visit Naoshima en ChiChu and/Benessee. The rooms are clean and the bed is already made when you arrive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host did not explain much about any thing at check in. The house was clean but the kitchen was really badly equipped. We found cockroaches and black dirt in cupboards. There was not even a sauce pan. There was no breakfast included (unlike what other reviewers say), the room on in the attic has low ceiling and dangerous to get down at night for shared bathroom. We booked 2 rooms and have no idea why the host gave us one on ground floor and other on the attic. We could have 2 ground floor rooms. For ¥60000 for 3 nights, it was not a great value. However the location is perfect and the style of the house is lovely.

    The location was amazing... 5mns walk from the ferry and bus station and supermarket

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.3
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was very clean and comfy. The host was very nice and took us to the other side of the island with her car. Also, the ryokan was near a bus stop which was very convenient to move around the island.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    6.3
    very close to the port, to “I love Yu” and to the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    check-in was terrible. The lady left a note and a cellphone so that customers contact her in order to check in, but in my case, the lady didnt answer the phone for about an hour. It was avery Frustrating. Also, this place has three separate rooms, but only one place to take a shower, so you might need to wait a lot in the morning before you jump in the shower. I would mever recommend this place to any one

    very close to the port, to “I love Yu” and to the only convenient store on the island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.9
    Pretty house, nice rooms, very clean, full kitchen with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners speaking almost no English, fortunately We were with a Japanese speaker. Some people might not like that the house and room is unlocked. There are three rooms, the room at the top floor is very bright in the morning, there are some nails if you bring some dark cloth to hang on.

    Pretty house, nice rooms, very clean, full kitchen with fridge, nice Japanese tea corner. And a high table for the westerners who prefer to be seated. A good place to hang your clothes to dry overnight, with a fan. Bikes to rent (non-electric). Not too far away from miyanoura port. Some breakfast places not far away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.3
    Traditional Japanese house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice attic room with everything already laid out. Very traditional. Good if you like your own space with not many other people around (we only saw one other couple during the night we were there).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Nice big room, lovely staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room, lovely staff and great location. We were able to use the bikes after check out and also leave our luggage there whilst exploring for the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    It is a fully furnished old traditional house, perfectly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a fully furnished old traditional house, perfectly maintained. Fully equipped kitchen (7 Eleven is 2 min walk distance) and vast common space, 2 separate toilets, bathroom with a coin washing machine, 3 bedrooms. It is perfect for a group of friends or family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    excellent location in a charming home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there was not enough guidance given (in english) for how to use the hot water dispenser, shower, etc. after i checked in i never saw anyone except my housemates. a mirror in the room would be nice for getting ready. there is only one shower and sink area so you can’t spend long in there!

    hoshikuzu’s location is great-near the port, bike rental shops, restaurants, public sculptures, and naoshima sento. you can walk to chichu but it’s a trek. i recommend a bicycle! the space is clean, charming, and provides tea and coffee 24/7.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great Place to Stay, very clean and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Place to stay on Naoshima, super clean and very close to the port. Futon was one of the best we slept on while in Japan! Great little kitchen to use (which came in handy, as restaurants are limited after dark on Naoshima) Great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Really nice Japanese experience in a very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nice Japanese experience in a very pleasant environment. Bonus was the early morning 'noise' by children from the neighborhood getting to school ....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in was an hour later than stated, and cleaning began hours before check-out. Only one bathroom for all three rooms. Maybe better suited for Airbnb.

    Very clean and with modern facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Unsafe stairs ask for downstairs room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attic room on our first night was a health and safety nightmare. Make it clear in your booking you want a downstairs room. The stairs were steep, the treads angled down and the bannister only went half-way up. Madame who checked us in told us it was not possible to move us for our second night but the cleaners did so. Not sure why it was a problem for Madame to do this.

    Our second night in a downstairs room was great and we would have given a much higher rating had we had that both nights. The cleaners were a delight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Clean & Well-decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is very clean and well-decorated. Since Naoshima has very limited restaurants, it is important that the location is near 7-11 convenience store (where you can scrub food and drink there). What’s more,the owner is very considerate to put a cellphone at the vestibule so that foreign tourists can call her when arriving ( no need to set global roaming). BIG THUMBS UP.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Liked all

    So very beautifully renovated, ultra clean, great amenities, beautiful traditional space 4 minute walk to Miyanoura Port, 2 minutes to bus stop and 7 Eleven, near restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Village life in traditional house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot help but be a little noisy as it is a shared traditional house with thin walls. People who stay should keep voices down.

    Great opportunity to stay in traditional house with futons on tatami mats. Bath is new but in traditional style. House is immaculate and location is great. Rooms are large in first floor (did not see attic room).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely local stay and all the facilities we needed for our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner spoke no English and we speak no Japanese, so it was just as well we had no problems working out anything in the the house, as it could have been an issue! We had to call her on a phone in the hallway when we arrived which took a bit of fiddling about!

    We, along with the occupants of the other rooms, had the house to ourselves as the owner lives elsewhere. Well kitted out kitchen and a very atmospheric old house. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Just opposite a 7/11 for breakfast things! And very accessible for everything on the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Cozy guest house in a beautiful area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved absolutely everything about our stay at Hoshikuzu. The owner was very kind and accommodating. Beds were very comfortable and the room was very spacious and clean. We felt very safe in the guest house and absolutely loved the area. Naoshima is a beautiful island and it was one of our best experiences in Japan. We would love to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    the location is perfect - close to the ferry, the bus stop,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    everything was great. the check in instructions weren’t super detailed so maybe could be improved.

    the location is perfect - close to the ferry, the bus stop, seven eleven and many restaurants. such a beautiful and well equipped house, wish i’d stayed longer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in traditional Japanese home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls but that's to be expected in traditional houses... you just need to know that going in!

    Beautiful traditional house, excellent location, comfortable futons, clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    The house is well located for visiting Naoshima island in 2 days !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As a Japanese house, it’s not the kind of space that you could have some intimacy ;)

    Its a nice traditional Japanese house, with all the accommodations, and a food shop just 2min by walk! There are several bikes to rent, useful if you want to speed the visit of Naoshima ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Tranquil and Zen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only point negative is the soundproof between rooms. But it's expected with the kind of house structure.

    Had little expectation when booked but totally got charmed by this little hostel. It is clean and well equipped, the shared bathroom is not so inconvenient as I worried. We passed a pleasant time here and would like to come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very clean room and shower and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that bothered me were the stairs leading up to my room. They were each slightly slanted so I was holding onto dear life getting up and down the stairs while wearing socks. (Be careful!)

    The guesthouse is incredibly inviting, very cozy, seems very new, very clean and you can tell the host/owner wanted to wow the guests with the atmosphere and the accommodations. Everything was very clean from the bedroom to the shower and bathroom and living room. I only spent one night here so I can’t review any other rooms I haven’t been in. Hostess was incredibly nice and inviting. Location is excellent in Naoshima. It is down the road from the (only?) 7/11 on the island and a short 10 minute walk from the ferry and less than 10 minute walk to the Naoshima Bathhouse 😍.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, close to bus stops and and an easy walk to the port. Restaurants were hard to find around the area as many were closed. Staff were very friendly but spoke little English. We had the upstairs loft which was small but comfortable - watch your head though!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.3
    Traditional, comfortable with easy access to ferry and bike shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given the upstairs bedroom. We found access difficult as we are older and somewhat arthritic. If that’s you - best ask for a downstairs room.

    Traditional Japanese style home with 3 guest rooms. Excellent kitchen facilities and laundry. Share facilities with other guests. Futon bedding comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, traditional Japanese house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We don’t like sharing a house but as we had 2 downstairs rooms. There was only one other couple who we didn’t even see.

    We loved the traditional house and although the bathroom and kitchen was shared there were two toilets and we never really saw the other couple. The house is not far from the port and the art museums are amazing! Check in was easy and the lady has a credit card machine on site (although she isn’t there, just ring her). The kotatsu table and tv in each room was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful traditional home in a quiet neighborhood, exceptionally clean and beds comfortable , being a traditional home the rooms are not soundproof so need to be considerate of other guests. Loved our stay here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful japanese style guest house. Clean and comfortable. Fantastic location. Close to so many cute and funky cafes and restaurants, bus stop and main port.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    a beautiful traditional Japanese house with modern amenities in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, there nothing negative

    I had the whole peace to my own during off season. With great weather and the bike rental (pictured in the listing) nearby or was the day I enjoyed the most during my first visit to Japan. The room is spacious. This might be of importance for all the people who regularly criticize room sizes in Japan. The the bedding is comfortable. There's a nice table with warm nlcomforter in the room. The amenities are modern, there's a nice bathroom, TV, Wifi & AC/heating. a beautiful house close to the harbour with the public bath house, coffee places and a convenience store nearby. My travel planning was not too flexible, But if it had been available I would have stayed another night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Clean. Charming tatami room. Easy check-in (earlier than planned) but you need to call a Japanese number, which could be not easy for foreigners

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend staying here - close to the ferry in Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to check in since we did not have a phone that could call Japanese numbers (just a portable wifi with us) but luckily we found someone walking by who called the owner for us. Stayed in the second floor room which we loved but should note that the stairs up to the second floor (more like a mini set of built in ladders?) are a bit tricky to maneuver with large baggage.

    Great place to stay in Naoshima and super close to the ferry terminal. The place was very clean and cozy. Mats to sleep on were very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    6.7
    This was an unstaffed house with rooms for 3 lots of guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an unstaffed house with rooms for 3 lots of guests. We were upstairs, very steep stairs. A bit of an effort to get up and down as each step sloped slightly downward. You have to be careful. Place was very warm and cosy, and facilities good - bathrooms, kitchen equipment. A convenience store just up the road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Sparkly clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check-in time is very limiting. The price is a little bit high during low season (compared to the other guesthouses in the area)

    Very clean, close to the port, very sweet cleaning ladies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    5.8
    Wish the owner told us ahead of time that all the museums...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish the owner told us ahead of time that all the museums were closed on the island for the whole week. We wouldve made other plans if we had known. Otherwise the unit was fine...super thin walls. Also more like a shared room in an AirBNB house. Our neighbours were strange.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.2
    the house is very beautiful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    only annoying thing is having to call the owner to make her come to the accommodation to do the check in, but she came quickly and we were able to sit down in the living room in the meantime

    the house is very beautiful; although we didn't have any view / window there was a nice light coming through the main entrance. check out was very easy as she just left the keys and came to pick up our luggages later in the afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    A family home turned into a beautiful private guesthouse -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 2F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's a slightly odd arrangement where the owner is off site so you have to phone her when you arrive to check in - not entirely easily done for all overseas travellers. Just be prepared. The upstairs bedroom was nice and private but had really steep steps and low beams - it would be a challenge for some.

    A family home turned into a beautiful private guesthouse - with three bedrooms rented out separately and the rest of the spaces shared. It would be great to rent the whole place if you had a larger group! A traditional feel with modern amenities. Fully furnished and equipped. Great bathroom; huge kitchen. Comfortable futons. Spotlessly clean. Fantastic location close to main port on Naoshima and supermarket, convenience store, bus stops, and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.3
    A lovely home with amazing bathroom amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was quite nice although I was made to wait 4 hours before checking in at the agreed time.

    A lovely home with amazing bathroom amenities. The bed is comfy and the style of the home is quite traditional and beautiful. Very close to the ferrys and near the few restaurants in Miyanoura.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    Traditional Japanese house in the perfect location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traditional Japanese house in the perfect location for exploring Naoshima. Clean, spacious and comfortable accommodation with all the facilities you could need including an awesome kitchen and fully functional bathroom. Highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Very authentic guesthouse, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in was a little tricky (calling a phone number first to reach staff, nobody was there).

    Very authentic guesthouse, very comfortable. It was a wonderful quiet stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful traditional house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit cold, but there was hearing available. Thin walls so could hear other guests when they weren't quiet.

    Beautiful traditional house. And very close to the port.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    5.0
    Good location close to the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was not around for check in but has to be called and arrived 15 min later. In fact there is no reception so owner has to be phoned anytime you need anything.

    Good location close to the harbour

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.1
    You’re on your own here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was shown to my room and never saw anyone again. No one lives there and you’re meant to telephone them if you need something but from my American phone, that cost a fortune. I wanted a little more attention - not the solo oasis that I got.

    Traditional ryokan - tatami mats on the floor which I love. Excellent location - 5 minutes walk from 7-11, the ferry and an awesome onsen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.8
    A great day in naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a private guest house with few rooms in the center of miyanoura and very close to the port. The house is very nice and furnished tastefully. The room is large enough und the futon confortable. Bathroom and toilets are to be shared but very well equiped. There is free tea, coffee and water and a small kitchen With few words very confortable everything. Recommendable without doubt. Nearby are restaurants and bares, so no problem for dinner. Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    8.3
    Traditional stay on a great island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much

    Traditional, 5 mins walk from port, a few nice little restaurants and bars nearby, good value for money and had kitchen etc for uncorking wine and making some food if not eating out. Seven11 5 mins walk away as well. Bike hire shop 5 mins walk away with cheap bike hire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Great stay in a traditional style Japanese house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The nature of the traditional house meant the walls were very thin so could hear other guests easily.

    Great facilities and very clean. Peaceful neighborhood and homely touches to the accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice house close to the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to call to check-in which is inconvenient with a foreign cellphone

    Very close to the ferry, very clean and the house is in traditional Japanese style

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    8.8
    Very good and comfy stay in the heart of Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom walls are partitions - as in most ryokan/minshuku in Japan

    Private house with 2 bedrooms which can host 6 people in total. Shared with a lovely couple there s everything you need in the house and it's 5min top from the ferry and 3min from the onsen. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.6
    small hostel, very clean with private rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are travelling with no wifi. When we arrived at the house no one was there and we had to call the owner. This provided a problem for us with no wifi access. You need to tell people that this is the process when you get there so they are prepared. Also it’s like a little hostel with a private room. No one lives there. People need to know that too.

    Spotless, great facilities like a very small hostel with a private room. Lovely little house in town close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.9
    Decent value and good host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Much like other ryokans, it lacks a bit of privacy especially with a shared bath and no locking doors.

    Decent value and good host. Much better than staying at a hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Very comfortable. Hghly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls between rooms not very soundproof but not a big issue

    Beautiful traditional japanese house, very clean rooms and bathroom. The guesthouse is close to the port, art houses, cafes and restaurant, and convenient store.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.6
    The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in process was a little annoying as we had to call the lady to come and let us in despite us being there at the check-in time. It was lucky we had an e-connect device to enable us to use our phones.

    The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and well situated. Plus it was cool to stay in a ryokan

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    7.9
    Was disappointed in the island overall but our stay was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I told them we would arrive on a particular ferry which we did. When we got to the property we had to phone to get the owner. We did not have a phone we could use. Someone else phoned for us so things worked out ok. Could not get into our room until 5pm.

    Good location close enough to the ferry to walk. Plenty of space to prepare own food. Refrigerator available for use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    8.3
    Small Ryokan a couple of streets behind the island main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    No possibility to have a real dinner in the room that could enhance the experience.

    Small Ryokan a couple of streets behind the island main harbour. Nothing bad to expect : real Japanese style room in a nice building. Facilities are extremely clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    Quiet stay at a traditional island house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The host didn't provide much information upon arrival which left us wondering about a couple of things around the house.

    Simple but beautiful traditional japanese room, comfortable futon, airco and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    This place is a bargain and will enhance your stay on Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were traditional Japanese thin mattresses. I prefer a thicker mattress.

    It was an authentic Japanese experience. Everything was clean. Coffee and Tea were provided. We met and befriended our housemates. The location was the best possible on the island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.5
    Simple but nice and clean ryokan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls.

    Very nice Japanse style ryokan, ran by a kind lady. The place is located close to the (only) 7 Eleven on Naoshima. The kitchen was very well equiped, we had breakfast on the terrace. Shared living room, convenient and cosy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.1
    Take care of your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is a converted traditional house there are many low wooden beams and doorways. This presents a risk to tall people at all times.

    Handy position.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.3
    Great base to explore the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware - almost all restaurants nearby are closed on Mondays - a 7/11 takeaway was our only option!

    Great location in two room minshuku (6 guests max). Only contact with owners who live off-site was to pay. Good value base to explore Naoshima.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    9.2
    very recommand
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    really comfortable to stay. very close to the one and only 7-11 store and i love u(public bathroom place also an art spot). very traditional japanese style outside but very modern inside. all the application are very thoughtful the best choose during this trip. very recommend. BTW NAOSHIMA very beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.1
    Great location for Island exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no staff on-site, so depending on the time you check-in, they may not be there, and you have to call them - and I had trouble connecting them with my mobile - not their fault, but it was an inconvenience. Luckily they were cleaning when I checked in, but later that evening when I could not get our light to work, I had no way to contact them, I resorted to email, but luckily another couple arrived and managed to call them, else I may have been sitting in a dark room for a long time. There is just one shared bathroom and 3 double rooms in the property, not a problem, I have been in accommodation where one bathroom is shared by more people, but its down to the courtesy of the other guests - one woman locked themselves in the bathroom for over an hour, drying her hair doing all sorts, which was annoying - again not the fault of the property, but something to bare in mind can be an issue given there is just 1 bathroom. Finally, there is no keys provided, the property is just kept unlocked at all times! This is island life afterall and I never felt this was an issue, Japanese people very respectful and honest, and particularly so for Island folk, but thought I would mention in case this concerns you.

    The location of the property is great, very spacious, easy to find, and close to the ferry port and lots of cafes/restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.2
    The house is beautiful and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house is beautiful and spacious. Our stay was very comfortable. They have a big living room, kitchen and comfortable bathroom with a washing machine. The host is super sweet but does not speak a lot of English so it is difficult to communicate. The location is perfect for discovering the island, in an area with lots of restaurants and a great onsen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    9.2
    Great authentic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom 1F
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little difficult to communicate at times. But that is only a small problem.

    It was a great experience of real Japanese homestay accommodation. The beds were very comfortable, the host was helpful, and the other guests were really nice as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75