Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Naoshima Backpackers Guesthouse

Reviews of Naoshima Backpackers Guesthouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, 845-9, Japan

#19 of 22 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    Very well located but by winter difficult to find a restaurant, bakery, convenient store...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one shower for 12 or 14 people... my matelas wasn't comfortable... It was my first experience in capsule hotel, it is like one dormitory but private small space

    The situation was perfect but neither restaurant nor convenient store in the village for dinner... for breakfast it is also difficult. The guesthouse was really clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.1
    Good, cheap location for a visit to the artworks on the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff did not speak English very well. Facilities are very basic.

    Right next to the dock of the ferry. Kitchen was small but fine. The bar in the common area was cool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Budget accommodation on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check in hours (only from 5-7pm or pay extra for a late check in) weren't ideal. The hostel only has 1 toilet and 1 shower and the sink for the toilet is in the shower room.

    I liked the long table in the common area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    I liked the magic atmosphere of the old village in which it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately it is difficult to communicate with the staff if you look for more than very basic infos as they do not speak English a lot

    I liked the magic atmosphere of the old village in which it is immersed. It s very nearby the art project venues as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.5
    I stayed so short time that I didn't really thought about anything. I was there for the art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get wall and roof and a place to sleep. That's basically what you need in Naoshima, when you are on the run. The price is really good and navigating from there was super easy by bike, which is a necessity in Naoshima.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    4.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My mattress was fine, but my husband’s was so thin he struggled with back pain. The facilities list a microwave but there isn’t one so we ate cold food the first night

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.3
    Good for one night, staff nice ticks the boxes for what you need but won’t impress too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were uncomfortable, we stayed in bunks around Japan this was our least favourite, bathroom facility basic to poor standard

    Close to port very easy access to this part of the island

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and friendly hostel close to many art exhibitions (but far from main port)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tourist information doesn’t seem to be consistently communicated across different stakeholders so make sure you look up opening hours of art galleries and even island hours before you visit the place! The staff was confused about the information I was advised at the port. There was a mix up because of the long weekend, the normal hours had changed.

    There is a bicycle shop you can borrow for 24hrs for 500yen. The staff was helpful to quickly find me the bicycle shop, check me in, recommend dinner plans, and advise me of sightseeing places. I was in a particular hurry because I had found out Naoshima was closed the next day and I tried to squeeze in everything I could.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in is too late (17:00), if you are carrying a backpack and you arrive in the morning is not comfortable at all. Mattress is hard as a rock. Sheets and towels are dubiously clean.

    Good location. You have chance to meet other travelers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Great location, just few meters from the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One thing: some guests should ubderstand that they need to be quiet when leaving at 6 am.

    Great location, just few meters from the harbour. Very nice host, full equipment in the kitchen, nice area, and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location in front of Honmura port - perfect if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly overpriced but it was Obon week and many August travelers went there at the same time so I can understand. Only one shower, not a problem when the guest house is not fully booked !

    Amazing location in front of Honmura port - perfect if you are planning daily trips in Teshima and Inujima ! You can rent bicycles as well or simply walk from the nearest beach at night. Also, as there is only one space to eat and drink, you can easily meet people !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    6.3
    Good located, “cheaper” accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the cheapest on Naoshima, still not really worth the money (especially expensive during high season). Odd set-up, not so clean, no (more) towels, no (more) free bikes (although Lonely Planet suggests otherwise).

    Great location, quite comfortable beds. Surprisingly flexible in accommodating our checkin request and storage of luggage after checkout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You cannot check-in before five o`clock and the owner was only there during the check in times, so there was no chance to drof of the luggage before that time. I had the upper dorm bed and normally I have difficulties to get up there but the construction of the ladder is not ideal. Each bed comes with a tiny airconditioning device, which does not work very well. The door to the dark common room (no natural light) is only 1,60. There is one shower and one toilet.

    The location at the port is good, next door is a garage where you can rent bycicles a a nice cafe. There is a washing machine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.4
    no windows, dirty Kitchen and expensive for what it is!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no windows at all, there are no real Common Areas and the ,,Kitchen" is Dirty. There is no real area where you can sit proper except your bed. There is a Bar with barchairs but you will Spend- despite of the Time of the day- your Time there in complete darkness. Notice that all Artgalleries and Restaurants are closing down around 4pm/5pm. Also the staff was Pretty unkind and rather annoyed. So when you are an Vampire or when you are a lonesome traveller it might be one of the cheapest Options on naoshima- but rather Check the Rates of the other guesthouses and If you are a couple or more People- definitely Rent a room in a guesthouse or a whole Apartment.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.2
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 2 toilets and 1 shower for guests. A bit far from the main museums and the only convenience store was on the other side of the island.

    Location was good and easy to find. 1 min walk to Uno Port and 1 min to the nearest bus stop. Bunk bed was spacious and there was even a tiny air-con device for ventilation. I guess it was off-peak so there were very few other guests. Very convenient to visit the Art Houses around the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.5
    If you haven't tried a capsule hotel, this is a change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honmura has fewer ferries and eating options, but is much quieter than its counterparts.

    If you haven't tried a capsule hotel, this is a change to do so in a well priced hostel setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.1
    Right at the doorstep of Honmura port if you take the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were like sleeping on a hard floor (I didn't mind, but something you should be mindful of if you're old). And the general layout/cleanliness of the building wasn't the best.

    Right at the doorstep of Honmura port if you take the passenger boat instead of the ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    8.8
    Great quiet hostel on the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was the most expensive hostel I’ve stayed at for a fairly standard hostel set up, but I guess that it’s on par with the cost of other things on the island (food, attractions).

    The location is amazing - right on the honumura port, which made it really easy for a girl with a ruck sack. You also look straight out on the sea which is beautiful. There’s a kitchen and laundry as well which would be good for a long stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    The location of this place was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff

    The location of this place was great...and the dorm was ok too....But the lady who checked us in, was not very friendly or helpful. She was not there at time of arrival..so we had to call her... and she didn't know very much about the island & couldnt give any useful tip. There is a nice little terrace, but its not really "in use"..what a shame, because you could make a cosy place there! The front door has to be shut at all times...which its a real pitty too...especially with that view...and not practical, because you have to go around the house all the time...also with all the luggage at check-out time. With better management, this place would be a 10, now I would rate it a 7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    Simple and easy! No frills, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a little stiff. It is okay for a one night stay, but starts to hurt your back after a couple of days.

    The staff were so accommodating! The lady who helped us came to the hostel ahead of time to let us drop off our stuff. You need wifi or a Japanese phone to call the though (email or call only). Very simple place. You can do laundry. Great customer service: we forgot our souvenirs and they shipped it to us!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.5
    Dormitory accommodation, great location, stunning artworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location but arriving late there are few food choices and map of town confusing. If arriving late bring food to cook or get good directions to restaurants. We found a lovely place that was still open with great food and lovely people. Can hire bike next door, just leave 500yen in mini post box. However bikes from TVC look better. The Chichu gallery especially is a gem

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location right next to the port allows for easy access to Teshima. Staff was very welcoming. Don't miss the bakery up the main road. Their apricot jam was yum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    It is a small but perfectly fine backpacker place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area didn't create the most social atmosphere. Felt very much like a place to crash but not much more.

    It is a small but perfectly fine backpacker place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    4.6
    Inhumane owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner (the girl who leaves the hostel in the night without any contact in case guests need) said to us to leavebecause check out is at 10. We tried to ask if we can stay until 12 because we had to walk to other pier and back-no tickets for ferry for Teshima so we decided to move on to Uno. NO! She had to clean!!! No discussion!!! I said we'll go and she can enjoy cleaning. She turned the lights off and left the hostel... no cleaning... well.. if you care about stuff like that..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No baggage storage. Weak wifi (especially in dorm area). Just 1 tiny shower for about 12 people..

    There are not much outstanding things to say since there is not much choice at the island, just basic. It's located right next to the Honmura Port where the Art House Project is located too. Be aware that the ferries run a lot less than at Miyanoura Port. And all activities closes rather early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay one night or two if you travel light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The island of Naoshima is perfect to bike it. Every place should have a bike rental service. i have to go to the other side of the island to find a rental, because the ones in that side was closed because...

    It is fine if you travel solo and pretend to stay only one night or two. The location is great, quite and small town and the locals are super nice lovely people. At 19 o´clock all island is close, only the 7-11 on the other side of the island is open (30min walk).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    It’s more than what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s more than what I expected. Great staff with rich information about the house and the area. Nice food, cosy space, arts-related book shelf and the bathroom is definitely a gem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.1
    Good budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were a bit rude/not very friendly. Had to make the bed myself (put on sheets etc) which at night in un upper bunk was probably as annoying for me as it was for the other guests around me who were trying to sleep. Staff couldn’t accommodate late check-in despite living on the property and also were not willing to store baggage after checkout. Which isn’t actually a problem because you can leave it at the honmura lounge & archive around the corner (until 16:30) but still.

    Bed was comfy, slept really well, very close to honmura port which was good. Cheap for Naoshima.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    5.0
    Not great! But there are not many options on the island. Location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No staff at the hostel until 4pm just an email address to contact that had incredibley slow replies, therefore there was no luggage storage for us or any of the other customers despite being told there would be! Finally received an email back saying check in had been put back to 5pm!!! This is a ridiculous check in time considering you have to check out by 10 am!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.5
    It’s probably the cheapest option in naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Guy was away quit often and it was quit cold inside.

    It’s probably the cheapest option in naoshima. The Guy was friendly, If hé was there.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great value, comfy, and nice host !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked a bigger space for luggage locking

    The host was really nice, with a warm welcome and good advice !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.1
    Ok place for one night, no frills, good atmosphere and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no windows.

    Spacious capsule, possible to cook your own food. The staff were nice and offered good advice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.3
    Nice host, who speaks english and helps you around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's 1 bathroom, which might be a thing when the GH gets crowded

    Nice host, who speaks english and helps you around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and simple clean accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and simple clean accommodation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staffs are very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    The place is good just because is cheap, but the staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is good just because is cheap, but the staff and the location is not so good, in fact is more expensive than it worth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, quite unclean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel was very dirty, the bathrooms in particular had obviously not been cleaned in quite some time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    4.6
    good location, lack of flexibility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rigid check in times - owner shows only up for 90 minutes, no flexibility at all

    right next to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpfull, i was late to check in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very helpfull, i was late to check in and they picked me up at the port, on the other side of the island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    I love the hostel's quirkiness, and the staff were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love the hostel's quirkiness, and the staff were so fun to chat to. I came to Naoshima feeling nervous, and left feeling warm and included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    It has a relaxed atmosphere, and I enjoyed chatting with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It has a relaxed atmosphere, and I enjoyed chatting with the other guests and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Door to bar area is really low

    Nice bar area, very social

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.5
    More like a capsule hotel, but modern and clean and individual space more than big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the cheapest accommodation I found on Naoshima, which is very expensive as a whole

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    Close to the port, Art House projects and coffee places! Recommend for low budget!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the port, Art house projects and coffee places!

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!