Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tokyo Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Tokyo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of HOSHINOYA Tokyo

Reviews of HOSHINOYA Tokyo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

100-0004 Tokyo Prefecture, Chiyoda-ku Otemachi 1-9-1, Japan

#15 of 961 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing such breach of security & loss of personal items can happen in such a high-end hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Absolutely disappointing that we lost a brand new Hermes bag of high $ and sentimental value during our stay in Room #36, between Nov 28 to Dec 6, 2018. The police were called in on the night of Dec 3rd to investigate and a police report was formally lodged. We were told, based on CCTV, only Housekeeping accessed Room #36 on Dec 2, while we were out sightseeing at Kamakura that day. On the morning of Dec 3, 2018, we discovered that the bag we bought for my daughter was missing from our hotel Room #36. Having searched the entire room to try to locate the bag without success, we informed the hotel reception at around 9am on Dec 3, 2018, along with an email with photos of the lost dark blue bag with gold hardware, strap (dark blue and orange), Twilly scarf and pouch. The hotel deployed a staff to our room to understand the situation and take our statement. She asked for some time to investigate the matter with the hotel staff and that she would reply by evening of Dec 3. Upon our return that evening, we were informed that hotel was unable to locate the bag; they were still reviewing CCTV footage of movements in and out of Room #36. By 11pm on Dec 3, we decided that a police report needed to be lodged to ensure the matter was recorded by the Tokyo Marunouchi Police, who deployed 2 junior officers to our room at around 11:30pm on Dec 3, 2018 to investigate, interview and take our statements. Realising that there is possibility that this is not a simple case of a lost bag, but a possible case of theft within the hotel, the police further deployed 2 more senior officers to our room at around midnight of Dec 4. Having interviewed me & my family, I was then escorted to the downtown Marunouchi Police station to file a formal report on the matter at 2am. In the report, I detailed the full circumstances along with a description of the lost bag. Hotel Management had to be contacted and formally notified on Dec 4, having remained silent all of Dec 3.

    The Hoshinoya Tokyo, on first appearance, seemed like a very high-end establishment, with good security features, allowing guests to only access the floor of their room, plus the onsen on the 17th floor. However, this also turned out to be its only positive point, as the false sense of security provided is the key issue of the hotel: that of dishonest, thieves present amongst staff members.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    One week of bliss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Ultimate luxury in a “modern” ryokan. Staff were amazing. The breakfast miso soup was excellent. The onsen- I didn’t know Tōkyō had a hotspring deep below it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely ryokan in the heart of Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are rules which make the stay rather regimented. For example if you miss laundry collection at 9.30am, you cannot do laundry. They also can’t do omelet with cheese because they don’t have cheese.

    The property has a lovely design and is very stylish. The room is very comfortable. The snacks room is a very thoughtful concept! We love the tit bits offered there. We also love the Japanese breakfast which is presented in very pretty bento boxes. The rooftop onsen is definitely the main draw for this ryokan!! It is fantastic to soak in hot water at the onsen after a day of sightseeing and dining!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    We were there for our honeymoon and everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were there for our honeymoon and everything was perfect. The whole experience was like a dream. The decor is fabulous, the onsen (thermal bath) on the top floor was wonderful and the food and the restaurant was sublime!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Hoshinoya Tokyo has been no doubt our best hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No concern or complain at all, really.

    Pure Japanese experience in a wonderful contemporary version of a traditional ryokan. Everything was amazing and exceeded our expectations, however worth citing the wonderful hotel staff and their unparalleled customer service orientation. Hoshinoya Tokyo has been the best way to truly live Japan! We will be back. We loved everything! Staff was super, the setting and environment were superb, cleanliness was spotless (as everywhere in Japan to say the truth), our room was wonderful with excellent amenities offered, facilities were excellent. The hotel is in the business district, close to Imperial Palace. It is excellently connected as there are 4 different metro lines just below the structure. Easy to reach from Narita airport with the convenient Friendly Airport Limousine, which has a stop close by the hotel (less than 1 minute walking and direct service from Narita at a cheap price).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Hoshinoya Tokyo is your answer for the ultimate luxury hotel experience in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in time is only after 3 PM, which we absolutely understand from an operational POV (room cleaning etc). However, do note that this hotel does not have a lobby where you can actually sit and rest, as each floor gets its own private (and super fancy) lobby - where access is only available after you‘ve checked in and from your floor. It's not really a pleasant experience to be told there's nowhere for you to rest after a 12 hours flight, being heavily jet lagged and all your luggage still packed. We had to wait for another 4 hours until we could get into our room - at one point we were just sitting on a bench next to the hotel building. So definitely recommend factoring this in with your travel plan to minimize the wait. You leave your shoes at the hotel entrance where the staff will put them into lockers for you. This also means to enter/exit the hotel you'll have to work with the staff to get your shoes put away/get back. This made us feel slightly conscious every time we took our shoes off before entering the hotel (after long travel, or walked around for the entire day or any other reason, your foot might smell). Also, having to deal with staff everytime you enter/leave the hotel may in-directly reduced our attempts to get out of the hotel in the evenings.

    One of the fanciest hotel in Tokyo. You leave your shoes at the hotel entrance where the staff will put them away for you, so you'll be walking around barefoot throughout the hotel, including the elevator! - Everywhere is so clean and you'll be walking on tatami everywhere. It's definitely an experience like no other. Amazing outdoor spa on the top floor of the hotel. The bathroom and shower facility is nice and spacious. Very comfortable bed with plenty of spaces. An amazing private lobby to guests on each floor - all kinds of snacks and drinks available. From traditional Japanese snacks, noodles to ice creams; tea, soda and beer all free to take. There is also a tea ceremony and a fresh breakfast made in the lobby for guests every day. Great location - subway is right next to the hotel building, and 1 stop away from Tokyo Station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing!

    Fantastic urban ryokan that provides every creature comfort you could possibly need. Gorgeous spaces, attentive staff, delicious food and special treats with its own rooftop onsen that boasts an open view to the sky. It was hard to leave!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great service, excellent english speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great service, excellent english speaking staff. We forgot some things in the room and they managed to mail them to our following destination. Fantastic baths and room, great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    A relaxation oasis in the middle of a busy city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was perfect, nothing to dislike. However, if we want to be picky then maybe it would have been nice if there was a lounge area in the lobby.

    It was a ryokan experience but in a luxuries way. The staff were extremely friendly. English communication was not an issue at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Our greeting on arrival was wonderful, with tea and sweets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!

    Our greeting on arrival was wonderful, with tea and sweets! The room was divine and I think they might have the best beds in all of Japan! The onsen was completely amazing as well. I would definitely recommend having a Japanese breakfast during your stay, it's totally delicious! Hoshinoya was an amazing way to end our month long tour of Japan, definitely saved the best for last!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    A memorable, different experience staying in Hoshinoya Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A memorable, different experience staying in Hoshinoya Tokyo. I just want to stay and enjoy the relax and silence, don’t want to turn on the relevision although it is available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect Ryokan in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travellers need to be aware that this is not a hotel with a restaurant or a bar and you are expected to have breakfast in your room at specific time slots allocated by the hotel. If you wanted lunch or dinner again these are served in your room. I would encourage guests, especially ones who are not familiar with the Japanese culture, to look into the Ryokan lifestyle before booking a room at the hotel. If you were to stay at the hotel over the weekend all the shops, restaurants, bars around the hotel are closed and thus one needs to travel further if they wanted to eat or drink something. There are no views from the hotel.

    The staff are AMAZING and so very helpful. The decor is done to perfection and the quality of material inside and outside of the building were of high quality. The onsen was magical and the location of the hotel is perfect for city professionals. A perfect modern Ryokan in Tokyo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect and an amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect and an amazing experience. The two 14 year old boys loved it too. From the first moment to the last moment we were treated perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Situated in Tokyo’s financial district the hotel is a real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Situated in Tokyo’s financial district the hotel is a real gem. The area is quiet yet easy walking distance from Tokyo Station, the Imperial palace and it’s gardens as well as Hibiya, a nice area to explore. Being just above a metro station it has easy access to everywhere else you may want to go. The staff are super attentive and would cater for your every need. The facilities are great: our room was really comfortable, spacious and really well kitted out. The combination of tradition and modern touch is done very tastefully. There is a hot spring to chill in on the top floor which is a must!! The shared lounges on each floor provide free snacks and drinks (beer included) 24/7. Don’t miss out the complimentary sake tasting and traditional juggling show in the lobby too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Amazing urban hot spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The included breakfast is simply a tea with toast. There is no espresso and it takes too long to make tea. Too simple for a hotel of this category. A complete traditional Japanese breakfast should be included. The hotel requires everyone to leave their shoes on the first floor, as Japanese tradition dictates. Very inconvenient if you are in a hurry and walking in and out frequently.

    This hotel is an "urban onsen". The hot spring on the rooftop is wonderful. Modern, separated men/women areas and with privacy open air area. The room is spacious, modern and cosy. Taking a very hot bath after a whole day sightseeing or working is amazing. Very suitable for those who want a truly Japanese experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Convenient location with many metro lines (Otemachi station)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Convenient location with many metro lines (Otemachi station) and restaurants. Despite being located in the Central Business District, the hotel is extremely quiet, with tasteful music playing in the common areas. Very helpful staff who would assist in the booking of concert tickets and respond to requests and needs promptly. They are attentive to details. Especially love the common living area with good quality snacks and drinks throughout the day. The onsen, and all other areas, are very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous boutique hotel with a dreamy rooftop onsen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It all feels a bit too formal which makes it hard to fully relax but then it's very hard to get luxury + relaxation right, very few hotels manage to do that. The location is right in the heart of the financial district which is a bit dull but we visited the nearby neighbourhoods and the fish market. Afterwards, we stayed in Shibuya which is more interesting but Hoshinoya was still the perfect choice for the first two nights.

    Stunning boutique hotel, beautiful rooms and a modern ryokan experience. Perfect place to arrive after a long haul flight. The rooftop onsen is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    One feels immersed in nature yet super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One feels immersed in nature yet super comfortable. Staff are wonderful and there is a sense of privacy within the resort which adds to the relaxation value. It was even better than I anticipated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband is 91, I am 75. The beds and chairs were low to get up from. But we managed. Massage treatment was out of this world. We tried both western and Japanese breakfasts in our room. This was like theatre. They arrive with table, chair, food in boxes and cutlery in wooden rack. Wonderful to watch. Very safe and secure. Very personal service. Location in Tokyo very good. It feels like a boutique hotel. Hotel arranged good taxi back to Haneda Airport. Use this service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Treated like a princess for a night - you have to try this once in life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the breathing/meditation exercises didn’t add any value, and I’d suggest to hire a professional teacher for this, or not offer this at all.

    Expensive but totally worth it! They really take care of you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pretty expensive. The time of their show is set too early, very likely you are still out having fun

    The traditional Japanese style of the ambience, and the service were amazing. Very clean and tidy. 5 minutes walk from the Tokyo station and 10 to the Imperial garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Best of japa'n hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is simply the best experience I had in Tokyo! The hotel is beautiful, greatly located close to Tokyo Station and just 2 subways stops from Ginza. You have a direct access to the underground system. The rooms are excellent, with a common area on each floor for the rooms (only 6 rooms per floor) fully stocked of complimentary drinks (tea, soft drinks, beer) and a variety of Japanese treats. On the rooftop you have a beautiful hot springs, with a open roof where you can relax anytime you want (the hot sprigs are open everyday from 3pm till 11:30am next day!). The complimentary experiences at the hotel such as sake tasting, evening meditation, morning exercises, etc give you a great Japanese experience. The staff is simply the most polite people I've ever seen! lol. Truly, just a little showcase of the best of japan's hospitality!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    10
    Beautiful people. Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive , I have two small tattoos that were an issue using the hot spring. I had to cover them up.

    The staff were amazing, very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful luxury in the heart of Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Impossible to pick even two or three specific things we liked, everything about our stay, from the check in process, the friendly, polite, and helpful staff, the room itself, the well-stocked and relaxing ochanoma lounge, the evening sake/wine and the rooftop hot spring spa were out of this world. Cannot recommend Hoshinoya highly enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    The staff were very nice & helpful, the hot spring on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very nice & helpful, the hot spring on the roof was the cherry on the top & as the hotel is located in business area there was large numbers of restaurants available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    Must visit at least once
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a fault of the hotel, but it would REALLY help first time visitors if the Metro Red line authority would point out that the closest exit to Hoshinoya is actually right at A1 instead of C2C as this would saves about nearly 7 extra min of walk around the block!

    A wonderful ultra-ZEN accommodation in the heart of Tokyo central business district. Amazing atmosphere and a perfect quick get-away from busy city life. Calm and soothing hotspring spa up on the 17th floor, and every floor has a quiet tea lounge with free drinks and snacks. They take your shoes away right at the door and you can relax and walk around the entire facility right on tatami floor. Must try the in-room breakfast service when you visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable. A modern oasis away from the hub bub of Tokyo's financial district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amount of kimonos that were given! They gave a new set everyday but did not remove the old ones. Perhaps we could have placed the old ones in an obvious spot?

    The small details as expected from a modern ryokan run by a renowned Japanese hospitality group. There were cultural classes that were helpful in understanding Japanese culture. The location was amazing. It's easily accessible from Tokyo station though it can be tricky for the first timer. Amazing shopping nearby (Comme des Garcons, Issey Miyake, Hermes etc.). The lounge was definitely a plus. If you are too lazy to drop by the convenience store, there's food at the lounge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast might not suit every taste, very limited selection ' rice &soup ', but I liked hand prepared coffee

    Excellent hotel where you can experience the real Japanese 🏯 hospitality. Very clean, comfortable and quite. Hot Springs is available 24/7. I recommend it for couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a bit of an odd location. It is next to the Imperial Palace, but that isn't really much of a tourist spot, as much as it sounds like it. It is in fact in the middle of the newly built financial district, which is not the Tokyo that most western travellers will have envisioned. Having said this, it also has a private lift direct into the subway station, so it's not hard to get around.

    Service was spectacular. The hotel is beautiful. The baths on the roof were gorgeous after a sweaty day walking round Tokyo. Each floor of the hotel contains 4-6 rooms and a common lounge area. The lounge area has free snacks and drinks (inc. beer) available all day). There is a hot-springs style bath on the top floor, open 24h a day. Breakfast is a small simple (but good) affair, unless you choose to upgrade it for the fancy option (served in your room). They have some simple but nice activities put on every afternoon, such as sake tasting, yoga-esque exercise or kimono decorum classes. Overall I wish I could afford to stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff in a very good ryokan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The welcome in the hotel is very warm. The staff of the hotel is exceptional friendly. The Japanese and Western breakfast in the room are outstanding. The spa at the 17th floor is a special experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    9.6
    must have a try
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Lighting is a bit dark in the hot spring during night time especially the open area. 2) Bathroom door inside the room can't be opened all the time. 3) The material of the Kimono (the outer one) is bad, should use cotton instead of polyester. can get rid of dissipation of body heat after hot spring.

    the common area in each floor and enjoy the complimentary snacks and drinks. Lighting system in the room is user-friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Japanese Ryokan in the middle of downtown Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The polyester material for the robe that you have to wear to the hot spring The taxi drop-off in basement level 2

    Excellent decorations and lighting in the room Excellent staffs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful and serene experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only unfortunate things is the location -- maybe good for business travelers, but otherwise the area is a bit dull. Connects to everywhere in Tokyo easily, though, also the Narita airport.

    The Hoshinoya was an amazing experience and everything was taken care of beautifully, seemingly without any effort. We truly enjoyed our stay at this astonishing place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    An amazing and first class resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As usual in Japan the communication might sometimes be difficult because of their basic level in English

    the design of the room is quite unique and of top quality. All team members are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is rather expensive. Would love to have better amenity in the bathroom.

    The location, location, location. It is in the middle of Tokyo, close to all kinds of things, including a subway station! And the most amazing thing is the hot spring at the top of the building (I used it three times). You can see the Tokyo sky from there. The room is so clean and amazing. I could smell Tatami. Loved the Japanese chairs as well as the hidden TV. The bathroom is amazing too although I never used it thanks to the hot spring. The staff are very sincere and kind. One lady ran after me after I checked out to tell me where I could get s taxi :-) I hope to go back next time I come back to Japan.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2016

    9.2
    A MUST try hotel in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is there a resturant in the hotel? I did not see any signs or information during my stay

    1) Japanese style interior design and decor is amazing 2) smoking room is the best I have seen. Clean and comfortable 3) very unique hotel. Makes me think of Kyoto

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing place

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Beautiful take on traditional Japan but with a modern edge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful take on traditional Japan but with a modern edge. A very special hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    The service and how you were greeted.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The service and how you were greeted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Many guests do not observe Japanese onsen etiquette.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loud tourists standing and washing themselves in the onsen and walk along the onsen tub.

    Many guests do not observe Japanese onsen etiquette.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    Well designed and operated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No gymn with treadmill

    Well designed and operated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    8.8
    no food or bar or lounge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no food or bar or lounge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.8
    Surprised and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rules in this hotel are very stiff! U don’t feel u’r a guest, u feel they are doing you a favor!!!

    The Japanese style, a double edge knife

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast and the bed is super comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Perfect Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was just perfect: both facilities and service were great and location near Tokyo Station was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Foreignets who did not respect the culture of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    Japanese design dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location central but lifeless, not many facilities in the hotel

    Modern Japanese design, supremely comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was top notch and room was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The design of the hotel was very nice modern Japanese, it was very clean, staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    The hot spring & ryokan style are the highlights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast yg terbatas

    The hot spring & ryokan style are the highlights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely magnificent. I feel a lack of words to describe the comfort, the luxury and kindness of the staff. Amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stay here! It is incredible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.8
    Lack of contemporary socializing area, such as bar, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower room is a bit small. Noise of air-conditioning is too loud.

    Floor finishes, mattress, BOSE amplifier and lightings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing high-end spa and hospitality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free gym

    The above expectation service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.2
    The tea lounge on every floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    The tea lounge on every floor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding experience of Ryokan inside Tokyo.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price.

    Incredible service and facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    8.8
    My brother came to meet me and he was not allowed up into my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My brother came to meet me and he was not allowed up into my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    The attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attention to detail.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too dry ,even if we turned off the aircon it's still too dry

    The guest lounge of each floor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    9.2
    super luxe at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Tea areas with complimentary drinks, tea and coffee making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea areas with complimentary drinks, tea and coffee making equipment and snacks which charge during the day. Free sake tasting and trick shows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room are too dark

    New and exceptional

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.2
    Janpese breakfast in room service is perfect ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Janpese breakfast in room service is perfect ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loving every single bits of the hotel and service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    8.8
    Amazing experience but Uber expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At $2k+ per night for my family's stay, we probably wouldn't return.

    Amazing Japanese hotel experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Perfectly perfect ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Everything from Hoshinoya especially the foods

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    I Love everything in HOSHINOYA Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I Love everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    10
    the hotspring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    the hotspring

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    9.6
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Corner King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything !!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    7.9
    most things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no pickup from Tokyo Station and the taxi drivers did not know the hotel as it is new.

    most things

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    The nicest hotel I've stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The nicest hotel I've stayed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    10
    Everything is perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything is perfect . Outstanding service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    7.9
    Roomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my friend's room was not clean. Hair was in bathtub. Dust was covered on toilet paper cover.

    Roomy. temperature control.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse HOSHINOYA Tokyo Traveler Photo Gallery