Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kyoto hotel reviews
  4. Kyoto hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Imano Kyoto Kiyomizu Hostel

Reviews of Imano Kyoto Kiyomizu Hostel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

605-0863 Kyoto, Kyoto, Higashiyama-ku Bairincho 5-563-11, Japan

#91 of 482 hotels in Kyoto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1588 hostel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Really great staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, the hostel was super cleaned and comfortable, you can rent towels and other accessories and every floor has bathrooms and showers. The room was divided in capsules which, in my opinion, gives you much more privacy. The staff was really kind and helpful, they can speak English without any problem. Also the structure is really close to tourist places so you can just walk there. If I ever come to Kyoto again, I'd stay here once again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Great location to everywhere in Kyoto area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is kind of simple and in a small portion; a hot-dog bread (with a choice of sausage, egg&totato salad or bean with cheese), a ~1.5" long cut banana and a small amount of vegetable with dressing, no juice. This is the second time I stayed at this hostel. it used to serve breakfast with a choice of Japanese or western style.

    Great location to everywhere in Kyoto area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Recommended place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    It located only 10 minutes walk from the famous kiyomizu dera, with good ambiance, affordable price and we get breakfast :). and we have photo souvenir when we check out. Really recommended place to stay :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Best hostel I have ever stayed in! Clean and Comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are a person who likes to mingle with other people in the hostel, this might not be the best hostel. In common areas, people were just doing their own things, not so much socializing.

    This was best hostel that I have ever stayed in! It was maintained very clean (bathroom, shower, rooms), and there were little details that were very thoughtful (book light inside the bed space, slippers, flashlight, several hangers...). The common area on the first floor was also great for just relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.2
    Solo in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area didn't have many restaurants and they close very early. I didn't like that towels were not part of the package and you have to pay 100 yen to rent one. There are no train stations nearby as well.

    I liked that there are only 4 bunks in a room so there's a little more privacy. The place is really clean as well. Its really close to one of the temples and near the bus stop.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Modern Hostel but Small Common Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a cafe at ground floor but if you are not patronizing the cafe you are not allowed to be there during the operation hours of the cafe, which means guests need to use the common area located at the basement which consist of a table and 4 seats for the entire hostels. This is a generic modern hostel style in Japan and not for someone looking for local vibe. Only 2 shower room and 4 sinks and hence washroom is very busy in the morning. One kettle to boil water from tap (filled from bathroom) to get hot water or you would need to go to the basement to fill water from tap ad boil water.

    Modern hostel style. Easy check-in. Clean facilities. Really like the idea of ladies floor. Was able to store luggage for free after check out. Location near to Kiyomizu Dera.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.3
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    It was a clean hostel. The futon bed is so comfortable. The staff were helpful. However the location is inconvenient because it is a bit far from the train station and a needs to take a bus to reach Kyoto central station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.8
    It is so close to the Kiyomizu-dera temple and the bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Female Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be great if the rooms are sound-proof as we can hear people talking next door after midnight or the doors slamming loudly from inside our room. Other than this everything else is fine.

    It is so close to the Kiyomizu-dera temple and the bus stops. Super convenient to go anywhere by bus so it will be good to get a day pass. Kyoto is such a romantic city. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Very easy to find all the Japanese cuisine and desserts.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    Some of the staff is good and helpful but one of the female...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was bad smell in the room...window cannot be opened and the air was stuffy...The bed was little bit wet.

    Some of the staff is good and helpful but one of the female staff was not so smile and appeared not so helpful..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, the hostel has a nice vibe, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room on the first floor can get a little loud, but it wasn't that bad. Also it's very small, which is common in Japan. The mattress was a little too hard for me, but maybe also a Japanese-style bed?

    Very good location, the hostel has a nice vibe, clean and modern. My room was one of the private ones on the first floor, and it was pretty clean and had a little balcony. Toilet and shower were in the room. Staff was friendly and we were able to check in early. Really liked the hostel!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean modern hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is super clean, it almost feels like a brand new hotel, with modern facilities, with 24hr reception. The restaurant next to the reception is a nice place to relax.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    6.3
    Location is quite good, near gion and two of the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two people on staff were helpfull with itinirary to visit temples and which bus to take. When I checked out, the person at the reception was not able to help me find the best way to go to Nara (tofokuji station or kyoto station) which for someone Working at a hostel is quite the minimum, especially for such a common location. The kitchen is pretty small and the dryer did not do the job. I had to dry my clothes with the hair dryer.

    Location is quite good, near gion and two of the main temples.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.6
    Bath, location and friendless of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would recommmend travelling with light travel mattress of your own for an additional layer of comfort. If you sleep on a firm mattress you will be fine here.

    Bath, location and friendless of staff. Especial mention to Naomi for making me feel welcome upon arrival.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    A rather well established hostel and lots of privacy, I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm water for showering is essential during the cold weather, and the water temperature fluctuates from extremely hot to icy cold in seconds. And during my first night here the water was icy cold for at least 10minutes and I had to wait/adapt/figure something out despite having soap all over my head and freezing.

    A rather well established hostel and lots of privacy, I had the 4beds to a room. Things were neatly kept and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Bunk bed compartments offer good privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's no good place to relax in the hostel when you are outside of your room i.e no small sofa or a comfy chair anywhere. Its all wooden chairs & low stools.

    Bunk bed compartments offer good privacy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    8.3
    Love this place! Would come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't provide towels or little amenities like toothbrush, but they do have soaps, shampoo and conditioner in the shower.

    I love the location. It's close by the Kiyomizu Dera temple (only 10 mins away) and there's also lots of bus stops around. The hotel itself is very clean, and they even have a cafe inside. Beds are comfortable and there's enough space to put all your belongings. There's a bike rental just around the corner that has reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.2
    Super clean, friendly, high quality hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms a bit small was possibky the only downside.

    Super clean, friendly, high quality hostel. nice quiet location next to old town, supermarkets etc restaurant onsite

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 Bunk Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restroom and toilets were very badly maintaned cleen...facilities were cleaned maximaly once a day, but that was unsuciffient, especialy after morning attack of coughing, spitting and noseblowing quests - remains of that attack was pure horror. Not mentioning urine all over toilets. Table was same dirty for 4 day as first day we arrived. As a cherry on the cake - you can hear every single sound from toilet from common room.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, near bus stop and many temples,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of the female dormitory rooms of 6 beds is not so good. I think staff or cleaner should spray more air freshener during the daytime and open the window to get fresh air. The space in the shared room is quite small but enough to open the luggage. Some staff (female) could not help much with giving accurate information. Guys are better. Some toilet was not cleaned some days.

    Perfect location, near bus stop and many temples, Great long table with good light in the morning (outside the bedroom) to sit down and do some personal works.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.4
    It wasn’t as bad but also not as great when I went to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wanted to relax and shower and enjoy the hotel but when I’m traveling and already having to pay for extra things, I just left the next day and enjoyed my next hotel that didn’t have any extra charges.

    It wasn’t as bad but also not as great when I went to my second hotel in Kyoto which was cheaper just a bit, and didn’t charge me for towels and other things (I wish I kept the list). I guess I shouldn’t compare but if you look you can probably find a hotel that doesn’t make you have to pay for extra things when you get there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very croweded. People coming and going early in the morning and late in the evening. Difficult to sleep. No space for the luggage. No hooks of hangers in.the changing room near the shower, very important to add them. This small thing can do the difference. Breakfast is only sandwich (hot dog) and coffee.

    Very clean and tidy. Soaps and hairdriers available. Sleepers provided. Eyemask and earplug aa well

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    6.7
    It's alright! You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When someone decides to come home after bedtime and turn on the main light, the light finds it's way into your space when you live on the top bed. Otherwise good. Shower had a lot of hair in it. But bath downstairs was clean and sooo relaxing!

    Affordable place to stay at for a few days with friendly staff! It was a dormitory but still had some privacy with the bunk beds that shut out everything. It's a dormitory, you get what you pay for! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    I would have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is uninteresting, and the lunch they propose would be better in the evening. It is a shame since the cafeteria is a nice place, but there is nothing I wanted from it. Coffee costs 350Y. Does not favor meeting new people, I could not say why.

    The hostel is brand new, quiet and very clean at all times. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. The cafeteria is big, the coffee is genuinely good, and I liked to stay there. Fast wi-fi, good enough for streaming.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, staffs cleaned the place diligently but some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little suggestion: maybe require guests to leave their shoes at the entrance and change into hostel’s slippers like some other similar small size hostels do or at least ask them to put shoes into plastic bags. The first night I stayed there, two dorm mates had super stinky shoes which made the small dorm room smelled really bad and I had hard time sleeping with such foul smell. Fortunately that two gals checked out the next day and I asked the front desk to arrange open the window of the room to let some fresh air in during the cleaning time, and the smell improved on the 2nd night of my stay.

    Nice location, staffs cleaned the place diligently but some guests didn’t clean up after themselves.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Cold showers, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were bikes outside the entrance, but you couldn’t rent them. My showers were rarely hot or would alternate between hot and cold without me moving the knobs. The common spaces were per floor so it wasn’t a friendly type of vibe.

    The location was good, next to Gion. The staff were always willing to answer questions. I was able to leave my luggage before check-in and after check-out. They let me put my laptop behind the desk too which was nice. The beds were comfortable and had a lot of privacy. Everything was clean and the bathrooms were nice. Small security boxes were on each floor too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very helpful. They told us where to rent bikes and called us a cab when we needed to get to the station. When we forgot to get our receipt after checking in they left us a little note on our door to let us know. Our room had it's own toilet and shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good amenities and facilities, feeling safe to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It will be better if guests know what to do with air conditioner, humidifier (usually it runs out of water so guests need to change themselves) and air ventilator (it is usually turned off and I think it should be open so that smell in the room can be vacuumed out). Or it will be super cool if the hostel operators set up these for the guests.

    The hostel is located in a good location, not far from Kyoto station (just take bus 206 and get off at Gojo-zaka), near Kiyomizu, one can also walk to many good temples in the area (Rokuharataji, Roku chindo, Kenninji, Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka shrine, ...) and also Gion area, one can take Keihan to Osaka, or walk to Sanjo, Kamogawa river. It is in residential area so it is quiet for sleeping. The amenities such as shared kitchen, bathroom are quite in good condition. Facilities inside the room are good. They have air conditioner, humidifier and also air ventilator in the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.3
    clean, cozy and smells like a legit hotel. although a little creepy when it gets dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no lockers to store your luggages. when it gets dark, its a little creepy to walk back from town.

    love that it is sort of near gion and kiyomizu. theres a bustop outside which is great. family mart is just a stone throw away. clean hostel, semi comfy bed. cozy and friendly staff. showers and toilet were clean. kitchen pantry at the basement too. nice place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent hostel choice for staying in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very limited space in a narrow corridor for luggage packing in the women 's dorm.

    Excellent location for those who enjoy walking around the city and reach many popular spots within 30 minutes. There's also 10 minutes away from a subway station. Nice staff and clean environment.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.1
    Clean, good facilities, nice but not very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were quite hard and there was no view in the room. There was a large glass door for emergencies that let in a lot of light but couldn’t be opened so it was difficult to air the room properly. No bins in the room and limited luggage storage. No lockers

    Lots of facilities in the hostel and two women only floors which was nice and relaxed. Plug sockets and lights come with the dorm beds, each of which has a curtain for privacy. (very) Small lockers were available on each floor for valuables. Wi-fi was really pretty good. Shampoo and Conditioner supplies in the showers

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely budget private room in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no fridge but that really is a minor gripe.

    Lovely little hostel with great staff. We stayed in a private room that was quite small but perfectly comfortable. Toiletries were nice and the area was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    It was in a great part of town for temples and shrines but a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds could be a bit noisy for the top bunk.

    It was in a great part of town for temples and shrines but a bit far for places to eat. They did have a small kitchen which was great but would be tight for more than 1-2 people cooking/eating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    I liked that it was near the tourist attractions and bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that some of the travellers are fixing their luggage in the hallways because it wouldn't fit in their room.

    I liked that it was near the tourist attractions and bus stops.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.2
    awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was nice! And not only the bed room but also shower room and cafe room were very very clean. I was very satisfied this hostel. I could make foreign friends there!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my high expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to make your bed yourself.

    The facilities are very clean and everything is tidy. The rooms are well conditioned and it's quite. The location is easy to reach and in walking distance to the Temple distric Ginza with a lot of restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Clean friendly place very convenient great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is so pretty and modern love that they had a kitchen that's sold food on site they also had an elevator it was very conveniently located as well

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.1
    It was fine.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    When I arrived there was a guy at reception whose attitude was so bad to me. He was so rude and racist.

    I like the cleanliness and quietness of hostel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    7.9
    The bed it great, everything is clean and location is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One thing to note that there is no locker your things. It will be on the corridor right beside your bed

    The bed it great, everything is clean and location is very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.6
    busstop near the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not inform that i have to pay extra tax that was implement by the government which started from 1st oct.The shops and restraunt nearby close quite early.

    busstop near the hostel. V clean and neat.supermart nearby and the staff will introduce a very delicious ramen nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.5
    A bit expensive for a youth hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Female Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds are quite awful. It is also expensive compared to a youth hotel in Osaka. Rooms for four are so small you can barely fit with your luggage. We were three and we couldn't go around in our room. And we only had one luggage each and one bagpack each

    The hotel is near some of the most famous temples. You have an okonomiyaki restaurant in the main street near the hotel that is very great. Bathroom was really clean and nice. They organize some events during some evenings, like takoyaki evenings. Bus stop is not far away

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    The staff, the rooms, the neighborhood.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps a common room area, or a bigger common area, would be better to meet new people

    The staff, the rooms, the neighborhood. It is really close to some great sites and it is also a cute area of the city

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.9
    This hostel is very clean and new, staff are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dorms are not so comfortable because there are no shared or private spaces in which one can leave baggage: they have to be left along the small corridor beside the beds. Moreover, towels are not for free.

    This hostel is very clean and new, staff are very helpful. The position is great: about 2km from the Kyoto central railway station, that is easily reachable by bus, and very close to Kiyomizu-dera. Not so far from city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. If I had to say one thing it would be that the check in is a bit late (16h), would’ve been nicer if it was a bit earlier

    Everything was perfect. Good location, clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Amazing hostel! Great location and would stay again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com confirmed my stay however the hotel did not. They did in the end help us fix this but if they hadn't had rooms available it would have been a different matter.

    Super clean and amazing facilities. Wonderful area and close to a lot of things. Their breakfast sandwiches were also super delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.8
    the place was well located near key attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was high and a bit humid

    the place was well located near key attractions. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. I liked the fact that I can buy the bus day pass at the reception. It is close to bus stops and convenience stores. Generally, It met my expectations

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    It’s clean and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have only 2 laundry machines, so maybe you have to wait some time.

    It’s clean and new. For the price you get more than expected. Definitly will recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    2.5
    The place is disgusting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is disgusting! So many cockroaches everywhere the staff is rude and the whole experience was horrible to us. The location isn’t good either. Do yourself a favor and stay away. We were traveling and staying in hostels in Japan for 2 months and never seen anything like it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    The smell of Urine,dirty toilets, and dirty carpets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed on the coed floor for four days.The entire floor smelled like sweat and urine (unlike the woman's floor).The toilets shared by both men and women were also dirty and always always smelled like urine. On arrival I was not even able to breath in my room. I immediately went to the front desk and asked to have the window opened. Even though the room had air conditioning it still lacked breathable air supply. With the window opened and unscrewed by the staff the air supply was then back in order..:) However during my entire stay never did I see a clean toilet nor a clean shower on my floor. I am not sure if or how the staff clean there facilities but the visible signs of hair and urine was a constant fixture of this hotel.

    I liked my comfortable bed and bedding and the various guests that gathered at the restaurant on the main floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    9.6
    Good night's rest a coin's toss from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared dorm is a big "hole in the wall" style bed row, but the passage is a bit narrow. Not a lot of place for luggage. That said, there is usually enough, and it's a very minor thing.

    Clean, excellent location, silent backstreet but 50m from the crossing to kiyomizu michi. Faclities and front cafe/bar are great, though that format is a bit hard for making contact with other people Friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.5
    Everything was as expected and I had fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was never sure if the bar was open, and not quite as easy to find fellow travellers to speak to. May have just been when I was there though.

    Very well layed out and quite relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mix up with the rooms. Breakfast wasn't the best.

    Assistance from staff during Typhoon Jebi to pass the time being stuck inside, with reduced prices on drinks and a few Hayao Miyazaki movies. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel (once you find it) and a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The address on booking.com isn't actually accurate. It took me to a new hotel that wasn't built yet. I called the hotel and finding the hotel was a little bit of a hassle. It's only a 30 second walk away but I have limited Japanese so that was a rather worrying start! 2. The beds had one power slot and one USB slot to charge things. However two of the three beds I slept in had broken USB chargers. One was snapped inside and the other had been broken. That isn't so useful! 3. My first room? Someone smelled in that room, it was really bad. I wouldn't normally complain about this because it's not the hotels fault BUT the receptionist admitted that the air circulation in the shared rooms sucked. I'm just a little surprised that a 3* hotel hadn't been designed with this in mind y'know? Cuz that was a bad smell and there wasn't anything that could be done about it. Thankfully I got to move rooms though so that was good :) 4. If you want to eat out for breakfast? There aren't many options nearby, none that I could find anyway that opened before 10.

    1. The staff were really helpful! They could all speak enough English to tell me where nearby was interesting and all the important features of the hotel. 2. The lounge area was inviting, they offered breakfast for a semi-reasonable price and had other drinks and bits available to buy. There was also a dinner option as I saw someone cooking takoyaki! 3. The beds were quite comfy and the shower/bathrooms were all clean. 4. Fantastic location! Walking distance to the Kiyomizudera, a short bus ride to Kyoto station and the Imperial Palace and another World Heritage Site was nearby too! 5. The washing machine had a PIN input so nobody could take it without knowing your pin. That was really cool! 6. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.6
    The staff was kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights in the bunks spread far into other's, so a mask might be a good thing to have if there are late-night people around.

    The staff was kind and helpful. You can store your bags before check-in and after checkout. Each guest gets to take a polaroid photo home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    8.3
    Value for Money hostel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's English was not as good as it could have been.

    Clean, functional hostel with all you need for your stay. Great location to spring board into Kyoto.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a female dorm and instead they put me in the mixed dorm, which ended up being all guys, so the opposite of what I booked. The room was hot and humid even with the aircon running.

    The location was great. It is near one of the major temples and has a bus stop nearby that can take you to other major destinations. It is also within walking distance of the downtown shopping area and restaurants. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were kept clean. There was a cafe there where you could get food and drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no way of closing the dormitory door quietly without the latch knocking. Didnt affect me as my bed was at the other end but it would have if i was in the bed by the door, apart from that it was perfect

    Excellent place, super modern and spotlessly clean with comfy beds and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.5
    Perfect place for budget travel with clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Share the bathrooms

    Very new, and friendly people, can be with a group of friends or family with kids. Close to many places. Walking distance to Kiyomizu temple.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hostel in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was beautiful. I was shocked at how clean and nice the amenities were. The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've ever slept on, but it was sufficient. They also let me leave my luggage there after check-out which was super helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!You wont get disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    LOCATION: easily accessible, just 1 bus ride away from Kyoto station and the bus station is less than a minute walk. Very close to many tourist spots. AMENITIESI stayed on the 4th floor, only for women, it was really clean at all times during my stay. Free toiletries, available inside slippers, foot massager (really a blessing after a whoke day of walking) and if you need more things you can ask the front desk (towels and the like are rented) There is also a cafe and bar, you can order meals for additional charges but if not, you can also buy your own food, cook on the basement and use the common areas for eating. ROOMS/BEDS: Beds are really wide and comfortable and the room (where i stayed) was really spacious enough for luggages not to cause any bother. Also, it was really silent during my stay so if you just want to rest after a tiring tour, you'll definitely get a good one. STAFF: friendly and accomodating COST: you'll get more than what you paid for. It's not very cheap as compared to other hostels but the value is worth its cost. Been to Kyoto 4 times and its the best hostel I ever stayed at in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    8.8
    Recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything looks clean and new. The room is cozy. The bed is spacious and has a curtain for you to cover up. Apart from shampoo and body wash, they have conditioner too. In summer you can go to the canteen and ask for shaved ice at night and choose the flavor you want. Overall it is satisfying.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to the subway, the beautiful Kyomizu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The actual beds were a bit small and cramped but if you're only going for a short stay it shouldn't be a problem.

    Great location close to the subway, the beautiful Kyomizu Dera temple and neighborhood and it's only a short trip from Kyoto station. The hostel is very modern looking and clean, the facilities are great. The staff is nice and helpful and you'll have no trouble communicating in english.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast @extra charge is a set meal but very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen and dinning area are kind of small.

    Breakfast @extra charge is a set meal but very good, especailly the Japanese one. The hostel has two spacial bath rooms besides shower rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    If you smoke, pick an other hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not a hostel for smokers! Well they state on some paper they give you at check in that you are allowed to smoke in front of the cafe. But once I tried that, the guy from the reception told me I wasn't allowed to smoke there. He said, there is a smoking area at the next supermarket, 5 minutes from the hostel (an I really had to go away from the hostel every time I wanted to smoke). That was really weird.

    Its clean and all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.4
    We were staying in a dormitory of 5 girls, and the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were staying in a dormitory of 5 girls, and the price seemed a little expensive for this room. Moreover we had to put the sheets of the bed ourselves because it was not done !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is so nicely sejre, but in my viee an option with for example just toast, egg and coffee would be ideal.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Really nice atmosphere and so clean. This is a really nice placeret to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds in their 6-person rooms are cozy and spacious enough, guaranteed of a good sleep every night. The staff are friendly and accommodating, tourist friendly. Highly recommended! Kitchen and bathroom facilities are worth using.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Decent value for Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The twin room was small, but this is to be expected. Sound tends to travel in the close quarters as well.

    Walking distance from many places of interest - Gion, Kiyomizu-dera (and the charming streets around there), Kyoto National Museum, Sanjusangendo. The neighbourhood is nice, and there is a supermarket close by, as well as the ubiquitous convenience store. The twin room was very clean with shower and toilet en suite. The air conditioning worked well. The hostel provides umbrellas which was very welcome, as were the shoe-dryers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doors closing can be a bit loud as they're heavy. Location is not the best, so walking or biking is probably the only option, trains are a bit further away (10-15 min walk)

    Good beds with good curtains. Shared bathrooms and toilets were small but good as well. Great value overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was originally in the separate bed to the other bunks this it was 405b and when inconsiderate yobs come in and then on the light it hits u right in the face waking u up design is poor!they need to change the position of the main light or else get a curtain all the way up to the ceiling

    Exceptionally clean. The cleaners were always cleaning. Shower great power there, once changed the bunk bed then was comfortable for the night rest. Free water. Beer for 500 yen if u want

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Had a great stay! Facilities are brand new, very clean. Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping behind a closed curtain gets a bit hot at night. In order to get some cooler air in, I decided to open the curtain of the bed-box for the night. Did not feel as private anymore, but being in a seperate female dormitory room this was no problem at all.

    Great for single travellers, inexpensive. Facilities like bathroom are brand new and equipped with everything you might need, like shampoo, soap and hairdryer. Any personal toiletries like tootbrushes and towels are also available for a small price at the reception. It was a capsule hotel-type kind of experience for me. There is a bus stop almost at the entrance of the place so it is easy to get there from Kyoto station for example.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    One of the best decisions I could’ve made in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I honestly can’t think of anything.

    My stay was completely beyond my expectations. I stayed in room 101 and couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations. This hostel was well located and easy to get to Kyoto station by taking one bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very close to kiyomizu-dera and only 10min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Great location, very close to kiyomizu-dera and only 10min walk to Gion! There is a busstation at 50m from the hotel, which makes moving around in the city really easy. Staff was very friendly and helped us with all our requests, for restaurant reservations! Would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you can only check in after 4pm

    spacious, clean room and washroom. it even has bathtub and washer dryer. 10-15 mins walk to most of the restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    I understand that it’s a capsule hotel, however as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I understand that it’s a capsule hotel, however as a hotel/motel, it is your job to make sure that the people staying there follow the rules. Rules keep people in place so they don’t DISTURB others. Everything was lovely, except the people we were sharing it with. It you’re supposed to be quiet after a particular time, it means that the rule is there to protect those who 1. May have a job and need to get up early, 2. People who are exhausted, 3. People who PAID to have a safe and nice SLEEP.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel is within 5-7 minute walk from Kiyomizu Gojo station of Keihan railway. (I got to the place walking from the Kyoto station in about half an hour if not less- excellent location!) It looks brand new, everything is clean and neat. The hostel is equipped with everything necessary to stay from a very short period to even a couple of weeks I would say. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the money I paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!