Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Oyajino Umi

Reviews of Oyajino Umi This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, Naoshima cho 774, Japan

#20 of 22 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 279 B&B reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.7
    The location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The common areas and café was messy. Got the impression that the owner didn't have time to look after the facilities. Breakfast was OK but the café where it was served was cramped and cluttered in a non-cozy fashion.

    The location was awesome. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable guest house with amazing location in Honmura
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the property, but if you do not like cats be warned- there are very many.

    Amazing location, very cozy, beautiful old traditional Japanese house. The owner Tateishi san was very accessible and welcoming and prepared a great breakfast every morning. She even let us play with her baby kitten.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was lovely. I would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a toilet upstairs would be good. My room was upstairs, the stairs are typically more like a step-ladder. A bit tricky in the middle of the night. A bit expensive, but I booked very late. There could be signs reminding guests that, the walls being paper-thin, they should be very quiet. Some were definitely not.

    It was a "typical" Japanese guesthouse. Location is excellent for the visit of Naoshima art sites. The landlady is very sweet. It's very clean. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    5.0
    Not so clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cats were cute, but a messy place kept clean only to an extent. Room very basic, duvets too short for me (190 cm} and a TL light that didn't switch off completely leaving a blue hue in the night.

    The location is great, in a pretty village in the middle of the Art Houses project, a 30 minute-walk to Benesse. The (international) breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    5.8
    Rooms were large and guesthouse is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of notes stuck to everything telling you what you could or couldn't do. Breakfast was average.

    Rooms were large and guesthouse is in a good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    Great location (close to all the Art House Project...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do make sure you have the Google Translate app on your phone: the owner is super-friendly and considerate, but not fluent in English.

    Great location (close to all the Art House Project locations), nice home-made breakfast, super-friendly host. The cute cats live on the property, it added to the nice homey atmosphere to have them around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.7
    We had a Japanese style twin room with futons that you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a Japanese style twin room with futons that you unfolded on the tatami mats at night. Clean and good sized room, but I found the futons a bit uncomfortable compared to a western style bed. The walls are also very thin, so you can hear almost everything if there is someone in the room next door. It was very quiet and peaceful at night though, and is in a good location in the middle of the village. Two shared bathrooms and toilets downstairs are also clean, and a nice cooked breakfast is provided in the cat cafe next door, which is pretty messy by Japanese standards. The woman who runs the place speaks a little English and is polite but unsmiling and seems a bit grumpy. Perfectly fine for what it is, but I felt the value for money was not fantastic; we had a fully self contained apartment in Kyoto for a similar price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.3
    The minshuku was located in the beautiful old village in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minshuku was located in the beautiful old village in the middle of all the art houses. Japanese style room was very comfy and spacious next to a nice little garden with some cats. The owner is very friendly although she only spoke Japanese. Recommend to stay here 2 nights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    6.3
    Idyllic Naoshima Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived late in the village centre and we had no idea where the guesthouse was located - there were no indications. The lady in charge saw us on the bust stop waving to attract attention but she carried on driving. We realised it was her when we were actually given a lift to the property by a stranger. Not the cleanest property we stayed in in Japan and the lady in charge does not speak any English which can also be a drawback. However she did provide us with a good breakfast in the morning.

    The location. Naoshima Island is an excellent place to visit in Japan. The location is very small and very easy to get around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Nice traditional Japanese style room with really comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice traditional Japanese style room with really comfortable futon. Homey atmosphere in a great location right by the art house projects. The owner is introverted, but super nice and helpful if you ask. It will help to speak Japanese. We had a great time, thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Naoshima an art city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is perfect and it goes well with the feeling of the city. The staff was really nice and even volunteared to pick me up at a museum event. Was raining my whole stay but i always got offered an umbrella.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.5
    Nice, homely, well located Ryokan with a chaotic but quirky style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cafe/dining room/car cafe was messy but kind of fun. Especially if you like cats!

    Quirky place run by nice lady with minimal English, but enough to feel welcoming. Ryokan style, but one of the more comfortable mattresses I’ve slept on the floor on! Breakfast was cheap - 500 yen - and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.3
    The people of Naoshima have opened their homes to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The people of Naoshima have opened their homes to accommodate people from around the world who come to see the beautiful art island. This is one such home. It is in the middle of many of the installations and a unique experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.3
    The location is really good, right near the art houses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weirdly it was hard to find food on Naoshima. Lots of restaurants seemed to be closed and there isn't food available where you would expect there to be, such as near the bus stop for Benesse House. I suggest people visiting Naoshima take some food with them and if you are staying on the island for dinner find a restaurant early and make a reservation

    The location is really good, right near the art houses project. My room was a good size. It and the shared bathrooms were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    3.3
    Not a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was really dirty, not charming, and the owner was a little bit creepy.

    The place is dirty, the staff was not really nice and very creepy. We don't recomend this place at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    Our families had a great stay at Oyajino Umi - location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our families had a great stay at Oyajino Umi - location was excellent amongst the art houses of Honmura, rooms and bedding were comfortable, and the host was friendly and made us a delicious breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of rules distributed throughout the room and hotel. Better to have a single page.

    Friendly host and great location. Big room and comfortable tatami and futon bed. Yummy breakfast, as long as you don’t mind sharing the dining area with the hosts cats.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    5.4
    The owner was lovely and her cats were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was connected to the main lounge and so we had very little privacy and lots of noise in our bedroom.

    The owner was lovely and her cats were very nice. The rooms were big enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    I really enjoyed my peaceful and quiet night at the questhouse!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in/Check-out and luggage storage was all handled relaxed and quite efficient by the landlady. I slept very well on my soft and warm futon bed in a fine traditional japanese house ambience! The location is just perfect for any excursion on Naoshima island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    6.3
    It was extremely close to the ferry wharf, bicycle hire and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner appeared to be unwell when I arrived which might explain why I didn't see her at all during the whole course of my stay including when I 'checked out' at the proper checkout time. The security was minimal and I wasn't provided with a key to my room although that may be to do with the island lifestyle on Naoshima. The cat cafe has been closed for an indefinite period so that was a bit disappointing; breakfast was not available. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest.

    It was extremely close to the ferry wharf, bicycle hire and tourist information as well as the 'art house project' installations. The room and bedding were clean and the air-conditioning kept the room nice and warm. I was able to leave my luggage (with minimum security) inside the front door when I arrived early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.1
    Don't stay here if you don't like cats!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't stay here if you don't like cats! The breakfast is served in a room full of cats. (it used to be a cat cafe). Proprietor is very nice but no English so handy to ensure you have google translate on your phone. Bedroom clean. Communal areas have lots of clutter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    7.9
    Fine stay in an old, characteristic house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a nice, old house on the beautiful and interesting island of Naoshima. We liked its atmosphere and it was interesting to try the Japanese style tatami and futon room once. The host was fine and was able to convey all information needed although she didn't speak any English (and we don't speak Japanese). It was a bit of a pity though that I didn't feel she was really interested in her guests beyond having everything run smoothly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.2
    Kind and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit out of the way: 15 minutes walk from the ferry

    The owner is a very nice and hospitable host. Upon arrival he gave me the choice between a smaller private room and a larger shared room, for same price. He gave me an umbrella to take with me when I left because it was raining and a small present to protect me on my way. The kitchen is well-equipped with coffee machines and free simple but good breakfast options: cereals and milk, toast and jelly. Great comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.1
    Nice Traditional Japanese House Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen/pantry area is kinda messy.

    Very near to Honmura Port. A beautiful traditional japanese house with nice surroundings. Very welcoming staff (she can't speak English but she will try to make you understand her intentions).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cafes or restaurants nearby after 5 pm. The only one open was difficult to find. Owner lack simple English language skill and no breakfast provided.

    Cleanliness and proximity to boat and bus (public transport).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable futons and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No chairs in room. Steep narrow stairs to room and to access bathroom facilities.

    Comfortable futons and pillows. Nice cooked western breakfast. Clean modern bathroom and toilets. Washing facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    5.8
    okay, but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    reception was so so: the lady running the place doesn't speak any english so don't expect to get answers to any questions you might have. overall we felt the place wasn't really cosy. it's quite noisy in the mornings from 7am when other guests are leaving or doing laundry.

    there was no breakfast included, so i don't know

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.5
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    An earlier check in would have been wonderful considering it was raining and we were travelling with our kids.

    We found the beds to be extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Certainly you can't expect much privacy from a guesthouse. In the morning when everyone is up, you should probably wait for an hour to get the bathroom or the toilet. The landlady there cannot speak English, so gestures and a little Japanese will be of much help.

    A very local and indigenous guesthouse located in the heart of the traditional rural area of Naoshima. Pleasantly tranquil surroundings, 100% authentic Japanese yard, a best getaway that takes you back in time to a see a more real and beautiful Japan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    5.8
    Cheap room in zero frills accomodation. Wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Zero security for room, included breakfast was underwhelming to say the least, broken windows (and it wasn't recent damage) allowed mosquitos into room, lots of little things implied a near total lack of caring. Merely a lady with an unoccupied property making some money on the side.

    Cheap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    6.3
    Location and generosity of host in picking us up from night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Adjoining cat cafe. Steep ladder steps up to room. Constantly messy kitchen which discouraged use.

    Location and generosity of host in picking us up from night viewing at Chichu museum

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    4.6
    Stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house felt like living in someone's private (and not quite clean) house. We arrived to an empty house with no information about when or if the owner would show up.

    The room itself was fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    3.8
    Last resort accomodation on Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was promoted as having breakfast but cafe was closed until 11am with 'checkout' asked to be promptly at 10 but the owner was nowhere to be seen at this time. If you're there for the cats they're in pretty poor condition. Was not welcoming, poor service, didn't deliver on what it promoted and from what I could see through the window the cafe is just a couple of table and chairs in a messy kitchen Room only locked from the inside, there was no key, so you couldn't lock your belongings, you could only lock the door once you were inside

    Location was good but everywhere is easy to get to on Naoshima so not enough of a bonus to overcome poor service and lack of cleanliness. The room was relatively comfortable so if you're desperate for somewhere to stay on Naoshima it's doable but overpriced

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    5.4
    Only for backpackers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was next to a laundry room, and the machines started running at 7 A.M. The bathroom was very old, and the whole place seemed kind of messy and sad, with a closed cat cafe in the adjoining building. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, except maybe if you're on a very low budget and can sleep through anything.

    Central in Honmura, close to the port and Art House project. The room was clean and the wifi good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.1
    A mixed bag. Exceptionallly helpful staff but the double room was uncomfortably small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny. The double room was the smallest of our trip. No room to open our small suitcase except on the bed. The prefabricated capsule bathroom was claustrophobic.

    Great staff. Concierge service was exceptional. Hotel was new and clean. We stayed twice in two different room types. The queen room was very comfortable but we'd never book the double room again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    100-year old Japanese House + Cat Cafe on an Island: What more could you ask for?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Oyajino Umi is a very special place to stay. The house is a 100+-year old traditional Japanese house with shoji screens and tatami floors. Adjacent to the house is a beautiful garden, and across the garden is the cat cafe where guests are served breakfast. Being able to stay in a traditional house and sleep in futons on tatami is a very special experience; and being able to enjoy a delicious breakfast in a cat cafe is also a very special experience. The hostess of the property is an attentive woman who is happy to spend time translating itineraries (ferry and bus schedules, museum opening times) to ensure that you get the most out of your stay. She is a native of Naoshima and has wonderful stories about how the island has changed over the years. The property is near Honmura port which is a smaller port than Miyanoura (where the main ferry boat travels to). The village around the property is charming and quieter / less touristy than the village around Miyanoura port. I traveled to Naoshima with my husband and 5-year old daughter, and we were very happy to be in this area of the island. The local bus that traverses the island is a 2-minute walk from the property, so it is very easy to hop onto it and go West for Miyanoura, or East/South to go to the Benesse art sites. The island is also easy to walk across if you are out at night and miss the last bus. We did this one night and enjoyed the feeling of being self-reliant and adventuresome. Overall, we highly recommend Oyajimo Umi to anyone who is looking for an authentic Japanese experience that is not your standard hotel room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    5.8
    The island is amazing, hire electric bikes and visit Chichu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in time is "5pm" as in they expect you to be there at exactly 5pm. Didn't know this and host seemed angry when we arrived later which made us a bit uncomfortable. No ATM near so must get lots of cash out before you arrive.

    The island is amazing, hire electric bikes and visit Chichu gallery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.5
    Traditional Japanese guesthouse in central Honmura settlement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfectly located amongst the art house projects of the Honmura Port area. Cafes/restaurants within walking distance, along with bike hire and the Honmura passenger ferry to Teshima and Uno. The accommodation was a clean, traditional and comfortable. Perfect for what we needed after a full day of exploring.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    4.2
    Good location but not good for allergy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dust

    The property location is nice. However I wouldn't recommend this to anyone with allergy. The room is dusty which has nothing to do with the cat cafe. And for those who are cat lover, the cafe isn't that nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    8.8
    Cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom on the hall, and having to go through our friend's room to get to the hall.

    Sleeping in a tatame is actually very confortable. The location was great, and so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    7.9
    Great value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cats and dog in the breakfast room. That grossed me out. I ate on the patio so it was fine.

    Room was very clean. Shower room clean. Coin laundry available. Good location. One min walk to Honmura Port. Very cute neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    4.2
    Great location but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion, the place was not clean. The bathrooms with showers require more attention from the host. VERY thin wall (you can, hear what your neighbors are discussing). The kitchen is located in a separate building, attached to "cat cafe", operated by the same owner. It does smell like cat food in the kitchen. On top of that, the kitchen area is quite disorganized

    We enjoyed the breakfast being served early (7:30 am) because there are very few breakfast spots on the island. We had a spacious room with tatami mats. The location is convenient: 2 minute walk to the bus stop and 5 minute walk to Honmura port. There are a couple of nice lunch places within 5 min walk. Our favorite was Apron cafe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - host spoke barely English and was often hard to find when having to ask something - not a real kitchen available but some kind of sink and cutlery you could use, and a fridge as well - so it's good if you bring breakfast but you cannot cook there.

    - clean room and shared bathroom - walking distance from ferry stop (the less frequent one though but no problem if you take this into account) - rental bike places nearby - vegetarian restaurant with Japanese lunch nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    8.3
    Great Ryokan experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical Japanese Ryokan with floor bedding, which i found very comfortable. Very nice and welcoming staff. The owner even offered me her bike to reach a food place late at night. Very near to Honmura port of Naoshima island.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    6.7
    Traditional accommodation on "Treasure of an Island"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its cluttered and the facilities are restricted because of this i.e. kitchen seems to have everything in it but is covered up by "clobber". Garden is probably beautiful but covered up with "clobber". It is still a magic place and Island to stay at.

    Building is traditional and worth the stay for that alone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    7.1
    Nice and traditional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast room is quite messy and doesn't seem to be very clean

    It is a traditional japanese house, beautiful experience for overseas tourists! The house is very close to the port and it is part of the village

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    The landlady was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared bathrooms was crowded in the evening.

    The landlady was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.2
    Had a cheap washer and dryer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a cheap washer and dryer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    Great experience who wants to enjoy a Japanese style room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great experience who wants to enjoy a Japanese style room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    4.2
    Wasn't clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't clean. Doors and floor squicked. On the far side of the island from main activities. Owner doesn't speak English at all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Eclectic with cluttered breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eclectic with cluttered breakfast room. Host very friendly with lots of cats.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely traditional house on the wonderful Naoshima island
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location Traditional guest house Helpful host Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.1
    Cats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cats

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not communicate with the owner -

    Very nice house

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    4.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cat cafe closed and abit run down

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit weird and untidy, but I think we got the worst room.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.5
    clean and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    overall very good

    clean and quiet place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.9
    It was a great location and a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining area smelled like cat litter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.8
    Very accommodating, nice lady, great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very accommodating, nice lady, great time!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    breakfast was great, room was big, host was really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast was great, room was big, host was really nice, Wi-Fi was good, lovely location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful host and filling breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful host and filling breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.6
    The owner is so kind and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner is so kind and efficient. She cooks gorgeous breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.9
    Traditionnal japanese house near a cat café !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traditionnal japanese house near a cat café !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    7.5
    Nice place with lot of personality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place with lot of personality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cluttered. Lots of stuff lying about

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    3.3
    Bathrooms could just do with a really good clean really -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Japanese-Style Standard Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms could just do with a really good clean really - they are communal. Just not a majorly welcome place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    7.9
    We opted for breakfast, but the only coffee available was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for breakfast, but the only coffee available was instant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No intimacy, not very clean, expensive

    Location near Art Project in Hanmoura Port

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2017

    5.0
    It was extremely cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Japanese-Style Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely cold.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    10
    Honumura haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Japanese-Style Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very warm and cosy. Great breakfast and beautiful cats.

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Oyajino Umi Traveler Photo Gallery