Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Kagawa hotel reviews
  4. Naoshima hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Season 1

Reviews of Season 1 This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

761-3110 Kagawa, Naoshima, Tsumuura 84, Japan

#9 of 22 hotels in Naoshima

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 81 apartment reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    A spacious, convenient place to stay on Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yoshi was very kind and helpful. He picked us up at the port, and he drove us back when we were ready to leave Naoshima. He pointed out important attractions and bus stops along the way, which helped us get our bearings. The apartment was very spacious, comfortable, and extremely well located. Thank you, Yoshi!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely host who drove us to and from the port. Comfortable and spacious accomodation. Free bikes to get around and close to the main art museums. Expensive for what it is but in line with island prices. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful peaceful place to stay whilst in Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful peaceful place to stay whilst in Naoshima. Our room was airy and spacious, and well equipped for our overnight stay, and had a few small restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Good position for visiting the best art sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    A friendly welcome to a very comfortable apartment. Yoshi collected us from the ferry and took us back 2 days later. We did not have to ask him he just turned up. The position is very good as it is close to all tne best sites and a very pleasant 20 minute walk to lots of the others. There are 2 or 3 restaurants nearby but we chose to walk into town. It is important to buy basic food supplies before you get there as there is no shop. He has basic but functional bicycles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing little private apartment in the best area of Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yoshi the owner and operator is amazing - super friendly and accomodating. Had a really nice guesthouse feel, but the rooms felt like private apartments. Yoshi even organised to take us back to the ferry in his van after the day exploring. Really nice little unknown village on Naoshima which is close to the Art House project town, as well as a short walk to Benesse. Amazing okanomiyaki restaurant in the town too. Heaps of food around in close distance, and really nice and relaxing to get away from the main port towns. Yoshi is super friendly, perfect host, free bikes. Couldn't recommend enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly owner, spacious room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly owner. We got a pick up and drop off. Very spacious room. Really quiet outside, we slept awesome. We used the bicycles for 2 days although stayed for 1 night. Good ramen bar nearby. Very nice island!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment is comfortable, but could be cleaner. A bit expensive, but so is all the accommodation on Naoshima.

    The location is excellent. 20 minute walk from both Honmura Port & Benesse House. Yoshi is friendly & helpful. Even though he doesn't speak much English, he makes good use of his translator app. Really appreciated Yoshi driving us to the the port when we departed. Great, affordable Raumen Tsumu restaurant just a few streets away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    8.8
    The people who ran it were so nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Without speaking Japanese it was hard to find the « reception « but not a big deal

    The people who ran it were so nice .. they gave us a toy for our baby to play with. D a lift to the station so we didn’t have to wait for the bus. The flat was comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly host, handy location. Mininmal kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited cooking equipment. No really glasses or cups and no cutlery.

    Great location close to both art precincts. Very accomodating, friendly host. Close to the only open restaurant in winter.Vwry minimal kitchen equipment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    6.3
    The freindlyness of the host that picked us up and took os...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The interieur standard.

    The freindlyness of the host that picked us up and took os to a restaurant at night and to the boat on departure. The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    4.2
    Poor value for money. Property maintained poorly by owner(s).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Folding beds were most uncomfortable. There were no tea facilities. We did not enjoy having to travel by car to breakfast, and did not enjoy having to travel to dinner. The trip by car took 10 min.

    Yoshi (host) prepared delicious dinners for us on two evenings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.9
    We had planned originally to stay three nights on the island but ended up just one night due to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meals were included, but they were not served at the place we slept, and we were shuffled around.

    The house host was great making sure we got to places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    10
    Great place for budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great choice for a budget traveler. The host was super nice and help us with driving to museum while heavy rain. We were able to enjoy all the facilities and look into more normal life in Japan. The wash masculine and other necessities were there. Room was spacious and tatami beds were comfortable to enjoy a good rest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    very impress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast is so wonderful , fusion food between Japanese and American style the dinner is the best , delicious the car service is so wonderful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.3
    Had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The images show futons on bed stands. We were on mats on the floor. At 65+ years, that's a long way down and not quite enough padding. Also, a couple chairs would be helpful.

    Prompt shuttle at check in time with friendly driver (owner?) who spoke enough English to convey basics. The location was easy 10-15 min. walk from the Benesse property gate where the public bus stops. Instead of waiting, we just walked. The public bus station (100 yen) was 20 seconds away from our door and prompt! Honmura Port for the fast passenger boat (versus ferry) is 1 stop away. Honmura Noyko-mae bus stop (1 additional stop) is the location for the Art House locations. We ate dinner 2 nights at the local restaurant for yakisoba and okonomiyaki (5 min. walk). A ramen and Italian (reservations) restaurants are the other local choices. Had lunch in Honmura where there are more choices all listed on the very useful Naoshima brochure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful meals included with the accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Season 1 's beds are slightly better than camp beds and so not very comfortable. Apart from that, the room was perfectly adequate. Having a washing machine at our disposal was also great.

    Yoshi our host is a terrific chef. The room came with half board and we had breakfast and dinner at his restaurant which we were taken to by car. His cooking is with the best ingredients and imaginative and delicious. Even if you don't stay at Season 1, a visit to his restaurant would be worthwhile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Kyoto, centrally located, very welcoming hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great!

    Hostess was very warm and welcoming, gave great recommendations and really went the extra mile to make sure I was comfortable. I was able to extend my stay and she kindly was able on short notice to provide me with another room. Kitchen well equipped and you can keep food in the fridge, so you don't have to stress about waking up on time for breakfast for example. Common bathrooms (but private showers) so you have your privacy, and I never had to wait for a shower room. Washing machine available in case you need it. Common areas and bathrooms/toilets were always spotless. Very sweet and polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    7.9
    wow! the owner is super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very old and was with two separated beds.

    wow! the owner is super nice! and speaks english, so nice to get some answers about the area from a local person! we had a rainy day, and we got a lift from the other worker, back to the lodge and to the restaurant, few times. we had a nice and very big dinner that was made by the owner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    8.8
    A good alternative in Naoshima
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room itself is not close to the restaurant but is on the other side of the island. Someone drives you there.

    Very good diner and breakfast! The room is standard, japanese style, in a quiet area with private bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    9.6
    Very Welcoming - just like visiting family and friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. Everything was very good. We just wish we stayed longer.

    The welcome we received at the restaurant at check-in was excellent. Our luggage was stored and he drove us to the first Museum and gave us instructions on how to return by bus. Dinner that evening was superb. After dinner they arranged for the property owner to pick us up from the restaurant and take us to our accommodation. The following morning he drove us back to the restaurant for breakfast and they once again stored our luggage while we had a last look around. Would suggest a 2 night stay to anyone going to Naoshima.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    5.8
    At first, the idea of taking dinner away from the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could be a little bit cleaner and better decorated, but it is very quite and it's only to sleep.

    At first, the idea of taking dinner away from the room seemed anoying, but there is a shuttle service assumed by the landlord (he left us bikes) always kind and disponible. By car it takes only 5 minutes to cross the island. And the dinner compensates this inconvinience. Yoshi the chef coordinates everything as a master and cooks dishes of fishes worth the naoshima experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Easy access from the ferry and simple, clean and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Easy access from the ferry and simple, clean and spacious room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    a good place for visiting the art scene on Naoshima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could a little cleaner.

    The quiet environment and very friendly host.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Owner was very helpful and picked us up from the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owner was very helpful and picked us up from the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    9.6
    room is clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is clean and functional. location near bus stop. okonomyaki resturant down the street is fun and good. Host is super super nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.1
    The place is a bit far remote from Honmura port but near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a bit far remote from Honmura port but near the Benese Museum. The free bikes were a lovely gift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    The owner was very gracious and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was very gracious and friendly. He made us feel welcome from the Start! We loved our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    The owner was so nice and wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was so nice and wonderful!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful quiet place to relax after a long day full of Art
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts were very helpful and accomodating, we felt very welcome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    10
    Had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a great stay!! Staff was awesome and very kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    10
    super clean snd tidy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    super clean snd tidy! The owned offered is their bicycle and also to take us back to the ferry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    9.6
    The complementary meals were lit af
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The complementary meals were lit af

    Stayed in October 2017

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!