Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tokyo Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Tokyo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel New Otani Tokyo the Main

Reviews of Hotel New Otani Tokyo the Main This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

102-8578 Tokyo Prefecture, Chiyoda-ku, Kioi-Cho 4-1, Japan

#117 of 962 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 909 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    I love the staff in this property everyone was very sweet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym was terrible!! For a 5 star resort I would say the gym was a disappointment. I also didn’t like how expensive things could be. The laundry service was extremely expensive

    I love the staff in this property everyone was very sweet and helpful and respectful the property is huge the Japanese gardens are outstanding we loved the cigar lounge the best

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    New Otani still a nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had dinner at the in-house restaurant Satsuki one evening. I am a white American businessman, who speaks some, but understands much Japanese. The maître de choose to sit me in a room, by myself with my back facing the rest of the tables.....first time I have ever experienced racial prejudice in Japan, let alone at the New Otani. I told the maître de what I thought about where he located me...He acted like he didn't understand, but obvious to me, he knew because he repeatedly apologized....One other observation....the hotel was filled with tourists from China, who unfortunately are not particularly well behaved....so much for the Executive Zen Experience

    New Otani is a classy hotel. I have been staying there for almost 30 years when in Tokyo. Location is perfect for me, as I am very comfortable walking around Akasaka

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    First Class Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everthing

    All the staff were welcoming and accommodating and spoke good english. The room and bathroom facilities were the best we he have stayed in. Very close to a metro station enabling good access to all parts of Tokyo. Airport Limousine Bus Service to and from the hotel to either Narita or Haneda airports makes transfers very smooth, punctual.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Ideal location for strolling locally and multiple subway lines to other areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Air-conditioning was too dry for my wife but an air humidifier was promptly supplied upon request.

    We felt the property had improved since last year. We couldn't fault The Main for comfort and the food was much more sensitive to the needs of vegetarians.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The variety of restaurants. The cleanliness and the staff being so ever helpful. Room was very quiet. There was a direct shuttle bus to and from Narita and Haneda aiports. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    The beautiful gardens , the ambience, the friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar fridge in the room can be better stocked and include a price list of the goods .

    The beautiful gardens , the ambience, the friendly and helpful staff, Tully's coffee, the location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All restaurants for breakfast was so crowded everyday; therefore, we had to wait for a long time or to look for the one which was less crowded than others. Staff may need to organise their guest management as well as cleaning procedures since we could see some empty tables which could have been used.

    The room was very clean and very quiet. The atmosphere was also excellent. The business centre staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in Japan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel was not able to provide airport delivery at an early time in the morning. Breakfast is expensive despite the fact that they give you a discount coupon on them.

    The hotel as a whole is beautiful especially the overview of the Japanese old garden. The room is spacy, and has all amenities which are renewed everyday. The hotel has convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Train stations not very far.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.3
    High end property at a high end price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant prices are crazy. If you're staying here as a special treat then I'd suggest eating anywhere else. We paid JPY 10,000 for 4 drinks in the Sky Bar. The view was phenomenal, but the pain of the bar bill probably made it not worth it!

    Were upgraded to a junior suite on check in, which was amazing. Had great views across the city, and down to the garden. The hotel is huge and the staff were very engaging and spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast buffet was great but there were no gluten free option of bread/pastry/cereal, alternative vegan mylk

    the atmosphere, the cleanness, the kindness, the confort

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.2
    Satisfied with the hotel choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None.

    Big hotel complex, with many facilities, restaurants, breakfast options and shops. Metro station is nearby, so easy access anywhere within Tokyo. Rooms are nice, comfortable beds, huge bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the price for the location, amenities and experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the money we paid we expected more. The outdoor pool is only open during Summer and the indoor pool costs $50 Aus to use per person...ouch! Restaurants in the hotel are well over priced too. Room service starts way too early at before 9:30am.

    The beds were comfy. Not much else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    The old classic elegant hotel, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They should have a convenience store inside.

    The old classic elegant hotel, very clean and well-maintained facilities, friendly but respectful polite staffs. The Japanese garden is the heaven, must not miss it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.8
    lack of care by reception staff; no free use pool for guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the restaurant was described to be open from 6am on Sunday morning, in fact only a very small section was open. we went down around 6.30am only to find there was already a long queue of guests waiting for tables. the waiting time would be 30min. As we had an early flight to catch we had to leave without breakfast and the hotel refused to give a refund with a cold attitude. Also there is no free use of pool for guests which can only accessed with additional payment. considering the room rate, this is really poor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Very classy hotel with lots of eating out choices close to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A shuttle bus would have been appreciated considering the price of the rooms. Novice travellers, we ended up spending over $300 Australian dollars on a taxi!

    Really convenient access to the metro. Very generously sized rooms. The New York Times and The Japan Times a nice touch. Great choices for breakfast. Amazing garden amidst all the Tokyo bustle.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    THE perfect place to stay if you can afford it.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    THE perfect place to stay if you can afford it. The staff is really nice and everyone speaks English (which might be quite a problem in Japan). The rooms are just perfect, and the location allows for easy transport to any place in the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.6
    The service, staff, garden and accommodations were A+.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were not many activities in close walking distance to the hotel.

    The service, staff, garden and accommodations were A+. We had a spectacular time in spite of having to ride out a typhoon there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    Big room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurants were expensive and food average, swimming pool closed for the 'season' the day after we arrived so that was very disappointing seeing as it was hot and we were staying here to relax before flying home so if I had known this I would have stayed somewhere cheaper.

    Locations was great, Room was large (but I think it was an upgrade due to ours not being ready) staff were exceptional, Japanese garden was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    With 40 restaurants, it was a bit overwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Run of House Construction Side - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights

    You had to PAY to go to the pool ($20 for guests, $200!!! for outsiders).

    With 40 restaurants, it was a bit overwhelming. The prices are Tokyo (sky high), but the service and facility are among the best I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.7
    Would stay there again as long as we had a guarantee our requirements were met
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room booking was a total mishap. Our requests were not taken into consideration. We had to move 3 times in the 3 nights we were there. . . And after a 12 hour flight . . . Enough said

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    9.2
    New Otani the Main
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurants are extremely expensive. The area is full of good restaurants with reasonable price and better value.

    Excellent service. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and roomy. The garden is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Top quality service worthy of a great hotel. Always staff on hand to assist and the facilities are second to none. Rooms are spacious for Tokyo and well appointed. Not the liveliest area in town but the metro is five minutes away with good connections to all areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.3
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Run of House Construction Side - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    RESTAURANT PRICES - AS USUAL LARGE HOTELS HAVE EXPENSIVE RESTAURANTS - WAS EASY TO FIND LOCAL RESTAURANTS CLOSE BY

    location - EASY TO ACCESS METRO AND OTHER AREAS TO WALK TO FROM THE HOTEL

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    premium hotel @ reasonable cost ... a top choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast at the The tower restaurant was a bit more noisy, less extensive food choice

    top hotel and great location to explore the city ! very friendly personnel; nice bootiques in the hotel (we did not have the time to explore, as they open at 10:00am and close before the evening sets) everything was just perfect like we were anticipating for Tokyo city area, the hotel also has an exceptional large garden you can have a walk in when good weathe I would recommend to have breakfast at the garden view restaurant (nice view on Japanese garden). We also enjoyed our dinner at "The Sky" restaurant (good view over Tokyo). If you're looking to have a rooftop dinner at Tokyo, this is a very good option to select - very good food quality at fair pricing, relaxing atmosphere - a nice dinner experience with "show-coocking" + buffet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The views of the city and gardens would be breathtaking if it wasnt for a green roof that covers pat of the area! Restaurant prices are way too expensive... The pool temperature was too warm.

    Everything! The hotel was elegant, spacious and sophisticated. The staff was very helpful, joyful and kind - they even upgraded us for our honeymoon! We loved the place and the situation was perfect (between Shinjuku and Tokyo). In addition, this hotel gives you the best toilet amenities ever!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    What a nice hotel to stay, for tourist this is your place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Run of House Construction Side - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    What a nice hotel to stay, for tourist this is your place, it’s near to metro station, there are plenty of taxi and shuttle that takes you to some places like Disney and airport. There are stores within the hotel. All in all i highly recommend this hotel to everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    4.6
    Overall mediocre, we won't be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A pool is advertised however payment required even for guests (it also accepts non guests) and also very poor opening times (outdoor pool is 2000yen but closes at 6 and indoor being a members club at 9, but was nearly 5000yen!) so we did not use - this is the only reason we booked this hotel. Staff unfamiliar with the pool set up. Photos are misleading and the garden is quite small despite the photos. Rooms are ok but basic for 5 star, ours was a terrible aspect overlooking buildings, we were given a smoking room and had to move so wasted a lot of time at check in. Room service tried hard, however lots of waiting and checking stock. Breakfast was very disappointing, advise not to go with the inclusive buffet.

    It's near to the tube station which has good connections. The service at the Capri Bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful gardens and relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long check in process. No king beds available

    Lovely getaway in the busiest city in the world. Great breakfasts. Good location but a 10 minutes walk to subway. Easy to grab a taxi though. Large spacious rooms and very clean. We stayed in the main building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel - highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel cafes were expensive & had westernised menus. No 'coffee shop'.

    Excellent location close to shops & metro. Very comfortable room & excellent service from staff. Separate shower, very roomy, clean & comfortable. Fantastic patisserie off the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was comfortable, the breakfast, too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The reception workers were not always at the height of the situation. They did not even speak English well enough.

    The bed was comfortable, the breakfast, too. The Japan garden was very nice round the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel. Highly recommend that users give it a try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location. At first we found it to be a long walk to the metro downhill and uphill upon our return. Then we found we could use the connection to Otani Garden Hotel, take the elevator down 6 floos to get to our metro quickly with less physical challenges.

    We were upgraded since they could not provide a double bed as requested. Instead we got a mini suite with extra wide twin beds on the 14th floor. On the day we departed Mt Fuji came out from behind the clouds to give us an amazing view. We did not have breakfast as it was not included with our room, but did enjoy receiving a paper each day. The staff was excellent. We were able to make reservations with airport limo bus to take us directly to the airport. If time permits do visit the gardens on the grounds. They were beautiful in April.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Oasis: Very comfortable city centre hotel midst wonderful garden -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Queues at breakfast it's a big hotel! Go early especially to secure window view. Booking in late - limited food options.

    An oasis of calm in busy cosmopolitan city. Very professional and caring staff. Comfortable beds with views over garden. Excellent full choice breakfast. Stayed in many Japanese hotels and this highly rated. Book room with view of garden and city beyound - its worth the extra!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Total luxury, with a late '90 spirit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 2 main drawbacks of this hotel are the style and the location. The decor reminds me of 5 starts hotels from the late '90 with old carpeting, huge halls and useless shops around the lobby. But even worst is the location, with at least 10-15 minutes to each one of the two nearby stations. Problem is, these stations are not running the main lines, so changing a train to get to main areas of Tokyo is neccessary.

    A classic 5 star luxury hotel, with floor to ceiling windows and impressive view to the garden from the the room. The room is spacious, neatly clean and organized, with great facilities such as ethernet (and wifi of course) and even free smartphone with data plan and calls. The breakfast is rich in selection, and overall service is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful, from the reception to house keeping all the way to the bellboys, everyone were extremely professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Business turns to leisure
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think there should be more light in the room on mirror.

    Staff is more than helpful. Food in Italian restaurant on 40 th floor was good. Very thoughtful minute details are kept in mind while planning the interiors & toiletries in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    This was our first trip to Japan and we could not have picked a better hotel for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn’t like a out the hotel.

    The staff were very polite and helpful. The service was excellent. The variety and quality of food at the buffet breakfast was excellent. The view out to the garden and the garden itself was beautiful. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.8
    Pricey resort complex!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fitness center is small. Lounge is also small and with few refreshment offerings.

    Great cellphone included with room. Nice selection of restaurants. Japanese and rose gardens are a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent full service hotel. Expensive, restaurants also (very good breakfast buffet), but Tokyo is an expensive city. The concierge service and all the staff with whom we came in contact were very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would skip the breakfast. We tried the restaurant in the lobby. It's nothing special and overpriced

    The rooms are well sized and the beds are comfortable. The garden in the hotel is stunning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.3
    Overall very good place to stay if you are willing to pay the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast buffet was disappointing And overpriced. On morning there was no fresh fruit left and half of the other choices were missing. Other mornings were better but they don’t seem to replenish items as they are eaten. New Otani is showing its age. Carpets were a bit worn and tattered giving the impression they were not clean

    Superior service. Friendly and helpful staff. Super location for getting around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Take the hotel but not breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They said the price of breakfast was 2000¥ and a day later increased it to 2,450¥ without informing us. When we complained they just ignored us.

    Beautiful garden Very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Cypress Bath "Shin-Edo" - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Japanese breakfast at Nadaman is disappointing. And garden buffet has long line...

    Staff is super friendly and speak excellent English! Very helpful in every aspect. Loved food at Satsuki and room service breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    4.2
    meh. quite underwhelming for a place I had looked forward to staying at. I won't stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the size of the room, the impersonal check-in process, the noisiness of the property (other guests), the bed was also too hard and the pillows were so ancient as to be impractical to give any neck support

    the hotel garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    9.2
    Late 60's Tokyo glam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The revolving restaurant is a MUST-DO experience. The restaurant offers a buffet style meal but with all the Japanese trimmings - sushi chefs, tempura etc. The staff here are incredibly friendly and the views (esp on the higher floors) are exemplary. If you're considering breakfast at the hotel you should sign up to the New Otani club (on arrival at reception) as you'll receive discounted breakfast rates (of which you have 4 to choose from). The 12pm check-out is also super-helpful if you have a later flight. For a small fee you can also catch the Limousine Bus to Narita or Haneda airport from the hotel (also super helpful).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Superb!!! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn’t love was the mattress as it was quite hard, but this is not a flaw of the hotel!

    Staff is extremely friendly and we were lucky to get an upgrade to a Junior Suite which was absolutely amazing!!! Everything exceeded our expectations!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom in the main building is outdated, swimming pool costs extra and is not in the main building

    Very very central location in a business area, the morning view on mt.fuji is great, swimming pool is available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    5.0
    I was expecting much more...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of things to improve. It is basically a very old structure which needs a lot of renewal. Breakfast very basic for a Japanese 4* hotel and I hate when you need to wait for a waiter/waitress to get to a table...so inefficient especially when you do not have enough staff. Room very small and the bathroom very old style. To be honest I would not recommend it

    The only thing I did appreciate it is the location and the fact you can reach it via Narita through a shuttle bus at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    10
    Fabulous Japanese style Hotel in the centre of Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Cypress Bath "Shin-Edo" - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fabulous Japanese style Hotel in the centre of Tokyo. This hotel is made extra special by the beautiful Japanese gardens and the sky bar which has great views over Tokyo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I recall when I booked the room from Bookings,com, breakfast was included in the price of £324 for two nights, but at the hotel I was told it was not included.

    The facilities, linen, really everything was of very good quality. The staff are very helpful and kind without getting in the way. I really felt welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    5.0
    Lacklustre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated ‘business’ hotel, in need of some TLC in the bedrooms. Not the best location for tourists, 10 min walk to local subway. Not in the midst of things.

    Large bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    10
    The atmosphere in the hotel;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    The atmosphere in the hotel; staff’s friendliness, comfortable and spacious localities for business meetings, meals, delightful garden, nice interior decoration and style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    5.4
    Only plus...its location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    clearly over-rated! Room nothing special, bathroom very old style and small. Breakfast nothing special and for sure not in line with a 5* hotel in Asia.

    The only thing I would save of this hotel is the position to my work place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Incredibly friendly staff, excellent room and facilities, and very convenient to subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meals were too pricey for us, so we did not take advantage of hotel dining

    Everything!!! Room was huge, bed was extra size, bathroom was full sized. Girlfriend like the dressing table. The handy mobile phone was a great idea

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    Spacious and quiet room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra charges for certain hotel facilities (e.g. pool). Staff generally very efficient however could have been better (e.g. forgetting to take credit card for guarantee on check-in, forgetting to confirm that need to book airport shuttle bus in advance).

    Spacious and quiet room, comfy bed. Large bathroom and walk in closet. Superb buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, clean and beautiful place at a premium
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tokyo prices... Most rooms with no view on the Japanese Garden.

    Perfect location (close to city center and subway), warm welcome and good service, and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was simple for halal friendly it’s limited basically you get too be more vegetarian in case of food for Muslim.

    Japanese garden was amazing the location of the hotel away from the busy life of Tokyo. Also the access of the metro and trains are nearby the hotel. There is an airport shuttle to and for the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic option and if one register for membership of the New Otani Hotel they offer 3pm check-out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is well located, abt 200m from metro station at Ginza line. From this station very easy to go to Tokyo main station and from there to Narita Airport. Very elegant hotel with plant of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent and superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air in the room was a bit dry because of the air conditioner, but when we turned it off, it was ok.

    I liked everything there. There are so many small details that are thoroughly thought about. Sometimes I think in other 5-star hotels: am I the person for whom nothing is good enough (which I don't want to be)? But after Otani I know it's not me. I liked everything there, it's a standard of a 5-star hotel service for me now.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SPA was unfortunatelly closed and also the view wasn't so cool because you really need to stay on upper flours not to see parking or the roof (we were on 5th)

    Good service, large rooms for Japan, super view from Tower restaurant and Sky bar, beautiful garden downstairs with pond full of huge carps. Was happy to stay there and will definitely come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom too small for western taste Some restaurants in the hotel a little too expensive

    Bed and room very comfortable with a great view on the city. Wonderful Japanese garden Seamless organization for the transfer to the airport Helpful concierge for attractions in the city Close to the metro Plenty of choice for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.1
    If you like this sort of thing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suppose it's a matter of taste but there is not a huge difference, in terms of the actual room, between this place and a lot of much cheaper hotels in equally good locations. If you're after the whole 'luxury' experience, this is your place but you're paying for the appearance of comfort and affluence rather than anything particularly special. I understand that restaurants in these places are expensive but the prices here are just ridiculous. Swindle was the word that came to mind when I noted that a single banana was going to cost me more than 10 dollars. It's also an incredibly confusing building. Not my cup of tea but, as I say, it's a matter of taste.

    The hotel is in a good location and is clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Japanese garden of the hotel is great! And there are lots of shops and restaurants inside the hotel, you can almost easily find anything you want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Locations was very convenient for getting the train to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Locations was very convenient for getting the train to all areas for the city. Hotel staff were amazing, very friendly and also trying to do more for you. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    7.1
    Japanese garden is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personnel at check in desk are not proficient in English. Old, outdated main building. Difficult to get to by foot, not the most convient for accessing the surrounding area. No impressive lobby.

    Japanese garden, service, shower pressure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very little closet space in our room and no drawers.

    The hotel is huge and has everything onsite. It reminded us of a cruise ship. The Japanese garden and the rose garden are added bonus. Incredible restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    It is a decent hotel with easy access to all areas of Tokyo.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No HALAL food for muslems. So we turned vegetarian during our stay plus few availability of sea food options.

    It was very easy to move around Tokyo from their as the hotel is clise to main metro station and 5 min walk to train station as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    7.1
    Good but not the best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpeted floor everywhere. Rooms hot at night, cold during tbe day. Unaivalable informal common spaces.

    The traditional garden. Good internet connection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    8.3
    Big hotel with lots of facilities. Good beds and family rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with 1 Extra Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was hard to find a breakfast place in the hotel complex if you don’t take the buffet but the 2nd day we went to the mall accros the street that has a Dean & Deluca with everything you wish for.

    The beds where very good. They put an extra single bed in the room for my daughter of 15 yrs. old. The garden is beautiful. The tepanyaki restaurant in the garden is delicious and a very nice experience ($$$$).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    it was nice staying in New Otani hotel in Tokyo.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was nice staying in New Otani hotel in Tokyo. The staff was very accommodating and welcoming. The were 2 disappointing things. The first one was that not all stuff members speak fluent english. And it’s really difficult to communicate especially if you need any advice or something more than standard request by phone. It takes time to explain and by the end you don’t always get what you expected. The second was continental breakfast that we’ve ordered to the the room and got 6 croissants, coffee and juice. It was very disappointed fact as while we were ordering the host girl could not explain that nothing more is included. Because of the her poor language it took 20 minutes by phone to find out that you need to pay more to get something additionally. What was not a problem but we would prefer to know about it in advance, when we were making an order. In contrast with the great hotel breakfasts you can have in 4 of more than 30 hotel restaurants it was almost ridicules. We called manager and he was really nice, trying to explain the situation and help us with the order. We already didn’t have time to have breakfast, and then he suggested a compliment as bottle of wine and fruits plate in the evening. It was really nice from his side as in fact it was our mistake as we didn’t check what is included in continental breakfast in New Otani room service menu. It's was written there that it’s only bread, juice & coffee. And as we checked later the standard continental breakfast is like that, any extra dishes in continental breakfast are added by hotels initiatives but it’s not the rule. We would like to thank room service manager Hisayuki Masaki for his attention to our situation. He was really nice and kind talking to us, willing to help and make us be satisfied. Please send our regards to him and our sorry for the emotional communication. We do appreciate his compliments and the attention. all the best

    it was nice staying in New Otani hotel in Tokyo. The staff was very accommodating and welcoming. The were 2 disappointing things. The first one was that not all stuff members speak fluent english. And it’s really difficult to communicate especially if you need any advice or something more than standard request by phone. It takes time to explain and by the end you don’t always get what you expected. The second was continental breakfast that we’ve ordered to the the room and got 6 croissants, coffee and juice. It was very disappointed fact as while we were ordering the host girl could not explain that nothing more is included. Because of the her poor language it took 20 minutes by phone to find out that you need to pay more to get something additionally. What was not a problem but we would prefer to know about it in advance, when we were making an order. In contrast with the great hotel breakfasts you can have in 4 of more than 30 hotel restaurants it was almost ridicules. We called manager and he was really nice, trying to explain the situation and help us with the order. We already didn’t have time to have breakfast, and then he suggested a compliment as bottle of wine and fruits plate in the evening. It was really nice from his side as in fact it was our mistake as we didn’t check what is included in continental breakfast in New Otani room service menu. It's was written there that it’s only bread, juice & coffee. And as we checked later the standard continental breakfast is like that, any extra dishes in continental breakfast are added by hotels initiatives but it’s not the rule. We would like to thank room service manager Hisayuki Masaki for his attention to our situation. He was really nice and kind talking to us, willing to help and make us be satisfied. Please send our regards to him and our sorry for the emotional communication. We do appreciate his compliments and the attention. all the best

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.2
    enjoyed our stay at the New Otani
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a beautiful room with a wonderful view! The hotel is close to the train station about a 7 minute walk. We loved the area of the hotel, lots of good restaurants and stores. Less touristy than other areas but easy access to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great surroundings, lovely gardens, walking distance to subway , staff very helpful ! Great restaurants, so much choice. Great buffet and lunch-time tea ! Room was spacious and quiet .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    the hotel is excellent and worth the money in Tokyo. thank you to all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The cost of breakfast if you only wanted Coffee and toast,

    the staff were friendly and excellent, and the location only 4 stops on the metro from Ginza is perfect giving tranquility but only 15 minutes from the bustle of central Tokyo

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of breakfast if all you wanted was coffee and toast was expensive as they are all fixed price buffets, but Tulleys in the adjacent Garden court provided the solution!

    The staff are excellent, speaking perfect english right down to the room maid, Location is very good for central Tokyo, being only 5 stops on the Metro to Tokyo Station, Rooms are spacious for Japan and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.6
    Overall a very pleasant and comforting stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I did not like, that one had to pay an extra "visitors fee" for using the pool and the Spa. At least the pool should be included. I haven't used much of the aforementioned dining opportunities, for they are all in a price category, that exceeded my daily limit. I used the Sky Bar once and the Gin Tonic was overpriced and disappointing. I used the Garden Lounge once to take a coffee and it was overpriced and only okay - the focus is quite on the usual dining guest, than on the drinking kind.

    I liked the bed, which was very comfortable, including two pillows, one very soft, the other quite hard. The view from 7th floor was great with very big windows overviewing the city. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. The Hotel poses as a pick up point for most tours and activities, so one does only have to wait in the Lobby for the next adventure. The Japanese Garden is as beautiful as it gets. The room is spacious enough and consist of a comfy chair for relaxing times, a desk to put all your stuff at and a TV with hilarious Japanese television programs. Although quite far from the next train station (10 Minute walk at least), there are at least 3-4 different train stations from which one can start their tour to the city. Taxis are available as well at any time. The Hotel comprises of 3 big facilities in which are located numerous dining opportunities or shopping stores, including a family mart and a Tully's Coffee, although very well hidden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.2
    Great service, incredible dining choices and excellent location
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only complaint is the price of some of the restaurants within the hotel itself is a little steep but it comes with the 5 star territory. not many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel so you can find yourself become reliant on hotel food if you feel lazy in the evenings.

    Staff were amazing and general all round service was brilliant. The breakfast was excellent (we only tried one out of three breakfast restaurants). Choice of restaurants is brilliant but some on the pricey side. Room service menu is plentiful. The hotel itself is grand and looks great. Rooms are large, clean and quiet. Location is safe and peaceful so always nice to have quiet surroundings after days out in busy Tokyo. Close to a few train stations (5mins walk) and was perfectly located to explore key areas of Tokyo. Wifi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.9
    Room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in the restaurants was tasty enough but extremely expensive for what we got. We also had to pay to use the swimming pool which I would expect to be included after paying so much for accommodation.

    Room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom facilities and shampoo etc were excellent and the room and hotel was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel New Otani Tokyo the Main Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: