Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Osaka Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Osaka hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Picnic Hostel Osaka

Reviews of Picnic Hostel Osaka This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

556-0021 Osaka Prefecture, Osaka, Naniwa-ku Saiwai cho 2-8-3, Japan

#12 of 565 hotels in Osaka

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 960 hostel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    Great 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really good location, easy to get around! The mother and son both looked after me very well. I needed to stay 2 extra nights which I felt very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    The owner and workers were very polite and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really a dislike, but it was too quiet for a loud American to socialise in.

    The owner and workers were very polite and professional. I also enjoyed how authentically Japanese the vibe was.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    6.7
    Cheap, New and Clean
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No towel, no brush, no brush paste. no water 😂. you must buy everything Taxi in Japan is very expensive. you walk 2.5-3km from hotel to glico man. 2km to namba station

    Cheap, New and Clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing missing is soap to wash hands in the public area

    The owner is super funny, and the position couldn't be better. I also definitely recommend trying the Japanese restaurant Ohana as marked on the fridge.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    9.2
    Very good hostels with cleanliness and a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not complaining but they don't have hand soap on 3rd floor. And you should bring your shampoo, conditioner and towel =)

    A bed is cozy has a personal curtain with each bed, staff are nice, all places are clean but they don't make your bed everyday I assume (it's okay tho). Location is a bit far from main shopping/sightseeing area called namba and dotonbori yet it's only 10 to 15 mins to walk. (I used to stay in the core area which popular for tourists but I prefer this area, it's super duper quiet at night!) Highly recommend this place for everybody who travel alone or with someone both.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    9.6
    I like the cleanliness and decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No

    I like the cleanliness and decoration. The owner and staffs are friendly, helpful and nice people. I asked them many suggestions about how to go several places I wanted to go. The bed is comfortable to sleep. The place located close to many famous places such as dontonburi and shisaibashi by walk distance like 10-15 mins which there’s no need to use MRT. Additionally, They have elevator and kitchen so you can cook if you want.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.8
    It was close to two train stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost more if you use a credit card for one person.

    It was close to two train stations. Lot of room in the bed area, because the person on the bottom bunk below me was have sex. Water in the shower is hot. Bathroom is clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    madame is so kind person, reasonable price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    first floor lobby always locked in 23:00. I love to interact other guests in guesthouse, but here is more concentrated security. sakuragawa staition is small local station, so you need to check your traffic condition.

    madame is so kind person, reasonable price and location. room was also reasonable, water and airconditioner worked well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    The owner is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady could not have been more lovely and welcoming! She always offers tea and tries to help when you ask questions! She even waved me off until I was out of sight! The hostel has 'pod' style rooms so you have your own privacy and the shower was hot and worked well. Wifi is patchy in the room but works really well downstairs!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Extremely clean, high ceiling, private space inside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Extremely clean, high ceiling, private space inside the private area, almost perfect visually private by curtain, the owner extremely polite. It is almost like capsule hotel comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    The room was funky as the walls had a bright butterfly motif.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small but still really nice and functional.

    The room was funky as the walls had a bright butterfly motif. The host of the hostel was really cool and friendly. He offered us umbrellas when we left and got a cab for us. Even though we stayed there for one night we'd go back next time we visit.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    love this place!! l stayed a night here in a room with 4 beds (2 bunk beds). The bunk bed looks really cool. The room is clean and location is the best.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.8
    Close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Wifi is unstable to those sleep at upper bed 2. Shower room is inside the room so might be a little noise (available until 11:30) if you sleep rly early

    Close to station Nice staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely host, good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was amazing! She gave us a really warm welcome with tea & snacks when we arrived at the place quite late. She was super helpful with directions and waved us off until we disappeared from view. Bed was comfortable and clean. The place was about 10-15min walk to Dontonbori Street & 5-7mins away (dragging suitcases) from Sakuragawa station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very kind and helpful. Also the situation was very convinient (near train station, convinience store near the hostel and the Dotonbori area was only 15 minutes walking from the hostel).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Conveniently located hostel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout was a little inconvenient, with the toilet, sinks and shower all separate and there wasn't much space to put things, it would have been really helpful to have more places to hang coats, towels, etc.

    The capsule-style beds were great because of the extra privacy and the location was good, very close to the subway station and only one stop from Namba Station which has direct trains to Kansai Airport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    Cleaner and more private than most hostels in Europe, great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not close to Osaka castle, but that being said, you are right by a subway station and it is very easy to get to the castle from there. Bathroom area is a little small for eight people to be sharing but I didn't have an issue with waiting for an opening.

    The price and location were excellent. It was near bars and restaurants as well as a short walk to Dontonbori, which is a lot of fun to walk around at night. It was very comfortable and the staff were incredibly nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.8
    The staff is super kind and friendly, they gave us towels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is super kind and friendly, they gave us towels and did not charged us. The toilets and showers are really good. They have sandals and umbrellas for the guests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent experience in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to be improved.

    Very nice place. The host is warm and passionate, the room is clean and comfortable, very quiet during the night, everything is perfect. Traffic is very convenient, near tube station and easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, good price, nice staff and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, comfortable, good price, nice staff and great location and atmosphere. I never really review anywhere but this is the nicest hostel I've stayed in so I feel compelled to. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Great value and cozy hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay! Compared to other hostels I have been in the area, with big female dorms, my 4 people room was cozy, clean and comfortable! Walking distance to Dotombori, quiet but well serviced area! The metro is 1min away, very convenient. Loved the host, very nice and helpful. Would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant. Warm, cosy, cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows are a bit hard.

    The staff are just incredibly kind and helpful. We got greeted every time we entered with a warm, excited smile and fresh slippers, tea and snacks. When the typhoon hit just after we checked out they let us stay and cooked us a small dinner along with everybody else, and they managed to check us back in again short notice as we couldn’t travel anywhere due to trains being cancelled. Amazing hospitality, run by the sweetest people I would definitely come back. We did our laundry and the lady in charge at the time transferred our stuff to the dryer and folded it and delivered it upstairs to our room herself. Really going above and beyond I love this place! The decorations are very cute, creating a really cheerful and friendly and gentle vibe throughout the place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    6.7
    The staff was kind, and welcomed me just a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got weird vibes from the staff and people hanging around - wasn't sure who was who. In a sense, I felt like I was intruding on a family gathering.

    The staff was kind, and welcomed me just a few minutes before the last check-in time. I was personally shown how to use the doors and where each applicable facility was located. I was served tea and a cookie upon arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception 24/7.

    The hostel is clean, silent at night, what is the most important for me. It's well organised by rules. The rooms are separated from the social area, which is also quiet. Hygiene is at high level. There's an elevator. Toilett has cute lavatory on the top - japanese style!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.1
    It’s very near the subway station, and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sheets didn’t feel clean, and smelled like someone just used them. I rented two towels, but they weren’t fluffy enough and a little smelly too. Bring your own towels, if staying here. No soap for washing your hands after using the toilet. Also, the lights in the hallway are automatic. So, if you’re outside brushing your teeth or drying your hair, lights turn off automatically. Lights are out at 22:00, so if you’re arriving late and want to go to shower you will have to look for your things in the dark and have to be very careful not to make any noise. Otherwise, you will get a cold treatment from your roommates. The check in was not smooth and took a long while because there was only one person manning the reception when I came in. When there were two people who came in, she entertained everyone at the same time. I kinda lost patience because I was already tired and just wanted to take a shower after a long day. I have stayed at different hostels before, but staying here was a disappointment :(

    It’s very near the subway station, and easy to find

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.6
    A Great Place to Stay in Osaka!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Picnic is an excellent hostel. Location is amazing, staff are SUPER friendly and fun, plus the accommodations are clean and comfortable! Hang out in the common area on the first floor and you will surely meet lots of interesting people! Really liked the vibe and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Location great.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although we didn’t use the kitchen facilities - they didn’t look to be as extensive as other hostels.

    Location great. Subway very close by and it was easy to get to all the main attractions, but also only 20-25 mins walk to the main shopping/eating area - lots going on! Hide, the man on reception, was extremely friendly and helpful which really made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.6
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Quaint hostel, very clean, great value, very friendly and accommodating staff (extended checkout for delayed flight), location is just ideal - two minute walk from subway and 20 minute walk from Dotonbori. Great breakfast place just beside the subway too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    It's super convenient in terms of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was super quiet, almost like sound-proof from outside and I could hear basically everything dorm mates did.

    It's super convenient in terms of location. I picked here because my flight was delayed and I got one more night to spend in Osaka. You just walk for 2 minutes from Sakuragawa Station to this hotel. There are a Lawson supermarket and a 24-hour curry place nearby. The facilities are very clean and lovely and the lady helping me at the check-in was superrrrrrrrrrrr politeeeeeee and sweeeeet. Lost count how many times she said Arigatougozaimasu to me even when she did something for me. Truly wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    Really nice, cute dorm room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no soap directly at the toilet (it was available at the sink 5m away, so it's not a problem but it would just be a little bit more convenient that way. The reception is not open 24h, so you need to check in advance if your arrival/departure lines up with the reception times.

    Really cute hostel, easy to find and very close to a subway station. The bed was really comfortable, it had curtains for privacy and a small safe. The room could only be entered with a code, so it's very safe. The dorm had its own shower and separate bathroom, shower gel and shampoo were available in the shower. What I really liked was that the shower was not only a stall as in other hostels but was a closed shower with a small space in front where you can put your clothes etc. so they don't get wet. Good real hairdryers were also available (not the small ones known from hotels/hostels that barely do anything). The staff was really really nice and helpful. It rained a lot during my stay and they had free umbrellas to take with you. Washing machine and dryer are available for a small price but I didn't use that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended! 素晴らしいですね!
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was so enjoyed to stay in this Hostel! The owner was so generous to help me and lead me to get familiar with the surrounding area. Convenient transport, ONLY one stop to Namba Station (the largest shopping & eating area in Osaka) via underground. I will definitely visit again! ありがとうございました!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Great room, good location, enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room code is given on a pice paper and is quite long to memorize, you best take a pic of it on your phone.

    Cute hostel with fun bright decor. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay with good customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The owner is cool! (I am assuming the reception guy is the owner ;)) He kept our luggage even after we checked out. A short walk from sakuragawa station (Exit 1). The room is clean and the toilet is original! Nice design (especially for ecolo travellers!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    quietly cleaned good cost performance
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t think what i didn’t like but the room is sooo quietly and we don’t have share space so much

    I just choice the cost and place first, But unexpectedly,Here was really nice. Especially about staff of hostel, they were friendly and kindly so much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Friendly, Comfortable and Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location, near to Taisho train station on the Osaka Loop line. Clean and comfortable throughout. The owners are very hospitable and helpful, even helping me with information on how to get a ticket for the local baseball stadium.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Very clean and fun place. Owner is the nicest person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that close to a JR train station (15 min walk ish)

    Each bed was extra spacious, had curtains, sockets, and a desk lamp. Living room was adorably decorated. Owner was sweet and offered tea and snacks every time you drop by the living room. Let me keep luggage there even after checkout. Free wifi. Free linen. Free hair dryer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    The location is really great in the center of Osaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of noise coming from other rooms. Very small private bathroom and not very convenient.

    The location is really great in the center of Osaka. The owner is very nice and helpful, very dedicated to welcome you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.8
    Spent 2 nights here whilst in Osaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spent 2 nights here whilst in Osaka. Fabulous little hostel - great location, helpful staff, comfortable sleeping arrangements. What more could you ask for!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Great location and amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hidé is a friendly person and an amazing host! He gave us tips on the best way to get to places, helped us when we ran into issues with a luggage-forwarding service and walked us to the station with our luggage after checking out! The room itself was bigger than expected. Loved the wallpaper and the cozy feeling after a long day of exploring Osaka. Location is convenient as it’s a 1 min walk to the subway and 15 min walk to Dotonburi. Would definitely book with the Picnic Hostel again on our next trip :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, clean and well-located hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other people in the room came in late. Then again, you know that's what to expect when you're sharing a room in a hostel. The late-comers did try to keep their noise down, as was requested by several signs.

    The hostel is quiet, clean and very conveniently located. The host (and owner of the place) is great: very friendly and open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    8.8
    Worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe the risk of going to these places is noisy people. Sometimes they don't care about others. Anyway, this has nothing to be with the hostel. ;)

    Bed was very comfortable and shower and toilet very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    The owner spoke great English, and was very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner spoke great English, and was very helpful, accommodating, and friendly. It's located one stop from Namba station, which is great. Everything was clean, comfortable, and the decor was fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an odd smell in our bedroom one night while returning - not a big issue. Be prepared to rent towels - one of us got a regular sized one and it was really small! Get the big one if you're used to those.

    Service was top-notch. The mother-and-son team were welcoming, spoke good English, and where always there to help. Super convenient location - just 2 mins from Sakuragawa station. Convenient to Namba, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and convenient subway station nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is friendly and accommodating, they’ll always give you coffee or tea if you’re just arriving/leaving. They’re a mother/son duo who own and manage the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, chill, friendly hostel within walking distance to the best in Osaka!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We flew into Hong Kong late at night and booked a room here while at the airport. The latest check-in time is stated as 11:00 pm but the owner stayed late to let us in and remained friendly, happy and gave us delicious tea while we checked in! He was chill and helpful during our entire stay. We were able to use the laundry machine and hang our clothes to dry. He also let us stay extend our stay no problem. The beds were comfy, it felt super clean and the shades keep your lil pod dark the whole day. The location is not on a happening street but is easily within walking distance to tram/train stops, Orange Street (shopping), Dotonbori (massive food street), and America Mura (thrift shopping, takoyaki, bars). I highly recommend this hostel!! We will definitely choose Picnic for my next trip to Osaka. :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    Super Cute Hostel with AWESOME STAFF!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! I loved PICNIC!

    Really friendly (and funny!) staff, dormitory was clean and SO cute, and the beds felt really private. Location is also really convenient! This was my second time staying here, and I would definitely stay a third time if I come back to Osaka!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    近車站, 乾淨, 老闆人很親切
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a really nice experience for staying. It's a comfortable, clean environment and close train station. The cute bed is my love :) Friendly host told me how to go to the delicious takoyaki store. At night, I knew new friends from other country. Great!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Cute, welcoming, helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really liked the aesthetics and the man who greeted me at the door. Made it special to arrive so far away from home! He greeted me with tea and chocolate. Showed me to my room. Had the best humour. Probably will go back before I fly out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.9
    Cute little hostel in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Privacy curtains for each bunk were thin and so let in light, a problem in a dorm where the lights were turned off and on all night. It was a noisy dorm as the toilet and shower are inside the dormitory and the rules about being quiet after 11pm were not enforced so people would walk round, shower and blow dry their hair in the early morning. The dorm was cleaned at about 10am so sleeping in after a big night out was hard. Futons were a bit thin.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. The hostel is close to the local subway. The laundry services were easy to use anf cheap. The bunk beds were spacious and there was a lock box and power point in each bunk. The bunks has super thick blankets which were super warm. The decor was super cute and colourful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    9.2
    It’s a petite but comfortable hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a petite but comfortable hostel. Location is superb! Only one minute walk distance to subway station. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Hostess was so nice. She made us tea and toasts every morning when we stayed, and sent us to train station for Kyoto on our last day after checking out. We loved living here and recommended to couples or individual travellers!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.2
    The host (an aunt) is very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host (an aunt) is very nice and friendly. Even though she didn't speak English fluently, she tries her best to chat and give useful information for my travel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    9.2
    The owner is amazingly nice and always willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is amazingly nice and always willing to help. The capsules are wide enough and well isolated from the rest of the room. I highly recommend this hostel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    8.8
    Was good in general
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the bed, they are too small and not comfortable. I didn't like also how the customers are requested to pay extra money for some items of bathroom.

    I liked cleanliness and the good customer care from the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Nice staff, the location was about a 15min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice staff, the location was about a 15min walk from Dotonbori. Very comfortable beds. If you’re using a JR pass you can take the loop line to shin-Imamiya, then to Namba, and it’s about a 10 minute walk to the hostel. Very cute design :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.2
    Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower room and toilet is inside the dorm, so not so good if you are planning on taking a shower late at night or early in the morning.

    Though located a bit away from tourist sites, it was the perfect location for my schedule. But it is located only 30 seconds away from a subway station. Staff is very friendly, check-in is very quick. Sleeping area, shower and bathroom was spotless. Other guests were very quiet and respectful so even though the dorm was full, it was super quiet (even in the morning when getting ready) and no one snored!!! On the first floor is a small kitchen, tourist information, staff and tables, so good for socializing, planning your trip and to have breakfast or late night snack!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    10
    Would definitely book here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was small just like any other toilet in Japan LOL. Other than that, everything was good.

    The place was so clean. The elevator was a very huge help. The hosts were awesome! Very warm welcome. The room was huge. The beds were comfortable. The location was very near the train station. Would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Good value. Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super staff. Very friendly and helpful. Speaks English. Clean, well-maintained property. Good location. An easy walk or short bike ride to good restaurants, stores, shopping. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.6
    The most hospitable host I've ever met!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most hospitable host I've ever met! Walking 15-20 min to the shopping area or one station which is 1 min from the hostel. The bath is a little small but the room(private for 4 people) is quite fit. Elevator, hair drier, microwave and hot water bottle is served in the hostel. The host offers simple breakfast and hot coffee. Highly recommended to people looking for a fair price place in Osaka.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    Cute stay and great location
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel is adorable and the beds are comfortable! It's also only a 15 minute walk to Dotonbori (or just one subway stop over) so it's at a convenient location. Staff is super nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Great for a short stay. Best hostel in Osaka!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we had more than one bathroom to use to a floor

    The staff members were kind, the fellow guests were kind and quiet, the place was clean, the area was nice, the beds were comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely host and super cute decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little thin for my liking.

    The host is the very thing about this place, she was so lovely and welcoming. On arrival she provided me tea and a biscuit while I filled in my check in information and upon check out she made me a coffee which very nice of her. She also seemed to be genuinely interested in my travels and invited me back if I'm ever in Osaka again. The hostel is really well decorated and clean!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.9
    We travelled from Nara to Osaka by train and arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was very clean, it did not have toiletries (except for "unbranded" shampoo and body soap). The towels, which were provided only upon my request, were very, very thin and actually the size of handtowels. The temperature during our visit was about 13C-16C, but we had difficulty adjusting the AC to make the room warmer (I'm not sure if there was heating available). It would have been useful if there was intercom inside the room to call the lobby when needed.

    We travelled from Nara to Osaka by train and arrived at Sakuragawa Station, which was a short walking distance to Picnic Hostel. We found the property without much difficulty using Resona Bank as the landmark. The property's location was very central, a walking distance to Dotonburi, Namba, Shinsaibashi. The staff were gracious and helpful (Miya even prepared coffee and chocolate biscuits for us upon our arrival, and patiently taught us how to go to various places). Our double room (Japanese style) with private T&B on the fifth floor was very clean, but did not have any furnishing except two futon beds and a low 12-inch long table.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and neat hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to complain about - just a bit further from JR line, but still ok to walk.

    Very clean and neat hostel. Futons were comfortable enough. Interesting design of walls at the room and corridors. The lady running the hostel was very neat and it made our stay even more pleasant. Dotonbori street is about 15-20 minutes walk - which is necessary after so much food :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    The Perfect Place to Stay in Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, just a short walk from Sakuragawa subway station (5 minutes), Dotonbori (15-20 minutes) and Kyocera Dome (5-10 minutes). Plenty of restaurants and a Lawsons nearby. Staff were absolutely wonderful - very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. We stayed in a quadruple room and found it to be clean and spacious, with a separate area for luggage. The curtains across the beds also made it feel really private. All of the facilities (laundry, kitchenette, etc.) were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    It's a small hostel but the service is top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It feels very personal And the location is unbeatable. I slept very well in the dorm, very comfortable and spacious. I was able to relax at night because it felt very private though there were other people in the dorm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Chill:
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not expensive.;P Cuz I've got many good experience in there. Priceless.

    The owner Hide(he never hide though) is pretty kind and really honestly . He helped me many times until I left. This hostel has easily access to ride the train and going to Namba (central city in south Osaka) on foot. You can use many type of traffic from here or from near station. Like JR,Hanshin,Nankai,Kintetsu. It work for you to go to Airport simply and go next to prefecture like Kobe and Wakayama. Good rooms and clean building. Happy staff and great experiences.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect starting from the friendly attitude...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect starting from the friendly attitude of the owner to the location of the hostel. There were a lot of nice places to have a lunch and dinner in the vicinity, the station was like 1-2 minutes walk away. Also I could easily go to Dotonbori by foot. The interior was really cute. Though I was staying in the dormitory room, there was enough privacy thanks to capsule-like beds with thick curtains. Hide,the owner, was really helpful, and fun to talk with) I really enjoyed my stay there. Recommend 👍👍👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    Cute hostel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff very friendly and the room was just right with nice art and design inspired by Japan. The location is great, calm for sleeping but with restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend to people on a budget because definitely value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love Maya...she waited for us because we arrived late. She offered us food and even drove my friend to the bus terminal. Very near the train station. One train stop away from Namba.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    This is absolutely the best hostel that I've ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is absolutely the best hostel that I've ever stayed.The staff provided perfect service and kindly solved every problem we faced, giving us many informations about massive transportation and travel. The room including independent restroom is also ideal for a group of friends. All public facilities are complete, too. We enjoyed this accommodation experience very much and would like to visit this hostel again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.6
    Forgot to take photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the bunk bed above mine. Beds are made of material that makes noise when a person moves around. Was staying in the lower bunk bed, and the person sleeping in the upper bunk bed moves a lot at night. In the end, it was a bit hard to sleep with the noise.

    Cleanliness. Toilet and shower inside the dorm room. Sufficient bed space. Good location - near a subway station. if you are a Jr rail pass holder you have to walk around 1km to arrive to nearest Jr station - Jr Namba.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Super nice host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Super nice host!!! Host is soooooo nice and very very kind to everyone. Bed was spacious than I thought and the hostel is quite near the city center. I might visit again ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Awesome place to stay Osaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very cozy and clean. The location is very good - close to major shopping center in Osaka - 10~15 min walking The hotel owner/staff are extremely nice. Would definitely stay in this hotel again if there is a chance to come back Osaka in the future. 10/10 rating is a must!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noting

    I feel excellent services when check in ,i feel get friendly and helpful , I will see room so cute fullcolor ,very clean room and toilet ,hostel near sakuragawa station exit 3, hostel near sukiya (restaurant) finally it worth pay for booking here

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    9.2
    Value for money, fun guaranteed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, I had a great time in Picnic Hostel Osaka!

    Great price/quality ratio, really a nice hostel to stay in, with a funny and helpful host (thanks again, Hide!) and staff. Love the open area on the ground floor, had a few fun evenings there! The sleeping areas were clean and your personal 'bunk' is spacious. Also, the hostel is located in a central place in the bustling Namba neighbourhood, close to JR Namba station and Sakuragawa metro station, and a 10-minute walk away from famous Dōtonbori.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Picnic Hostel Osaka Traveler Photo Gallery