Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Shinjuku Washington Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

160-8336 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku, Nishishinjuku 3-2-9, Japan

#654 of 954 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3258 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    6.3
    A 3 bedroom should be provided with additional rack for luggages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that there is no wardrobe. On the first night we turned on aircon but it wasn't working. Was told by Housekeeping to turn off aircon. No reason given. The room was stuffy & warm & we didn't sleep well. The next day they provided an air cooler instead. Felt they should explain when we first checked-in & provided the air cooler without being asked. Pillows were too small & soft.

    Liked the proximity of shops & public transport

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    The ladies room is great— with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Ladies Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ladies room is great— with good amenities. The station is around 10min walk along covered walkway to Shinjuku station. Very convenient. Place is well maintained and even though the room is small (as expected of Tokyo hotels), my stay was comfortable!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Good and clean hotel with a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't really complain about the room size since most of the hotel in Tokyo are small and tiny. Nonetheless, the Annex Building have a slightly bigger room, but older.

    The location is great! There's a bus stop right in front of the lobby. Lots of amenities, shops and restaurant in the area. About 10 mins walk to Shinjuku Station. Clean, compact and very decent room. Comfortable beds. Express Check-out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    The room is spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a clearer signage that reception is in 3rd floor.

    The room is spacious and comfortable. The location is superb and close to Tokyo metropolitan building.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is a short walk to Shinjuku train station. Free breakfast is a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t see chairs or benches in the reception lobby, so clients can sit while waiting for transportation.

    The shower was good. Need bar soap and body lotion.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good value, but noisy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better soundproofing and management of guest areas. Very noisy guests from nearby Asian country shouting in the corridors late at night and early morning. Same guests taking up space in lobby area, repacking goods for travel, and discarding boxes at the reception area - should be done in the room.

    Great location, close to Shinjuku transportation. Restaurant hours reasonable for Japan, but convenience store in 1F entrance area and Bar/ restaurant Kado just outside which is open until 2. Wifi access in room and a fridge almost hidden in the corner, did not see it the first time I stayed there! Large lobby/ reception on 3F. Bathroom good size for Japan, and beds were comfortable. In contrast to trend in expensive hotels to keep rooms dark, this room was well-lit, easy for work and dressing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.5
    Many choices for breakfast restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. And request for 2 rooms in the same floor is not available.

    Many choices for breakfast restaurant. Taxi drivers know hotels very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    3.8
    If you think this is a good place to stay maybe you wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I will not back to this hotel anymore. Room too small. Not clean. Air condition not working but staff can not do anything. When you turn on the air condition controller be careful for a many dust. Even the air cleaner will give you full of dust.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.4
    Provided a clean bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too modern. Too much glass. Very little seating. Nowhere to be able to relax and chat with friends. Feeling part of a process rather than a person.

    Situation near Shinjuku station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient stall / restaurant just around the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unable to control room temperature , Tv program too boring mainly Japanese can’t understand.

    Convenient stall / restaurant just around the corner. Good dehumidifier in room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    6.3
    If you are happy to pay for location this could be the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As the hotel is a 'high-rise', windows do not open - which is ok when the air conditioning system works effectively. We couldn't wait to get out each morning to breathe fresh air. In terms of value for money, the overall experience does not match the room rates charged.

    The staff were great and were particularly helpful when a credit card was troublesome. The location of the hotel is close to the station, shops, restaurants etc. The highlight of the stay was the buffet breakfast on level 25, excellent selection on offer and a great view. It may be likely you will need to queue up to 20 mins at peak breakfast time....

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasant stay. There are just some issues with the aircon and the internet connection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow internet connection at night. Inconsistent airconditioning system. There were nights that its too hot as if the aircondition isn’t working.

    Location is very nice. Accessibility due to airport limo. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    A place to sleep at night, but not for long!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer relations; since we stayed 8 nights, then coming back for Another 2 nights after going to Osaka, we asked for a change of rooms, knowing now how small the rooms were, they just said there Were no rooms available, not checking their computers. Won’t give staying paid customers preference or consideration. Chinese tourist plentiful in this hotel were very noisy. Walls were Paper thin.

    The location was good for going everywhere. Shopping areas Was near and restaurants were plentiful, going on budget or splurging. Convenience store at every block. Train Station about 5-10 mins. Away. Staff was customer friendly & helpful. Rooms And bathrooms were small. Bathtub was too high to get in & out, So if you have problems with this, be warned. Beds were hard and After a few nights pain in the back. Pillows, bring your own if you can.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    the bus stop to we bus which brings u around shinjuku is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the rooms are a tad small. the toilet looks like a make shift plastic toilet.

    the bus stop to we bus which brings u around shinjuku is just downstairs. great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.0
    Poor hotel experience
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to book a room on smoking floor but did not expect the strong smell of cigarette smoke to hit you as soon as you got out of the lift and then waft through the entire floor including the room you paid a lot of money for. Very disappointing stay. Breakfast in three of the four restaurants was below average.

    Service was okay. Not a hotel I would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    I have stayed here two years ago and this year the service is even Better👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    I love room service maids👍Excellent room cleaning service/your foreign desk counter help was also excellent. Keep up the good work as we travel to Japan every year👍👍👍

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    Good location and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Ladies Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi easy to access but slow, no fridge in the room, noisy guests in corridors at night.

    Good location, close to Shinjuku station. Rooms are biger than average Japanese hotel in this price range. Convenience store near the entrance, along with the bar/ restaurant Kado. Easy to get taxis and to the station. Reasonable working space in the room. Good size bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.1
    Not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I requested a lower floor non smoking room due to health issue of vertigo and was told the lowest floor I could have was level 12 because from level 4-9 were smoking rooms. I was not impressed with this. Rooms very small.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.2
    A nice hotel with a great breakfast and a perfect location in Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The check in lobby is on the third floor, which is a bit confusing on your first visit. There is a pachinko parlour on the main floor and, possibly for this reason, there is often a faint smell of cigarette smoke on the main level.

    Although sometimes described as a "business" hotel, this is a nice place to stay as a tourist. A clean, modern hotel with helpful staff and a very convenient location. Linked to Shinjuku station via an underground walkway and a main stop on the airport bus shuttle. Great buffet breakfast with an incredible view on the 25th floor. Numerous shops and restaurants within the hotel complex. There is a small shrine in the parking lot! Has a dedicated floor solely for female guests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    6.7
    Location is 10mins walk from Shinjuku Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small window. Small bathroom.

    Location is 10mins walk from Shinjuku Station. I choose the hotel because this is the meeting point of most of our tours. There's a lot of restaurants and convenience store nearby. Staff speaks English.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Compact room, no space to move around with ease especially the doorway. Pillows are small and too soft.

    Great location. Airport bus at doorstep. Walking distance to shopping and dining areas. Lots of dining options and convenience stores just within the hotel vicinity. Room is small but has everything for a comfortable stay including a bathtub!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.8
    All in all .. I had a good stay thanks to the friendly staff and easy check out system they have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was small and bathroom was very small like a cruise ship bathroom and very uncomfortable. It also had a bad smell.

    Location of hotel and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    You can choose of 4 different restaurants to have breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room(superior double room) but I think that is normal for Tokyo, everything else was great

    You can choose of 4 different restaurants to have breakfast, that is pretty cool . Great location too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.9
    Good spot for business travelers or for one night stays near Shinjuku to/from the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size was a challenge for 2, but I was forewarned in other reviews.

    Good location without being too close to the action. Easy access via the airport limousine bus. Large hotel, but as others mentioned, the room is very tiny. Perfect for one business traveler, but anything else could be a bit challenging.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were small. Breakfast needs a new menu everyday.

    Staff was awesome. They refunded me the amount of breakfast we did not take. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean (though small) and had all the amenities. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Courteous and friendly staff, comfortable bed, complete room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Courteous and friendly staff, comfortable bed, complete room & hotel ameneties, so many restaurants inside the hotel and great location. Will definitely stay here again 👍🏻

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    6.7
    Shinjuku Washington hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit on small size even though it was 'superior' and there was no guest lounge area. Tiny window in the bedroom and very small bathroom.

    Good location and variety of restaurants very close.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    smell of smoking outside the room is bad. rooms are small

    excellant location near Shinjuku station.. service very good with English speaking staff. lots of places to eat within the premises.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.8
    It was a good experience and lovely stay. The hotel is located near big stations.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An ironing facity would have been helpful. Smoking odour was there. The view was not a great one but Tokyo is a huge city.

    Cleanliness. Helpful staff. Noiseless and organised way of dealings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    The location was great. The staff was great. The room was small. But the bathroom was dangerous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathtub was too high. My father fell in and hit his head. I did not like the bathroom. The step up into the bathroom was dangerous. The rice pillow was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.3
    Not value for money. Superior room was still small in layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even with the more expensive superior room, the window was tiny and around the corner from the bed, so it was dark. Bathroom was so tiny, the sink was over hanging the bath tub. After looking at the photo again, after arrival, I see the photo was stretched.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    Claustrophobic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smallest room I have been in all my life. There was no space for placing the clothing and if I walked in the narrow corridor, my wife had to stay on the bed, and viceversa. The bathroom was 1 square meter, plus a small bath tube.

    Staff was nice and the breakfast scheme was quite flexible. We tried one of the 4 options and it was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    We had a ladies room and we found it to be a good place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ladies Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a ladies room and we found it to be a good place to stay. The room was adequate, the amenities were really nice. The staff were courteous and helpful. Near to Shinjuku station and many stores as well as restaurants and cafes galore. The Tokyo Metropolitan building was nearby for easy viewing of Tokyo at night or in the morning. Very conveniently located. Coin Laundry available on site, as well as the hotel laundry for those who prefer laundry and dry cleaning services. They received our luggage and other items that had been sent direct to the hotel and gave them all to us upon arrival. They helped us with our pre-requested early check in as we had a festival to attend. And they helped us forward our luggage onto our next hotel in Osaka. Excellent stay. Highly Recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy bed and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfy bed, great location, restaurant options at the Ground floor and B1. Walking distance to Shinjuku Station, and the central Shinjuku tourist and shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from my room was quite boring. It could have been way better but I guess that something to look forward to during the next visit.

    The night at Washington was nice. My room was on the 7th floor but this time round was not very lucky to have a higher floor room which gives a very beautiful view of the Shinjuku area usually. All in all it was very comfortable stay in the heart of Tokyo and Shinjuku

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    5.4
    Direct access between hotel and airports via Airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room; far from JR station; low ceiling height; pillows of secondary quality

    Direct access between hotel and airports via Airport Limousine; choice of triple room with 3 proper single beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    Location and having shops, restaurants and bar all under the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit cramped with two people and luggage also asked for a double bed and got a room with two beds lol but all good

    Location and having shops, restaurants and bar all under the one roof

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.8
    The location is really close to Shinjuku central area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet. The one thing that is not meeting the price and expectation. It is not consistent. In the morning, I got download speed for more than 10mb, but in the afternoon and the evening, I only get no more than 0,25. I have had several calls to the front office but nothing was fixed.

    The location is really close to Shinjuku central area. The bed is cozy and I have a good sleep over there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath is very high and was difficult for my elderly mother-in-law to get in and out of. The bed and pillows were extremely hard. The rooms are quite small.

    Great location, great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Larger room size would have been nice

    Great location within walking distance of station . Underground passage directly to shinjuku station. Also within walking distance of government building with amazing, free city scape view at the top. Very busy location with tons of restaurants. This made a great base station for all of our travels. Get a Suiki card which you can easil recharge and travel via intuitive railway system. We did a Yokohama day trip which was great , as well as seeing Akihabara which is close . Our then trip took us to Mt Fuji ( from Tokyo station) , with bonus bullet train ride which was amazing and a must do . Check out the view from our small but comfortable room. ( bathroom feels like a cruise ship bathroom )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    6.7
    Good location and very good selection for breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small, don’t get a cheap room. The walls are paper thing and you can her the conversation which happen next door or in the corridor.

    Good location and very good selection for breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    A bargaining hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sound proof is a bit weak and you can hear people speaking in other room from time to time. Although the map said the hotel is pretty close the train station, you still need around 15 mins walk from the station.

    The room is clean and modern, room size is reasonable compare to price range and distance to station, Convenient store and a drug store available on the ground floor if you need some snack or muscle pain relief after a long day shopping. Washing and drying machine is available but they are located in the hotel's annex building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, well recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -I would have preferred to have a safe in the room - although the staff were very accommodating, having all safes in the reception and having to complete authority forms each time I wanted to deposit/remove items was a nuisance. -We also enjoyed breakfast in the Manhattan, but the queues each morning are unnecessary when it seems they have other breakfast restaurants on other floors with hardly any visitors - why not provide further 'Manhattan' services to prevent the queues. Overall this hotel is nice to stay in, we would return.

    I liked this hotel and we enjoyed our stay - it was only a 10/15 min walk from Shinjuku station. Staff are very professional, efficient and helpful. Good English speaking. The rooms are small which others had commented on but it didn't bother us, it provided everything we needed, very clean and beds were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend The Shinjuku Washington Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small,like most properties in central Tokyo..but workable,even in a twin room.

    The Shinjuku Washington Hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Tokyo.The staff were exceptional,their customer service and expertise on a range of "questions" was never problematic for any of them.The hotel's location was fantastic for what we needed.I will have no hesitation in recommending this property,and I would certainly return again,hopefully in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing guest service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double rooms were extremely small for two persons. Due to the size, we were unable to enjoy leisure time in the rooms.

    The hotel was near the government complex, it was pleasant with clean rooms. The thing that makes this such a good place to stay are the staff. They were incredibly helpful and generous with their time and advice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hotel run by professionals
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    The people. Awesome and helpful staff. Japan in general is an amazing country. My 2nd visit and I am still in love with the country and its people 😍😍😍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.1
    The location was its biggest plus for me, The staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They only clean the rooms every 3 days, the rooms are small but that is expected with Japan

    The location was its biggest plus for me, The staff were attentative and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    The location near Shinjuku Station, which could be accessed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location near Shinjuku Station, which could be accessed by the subway. The facilities, we were able to do laundry and had access to restaurants and a shop. The room was very compact but had all we needed and the staff in all respects were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    5.0
    Slow WIFI. Poor facility.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Total disappointment. I stayed in four hotels in Shinjuku during my one-month stay in Tokyo. This is no doubt the worst. Worst. Worst. Worst. I so much regret choosing it. If you have other choices, Hotel Gracery, APA, all are much better than this. Basic things first. The WIFI was extremely slow. Not the I cannot-stream-4k-video slow, but the I-cannot-open-a webpage slow. I tested it on the internet speed websites. At night the speed was an astonishing 300 kpbs, which equals to 30 kb/s download speed. As a comparison, the cheapest Comcast household plan would give you 5-10 Mbps, ten times as much. Imagine how slow that was with one tenth of the speed of a basic home WIFI plan. It was even slower than the cabin WIFI on a flight when you pass the Arctic! The WIFI was impossible for business travel. I could not even access the WHG homepage to file a complaint. I called the staff. The first time they told me to wait for 10-15 minutes, saying that they would reset the WIFI. Nothing happened. I called the second time. They told me to wait for 10-15 minutes, saying that they would reset the WIFI. It started getting ridiculous. The problem was clearly the bandwidth. Ridiculous that a 4 or 3.5 star hotel would be so stingy their WIFI plan. You had a cheap WIFI plan, bro! But the staff blamed it to that many guests were using WIFI at the same time. It made absolutely no sense. You should scope for peak traffic when opening up a hotel. The other hotels I stayed had no problem with night traffic at all. I'd stayed in Hotel Gracery, another hotel by WHG. Their WIFI was a breeze. Stop making nonsense excuses. I called the third time. The staff brought a router to my room, which didn't work at all not unexpectedly. The problem was not the signal but the bandwidth. I called the fourth time. The staff told me to wait for 15 minutes without telling me what to wait for???

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    5.0
    You need to travel light. Pay for a bigger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are ridiculously small even by Tokyo standards. It felt like we were in the smallest cabin on a cruise ship- even they don't put the bed up against the wall. You can only open one suitcase at a time on the bed. Items in the rooms were dirty (menus, etc) but the room itself was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room and toilet, quite pricey

    Beds are comfy and clean. Rooms are smaller than expected. There are restaurant, convenience store, pharmacy etc inside the hotel. 10mins walk to shinjuku south station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.6
    Great and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small and no space to open luggage.

    Great and comfortable stay. Very convenient to have airport bus, amenities, multiple restaurants and shops downstairs. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    6.3
    In a nutshell, if given a choice, this hotel will not be my 1st choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ladies Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked the Ladies Room (which are all located on 14/F of this property). Room & bathroom feels small & 1980s. I've stayed in another hotel in the Shinjuku area during my previous stay & that property definitely feels more value for money, except I didn't get to book it this time round as I was too late the rooms there were sold out. In a nutshell, if given a choice, this hotel will not be my 1st choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, newly refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are small, typical of hotels in Japan. Hotel Restaurants pretty ordinary

    Great location, newly refurbished. Reasonable buffet breakfast with a great view. The supermarket on ground floor is well stocked with spirits, beer, good sandwiches and ice cream.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Tokyo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Ladies Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed my stay, the room was comfortable (albeit a bit small) but it had everything I needed for my stay, the amenities were excellent. If I had forgotten anything, it was right there if needed - even a hair band! The bathroom was well appointed considering the space. It was quiet, staff were helpful and friendly. It is so convenient to have the shops downstairs and the convenience store. Great location also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    6.3
    - Staffs are really nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The room has a lot of dust, it makes me sneezy all the time - The location of the hotel is pretty far from shinjuku shopping area and train station. You have to walk around 900 m to there.

    - Staffs are really nice and helpful - The airport Limo bus station is in front of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s TINY! You’ll get that everywhere in japan but just be prepared ! No more than 2 people

    Wonderful location ! So close to the station and easy to get to places ! Also so clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Average size for Japan double room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the 23rd floor right at the very end of the corridor. We had a great view of the city. The air con was not all that cool though and we only had the option of high or low. Also the internet was also quite slow, These problems may have been because of the height - I am not sure. The bed was a double and one side was against the wall which made it difficult to get in and out of. The buffet breakfast was rather limited compared to other hotels we stayed in Japan but still enough variety. There were many shops, restaurants and a convenience store within the same building. There was also an underground walkway to the train station including the JR Line. Staff were very very friendly and helpful and there was always someone who spoke English. May try again at a different level but not if beds are all against the wall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room.. not enough space to put bags in to open up and get things out. Tiny bathroom. No bench space. Very Hard bed.

    Great breakfast choice. Close to Shinjuku train stations and restaurants. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Good average stay and would probably stay here again because of the good service of front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed pillows not comfortable. Room a bit small for families of 3 or more.

    Location was good with limo airport bus stops in front of hotel. Staff was friendly. Lots of places to eat within the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable hotel close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are small but there is enough room to move around and shelves to place your luggage. We are a family of three and each of us had our own comfortable bed. The rooms and the hotel areas were kept clean. Conveniently there was a laundry room in the Annex section of the hotel and a 24 hour mart. Free breakfast vouchers. Friendly staff. Check-in and check-out was very easy. The hotel is close to transportation, restaurants, entertainment, etc. I highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom had everything except from being a bit too tight even for Asian standard.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with Western and local options. The Tokyo city view from Manhattan Table restaurant on Level 25 was breathtaking. Within walking distance from Shinjuku station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Easy to reach by limousine bus
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Ladies Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wall is quite thin - noisy sometimes. Many Chinese tourists select this hotel. Slightly far from the station.

    Lady floor is available. Easy to commute from and to the Airport. Very helpful staffs. Multi-location for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Good experience and great hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is small compare to US standards, but I guess it’s nirmal in Japan. Not able to control the temperature of the room. Air conditioning only has low, medium and high setting. It was still too warm for me even at the high setting.

    Great location walking distances to Metro and Shinjuku and love that the Limousine Bus to and from airports has a stop right in front of the hotel. The restaurant at the top has great views .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.0
    Small double room, cannot move around, kettle and glasses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty walls, small room.

    Small double room, cannot move around, kettle and glasses have to be hidden in the drawer. The room design and location of things are poorly designed. I

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    3.8
    The room is too small for triple room and is quite smelly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too small for triple room and is quite smelly and dirty. The room has no air conditioner. The bathroom is also too small. The price is too high for such small room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.1
    Good location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be careful don’t lose your room key(like a magnetic card ) . The counter will charge 2000 Yan per key if you lost it(never heard of this kind of charge)

    Good location and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too small, can fit even place my luggage bag properly. I bring book 2 rooms, the standard room Queensize area is too small, cabin size luggage can only be open at the Passage walkway. & we hv to jump over the luggage to walk through the door.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent, hotel is excellent only if the room is slight bigger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too small, can fit even place my luggage bag properly. I bring book 2 rooms, the standard room Queensize area is too small, cabin size luggage can only be open at the Passage walkway. & we hv to jump over the luggage to walk through the door.

    Location is very convenient & airport limousine transfer is just at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.1
    We love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have to walk at least 10-15 minutes to the busy area of Shinjuku and to the station. It doesnt matter actually but since we bring old people with wheelchair, it is easier for us if we in the middle of busy Shinjuku

    The shuttle bus to the airport from the hotel is a big bonus. It is also one of the reason we pick this hotel. Eventhough our room is not square, and weird shape, its still good since we at least can put our luggages and still have empty area to walk around. It is clean too! Everyday we comeback in our 5 days stay, to just find they clean it perfectly even they vacum the carpet. We can see the city clearly from our 26th floor. The 24 hours Family Mart in the 1st floor is another bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    satisfied ..we will surely be back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very few seats in the hotel lobby...for guest to sit while waiting for the checking time..

    airport limousine bus stop is just infront of the hotel..very convinient.and close to shopping malls😊staffs, speak english.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights

    You cannot get fresh air into the rooms, and because they are compact by western standards after a few days the air gets stale. The A/C works well, but it dried us out of a night. There was a humidifier in the room but we couldn't work out exactly how to set it up. If you could crack the window open even just a few millimeters it would make a huge difference.

    The location is fantastic as you are far enough from Shinjuku station for it to be quiet, but easily accessible by the underground subway so that even in inclement weather you will be fine. The WE bus ( a local loop bus) stops out the front, it 100Y for a trip, or 400Y for the whole day. The Airport Limousine Bus also stops right st the door, from both major airports. The restaurants on site are also good value, as is the Family Mart, which is cheap and has a wide range of snacks including hot food that can be warmed in the microwaves just outside the store. This is all within the Hotel. Staff are great and the rooms spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room has no closet - took a bit of getting used to. The toilet is a small prefabricated toilet. Had all the amenities needed but being only 5 ft. I found it a bit challenging to get in and out of the Tub/Shower. My husband and son called it a no-fuss toilet and liked it!!

    Very convenient location. We booked a triple room for my husband, me and my son. The room was quite spacious and had three proper beds which was very nice. We managed to walk to most of the places and once you figure out the JR Railway system traveling was very easy to places that was too far to walk. Loved the fact that the hotel was a drop off/ pick up location for the Airport Limousine bus. All major Dept. stores and loads of eating places were walking distance to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.3
    Convenient for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor of the bathroom is not so clean which is a bit disappointing. Can feel slippery on the floor.

    Super small room. Good location. All toiletries are offered (cleanser, face wash, tooth brush, comb, hair dryer......).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.3
    Double room was quite comfortable and large enough by Tokyo...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Corridors tend to get a bit noisy if tourist hordes come in so be prepared for disturbances if you’re a light sleeper

    Double room was quite comfortable and large enough by Tokyo standards

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Shinjuku Washington Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: