Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of La Curación

Reviews of La Curación This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, Naoshima cho Tsumuura 4780-8, Japan

#5 of 23 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    This place had the best beds of all the places I stayed at in Japan. Very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not instructed where to check-in so had to ask neighbor. Maybe a sign by the property to instruct where to go and what to do.

    This was a great place to stay and planning to return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - all great!

    Everything was wonderful! Owner met us during check in. Was able to leave my luggage earlier as check in is not until 16.00 Room was very nice, comfortable beds, clean room and equipped with the basic necessity. Location wise, was perfect! Bus stops right outside and situated between Art Houses and Benesse (and other museums up the mountain). Would not look else where if coming to Naoshima.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    Self-contained and comfortable studio near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to walk almost 30 mins to the studio from Honmura after missing the shuttle (too full and they were not the most frequent) and the walk had slopes going up and down. You can only pay with cash and the check out time was pretty early at 10am. Even though our windows were closed we could smell cigarette smoke inside the house and I realised that that was because someone was smoking outside our door! The soundproofing could also be better.

    The ramen place next door served really good ramen and could be the only place serving food in the area. There were a number of bikes available for free, but they do not have multiple gears so it could be very tricky going uphill and downhill. The studio was very comfortable and had almost everything one would need, we loved the comfortable futon beds and fluffy blankets. You have a view of the sea which was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Good location, right next to two good late opening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were 2 singles and a bit too soft so a bit uncomfortable. Only minor flaws.

    Good location, right next to two good late opening restaurants and half way between Honamura area and the Benesse Art site museums. Self contained apartment with cooking facilities if needed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.1
    Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived in the place nobody was there. We phoned but the person who answered did not speak English. We asked for help in the hotel across the street but they couldn't help. We went to the restaurant close. There was a guest who faced the same problem. He told us that we shall knock on the door of a house close. Finally we found the owner who then went to show us the room. Although we announced the arrival it took us more than 2 hours to check in.

    Quiet

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    Basic clean accommodation, with an excellent ramen shop next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The main issue is Bookings.com need to include advise that the owner needs to be contacted on phone number provided as there is no reception.

    Basic clean accommodation, with an excellent ramen shop next door.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    I was on Naoshima island for one day and night to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was on Naoshima island for one day and night to visit the galleries. The owner was nice enough to collect me from the port as I had no idea what to expect when arriving on Naoshima. A bike was provided and I set off for the day. The location is perfect, a nice quiet area but very central for cycling to main galleries. I got home late after a hot day cycling around and La Curacion was a lovely retreat, not to mention the great Ramen place next door where I had a late dinner. The owner drove me to the port again early the next morning! It was convenient and clean and perfect for a few night stay on the island, I would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    The place was a dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was far beyond my expectations!

    The place was a dream! After a week in “neon-gigantic” Tokyo, arriving at Naoshima felt like heaven! It was the best thing I could have ever done, seriously. The first amazing surprise was when Mr. Okada picked us up at the port. It felt like home to have someone there waiting for us. And he really did’nt have to. It was such a courtesy! The second amazing surprise was the house itself: absolutely clean, has all the facilities one need, and also pretty spacious! I was expecting a tiny place, since in Tokyo everything is so “Japanese size”. But at La Curacion, the house is 100% incredible! There are also free bikes available so you just feel like a local inhabitant! Mr. Okada was very gentle, since he drove us to the supermarket (and waited until we shopped), as well as back to the port early morning the day we left. Such a lovely person! Anyway, if you are traveling all the way to Japan, go to Naoshima and stay at la curación. Not only you will not regret it, but you might probably never leave it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    The owner picked us up at the port and drove us back when we left. A real luxury when you arrive at a new place! Free use of bycicles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Japanese style is super comfy, we had a good sleep there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    Japanese style is super comfy, we had a good sleep there. and we were surprised there is TV which has world cup showing, thats the best thing ever. If you are thinking to go visit Naoshima island i would suggest this place for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation with superfriendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the most central to arrival point (ferry ports) or important sights in the area, but at the same time there are free shuttle buses if arrival is not too late.

    Fantastic service, we arrived late and were picked up by the owner in his private car at the ferry port, and driven to the doorstep. Also, driven back to ferry upon checkout. Excellent!! Kind, helpful hosts, large and clean facilities, excellent beds. All in all a very good experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Near to Honmura port and art museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reading light did not work . Would have liked a sea view but cannot have everything at that price!

    Near to Honmura port and art museums. Comfortable and large rooms. Great owner ! Waited for us at port without having any idea when we would arrive. He also drove us to the 7 eleven for ice and woke up 6 am last day to take us back to ferry. Incredible Japanese hospitality! Arrigato!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    3.8
    We regret choosing this place and wish we'd found another option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was absurdly small--one room that doesn't really accommodate 4 adults, which the description claims. The "beds" were thin mats on the floor with no space between them ("Japanese style," the owner said, seeing our surprise). Also, the place is in the middle of nowhere. There are NO restaurants or services around it. You have to walk half a mile to rent bikes and travel across the whole island to find breakfast.

    The owner didn't speak much English but he was friendly. He gave us a ride to the ferry across the island, which was gracious and kind. Frankly, though, it's the least he could have done given what a ripoff his place was. The only reason we chose it was that it was the only overnight option on Naoshima with a web site (other than the sold-out Benesse House).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room in a great location!! Even comes with bikes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid cash when I thought I would be able to use credit card. The check in process was awkward as I had to call once I got there.

    Beautiful room and came with bikes!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    i had my doubts about this place, but recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything!

    The place at everything you needed and more. There is a bus stop right behind the apartments to take you right to the ferry port and the best okonomiyaki restaurant I’ve ever eaten at 70 metres away. Host was an absolute gentlemen. I couldn’t figure out how to use the washing machine, but that didn’t really matter. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Naoshima.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and easy accomodation. A lovely break from hotel rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly host who picked us up and dropped us back at the ferry. The accomodation is right next to an amazing little restaurant with great ramen, fried chicken and tempura.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable,good location, clean and quiet. The host/staff are nice and considered. It was raining and we were outside, when we went back, we saw our clothes that hung outside were brought inside by the host/staff. The owner picked us up to and from the port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    7.9
    Basic and clean. Good spot for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You would need a working phone to call to check in - those traveling overseas should be aware.

    Very clean. Purpose built basic accommodation for a small family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean room. Friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Like others we weren’t sure how to get into the room when we arrived, but messaged the host and he came out from his house nearby. Some instructions pre-arrival would be helpful.

    Clean comfy room, liked that the property had bikes that were free to use, although there was a language barrier the hosts were very friendly and gave us a lift to the port when we left. It’s easy to get to with a bus from the port, and with bikes all the things on the island are accessible if you don’t mind climbing some steep hills!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Such a nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a nice stay! Great host who picked us up and dropped us off, which was extra nice. As another reviewer mentioned there is a cute ramen shop next door BUT even better is the amazing Italian restaurant across the street....locally sourced food put together very well. For us the fabulous breakfast from the Italian place was included with our room (Not sure if this is always the case? ASK for sure!) and we paid for the course menu one night. So worth it. Hotel was totally a find, restaurant made it that much better!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    10
    We should have stayed two nights instead of only one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Google Maps showed the property in the wrong location (at the Honmura port).

    The apartment is clean, has everything you need and is surprisingly spacious. The owner was very helpful. Breakfast at ‘il MARE INTERNO di Seto’ across the road was excellent. The location was within easy walking distance of Honmura and the Benesse art area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bit of confusion on check in as we did not receive communication on where to collect the keys.

    Clean, comfortable and the owner dropped us off at the ferry when we left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay. Loved Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two single beds, a double would have been better but it was fine for us as it was only one night.

    Free bikes offered which was useful but do note that they are not assisted (electric) so it was a bit of a struggle with the hills. Host collected us from the port which was very useful. Great restaurant behind the apartments - ramen etc, strongly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.5
    Flat was clean and comfortable and super warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to call the owner on arrival to pick you up as it is too far to walk and when we arrived, at about 6pm, the island already seemed shut up for the evening - Im not sure the buses were running. We didn't know this but luckily a local spotted us walking around looking lost and called the owner for us.

    Flat was clean and comfortable and super warm. The wifi was great and we loved that there were free bikes and the bus stop was right outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable, Japanese style apartment. Not enough hot water for 2 people to shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not enough hot water for two people to shower after each other, it was also difficult to know how to turn the hot water on.

    Clean, comfortable, Japanese style apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad to say

    Clean. Good value for money on a beautiful island. Bit like a motel. Full facilities including washing machine, japanese style sleeping. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    Great little apartment, easy walk between Tsutsuji-so and Honmura (art houses village)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication with the host beforehand on how to pick up the key was a little hard but it all turned out fine when we arrived and called them. I was communicating only in Japanese though, so have no comment on how good their English was if you don't speak Japanese.

    Great stay, exactly as the pictures show online. The one thing that we did find a little tricky was finding the place - on Google Maps there are two places for La Carucion and so we were lost for a little while, but managed to find it when we typed the apartment name into Maps in katakana ラクラシオン Also, would really recommend the okonomiyaki restaurant just around the corner - amazing food and amazing atmosphere! (It's the one with flags advertising it everywhere)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    10
    A very clean, new, comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the cleanliness, privacy, and spaciousness (for a lower-budget Japanese accommodation) of this self-contained apartment. Their on-site free carpark was convenient too. The owners (who seem to live nearby) had kindly warmed up the apartment for us as they knew we were arriving via Chichu Museum (known for being very cold in winter!).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    Nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically it satisfied my expectation.

    Very beautiful tiny house with all needed amenities. The host is so helpful and responsive and he offers us a free ride to the port. The Location is also great, with bus stop and some major attractions nearby. But somehow it's a little bit hard to find any restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    8.8
    Great place. Very spacious and very clean. Facilities in great condition. Would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just needed better arrival instructions. A lot of previous comments said the host was in a house next door but their are a few properties surrounding the accomodation so it was very confusing and took 10 minutes + waiting before the host knew we were there after knocking on multiple doors.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.6
    Great quiet place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all good.

    Very happy to be in a self contained unit in a local fishing village location, with some nearby eating options, and free use of bicycles. Benesse House area and Honmura Port within comfortable walking or cycling distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As others recommended, I called the owner when I arrived and he appeared within a minute. Seems to live nearby. Cash only. Both could be better communicated before arrival.

    Very nice, spacious and fully equipped apartment in a very convenient location. Right next to the bus stop and easy walking distance to Benesse House and Honmura for the Art House Project. Check-in was swift and without any problems.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like

    Great location, 10m from bus stop, good izakaya 2 mins walk away. Beach is a similar distance. Rooms are spacious, spotless, with fridge and cooking facilities if needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.6
    Very bright and pleasant well-equipped accommodation with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodation provides the possibility to make a reservation for dinner nearby, otherwise it can be difficult to find a restaurant or a supermarket at the location. Not having taken advantage of this, I had to cycle to the next little town to find one of the rare restaurants open in the evening - this is however my own fault.

    Very bright and pleasant well-equipped accommodation with a little kitchen, bathroom, living/bedroom (futon), as well as the possibility to sit outside on the patio. The property offers free bikes to explore the island.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely island and walkable too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was unclear what I should do when I arrived. The units were open but it was not clear which was mine. Two other guests were also a bit unsure. However it turned out that the owner lived next door. And he turned up after 10 mins or so. I think a note on the door saying what to do on arrival would solve the problem More translated information with regards to TV and other gadgets would be helpful

    Nice space. Owner did his best to organise breakfast after their cafe chef was hospitalised. They had warned me in advance and arranged to take me to another cafe which was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, we might stay somewhere a bit more central next time, but only because we had such a short amount of time. If you're there for more than 24 hours, it's a great spot.

    It was nice and spacious, very clean and had everything you'd need. Oh and we had a lovely breakfast in the hosts home, delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay. After we found the house and got the keys, our stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn’t like is that it is a bit hard to find. It is 10 minute bus ride from the port (we asked for directions at information center at port). The house next door belong to the owner. We had to wonder around until we rang the doorbell and the owner came out. It is cash only.

    Bed was sooo comfy, apartment was big and clean. They lend you bikes. Great stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.8
    Because of a holiday all restaurants were closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Altough its says we can pay by credit card, the owner asked us to pay cash only.

    Because of a holiday all restaurants were closed. The owner took us in his car to the only 7/11 convenient store which was opened to buy some food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.2
    Tlocation was great - right in the middle of the Island, at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tlocation was great - right in the middle of the Island, at the busstop and among the actual inhabitants , and not in a tourist resort. Easily reachable from the port by bus and easy to reach the museums and house projects. A big bonus is the little Japanese restaurant next door (at the bustop) - delicious simple food and very cheap. It was the highlight of our trip. highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    9.6
    The place is simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is simple. We had 2 rooms - one with Futon the other regular beds, but were large and the kitchen and rooms well equipped. It is a problem to reach because both the bus from town and the only taxi on the island stop working at 8 P.M. but there is a very nice and cheap restaurant and it is nice to live among the nice and friendly inhabitants of the island. the hotel is right next to the bus stop so it's easy to get to and to the museums and other attractions on the island. We loved the place and the Island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.0
    Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dining options are limited however quite a few at miyanoura port and near the town centre. There are no convenient stores close by so stock up on snacks at the 7/11 at miyanoura port or the town centre.

    Good location, right in front of Tennoji shita bus stop. Self contained apartment with japanese style beds and kitchenette. Was extremley clean and comfortable. There are 3 resturants close by, however I never saw the Italian resturant opened and they never replied to email bookings or calls. The prices at the ramen place was very affordable, between ¥500 -650 for a nice serving or ramen, curry or undon noodles. A quick bus trip for only ¥100 to either miyanoura port or the benesse art museums, or during nice weather a great walk. Only half an hour each way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    8.8
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    payment upfront in cash (no atm close by)

    Location; close by benesse house and the local bus stop is next to the appartment. Also bicycles are available and you can reach everything by bike (if you don't mind a bit of climbing)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.2
    Spacious, well equipped and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Immaculately clean, spacious, well equipped. Located steps away from the local bus, which will take you anywhere in a few minutes. This would be a great place for a couple or family wanting to spend some time on the island - it was kind of wasted on a single staying one night, although I certainly appreciated the space after some very small hotels!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.3
    We easily found La Curacion as it is so close to the busstop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    While we were there, it was low-season I suppose. There were only 2 small restaurants open in walking distance and no kiosks/supermarkets were open.

    We easily found La Curacion as it is so close to the busstop. You can take the bus from the ferry terminal directly here. We hadn't realised that we should've informed the owners of our arrival time so we called them up and they came within minutes - very good service. They have bikes available to use which is great on this island. The apartment was very nice with two beds, a small kitchen and a bathroom. For us it was perfect for a 1 night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, easy to find and close to restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to town bus stop, lots of space, kitchen, washing machine, close to Japanese restaurant with great food, interesting breakfast in French restaurant close by, wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.2
    There's an Italian restaurant right across the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's an Italian restaurant right across the street from there which offers awesome and super full Japanese and Western breakfast for 1000 yen. One of my best experience in Japan

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant modern apartment style lodging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent; one block from the harbour. The owner was very kind to meet us at the ferry and brought us back to apartment during a rain storm. The room itself was large and comfortable with a micro-wave and fridge and was very well laid out. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable apartment, bus stop outside, host was accommodating. Beautiful breakfast included. 3 restaurants surrounding the apartment. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.6
    Very Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our Stay was excellent. The use of the free bikes to get around the island was really great fun. It's only a short cycle to a beach were you can swim. The village where the apartment is located is very small so if you want to get to a supermarket you have to cycle to the next town. Only about 10-15 minutes away. The accommodation is very small but 4 of us managed fine. The living/sleeping room has air conditioning. There is also a small kitchen, bathroom and toilet along with a clothes washing machine. The host was very helpful. He met us from the ferry and gave us a lift to the apartment. He speaks a little English. You need to pay him cash on arrival. Also whilst we were staying, there was a typhoon that meant we had to stay another night because the ferry's were all canceled. Our host really looked after us he drove us through the wind and rain to the local super-market so we could get some extra provisions and then delivered us to the ferry port the next morning once the ferry's had started again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Our host was very accomodating and even offered a ride to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our host was very accomodating and even offered a ride to the ferry. The beach and museums are easily accessible from the property. We would gladly book again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    Great stay at Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay - wish we had booked for longer on Naoshima. Very nice people (but hardly a word of English) but with hands and eyes they showed us a great ramen restaurant next doors (make a reservation if you want to go there for dinner (we were lucky, several peopled turned down)). Public transport stops right in front. We could use the bikes all day despite that we already booked out at 11 am and we could leave our luggage with the owners. In the end they drove our 3 kids with all the luggage to the port while we took the bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.2
    Quiet and close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was good for us because we wanted to spend time on the beach and it is very close to the beach (5 minutes in a bike). However, it is not convenient to restaurants or bars or the cute villages on the island. Our breakfast from the Italian restaurant across the street was super, though! You must reserve food the day before if you want it so takes some planning. You can ride to Honmura in 10-15 minutes and then over to Miyanoura (the main port where the sento is) in about 10-15 more minutes. Busses also ply the route but stop early.

    Host was kind to drive us to a grocery store when we were stuck on the island an extra day due to Typhoon Noru. He also- very generously- would not accept payment for the extra night. Bikes were free and worked great, kitchen had all appliances and dishes and pans you could need; air conditioner worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    8.8
    Estupenda opción para conocer naoshima. Great option to visit naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hay que cenar muy pronto o cierran todo en el pueblo. Everything closes so early un the evening

    La amabilidad del dueño, bicis disponibles gratis, buen desayuno occidental. Kindness oficina the tener, free bikes, good western breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.6
    Fully satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a very short moment of uncertainty after you arrive till you get your keys.

    The facilities in the house seem not to have forgotten about any of your needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    Just what we were hoping for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the correspondence was in English and we were asked to call before arrival. When we called they couldn't understand English. We worked it out over email - but it would be good if they said to email as an alternative on the booking info. The host was very helpful once we got communicating though. It all worked out really well.

    The location - near the bus. The breakfast was good. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.0
    Functional no frills unit in a good central locations with good kitchen and laundry facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was a bit disappointed with the sleeping arrangements. I felt having accepted a booking for four people there should be room on the floor for four mattresses. We had to overlap two which wasn't ideal and had to move furniture to even do that.

    It was clean. A washing machine and line facilities were provided and there were reasonable kitchen utensils in the kitchenette. Also free bikes were provided for visitor use and he let us leave our luggage there for a couple of hours after checkout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation close to most things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived we could not find the owner's house, however we went to the apartment and were able to access the wifi to email him. He arrived within 5 minutes. The owner's house is very close.

    Very comfortable accommodation that is walking distance to most things if you don't mind a bit of a walk. The owner was very helpful and even drove us to the ferry, which was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Very clean, great location, friendly host. Naoshima is a gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm not crazy about futons but probably because I'm not used to them.

    Host very friendly, room impeccably clean, has everything a family needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    8.3
    The owner was very accomodaying and helpful evrn though he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is arelatively mall room for accomodaying four tatamis But we managed It has a nice outside area to sit In

    The owner was very accomodaying and helpful evrn though he dies not speak english he made efforts to understand our needs drove us when we needed to and gave goid recommendations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.9
    One of the best alternative choices besides Tsutsuji-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard to pick up the keys from the house owner. I was arrived earlier than I was expected. Luckily, I met the neighbour passed by, and she show me the way to find the house owner.

    I was totally satisfied for the cleanliness the house, it's better than I expected. Very closed to "Tennou-shita" bus station, good choice if you want to visit Benesse House.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.2
    Small apartment, with many equipment, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front office hard to find...no indication. It's into a house very close.

    Small apartment, with many equipment, very comfortable. Quote large also, very close to bus stop. English speaker, credit card

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    6.3
    Pay by local cash/currency only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The listing states the room may be paid by credit card, but the owner would not accept credit card upon our arrival. And he gave wrong guide on how to get money exchange. We were running around to get Japanese yen for two hours.

    Art museum is within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.5
    A great apartment and great facilities great for couples and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You need to plan your travel around to get back to this spot. Local bus runs past the door . 4pm checkin was a challenge for me as I arrived earlier but you need to plan for this as well. Make sure you bring your snacks with you as there are no local shops. Host allowed me to leave bag and borrow bike prior to checkin , that was great.. Thank you.

    Located on the other side of the island opposite main port. No local shops but a free bike was provided. There are 2 local resteraunts next door and across the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Good location and good value. Naoshima was a highlight of our trip and this was a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early and had no idea how to check in but the lady at the Italian restaurant phoned the owner and she arrived shortly after. You probably need to let her know in advance when you will be arriving.

    Spacious room with a kitchen and laundry. A few minutes from the bus stop and you could walk to the attractions if you wanted. The Italian restaurant was booked but we really liked the restaurant around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.2
    The house was more as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the western guests it would be good to have some knives in the house and not only forks and spoons.

    The house was more as expected. The house was very, very clean and fully furnished. Everyrhing was there, including a washing machine. It has a siitng outside, including light for in the evening.The surrounding was quiet and on the way to the Musea. Absolutely recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    8.8
    NIce stay on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Quiet, but convenient location. Bus stop right outside 3 restaurants nearby, including one that served the excellent breakfast included in the price Complete apartment, including washing machine, so ideal for longer stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    10
    Terrific place, would definitely recommend and stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    This was a great studio for our couple of days exploring Naoshima. We had read a previous review about going to the main house to find the owner of the accommodation and luckily for us, another guest was able to point out where to go when we arrived to check in. We were not quite sure about knocking on the door to their home but we did and the owners were lovely! Don't be put off by this, just go through the gate to their residence and knock loudly. They also took us back to the ferry when we checked out to save us taking the bus. The studio was very well equipped - even had a cooktop if you wanted to do your own meals. We appreciated the washing machine and being able to catch up on some washing and the set-up for the bathroom was very practical - the vanity was located just outside the separate toilet and the separate bath/shower cubicle. Very convenient. The breakfast at the Italian restaurant across the road was a terrific start to the day. And the bikes were great too. We did lots of cycling to explore around the island and visit some of the art installations. It was easy enough to hop on the local bus after arriving by ferry from Uno. The owner had kindly advised us on which bus stop to use - the stop is right at the accommodation. It was very quiet at night so we slept well. There was a great place to eat dinner about 2 minutes walk away - reasonable prices, good food and although we didn't end up going to the Italian restaurant for dinner, the host there was a lovely lady and if breakfast was anything to go by, I am sure it would be good for dinner. La Curacion was a terrific property and if I ever head back to Naoshima, I would not stay anywhere else - very very clean, well equipped, easy to find, bikes included, plenty of bedding - we really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    8.8
    Our host picked us up from the ferry & showed us where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we don't speak japanese a few brochures on the art museums & bus info would be really helpful.

    Our host picked us up from the ferry & showed us where to dine locally for breakfast & dinner, he loaned us two new bikes at no cost & stored our luggage while we cycled around the island. The bus stop is 1-2min from accommodation. Cycling around the town early morning is great way to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    8.8
    Great option to enjoy the islands!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners don't speak English at all and can be difficult to communicate... very kind though...

    Great option to enjoy the islands and really comfortable house (with everything you might need). Super silent area and bus stop next to the house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    7.9
    Best breakfast on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the restaurant could have been better advertised and we would have had dinner there.

    The breakfast was the best i have eaten in Japan, including in top class hotels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    9.2
    Convenient apartment for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In order to collect the keys is good to know that the owners live around the corner. I did not have a phone number, so I rang the doorbell of other guests to find out about my keys. I was lucky, that they were at home anf told me where the owner lives.

    I liked that everything was very clean and new, also the owners are very kind. I got all the facilities and the bed is very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    6.3
    Ended up paying for extra amenities that were not usable during the stay. Like the kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The unit was a kitchenette, but there were no markets or any type of grocery store in the area. Not even a 7 Eleven. There were no instructions of how to use the appliances in English nor did the owner explain how to operate appliances when checking in. The washer was not connected to any water source and without knowing the Japanese way of doing things, this was a tricky place to stay. The fact that there are no stores around and groceries need to be brought along before arrival should be mentioned in the description of the place.

    Generally clean unit and spacious in terms of an average Japanese hotel room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great place! Lost of space, and fully equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad thing is that the stops for the only bus on the island is 15/20 min walking. But its not so bad. Very near from the Museums.

    We had the best breakfast of all the trip. It is served on on the italian restaurant in front of the property. They lend us bicycles for free. The room has a full kitchen and laundry machine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    10
    Everything is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything is great! Excellent location - 1-2 mins from the bus stop, and can walk to two art museum areas within 15-20 mins. Room - Comfortable, clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    5.8
    too expensive for what offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Futon
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was too much for the service we received Very late check in time (4:00 pm) Early check out time (10:00 am) No toiletry bag provided The toilet and kitchen were too cold No information about the close by restaurant or other facilities Close to the bus stop which doesn't run frequently If you are here to see the galleries I d recommend to pay extra and stay somewhere with the shuttle bus

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Curación Traveler Photo Gallery