Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews
  3. Tokyo Prefecture hotel reviews
  4. Tokyo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Reviews of Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3 stars

160-0022 Tokyo Prefecture, Shinjuku-ku, Shinjuku 7-27-9, Japan

#319 of 978 hotels in Tokyo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2620 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    9.6
    Nice and clean 3 star hotel located a twenty minute walk from Shinjuku train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was able to drop my luggage off at reception prior to check-in. Hotel was non-smoking. Very clean hotel that had everything I needed for my stay (was always up early and back late exploring Japan). A twenty minute walk from Shinjuku station. Plenty of convenience stores on the walk there if you need to pick anything up.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    8.3
    Staff very helpfull and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, but it's normal for japan hotels i think. The location only a few steps from the metro station, but not jr, so if you used the jr pass i would not recomended it.

    Staff very helpfull and clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    8.3
    Great location and great service at reasonable prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible check-in times. I had asked to check-in an hour early (and was quite happy to pay 10000 yen to do this). However, they were happy to watch our bags prior to check-in.

    Location is less than 1 minute walk from Tokyo Metro Line Higashi-Shinjuku (not JR for those using JR passes). It is a less than 10 minute walk to the main Shinjuku JR Station. Amenities are great and slightly bigger than your average Tokyo hotel. The included buffet breakfast was a mixture of both Western and Japanese traditional breakfast and was fantastic! The staff speak conversational English but are by no means fluent (understandable) so if you have an unorthodox request use a translator. If you want to party in the LGBT+ district, this hotel is within walking distance to the best gay clubs in Shinjuku.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    7.5
    Have to check out at 4am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need to take a early Shinkansen at Tokyo station. You will probably need to wake very early to catch the subway.

    Have to check out at 4am. Staff was very wide awake and help my checkout

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    9.6
    Limited amount of room choices on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Limited amount of room choices on the website. An economy double room is quite small for two people with big luggages. For a bigger room for two people you need to contact the property directly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no safe in the room and the bed pillows were not very comfortable.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant connected to the hotel is also great for breakfast as well as for lunch and dinner. The hotel has a pretty good location, it is found near a train station and there are few convenience stores nearby.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.8
    Great location, good walk to Shinjuku and very close to Higashi Shinjuku station. Good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to ask for another pillow per person, they were very flat. When you asked staff for pillow/ wine opener they wanted you to come down and get it rather than deliver to your room - i think that would be great (and expected) service. When I said i was in my PJs though they did deliver the wine opener to the room which was good. Room was super small but fine for our needs.

    Having the room serviced everyday, access to microwave plus room amenities were really good. Pyjamas were awesome - so comfy! Staff were also helpful in putting me and my friends in neighbouring rooms which was really nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    9.2
    Value for money and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beds were a bit hard, street sound was a worry (seems every fire vehicle and police car has to pass this hotel on the way to an issue), rooms were dim. That said, see above - great value for money compared to many competitors.

    Value for money and cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    9.6
    Good Shinjuku Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were compact, which is expected in Japan.

    We had a great stay at the Sunroute Hotel. Breakfast was really good, with a mix of western and Japanese cuisine. Rooms were clean and everything we needed was in the rooms. Also very affordable. Next to multiple supermarkets and a McDonalds which is handy for a late night snack. Great amenities provided including pjs. Hotel is next to the Metro Station, and also about a 20 minute walk to Shinjuku JR station. Shinjuku is a great part of Tokyo to stay so we highly recommend this area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    9.2
    Front desk extremely helpful and speaks good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk extremely helpful and speaks good English. Breakfast was good. Good location for the price; right at the Higashi Shinjuku Station. Still quite far of a walk to Shinjuku Station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    8.8
    Great place for resting after a long day sighseeing, staff was very polite and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's great value for money and it has a metro station close by, the street that leads to the train station has a lot of activity if that's what you'd like, it has also several combinis and places to buy food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful hotel room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look the room was fair and reasonable for the price paid. However having stayed in NYC I would say these rooms are very slight with not much room to swing a cat and even smaller than NYC. I would compare to comfort inn type stay in Australia regional areas. The shower is over a bath but good pressure; good hotel toothbrushes/hair brush and cotton tips provided daily. The room is basically a double bed with a desk/tv/small fridge at the end with a slight walkway in to it all. Our room price included breakfast coupons - amazing choice of food and very friendly staff! Our little one loved the pancakes daily. Very close to public transport lines. Cheap & Cheerful stay - clean but not spotless.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    6.3
    For that price, I would expect better facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are extremely small, breakfast is very basic, and location is a little dull (however right over the subway entrance)

    Staff is very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is wonderful! It's right next to higashi-shinjuku station with the fukutoshin line (which you can get you to yokohama, shibuya, shinjuku, and ikebukoro). It is walking distance to the center of shinjuku. The staff were kind and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    10
    The location was very convenient with a subway station only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very convenient with a subway station only a few metres away. The staff were accommodating, helpful and very kind throughout our stay. Also the buffet breakfast included was fantastic with both traditional Japanese and Western dishes and beverages to choose from. Highly recommend!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2018

    7.5
    The excellent Service overcomes any discomfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room is kind of small. Difficult for 2 adults to move about freely , nor was there much space for 2 luggages .

    The reception staff are well trained , speaks English and very accommodating and helpful . Thank you . The room was kept clean every time . Vending machine on each floor

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was big enough for me, it would be quite crowded for two people, especially with big luggage. (The room was average size by Japanese standards.)

    The room was quiet and very clean. The hotel is just a few steps away from the Metro.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    6.7
    The style of the place was cool and it was comfortable, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering it was nothing special, it was a little bit over priced. Location could also be better, it's not too bad though.

    The style of the place was cool and it was comfortable, but that's about it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    10
    Location next to underground, could walk still from Shinjuku...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location next to underground, could walk still from Shinjuku, local shops, a few restaurants. Room v clean. Not big but as expected in japan. Shower big enough for us tall westerners.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    10
    The location relative to the metro, restaurants, and grocery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dryers were very slow.

    The location relative to the metro, restaurants, and grocery store. The staff was phenomenal!! Breakfast was great everyday!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    8.3
    Pretty good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. It was one more station off the main shinjuku station so if you are coming straight from the Jr line, you need to lug your luggage to change train.

    We checked in way too early so left our luggage at the counter.. The staff brought our luggage up automatically and we were glad to see all of them in the room when we came back. some of the other hotels we stayed in didn't do that for us. There was a huge donki store within walking distance If you want to do late night shopping.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    7.9
    The staff were incredibly kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms are small, but this is Tokyo. The main problem with the room was the noise. Although the bed was comfortable, I slept terribly. Every night, multiple times a night, there were ambulances and police cars that would go by the hotel. It must be on a path to a hospital. Maybe if you ask for a room that does not face the street this would not be such a problem.

    The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. The mini fridge in the room is very convenient. There was also a kettle which was nice. Robes and slippers were a nice touch. All toiletries included. Good location, right next to a tube station and close to a fun shopping and dining area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    6.7
    Tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room space too small

    Convenient to excess anywhere, hotel just few step to the subway station Higashi Shinjuku‎ exit B2. From Hotel to Shinjuku Expressway Bus Terminal(Bus to HanedaAirport) take about 15mins and taxi fare 850yen.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    5.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow is poor. I have to asked for two pillows in order not to have neck pain and one of the night the hotel run out of pillows I paid in full the hotel bill but the hotel further charges me for a full cost deposit that hold my credit card limit unnecessarily

    Location location location Is connected to two metro lines that is so convenient Basic amenities are well in place

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    9.2
    Nice amenities and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Western style bed and an easy to read AC! It's a small room, but you can setup your luggage on the side and open it if needed. They have a nice little buffet downstairs in the restaurant, which you either get free breakfast or a credit towards dinner/lunch. We stuck to the breakfast and they offer you the basics. Pretty good. There is a Lawson's and a McDonalds nearby. Also the train station is nearby. They have a coin operated washer/dryer on site and if you give them your clothes before a certain time (not Sundays) then they will wash it for you the same day! It was pretty convenient. There are vending machines that have alcohol ready for you as well as other refreshments. They allowed us to ship our luggage there and held it for us while we traveled on the day that we checked out. About a 20 minute walk to Shinjuku station or a 5 minute train ride. Close to Golden Gai and Godzilla.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    9.2
    Close to a metro station, lots of restaurants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to a metro station, lots of restaurants in the vicinity, was on the 11th floor so I had a nice view, and you could choose a Eco cleaning, so since I stayed for 13 days I didn't need my room cleaned up every day, but still they would take the trash which is great

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    8.8
    Hotel buffet breakfast was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel buffet breakfast was superb! So much variety and extremely tasty. Location was also very convenient, with a metro station located right next to the hotel. Staff spoke great English, very easy to communicate!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were a bit torn, which was not that great.

    Location, location, location. Tobe honest the place does exactly what it promises, which is great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Within the price range, not a lot more could be expected. The hotel was fine and suited us.

    Right next door to the Fukutushin line that will get you to most places in Tokyo easily. A smoking annexe in the lobby which was great for us smokers and which always smelt fresh and no bother to the non-smokers outside this.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money and awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible location (close enough to walk to Shinjuku but on a very quiet area), loads of incredible restaurants and sites nearby, not to mention a subway stop 2 min away. Rooms were extremely clean and well organised. Helpful staff. Such great value, especially given location and overall cleanliness/moderness of the hotel!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2018

    2.5
    Dirty and crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty Crowded, the air-conditioner kept clattering loudly And there's a loud noise from the road At breakfast, the dishes were dirty and the buffet was empty. They did not replenish the stock

    Look for another hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably priced and clean but small for 2 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were very uncomfortable. While I am used to smaller rooms, it is true that the room was too small and did become quite inconvenient for sorting out clothes. I did not pay too much attention to the reviews regarding the small rooms, but they were right -- it is really inconvenient in a basic economy room if there are 2 people. We only had 1 carry-on each and it was truly inconvenient to try to maneuver. Best idea to cope is to put a blanket or towel down on the bed and put your suitcase on the bed to sort out your stuff. There is a luggage rack for 1 carry-on, but it's hard to fit it. There is a long counter in the room that you can use as well for storing items.

    Located right next to subway station. Very clean. Air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    10
    the location was amazing, very well connected with major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were really thin but we asked for extra ones and they were brought to us :) The room is small, at least the one we had, and it can get pretty noisy at night- I slept like a baby but my husband kept waking up, so maybe it just depends on how a light sleeper you are.

    the location was amazing, very well connected with major metro lines but also just a quick walk away from the busy kabukicho and golden gai area. The staff was polite and answered all of our questions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with a perfect location, literally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like about this hotel

    Very comfortable hotel with a perfect location, literally around the corner from a subway station that gets you around town easily. The street of the hotel is calm but just a couple of blocks away is all the action of shinjuku on a short walk distance. Very nice amenities, we even got pyjamasen, slippers, toothbrush etc. Breakfast was soo good and at a great price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the smaller side, but that's to be expected on tokyo

    Staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was amazing!! It had a lot of healthy, vegetarian options

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    10
    Definitely funa nd
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offer different combinations of dishes per day. Having a dessert would be nice.

    The location is very peaceful and quiet. Staffs are very accommodating most especially in giving route information.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.2
    The location is very good and close to Higashi-Shinjuku...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not as big as presented at the website, the same as for the room (although they are much bigger than common rooms I’m Tokyo)

    The location is very good and close to Higashi-Shinjuku metro and 40m’ from a supermarket

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    8.3
    Small but great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms but great location. Buffet was not really good, not the best choice of food (besides the pancakes- they were great)

    Very good location and very sweet staff. small but comfy room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is right next to Higashi-Shinjuku station and also easy walking distance to the main Shinjuku station and areas such as Kabukicho & Golden Gai, which was perfect for us. The area had good food and izakayas a short walk away too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.2
    Good staffs help guests a lot!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing which I didn't like this hotel.

    Location and good staffs. Some other guests came from foreign countries, but staffs welcomed them warmly. I believed they do good work for all guests! And It was comfortable for me to use clean bath and bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    A great location in Shinjuku.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some street noise due to nearby fire/medical dispatch.

    A great location in Shinjuku. with Golden Gai, Kabukichō, all nearby. A handy convenience store, and lots of great restaurants within easy walking distance. Metro very close too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.6
    The staff are very considerate and accomodating that they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope. We will def stay here again given a chance to travel back to Japan.

    The staff are very considerate and accomodating that they went out of there own way to get us to our room two hours before the check in time as our baby was very tired and was crying. They’re amazing!! Theyre staff speak english too, and bec japanese people are very polite they would go out of their way just to help you out. This happened to us several times.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    It was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an economy room which in hindsight was very little space for two adults with two suitcases.

    It was a great location. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    9.0
    Great base for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was initially unsupportive but quickly addressed by hotel when raised.

    Good location near a local station. VG breakfast. Remarkably quiet room - couldn't hear other guests

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - limited choice. Not worth the amount we paid for it. There are many other breakfast options near the hotel. Only two types of tea were provided in the room, no coffee, creamer or sugar included. I guess the Japanese love their tea! Not a major issue though.

    Excellent location. Staff were most helpful. Queries and problems were quickly attended to by staff. Housekeepers were prompt and did a good job. Coin-operated washing machine and dryer were most useful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location of the hotel. Close to Oedo and Fukutoshin line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Perfect location! Hotel is located close to 2 metro lines which are connected with most of the tourist locations. Hotel not far from Shinjuku train station. Room was small but cozy. Bed comfy to sleep. Amazing, polite and nice hotel service. I received room with the city and street view which I appreciate a lot. Hotel probably more dedicated to short term stay due to no safe box in the room, however there was no problem for me because hotel and area of the hotel seem to be safe. Hotel have own currency exchange machine at the main hallway on 1F (which is useful if you are coming with foreign currency such as USD or EUR in the walled), so you can change money there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but small, dark room that was noisy at times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dark and small, with a slightly funny smell. The sound insulation in our room was poor - I got woken up a lot at night on a couple of the nights with sirens etc (worse on Saturday night).

    Hotel is in a great location, shower pressure is fab.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    8.8
    Excellent rooms, cleaning was top notch everyday, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None at all.

    Excellent rooms, cleaning was top notch everyday, very comfortable, and surprisingly spacious that I was able to fit a large rimowa luggage comfortably.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    Superb staff very helpful in everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb staff very helpful in everything. Location is good just next to the subway line. About 15 to 20mins walk to main shinjuku like.will sure stay here again 👌

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Good professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not convenient. Taxi cannot stop in front of hotel. Have to drag luggage to hotel. 20 mins walk from Shinjuku main station.

    Good professional staff. Room is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location right next to the metro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right next to the metro! With a Lawson’s downstairs! We really enjoyed our stay - we took two rooms (for our family of 4) but that worked ok. The rooms were tiny but very clean - the fresh PJs daily were lovely and an ice machine on every level was a bonus. Perfect for our 7 night stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    Right beside the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, very uncomfortable bed, very expensive (doesn’t seem like great value for money but I know most hotel rooms in Japan are tiny & expensive).

    Right beside the metro station. Walking distance to restaurants/ shops. Clean room. Good wifi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    All the staff members were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No common room to meet with our friends staying at the same hotel. Internet was slow. No toilet brush!

    All the staff members were nice. Both receptionists and cleaning staff. Location is close to Shinjuku, but still far away enough to get away from the large crowds, giving the entire hotel a calm atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel uno Tokyo, very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, very small!

    The best the location with metro station right at the door. Hotel is good, clean, good breakfast, people super nice! The toilette amenities very good with everything you need. They also have laundry machines which is very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay in Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku, thank you all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time is supposed to finish at 10:30am, but at 10am there was not much left especially croissants. Services like smart phone for rent at the hotel would be wonderful for people who need to use Google maps.

    Staff in this hotel are very friendly, helpful, kind, and smiling. The rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Other than bottles and buttons, everything was neat and quite clean. Overall, we had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shampoo and shower bottles were old and dirty. Metal buttons for lights at the bed frame were rusty. It would be great if the hotel can maintain and keep them clean.

    Facilities like bathroom, fridge and kettle were clean. Hotel is located beside Higashi-Shinjuku Station, which is very convenient especially rainy days, however it is a stop away from the main Shinjuku station so we had to keep switching lines.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit noisy at night with police sirens racing by nightly every so often, but it wasn't super loud that it would wake us up.

    Great location with the metro being one minute away and an easy and interesting 15-min walk to central Shinjuku. Several convenience stores and restaurants around which was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    The location is just 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku Station & 30 second walk from subway line. The staff were nice and help us with any question that we had.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, easy to access to most of the subway Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too small for medium size luggage but it is acceptable since Japan hotel standard room size are the same. Pillow are not comfortable with unpleasant smell. Overall hotel is good except for the pillow.

    Strategic located beside Tokyo Metro Higashi Shinjuku subway Station. There are a lot of convenience stores near to hotel like 7-11, Family Mart and Lawson. Nice facilities with chargeable printing services(50¥ per page).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location, literally just a few steps to the subway and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms but that what’s Tokyo is all about.

    Good location, literally just a few steps to the subway and Lawson & 7-eleven shops. 15-20 minute walk to downtown, crazy, Shinjuku. Complimentary shampoo and conditioner. Good view from the top floors.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.5
    Breakfast could be requested on site, still got the discount...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On & off petrol car noise at the mid-night

    Breakfast could be requested on site, still got the discount price. Drink at the breakfast could be taken out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit small, but this is a standard in Japan so its fine.

    This is my second time staying at this hotel and I highly recommend staying here as it has the best location and super nice staff and it is very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay close to Shinjuku station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, right at the metro station, and walking distance (15min) from Shinjuku station - easy to reach all city attractions. Polite and friendly staff, tasty breakfast (coupons can be used also for dinner/lunch if you dont want breakfast), economy double room more spacious than expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Close to metro and Shinjuku for tourists!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow on bed would have been nice to have two.

    Close to metro and Shinjuku for tourists! Quiet of a night to rest! Room lovely and clean with good facilities. We would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Well-satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A paper list of all TV channels available would have been helpful. I figured out by going through them. Also I was slightly confused with how to use the drum-cleaning functions of the washing machines (and I understand Japanese). But it could be just me.

    The hotel is less than 50 m away from an exit of the Higashi-Shinjuku metro station, which is great when the weather is hot and one wants to minimise the time without air-conditioning. There were also convenience shops of all major brands nearby, with one just beyond the metro station exit. The bed was firm, which was fantastic having suffered back discomfort from soft mattresses in the UK/US over the last few years (I grew up in East Asia). I needed some tape and scissors to pack a box. The member of staff at the front desk provided these tools immediately (from his own desk) without a question asked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Accessible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner smelled something off in the room. We ran into guests that had the same issue but their case is worse than the smell in our room.

    It is right beside the exit of the metro which makes it so easy to travel to and fro. It is also quite near Shinjuku area and we only walk out way there and back when we go to the Piss alley.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Good location. Next to subway Station, convenience store, fast food restaurant. Vending machine on each floor and laundry machine & dryer at 2nd floor which reasonable charge. Walking distance Shinjuku happening areas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent and convenient location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm

    Fantastic location, literally next to subway entrance. Tully’s Coffee over the road along with three different konbini stores. Would definitely stay again. Super convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    It was a quiet place in a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a quiet place in a nice location. Bit of a walk to the station about 15 mins to Shinjuku JR however apart from that was good. The wifi was poor in our room however we were on level 9 so could have impacted that. Staff were nice and Place was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    it was a thoroughly enjoyable adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    The bed's mattress was very firm, too firm for me to be able to sleep all that well, however this was just my personal preferences. The connected restaurant from which the hotel deals its breakfast is a buffet serving a range of foods that were quite good for the most part, although western tourists may find the selection to be less like 'breakfast' and more of an evening meal type deal

    the hotel in centred more or less in the centre of Higashi-Shinjuku and is within easy walking distance of incredible restaurants and the 'Golden Gai'. This makes for a great base with which to explore the district as well as the whole of tokyo, owing to the excellent public transport connections.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable, and the staff was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small given the price, but we did end up having to book it fairly last minute and I believe smaller rooms are standard for the area.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the staff was really friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean with toiletries and towels provided. There's also a water heater with some tea bags and a mini fridge. The location was convenient near the Shinjuku city center, but it was also quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic view from Tokyo Metro Government Building
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ^0^ Feel like at home. We were more than satisfied with Suroute and when we left we washed all our clothes at 2F so we could have clothes when we arrived at the next stop. The receptionist called to reserve table for dinner for us. Questions were answered promptly. Location is perfect. Close to Waseda Univ and all attractions we picked to visit during our trip that combined work and play. Yes we recommend to all our friends already. LIKE definitely so great for this price in Higashi - Shinjuku.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is in a great location, nearby a subway station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom are pretty small.

    This hotel is in a great location, nearby a subway station. There are two big supermarkets within 3 minutes walking distance. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Everything is good.Tip if you book early ,you will get special price ( about 2 weeks before )
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lobby is too small ,sometime ,at about check-in time ,many people wait for their room at the lobby.

    the room is quite good comparing to the other hotel chain.Bed is a lot bigger than standard japanese hotel ,single bed could fit 2 adult.Room size is also ok ,some room you can use the 28 inch luggage but some you can not because the layout of single room is vary.However, the twin room is standard hotel size same as the other hotel in the world.One more thing ,if you apply sunroute member ,you can do late check-out.One thing i really love about sunroute hotel chain is "Their carpet" ,it is so soft and you will feel nice to walk in your room.An air purifier is so also better than other hotel "new version of sharp 2017 ,not an antique air purifier like some hotel ".Last,the air conditioning system is great ,you can adjust temp to 19 c and trust me during summer in japan you will like it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Vastly superior to APA Hotel IIdabashi-Edi Minami
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The restaurant physically next to the hotel is where breakfast is served for $10+. I found it insipid by the 2nd day. If you want a real western option, go out the hotel's front door, turn right, and 2 blocks down on your left is Jonathan's Diner (something like that) with a great western breakfast and service for $6.50.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: