Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kyoto hotel reviews
  4. Kyoto hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Kyoto Granbell Hotel

Reviews of Kyoto Granbell Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

605-0802 Kyoto, Kyoto, Higashiyama-ku Yamatocho 27, Japan

#118 of 500 hotels in Kyoto

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2278 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    10
    Onsen amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, Compact room but comfortable

    Onsen amazing! Location, nice boutique hotel lobby free coffee in lobby, great breakfast options but would be nice to have automatic latte machine.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.6
    Huge and very comfy bed (superior king room)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minimal storage space in the room

    Huge and very comfy bed (superior king room) 'Handy' smart phone that we could use for our stay to let us use Google maps and internet whilst out and avoid roaming charges Great central location Helpful and polite staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The travel buddy was a great idea but it was very slow and time consuming to use. Time for an upgrade I think!

    Fantastic location, great room and loved having an Onsen on site! Would come back and recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Beautiful decor, very clean and comfortable, perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was okay, not super options for Western style breakfast (powdered eggs, ick). Better to stick to Japanese style options.

    Beautiful decor, very clean and comfortable, perfect location, very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Great stay, will definitely book again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is really nothing I don't like about this hotel.

    I liked everything about my stay at this hotel. The location is great, a lot of the attractions are within walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean with very comfortable beds plus everything you need. I think each room has separate WiFi, so the internet speed is very fast. Check-in is at 3 pm, but if you arrive early, you can walk around the neighborhood, and store your luggage at the front desk, and your luggage will be waiting in your room when you come back. There's a public bath in the basement, very nice and relaxing. The staff is super friendly and speaks very well English, so no worries about communication at all.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    Sanctuary in historic Gion neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, the rooms are small...but they incorporated smart design to make the most from the space.

    Wonderful boutique hotel in the historic section of Kyoto. Great design and style in the common areas, including the Onsen soaking pools on the basement level. Great little happy hour, they opened five tasty French wines for 500 Yen every afternoon. Free coffee or for a more substantial price a huge breakfast buffet. Very kind and helpful front desk too. A true Sanctuary well located for traditional Gion and across the river...modern Kyoto.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    Modern,super comfortable, central location, amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no single thing which I may complain. All was perfect!

    This was beyond my expectations. This hotel must have at least 4 stars, I was amazed. Everything is top, new, bed is super comfortable, room is super comfortable, room and a hotel is very very new, stylish, modern. Location is superb- in the center of Kyoto. Staff is very helpful and speaks perfect English. I miss this vacation and hotel Grandbell a lot.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    comfortable stylish stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perhaps card needed to access either men/women section at the public bath as the men section opens automatically and there was incident a lady got lost inside.

    beautiful hotel. stylish interior. very comfortable bed. great amenities. location not that far from public transport. quiet area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    A romantic hub in the middle of Gion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Kyoto Granbell is pure luxury, for a great price we were able to endure a romantic, quiet and peaceful stay with easy access to the incredible streets of Gion. I highly renting the hotel bicycles to get around faster and see more attractions. The nightlife near the hotel was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    7.5
    Beautiful, stylish room and public spaces in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was good for exploring Gion area but very difficult to travel to any other sights! We had to walk or take slow buses and it was very inconvenient trying to get around anywhere other than the Gion area. Water wasn’t provided in the room! We had to ask for bottles of water every day. The breakfast was really disappointing! Hardly any western options and very limited choices, fancy dining room but the food was nothing special. Also, the staff kept ringing our room every morning to tell us the time and that breakfast was almost over, which was loud and awful when my fiancé had been sick all night so we ended up leaving the phone off the hook so he could rest. Bathroom had a massive oversized sink and the toilet was squished against the wall unfortunately.

    Beautiful, stylish room and public spaces in the lobby. The public bath was luxury and so relaxing! We could access the tv which was great because my fiancé was sick for a few days so we spent a lot of time in our room. Really comfy pillows! The maiko show we attended at the hotel was fantastic! Although we were lucky to see two real maiko wandering the Gion streets who were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    6.7
    Service was good, rooms were clean, there was apple tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were quite small, bed is uncomfortable (too soft for my liking), location is far from the main starion, but only few minutes from gion-shijo station.

    Service was good, rooms were clean, there was apple tv.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful atmosphere and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was really nice and wide but a little bit short for a tall person.

    Everything was clean and there was a really nice atmosphere. The public bath was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent small hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Western style breakfast would have been really helpful.

    Staff were very helpful with all our requests., Twin room was large for a Japanese hotel, so spend the extra money if you want more space. Excellent location right in the heart of Gion and close to all shops, restraunts ,buses and trains.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Fabulous. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. 10/10,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast looked a bit dull - standard buffet. Not a problem for us as we popped out in search of good coffee! Lots of local cafes to choose from. Very limited hanging space in the room or suitcase storage, as is typical in Japan.

    Hotel is in a perfect spot - right in the location of Gion where you can walk out day and night to shops, local little restaurants, the old parts of the city, shrines etc, yet it is quiet and very peaceful. It is very modern but at the same time has a very authentic Japanese style and feel to it. We loved it! The Onsen is gorgeous. I went there every morning before our day started - so pretty and very relaxing. Rooms are small but well furnished and beds very comfy. Requests for extra pillows and extras towels followed up immediately. Staff so helpful. Bar great and public areas warm, welcoming and sophisticated. Price of drinks reasonable. Maiko show was excellent. Lots of cheap and great places to eat in the area and 7-11 store very close for milk, fruit, snacks and noodles and fried chicken late in the evening for our ever hungry teenagers! Fridge, kettle and mugs/glasses, robes, slippers, shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the rooms much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Great location, walkable distance to many restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 2500yan breakfast, it really wasn’t that nice.

    Great location, walkable distance to many restaurants and city centre. Room was stylish, love the window view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    5.0
    we will not recommend this hotel. It is way too expensive vs the size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the size of the room is a joke. It is 17 M2 so we could not store our 2 luggage anywhere. Breakfast is a japanese one so difficult for french citizens We had to pre pay the room when check in for 7 nights. We decided to move to the Nikko Princee hotel where we will pay the same price per night!! The Nikko i a 5 stars hotel with 36M2 room...

    lobby is nice

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Staff woke me up at 7am with a mistake phone call... - Staff calling me 30mns before the end of breakfast time to check if I was coming down, felt under pressure...I don’t like to be reminded the time like a child! Service a bit too japanese I guess.

    Amazing location Great room Great public bath in the hotel Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.6
    The location, and the onsen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the bar wasn’t always staffed, could be great when that set up is working properly. With so many people staying, it should be full and a stylish respite after lots of travelling or work.

    The location, and the onsen! The rooms weren’t as small as we were expecting and were perfectly designed. Everything new and beautiful. Really loved it, would stay again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.3
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of the next rooms toliet flushing, and no lunch or dinner options at the hotel. Also, the breakfast could be more Western than it is.

    Staff. Decor.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, great baths, and an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were slightly small, although expected for the Japan region. Laundry room lacked ventilation, and with the dryers operating, were quite hot. Dryers also took some time to dry clothes, and required extra time to dry. There was a good coin laundry down the road, which would have a decent size load easily completed within 2 hours.

    Chique hotel very close to Gion district of Kyoto. Easy access to transportation options, and many things to do within the area. A very comfortable bed, and the public bath were absolute bliss with their settings.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    Hotel adds to the Kyoto experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like however there was a slight mixup if payment when we checked in. They offer a rare opportunity for a Maiko (Young Geisha) show on Tuesdays and Fridays and they should let people know! Woulc be unreal to witness! Our Apple TV in the room didnt work but not worth downgrading our rating.

    Our stay at this hotel was a highlight of our Japan trip. We stayed in a king superior. The facilities were fantastic throughout the hotel topped off with the Onsen available to guests of the hotel (seriously this was an incredible way to end every day of sightseeing) The ambience throughout the hotel added to the atmosphere of being in the Kyoto/Gion area. We also loved the view of the bamboo outside our window. Location was great! Short walking distance to anything you need really with the exception to the Inari gates which were an easy train trip away. Staff were excellent. No need to think about where to stay when we return

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    The hotel lobby and restaurant area are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They are pretty strict about the 3pm check in time, but I think that's standard for most hotels in Japan. They will hold your luggage for while you walk around though.

    The hotel lobby and restaurant area are beautiful. The rooms were great. Rooms were pretty small but laid out very well so I didn't feel cramped. The location was perfect, lots of sites nearby and tons of restaurants and bars were all walking distance. It's also just a few minutes walk from the train station. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be close to where the action is. This felt like a very well priced hotel, felt more expensive than it was.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The location is great but I think it's definitely over-priced (for more than USD 300 per night during the holiday season). The room is clean but very small. The space design of the bathroom can be improved (e.g., if they separate the bath tub/shower room from the toilet and the sink would be better). Due to the small size of the room, the AC was either too hot or too cold. The room is very clean but the bed is not very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is average. Staff is friendly and helpful. I think it's a great hotel to stay during the non-holiday season.

    I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The location is great but I think it's definitely over-priced (for more than USD 300 per night during the holiday season). The room is clean but very small. The space design of the bathroom can be improved (e.g., if they can separate the bath tub/shower room from the toilet and the sink would be better). Due to the small size of the room, the AC was either too hot or too cold. The room is very clean but the bed is not very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is average. Staff is friendly and helpful. I think it's a great hotel to stay during the non-holiday season.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    Good Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected the Traditional Japanese room will be more traditional but it is just the room area with mat flooring and a lower base bed. The price is quite expensive considering it's such a normal room.

    The breakfast is very good. It has the Japanese and western buffet and including desert with different cakes.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    I loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wouldn’t recommend the breakfast- although I’ve never had a hotel breakfast I liked. Recommend exploring the local area for food - or egg sandwiches from your local Lawson!!

    I loved this hotel. Not only the nicest little one we stayed in Japan, but it was one of the nicest boutique hotels I’ve stayed in. The location was very central and so many beautiful things to see in the Giro area. We had our kids and they were welcome. My only regret was that we only stayed two nights!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, very clean and great showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, very clean and great showers. Really small rooms - hardly any space to unpack. However the fact that most of Gion is walking distance with train stations and departments stores just around the corner - I would recommend this to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    Very clean, unexpectedly clean, location is good closed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have not found any yet.

    Very clean, unexpectedly clean, location is good closed to major tourist spots and tube station. Buffet breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff, the small room and the overall value of the property. Kyoto has many other boutique hotels, I would strongly recommend for anyone to go with another hotel. This hotel is a ripped off and has 0 customer service value. No wonder they have free rooms over nye while other hotels do not.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay as a tourist in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Gion and Kyoto generally. It is an easy walk to the subway and to Nishiki market. The hotel itself is great, the lobby and design are attractive. Our room was small but well laid out and it was an excellent value.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    3.8
    Really really disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What we got for the cost of a room and breakfast was definitely not worth it. The staff was very unhelpful and not accommodating with several requests we had, the breakfast buffet was terrible, there was no espresso or decent coffee service, the rooms were teeny tiny, and they told our airport shuttle that we had checked out, so he left and we had no car to get to the airport. Had we not had skis, 4 people and 8 pieces of luggge, we could have found a taxi...it was a complete mess. I would never stay here again.

    The space was cool and interesting Great shower

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    Ok but you can find better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was extra. Bathroom was shower only. Couldn’t charge gadgets while away (key card powered electricity only).

    Sento in the basement level included in room price. Clean bathing areas, good water temperature.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice if they allowed early check in. Breakfast selection might be odd for westerners. We did not really enjoy it especially since it was $40 for 2 people and not many options westerners would enjoy. Pasta and meatballs are not breakfast food.

    Breakfast selection might be odd for westerners. We did not really enjoy it especially since it was $40 for 2 people and not many options westerners would enjoy. The location, amenities and staff were all top notch. Would love to stay here again and the public bath was so nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    Great location central to everywhere with easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was great but small which is standard in many big cities in Japan.

    Great location central to everywhere with easy access to trains. Clean and modern design. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    5.4
    NICE OVERNIGHT STAY HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are way to small for a 3 day stay - we had to live out of our suite-cases that was inconvenient

    The rooms were way to small for a three day stay - no cupboard space - no packing space - way way to small

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.6
    Overall good choice. They need a concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very sweet but a little green in terms of helping with suggestions for restaurants, etc. they just seemed young and a little inexperienced. other than that, very good.

    Very attractive hotel. Very well located. Clean. Bar open late.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful place to stay, and great breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The King Bed rooms were quite small, but worked out OK.

    The breakfast was amazing! The Handy Phone was wonderful to make local calls, view local maps, and use in and around the town since it had free internet! Amazing Phone!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    9.2
    It was excellent, they gave us a phone in the room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, it was all easy and nice.

    It was excellent, they gave us a phone in the room with a Kyoto app which was so helpful getting around. The bed was also large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.2
    Stunning Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a bit small once two large suitcases were in there.

    Such a beautiful hotel, in such a convenient and quiet location. Staff were amazing! Overall lovely stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    3.8
    Some staff not only can not understand what customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff not only can not understand what customer complain about but can not solve the problem.When I was checked in,my room price already included breakfast.But the second day,when I went to the restaurant,the front desk staff said that my name is not on the list. The staff of ur hotel even said that I did not pay for breakfast.This is very ridiculous! Cause at the first day I already had breakfast ,but the second day the staff said I did not pay for breakfast. My booking is two days program.its not separate so this is impossible that I paid breakfast only one day.The staff wasted my time almost half hour but do not tell me why this mistake happened.And did not say sorry to me. Without any explain to customer what’s going on.When I checked out,I checked again with another staff if my booking included breakfast?The staff said YES! Some said yes some said no?R u Gus kidding me?Very upset experience!i won’t choose ur hotel anymore!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Modern design meets traditional Japanese aesthetic in the heart of Gion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We noticed the hotel bar never seemed to be staffed, but there were so many bars and restaurants nearby that it was hardly a dealbreaker.

    This property is gorgeous and wonderfully located in Kyoto. The entrance feels like a private residence, and the lobby is absolutely beautiful, incorporating modern design and traditional Japanese elements to stunning effect. We loved our room — the layout felt like a lovely studio apartment, and despite the fact that was small by Western standards, everything was laid out so as to maximize the comfort and use of space. The bed was massive and felt like a big comfy nest — after lots of heavy sightseeing and walking, I truly looked forward to crawling into it every night. It was definitely one of the pricier accommodations during our trip, but I do understand that Kyoto will always be expensive (especially if you're in Gion) and we visited during peak foliage time, so I'm sure that factored in as well. Overall, we felt the property merited the price and exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a tad on the expensive side but there is a free coffee machine in the foyer

    Amazing property! We loved staying there in the heart of Gion. The public bath is lovely and we felt really comfortable in our Japanese style room. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked our room through booking.com a few months before our stay. It turned out the last minute price was much better (~$30 per night) for a similar room so we didn’t qualify for price match. Breakfast is too expensive for what it is and the beautiful bar is completely dead all the time.

    It’s a new building in the middle of Gion district, which is close to bars, restaurants, temples, shrines, transit and geishas of course! The rooms were spacious (for Japan) and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Never had to contact front desk for anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is a bit small

    Never had to contact front desk for anything. Everything was available in the room. Big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, many charging cables, 2 rolls of toilet paper, a phone for free internet use, toiletries, shoe horn, it's all there.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thinks it’s a great value and wonderful place. No changes needed!

    The staff was very helpful in helping me find a unique restaurant to go to. It’s a beautiful and welcoming lobby. My room was ofcourse “snug” but very clean and quiet. I decided to rebook another visit !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    3.8
    Good place but poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We checked in at 3 Pm that day and the staff phoned us at 7 pm on the same day telling me that they wrongly checked us in with a smaller and cheaper room, they gave us a choice of whether we would like to move two floors to the original room type that we reserved on the Internet or else they could refund me the price difference on the last day, we chose the latter one since we have already unpacked everything and would be hectic to pack againa and move two floors . I tried to ask for the price difference however they were unable to tell me for some reason. On the day of check out they didn’t offer me a refund of the price difference until I told them, and they only gave me 900 yen (300 yen per night) to compensate. If the difference was so little, they should have informed me, and the fact that they didn’t offer me a refund was disturbing, the staff there seems untrained and there weren’t any seniors or managers to settle the case, I called them to complain again but seems they don’t really want to care about it, their English are poor and also lack of common sense.

    Good facilities, nice public bath

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Not to be repeated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a premium deluxe king, but was disappointed so paid extra to take a large twin room. Deluxe king feels cramped with an unusual bed/sofa set up and toilet is practically in the shower. Not nice.

    Very little and the staff couldn't find the hotel on the map.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.6
    The location of the hotel could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the hotel could not be better. Right next to a subway station and in the middle of the Gion district with lots of sights to see. The rooms are small but elegant with great amenities and thoughtful gestures. I did not get to try to the public baths or coin laundry but they’re very convenient to have. The property has an elegant, dark feel and very quiet and relaxing even though it is in the middle of a busy district.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great location but a bit pricey for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nice to have breakfast included with that price.

    Location was walkable to a lot of things and close to subway. We were there thirty minutes before check in, but to go to our room early they wanted to charge us a fee. We declined and waited due to cost of room was around $257 a night anyway.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location for Kyoto nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As said, rooms are tiny and I booked a deluxe size so not the smallest. Couldn't quite tell just how small from the photos - we didn't mind as not there to be in the room, but would have been good to see realistically upfront.

    Amazing location right in Gion and a stone's throw from lovely restaurant options, plus just across the bridge from the super fun bar district - can't be beat for where it is in Kyoto and this explains as well the premium of space in the rooms. Despite tiny room, still the bed was big and super comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Extremely convenient location with trains, buses,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited English for most staff except two of them, in which, one is foreign. However, it is expected when we chose to come visiting Japan.

    Extremely convenient location with trains, buses, sightseeing spots, shopping centre all in walkable distance with not a too high price in the middle of Gion

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    4.6
    Good location and nice lobby area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely small and no view. The price of the room due to the high season was absurdly high.

    Good location and nice lobby area. This hotel is a decent 3-star accomodation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Great design with a boutique hotel feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great design with a boutique hotel feel. Nice rooms with all the amenities you would need. The public bath of the hotel is a plus. As soon as you enter the hotel you see a nicely decorated lobby, nicely dressed staff and a great scent. Nice first impression. I would go again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    2.5
    Pretty bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cancellation policy is a joke. They charged the full amount of the reservation (it is market practice to charge only the first night). Despite that issue, staff is not very welcoming. You don’t feel really welcome in this hotel considered as 4 stars. Staff is not very helpful and cannot really answer your questions (if you have any). Room is ok but small. The cleaning of our room wasn’t done when we came back from our city tour (around 4.30 pm). Spare your money and look for another hotel. It was our baddest hotel experience during our trip to Japan.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    The location is so perfect to the train station, which makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not yet

    The location is so perfect to the train station, which makes you super efficient to every where. And, it won’t let you feel you are out of living in Japan. Lots of local people are living around it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but overall poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The washing service was overpriced and there were only two washers and two dryers for the entire hotel leaving us with no option but to waste time waiting for a coin washer to wash or clothes. The wifi was unusably slow which was an inconvenience for us as we were international travellers. The windows to our room were very very dirty, which was a pity because they looked out onto a pretty internal garden.

    The bed was large and comfortable, and the hotel was conveniently located. The onsen were very nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Very close to Gion Shijo, within 5mins walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to Gion Shijo, within 5mins walking distance. Nice and polite employee, big room (what we chose is tatami style). Fast check-in & out. Nice Japanese and western style breakfast. Anyhow, it's a nice place to stay in Kyoto.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.3
    Fantastic location right in the heart of Gion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Literally the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in. Couldn’t fit two adults comfortably. Not even a closet or room for suitcase. Not good enough at this price

    Fantastic location right in the heart of Gion.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Nice, newer hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a little uncomfortable. They were a little hard which is common for most of Japan though. I could have dealt with the bed but the pillow was the worst. I also found our room to be a little too small and tight. The pros outweigh the cons though.

    Great hotel and very cool design and vibe. The location is great and the included breakfast was a good addition. There are some great restaurants near the hotel too. The hotel isn’t far from the train and subway station and it’s also very close to Gion Corner and the area where most tourists like to visit. We took a few day trips to Nara and the Bamboo Forest too and it was easy from this loction.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    10
    Sleek, beautiful hotel in the heart of Kyoto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apple TV should be replaced by a streaming service like Netflix, I'm assuming more people have Netflix over Apple TV? Small thing really but for guests who don't speak Japanese, you can't have the TV on in the background as there is no English.

    Amazing hotel design that stood out as beautiful in the streets of Kyoto, was sleek from the outside through to the room. Although the rooms are small, they are designed well and we had no issues. Amenities were good and the staff were friendly from check in to check out. It was our Honeymoon and they were very thoughtful to give us a bottle of wine with a written note, very sweet touch not all hotels do.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.2
    Location, location ..Rooms were superbly clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small Room. TV could nkt be seen whike in the bed Hours of Public Bath could be opened earlier

    Check in Staff Girls were SUPERB ...so nice and accomodating Went beyond everything I would ask .I spent my birthday and They Sent me a birthday card and a wine bottle. Many Thanks

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again if we can get a different type room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a "king" room. King size bed but the only way to get into bed was to crawl in and out from the end of the bed. Room too too small for 2 people. No closet. Smaller than double rooms. Pricy.

    Staff was cheerful and helpful. Rooms clean. Hotel new, trendy, and tastefully done. A classic boutique hotel in an excellent location for night life, proximity to restaurants and transportation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    Mostly terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was disappointed to find that the bathing facilities were prohibited to tattooed people. This restriction meant that my partner was unable to enjoy one of the most enjoyable aspects of the hotel. I understand that some guests find tattoos off-putting, but I think that they are now in a dwindling minority. Their rights not to feel offended need to be set against the rights of paying tattooed guests to enjoy facilities that are available to others. Our friends staying elsewhere enjoyed bathing at locations where no such restrictions were in place. In my mind it demonstrated a narrowmindedness that soured an otherwise enjoyable stay.

    It's a beautifully designed, comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and the breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    A modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A modern hotel tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. It is close to the train station, Ginza and the Yasaka shrine. I had a bit of difficulty trying to find the hotel at first (my phone ran out of battery) but once I did, it was easy to remember where the hotel is. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything about the Granbell Hotel. It is in a perfect location, the rooms are cozy and well appointed, the beds are very comfortable, the staff is professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The atmosphere of the lobby is warm, attractive and inviting and the lobby bar is a great bonus. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Will definitely choose Granbell when I next time visit Kyōto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t know how to open the window.. no English instruction...

    The room is quiet and comfortable. Love the super king size bed! The public pool is the highlight:) great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    The location and design of the hotel are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not allowed to open the window. We dont like the smell of the carpet in the room. It would be nice to have a fresh air.

    The location and design of the hotel are great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    This was about 2/3 of the way through our 2 week Japan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little pricey but Kyoto doesn’t really have places you can grab a Western breakfast so we added it for convenience. It was very good just more than we wanted to spend on breakfast.

    This was about 2/3 of the way through our 2 week Japan trip and omg biggest room and bed I’d seen during my trip. The room and hotel was beautiful and the onsen was a great way to wind down after a long day of sightseeing. Also the location was great in Gion- steps from a major metro line and tons of Izakayas

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, lovely staff, lovely new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are quite dark, the hotel is very overlooked by other buildings (our room was at least (in 4th floor) so having the blind open wasn’t possible when getting changed. I wouldn’t recommend using the washer and dryer (laundry) - our clothes came out smelling very damp and the dryers don’t work very well, our clothes were still wet after almost 2 hours.

    The location is great as the hotel is in the old Gion district. The hotel is very new, nicely decorated, modern and very clean. Comfortable bed, good shower etc. And the staff were so lovely and very helpful throughout our stay, giving advice on restaurants and booking a fantastic sushi place very close by (called Sushi Taka which I’d also highly recommend!)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, great location, awful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had booked the room well in advance asking not to have a room in the basement. We were given the smallest and most uncomfortable room and when we asked to be changed of course they didn’t have any better. We saw, passing in the corridor that also in the basement there were larger and better rooms, why didn’t they offer us any better? The price for that size was therefore outrageous. A pity, otherwise we would have recommended it. The staff managing the room assignation showed very poor judgement. Beware you do not have the same experience.

    The location, the decoration and the public bath were great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    The perfect and most comfortable base for Kyoto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would like some kind of gym/wellness area. Breakfast wasn’t that nice and expensive.

    The bed is amazing - it’s huge, soft and with lots of pillows/duvet. There are black out blinds and it’s really quiet, you will sleep so well here. The hotel is also very stylish. It’s in the Gion district which is beautiful, the best place to stay in Kyoto.!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    The location was great, very central and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great, very central and close to restaurants and transportation. The staff was excellent and very helpful! Loved the public bath after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Delightful, central, comfortable hotel with onsen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost everything was winderful - the only thing I can say might be that it would have been nice to get fresh air in the room sometimes: one warm days it felt a little stuffy, and A/C made it chilly (and still stuff). But otherwise everything was great.

    Lovely staff, huge choice of food for breakfast, beautiful onsen, super comfortable beds and well-designed rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Kyoto Granbell Hotel: an incredibly convenient location in Kyoto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff with laundry services on-site. The room was small simple clean and well thought. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a good selection of different cuisines and tastes — served in a larger common dining room. If given the option to stay again, I would pass on breakfast at the hotel and take advantage of all the great dining options in Kyoto and nearby. The hotel is extremely conveniently located for sight seeing in Kyoto — a fantastic neighborhood for dining, shopping, and getting to/from sights in Kyoto.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay but would look to stay in a hotel with larger room next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Tatami Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was far too small to relax. We were travelling with minimal baggage but felt extremely cramped. The room and bathroom were very small.

    Beautiful hotel in a great central location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More (western) choices for breakfast would be great

    Location ✔️ Hotel was lovely and in such a great spot... by day we toured temples and shrines by night we were close to amazing restaurants. Modern hotel surrounded by Kyoto tradition. Lovely!

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!