Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tokyo Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Tokyo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Shinagawa Prince Hotel

Reviews of Shinagawa Prince Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

108-8611 Tokyo Prefecture, Minato-ku, Takanawa 4-10-30, Japan

#659 of 961 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 8786 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.8
    Plan to go back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very nice. When I first entered the "non-smoking" room it definitely smelled of smoke. They changed it immediately. No questions asked. Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    6.3
    The location is very convenient for Shinagawa station but is very small
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom looked rather tired and well used, the rooms are very small ca 2m x 6mm

    The bed was confortable the price was lower than some other Tokyo hotels

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    4.2
    Close to Shinagawa station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfriendly staff Bathroom unclean & bad smell No bed sheets changing for 4nights Towels unclean

    Close to Shinagawa station Free cloak service and baggage locker

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very luxury lounge that offers free beverages, books, papers to relax. That will substitute the size of the room. And the breakfast was delicious and more than I expected!!great value!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    3.8
    No longer my GO TO hotel in Tokyo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room (Non-Smoking)High Floor - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed extremely uncomfortable, very hard. Carpet, furnitures and wallpaper outdated, worn, and need replacing. Need to pay for Video on Demand channels, at other hotels, VoD were free. Uncomfortable with Wifi.

    Train station nearby. Held baggage conveniently after check out. Assisted with limousine bus service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable stay but very cramped rooms and aged facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Multiple hairs found on the beds and in the bath terry. The really tight bathroom The mattress was lumpy The age of the property was showing in the wear and tear of the furniture and furnishings The East Wing seemed more like a budget hotel than a part of an upscale offering like the Main Wing and North Annex

    The property is in an awesome location; right across the street from the Shinagawa Station and a variety of food outlets available as well. However, the hotel itself is divided into three different wings which can be confusing for any first time guest as you are required to check-in at the wing you have booked. The East Wing is comfortable but very outdated and the beds are certainly starting to show their age. Cleanliness was an issue as well which impacted my view of the property quite heavily.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed in the hotel. The Prince Hotels used to have a great name but this hotel is old and tired. The only recommendation is that it is across the road from the major Railway Station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    Last stayed in April 2018, chosen for location and ease to travel. Could improve on dislikes listed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room upholstery a little aged, slightly stained. Staff courteous, although luggage bags shipped in from Osaka took 2 rounds to locate (could streamline process more instead of running between one cloak room to another - slightly annoying paperwork).

    Location and services were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few hotel staff plus a few hotel restaurant staff barely understood and speak English. I'm an American from the USA.

    Hotel location was near to Tokyo Sight Convention Center plus allot of restaurant choices to eat at

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    Overall pleasant and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Sofa Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 Room too small for three persons . No space to open luggages even though we had only one each . 2. There were four buildings in this hotel with different check in counters . Better to tell us which building to go directly for check in. We dragged our luggage to check in at the wrong buildling and had to be ready directed .

    Prompt baggage storage services

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good location for Yamanote line and Narita Express (NEX) .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No drinking water in room. Old bathroom. So many buildings and restaurants but hotel is very crowded in the morning and at night. There was a long queue when check in. Not good for family with young children.

    Good location for Yamanote line and Narita Express (NEX) . Easy access to Maxell Aqua park

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable if not slightly expensive stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Sofa Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a little on the small side for the price. Room was overheated even with the air con on. Fridge was quite small.

    Location was excellent, and the staff very attentive. Guest relations were most helpful on 2 occasions.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.1
    A fair choice of economy hotel right in front of Shinagawa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I got was the most claustrophobic in all of my trips in Japan (and I slept in many many economy hotels in Japan). At the beggining I thought it didn't have a window, only on the 2nd night I found out it had, it was that well hidden. The hotel building is really hard to navigate and I got lost a few times getting in and out of it. Also the staff were not as professional as I had hoped.

    I liked the location which is right in front of Shinagawa station, and I liked the breakfast choices - although they were really overpriced.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better if there will be more clothes/towel hooks or racking inside bathroom

    Very well speaking reception and very helpful to provide information about places to see. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.3
    The location is very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Smoking) High Floor - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price charged per night , rooms were not value for money. Though clean , but for similar per nigh rate , I have stayed ( after 1 day) in much bigger , luxurious and posh room with breakfast included

    The location is very good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.8
    Direct view from our room onto Tokyo tower was great at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A huge hotel and super busy most of the time with lots of people comig and going. Almost like being in the train station.

    Direct view from our room onto Tokyo tower was great at night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location for business - restaurants, train stations near by
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am staying in the main tower - compare with the North tower and Annex tower - not much working space, the chair in the dressing table is too low, no drinking water bottles provided

    Conveniently located

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room especially the bedroom for larger type of people

    Very good location at Shinagawa, perfect to go on express train to both Haneda or Narita Airports. To reach any of place of interest with metro and train at Shinagawa station. Very convenient place for a large city like Tokyo, it makes a first trip easier

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    The room was bigger than tokyo standard, specifically the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower wasn't consistent in temperature, while you shower it become colder or hotter

    The room was bigger than tokyo standard, specifically the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    Superb location with a row of coin washers and dryers, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower head water strength was too strong such that water splattered over the wall and wet the bathroom floor. Suggest to have coin changing machine in the coin laundry room. Staff at “lobby service” counter wasn’t so friendly / enthusiastic like the other hotel staff and the airport express bus queue in the morning was quite confusing.

    Superb location with a row of coin washers and dryers, and airport express bus at lobby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    3.8
    The view from a high floor and the bed was quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room (Non-Smoking)High Floor - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely dirty; worn out and old furniture. Bathroom was basic but the hygiene was my biggest worry since we have a small child. I spoke to reception twice, changed room once but no big changes. Hotel is too big, too crowded, too impersonal. Stayed two night at the Marriott nearby; Much better.

    The view from a high floor and the bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.8
    A last resort, literally
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny & the bathroom even more so. There was also some fluff that seemed to emanate from the bedding that was causing me to cough.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    One nighter to be as close to the major train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Extra Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed in the hotel multiple times for work and now play. Not recommended for long leisure stays as the size of the rooms are really small. Overnights are ok!

    One nighter to be as close to the major train station Shinagawa as possible in order to catch the Shinkansen with young kids in toll (recommended for that)!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.8
    Nice facilities and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lines for checking in and luggage storage. Also, the elevators can get really busy and crowded.

    I liked the room and the location, which is very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Shinagawa Prince over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food is very costly in the hotel but you can walk out and get a better price in the surrounding resturants. I paid for a 360 corner room. I thought it would have been a bit bigger. The bathroom is a bit small but I see that's standard for Japan.

    Beautiful hotel. There is a lot to do right in the hotel. I like the staff. Very friendly. The room was decent and clean. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    The room rates would have to be lower in order to justify the lacking amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Stayed at the Main Tower last year with packaged tour and was quite satisfied with it, in terms of room sizes, amentities, staff services as well as the F&B outlets, leading to the return this year. However, this time round, stayed at N Tower... was disappointed in terms of the above mentioned and most importantly, the rooms are quite dusty. Both my children encountered allergies and I had slight episodes of wheezing during the stay as I am asthmatic. The room rates paid are not quite justifiable for the rooms given. Had communicating breakdown with the front desk staffs.

    The close proximity to Shinagawa Station was the main attraction to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    5.8
    Fabulous position, reasonable room, breakfast OK but crowded, reception staff not at all helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room (Non-Smoking)High Floor - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a problem with my credit card - the machine would not read the chip or when it was scanned it could not read it. No staff were willing to help - they just said it did not work. I checked again on another machine the next day & the same thing happened - the staff did not offer any solutions. On the next night I had a Japanese friend & she helped me (she saw that my card worked regardless of it being scanned or in the chip[ reader). The staff member rang the credit card company & got authorisation - why couldn't they have done that the first night? With out my friend's help I would still be there making beds & washing dishes. Staff were just unwilling to help. Such a disappointment. My bedroom was painted hot pink but apart from that it was Ok. It was very quiet, I slept well and the toilet was great. The room did not look like the ones on the web and I think at $350/night Australian was a little expensive for what was on offer - however one was paying that sort of money for the perfect position.

    The position - brilliant location to travel around Tokyo. Shinagawa Station is not too big to get lost - easy to find your way around. The food hall and restaurants in the station were also good. Also the restaurants around the hotel was good. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    4.6
    Good location and wardrobe can be securely locked with four...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner in room didn’t work, poor ventilation, bathroom is very small and dirty, mould behind silicon sealant, shower head clogged with lime scales, old and damaged wall paper, a renovation is urgently needed for the East Tower rooms.

    Good location and wardrobe can be securely locked with four digit code.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is excellent. It is just five minutes walk to Shinagawa Station which makes it very convenient to visit other parts of a Tokyo as well as making trips out of Tokyo.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    3.3
    First and last time staying there. Never again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff’s service. Tiny rooms, no room service, no minibar. Probably worse than a casual business hotel (especially in terms of value for money).

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Great location, clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The airconditioner was already set to the heater option so it was not very cool. But the breeze from outside was comfy enough.

    The location is great, just cross the street and Shinagawa Station can bring to almost anywhere. The room is always clean. I stay at least here 4 times a year and it is always the same.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.7
    I don't mind staying there again. But the hotel is pretty old.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were so many wings/towers in this hotel and the wings/towers can be very far away. I unloaded my luggage at the wrong wing/tower and tried to check-in but the receptionist wasn't helpful. She brushed me off and asked me to check into the Annex Tower which was a few blocks behind. I have to drive my car to the main road and detour to get to the adjacent lane to get into the Annex Tower. Actually they could have just direct me internally but I was asked to go to the Annex Tower using the main road.

    It is near to the Shinagawa JR station. Many restaurants around the station. The Limousine Coach stops right in front of the hotel. Therefore it is very convenient for me to take the same coach to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.7
    OK place, really well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little soulless. This is compressed travelling!

    The facilities are OK. Rooms are small of course, but adequate for a business traveller. Portable Iron and Ironing board kits are available at the end of each corridor for you to take to your room. There are a number of breakfast rooms, one of which opens at 5am. Of course the big positive is it's location. From here, you're over the road from Shinegawa JR station with direct trains to Narita, Shinduku, etc..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    The reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel safely kept several packages of merchandises delivered from an online store to me before my arrival and then promptly handed them to me without fuss.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    4.6
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most uncomfortable bed in the whole of our 3 week stay in Japan. Room definitely needed an upgrade - so dated. Insufficient socket outlets - couldn't charge the phone next to our bed. Expensive.

    good location for getting to Haneda airport

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great location with plenty of local shops and restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit hard for me personally and the room was nice enough but for the high price point I had expected more

    Great location with plenty of local shops and restaurants, and with really easy links to all of the best parts of Tokyo. Also the bathroom was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    This time I have stayed in the Annex Tower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room (Non-Smoking)High Floor - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time I have stayed in the Annex Tower. There is a difference in room quality with the main tower Staying in Tokyo all depends on your needs but Shinagawa is a great place and an alternative to Shinjuku and Ginza. Breakfast was exceptional but very expensive. Quite large rooms for Tokyo

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.3
    Big, expensive, joyless,could be anywhere hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough lifts,small room, no water provided , 2 green teabags!! No guest information about swimming pools ,breakfast or tourist information. An impersonal business hotel proving that big is not better. Sloppy cleaning. Even the teppanyaki restaurant a disappointment . Thank goodness we had the real experience before. Fails to promote the great qualities of Japan.

    Location the only reason to stay, opposite Shinagawa Station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location but simply Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s overpriced. it’s just one of giant sized business hotel - too many guests with okay service and poorly designed room. room is small and has thin wall. I struggled to sleep well by the noise from next doors. Also bathroom was so tiny and smelly.

    Very convenient location - close to the train station which has great access to airport & bullet train As well as many other sightseeing places in Tokyo

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.5
    Very large hotel (city-block wide) with restaurants, imax,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The conditions of my room costrasted terribly with the showy luxury of the hallways and public areas of the hotel. The room was old and small (by Tokyo standards). The washroom was really bad: it is smaller that in all the other hotels I have stayed in Tokyo; the mirror does not have a non-foggy mechanism, and taking a shower fills with steam the room even with the bathroom door closed (which they request with the threat of alarm activation !).

    Very large hotel (city-block wide) with restaurants, imax, waterpark. Excellent breakfast; I tried the western+japanese buffet but there are four more. They allow efficient and secure storage of luggage before checkin and after checkout. The swimming pool (available at discounted price tohotel guests) was lovely. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location for Narita Express
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room were smaller and older than we expected

    Convenient access to Shinagawa Station, hub for Narita Express and Shinkansen. Several dining options in the hotel and train station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    3.8
    DON'T STAY AT THE N TOWER OF THIS HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE SIZE OF THE ROOM - ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? I thought I had committed a crime and was being shown my prison cell when my mother and I arrived at our room on the 9th floor of the N Tower. I had to ask for a small table to be removed, just so I could store my mother's wheelchair (folded) in a corner of the room. There are MUCH better deals to be had in Tokyo, but unfortunately this was a last-minute booking and we needed a limousine bus for the airport...so this was the only place available at two days' notice. WHAT A JOKE. $250/night to feel like you are being punished or suffocated? NO. Look elsewhere - perhaps the other towers (main, annex) have better rooms but we stayed in a twin double, paid $250 on a weeknight, and were claustrophobic. Complete disaster.

    The business lounge in the Annex Tower takes up most of the 17th Floor, and is a comfortable place to work, hang out with friends etc. However, the 'free breakfast' was terrible as were the snacks in the lounge. Talk about cheap. Not a way to keep your brand value high.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    We like the hotel and always stay there when in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel stopped the pick-up service from the station

    Roomy and clean. Excellent location to the train station. The shower was really strong with instant hot water. The concierge was very helpful. We have always made this hotel our go to hotel each rime we’ve visited Japan

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    4.6
    I'll never stay at the East Tower again at all if prefer comfortable staying.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The East tower seemed not to be the Shinagawa Prince Hotel as one of traditional famous hotel in Tokyo. The room was old and not so clean, and there was no air purified machine neither which usually has been installed at as same level hotel in Tokyo. In addition, it had really a lot of noise from corridor and next doors. I might be unlucky to stay at next door of noisy guys staying, but truly the wall is thin and old and not clean. Personally saying, it was too expensive to stay at the East tower for US$150 per night.

    All staffs hold professionalism. I felt comfortable to have communication with all of them.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    a nice stay. will come and stay again when come to Tokyo.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bed is comfortable. Guest can apply for no room clean and then get a 500 JPY coupon, this is environmental friendly and also a small benefit to the guest. :) great location, directly on Shinagawa subway / railway station. can easily find restaurants, supermarkets, shopping mall around the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    Easy location, very accessible from Narita airport - a great first stop to rest after long flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Sofa Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive by western standards in terms of room size and what you get but this is Tokyo - so very spacious by Tokyo standards!!! Plus the hotel is very high class - check out the luxurious restaurant bar on the top floor - outstanding views!

    Very convieneant location right next to the station. The Narita express wasnt working due to an accident so we used the limousine bus service, just pay at counter by airport exit and wait at designated stop outside. Took us directly to the hotel. Check on your booking what tower / annex you are staying in and go to this check-in counter directly. Quite a pricey place but many facilities and easy location are the payoff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.0
    Ok for one night only, Designed for conference delegates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    THe room was very small and basic. Only a portable, noisy air condition unit! THe bathroom was clean but very small and dated. THe reception staff were efficient but not overly helpful. The concierge seemed most put out that we asked them to make a dinner reservation for us and then made us wait whilst he made a phone call that was clearly not related to our request. ?Finding the entrance lobby was quite a challenge and the signage is confusing (all in English though) Compared to the other 4 star hotel that we stayed in for 5 nights earlier in our trip (in Shinjuku, Tokyo) this hotel was poor. Glad we were only saying one night.

    Very good location for an overnight stay only

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    definitely a clean place in fairly central location but without the Ginza price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best bit..they looked after our luggage for free for 6 days while we travelled. That was really nice. All other baggage places were 3 days max. We came back for an extra night just to say thanks!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Okay to stay as convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Extra Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ordered the corner room, from the photo in website, it looked bigger, when you entered the room, the actual size was different from photo shown, and very small, we got 3 beds set in the small room, and they even keep the armchair in the room, we got no space to walk. a bit disappointed.

    Location is very convenient close to the Shinagawa central train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.9
    Priced a bit high but very convenient for airport connections
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was adequate but basic. Hallways in East Tower smelled of disinfectant. Extra charges for late checkout (anything after 11 am). This is a large complex and different parts of the hotel have different levels of service. East Tower is very basic. No porters / DIY luggage transport.

    Location at Shinagawa station was perfect for connecting to subways and trains to Haneda and Narita airports

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.4
    OK but ridiculously expensive amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many things to do at hotel if you’re willing to spend the money ( like $100 PER person at the in house restaurants.) pool was also $10 a person and between $10-$20 cover charge to sit at their bar. They are charging like they are the Ritz Carlton which they certainly are not. Rooms were nice enough but would only qualify to be a solid 3 star hotel in NYC. Area was extremely crowded and busy and restaurants in the surrounding area weren’t that good and most charge a seating fee (around $3 a person). Staff was pleasant to a degree. Nothing really outstanding about this hotel.

    Bed was Super comfy. Free breakfast if you’re staying in N tower however only until 9:30am and we did not partake so we cannot speak to the quality. Check out was easy just drop your room keys into the box.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The biggest asset of any business are it’s people and if they work as a team it reflects well on the business. This was so apparent at the hotel - attention to detail, polite and courteous staff ... nothing was too much trouble. This can can be said about all the service industries across Japan.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    It was a great place to stay on our last night with lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too expensive for a very small and quite dated room.

    It was a great place to stay on our last night with lovely views And a treat to go to the rooftop bar and all you can eat restaurant!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.9
    clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast choices limited

    not much variety on offer for breakfast here unlike other hotels i stayed at during this trip . as a naturalist in nz i still felt uneasy in the male only sauna area

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Definitely worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom/room too small, the A/C was horrible!

    It was a great location, very clean, the staff is amazing, the room are pretty small so I won’t pick this place for families, also because the hotel itself is very quiet so it’s good for relaxation, not good for large groups

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    Brilliant location with fantastic staff. We would highly recommend it and will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were a bit firm and the the room needed a second suitcase stand.

    The check in was very easy once you worked out which building you needed to go to. The room’s blockout blinds were exceptional and the free mobile phone to be used during your stay was revolutionary. The building is located across the street from Shinagawa station and there were heaps of restaurants nearby. The coin laundry was a real bonus for us. Shinagawa provides a safe introduction to the broader Tokyo area and the Shinagawa Pince hotel was ideal for us as first time visitors.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.5
    Practical and efficient place with many facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Corner Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Please give the blankets/dyne a cover instead of a sheet in the bed - that is what we use in Denmark .

    Practical and efficient place with many facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good location and excellent service by the receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) High Floor - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The Annex is generally more quiet compared with the main hotel. Also the Annex receptionists are very professional and handle incoming messages and packages efficiently.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, compact room in excellent location near station.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location for subway travel around the city and easy access to Narita airport. Convenience stores nearby. Very small, compact room but wonderfully thought out so absolutely no discomfort or inconvenience whatsoever. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Fantastic staff, everything was great, nothing was a problem and would definitely be back. Very friendly and helpful and approachable and professional. Very impressed, stayed in allot of hotels and has to be top of the lot. A very happy guest!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.9
    Expensive but worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mercenary attitude of this hotel regarding delayed check-out. After staying 3 nights in 2 main tower rooms I requested an extension of one single hour for one room and was quoted JPY3600. Given how much we spent on the rooms in the first case, I consider this to be a case of blatant price gouging on behalf of the hotel. We had noted that there were a number of unoccupied rooms on our floor. Staff attitudes varied from friendly and helpful to indifference.

    Clean, comfortable rooms with great views. Excellent location for transport and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice mall that it's located in but can be a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds and pillows were very firm and very small room.

    Very nice mall that it's located in but can be a little far to get to your room because of this.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    Close to Shinagawa station, small but cozy rooms with all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Close to Shinagawa station, small but cozy rooms with all facilities, description was completely correct. A lot of choices for breakfast, both for Japanese and western types. Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.8
    Room was not big enough for 3 adults & a 8 year old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Sofa Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not big enough for 3 adults & a 8 year old child. On top of that , it was expensive for 1 nights stay ... didn’t even come w/ breakfast! That would have helped a little! Don’t think 🤔 I want to stay there again!!! Only reason I booked it was because of the close proximity to Shinagawa Station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good service and clean. The room is small and compact but that was expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room (Non-Smoking) - East Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very clean and the staff is very honest. I had accidentally left my wallet on the table with all my credit cards and cash. When I returned in the evening, the wallet and its contents remained untouched.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    5.0
    Over priced and over rated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charging guests to use the pool ? Seriously not value for money. Were not very helpful at check in as we needed to change to attend a meeting, told us maybe the business centre would be okay. Rooms very small even for Japan and air conditioner kept turning off after 5 min in both our rooms. Wake up during the night to a very stuffy and hot room. When trying to check out was told my credit card didn't work even after 3 attempts, kept saying it was my card. The same card I used everywhere prior to checking out and continued to use in Shanghai and Hong Kong after checking out. Would not try it in another machine. Very poor customer service but felt they didn't care as we were westerners.

    The location across the road from the train station was very handy. Walking to the hotel from train only took a few minutes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Functional, value for money, but not particularly special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's so big - thousands of rooms, in massive buildings connected by corridors. There's not much atmosphere. It's often busy, which can make you feel, if you are a solo traveller, pretty invisible to staff.

    Small but well-equipped rooms. Functional atmosphere - it's not a particularly enjoyable place to stay (too big, too homogenous) but it does the job if you are looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable overnight stay after arriving late into Japan, or before catching a shinkansen the next day (the station is just across the road).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.3
    The location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) - Annex Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture in the room is quite old but clean per Japanese standard.

    The location is the best. The room is bigger than those Japanese hotel. We travelled with a child and 4 luggages including baby stroller. The room is fit ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was too big hotel ,many buildings, seem like main building was more convenient. Breakfast line was very long but good management, should be there before 7:00 am

    Breakfast was very good, lots of choices. Wifi was easy to connect. Transportation was very convenient : subway, train about 10 mins walk from main building to shinagawa station and also airport bus started in front of the main building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (Non-Smoking) with Lounge Access & Continental Breakfast - N Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The unprofessional check in staff, small rooms, lost my lounge membership because I changes towers, small irons and really hard bed, small shower and water repeats everywhere.

    I liked the proximity of the train stations being next door.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Sofa Bed (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude guests who were not accustom to waiting in line or properly disposing trash or being quiet at night. Staffs were helpful.

    Location is excellent. Amenities such as a bowling alley or laundry room were nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.3
    The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were extremely small ...so small that there was no space for the luggage and they were also really old. No value for money, since the amount was considerable high and we did not have space to move or open the luggage.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    A very convenient and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very convenient and comfortable place to stay. Very large hotel complex so not big on personal touch! We made bookings for 2 rooms as we were travelling with family but the rooms were on different floors. There is rarely any flexibility at check in, although last time we had a very lovely receptionist who offered to change to a room with better bedding configuration to our companions with a child, which they greatfully accepted

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    The mattress was comfortable, the blanket was fluffy and just nice for the temperature. I liked that the room is spacious enough. Well kept and cleaned.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.9
    Best thing about the Shinagawa Prince is it’s location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room (Non-Smoking) - Main Tower
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is very crowded here. Sometimes we waited for 5 elevator cars before being able to leave our floor. Housekeeping staff works late to keep up. Our room was not made up until after 4 pm several days. My stay was 18 nights. Bath wall tiles have mildew and carpets need vacuuming.

    Best thing about the Shinagawa Prince is it’s location across the street from Shinagawa Station.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Shinagawa Prince Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: