Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel Hakone 4 stars

250-0631 Kanagawa, Hakone, Sengokuhara 1245, Japan

#61 of 135 hotels in Hakone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel, should have stayed 2 nights instead of one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bus trip to the hotel is 50 minutes and the road is very windy, some of us felt nausea. It’s near a bus stop but far from Hakone train station and there’s no shop nearby. The hotel should provide body wash instead of just a small soap in the hotel room (they provide body wash in the onsen bathroom)

    The room is large and comfortable. The indoor and out door onsen are very good with nice toiletries and a leg massager.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean, old fashioned hotel with nice amenities, onsen, and tennis court!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slightly stuffy smell in the room when we entered. May have needed the windows open for a bit before we arrived or air freshener.

    The onsen and tennis court gave us fun things to do during our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Far away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants are extremely overpriced and the hotel is very isolated making it hard to go to other areas to get dinner. You are better off staying closer to the town where there are just as many nice hotels.

    The rooms were big, spacious and very comfortable. You can see mount Fuji from the hotel and the surrounding views are beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Hakone
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some decors in the room can be improved

    Enjoyed the original setting of the hotel, the facilities and the friendly staff. Beautiful view looking from the front of the hotel ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious place to stay near to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great onsen. Walk out the balcony and you can see a bit of Mt Fuji. It is near to the ropeway station (15 mins walk or 5 mins by bus) and there is a bus stop right outside. A very old hotel but well-kept. Restaurants (you have to book in advance especially the Japanese restaurant) were great - I visited both the Western and Japanese restaurants. A bit pricey though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Splendid hotel with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very spacious room with all the comfort and most important are the fantastic beds. The view from the room and hotel balcony is breath taking. Views on lake ashi and mount Fuji are spendid. The bus stop is just in front of the hotel. Onsen is of high quality and breakfast is raffinated and very tasty. Well-preserved hotel build in the sixties with history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is slightly out of the way from the usual sightseeing sites in Hakone, but with a bus-stop right in front of the hotel that wasn't much of an issue.

    The room with a lake view and Mt Fuji was excellent. The onsen facilities were great, I had a relaxing stay. The staff were very helpful too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Consider skipping Hakone altogether
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole Hakone is extremely commercialized and overrun by hordes of tourists (mainly Japanese and Korean). In the hotel's vicinity there are no stores and no restaurants, and the hotel's restaurant bluntly takes advantage of this situation by charging horrendous prices for dinner and breakfast.

    Room very spacious for Japanese standards. Nice view on hills and forest from room. Location close to cablecar (short bus ride) to Owakudani.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    The onsen is in the house and has really looooong opening hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. People were very friendly and spoke good English. The bus stop is right in front of the house, just the bus was not always in time, very unusual for Japan. But you can also walk down to the lake, about 15 minutes on foot. What really surprised us is that there is really no place around where you can get something to eat, no 7eleven, just nothing. So if you get there hungry, you have no choice but going to the Restaurant there. The Food was ok, Price also still reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Great little escape, bring food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no where to eat near the property so you most likely need to eat at the hotel where the prices are just too expensive. The food was lovely but can't justify paying that sort of money for a meal again.

    The staff were amazing, so nice and always wanting to help out. The onsen is awesome too, really liked that. Overall it's a great hotel in an amazing spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The room was superb in size and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearest convenient store is 5 stops away. But this is mitigated by good and reliable public transport.

    The room was superb in size and comfortable. View was amazing. Love the onsen and good customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of Chinese tourists on the day of our visit. Most of those Chinese tourists did not care to follow the rules and especially onsen and public bath etiquette. We felt our stay was somehow spoilt because of that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and needs to take bus (6 stations) for reaching the first shop

    It is an old hotel but fulfills the basic needs of a tired hiker. The plus are the cleanliness and the possibility to take a hot bath (onsen) late at night since their bath are opened till 2am: and no extre charge for this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    When we checked out we were told Palace hotel won't be operating anymore -until next year January?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath as we expected is not that big-

    I travelled with my son who is 30yrs old-I booked twin room ,we were given Hollywood twin-When we checked in late past 9PM I think -they should have changed it to the twin room-maybe they thought we're lovers?It sums up JPY 25,000 plus-

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    The onsen outdoors was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a non-smoking room and the room we were given smelled like smoke. Getting there was a bit of a hassle because it took 50 minutes by bus up a winding road from the train station.

    The onsen outdoors was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    The location is right at the mountains, very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is however a bit isolated and the restaurant is quite expensive. The outdoor swimming pool was not open though it was quite hot outside already. Our room had a cigarette smell.

    The location is right at the mountains, very nice. The hot spring bath are nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Palace Hakone is a bit isolated from life and there are no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Palace Hakone is a bit isolated from life and there are no restaurants in the surroundings where having breakfast, lunch or dinner which forces you to do it in the hotel itself by paying double the price. Room was very comfortable and the hot springs very recommendable for a relaxing bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Restful stay in Hakone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant overpriced even for coffee. Require car to access hotel and to get around the area. Remote isolated hotel. Hotel has spa and Japanese hot water bathing for those interested

    Huge room with excellent views of landscape. Staff very helpful. And service prompt. For the light sensitive curtains not totally light excluding. Parking easy.No English speaking channels. Videos available for rental but either for kids or old

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Old but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English stations on the television Rooms a bit old Air condition was set to high. Had to open the window to cool the room down Carpet had a big hole that had been replaced with a large patch No coffee plus had to pay for DVDs for entertainment

    Room size was great Beds were not to bad not that hard like most beds we have found in japan Very clean and staff was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    comfortable and relaxing hotel but hotel food is expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food is expensive.

    Staff is helpful and friendly, room is clean and hotel onsen is good.the view is very nice, can see the mount fuji and 芦之湖, the enviroment is comfortable and relaxing. Is easy to togendai.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Good burger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was good but the current renovations are overdue. They could also offer more advice for independent travellers about what to do in the local area eg maps for walks etc. (we found our own way after sparse direction). Having some reference material would make things easier.

    It's showing its age, and is tricky to get to (bus 4 from the Odawara cost Y1200 ea to drop you at the door) but we found this to be the most reasonably priced hotel in Hakone. The staff and people in Hakone were friendly, the baths were good, the environment and surroundings were beautiful and the walk down to Lake Ashi (where you can also catch the Ropeway) was great. Other reviewers have warned about there being no choice for a meal other than in the expensive restaurant. However we had the burger (and a beer) at the hotels restaurant which was large, enjoyable and came with fries etc and cost about AUD$25. Not too bad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals are very expensive so you need to travel somewhere else as there is nothing else around or near the hotel

    The staff were very helpful and even came outside to collect our luggage when it was raining. The bus stop (T Bus) is directly out the front of the hotel so very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    High price with low value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both breakfast and dinner were set meals and provided very little amount of foods. We stayed 2 nights. There are only 2 small hot-spring pools. For $ 230 per night, we did not get what we paid for.

    Beautiful environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Amazing beautiful hotel with free hot spring spa and views of Mt Fiji. Staff so lovely too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing around locally to walk to if you wanted to eat out or go for a drink. It was quite a mission to get there!!

    It was a wonderful, sumptuous hotel. It had views of Mount Fiji and Lake Ashi. The staff we're so friendly and helpful. The natural hot spring spa was out of this world and had skin products and shampoo available for use. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I loved this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view over Mont fuji
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The diner included in the rate was a basic western diner and there were groups nearby, quite noisy

    Wonderful onsen (inside + outside) with many facilities Beautiful view over Mont Fuji Excellent breakfast The room is very large

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Best kept secret
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the friendly staff that ran to greet us and welcome us to the hotel. Check in was quick and our room was beautiful. We had the best hamburger at humming and the staff again was superb. The onsen was spectacular with all high quality products, clean and well maintained facility and a great indoor/outdoor onsen. They even had a sauna, calf/foot compressor and a foot masage to use. The extended onsen hours made it very convenient to use at any time. The gift shop had a good variety of items to buy and friendly workers. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and made it very convenient. The bus system allows for luggage and made us feel welcome. Hakone is a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing way to end our trip to Japan. We will be back and will definitely be staying here again and will be looking forward to seeing each staff person again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Interesting experience but won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is just too far away from everything, food is good but very expensive. Very little or no choices for inexpensive food. Water at spa was too hot to use.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was a lovely view and you could see mount Fuji.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place in the sun but beware of the arctic conditions when the weather turns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of food in the cafe. They had other restaurants sometimes not open though. To enjoy this stay it is better to have a car as it is a fair way up the mountain.

    The view over Lake Ashi from 5th floor was lovely. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Old but comfortable hotel with nice snow view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested to freeze my wife's breast milk in there freezer. However, the freezer is not strong enough to freeze the milk. Not in convient location without stores and restaurants nearby.

    The service of this hotel is good. Room service food quality is good. The snow view from the hotel is nice, garden and trees covered in white snow was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice and comfortable to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basin sink was clogged. Water couldn't go at all.

    Enjoyed our stay in the hotel which was comfortable. Didn't take the breakfast or dinner as the price was too expensive and without much choice. Thought it was in the middle of nowhere. Turned out it's in a very convenient location. Easy to find with its own bus stop in front of the hotel. The room is spacious & clean. Helpful hotel staff. Recommend to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.3
    Comfort and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited choice of restaurant, lounge not in operation, no entertainment at night.

    Very good hotel. Good hospitality, especially with a team of friendly, courteous and well trained staffs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a beautiful region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are limited food options nearby. You can eat at the restaurants at the hotel but there are no other options nearby

    Huge room size, bed was very comfortable and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast you can choose Japanese style or western style ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe I went alone , but when I check into the hotel and asked the stuff when can I have dinner , the stuff told me that when the restaurant is prepared will have a call , so I waited from pm 5:30 until 8:10 . During this time I even called to the front desk . The dinner provided western style but I prefer Japanese style ....

    Breakfast you can choose Japanese style or western style , Japanese style tasted yummy .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to see Mt Fuji and to use Hakone Free Pass. From Odawarra station travel by T bus through stunning scenery to hotel. Easy, frequent bus access from hotel to Hakone sights and only 4 stops to Togendai for the lake boat ride and rope way. Very affordable good meals available in hotel coffee shop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Other reviews were negative about this property's decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on site restaurant prices are outrageous- but our room was big and had a table and chairs so we took some salads and noodles with us and ate in the room.

    Other reviews were negative about this property's decor. It's not modern, but it was clean, tidy and we were more than happy. We stayed for one night to do the hakone loop - remember to set your alarm early to go and look at the sunrise over mt Fuji from the big windows at the end of the corridor - it was the only clear view of mt Fuji we had all day despite relatively clear skies (clouds collect around it).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Lots of comfort, lots of service. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We were treated like royalty in both Japanese and western restaurants. Spacious room, bus stop right in front of hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good location, seeing Mt Fuji on side of hotel, indoor & outdoor onsen.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Lucky day to see Fuji San
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't need to take dinner included as it is a cheap one It should be said

    The location by a sunny day a wonderful view on Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi Hot springs inside the hotel with 1 outdoor Nice room Huge breakfast either western or japanese Good restaurant but without a life very few people when I was there Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    Awesome Japanese Style Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit hard, and the hotel is a bit old. Wallpaper is starting to peel and the bathroom needs to be updated.

    The onsens were amazing and they have two of them. It was really awesome to be outside in the onsen while it was snowing. The staff was great as well, very attentive. The food at the hotel was really good. The price was not bad at all for the portion sizes. The hotels location itself was spectacular with a great view of Mt. Fuji.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel; skip the restaurant however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel were a bit too helpful in the Japanese restaurant; had a very uncomfortable meal in a half-empty restaurant due to overzealous waiters aching to pounce at our empty plates/glasses. Few things ruin a relaxed dining experience more than the feeling that you're constantly being watched (even though I know they meant well). Also the fact that there weren't many other convenient dining options nearby might be a thing to consider.

    Very helpful and friendly personnel, comfy room, although a busstop is in front of the hotel i still wouldn't consider it to be a well- connected location (far from trainstations etc), but it had a nice view and the remoteness was quite nice. Sidenote: just like many hotels in the Hakone area, this one looks and feels as if it hasn't changed at all since the eighties. Many things add to this vibe - from the radio built into the hotel bed to the design of the furniture itself (not necessarily a bad thing, just an observation).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel for family travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to take the bus to any attractions.

    Very good facilities with professional staff. Recommend the Japanese breakfast at the lounge. A bus stop is just right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    Good access to the main tourist spots of Hakone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is miles and miles away from the town and eateries. The hotel food prices are insane for what you get.

    Good access to the main tourist spots of Hakone. However maybe only stay one night due to it being so far away from food places.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Have to travel by bus for an hour to stay here, two nights would be better than one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the two places to eat were separated, couldn't sit together if one person in the group wanted Japanese food or if others wanted Westrn food. Couldnt order coffee in the Japanese restaurant.

    I loved the beautiful views of the lake and Mt Fuji! The room was very nice!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.3
    The hotel is beautiful, clean, spacious, great onsen, however the location is not ideal for clients
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The distance from the nearest train station is quite far (50 minutes). It would be great if the hotel could provide shuttle bus.

    The onsen, bus stop right outside the hotel, the room size

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Old style elegance worthy of Mt. Fuji's presence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh baked breads, salads, hamburgers, coffee and desserts were fresh and some of best that we've tasted, worth the price. The staff was very friendly, always smiling, spoke good English, and very helpful. Hot bath was refreshing. Clean, provided guests with cloth napkins, crystal glass and nice silverware. Old style elegance. Great view of Mt. Fuji and very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Highly recommended ^.^
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenience store is a bit far away.

    Bus station is just outside the hotel, very good! The service is excellent, very considerate! The rooms are clean and not a small one! Can see views of Mount Fuji ^v^ We like Teppanyaki meals very much!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.9
    Location perfect for cable car and pirate cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, not many restaurants nearby Last buses at 9pm

    Location perfect for cable car and pirate cruise. Convenient with Bus T from the odawara station Big rooms Mount fuji view from hotel Nice onsen

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Good onsen facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much around the hotel, food was too expensive at the hotel, have to travel out to eat

    Have both indoor and outdoor onsens, foot massage, good for 1 day stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    The bed is comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update the electrical stuff like alarm clock and lights.

    The bed is comfy. People that works there are so nice and cheerful and on top of that we have an amazing view!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    Location was short walk to The Lake and Ropeway, view of Mt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price and they have now charge me additional funds to what I have received a receipt for...I have emailed them with no response yet.

    Location was short walk to The Lake and Ropeway, view of Mt Fuji was spectacular

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved the onsen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit isolated so no alternative meal options nearby. But hotel food reasonably good/ not over-priced

    Great onsen. Hotel fairly quiet so got some privacy! Prices of food seemed reasonable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in a slightly dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight smell of cigarette smoke even though the room was non-smoking. There was an extra charge for using the tennis court. The court is practically unused so not sure why guests can't just use it for free.

    Great onsen and rotemburo, spacious rooms with high ceilings, lots of parking (came by car) comfortable beds and facilities are well maintained (the hotel is a little old by Japanese standards). We also had an excellent meal at the 1st floor cafe/restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    On a good day one can see the Fuji mountain from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit isolated. If you want to eat elsewhere, it can become a challenge.

    On a good day one can see the Fuji mountain from the hotel. The public bath (Onsen) is really good. All the rest can be improved.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Grand hotel in Hakone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices at the restaurants were very, very high. The reception person was more than happy to explain how to catch the bus down the hill to a lovely little restaurant where we had a delicious dinner for a reasonable price.

    The size of the rooms were very large and extremely comfortable. For my first onsen experience this was really well set up and comfortable. A great place to ease sore limbs after a day's long walk. It even had 2 foot massage machines. Love that extra touch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    Good and satisfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The onsen for outdoor and indoor are a bit small during peak season. We were lucky that there was no one else except our family utilise the whole pool ! Very far and should have shuttle bus for guest.

    Very nice hotel right on top of the hill. Clean and comfortable. My room can see the lake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    3.8
    Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated Spa not clean Bottles at entry of spa dusty No Wifi in room Breakfast pricey Far bus ride if you don't have car

    Food good View from room of Mt. Fuji great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Close to Togendai stn, Tozan bus stop is right in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Togendai stn, Tozan bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful~ very happy with my stay and will come back if I can get value deal from booking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.0
    Blast from the past!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking in felt like stepping back into the 70s. Whilst all facilities were present and correct as described, the hotel unfortunately had a general air of disappointment around it: uninspiring decor inside and out and plenty of costly extras on offer! Japanese baths were reasonable but very much felt like a tick-box exercise to tart up the brochure: in need of a bit of TLC to complete the relaxing atmosphere. Overall reasonable hotel but felt like we paid for the privilege.

    This hotel has a reasonable location on one of the Hakone bus routes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Convenient transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spring has no cool water pool.

    Location is convenient for the traveller from odembas(御殿場)bus stop at the hotel and it has only 4 bus stops to the 桃源台station. The big bathroom service until am2:00.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Two days in Hakone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate one night at the Japanese style dining restaurant. It was very expensive for the quality of the food. I think the least expensive item was 5400yen (about $50US) and my expectations were high that it was going to be delicious. Over $100US for 2 of us and it wasn't good. Overall I would recommend this hotel, just don't eat at the Japanese restaurant, I didn't try the other restaurants.

    The rooms were really nice and spacious. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable hotel, but unexpected costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't hire a car and the hotel is not located near restaurants or a supermarket. The food at the hotel was prohibitively expensive for us as a family. Wifi was unreliable in our room. Child was ill and I needed to use the dry cleaning service; small shorts were priced as adult trousers. Decor a little out dated for the price.

    Fabulous, luxury onsen which made up for quite a few negatives: towels, yukata and slippers all provided, sauna, outside spa which was superb at night. Staff were helpful in taking luggage to our room. Convenient for Togendai cable car and bus stop is right outside the hotel. Excellent views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    3.8
    Don't recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room, even after asking to lower AC. Beds were hard. Bathroom had mold in shower. Food was poor and over priced.

    staff were friendly and helpful. Spa was nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Great for the value!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little old and sometimes smelled strange (not bad just strange)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were really friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aren’t many restaurants near the hotel.

    The staff were really friendly; hot spring is fairly cosy :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Mt fuji view from the public balcony view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room carpet has a strong musty smell

    Mt fuji view from the public balcony view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say nothing bad.

    Great location. Fantastic facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Old hotel like new hotel. Nice view. With bus stop location on the front of the hotel make us easy to go somewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room is bigger than we are expected

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Very good value for money with onsen

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsen is clean and spacious, good scenery for open air onsen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    The staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    The courteous and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows

    The courteous and welcoming staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very peaceful setting, loved the outdoor and indoor onsen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed the onsen and the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    The bus stops right in front of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bus stops right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    I wish I could stayed there for 2 weeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could see mount Fudji only 2 days

    Location, view, food, personnel, room, facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Recommended for people who wants to go Disneyland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too old and furnitures too.

    Breakfast was the best. Value for money. Near to everywhere especially bus stops. Recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was old fashioned. The Hotel restaurant was below par and expensive (expensive for Hotel standards).

    Staff were good. Helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palace Hotel Hakone traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: